PERMITTEE:



     AIRS I.D. Number: 0390009

    
 



     Air Permit Number: 0390009001AC






     Emission Units: 014

Coastal Lumber Company

     Date of Issue:  June 18, 1996
    
 



     Expiration Date: December 31, 1996

    
 



     County: Gadsden

    
 



     Project: Existing Plywood Dryers

This permit is issued under the provisions of Section 403.087, Florida Statutes, and Florida Administrative Code Rules 62-296, 62-297 and 62-4.  The above named applicant, hereinafter called Permittee, is hereby authorized to perform the work or operate the facility shown on the application and approved drawing(s), plans, and other documents attached hereto or on file with the Department and made a part hereof and specifically described as follows:

After the fact construction permit for three existing plywood veneer dryers (Coe Model M72 Vert-a-Jet dryers) with 46 sections and 276 total heated feet and a maximum combined process rate of 30,000 square feet of 3/8" plywood per hour.  Dryer No. 1 has ten sections with two heat regulating exhaust stacks and two pairs of cooling intake and exhaust stacks, and is used for veneer sheets and core material.  Dryers No. 2 and 3 have 20 sections and 16 sections respectively, with three temperature regulating exhaust stacks and three pairs of cooling intake and exhaust stacks.   

Construction shall be consistent with the construction permit application signed October 24, 1995.

Located:  on the west side of U.S. 27 approximately two miles north of Havana

PERMITTEE:



     AIRS I.D. Number: 0390009

    
 



     Air Permit Number: 0390009001AC

Coastal Lumber Company

     Emission Units: 014






     Date of Issue:

    
 



     Expiration Date: December 31, 1996

SPECIFIC CONDITIONS:

General
1.  The attached General Conditions are part of this permit. [FAC Rule 62-4.160]

Operation
2.  The maximum allowable operating rate is 30,000 square feet of 3/8" plywood dried per hour.  This is the operating rate at which compliance with standards shall be demonstrated.  [FAC Rule 62-4.070]

3.  The Existing Plywood Dryers may operate continuously, i.e., 8760 hrs/yr, based on 24 hours/day, 7 days/week and 52 weeks per year.      [FAC Rule 62-4.070 and construction permit application]   

Emissions
4.  The maximum allowable emission limit for each pollutant is as follows:


Pollutant
FAC Rule
Allowable Emissions


VE

62-296.310
less than 20% opacity

5 .  This source shall be operated in such a fashion so as to preclude objectionable odors.  Objectionable odor is any odor present in the outdoor atmosphere which by itself or in combination with other odors, is or may be harmful or injurious to human health or welfare, which unreasonably interferes with the comfortable use and enjoyment of life or property, or which creates a nuisance pursuant to FAC Rule 62-296.200(123)

If the Department determines objectionable odors are being emitted from this facility, the Permittee shall submit within 45 days of receipt of written notification from the Department an odor remediation plan.  The plan shall include, but is not limited to, the following:


1.  Dispersion modeling analysis to show compliance with ambient acceptable odor threshold value(s).


2.  Strategies to reduce odorous chemical utilization or emissions.


3.  Modification of manufacturing production cycles.


4.  Modification or manufacturing methods.


5.  Modification of plant exhaust systems.  


(FAC Rule 62-296.320(2))

6.  The permittee shall research information further identifying the types and quantities of VOC's emitted.   The information shall be summarized in a report which shall be provided to the Department with the application for operation permit.  

Testing
7.  Visible emissions tests are required to show compliance with the standards of the Department.  The test results must provide reasonable assurance that the source is capable of compliance at the permitted maximum operating rate.  [FAC Rule 62-4.070]  Tests shall be for a duration of thirty minutes and shall be conducted in accordance with DEP method 9 on the stack from each dryer with the hottest discharge temperature.  (Dryer 1, zone 2; dryer 2, zone 1; and dryer 3, zone 2)  Such tests shall be conducted  within 60 days of receipt of this permit.   The Department shall be notified at least 15 days prior to testing to allow witnessing.  Results shall be submitted to the Department within 45 days after testing.

 Test reports shall comply with F.A.C. Rule 62-297.570, Test Reports.  

The Department can require special compliance tests in accordance with F.A.C. Rule 62-297.340(2).

    Testing of emissions shall be conducted with the source operating at capacity.  Capacity is defined as 90-100% of rated capacity.  If it is impractical to test at capacity, then sources may be tested at less than capacity; in this case subsequent source operation is limited to 110% of the test load until a new test is conducted.  Once the unit is so limited, then operation at higher capacities is allowed for no more than fifteen days for purposes of additional compliance testing to regain the rated capacity in the permit, with prior notification to the Department.

Administrative
8.  An annual operating report for air pollutant emitting facility, DEP Form 62-210.990(5), shall be submitted by March 1 of each year.  A copy of the form and instructions may be obtained from the Department of Environmental Protection, Northwest District Air Resources Management Program, (904) 444-8364. [FAC Rule 62-210.370] 

9.  An application for an operation permit [Form DEP 62-210.900(1), Long Form or 62-210.900(2), Short Form, as applicable]shall be submitted with the compliance test results and emissions report.  These are to be submitted prior to September 31, 1996 or with the facility application for an Title V operation permit whichever is due first.  The permittee shall obtain an operating permit for this source before the expiration of this construction permit if the permittee desires to continue operation. [FAC Rule 17-4.050]

10. In accordance with F.A.C. Rule 62-213, a Major Air Pollution Source Annual Operation Fee Form [DEP Form 62-213.900(11) attached] must be completed and submitted with appropriate fee between January 15 and March 1 of each year.  If the Department has not received the fee payment by March 1, the Department shall impose, in addition to the fee, a penalty of 50 percent of the amount of the fee, plus interest on such amount computed in accordance with s.220.807, Florida Statutes.  The Department may revoke any major air pollution source operation permit if it finds that the permit holder has failed to pay timely and required annual operation license fee, penalty or interest.  The completed form and appropriate fees must be submitted to the Department of Environmental Protection, Title V (Facility I.D. Number), 3900 Commonwealth Boulevard, Tallahassee, Florida 32399-3000.

11.  The emission unit covered by this permit is 0390009014.  Please cite this number on all test reports and other correspondence specific to this permitted emission unit.  [FAC Rule 62-297.570]

12.  The Permittee, for good cause, may request that this construction permit be extended.  Such a request with the required $50 extension fee shall be submitted 60 days prior to the expiration date of this permit.  (FAC Rule 17-4.090)

13.  The Department telephone number for reporting problems, malfunctions or exceedances under this permit is (904) 444-8364, day or night, and for emergencies involving a significant threat to human health or the environment is (904) 488-1320.  For routine business, telephone (904) 488-3704 during normal working hours.  [FAC Rule 62-210.700]

Expiration Date:



     Issued this   /18th/  day of   /June/ ,

    
 




     1996.

December 31, 1996







     STATE OF FLORIDA DEPARTMENT

    
 




     OF ENVIRONMENTAL PROTECTION








/s/
    



 

     _________________________________

    



 

     ED K. MIDDLESWART, P.E.

    



 

     Air Program Administrator

GENERAL CONDITIONS:

1.  The terms, conditions, requirements, limitations, and restrictions set forth in this permit are "permit conditions", and are binding and enforceable pursuant to Sections 403.141, 403.727, or 403.859 through 403.861, Florida Statutes.  The permittee is placed on notice that the Department will review this permit periodically and may initiate enforcement action for any violation of these conditions.

2.  This permit is valid only for the specific processes and operations applied for and indicated in the approved drawings or exhibits.  Any unauthorized deviation from the approved drawings, exhibits, specifications, or conditions of this permit may constitute grounds for revocation and enforcement action by the Department.

3.  As provided in Subsections 403.087(6) and 403.722(5), Florida Statutes, the issuance of this permit does not convey any vested rights or any exclusive privileges.  Nor does it authorize any injury to public or private property or any invasion of personal rights, nor any infringement of federal, state or local laws or regulations.  This permit does not constitute a waiver of or approval of any other Department permit that may be required for other aspects of the total project which are not addressed in the permit.

4.  This permit conveys no title to land or water, does not constitute state recognition or acknowledgment of title, and does not constitute authority for the use of submerged lands unless herein provided and the necessary title or leasehold interests have been obtained from the state.  Only the Trustees of the Internal Improvement Trust Fund may express state opinion as to title.

5.  This permit does not relieve the permittee from liability for harm or injury to human health or welfare, animal, or plant life, or property caused by the construction or operation of this permitted source, or from penalties therefore; nor does it allow the permittee to cause pollution in contravention of Florida Statutes and Department rules, unless specifically authorized by an order from the Department.

6.  The permittee shall properly operate and maintain the facility and systems of treatment and control (and related appurtenances) that are installed and used by the permittee to achieve compliance with the conditions of this permit, are required by Department rules.  This provision includes the operation of backup or auxiliary facilities or similar systems when necessary to achieve compliance with the conditions of the permit and when required by Department rules.

7.  The permittee, by accepting this permit, specifically agrees to allow authorized Department personnel, upon presentation of credentials or other documents as may be required by law, access to the premises, at reasonable times, where the permitted activity is located or conducted for the purpose of:

GENERAL CONDITIONS:

    a.
 Having access to and copying any records that must be kept under the conditions of this permit;

    b.
 Inspecting the facility, equipment, practices, or operations regulated or required under this permit; and,

    c.
 Sampling or monitoring any substances or parameters at any location reasonably necessary to assure compliance with this permit or Department rules.

    Reasonable time may depend on the nature of the concern being investigated.

8.  If, for any reason, the permittee does not comply with or will be unable to comply with any condition or limitation specified in this permit, the permittee shall immediately provide the Department with the following information:

    a.
 A description of and cause of noncompliance; and

    b.
 The period of noncompliance, including exact dates and times; or, if not corrected, the anticipated time the noncompliance is expected to continue, and steps being taken to reduce, eliminate, and prevent recurrence of the noncompliance.  The permittee shall be responsible for any and all damages which may result and may be subject to enforcement action by the Department for penalties or for revocation of this permit.

9.  In accepting this permit, the permittee understands and agrees that all records, notes, monitoring data and other information relating to the construction or operation of this permitted source which are submitted to the Department may be used by the Department as evidence in any enforcement case involving the permitted source arising under the Florida Statutes or Department rules, except where such use is proscribed by Sections 403.73 and 403.111, Florida Statutes.  Such evidence shall only be used to the extent it is 

consistent with Florida Rules of Civil Procedure and appropriate evidentiary rules.

10.  The permittee agrees to comply with changes in Department rules and Florida Statutes after a reasonable time for compliance, provided however, the permittee does not waive any other rights granted by Florida Statutes or Department rules.

11.  This permit is transferable only upon Department approval in accordance with Florida Administrative Code Rules 62-4.120 and 62-730.300, as applicable.  The permittee shall be liable for any noncompliance of the permitted activity until the transfer is approved 

by the Department.

12.  This permit is required to be kept at the work site of the permitted activity during the entire period of construction or operation.

GENERAL CONDITIONS:

13.  The permittee shall comply with the following:

     a.
 Upon request, the permittee shall furnish all records and plans required under Department rules.  During enforcement actions, the retention period for all records will be extended automatically unless otherwise stipulated by the Department.

     b.
 The permittee shall hold at the facility or other location designated by this permit records of all monitoring information (including all calibration and maintenance records and all original strip chart recordings for continuous monitoring instrumentation) required by the permit, copies of all reports required by this permit, and records of all data used to complete the application for this permit.  These materials shall be retained at least three years from the date of the sample, measurement, report or application unless otherwise specified by Department rule.

     c.
 Records of monitoring information shall include:

    
 - the date, exact place, and time of sampling or measurement;

    
 - the person responsible for performing the sampling or

    
   measurement;

    
 - the date(s) analyses were performed;

    
 - the person responsible for performing the analyses;

    
 - the analytical techniques or methods used; and

    
 - the results of such analyses.

14.  When requested by the Department, the permittee shall within a reasonable time furnish any information required by law which is needed to determine compliance with the permit.  If the permittee becomes aware the relevant facts were not submitted or were incorrect in the permit application or in any report to the Department, such facts or information shall be corrected promptly.

STATE OF FLORIDA

DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL PROTECTION

NOTICE OF INTENT TO ISSUE PERMIT

    The Department of Environmental Protection gives notice of its intent to issue an after the fact construction permit to Coastal Lumber Company for three Existing Plywood Dryers with a maximum process rate of 30,000 square feet 3/8" plywood dried per hour.   Emissions from the dryers include 48.2 TPY particulate matter and 38.3 TPY volatile organic compounds.  Coastal Lumber is located on the west side of U.S. 27 approximately two miles north of Havana in Gadsden County. 

    A person whose substantial interests are affected by the Department's proposed permitting decision may petition for an administrative proceeding (hearing) in accordance with Section 120.57, Florida Statutes.  The petition must contain the information set forth below and must be filed (received) in the Office of General Counsel of the Department at 3900 Commonwealth Boulevard, Tallahassee, Florida 32399-3000, within 14 days of publication of this notice.  Petitioner shall mail a copy of the petition to the applicant at the address indicated above at the time of filing.  Failure to file a petition within this time period shall constitute a waiver of any right such person may have to request an administrative determination (hearing) under Section 120.57, Florida Statutes.

    The petition shall contain the following information; (a) The name, address, and telephone number of each petitioner, the applicant's name and address, the Department Permit File Number and the county in which the project is proposed; (b) A statement of how and when each petitioner received notice of the Department's action or proposed action; (c) A statement of how each petitioner's substantial interests are affected by the Department's action or proposed action; (d) A statement of the material facts disputed by petitioner, if any; (e) A statement of facts which petitioner contends warrant reversal or modification of the Department's action or proposed action; (f) A statement of which rules or statutes petitioner contends require reversal or modification of the Department's action or proposed action; and (g) A statement of the relief sought by petitioner, stating precisely the action petitioner wants the Department to take with respect to the Department's action or proposed action.

    If a petition is filed, the administrative hearing process is designed to formulate agency action.  Accordingly, the Department's final action may be different from the position taken by it in this Notice.  Persons whose substantial interests will be affected by any decision of the Department with regard to the application have the right to petition to become a party to the proceeding.  The petition must conform to the requirements specified above and be filed (received) within 14 days of publication of this notice in the Office of General Counsel at the above address of the Department.  Failure to petition within the allowed time frame constitutes a waiver of any right such person has to request a hearing under Section 120.57, Florida Statutes, and to participate as a party to this proceeding.  Any subsequent intervention will only be at the approval of the presiding officer upon motion filed pursuant to Rule 28-5.207, F.A.C.

    The application is available for public inspection during normal business hours, 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m., Monday through Friday, except for legal holidays, at the Northwest District, 160 Governmental Center, Pensacola, Florida.

MEMORANDUM
TO  

 : Bobby A. Cooley

THROUGH
 : Ed K. Middleswart, P.E.

FROM

 : Andy Allen,  Bob Kriegel

DATE

 : May 10, 2012
SUBJECT
 : Evaluation Summary for Coastal Lumber Company, Existing Plywood Dryers 


   ARMS no. 0390009014, Gadsden 

    We recommend issuing notice of intent to issue an after the fact construction permit to Coastal Lumber Company for three Existing Plywood Dryers.

Process Description  

Three existing plywood veneer dryers (Coe Model M72 Vert-a-Jet dryers) with 46 sections and 276 total heated feet and a maximum combined process rate of 30,000 square feet of 3/8" plywood per hour.  Dryer no. 1 has ten sections with two heat regulating exhaust stacks and two pairs of cooling intake and exhaust stacks and is used for veneer sheets and core material.  Dryers no. 2 & 3 have 20 sections and 16 sections respectively, with three temperature regulating exhaust stacks and three pairs of cooling intake and exhaust stacks.   

Pollution Control Equipment  

None 

Applicable Rules and Regulations and Environmental Impact  

A fee of $2000  was submitted.  This fee is appropriate for a subtype  1D  source with  emissions between 25 and 50 TPY.  

This source is regulated in accordance with FAC Rule 62-296.310, General Particulate Emission Limiting Standards, General Visible Emissions Standard; and, 62-296.320, General Pollutant Emission Limiting Standards (for VOCs).

This source is a minor emissions unit at a major facility with emissions greater than 100 TPY.   

Allowable and potential emissions are:

Pollutant
FAC Rule
Allowable

Maximum Emissions




Emissions

(tons per year)
VE

62-296.320
less than 20% opacity

PM







48.2

PM10







28.0

VOC







38.3



Site Characteristics:  
Existing timber products facility - plywood located in a rural area of Gadsden County approximately two miles north of Havana. 

Compliance Monitoring  

VE tests within sixty days of permit issuance.  Additional information concerning emissions required with application for operation permit.

Compliance History  
Unpermitted emission points at a major facility.  Application submitted as follow-up to our letter dated October 10, 1995.

Additional staff notes are attached.  
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