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Permittee:
DRAFT/PROPOSED Permit No. 0990549-010-AV
South Florida Water Management District
Facility Name: Pump Station G-310
3301 Gunn Club Road
Facility ARMS ID No.: 0990549
West Palm Beach, Florida 33406
SIC NOS.: 9511
 
Project: Title V Air Operation Permit Renewal 9

	Effective Date:  DRAFT/PROPOSED

	Expiration Date:  DRAFT/PROPOSED

	Apply for renewal by:  DRAFT/PROPOSED



The purpose of this permit is to RENEW Title V Operating Permit No. 0990549-009-AV for the above referenced facility.  The existing Pump Station G-310 is located at the extreme southwest corner of the Storm Water Treatment Area No.1 West (STA-1W), approximately 1300 feet north and 400 feet east of the southwest corner of Section 34, Township 44 South, and Range 39 East in Palm Beach County, Florida. The facility is located at UTM Coordinates:  Zone 17; 555.13 km E; 2941.96 km N; Latitude:  26( 35’ 50” North and Longitude:  80( 26’ 47” West.

The Title V air operation permit is issued under the provisions of Chapter 403, Florida Statutes (F.S.), and Florida Administrative Code (F.A.C.) Chapters 62-4, 62-210, and 62-213.  The above named permittee is hereby authorized to operate the facility in accordance with the terms and conditions of this permit.

Referenced attachments made a part of this permit:
Appendix I:

Insignificant Emissions Units and/or Activities

Appendix TV:

Title V Conditions (version dated 02/16/2012)

Appendix TR:  



Facility-wide testing Requirements  
Appendix RR: 

Facility-wide reporting requirements
Appendix 40 CFR 63 Subpart A:
General Provisions of 40 CFR Part 63 Subpart A
Appendix ZZZZ: 
National Emissions Standards for Hazardous Air Pollutants for Stationary   Reciprocating Internal Combustion Engines (RICE) 
Executed in West Palm Beach, Florida
Florida Department of Health Palm Beach County


DRAFT/PROPOSED
_____________________________________________

Timothy G. Mayer, RS, MPH; 
Director Division of Environmental Public Health

Subsection A.  Facility Description.
The Title V Source, identified as Pump Station G-310 (SIC Code 9511), has been assigned AIRS ID No. 0990549.  
It is located at the extreme southwest corner of the Storm Water Treatment Area No.1 West (STA-1W), approximately 1300 feet north and 400 feet east of the southwest corner of Section 34, Township 44 South, and Range 39 East in Palm Beach County, Florida. The facility is located at UTM Coordinates:  Zone 17; 555.13 km E; 2941.96 km N; Latitude:  26( 35’ 50” North and Longitude:  80( 26’ 47” West. The site can be accessed from State Road 80.  Just west of pump station S-5A is the access road to the Everglades Nutrient Removal (ENR) site.  The site to Pump Station G-310 can be accessed from the entrance to ENR site using the L-7 levee access road, which is adjacent to water conservation area 1 and extends the length of STA-1W.  The pump station is about 7 miles south of the ENR site entrance.
The facility includes two Fairbanks-Morse 1,535-BHP (brake horse power)  water pumps, two Fairbanks-Morse 751-BHP water pumps, two Cummins 900-BHP emergency power generators, four 12,848-gallons above ground storage tanks (ASTs), and three aboveground storage tanks (ASTs) less than 40 cubic meters in capacity and miscellaneous insignificant activities.  It is classified as a synthetic-minor source under the Prevention of Significant Deterioration (PSD) program and a natural minor source under the Hazardous Air Pollutant program.  Potential emissions of criteria pollutants from the source are limited below the 250 ton per year -- major source threshold of the PSD program -- by a federally enforceable construction permit (0990549-001-AC).

Subsection B.  Summary of Emissions Units.
	001
	Inactive
	Two Fairbanks-Morse 1535-hp water pumps, 

two Fairbanks-Morse 751-hp water pumps, 

two Cummins 900-hp emergency power generators

See Permitting Note below

	004
	Regulated
	One 751 brake horse-power (BHP) six cylinder Fairbanks Morse Model 38D8-1/8 diesel engine/water pump combination (Serial Number 38D8970073DS6RM)

Engine installed ~1999.

	005
	Regulated
	One 1,535 brake horse-power (BHP) ten cylinder Fairbanks Morse Model 38D8-1/8 diesel engine/water pump combination (Serial Number 38D8969177DS10RM)

Engine installed ~1999.

	006
	Regulated
	One 1,535 brake horse-power (BHP) ten cylinder Fairbanks Morse Model 38D8-1/8 diesel engine/water pump combination (Serial Number 38D8969176DS10RM)

Engine installed ~1999.

	007
	Regulated
	One 751 brake horse-power (BHP) six cylinder Fairbanks Morse Model 38D8-1/8 diesel engine/water pump combination (Serial Number 38D8970031DS6RM)

Engine installed ~1999.

	008
	Regulated
	Two Cummins 900-hp emergency power generators (Serial numbers H990959808 & H990959810) Generators installed ~1999. 

	002
	Exempt/Insignificant
	Distillate fuel oil tanks:

Four 12,848 gallon above ground storage tanks (ASTs).

Three above ground storage day tanks (ASTs) less than 40 cubic meters in capacity.



{Permitting Note: The Emissions Unit No. 001 is divided into five separate emissions units by this permit action. The two Fairbanks-Morse (Model No. 3D8-1/8) 1,535-BHP pumps are identified as Emissions Unit No. 005 and 006, two Fairbanks-Morse (Model No. 3D8-1/8) 751-BHP pumps are identified as Emissions Units No. 004 and 007, and two 900-BHP Cummins emergency power generators are identified as Emissions Unit No. 008. This was done because of emissions standards for Carbon Monoxide (CO) per Federal Regulation 40 CFR 63 Subpart ZZZZ. The emissions unit no. 002 and 003 are merged into emissions unit 002}.

Subsection C.  Relevant Documents

The documents listed below are not a part of this permit; however, they are specifically related to this permitting action.


The following documents are provided to the permittee for information purposes only:

Appendix A:
Abbreviations, Acronyms, Citations, and Identification Numbers

Appendix H:
Permit History

Appendix SOB:
Statement of Basis


Current Application and Permit History

04-01-16:   Health Department received application for Project (0990549-010-AV).
05-25-16:   Health Department deemed application complete.

Please reference the Permit No., Facility ID No., and appropriate Emissions Unit(s) ID No(s), on all correspondence, test report submittals, applications, etc.

The following conditions apply facility-wide to all emission units and activities:

FW1.   Regulating Agencies:  All applications, reports, tests, and notifications shall be submitted to the Air Pollution Control Section of the Florida Department of Health Palm Beach County (Health Department) 
at P.O. Box 29 (800 Clematis Street), West Palm Beach, Florida, 33402-0029, and phone number (561) 837-5900.  [PBC Specific Operating Agreement (SOA)]
FW2.   Appendices.  The permittee shall comply with all documents identified in Section IV, Appendices, listed in the Table of Contents.  Each document is an enforceable part of this permit unless otherwise indicated.  [Rule 62-213.440, F.A.C.]

Emissions and Controls

FW3.   Not federally Enforceable.  Objectionable Odor Prohibited.  No person shall cause, suffer, allow or permit the discharge of air pollutants, which cause or contribute to an objectionable odor.  An “objectionable odor” means any odor present in the outdoor atmosphere which by itself or in combination with other odors, is or may be harmful or injurious to human health or welfare, which unreasonably interferes with the comfortable use and enjoyment of life or property, or which creates a nuisance.  [Rule 62-296.320(2) and 62-210.200(Definitions), F.A.C.]

FW4.   General Particulate Emission Limiting Standards:  General Visible Emissions Standard. Except for emissions units that are subject to a particulate matter or opacity limit set forth or established by rule and reflected by conditions in this permit, the permittee shall not:


(1) 
Cause, let, permit, suffer or allow to be discharged into the atmosphere the emissions of air pollutants from any activity, the density of which is equal to or greater than that designated as No. 1 on the Ringelmann Chart (20 percent opacity). [Rule 62-296.320(4)(b)1., F.A.C.]
(2)
If the presence of uncombined water is the only reason for failure to meet the visible emissions standards given in Rule 62-296.320(4)1, F.A.C., such failure shall not be a violation of the rule. [Rule 62-296.320(4)(b)3, F.A.C.] 




(3) 

All visible emissions test performed pursuant to the requirements of Rule 62-296.320(b)(4)1, F.A.C. shall use EPA Reference Method 9, and shall meet all applicable requirements of Chapter 62-297, F.A.C..  [Rule 62-296.320(4)(b)4, F.A.C.]
FW5.   Excess Emissions Requirements: Unless specified elsewhere in this permit, excess emissions shall be regulated in accordance with the following: [Rule 62-210.700, F.A.C.]

(1) 
Excess emissions resulting from startup, shutdown, or malfunction of any emission unit shall be permitted providing (1) best operational practices to minimize emissions are adhered to and (2) the duration of excess emissions shall be minimized but in no case exceed two hours in any 24 hour period unless specifically authorized by the Department for longer duration. [Rule 62-210.700(1), F.A.C.]

(2) 
Excess emissions which are caused entirely or in part by poor maintenance, poor operation, or any other equipment or process failure which may reasonably be prevented during startup, shutdown, or malfunction shall be prohibited. [Rule 62-210.700(4), F.A.C.]
(3) Considering operational variations in types of industrial equipment operations affected by this rule, the Department may adjust the maximum and minimum factors to provide reasonable and practical regulatory controls consistent with the public interest. [Rule 62-210.700(5), F.A.C.]
(4)     In the case of excess emissions resulting from malfunctions, each owner or operator shall notify the Compliance Authority in accordance with Rule 62-4.130, F.A.C. A full written report on the malfunctions shall be submitted to the Compliance Authority in a quarterly report, if requested by the Permitting or Compliance Authority.  [Rule 62-210.700(6), F.A.C.]

Annual Reports and Fees 
See Appendix RR, Facility-wide Reporting Requirements for additional details.
FW6.   Electronic Annual Operating Report and Title V Annual Emissions Fees.  The information required by the Annual Operating Report for Air Pollutant Emitting Facility [Including Title V Source Emissions Fee Calculation] (DEP Form No. 62-210.900(5)) shall be submitted by April 1 of each year, for the previous calendar year, to the Department of Environmental Protection’s (DEP) Division of Air Resource Management.  Each Title V source shall submit the annual operating report using the DEP’s Electronic Annual Operating Report (EAOR) software, unless the Title V source claims a technical or financial hardship by submitting DEP Form No. 62-210.900(5) to the DEP Division of Air Resource Management instead of using the reporting software.  Emissions shall be computed in accordance with the provisions of subsection 62-210.370(2), F.A.C.  Each Title V source must pay between January 15 and April 1 of each year an annual emissions fee in an amount determined as set forth in subsection 62-213.205(1), F.A.C.  The annual fee shall only apply to those regulated pollutants, except carbon monoxide and greenhouse gases, for which an allowable numeric emission-limiting standard is specified in the source’s most recent construction permit or operation permit.  Upon completing the required EAOR entries, the EAOR Title V Fee Invoice can be printed by the source showing which of the reported emissions are subject to the fee and the total Title V Annual Emissions Fee that is due.  The submission of the annual Title V emissions fee payment is also due (postmarked) by April 1st of each year.  A copy of the system-generated EAOR Title V Annual Emissions Fee Invoice and the indicated total fee shall be submitted to:  Major Air Pollution Source Annual Emissions Fee, Post Office Box 3070, Tallahassee, Florida 32315-3070.  Additional information is available by accessing the Title V Annual Emissions Fee On-line Information Center at the following Internet web site:  http://www.dep.state.fl.us/air/emission/tvfee.htm.  [Rules 62-210.370(3), 62-210.900 & 62-213.205, F.A.C.; and, §403.0872(11), Florida Statutes (2013)]


{Permitting Note:  Resources to help you complete your AOR are available on the electronic AOR (EAOR) website at:  http://www.dep.state.fl.us/air/emission/eaor.  If you have questions or need assistance after reviewing the information posted on the EAOR website, please contact the Department by phone at (850) 717-9000 or email at eaor@dep.state.fl.us.}



{Permitting Note:  The Title V Annual Emissions Fee form (DEP Form No. 62-213.900(1)) has been repealed.  A separate Annual Emissions Fee form is no longer required to be submitted by 
April 1st each year.}

FW7.   Annual Statement of Compliance.  The permittee shall submit an annual statement of compliance to the compliance authority at the address shown on the cover of this permit and to the US. EPA at the address shown below within 60 days after the end of each calendar year during which the Title V air operation permit was effective.  [Rules 62-213.440(3)(a)2. & 3. and (b), F.A.C.]
U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, Region 4

Atlanta Federal Center

61 Forsyth Street, SW

Atlanta, Georgia  30303

Attn:  Air Enforcement Branch
FW8.   Prevention of Accidental Releases (Section 112(r) of CAA): Prevention of Accidental Releases (Section 112(r) of CAA).

a.  The permittee shall submit its Risk Management Plan (RMP) to the Chemical Emergency Preparedness and Prevention Office (CEPPO) RMP Reporting Center when, and if, such requirement becomes applicable.  Any Risk Management Plans, original submittals, revisions or updates to submittals, should be sent to:

RMP Reporting Center

Post Office Box 1515

Lanham-Seabrook, MD  20703-1515

Telephone:  301/429-5018

and,


b. The permittee shall submit to the permitting authority Title V certification forms or a compliance schedule in accordance with Rule 62-213.440(2), F.A.C. 
[40 CFR 68]


FW9.   Notifications and Reports:  The permittee shall submit all compliance-related notifications and reports required by this permit to the Florida Department of Health Palm Beach County (Health Department) and the Florida Department of Environmental Protection’s (FDEP) Southeast District Office at:
	Florida Department of Health 
Palm Beach County (Health Department)
Air & Waste Section
Post Office Box 29
800 Clematis Street, 4th Floor
West Palm Beach, Florida 33402-0029
Telephone: (561) 837-5900
Fax: (561) 837-5295
	Florida Department of Environmental Protection
      Air Program, Southeast District Office
     400 North Congress Avenue Suite 200
     West Palm Beach, Florida 33401
     Telephone: (561) 681-6600
     Fax: (561) 681-6790


FW10.   U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, Report & Notifications:  Any reports, data, notification, certifications, and requests required to be sent to the U. S. EPA should be sent to: 



United States Environmental Protection Agency



Region 4



Air and EPCRA Enforcement Branch, Air Enforcement Section



61 Forsyth Street



Atlanta, GA  30303



Telephone: 404/562-9155



Fax: 404/562-9163 or 404/562-9164
FW11.   Title V Effective Date:  When appropriate, any recording, monitoring, or reporting requirements that are time-specific shall be in accordance with the effective date of the permit, which defines day one.  [Rule 62-213.440, F.A.C.]

FW12.   Annual Statement of Compliance:  The permittee shall provide an annual statement of compliance to the Permitting Authority on or before March 1 each year covering the period for the previous calendar year. [40 CFR 70.6 & Rule 62-213.440, F.A.C.]


FW13.   Permit Renewal and Expiration:  The permittee shall apply for a renewal of permit on or before the "Renewal Application Due Date" listed on page one of this permit.  Permits being renewed are subject to the same requirements that apply to permit issuance at the time of application for renewal.  Permit renewal applications shall contain that information identified in Rules 62-210.900(1) and 62-213.420(3), F.A.C.  Unless a Title V source submits a timely application for permit renewal in accordance with the requirements of Rule 62-4.090(1), F.A.C., the existing permit shall expire and the permittee's right to operate shall terminate.  [Rule 62-213.430(3), F.A.C.]
FW14.   Permitted Capacity: The permittee shall not allow, cause, suffer or permit the operation of the unit in excess of the following without prior authorization from the Permitting Authority: 



Annual Fuel Consumption: Annual fuel consumption for the pump station including all support equipment shall not exceed 1,101,406 gallons of diesel fuel in any consecutive 12 months, rolling total.  [Air Construction Permit 0990549-008-AC]
The specific conditions in this section apply to the following emissions unit(s):
	EU ID No
	Status
	Brief Description

	004
	Regulated
	One 751 brake horse-power (BHP) pump engine (RICE). 

This emissions unit is a six cylinder Fairbanks-Morse Model 38D8-1/8 diesel engine/pump combinations. (Serial No. 38D8970332DS6RM) 

Engine installed ~1999. 

	005
	Regulated
	One 1,535-BHP pump engine (RICE). 

This emissions unit is a ten cylinder Fairbanks-Morse Model 38D8-1/8 diesel engine/pump combinations. (Serial No. 38D8970284DS10RM)

Engine installed ~1999.

	006
	Regulated
	One 1,535-BHP pump engine (RICE). 

This emissions unit is a ten cylinder Fairbanks-Morse Model 38D8-1/8 diesel engine/pump combinations. (Serial No. 38D8970283DS10RM)
Engine installed ~1999.

	007
	Regulated
	One 751-BHP pump engine (RICE). 

This emissions unit is a six cylinder Fairbanks-Morse Model 38D8-1/8 diesel engine/pump combinations. (Serial No. 38D8970070DS6RM)
Engine installed ~1999.


Two (2) Rebuilt Fairbanks-Morse 38D8-1/8 engines each coupled to a flood control pump.  The engines were originally constructed and put into service on September 30, 1959 on the USS Bain Bridge CGN (N) 25.  They are ten-cylinder opposed piston engines firing ultra-low (0.0015% sulfur by weight) distillate oil up to 80 gallons per hour.  The nameplate ratings are 1,535 bhp each. Rebuilt Fairbanks-Morse 38D8-1/8 engine coupled to a flood control pump.  The engine was originally constructed and put into service on May 28, 1963 on the USS Lewis and Clark SSB.  It is a six-cylinder opposed piston engine firing ultra-low (0.0015% sulfur by weight) sulfur distillate oil at up to 32 gallons per hour.  The nameplate rating is 1,020 brake horsepower (bhp) versus a book rating of 751 bhp. Rebuilt Fairbanks-Morse 38D8-1/8 engine coupled to a flood control pump.  The engine was originally constructed and put into service May 28, 1963 on the USS Stonewall Jackson SSB (N) 634.  It is a six-cylinder opposed piston engine firing ultra-low (0.0015% sulfur by weight) sulfur distillate oil at up to 32 gallons per 
hour.  The nameplate rating is 751 bhp.


The following specific conditions apply to the emissions unit(s) listed above:

Note:  The emission units listed above are subject to 40 CFR part 63 Subpart ZZZZ, “ National Emissions Standards for Hazardous Air Pollutants for Stationary Reciprocating Internal Combustion Engines (RICE)”. The emissions units shall comply with all requirements of the 40 CFR Part 63 Subpart ZZZZ that are applicable. 

Operating Restrictions
A.1.   Permitted Capacity.  The permittee shall not allow, cause, suffer or permit the operation of the unit in excess of the following without prior authorization from the Permitting Authority: 


(a)
Annual Fuel Consumption: The permittee shall comply with the Annual Fuel Consumption requirement specified in the Section II. Facility-Wide General Condition FW14. of this permit.

A.2.   Methods of Operation:  The permittee shall not allow, cause, suffer or permit any change in the method(s) of operation resulting in increased short-term or long-term emissions, without prior authorization from the Permitting Authority.  The authorized methods of operation include the following:

(a) Fuels: The permittee is authorized to use only diesel fuel that meets the following requirements of 40 CFR 80.510(b).  [40 CFR 63.6604]

(1) Maximum Sulfur content of 15 ppm.

(2) Cetane index or aromatic content, as follows:

(i) A minimum cetane index of 40; or

(ii) A maximum aromatic content of 35 volume percent. 
A.3.   Compliance Date: The permittee shall comply with the applicable regulations, emission limitations and operating limitations of 40 CFR Part 63 Subpart ZZZZ no later than May 3, 2013. [40 CFR 63.6585, 40 CFR 63.6590(1) & 40 CFR 63.6595(a)(1)]  
{Permit note: The facility complied with Specific Condition A.3. on initial CO stack test completed on July 11, 2013}
A.4.   Hours of Operation:  The permittee is authorized to operate the emissions units continuously without prior authorization from the Permitting Authority in accordance with Specific Condition A.1. of this permit.
A.5.   Operating Limitation:  The permittee shall meet the following operating limitations:
(a) Maintain the catalyst so that the pressure drop across the catalyst does not change by more than 2 inches of water at 100 percent load plus or minus 10 percent from the pressure drop across the catalyst that was measured during the initial performance test; and

(b) Maintain the temperature of the engine’s exhaust so that the catalyst inlet temperature is greater than or equal to 450 °F and less than or equal to 1350 °F. 

[40 CFR 63.6603 (a)] 
{Permit note: The facility complied with Specific Condition A.5. on initial CO stack test completed on July 11, 2013}
Emissions Limitations and Standards

A.6.   Emission Limitations:  The permittee shall meet the following requirements, except during periods of startup: [40 CFR 63.6603(a)]
(a) Limit concentration of Carbon Monoxide (CO) in the exhaust to 23 ppmvd at 15% Oxygen (O2); 
or
(b) Reduce CO emissions by 70% percent or more
{Permit note: The facility complied with Specific Condition A.6. on initial CO stack test completed on July 11, 2013}

Test Methods and Procedures

A.7.   Initial Performance Test:  

(a) The permittee shall conduct the initial performance test as specified in the table below within 180 days after the compliance date as specified in the Specific Condition A.3 of this permit.  

[40 CFR 63.6612 (a)]
             {Permit note: The facility complied with Specific Condition A.7. on initial CO stack test completed on July 11, 2013}
‘Requirements for the Performance Test’ (Table 4 of Subpart ZZZZ of Part 63) 
	For each . . .
	Complying with the
requirement to . . .
	Permittee must . . .
	Using . . .
	According to the following requirements . . .

	CI stationary RICE

  
	Reduce CO emissions

  
	i. Measure the O2 at the inlet and outlet of the control device; and
	(1) Portable CO and O2 analyzer
	(a) Using ASTM D6522–00 (2005)a (incorporated by reference, see §63.14). Measurements to determine O2 must be made at the same time as the measurements for CO concentration.

	(1) 
	(1) 
	ii. Measure the CO at the inlet and the outlet of the control device
	(1) Portable CO and O2 analyzer
	(a) Using ASTM D6522–00 (2005)ab (incorporated by reference, see §63.14) or Method 10 of 40 CFR appendix A. The CO concentration must be at 15 percent O2, dry basis.


a The Permittee may also use Methods 3A and 10 as options to ASTM–D6522–00 (2005). The Permittee may obtain a copy of ASTM–D6522–00 (2005) from at least one of the following addresses: American Society for Testing and Materials, 100 Barr Harbor Drive, West Conshohocken, PA 19428–2959, or University Microfilms International, 300 North Zeeb Road, Ann Arbor, MI 48106. ASTM–D6522–00 (2005) may be used to test both CI and SI stationary RICE. 
b The Permittee may also use Method 320 of 40 CFR part 63, appendix A, or ASTM D6348–03.

(b)
The Permittee is not required to conduct an initial performance test on a unit for which a performance test has been previously conducted, but the test must meet all of the conditions described in paragraphs (1) through (4) of this section. 

(1) The test must have been conducted using the same methods specified in 40 CFR 63 Subpart ZZZZ, and these methods must have been followed correctly. 

(2) The test must not be older than 2 years. 

(3) The test must be reviewed and accepted by the Department. 

(4) Either no process or equipment changes must have been made since the test was performed, or the owner or operator must be able to demonstrate that the results of the performance test, with or without adjustments, reliably demonstrate compliance despite process or equipment changes.  
[40 CFR 63.6612 (b)]

A.8.   Subsequent Performance Test: The permittee shall conduct subsequent performance tests as specified in Specific Condition A.7 (b) every 8,760 hours or 3 years, whichever comes first. [40 CFR 63.6615]

A.9.   Performance Test Procedure: The permittee shall use the following performance test procedure: 

(a)
Each performance test must be conducted according to the requirements specified in Specific Conditions A.7 and A.8. If the permittee operates a non-operational stationary RICE that is subject to performance testing, the permittee does not need to start up the engine solely to conduct the performance test.  The permittee can conduct the performance test when the engine is started up again. [40 CFR 63.6620(a) & (b)]
(b) 
The permittee must conduct three separate test runs for each performance test required in this permit. Each test run must last at least 1 hour.

(c)
(1) 
The Permittee must use Equation 1 of this section to determine compliance with the percent reduction requirement[40 CFR 63.6620(e)](1) & (2)]:
[image: image2.png]Cx100=2  Eq 1)





Where:

Ci= 
concentration of carbon monoxide (CO) at the control device inlet,

Co=
 concentration of CO at the control device outlet, and

R = 
percent reduction of CO emissions

(2) 
The Permittee must normalize the carbon monoxide (CO) concentrations at the inlet and outlet of the control device to a dry basis and to 15 percent oxygen, or an equivalent percent carbon dioxide (CO2). If pollutant concentrations are to be corrected to 15 percent oxygen and CO2 concentration is measured in lieu of oxygen concentration measurement, a CO2 correction factor is needed. Calculate the CO2 correction factor as described below [40 CFR 63.6620 (e)(2)(i) through (iii)].
(i) Calculate the fuel-specific Fovalue for the fuel burned during the test using values obtained from Method 19, section 5.2, and the following equation:

[image: image3.png]0.209 7,

Ea 2





Where:
Fo= 
Fuel factor based on the ratio of oxygen volume to the ultimate CO2 volume produced by the fuel at zero percent excess air.

0.209 = 
Fraction of air that is oxygen, percent/100.

Fd= 
Ratio of the volume of dry effluent gas to the gross calorific value of the fuel from Method 19, dsm3 /J (dscf/106 Btu).

Fc= 
Ratio of the volume of CO2 produced to the gross calorific value of the fuel from Method 19, dsm3 /J (dscf/106 Btu).

(ii) Calculate the CO2 correction factor for correcting measurement data to 15 percent oxygen, as follows:

[image: image4.png](Eq 3)





Where:
Xco2= 

CO2correction factor, percent.

5.9 = 

20.9 percent O2−15 percent O2, the defined O2 correction value, percent.

(iii) Calculate the NOX and SO2 gas concentrations adjusted to 15 percent O2 using CO2 as follows:
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Where:
%CO2= 
Measured CO2concentration measured, dry basis, percent.

(d)
The engine percent load during a performance test must be determined by documenting the calculations, assumptions, and measurement devices used to measure or estimate the percent load in a specific application. A written report of the average percent load determination must be included in the notification of compliance status. The following information must be included in the written report: 

(1) the engine model number, 

(2) the engine manufacturer, 

(3) the year of purchase, 

(4) the manufacturer's site-rated brake horsepower, 

(5) the ambient temperature, pressure, and humidity during the performance test, and 

(6) All assumptions that were made to estimate or calculate percent load during the performance test must be clearly explained. 

(7) If measurement devices such as flow meters, kilowatt meters, beta analyzers, stain gauges, etc. are used, the model number of the measurement device, and an estimate of its accurate in percentage of true value must be provided. 
 [40 CFR 63.6620]


Monitoring, Installation, Collection, Operation and Maintenance Requirements
A.10.   Installation of Control Technology: The permittee shall install diesel oxidation catalyst (DOC) equipments at remaining of the 1,535-BHP and 751-BHP engines exhausts to reduce the CO emissions to 23 ppmv @ 15% O2 or by 70% or more as required by 40 CFR 63 Subpart ZZZZ.  The proposed DOC units are Quick-Lid Catalytic Converter, manufactured by DCL International, Inc. [Permit No. 0990549-008-AC]
{Permit note: The facility complied with Specific Condition A.10. on initial CO stack test completed on July 11, 2013}
A.11.   Installation Requirements:   The permittee that owns or operates an existing non-emergency, non-black start CI engine greater than or equal to 300 HP that is not equipped with a closed crankcase ventilation system, must comply with either paragraph (a) or paragraph (b) of this specific condition. The permittee shall follow the manufacturer's specified maintenance requirements for operating and maintaining the open or closed crankcase ventilation systems and replacing the crankcase filters, or can request the Administrator to approve different maintenance requirements that are as protective as manufacturer requirements.  [40 CFR 63.6625 (g)] 

(a) 
Install a closed crankcase ventilation system that prevents crankcase emissions from being emitted to the atmosphere, or

(b)
 Install an open crankcase filtration emission control system that reduces emissions from the crankcase by filtering the exhaust stream to remove oil mist, particulates, and metals.
{Permit note: The facility complied with Specific Condition A.11. on initial CO stack test completed on July 11, 2013}
A.12.   Operation Requirements:   The permittee shall minimize the engine's time spent at idle during startup and minimize the engine's startup time to a period needed for appropriate and safe loading of the engine, not to exceed 30 minutes, after which time the emission standards are applicable, other than startup, as specified in Specific Condition A.6.  [40 CFR 63.6625(h)]

A.13.   Special Compliance Tests:  When the Health Department, after investigation, has good reason (such as complaints, increased visible emissions or questionable maintenance of control equipment) to believe that any applicable emission standard contained in Rule 62-210, 62-212, 62-296, or 62-297,F.A.C. or in a permit issued pursuant to those rules is being violated, it may require the owner or operator of the facility to conduct compliance tests which identify the nature and quantity of pollutant emissions from the emissions units and to provide a report on the results of said tests to the Health Department.  [62-297.310(7)(b), F.A.C.]
{Permitting Note: The emissions units have been exempted from the NOx-RACT requirements of Rule 62-296.570(4)(b)7., F.A.C. by the Florida Department of Environmental Protection in a letter dated December 13, 1996 from Mr. C. Fancy, Bureau Chief, FDEP.  In addition, the emissions units have avoided the requirements of BACT of Rule 62-212.300(5)(c), F.A.C. by accepting a federally enforceable cap on annual fuel oil usage. The Health Department reserves the right to request a special compliance test for emissions of nitrogen oxides in the event new data indicates that potential emissions would exceed 250 tons per year. The facility’s current potential NOx emissions are 246.7 tons per year, based on the NOx emission factor of 3.2 lb/MMBtu}

A.14.   Annual Fuel Consumption:  The permittee shall monitor compliance with the annual fuel consumption limit on a monthly basis.  If the rolling 12-month total does not exceed 880,000 gallons (80% of the fuel oil consumption cap), the permittee shall continue to monitor fuel consumption on a monthly basis (rolling 12-month total).  If the rolling 12-month total exceeds 880,000 gallons, the permittee shall monitor fuel consumption on a daily basis (rolling 365-day total).  When the rolling 365-day total does not exceed 880,000 gallons for 30 consecutive days, monthly monitoring can be resumed. [Permit No. 0990549-008-AC]
A.15.   Emissions Factor Verification:  When the Health Department has reason to believe that the emission rates used to establish the fuel usage caps have changed, it may require the owner or operator of the emission unit to conduct compliance tests which identify the nature and quantity of pollutant emission from the emission unit and to provide a report on the results of said tests to the Department. [Rule 62-4.070(3) F.A.C.]
Initial Compliance

A.16. Initial Compliance Requirement:  The permittee complying with the requirement to reduce CO emissions and using oxidation catalyst shall have demonstrated the initial compliance if:

(a) 
The average reduction of emissions of CO determined from the initial performance test achieves 
the required CO percent reduction; and
(b) 
The permittee has recorded the catalyst pressure drop and catalyst inlet temperature during the initial performance test.
[40 CFR 63.6630(a)]

A.17. During the initial performance test, the permittee shall establish each operating limitation as specified in the Specific Condition A.5 of this permit.  [40 CFR 63.6630(b)] 
A.18. Notification of Initial Compliance Status: The permittee shall submit the Notification of Compliance Status containing the results of the initial compliance demonstration according to the requirements in Specific Condition A.24 of this permit.  [40 CFR 63.6630(c)] 

{Permit note: The facility demonstrated compliance with Specific Conditions A.16. thru A.18. on initial CO stack test
 completed on July 11, 2013} 
Continuous Compliance

A.19. The permittee shall be in compliance with the emissions limitation as required in the Specific Condition A.6 and operating limitation as required in the Specific Condition A.5 at all times. [40 CFR 63.6605 (a)]

A.20. At all times the permittee shall operate and maintain any affected source, including associated air pollution control equipment and monitoring equipment, in a manner consistent with safety and good air pollution control practices for minimizing emissions. The general duty to minimize emissions does not require the permittee to make any further efforts to reduce emissions if levels required by this standard have been achieved. Determination of whether such operation and maintenance procedures are being used will be based on information available to the Administrator which may include, but is not limited to, monitoring results, review of operation and maintenance procedures, review of operation and maintenance records, and inspection of the source.  [40 CFR 63.6605 (b)]

A.21. The permittee shall report each instance in which the emissions unit did not meet each emission limitation or operating limitation specified in the permit. These instances are deviations from the emission and operating limitations specified in the permit. These deviations must be reported according to the requirements in the Specific Condition A.27. If the permittee changes the catalyst, the permittee shall reestablish the values of the operating parameters measured during the initial performance test. When reestablishing the values of the operating parameters, the permittee shall also conduct a performance test to demonstrate that the emissions unit is meeting the required emission limitation.  [40 CFR 63.6640 (b)]
The permittee must also report each instance in which the emissions unit did not meet the requirements in Table 8 of Subpart ZZZZ of CFR Part 63 (Appendix ZZZZ).  [40 CFR 63.6640(e)]
Notification Requirements

A.22. Notification of Performance Tests: The permittee shall notify the PBCHD in writing of the intent to conduct a performance test at least 60 calendar days before the performance test is initially scheduled to begin to allow the PBCHD, upon request, to review and approve the site-specific test plan and to have an observer present during the test. [40 CFR 63.6645 (a) & 40 CFR 63.7 (b)(1)]

A.23. In the event the permittee is unable to conduct the performance test on the date specified in the notification requirement specified in Specific Condition A.22 due to unforeseeable circumstances beyond his or her control, the permittee must notify the PBCHD as soon as practicable and without delay prior to the scheduled performance test date and specify the date when the performance test is rescheduled. This notification of delay in conducting the performance test shall not relieve the permittee of legal responsibility for compliance with any other applicable provisions of this part or with any other applicable Federal, State, or local requirement, nor will it prevent the PBCHD from implementing or enforcing this part or taking any other action under the Act.  

[40 CFR 63.6645 (a) & 40 CFR 63.7 (b)(2)]

A.24.   Notification of Compliance Status: The Notification of Compliance Status, including the performance test results, shall be mailed before the close of business on the 60th day following the completion of the relevant compliance demonstration activities (such as initial performance test or any subsequent required performance test). Notifications may be combined as long as the due date requirement 
for each notification is met.  [40 CFR 63.6645 (h)]


Reporting And Recordkeeping Requirements
A.25.   Record Keeping Requirements:  

(a) For monthly fuel consumption monitoring (the rolling 12-month total does not exceed 880,000 gallons): Within the first 15 days of each month, the permittee shall record in a written log the following information[Permit No. 0990549-008-AC]:
(1) Gallons of diesel fuel consumed for the previous month of operation; 

(2) Gallons of diesel fuel consumed for the previous consecutive 12 months of operation (including the previous month consumption discussed as above; and 

(3) Hours of operation for each pump engine for the previous month of operation.

(b) For daily fuel consumption monitoring (the rolling 12-month total does exceed 880,000 gallons): Once per day, the permittee shall record in a written log the following information:

(1) Gallons of diesel fuel consumed for the that day of operation; 

(2) Gallons of diesel fuel consumed for the previous consecutive 365 days of operation; and

(3) Hours of operation for each pump engine for that day of operation.

A.26.   The permittee shall maintain the recordkeeping for the following items listed below. The recordkeeping shall be maintained in a form suitable and readily available for expeditious inspection and review for the followings. The files shall be retained for at least 5 years following the date of each occurrence, measurement, maintenance, corrective action, report of record. At a minimum, the most recent 2 years of data shall be retained on site. The remaining 3 years of data may be retained off site.  Such files may be maintained on microfilm, on a computer, on computer floppy disks, on magnetic tape disks, or on microfiche. [40 CFR 63.6655(a) & (d)]

(a) A copy of each notification and report submitted to comply with the emission and operating limitations, including all documentation supporting any Initial Notification or Notification of Compliance Status.
(b) Records of the occurrence and duration of each malfunction of operation (i.e., process equipment) or the air pollution control and monitoring equipment. 

(c) Records of performance tests and performance evaluations. 
(d) Records of all required maintenance performed on the air pollution control and monitoring equipment.
(e) Records of actions taken during periods of malfunction to minimize emissions in accordance with Specific Condition A.20, including corrective actions to restore malfunctioning process and air pollution control and monitoring equipment to its normal or usual manner of operation.
(f) The permittee must keep records required in Table 6 of the Subpart ZZZZ (see Appendix ZZZZ) to show continuous compliance with each emission or operating limitations that applies.
A.27.   Reporting Requirements:  The Permittee shall submit Semiannual Compliance Report, as required in Table 7 of Appendix ZZZZ, containing the following information:

(a) If there are no deviations from any emission limitations or operating limitations that apply to the emissions units, a statement that there were no deviations from the emission limitations or operating limitations during the reporting period. 

(b) If the emissions units had a deviation from any emission limitation or operating limitation during the reporting period, the report shall contain following  information:
(1) 
Company name and address.

(2)
Statement by a responsible official, with that official's name, title, and signature, certifying the accuracy of the content of the report.

(3) 
Date of report and beginning and ending dates of the reporting period.

(4) 
The total operating time of the stationary RICE at which the deviation occurred during the reporting period.

(5) 
Information on the number, duration, and cause of deviations (including unknown cause, if applicable), as applicable, and the corrective action taken.

(c)  
If the emissions unit had a malfunction during the reporting period, the compliance report must include the number, duration, and a brief description for each type of malfunction which occurred during the reporting period and which caused or may have caused any applicable emission limitation to be exceeded. The report must also include a description of actions taken by the permittee during a malfunction of an affected source to minimize emissions in accordance with 40 CFR 63.6605(b), including actions taken to correct a malfunction. [40 CFR 63.6650(a), (c), (d)]

A.28.   The permittee shall submit each report by the date as specified below: 

(a) 
For semiannual Compliance reports, the first Compliance report must cover the period beginning on the compliance date as specified in Specific Condition A.3  and ending on June 30 or December 31, whichever date is the first date following the end of the first calendar half after the compliance date.

(b)
For semiannual Compliance reports, the first Compliance report must be postmarked or delivered no later than July 31 or January 31, whichever date follows the end of the first calendar half after the compliance date as specified in Specific Condition A.3.

(c)
For semiannual Compliance reports, each subsequent Compliance report must cover the semiannual reporting period from January 1 through June 30 or the semiannual reporting period from July 1 through December 31.

(d)
 For semiannual Compliance reports, each subsequent Compliance report must be postmarked or delivered no later than July 31 or January 31, whichever date is the first date following the end of the semiannual reporting period. 
[40 CFR 63.6650(b)]

A.29.   The permittee must report all deviations as defined in the Subpart ZZZZ in the semiannual monitoring report required by 40 CFR 70.6 (a)(3)(iii)(A) or 40 CFR 71.6(a)(3)(iii)(A). If the permittee submits a Compliance report pursuant to Table 7 of the subpart ZZZZ along with, or as part of, the semiannual monitoring report required by 40 CFR 70.6(a)(3)(iii)(A) or 40 CFR 71.6(a)(3)(iii)(A), and the Compliance report includes all required information concerning deviations from any emission or operating limitation in this subpart, submission of the Compliance report shall be deemed to satisfy any obligation to report the same deviations in the semiannual monitoring report. However, submission of a Compliance report shall not otherwise affect any obligation permittee may have to report deviations from permit requirements to the Department

A.30.   Performance Tests Results: The performance test results shall be mailed as a part of Notification of Compliance Status, as specified in Specific Condition A.24 of this permit, before the close of business on the 60th day following the completion of the relevant performance tests. [40 CFR 63.6645(h)] 

A.31.   Test Methods.  When required, tests shall be performed in accordance with the following reference methods: 

	Method
	Description of Method and Comments

	10
	Determination of Carbon Monoxide Emissions from Stationary Sources

{Note:  The method shall be based on a continuous sampling train.}


The above methods are described in 40 CFR 60, Appendix A, and adopted by reference in Rule 62-204.800, F.A.C.  No other methods may be used unless prior written approval is received from the 


Recordkeeping and Reporting Requirements

A.32.   Reporting Schedule.  The following reports and notifications shall be submitted to the Compliance Authority:  

	Report
	Reporting Deadline
	Related Condition(s)

	Pump Engines/Generators (Permit Deviations)
	Immediately upon occurrence (See RR2.d.)
	RR2, RR3

	Semi-annual Title V Monitoring report
	Every 6 months
	RR4

	Semi-annual Title V NESHAP Compliance Report
	Every 6 months
	A.27.  

	Annual Operating Report
	April 1
	RR5

	Annual Emissions Fee Form and Fee
	April 1
	RR6

	Annual Statement of Compliance
	Within 60 days after the end of each calendar year.
	RR7


[Rule 62-213.440(1)(b), F.A.C., and Appendix RR.


Common Conditions
A.33.   Common Conditions:  This emissions unit is also subject to Specific Conditions III.C.1 through III.C.23 contained in Subsection C. Common Conditions.

The specific conditions in this section apply to the following emissions unit:
	EU ID No.
	Status
	Emissions Unit Description

	008
	Regulated
	· Two Cummins 900-hp emergency power generators [Cummins India Limited Onan Model VTA -28-G5, (Serial Number H990959808 & H990959810) 
Generators installed ~1999.


Two (2) Onan Generator Sets each rated for 750 kVA.  Each generator is powered by a 900 BHP Cummins engine firing ultra-low sulfur distillate oil. 


The following specific conditions apply to the emissions unit(s) listed above:

Operating Restrictions

{Permitting note(s): Those operating restrictions which are identified as “Not Federally Enforceable” have been included for the purposes of local regulations, compliance testing, establishing appropriate emission limitations and to aid in determining future rule applicability.}

B.1. Compliance Date:  The permittee shall comply with the applicable emission limitations and operating limitations of 40 CFR Part 63 Subpart ZZZZ no later than May 3, 2013. [40 CFR 63.6595(a)(1)]

{Permit note: The facility complied with Specific Condition B.1. based on inspection made on June 7, 2012 during the witnessing of the initial CO Stack test on Pump Engine #4.}
Emissions Limitations and Standards

B.2.   Emission Limitations:  The permittee shall meet the following requirement, except during periods of startup: 
(a) Change oil and filter every 500 hours of operation or annually, whichever comes first; 

(b) Inspect air cleaner every 1,000 hours of operation or annually, whichever comes first; and

(c) Inspect all hoses and belts every 500 hours of operation or annually, whichever comes first, and replace as necessary.

{Permitting note(s): If an emergency engine is operating during an emergency and it is not possible to shut down the engine in order to perform the management practice shown above, or if performing the management practice on the required schedule would otherwise pose an unacceptable risk under Federal, State, or local law, the management practice can be delayed until the emergency is over or the unacceptable risk under Federal, State, or local law has abated. The management practice should be performed as soon as practicable after the emergency has ended or the unacceptable risk under Federal, State, or local law has abated. Sources must report any failure to perform the management practice on the schedule required and the Federal, State or local law under which the risk was deemed unacceptable.} [40 CFR 63.6603(a), Table 2d to Subpart ZZZZ of Part 63]

B.3. The permittee has the option to utilize an oil analysis program as described herein in order to extend the specified oil change requirement in the Specific Condition B.2.(a) of this permit. The oil analysis must be performed at the same frequency specified for changing the oil in this permit. The analysis program must at a minimum analyze the following three parameters: Total Base Number, viscosity, and percent water content. The condemning limits for these parameters are as follows: Total Base Number is less than 30 percent of the Total Base Number of the oil when new; viscosity of the oil has changed by more than 20 percent from the viscosity of the oil when new; or percent water content (by volume) is greater than 0.5. If all of these condemning limits are not exceeded, the permittee is not required to change the oil. If any of the limits are exceeded, the permittee must change the oil within 2 days of receiving the results of the analysis; if the engine is not in operation when the results of the analysis are received, the permittee must change the oil within 2 days or before commencing operation, whichever is later. The permittee must keep records of the parameters that are analyzed as part of the program, the results of the analysis, and the oil changes for the engine. The analysis program must be part of the maintenance plan for the engine.  [40 CFR 63.6625(i)]


Monitoring, Installation, Collection, Operation and Maintenance Requirements

B.4. The permittee shall develop a maintenance plan which shall provide to the extent practicable for the maintenance and operation of the engine in a manner consistent with good air pollution control practice for minimizing emissions. [40 CFR 63.6625(e)]

B.5.   The permittee shall install a non-resettable hour meter if one is not already installed. 
[40 CFR 63.6625(f)]

B.6.   The permittee shall minimize the engine's time spent at idle during startup and minimize the engine's startup time to a period needed for appropriate and safe loading of the engine, not to exceed 30 minutes, after which time the emission standards applicable to all times other than startup as specified in the Specific Condition B.2 of this permit. [40 CFR 63.6625(h)]

Continuous Compliance

B.7.   The permittee shall be in compliance with the emissions limitation as required in the Specific Condition B.2 at all times. [40 CFR 63.6605 (a)]

B.8.   At all times the permittee shall operate and maintain any affected source, including associated air pollution control equipment and monitoring equipment, in a manner consistent with safety and good air pollution control practices for minimizing emissions. The general duty to minimize emissions does not require the permittee to make any further efforts to reduce emissions if levels required by this standard have been achieved. Determination of whether such operation and maintenance procedures are being used will be based on information available to the Administrator which may include, but is not limited to, monitoring results, review of operation and maintenance procedures, review of operation and maintenance records, and inspection of the source.  [40 CFR 63.6605 (b)]

B.9.   The Permittee shall operate the emergency stationary Reciprocating Internal Combustion Engine (RICE) according to the requirements in paragraphs (a) through (c) of this specific condition. Any operation other than emergency operation, maintenance and testing, and operation in non-emergency situations for 50 hours per year, as described in paragraphs (a) through (c) of this specific condition, is prohibited. If the permittee does not operate the engine according to the requirements in paragraphs (a) through (c) of this specific condition, the engine will not be considered an emergency engine under this subpart and will need to meet all requirements for non-emergency engines. 
(a)      There is no time limit on the use of emergency stationary RICE in emergency situations.

(b) 
The permittee may operate the emergency stationary RICE for the purpose of maintenance checks and readiness testing, provided that the tests are recommended by Federal, State or local government, the manufacturer, the vendor, or the insurance company associated with the engine. Maintenance checks and readiness testing of such units is limited to 100 hours per year. The permittee may petition the PBCHD for approval of additional hours to be used for maintenance checks and readiness testing, but a petition is not required if the permittee maintains records indicating that Federal, State, or local standards require maintenance and testing of emergency RICE beyond 100 hours per year.

(c) 
The permittee may operate the emergency stationary RICE up to 50 hours per year in non-emergency situations, but those 50 hours are counted towards the 100 hours per year provided for maintenance and testing. The 50 hours per year for non-emergency situations cannot be used for peak shaving or to generate income for a facility to supply power to an electric grid or otherwise supply power as part of a financial arrangement with another entity; except that the permittee may operate the emergency engine for a maximum of 15 hours per year as part of a demand response program if the regional transmission organization or equivalent balancing authority and transmission operator has determined there are emergency conditions that could lead to a potential electrical blackout, such as unusually low frequency, equipment overload, capacity or energy deficiency, or unacceptable voltage level. The engine may not be operated for more than 30 minutes prior to the time when the emergency condition is expected to occur, and the engine operation must be terminated immediately after the facility is notified that the emergency condition is no longer imminent. The 15 hours per year of demand response operation are counted as part of the 50 hours of operation per year provided for non-emergency situations. The supply of emergency power to another entity or entities pursuant to financial arrangement is not limited by this paragraph (c), as long as the power provided by the financial arrangement is limited to emergency power.
[40 CFR 63.6640 (f)(1),(2)(i),(3) and (4)]
{Permit Note: EPA Memorandum Guidance of Vacatur dated April 15, 2016 stated that the D.C. Circuit court mandated vacating conditions 40 CFR 63.6640(f)(2)(ii)and (iii). This facility does not participate in the NERC or on demand use for generators.}
B.10.   The permittee shall report each instance in which the emissions unit did not meet each emission limitation or operating limitation specified in the permit. These instances are deviations from the emission and operating limitations specified in the permit. These deviations must be reported according to the requirements in the Specific Condition B.11. If the permittee changes the catalyst, the permittee shall reestablish the values of the operating parameters measured during the initial performance test. When reestablishing the values of the operating parameters, the permittee shall also conduct a performance test to demonstrate that the emissions unit is meeting the required emission limitation.  [40 CFR 63.6640 (b)]

Reporting And Recordkeeping Requirements

B.11.   The permittee shall maintain the recordkeeping for the following items listed below. The recordkeeping shall be maintained in a form suitable and readily available for expeditious inspection and review for the followings. The files shall be retained for at least 5 years following the date of each occurrence, measurement, maintenance, corrective action, report of record. At a minimum, the most recent 2 years of data shall be retained on site. The remaining 3 years of data may be retained off site.  Such files may be maintained on microfilm, on a computer, on computer floppy disks, on magnetic tape disks, or on microfiche. 

(a) Records of the occurrence and duration of each malfunction of operation (i.e., process equipment) or the air pollution control and monitoring equipment. [40 CFR 63.6655(a)(2)]

(b) Records of all required maintenance performed on the air pollution control and monitoring equipment. [40 CFR 63.6655(a)(4)]

(c) Records of actions taken during periods of malfunction to minimize emissions in accordance with Specific Condition B.10, including corrective actions to restore malfunctioning process and air pollution control and monitoring equipment to its normal or usual manner of operation. . [40 CFR 63.6655(a)(5)]

B.12.   The permittee shall keep records of the maintenance conducted on the stationary RICE in order to demonstrate that the permittee operated and maintained the stationary RICE and after-treatment control device (if any) according to the maintenance plan. [40 CFR 63.6655(e)]

B.13.   The permittee shall keep records of the hours of operation of the engine that is recorded through the non-resettable hour meter. The permittee must document how many hours are spent for emergency operation, including what classified the operation as emergency and how many hours are spent for non-emergency operation. If the engines are used for demand response operation, the permittee must keep records of the notification of the emergency situation, and the time the engine was operated as part of demand response. 
[40 CFR 63.6655(f)]
Common Conditions
B.14.   Common Conditions:  This emissions unit is also subject to Specific Conditions III.C.1 through 
III.C.23 contained in Subsection C. Common Conditions.
Subsection C.  This portion of the permit addresses the common conditions for the following emissions units as noted within each emissions unit(s) section:
	ID No.
	Status
	Brief Description

	004
	Regulated
	One 751 brake horse-power (BHP) six cylinder Fairbanks Morse Model 38D8-1/8 diesel engine/water pump combination (Serial Number 38D8970073DS6RM)
Engine installed ~1999.

	005
	Regulated
	One 1,535 brake horse-power (BHP) ten cylinder Fairbanks Morse Model 38D8-1/8 diesel engine/water pump combination (Serial Number 38D8969177DS10RM)
Engine installed ~1999.

	006
	Regulated
	One 1,535 brake horse-power (BHP) ten cylinder Fairbanks Morse Model 38D8-1/8 diesel engine/water pump combination (Serial Number 38D8969176DS10RM)
Engine installed ~1999.

	007
	Regulated
	One 751 brake horse-power (BHP) six cylinder Fairbanks Morse Model 38D8-1/8 diesel engine/water pump combination (Serial Number 38D8970031DS6RM)
Engine installed ~1999.

	008
	Regulated
	Two Cummins 900-hp emergency power generators (Serial numbers H990959808 & H990959810) Generators installed ~1999.


C.1.

Test Methods:  All emissions tests performed pursuant to this permit shall comply with the following EPA and/or DEP Methods as described in Rule 62-297.401, F.A.C. and 40 CFR 60 Appendix A: [Rule 62-297.401, F.A.C.]
(a) EPA Method 1, Sampling and Velocity Traverses for Stationary Sources [Rule 62-297.401(1)(a), F.A.C.];

(b) EPA Method 2, Determination of Stack Gas Velocity and Volumetric Flow Rate [Rule 62-297.401(2), F.A.C.];

(c) EPA Method 3, Gas Analysis for Carbon Dioxide, Oxygen, Excess Air, and Dry Molecular Weight [Rule 62-297.401(3), F.A.C.]; 

(d) EPA Method 3A, Determination of Oxygen and Carbon Dioxide Concentrations in Emissions from Stationary Sources (Instrumental Analyzer Procedure) [Rule 62-297.401(3)(a), F.A.C.];

(e) EPA Method 4, Determination of Moisture Content in Stack Gases [Rule 62-297.401(4), F.A.C.];

(f) EPA Method 7, Determination of Nitrogen Oxide Emissions from Stationary Sources [Rule 62-297.401(7), F.A.C.];

(g) EPA Method 7E, Determination of Nitrogen Oxide Emissions from Stationary Sources (Instrumental Analyzer Procedure) [Rule 62-297.401(7)(e), F.A.C.];

(h) EPA Method 9, Visual Determination of the Opacity of Emissions from Stationary Sources [Rule 62-297.401(9)(a), F.A.C.];

C.2.

Required Number of Test Runs:  For mass emission limitations, a compliance test shall consist of three complete and separate determinations of the total air pollutant emission rate through the test section of the stack or duct and three complete and separate determinations of any applicable process variables corresponding to the three distinct time periods during which the stack emission rate was measured; provided, however, that three complete and separate determinations shall not be required if the process variables are not subject to variation during a compliance test, or if three determinations are not necessary in order to calculate the unit's emission rate.  The three required test runs shall be completed within one consecutive five-day period.  In the event that a sample is lost or one of the three runs must be discontinued because of circumstances beyond the control of the owner or operator, and a valid third run cannot be obtained within the five-day period allowed for the test, the Secretary or his or her designee may accept the results of two complete runs as proof of compliance, provided that the arithmetic mean of the two complete runs is at least 20% below the allowable emission limiting standard.   [Rule 62-297.310(1), F.A.C.]

C.3.
Operating Rate During Testing:  Unless otherwise stated in the applicable emission limiting standard rule, testing of emissions shall be conducted with the emissions unit operating at permitted capacity as defined below.  If it is impractical to test at permitted capacity, an emissions unit may be tested at less than the maximum permitted capacity; in this case, subsequent emissions unit operation is limited to 110 percent of the test rate until a new test is conducted.  Once the unit is so limited, operation at higher capacities is allowed for no more than 15 consecutive days for the purpose of additional compliance testing to regain the authority to operate at the permitted capacity.  [Rule 62-297.310(2), F.A.C.]
C.4.
Permitted Capacity:  Permitted capacity is defined as 90 to 100 percent of the maximum operation rate allowed by the permit. [Rule 62-297.310(2)(b), F.A.C.]

C.5. 
Calculation of Emission Rate:  The indicated emission rate or concentration shall be the arithmetic average of the emission rate or concentration determined by each of the three separate test runs unless otherwise specified in a particular test method or applicable rule. [Rule 62-297.310(3), F.A.C.]
C.6.   Required Sampling Time:  Unless otherwise specified in the applicable rule, the required sampling time for each test run shall be no less than one hour and no greater than four hours, and the sampling time at each sampling point shall be of equal intervals of at least two minutes. [Rule 62-297.310(4)(a)1, F.A.C.]
C.7.
Opacity Compliance Tests:  When either EPA Method 9 or DEP Method 9 is specified as the applicable opacity test method, the required minimum period of observation for a compliance test shall be sixty (60) minutes for emissions units which emit or have the potential to emit 100 tons per year or more of particulate matter, and thirty (30) minutes for emissions units which have potential emissions less than 100 tons per year of particulate matter and are not subject to a multiple-valued opacity standard.  The opacity test observation period shall include the period during which the highest opacity emissions can reasonably be expected to occur. Exceptions to these requirements are as follows:

(a) For batch, cyclical processes, or other operations, which are normally completed within less than the minimum observation period and do not recur within that time, the period of observation shall be equal to the duration of the batch cycle or operation completion time.

(b) The observation period for special opacity tests that are conducted to provide data to establish a surrogate standard pursuant to Rule 62‑297.310(5)(k), F.A.C., Waiver of Compliance Test Requirements, shall be established as necessary to properly establish the relationship between a proposed surrogate standard and an existing mass emission limiting standard.[Rule 62-297.310(4)(a)2, F.A.C.]

C.8.
Minimum Sample Volume:  Unless otherwise specified in the applicable rule, the minimum sample volume per run shall be 25 dry standard cubic feet.  [Rule 62-297.310(4)(b), F.A.C.]
C.9.
Required Flow Rate Range:  For EPA Method 5 particulate sampling, acid mist/sulfur dioxide, and fluoride sampling which uses Greenburg Smith type impingers, the sampling nozzle and sampling time shall be selected such that the average sampling rate will be between 0.5 and 1.0 actual cubic feet per minute, and the required minimum sampling volume will be obtained.   [Rule 62-297.310(4)(c), F.A.C.]
C.10.
Allowed Modification to EPA Method 5:  When EPA Method 5 is required, the following modification is allowed: the heated filter may be separated from the impingers by a flexible tube. [Rule 62-297.310(4)(e), F.A.C.]

C.11.
Required Equipment:  The owner or operator of an emissions unit for which compliance tests are required shall install, operate, and maintain equipment or instruments necessary to determine process variables, such as process weight input or heat input, when such data are needed in conjunction with emissions data to determine the compliance of the emissions unit with applicable emission limiting standards. [Rule 62-297.310(5)(a), F.A.C.]
C.12.
Calibration of Sampling Equipment:  Calibration of the sampling train equipment shall be conducted in accordance with the schedule shown in Table 297.310‑1.  [Rule 62-297.310(4)(d), F.A.C.] 

	Table 297.310-1

Calibration Schedule

	Item
	Minimum

Calibration

Frequency
	Reference Instrument
	Tolerance

	Liquid in glass thermometer
	Annually
	ASTM Hg in glass ref. Thermometer or equivalent, or thermometric points
	+/-2%

	Bimetallic thermometer
	Quarterly
	Calib. liq. in glass thermometer
	5 degrees F

	Thermocouple
	Annually
	ASTM Hg in glass ref. thermometer, NBS calibrated reference and potentiometer
	5 degrees F

	Barometer
	Monthly
	Hg barometer or NOAA station
	+/-1% scale

	Pitot Tube
	When required or when damaged
	By construction or measurements in wind tunnel D greater than 16" and standard pitot tube
	See EPA Method 2, Fig. 2-2 &2-3

	Probe Nozzles
	Before each test or when nicked, dented, or corroded

Max. deviation between readings
	Micrometer
	+/-0.001"

mean of at

least three readings

.004"
.004"



	Dry Gas Meter and Orifice Meter
	Full Scale: When received, When 5% change observed, Annually

1. One Point: Semiannually

2. Check after each test series
	Spirometer or calibrated wet test or dry gas test meter 

Comparison check
	2%

5%


C.13.
Accuracy of Equipment:  Equipment or instruments used to directly or indirectly determine process variables, Including devices such as belt scales, weight hoppers, flow meters, and tank scales, shall be calibrated and adjusted to indicate the true value of the parameter being measured with sufficient accuracy to allow the applicable process variable to be determined within 10% of its true value. [Rule 62-297.310(5)(b), F.A.C.]
C.14.
Required Stack Sampling Facilities:. Sampling facilities include sampling ports, work platforms, access to work platforms, electrical power, and sampling equipment support. All stack sampling facilities must meet any Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA) Safety and Health Standards described in 29 CFR Part 1910, Subparts D and E.

(a) Permanent Test Facilities. The owner or operator of an emissions unit for which a compliance test, other than a   visible emissions test, is required on at least an annual basis, shall install and maintain permanent stack sampling facilities. 

(b) Temporary Test Facilities. The owner or operator of an emissions unit that is not required to conduct compliance test on at least an annual basis may use permanent or temporary stack sampling facilities. If the owner chooses to use temporary sampling facilities on an emissions unit, and the Department elects to test the unit, such temporary facilities shall be installed on the emissions unit within 5 days of a request by the Department and remain on the emissions unit until the test is completed. 

(c) Sampling Ports.

1. All sampling ports shall have a minimum inside diameter of 3 inches.

2. The ports shall be capable of being sealed when not in use.

3. The sampling ports shall be located in the stack at least 2 stack diameters or equivalent diameters downstream and at least 0.5 stack diameter or equivalent diameter upstream from any fan, bend, constriction or other flow disturbance. 

4. For emissions units for which a complete application to construct has been filed prior to December 1, 1980, at least two sampling ports, 90 degrees apart, shall be installed at each sampling location on all circular stacks that have an outside diameter of 15 feet or less. For stacks with a larger diameter, four sampling ports, each 90 degrees apart, shall be installed. For emissions units for which a complete application to construct is filed on or after December 1, 1980, at least two sampling ports, 90 degrees apart, shall be installed at each sampling location on all circular stacks that have an outside diameter of 10 feet or less. For stacks with larger diameters, four sampling ports, each 90 degrees apart, shall be installed. On horizontal circular ducts, the ports shall be located so that the probe can enter the stack vertically, horizontally or at a 45 degree angle.

5. On rectangular ducts, the cross sectional area shall be divided into the number of equal areas in accordance with EPA Method 1. Sampling ports shall be provided which allow access to each sampling point. The ports shall be located so that the probe can be inserted perpendicular to the gas flow.

(d) 
Work Platforms.

1. Minimum size of the working platform shall be 24 square feet in area. Platforms shall be at least 3 feet wide.

2. On circular stacks with 2 sampling ports, the platform shall extend at least 110 degrees around the stack.

3. On circular stacks with more than two sampling ports, the work platform shall extend 360 degrees around the stack.

4. All platforms shall be equipped with an adequate safety rail (ropes are not acceptable), toeboard, and hinged floor-opening cover if ladder access is used to reach the platform. The safety rail directly in line with the sampling ports shall be removable so that no obstruction exists in an area 14 inches below each sample port and 6 inches on either side of the sampling port.

(e) 
Access to Work Platform.

1. Ladders to the work platform exceeding 15 feet in length shall have safety cages or fall arresters with a minimum of 3 compatible safety belts available for use by sampling personnel.

2. Walkways over free-fall areas shall be equipped with safety rails and toeboards.

(f)
 Electrical Power.

(a) A minimum of two 120-volt AC, 20-amp outlets shall be provided at the sampling platform within 20 feet of each sampling port.

(b) If extension cords are used to provide the electrical power, they shall be kept on the plant’s property and be available immediately upon request by sampling personnel.

(g) 
Sampling Equipment Support.

1. A three-quarter inch eyebolt and an angle bracket shall be attached directly above each port on vertical stacks and above each row of sampling ports on the sides of horizontal ducts.

a. The bracket shall be a standard 3 inch × 3 inch × one-quarter inch equal-legs bracket which is 1 and one-half inches wide. A hole that is one-half inch in diameter shall be drilled through the exact center of the horizontal portion of the bracket. The horizontal portion of the bracket shall be located 14 inches above the centerline of the sampling port.

b. A three-eighth inch bolt which protrudes 2 inches from the stack may be substituted for the required bracket. The bolt shall be located 15 and one-half inches above the centerline of the sampling port.

c. The three-quarter inch eyebolt shall be capable of supporting a 500 pound working load. For stacks that are less than 12 feet in diameter, the eyebolt shall be located 48 inches above the horizontal portion of the angle bracket. For stacks that are greater than or equal to 12 feet in diameter, the eyebolt shall be located 60 inches above the horizontal portion of the angle bracket. If the eyebolt is more than 120 inches above the platform, a length of chain shall be attached to it to bring the free end of the chain to within safe reach from the platform.

2. A complete monorail or dualrail arrangement may be substituted for the eyebolt and bracket.

3. When the sample ports are located in the top of a horizontal duct, a frame shall be provided above the port to allow the sample probe to be secured during the test.

[Rule 62-297.310(7), F.A.C.]

C.15.
 Frequency of Compliance Tests. The following provisions apply only to those emissions units that are subject to an emissions limiting standard for which compliance testing is required.

(a) General Compliance Testing.

1. The owner or operator of a new or modified emissions unit that is subject to an emission limiting standard shall conduct a compliance test that demonstrates compliance with the applicable emission limiting standard prior to obtaining an operation permit for such emissions unit.

2. For excess emission limitations for particulate matter specified in Rule 62-210.700, F.A.C., a compliance test shall be conducted annually while the emissions unit is operating under soot blowing conditions in each federal fiscal year during which soot blowing is part of normal emissions unit operation, except that such test shall not be required in any federal fiscal year in which a fossil fuel steam generator does not burn liquid and/or solid fuel for more than 400 hours other than during startup.

3. The owner or operator of an emissions unit that is subject to any emission limiting standard shall conduct a compliance test that demonstrates compliance with the applicable emission limiting standard prior to obtaining a renewed operation permit. Emissions units that are required to conduct an annual compliance test may submit the most recent annual compliance test to satisfy the requirements of this provision. In renewing an air operation permit pursuant to sub-subparagraph 62-210.300(2)(a)3.b., c., or d., F.A.C., the Department shall not require submission of emission compliance test results for any emissions unit that, during the year prior to renewal:

a. Did not operate; or

b. In the case of a fuel burning emissions unit, burned liquid and/or solid fuel for a total of no more than 400 hours, 

4. During each federal fiscal year (October 1 – September 30), unless otherwise specified by rule, order, or permit, the owner or operator of each emissions unit shall have a formal compliance test conducted for:

a. Visible emissions, if there is an applicable standard;

b. Each of the following pollutants, if there is an applicable standard, and if the emissions unit emits or has the potential to emit: 5 tons per year or more of lead or lead compounds measured as elemental lead; 30 tons per year or more of acrylonitrile; or 100 tons per year or more of any other regulated air pollutant; and

c. Each NESHAP pollutant, if there is an applicable emission standard.

5. An annual compliance test for particulate matter emissions shall not be required for any fuel burning emissions unit that, in a federal fiscal year, does not burn liquid and/or solid fuel, other than during startup, for a total of more than 400 hours.

6. For fossil fuel steam generators on a semi-annual particulate matter emission compliance testing schedule, a compliance test shall not be required for any six-month period in which liquid and/or solid fuel is not burned for more than 200 hours other than during startup.

7. For emissions units electing to conduct particulate matter emission compliance testing quarterly pursuant to paragraph 62-296.405(2)(a), F.A.C., a compliance test shall not be required for any quarter in which liquid and/or solid fuel is not burned for more than 100 hours other than during startup.

8. Any combustion turbine that does not operate for more than 400 hours per year shall conduct a visible emissions compliance test once per each five-year period, coinciding with the term of its air operation permit.

9. The owner or operator shall notify the Department, at least 15 days prior to the date on which each formal compliance test is to begin, of the date, time, and place of each such test, and the test contact person who will be responsible for coordinating and having such test conducted for the owner or operator.

10. An annual compliance test conducted for visible emissions shall not be required for units exempted from air permitting pursuant to subsection 62-210.300(3), F.A.C.; units determined to be insignificant pursuant to subparagraph 62-213.300(2)(a)1., F.A.C., or paragraph 62-213.430(6)(b), F.A.C.; or units permitted under the General Permit provisions in paragraph 62-210.300(4)(a) or Rule 62-213.300, F.A.C., unless the general permit specifically requires such testing. [Rule 62-297.310(7), F.A.C.]

C.16.
Special Compliance Tests:  When the Department, after investigation, has good reason (such as complaints, increased visible emissions or questionable maintenance of control equipment) to believe that any applicable emission standard contained in a Department rule or in a permit issued pursuant to those rules is being violated, it shall require the owner or operator of the emissions unit to conduct a special compliance test. The special compliance test shall be conducted within 15 days of operation of the E.U. outside the design criteria of the AQCS (air quality control system).  The special compliance test shall be conducted to document compliance with the emission limitations and to establish a normal range of operation. [Rule 62-297.310(7)(b), F.A.C.]
C.17.
Waiver of Compliance Test Requirements:  If the owner or operator of an emissions unit that is subject to a compliance test requirement demonstrates to the Department, pursuant to the procedure established in Rule 62‑297.620, F.A.C., that the compliance of the emissions unit with an applicable weight emission limiting standard can be adequately determined by means other than the designated test procedure, such as specifying a surrogate standard of no visible emissions for particulate matter sources equipped with a bag house or specifying a fuel analysis for sulfur dioxide emissions, the Department shall waive the compliance test requirements for such emissions units and order that the alternate means of determining compliance be used, provided, however, the provisions of Rule 62-297.310(7)(b), F.A.C., shall apply.  [Rule 62-297.310(7)(c), F.A.C.]
C.18.
Compliance Test Notification:  The permittee shall notify the Compliance Authority fifteen (15) days prior to Emission Unit (E.U.) testing.  [Rule 62-297.310(7)(a)(9), F.A.C.]
C.19.
Compliance Test Submittal: Copies of the test report(s) shall be submitted to the Permitting Authority and the Compliance Authority within forty-five (45) days of completion of testing.  [Rule 62-297.310(8)(b), F.A.C.]
C.20.
Test Reports:  The test report shall provide sufficient detail on the emissions unit tested and the test procedures used to allow the Department to determine if the test was properly conducted and the test results properly computed.  As a minimum, the test report, other than for an EPA or DEP Method 9 test, shall provide the following information:  [Rule 62-297.310(8)(c), F.A.C.]
(c) The type, location, and designation of the emissions unit tested.

(d) The facility at which the emissions unit is located.

(e) The owner or operator of the emissions unit.

(f) The normal type and amount of fuels used and materials processed, and the types and amounts of fuels used and material processed during each test run.

(g) The means, raw data and computations used to determine the amount of fuels used and materials processed, if necessary to determine compliance with an applicable emission-limiting standard.

(h) The type of air pollution control devices installed on the emissions unit, their general condition, their normal operating parameters (pressure drops, total operating current and GPM scrubber water), and their operating parameters during each test run.

(i) A sketch of the duct within 8 stack diameters upstream and 2 stack diameters downstream of the sampling ports, including the distance to any upstream and downstream bends or other flow disturbances.

(j) The date, starting time, and duration of each sampling run.

(k) The test procedures used, including any alternative procedures authorized pursuant to Rule 62‑297.620, F.A.C.   Where optional procedures are authorized in this chapter, indicate which option was used.

(l) The number of points sampled and configuration and location of the sampling plane.

(m) For each sampling point for each run, the dry gas meter reading, velocity head, pressure drop across the stack, temperatures, average meter temperatures and sample time per point.

(n) The type, manufacturer, and configuration of the sampling equipment used.

(o) Data related to the required calibration of the test equipment.

(p) Data on the identification, processing, and weights of all filters used.

(q) Data on the types and amounts of any chemical solutions used.

(r) Data on the amount of pollutant collected from each sampling probe, the filters, and the impingers, are reported separately for the compliance test.

(s) The names of individuals, who furnished the process variable data, conducted the test, analyzed the samples and prepared the report.

(t) All measured and calculated data required to be determined by each applicable test procedure for each run.

(u) The detailed calculations for one run that relate the collected data to the calculated emission rate.

(v) The applicable emission standard, the resulting maximum allowable emission rate for the emissions unit, plus the test results in the same form and unit of measure.

(w) A certification that, to the knowledge of the owner or his authorized agent, all data submitted are true and correct.  When a compliance test is conducted for the Department or its agent, the person who conducts the test shall provide the certification with respect to the test procedures used.  The owner or his authorized agent shall certify that all data required and provided to the person conducting the test are true and correct to his knowledge.

C.21. Recordkeeping:  The permittee shall ensure that all records of monitoring information shall specify the date, place, and time of sampling or measurement and the operating conditions at the time of sampling or measurement, the date(s) analyses were performed, the company or entity that performed the analyses, the analytical techniques or methods used, and the results of such analyses.  [Rule 62-213.440(1)(b)2.a., F.A.C.] 

C.22.
Record Retention:  The permittee shall retain records of all monitoring data and support information for a period of at least 5 years from the date of the monitoring sample, measurement, report, or application.  Support information shall include all calibration and maintenance records and all original strip‑chart recordings for continuous monitoring instrumentation, and copies of all reports required by the permit.  [Rule 62-213.440(1)(b)2.b., F.A.C.] 
C.23.
Alternate Sampling Procedure:  The owner or operator of any emissions unit subject to the provisions of this chapter may request in writing a determination by the Secretary or his/her designee that any requirement of this chapter (except for any continuous monitoring requirements) relating to emissions test procedures, methodology, equipment, or test facilities shall not apply to such emissions unit and shall request approval of an alternate procedures or requirements.  The request shall set forth the following information, at a minimum:

(a) Specific emissions unit and permit number, if any, for which exception is requested.

(b) The specific provision(s) of this chapter from which an exception is sought.

(c) The basis for the exception, including but not limited to any hardship which would result from compliance with the provisions of this chapter.

(d) The alternate procedure(s) or requirement(s) for which approval is sought and a demonstration that such alternate procedure(s) or requirement(s) shall be adequate to demonstrate compliance with applicable emission limiting standards contained in the rules of the Department or any permit issued pursuant to those rules.

The Secretary or his/her designee shall specify by order each alternate procedure or requirement approved for an individual emissions unit source in accordance with this section or shall issue an order denying the request for such approval.  The Department's order shall be final agency action, reviewable in accordance with Section 120.57, Florida Statutes. [Rule 62-297.620, F.A.C.]
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Abbreviations and Acronyms:
°F:  Degrees Fahrenheit

BACT: Best Available Control Technology
CFR:  Code of Federal Regulations

DEP: State of Florida, Department of Environmental Protection
DARM:  Division of Air Resource Management

EPA:  United States Environmental Protection Agency

F.A.C.:  Florida Administrative Code

F.S.:  Florida Statute

ISO: International Standards Organization
LAT:  Latitude

LONG:  Longitude

MMBtu:  million British thermal units
MW:  Megawatt

ORIS:  Office of Regulatory Information Systems
SOA:  Specific Operating Agreement

UTM: Universal Transverse Mercator 

Citations:

The following examples illustrate the methods used in this permit to abbreviate and cite the references of rules, regulations, guidance memorandums, permit numbers, and ID numbers.

Code of Federal Regulations:

Example:
[40 CFR 60.334]
Where:
40   
reference to
Title 40

CFR   
reference to
Code of Federal Regulations

60
reference to
Part 60

60.334
reference to
Regulation 60.334

Florida Administrative Code (F.A.C.) Rules:

Example:
[Rule 62-213, F.A.C.]
Where:
62
reference to
Title 62

62-213
reference to
Chapter 62-213

62-213.205    reference to 
Rule 62-213.205, F.A.C.

ISO: International Standards Organization refers to those conditions at 288 degrees K, 60 percent relative humidity, and 101.3 kilopascals pressure.

Identification Numbers:

Facility Identification (ID) Number:

Example:
Facility ID No.: 1050221

Where:

105
 =
3-digit number code identifying the facility is located in Polk County

0221  =
4-digit number assigned by state database.

Permit Numbers:

Example:
1050221-002-AV, or



1050221-001-AC

Where:

AC
=
 Air Construction Permit

AV
= 
Air Operation Permit (Title V Source)

105
= 
3-digit number code identifying the facility is located in Polk County

0221
 =  
4-digit number assigned by permit tracking database

001 or 002  =
3-digit sequential project number assigned by permit tracking database

Example:
PSD-FL-185



PA95-01



AC53-208321

Where:

PSD
=
Prevention of Significant Deterioration Permit

PA    =
Power Plant Siting Act Permit

AC
=
 old Air Construction Permit numbering
	
	Facility ID No.:  0990549

	Permit History (for tracking purposes)

	E.U.

ID No.
	Description
	Permit No.
	Issue Date
	Expiration Date
	Extended Date
	Revised Date(s)

	-001
	Six (6) Stationary Internal Combustion Engines 

(Pump Engines were assigned EU004 
thru EU007 and Generators were assigned EU008 with Permit No. 0990549-008-AC) 
	0990549-001-AC
	09/21/98
	09/20/1999
	
	 

	
	
	0990549-002-AC
	12/09/1999
	12/10/2001
	11/22/2000
	

	
	
	0990549-003-AV
	09/10/2001
	09/10/2006
	
	

	
	
	0990549-004-AC
	2/16/2004
	2/15/2005
	
	

	
	
	0990549-005-AV
	5/5/2004
	10/16/2008
	
	

	-002
	Volatile Organic liquid Storage Tanks  
	0990549-006-AV
	11/17/2006
	11/16/2011
	
	

	
	
	0990549-007-AC
	07/13/2010
	07/12/2011
	
	

	
	
	099-0549-008-AC
	09/22/2011
	05/13/2013
	
	

	
	
	0990549-009-AV
	12/15/2011
	12/15/2016
	
	

	-003
	Volatile Organic Liquid Storage Tanks
	Exempt
	09/21/98
	
	
	

	ID Number Changes (for tracking purposes)

	The Emissions Unit No. 001 is divided into five separate emissions with Permit 0990549-008-AC. The two Fairbanks-Morse (Model No. 3D8-1/8) 1,535-BHP pumps are identified as Emissions Unit No. 005 and 006, two Fairbanks-Morse (Model No. 3D8-1/8) 751-BHP pumps are identified as Emissions Units No. 004 and 007, and two 900-BHP Cummins emergency power generators are identified as Emissions Unit No. 008. This was done because of emissions standards for Carbon Monoxide (CO) per Federal Regulation 40 CFR 63 Subpart ZZZZ. The emissions unit no. 002 and 003 are merged into emissions unit 002.


The equipment and activities listed below are exempt pursuant to Rules 62-213.430(6), and 62-4.040(1)(b), F.A.C. and are considered to emit insignificant amounts of air pollution.

List of Insignificant Activities:

	EU ID No.
	    Status
	Description

	002
	Insignificant
	Distillate fuel oil tanks:

Four 12,848 gallon above ground storage tanks (ASTs).

Three above ground storage day tanks (ASTs) less than 40 cubic meters in capacity.


	Description
	Category

	Internal Combustion Engines – Vehicles
	A

	Steam Cleaning Equipment
	F

	Belt & Drum Sanders
	F

	Brazing, Soldering or Welding Equipment
	F

	Emergency Generators
	P

	Surface Coating Operations
	F

	Degreasing Units (non-HAP Solvents)
	F

	Petroleum Lubrication Systems
	F

	Fire & Safety Equipment
	P

	Fungicide, Herbicide, & Pesticide Applications
	F

	Asbestos Renovation & Demolition Activities
	F

	Non-Halogenated Solvent Storage & Cleaning
	F

	Vehicle Refueling Operations and Associated Fuel Storage
	P

	Abrasive Blasting Activities
	F

	Non-Halogenated Solvent Storage & Cleaning
	F

	Distillate Oil Storage & Handling
	F

	Distillate Oil Piping System
	F

	Lawn & Ground Maintenance

	F

	Paved & Unpaved Roads
	F


Notes:
Category: P- Point, F- Fugitive, and A- Area

The facilities, emissions units, or pollutant-emitting activities listed in Rule 62-210.300(3)(a), F.A.C., Categorical Exemptions, are exempt from the permitting requirements of Chapters 62-210 and 62-4, F.A.C.; provided, however, that exempt emissions units shall be subject to any applicable emission limiting standards and the emissions from exempt emissions units or activities shall be considered in determining the potential emissions of the facility containing such emissions units.  Emissions units and pollutant-emitting activities exempt from permitting under Rule 62-210.300(3)(a), F.A.C., shall not be exempt from the permitting requirements of Chapter 62-213, F.A.C., if they are contained within a Title V source; however, such emissions units and activities shall be considered insignificant for Title V purposes provided they also meet the criteria of Rule 62-213.430(6)(b), F.A.C.  No emissions unit shall be entitled to an exemption from permitting under Rule 62.210.300(3)(a), F.A.C., if its emissions, in combination with the emissions of other units and activities at the facility, would cause the facility to emit or have the potential to emit any pollutant in such amount as to make the facility a Title V source.

Operation
TV1.
General Prohibition. A permitted installation may only be operated, maintained, constructed, expanded or modified in a manner that is consistent with the terms of the permit. [Rule 62-4.030, Florida Administrative Code (F.A.C.)]

TV2.
Validity. This permit is valid only for the specific processes and operations applied for and indicated in the approved drawings or exhibits. Any unauthorized deviation from the approved drawings, exhibits, specifications, or conditions of this permit may constitute grounds for revocation and enforcement action by the Department. [Rule 62-4.160(2), F.A.C.]

TV3.
Proper Operation and Maintenance. The permittee shall properly operate and maintain the facility and systems of treatment and control (and related appurtenances) that are installed and used by the permittee to achieve compliance with the conditions of this permit, as required by Department rules. This provision includes the operation of backup or auxiliary facilities or similar systems when necessary to achieve compliance with the conditions of the permit and when required by Department rules. [Rule 62-4.160(6), F.A.C.]

TV4.
Not Federally Enforceable. Health, Safety and Welfare. To ensure protection of public health, safety, and welfare, any construction, modification, or operation of an installation which may be a source of pollution, shall be in accordance with sound professional engineering practices pursuant to Chapter 471, F.S. [Rule 62-4.050(3), F.A.C.]

TV5.
Continued Operation. An applicant making timely and complete application for permit, or for permit renewal, shall continue to operate the source under the authority and provisions of any existing valid permit or Florida Electrical Power Plant Siting Certification, and in accordance with applicable requirements of the Acid Rain Program and applicable requirements of the CAIR Program, until the conclusion of proceedings associated with its permit application or until the new permit becomes effective, whichever is later, provided the applicant complies with all the provisions of subparagraphs 62-213.420(1)(b)3., F.A.C. [Rules 62-213.420(1)(b)2., F.A.C.]

TV6.
Changes Without Permit Revision. Title V sources having a valid permit issued pursuant to Chapter 62-213, F.A.C., may make the following changes without permit revision, provided that sources shall maintain source logs or records to verify periods of operation:

a. Permitted sources may change among those alternative methods of operation allowed by the source’s permit as provided by the terms of the permit;

b. A permitted source may implement operating changes, as defined in Rule 62-210.200, F.A.C., after the source submits any forms required by any applicable requirement and provides the Department and EPA with at least 7 days written notice prior to implementation. The source and the Department shall attach each notice to the relevant permit;

(1) The written notice shall include the date on which the change will occur, and a description of the change within the permitted source, the pollutants emitted and any change in emissions, and any term or condition becoming applicable or no longer applicable as a result of the change;
(2) The permit shield described in Rule 62-213.460, F.A.C., shall not apply to such changes;

c. Permitted sources may implement changes involving modes of operation only in accordance with Rule 62-213.415,
F.A.C.

[Rule 62-213.410, F.A.C.]

TV7.
Circumvention. No person shall circumvent any air pollution control device, or allow the emission of air pollutants without the applicable air pollution control device operating properly. [Rule 62-210.650, F.A.C.]

Compliance
TV8.
Compliance with Chapter 403, F.S., and Department Rules. Except as provided at Rule 62-213.460, Permit Shield, F.A.C., the issuance of a permit does not relieve any person from complying with the requirements of Chapter 403, F.S., or Department rules. [Rule 62-4.070(7), F.A.C.]

TV9.
Compliance with Federal, State and Local Rules. Except as provided at Rule 62-213.460, F.A.C., issuance of a permit does not relieve the owner or operator of a facility or an emissions unit from complying with any applicable requirements, any emission limiting standards or other requirements of the air pollution rules of the Department or any other such requirements under federal, state, or local law. [Rule 62-210.300, F.A.C.]

TV10.
Binding and enforceable. The terms, conditions, requirements, limitations and restrictions set forth in this permit, are "permit conditions" and are binding and enforceable pursuant to Sections 403.141, 403.727, or 403.859 through 403.861, F.S. The permittee is placed on notice that the Department will review this permit periodically and may initiate enforcement action for any violation of these conditions. [Rule 62-4.160(1), F.A.C.]

TV11.
Timely information. When requested by the Department, the permittee shall within a reasonable time furnish any information required by law which is needed to determine compliance with the permit. If the permittee becomes aware the relevant facts were not submitted or were incorrect in the permit application or in any report to the Department, such facts or information shall be corrected promptly. [Rule 62-4.160(15), F.A.C.]

TV12.
Halting or reduction of source activity. It shall not be a defense for a permittee in an enforcement action that maintaining compliance with any permit condition would necessitate halting of or reduction of the source activity. [Rule 62-213.440(1)(d)3., F.A.C.]

TV13.
Final permit action. Any Title V source shall comply with all the terms and conditions of the existing permit until the Department has taken final action on any permit renewal or any requested permit revision, except as provided at Rule 62-213.412(2), F.A.C. [Rule 62-213.440(1)(d)4., F.A.C.]

TV14.
Sudden and unforeseeable events beyond the control of the source. A situation arising from sudden and unforeseeable events beyond the control of the source which causes an exceedance of a technology-based emissions limitation because of unavoidable increases in emissions attributable to the situation and which requires immediate corrective action to restore normal operation, shall be an affirmative defense to an enforcement action in accordance with the provisions and requirements of 40 CFR 70.6(g)(2) and (3), hereby adopted and incorporated by reference. [Rule 62-213.440(1)(d)5., F.A.C.]

TV15.
Permit Shield. Except as provided in Chapter 62-213, F.A.C., compliance with the terms and conditions of a permit issued pursuant to Chapter 62-213, F.A.C., shall, as of the effective date of the permit, be deemed compliance with any applicable requirements in effect, provided that the source included such applicable requirements in the permit application. Nothing in this condition or in any permit shall alter or affect the ability of EPA or the Department to deal with an emergency, the liability of an owner or operator of a source for any violation of applicable requirements prior to or at the time of permit issuance, or the requirements of the Federal Acid Rain Program or the CAIR Program. [Rule 62- 213.460, F.A.C.]

TV16.   Compliance With Federal Rules.  A facility or emissions unit subject to any standard or requirement of 40 CFR, Part 60, 61, 63 or 65, adopted and incorporated by reference at Rule 62-204.800, F.A.C., shall comply with such standard or requirement. Nothing in this chapter shall relieve a facility or emissions unit from complying with such standard or requirement, provided, however, that where a facility or emissions unit is subject to a standard established in Rule 62-296, F.A.C., such standard shall also apply. [Rule 62-296.100(3), F.A.C.]
Permit Procedures
TV17.
Permit Revision Procedures. The permittee shall revise its permit as required by Rules 62-213.400, 62-213.412, 62- 213.420, 62-213.430 & 62-4.080, F.A.C.; and, in addition, the Department shall revise permits as provided in Rule 62- 4.080, F.A.C. & 40 CFR 70.7(f).
TV18.
Permit Renewal. The permittee shall renew its permit as required by Rules 62-4.090, 62.213.420(1) and 62- 213.430(3), F.A.C. Permits being renewed are subject to the same requirements that apply to permit issuance at the time of application for renewal. Permit renewal applications shall contain that information identified in Rules 62- 210.900(1) [Application for Air Permit - Long Form], 62-213.420(3) [Required Information], 62-213.420(6) [CAIR Part Form], F.A.C. Unless a Title V source submits a timely and complete application for permit renewal in accordance with the requirements this rule, the existing permit shall expire and the source's right to operate shall terminate. For purposes of a permit renewal, a timely application is one that is submitted 225 days before the expiration of a permit that expires on or after June 1, 2009. No Title V permit will be issued for a new term except through the renewal process. [Rules 62-213.420 & 62-213.430, F.A.C.]

TV19.
Insignificant Emissions Units or Pollutant-Emitting Activities. The permittee shall identify and evaluate insignificant emissions units and activities as set forth in Rule 62-213.430(6), F.A.C.

TV20.
Savings Clause. If any portion of the final permit is invalidated, the remainder of the permit shall remain in effect. [Rule 62-213.440(1)(d)1., F.A.C.]

TV21.
Suspension and Revocation.

a. Permits shall be effective until suspended, revoked, surrendered, or expired and shall be subject to the provisions of

Chapter 403, F.S., and rules of the Department.

b. Failure to comply with pollution control laws and rules shall be grounds for suspension or revocation.
c. A permit issued pursuant to Chapter 62-4, F.A.C., shall not become a vested property right in the permittee. The
Department may revoke any permit issued by it if it finds that the permit holder or his agent:

(1) Submitted false or inaccurate information in his application or operational reports.

(2) Has violated law, Department orders, rules or permit conditions.

(3) Has failed to submit operational reports or other information required by Department rules.

(4) Has refused lawful inspection under Section 403.091, F.S.
d. No revocation shall become effective except after notice is served by personal services, certified mail, or newspaper

notice pursuant to Section 120.60(5), F.S., upon the person or persons named therein and a hearing held if

requested within the time specified in the notice. The notice shall specify the provision of the law, or rule alleged to

be violated, or the permit condition or Department order alleged to be violated, and the facts alleged to constitute a violation thereof.

[Rule 62-4.100, F.A.C.]

TV22.
Not federally enforceable. Financial Responsibility. The Department may require an applicant to submit proof of financial responsibility and may require the applicant to post an appropriate bond to guarantee compliance with the law and Department rules. [Rule 62-4.110, F.A.C.]

TV23.
Emissions Unit Reclassification.

a. Any emissions unit whose operation permit has been revoked as provided for in Chapter 62-4, F.A.C., shall be deemed permanently shut down for purposes of Rule 62-212.500, F.A.C. Any emissions unit whose permit to operate has expired without timely renewal or transfer may be deemed permanently shut down, provided, however, that no such emissions unit shall be deemed permanently shut down if, within 20 days after receipt of written notice from the Department, the emissions unit owner or operator demonstrates that the permit expiration resulted from inadvertent failure to comply with the requirements of Rule 62-4.090, F.A.C., and that the owner or operator intends to continue the emissions unit in operation, and either submits an application for an air operation permit or

complies with permit transfer requirements, if applicable.

b. If the owner or operator of an emissions unit which is so permanently shut down, applies to the Department for a permit to reactivate or operate such emissions unit, the emissions unit will be reviewed and permitted as a new emissions unit.

[Rule 62-210.300(6), F.A.C.]

TV24.
Transfer of Permits. Per Rule 62-4.160(11), F.A.C., this permit is transferable only upon Department approval in accordance with Rule 62-4.120, F.A.C., as applicable. The permittee shall be liable for any non-compliance of the permitted activity until the transfer is approved by the Department. The permittee transferring the permit shall remain liable for corrective actions that may be required as a result of any violations occurring prior to the sale or legal transfer of the facility. The permittee shall also comply with the requirements of Rule 62-210.300(7), F.A.C., and use DEP Form No. 62-210.900(7). [Rules 62-4.160(11), 62-4.120, and 62-210.300(7), F.A.C.]

Rights, Title, Liability, and Agreements
TV25.
Rights. As provided in Subsections 403.987(6) and 403.722(5), F.S., the issuance of this permit does not convey any vested rights or any exclusive privileges. Neither does it authorize any injury to public or private property or any invasion of personal rights, nor any infringement of federal, state, or local laws or regulations. This permit is not a waiver of or approval of any other Department permit that may be required for other aspects of the total project which are not addressed in this permit. [Rule 62-4.160(3), F.A.C.]

TV26.
Title. This permit conveys no title to land or water, does not constitute State recognition or acknowledgment of title, and does not constitute authority for the use of submerged lands unless herein provided and the necessary title or leasehold interests have been obtained from the State. Only the Trustees of the Internal Improvement Trust Fund may express State opinion as to title. [Rule 62-4.160(4), (F.A.C.]

TV27.
Liability. This permit does not relieve the permittee from liability for harm or injury to human health or welfare, animal, or plant life, or property caused by the construction or operation of this permitted source, or from penalties therefore; nor does it allow the permittee to cause pollution in contravention of F.S. and Department rules, unless specifically authorized by an order from the Department. [Rule 62-4.160(5), F.A.C.]

TV28.
Agreements.

a. The permittee, by accepting this permit, specifically agrees to allow authorized Department personnel, upon presentation of credentials or other documents as may be required by law and at reasonable times, access to the
premises where the permitted activity is located or conducted to:

(1) Have access to and copy any records that must be kept under conditions of the permit;

(2) Inspect the facility, equipment, practices, or operations regulated or required under this permit; and,
(3) Sample or monitor any substances or parameters at any location reasonably necessary to assure  compliance with this permit or Department rules. Reasonable time may depend on the nature of the concern being investigated.

b. In accepting this permit, the permittee understands and agrees that all records, notes, monitoring data and other information relating to the construction or operation of this permitted source which are submitted to the Department may be used by the Department as evidence in any enforcement case involving the permitted source arising under the Florida Statutes or Department rules, except where such use is prescribed by Sections 403.111 and 403.73, F.S. Such evidence shall only be used to the extent it is consistent with the Florida Rules of Civil Procedure and appropriate evidentiary rules.

c. The permittee agrees to comply with changes in Department rules and Florida Statutes after a reasonable time for compliance; provided, however, the permittee does not waive any other rights granted by Florida Statutes or Department rules.

[Rules 62-4.160(7), (9), and (10), F.A.C.]

Recordkeeping and Emissions Computation
TV29.
Permit. The permittee shall keep this permit or a copy thereof at the work site of the permitted activity. [Rule 62- 4.160(12), F.A.C.]

TV30.
Recordkeeping.

a. Upon request, the permittee shall furnish all records and plans required under Department rules. During enforcement actions, the retention period for all records will be extended automatically unless otherwise stipulated by the Department.

b. The permittee shall hold at the facility or other location designated by this permit records of all monitoring information (including all calibration and maintenance records and all original strip chart recordings for continuous monitoring instrumentation) required by the permit, copies of all reports required by this permit, and records of all data used to complete the application for this permit. These materials shall be retained at least five (5) years from the date of the sample, measurement, report, or application unless otherwise specified by Department rule.
c. Records of monitoring information shall include:

(1) The date, exact place, and time of sampling or measurements, and the operating conditions at the time of sampling or measurement;

(2) The person responsible for performing the sampling or measurements;

(3) The dates analyses were performed;

(4) The person and company that performed the analyses;

(5) The analytical techniques or methods used;
(6) The results of such analyses.

[Rules 62-4.160(14) and 62-213.440(1)(b)2., F.A.C.]

TV31.
Emissions Computation. Pursuant to Rule 62-210.370, F.A.C., the following required methodologies are to be used by the owner or operator of a facility for computing actual emissions, baseline actual emissions, and net emissions increase, as defined at Rule 62-210.200, F.A.C., and for computing emissions for purposes of the reporting requirements of subsection 62-210.370(3) and paragraph 62-212.300(1)(e), F.A.C., or of any permit condition that requires emissions be computed in accordance with Rule 62-210.370, F.A.C. Rule 62-210.370, F.A.C., is not intended to establish methodologies for determining compliance with the emission limitations of any air permit.

For any of the purposes specified above, the owner or operator of a facility shall compute emissions in accordance with the requirements set forth in this subsection.

a. Basic Approach. The owner or operator shall employ, on a pollutant-specific basis, the most accurate of the approaches set forth below to compute the emissions of a pollutant from an emissions unit; provided, however, that nothing in this rule shall be construed to require installation and operation of any continuous emissions monitoring system (CEMS), continuous parameter monitoring system (CPMS), or predictive emissions monitoring system (PEMS) not otherwise required by rule or permit, nor shall anything in this rule be construed to require performance of any stack testing not otherwise required by rule or permit.

(1) If the emissions unit is equipped with a CEMS meeting the requirements of paragraph 62-210.370(2)(b), F.A.C., the owner or operator shall use such CEMS to compute the emissions of the pollutant, unless the owner or operator demonstrates to the department that an alternative approach is more accurate because the CEMS represents still-emerging technology.

(2) If a CEMS is not available or does not meet the requirements of paragraph 62-210.370(2)(b), F.A.C, but emissions of the pollutant can be computed pursuant to the mass balance methodology of paragraph 62- 210.370(2)(c), F.A.C., the owner or operator shall use such methodology, unless the owner or operator demonstrates to the department that an alternative approach is more accurate.

(3) If a CEMS is not available or does not meet the requirements of paragraph 62-210.370(2)(b), F.A.C., and emissions cannot be computed pursuant to the mass balance methodology, the owner or operator shall use an emission factor meeting the requirements of paragraph 62-210.370(2)(d), F.A.C., unless the owner or operator demonstrates to the department that an alternative approach is more accurate.

b. Continuous Emissions Monitoring System (CEMS).

(1) An owner or operator may use a CEMS to compute emissions of a pollutant for purposes of this rule provided:
(a) The CEMS complies with the applicable certification and quality assurance requirements of 40 CFR Part 60, Appendices B and F, or, for an acid rain unit, the certification and quality assurance requirements of 40 CFR Part 75, all adopted by reference at Rule 62-204.800, F.A.C.; or,

(b) The owner or operator demonstrates that the CEMS otherwise represents the most accurate means of computing emissions for purposes of this rule.

(2) Stack gas volumetric flow rates used with the CEMS to compute emissions shall be obtained by the most accurate of the following methods as demonstrated by the owner or operator:

(a) A calibrated flowmeter that records data on a continuous basis, if available; or

(b) The average flow rate of all valid stack tests conducted during a five-year period encompassing the period over which the emissions are being computed, provided all stack tests used shall represent the same operational and physical configuration of the unit.

(3) The owner or operator may use CEMS data in combination with an appropriate f-factor, heat input data, and any other necessary parameters to compute emissions if such method is demonstrated by the owner or operator to be more accurate than using a stack gas volumetric flow rate as set forth at subparagraph 62- 210.370(2)(b)2., F.A.C., above.

c. Mass Balance Calculations.
(1) An owner or operator may use mass balance calculations to compute emissions of a pollutant for purposes of this rule provided the owner or operator:

(a) Demonstrates a means of validating the content of the pollutant that is contained in or created by all materials or fuels used in or at the emissions unit; and,
(b) Assumes that the emissions unit emits all of the pollutant that is contained in or created by any material or fuel used in or at the emissions unit if it cannot otherwise be accounted for in the process or in the capture and destruction of the pollutant by the unit’s air pollution control equipment.

(2) Where the vendor of a raw material or fuel which is used in or at the emissions unit publishes a range of pollutant content from such material or fuel, the owner or operator shall use the highest value of the range to compute the emissions, unless the owner or operator demonstrates using site-specific data that another content within the range is more accurate.
(3) In the case of an emissions unit using coatings or solvents, the owner or operator shall document, through purchase receipts, records and sales receipts, the beginning and ending VOC inventories, the amount of VOC purchased during the computational period, and the amount of VOC disposed of in the liquid phase during such period.
d. Emission Factors.
(1) An owner or operator may use an emission factor to compute emissions of a pollutant for purposes of this rule provided the emission factor is based on site-specific data such as stack test data, where available, unless the owner or operator demonstrates to the department that an alternative emission factor is more accurate. An owner or operator using site-specific data to derive an emission factor, or set of factors, shall meet the following requirements.

(a) If stack test data are used, the emission factor shall be based on the average emissions per unit of input, output, or gas volume, whichever is appropriate, of all valid stack tests conducted during at least a five-year period encompassing the period over which the emissions are being computed, provided all stack tests   used shall represent the same operational and physical configuration of the unit.

(b) Multiple emission factors shall be used as necessary to account for variations in emission rate associated with variations in the emissions unit’s operating rate or operating conditions during the period over which emissions are computed.

(c) The owner or operator shall compute emissions by multiplying the appropriate emission factor by the appropriate input, output or gas volume value for the period over which the emissions are computed. The owner or operator shall not compute emissions by converting an emission factor to pounds per hour and then multiplying by hours of operation, unless the owner or operator demonstrates that such computation is the most accurate method available.

(2) If site-specific data are not available to derive an emission factor, the owner or operator may use a published emission factor directly applicable to the process for which emissions are computed. If no directly-applicable emission factor is available, the owner or operator may use a factor based on a similar, but different, process.

e. Accounting for Emissions During Periods of Missing Data from CEMS, PEMS, or CPMS. In computing the emissions of a pollutant, the owner or operator shall account for the emissions during periods of missing data from CEMS, PEMS, or CPMS using other site-specific data to generate a reasonable estimate of such emissions.

f. Accounting for Emissions During Periods of Startup and Shutdown. In computing the emissions of a pollutant, the owner or operator shall account for the emissions during periods of startup and shutdown of the emissions unit.

g. Fugitive Emissions. In computing the emissions of a pollutant from a facility or emissions unit, the owner or operator

shall account for the fugitive emissions of the pollutant, to the extent quantifiable, associated with such facility or emissions unit.

h. Recordkeeping. The owner or operator shall retain a copy of all records used to compute emissions pursuant to this rule for a period of five years from the date on which such emissions information is submitted to the department for any regulatory purpose.

[Rule 62-210.370(1) & (2), F.A.C.]

Responsible Official
TV32.
Designation and Update. The permittee shall designate and update a responsible official as required by Rule 62- 213.202, F.A.C.

Prohibitions and Restrictions
TV33.
Asbestos. This permit does not authorize any demolition or renovation of the facility or its parts or components which involves asbestos removal. This permit does not constitute a waiver of any of the requirements of Chapter 62-   257, F.A.C., and 40 CFR 61, Subpart M, National Emission Standard for Asbestos, adopted and incorporated by reference  in Rule 62-204.800, F.A.C. Compliance with Chapter 62-257, F.A.C., and 40 CFR 61, Subpart M, Section 61.145, is required for any asbestos demolition or renovation at the source. [40 CFR 61; Rule 62-204.800, F.A.C.; and, Chapter 62-257,   F.A.C.]

TV34.
Refrigerant Requirements. Any facility having refrigeration equipment, including air conditioning equipment, which uses a Class I or II substance (listed at 40 CFR 82, Subpart A, Appendices A and B), and any facility which maintains, services, or repairs motor vehicles using a Class I or Class II substance as refrigerant must comply with all requirements of 40 CFR 82, Subparts B and F, and with Chapter 62-281, F.A.C.


TV35.
Open Burning Prohibited. Open burning is prohibited unless performed in accordance with the   provisions of Rule 62-296.320(3) or Chapter 62-256, F.A.C.

RR1.
Reporting Schedule.
This table summarizes information for convenience purposes only. It does not supersede any of the terms or conditions of this permit.

	Report
	Reporting Deadline(s)
	Related Condition(s)

	Plant Problems/Permit Deviations
	Immediately upon occurrence (See RR2.d.)
	RR2, RR3

	Malfunction Excess Emissions Report
	Quarterly (if requested)
	RR3

	Semi-Annual Monitoring Report
	Every 6 months
	RR4

	Annual Operating Report
	April 1
	RR5

	Annual Emissions Fee Form and Fee
	March 1
	RR6

	Annual Statement of Compliance
	Within 60 days after the end of each calendar year (or more frequently if specified by Rule 62-213.440(2), F.A.C., or by any other applicable requirement); and Within 60 days after submittal of a written agreement for transfer of responsibility, or Within 60 days after permanent shutdown.
	RR7

	Notification of Administrative Permit Corrections
	As needed
	RR8

	Notification of Startup after Shutdown for More than One Year
	Minimum of 60 days prior to the intended startup
date or, if emergency startup, as soon as possible after the startup date is ascertained
	RR9

	Permit Renewal Application
	225 days prior to the expiration date of permit
	TV17

	Test Reports
	Maximum 45 days following compliance tests
	TR8


{Permitting Note: See permit Section III. Emissions Units and Specific Conditions, for any additional Emission Unit- specific reporting requirements.}
RR2.
Reports of Problems.

a. Plant Operation-Problems. If the permittee is temporarily unable to comply with any of the conditions of the permit due to breakdown of equipment or destruction by hazard of fire, wind or by other cause, the permittee shall immediately notify the Department. Notification shall include pertinent information as to the cause of the problem, and what steps are being taken to correct the problem and to prevent its recurrence, and where applicable, the owner's intent toward reconstruction of destroyed facilities. Such notification does not release the permittee from any liability for failure to comply with Department rules. 

b. If, for any reason, the permittee does not comply with or will be unable to comply with any condition or limitation specified in this permit, the permittee shall immediately provide the Department with the following information:

(1)  A description of and cause of noncompliance; and
(2)  The period of noncompliance, including dates and times; or, if not corrected, the anticipated time the noncompliance is expected to continue, and steps being taken to reduce, eliminate, and prevent recurrence of the noncompliance. The permittee shall be responsible for any and all damages which may result and may be subject to enforcement action by the Department for penalties or for revocation of this permit.

c. When requested by the Department, the permittee shall within a reasonable time furnish any information required by law which is needed to determine compliance with the permit. If the permittee becomes aware the relevant facts were not submitted or were incorrect in the permit application or in any report to the Department, such facts or information shall be corrected promptly.
d. “Immediately” shall mean the same day, if during a workday (i.e., 8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.), or the first business day after the incident, excluding weekends and holidays; and, for purposes of Rule 62-4.160(15) and 40 CFR 70.6(a)(3)(iii)(B), “promptly” or "prompt" shall have the same meaning as "immediately". 

[Rule 62-4.130, Rule 62-4.160(8), Rule 62-4.160(15), and Rule 62-213.440(1)(b), F.A.C.; 40 CFR 70.6(a)(3)(iii)(B)]

RR3.
Reports of Deviations from Permit Requirements. The permittee shall report in accordance with the requirements of Rule 62-210.700(6), F.A.C. (below), and Rule 62-4.130, F.A.C. (condition RR2.), deviations from permit requirements, including those attributable to upset conditions as defined in the permit. Reports shall include the probable cause of   such deviations, and any corrective actions or preventive measures taken. Rule 62-210.700(6): In case of excess emissions resulting from malfunctions, each owner or operator shall notify the Department or the appropriate Local Program in accordance with Rule 62-4.130, F.A.C. (See condition RR2.). A full written report on the malfunctions shall be submitted in a quarterly report, if requested by the Department.   [Rules 62-213.440(1)(b)3.b., and 62-210.700(6)F.A.C.]

RR4.
Semi-Annual Monitoring Reports. The permittee shall submit reports of any required monitoring at least every six (6) months. All instances of deviations from permit requirements must be clearly identified in such reports. [Rule 62-213.440(1)(b)3.a., F.A.C.]

RR5.
Annual Operating Report.

a. The permittee shall submit to the Compliance Authority, each calendar year, on or before April 1, a completed DEP Form No 62-210.900(5), “Annual Operating Report for Air Pollutant Emitting Facility”, for the preceding calendar year.

b. Emissions shall be computed in accordance with the provisions of Rule 62-210.370(2), F.A.C.

        [Rules 62-210.370(2) & (3), and 62-213.440(3)(a)2., F.A.C.]

RR6.
Annual Emissions Fee Form and Fee. Each Title V source permitted to operate in Florida must pay between January 15 and March 1 of each year, an annual emissions fee in an amount determined as set forth in Rule 62-213.205(1), F.A.C.

a.     If the Department has not received the fee by February 15 of the year following the calendar year for which the fee  is calculated, the Department will send the primary responsible official of the Title V source a written warning of the consequences for failing to pay the fee by March 1. If the fee is not postmarked by March 1 of the year due, the Department shall impose, in addition to the fee, a penalty of 50 percent of the amount of the fee unpaid plus interest on such amount computed in accordance with Section 220.807, F.S. If the Department determines that a submitted fee was inaccurately calculated, the Department shall either refund to the permittee any amount overpaid or notify the permittee of any amount underpaid. The Department shall not impose a penalty or interest on any amount underpaid, provided that the permittee has timely remitted payment of at least 90 percent of the amount determined to be due and remits full payment within 60 days after receipt of notice of the amount underpaid. The Department shall waive the collection of underpayment and shall not refund overpayment of the fee, if the amount is less than 1 percent of the fee due, up to $50.00. The Department shall make every effort to provide a timely assessment of the adequacy of the submitted fee. Failure to pay timely any required annual emissions fee, penalty, or interest constitutes grounds for permit revocation pursuant to Rule 62-4.100, F.A.C.

b. Any documentation of actual hours of operation, actual material or heat input, actual production amount, or actual emissions used to calculate the annual emissions fee shall be retained by the owner for a minimum of five (5) years and shall be made available to the Department upon request.

c. A completed DEP Form 62-213.900(1), “Major Air Pollution Source Annual Emissions Fee Form”, must be submitted by a responsible official with the annual emissions fee.

[Rules 62-213.205(1), (1)(g), (1)(i) & (1)(j), F.A.C.]
RR7.
Annual Statement of Compliance.

a. The permittee shall submit a Statement of Compliance with all terms and conditions of the permit that includes all the provisions of 40 CFR 70.6(c)(5)(iii), incorporated by reference at Rule 62-204.800, F.A.C., using DEP Form No. 62- 213.900(7). Such statement shall be accompanied by a certification in accordance with Rule 62-213.420(4), F.A.C., for Title V requirements and with Rule 62-214.350, F.A.C., for Acid Rain requirements. Such statements shall be submitted (postmarked) to the Department and EPA:

(1) Annually, within 60 days after the end of each calendar year during which the Title V permit was effective, or more frequently if specified by Rule 62-213.440(2), F.A.C., or by any other applicable
requirement; and

(2) Within 60 days after submittal of a written agreement for transfer of responsibility as required pursuant to 40 CFR 70.7(d)(1)(iv), adopted and incorporated by reference at Rule 62-204.800, F.A.C., or within 60 days after permanent shutdown of a facility permitted under Chapter 62-213, F.A.C.; provided that, in either such case, the reporting period shall be the portion of the calendar year the permit was effective up to the date of transfer of responsibility or permanent facility shutdown, as applicable.

b. In lieu of individually identifying all applicable requirements and specifying times of compliance with, non- compliance with, and deviation from each, the responsible official may use DEP Form No. 62-213.900(7) as such statement of compliance so long as the responsible official identifies all reportable deviations from and all instances of non-compliance with any applicable requirements and includes all information required by the federal regulation relating to each reportable deviation and instance of non-compliance.

c. The responsible official may treat compliance with all other applicable requirements as a surrogate for compliance with Rule 62-296.320(2), Objectionable Odor Prohibited.

[Rules 62-213.440(3)(a)2. & 3. and (b), F.A.C.]

RR8.
Notification of Administrative Permit Corrections.

a. A facility owner shall notify the Department by letter of minor corrections to information contained in a permit.

Such notifications shall include:

(1) Typographical errors noted in the permit;

(2) Name, address or phone number change from that in the permit;

(3) A change requiring more frequent monitoring or reporting by the permittee;

(4) A change in ownership or operational control of a facility, subject to the following provisions:

(a) The Department determines that no other change in the permit is necessary;
(b) The permittee and proposed new permittee have submitted an Application for Transfer of Air Permit, and the Department has approved the transfer pursuant to Rule 62-210.300(7), F.A.C.; and

(c) The new permittee has notified the Department of the effective date of sale or legal transfer.

(5) Changes listed at 40 CFR 72.83(a)(1), (2), (6), (9) and (10), adopted and incorporated by reference at Rule 62- 204.800, F.A.C., and changes made pursuant to Rules 62-214.340(1) and (2), F.A.C., to Title V sources subject to emissions limitations or reductions pursuant to 42 USC ss. 7651-7651o;

(6) Changes listed at 40 CFR 72.83(a)(11) and (12), adopted and incorporated by reference at Rule 62-204.800,
F.A.C., to Title V sources subject to emissions limitations or reductions pursuant to 42 USC ss. 7651-7651o, provided the notification is accompanied by a copy of any EPA determination concerning the similarity of the change to those listed at Rule 62-210.360(1)(e), F.A.C.; and

(7) Any other similar minor administrative change at the source.

b. Upon receipt of any such notification, the Department shall within 60 days correct the permit and provide a corrected copy to the owner.

c. After first notifying the owner, the Department shall correct any permit in which it discovers errors of the types

listed at Rules 62-210.360(1)(a) and (b), F.A.C., and provide a corrected copy to the owner.

d. For Title V source permits, other than general permits, a copy of the corrected permit shall be provided to EPA and any approved local air program in the county where the facility or any part of the facility is located.
[Rule 62-210.360, F.A.C.]

RR9.
Notification of Startup. The owners or operator of any emissions unit or facility which has a valid air operation permit which has been shut down more than one year, shall notify the Department in writing of the intent to start up such emissions unit or facility, a minimum of 60 days prior to the intended startup date.

a. The notification shall include information as to the startup date, anticipated emission rates or pollutants released, changes to processes or control devices which will result in changes to emission rates, and any other conditions which may differ from the valid outstanding operation permit.

b. If, due to an emergency, a startup date is not known 60 days prior thereto, the owner shall notify the Department as soon as possible after the date of such startup is ascertained.
[Rule 62-210.300(5), F.A.C.]

RR10.
Report Submission.   The permittee shall submit all compliance related notifications and reports required of this permit to the Compliance Authority. {See front of permit for address and phone number.}

RR11.
EPA Report Submission. Any reports, data, notifications, certifications, and requests required to be sent to the United States Environmental Protection Agency, Region 4, should be sent to: Air, Pesticides & Toxics Management Division, United States Environmental Protection Agency, Region 4, Sam Nunn Atlanta Federal Center, 61 Forsyth Street SW, Atlanta, GA 30303-8960. Phone: 404/562-9077.

RR12.
Acid Rain Report Submission. Acid Rain Program Information shall be submitted, as necessary, to: Department of Environmental Protection, 2600 Blair Stone Road, Mail Station #5510, Tallahassee, Florida 32399-2400. Phone: 850/488-6140. Fax: 850/922-6979.

RR13.
Report Certification. All reports shall be accompanied by a certification by a responsible official, pursuant to Rule 62- 213.420(4), F.A.C. [Rule 62-213.440(1)(b)3.c, F.A.C.]

RR14.
Certification by Responsible Official (RO). In addition to the professional engineering certification required for applications by Rule 62-4.050(3), F.A.C., any application form, report, compliance statement, compliance plan and compliance schedule submitted pursuant to Chapter 62-213, F.A.C., shall contain a certification signed by a responsible official that, based on information and belief formed after reasonable inquiry, the statements and information in the document are true, accurate, and complete. Any responsible official who fails to submit any required information or who has submitted incorrect information shall, upon becoming aware of such failure or incorrect submittal, promptly submit such supplementary information or correct information. [Rule 62-213.420(4), F.A.C.]

RR15.
Confidential Information. Whenever an applicant submits information under a claim of confidentiality pursuant to Section 403.111, F.S., the applicant shall also submit a copy of all such information and claim directly to EPA. Any permittee may claim confidentiality of any data or other information by complying with this procedure. [Rules 62- 213.420(2), and 62-213.440(1)(d)6., F.A.C.]

RR16.
Forms and Instructions. The forms used by the Department in the Title V source operation program are adopted and incorporated by reference in Rule 62-213.900, F.A.C. The forms are listed by rule number, which is also the form   number, and with the subject, title, and effective date. Copies of forms may be obtained by writing to the Department of Environmental Protection, Division of Air Resource Management, 2600 Blair Stone Road, Tallahassee, Florida 32399- 2400, by contacting the appropriate permitting authority or by accessing the Department’s web site
at:     http://www.dep.state.fl.us/air/rules/forms.htm.
a.
Major Air Pollution Source Annual Emissions Fee Form (Effective 10/12/2008).

b. Statement of Compliance Form (Effective 06/02/2002).

c. Responsible Official Notification Form (Effective 06/02/2002).

[Rule 62-213.900, F.A.C.: Forms (1), (7) and (8)]

Unless otherwise specified in the permit, the following testing requirements apply to each emissions unit for which testing is required. The terms “stack” and “duct” are used interchangeably in this appendix.

TR1.
Required Number of Test Runs. For mass emission limitations, a compliance test shall consist of three complete and separate determinations of the total air pollutant emission rate through the test section of the stack or duct and three complete and separate determinations of any applicable process variables corresponding to the three distinct time periods during which the stack emission rate was measured; provided, however, that three complete and separate determinations shall not be required if the process variables are not subject to variation during a compliance test, or if three determinations are not necessary in order to calculate the unit's emission rate. The three required test runs shall be completed within one consecutive five-day period. In the event that a sample is lost or one of the three runs must be discontinued because of circumstances beyond the control of the owner or operator, and a valid third run cannot be obtained within the five-day period allowed for the test, the Secretary or his or her designee may accept the results of two complete runs as proof of compliance, provided that the arithmetic mean of the two complete runs is at least 20% below the allowable emission limiting standard. [Rule 62-297.310(1), F.A.C.]

TR2.
Operating Rate During Testing. Testing of emissions shall be conducted with the emissions unit operating at permitted capacity. If it is impractical to test at permitted capacity, an emissions unit may be tested at less than the maximum permitted capacity; in this case, subsequent emissions unit operation is limited to 110 percent of the test rate until a new test is conducted. Once the unit is so limited, operation at higher capacities is allowed for no more than 15 consecutive days for the purpose of additional compliance testing to regain the authority to operate at the permitted capacity. Permitted capacity is defined as 90 to 100 percent of the maximum operation rate allowed by the permit.  [Rule 62-297.310(2), F.A.C.]

TR3.
Calculation of Emission Rate. For each emissions performance test, the indicated emission rate or concentration shall be the arithmetic average of the emission rate or concentration determined by each of the three separate test runs unless otherwise specified in a particular test method or applicable rule. [Rule 62-297.310(3), F.A.C.]

TR4.
Applicable Test Procedures.

a. Required Sampling Time.

(1) Unless otherwise specified in the applicable rule, the required sampling time for each test run shall be no less than one hour and no greater than four hours, and the sampling time at each sampling point shall be of equal intervals of at least two minutes.

(2) Opacity Compliance Tests. When either EPA Method 9 or DEP Method 9 is specified as the applicable opacity test method, the required minimum period of observation for a compliance test shall be sixty (60) minutes for emissions units which emit or have the potential to emit 100 tons per year or more of particulate matter, and thirty (30) minutes for emissions units which have potential emissions less than 100 tons per year of particulate matter and are not subject to a multiple-valued opacity standard. The opacity test observation period shall include the period during which the highest opacity emissions can reasonably be expected to occur. Exceptions to these requirements are as follows:

(a) For batch, cyclical processes, or other operations which are normally completed within less than the minimum observation period and do not recur within that time, the period of observation shall be equal to the duration of the batch cycle or operation completion time.

(b) The observation period for special opacity tests that are conducted to provide data to establish a surrogate standard pursuant to Rule 62-297.310(5)(k), F.A.C., Waiver of Compliance Test Requirements, shall be established as necessary to properly establish the relationship between a proposed surrogate standard and an existing mass emission limiting standard.

(c) The minimum observation period for opacity tests conducted by employees or agents of the Department to verify the day-to-day continuing compliance of a unit or activity with an applicable opacity standard shall be twelve minutes.

b. Minimum Sample Volume. Unless otherwise specified in the applicable rule or test method, the    minimum sample volume per run shall be 25 dry standard cubic feet.
c. Required Flow Rate Range. For EPA Method 5 particulate sampling, acid mist/sulfur dioxide, and fluoride sampling which uses Greenburg Smith type impingers, the sampling nozzle and sampling time shall be selected such that the average sampling rate will be between 0.5 and 1.0 actual cubic feet per minute, and the required minimum sampling volume will be obtained.

d. Calibration of Sampling Equipment. Calibration of the sampling train equipment shall be conducted in accordance with the schedule shown in Table 297.310-1, F.A.C.

	TABLE 297.310-1 CALIBRATION SCHEDULE

	ITEM
	MINIMUM CALIBRATION FREQUENCY
	REFERENCE INSTRUMENT
	TOLERANCE

	Liquid in glass thermometer
	Annually
	ASTM Hg in glass ref. thermometer or equivalent or thermometric points
	+/-2%

	Bimetallic thermometer
	Quarterly
	Calib. liq. in glass
	5° F

	Thermocouple
	Annually
	ASTM Hg in glass ref. thermometer, NBS calibrated reference and potentiometer
	5° F

	Barometer
	Monthly
	Hg barometer or NOAA station
	+/-1% scale

	Pitot Tube
	When required or when damaged
	By construction or measurements in wind tunnel D greater than 16” and standard pitot tube
	See EPA Method 2, Fig. 2-2

& 2-3

	Probe Nozzles
	Before each test or when nicked, dented, or corroded
	Micrometer
	+/- 0.001” mean of at least three readings; Max. deviation between readings, 0.004”

	Dry Gas Meter and Orifice Meter
	1. Full Scale: When received, when 5% change

observed, annually
	Spirometer or calibrated wet test or dry gas test meter
	2%

	
	2. One Point: Semiannually
	
	

	
	3. Check after each test series
	Comparison check
	5%


e. Allowed Modification to EPA Method 5. When EPA Method 5 is required, the following modification is allowed: the heated filter may be separated from the impingers by a flexible tube.
[Rule 62-297.310(4), F.A.C.]

TR5.
Determination of Process Variables.

a. Required Equipment. The owner or operator of an emissions unit for which compliance tests are required shall install, operate, and maintain equipment or instruments necessary to determine process variables, such as process weight input or heat input, when such data are needed in conjunction with emissions data to determine the compliance of the emissions unit with applicable emission limiting standards.

b. Accuracy of Equipment. Equipment or instruments used to directly or indirectly determine process variables, including devices such as belt scales, weight hoppers, flow meters, and tank scales, shall be calibrated and adjusted to indicate the true value of the parameter being measured with sufficient accuracy to allow the applicable process variable to be determined within 10% of its true value.

[Rule 62-297.310(5), F.A.C.]

TR6.
Sampling Facilities. Permittees that are required to sample mass emissions from point sources shall install stack sampling ports and provide sampling facilities that meet the requirements of this condition. Sampling facilities include sampling ports, work platforms, access to work platforms, electrical power, and sampling equipment support. All stack sampling facilities must also comply with all applicable Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA) Safety and Health Standards described in 29 CFR Part 1910, Subparts D and E.

a. Permanent Test Facilities. The owner or operator of an emissions unit for which a compliance test, other than a visible emissions test, is required on at least an annual basis, shall install and maintain permanent stack sampling facilities.

b. Temporary Test Facilities. The owner or operator of an emissions unit that is not required to conduct compliance test on at least an annual basis may use permanent or temporary stack sampling facilities. If the owner chooses to use temporary sampling facilities on an emissions unit, and the Department elects  to test the unit, such temporary facilities shall be installed on the emissions unit within 5 days of a request by the Department and remain on the emissions unit until the test is completed.

c. Sampling Ports.

(1) All sampling ports shall have a minimum inside diameter of 3 inches.

(2) The ports shall be capable of being sealed when not in use.

(3) The sampling ports shall be located in the stack at least 2 stack diameters or equivalent diameters downstream and at least 0.5 stack diameter or equivalent diameter upstream from any fan, bend, constriction or other flow disturbance.

(4) For emissions units for which a complete application to construct has been filed prior to December 1, 1980, at least two sampling ports, 90 degrees apart, shall be installed at each sampling location on all circular stacks that have an outside diameter of 15 feet or less. For stacks with a larger diameter, four sampling ports, each 90 degrees apart, shall be installed. For emissions units for which a complete application to construct is filed on or after December 1, 1980, at least two sampling ports, 90 degrees apart, shall be installed at each sampling location on all circular stacks that have an outside diameter of 10 feet or less. For stacks with larger diameters, four sampling ports, each 90 degrees apart, shall be installed. On horizontal circular ducts, the ports shall be located so that the probe can enter the stack vertically, horizontally or at a 45 degree angle.

(5) On rectangular ducts, the cross sectional area shall be divided into the number of equal areas in accordance   with EPA Method 1. Sampling ports shall be provided which allow access to each sampling point. The ports shall be located so that the probe can be inserted perpendicular to the gas flow.

d. Work Platforms.

(1) Minimum size of the working platform shall be 24 square feet in area. Platforms shall be at least 3 feet wide.
(2) On circular stacks with 2 sampling ports, the platform shall extend at least 110 degrees around the stack.

(3) On circular stacks with more than two sampling ports, the work platform shall extend 360 degrees around the stack.

(4) All platforms shall be equipped with an adequate safety rail (ropes are not acceptable), toe board, and hinged floor-opening cover if ladder access is used to reach the platform. The safety rail directly in line with the  sampling ports shall be removable so that no obstruction exists in an area 14 inches below each sample port and 6 inches on either side of the sampling port.

e. Access to Work Platform.

(1) Ladders to the work platform exceeding 15 feet in length shall have safety cages or fall arresters with a minimum of 3 compatible safety belts available for use by sampling personnel.

(2) Walkways over free-fall areas shall be equipped with safety rails and toe boards.

f. Electrical Power.

(1) A minimum of two 120-volt AC, 20-amp outlets shall be provided at the sampling platform within 20 feet of each sampling port.

(2) If extension cords are used to provide the electrical power, they shall be kept on the plant’s property and be available immediately upon request by sampling personnel.


Sampling Equipment Support.

(3) A three-quarter inch eyebolt and an angle bracket shall be attached directly above each port on vertical stacks and above each row of sampling ports on the sides of horizontal ducts.

(a) The bracket shall be a standard 3 inch × 3 inch × one-quarter inch equal-legs bracket which is 1 and one-half

inches wide. A hole that is one-half inch in diameter shall be drilled through the exact center of the horizontal portion of the bracket. The horizontal portion of the bracket shall be located 14 inches above the centerline of the sampling port.

(b) A three-eighth inch bolt which protrudes 2 inches from the stack may be substituted for the required

bracket. The bolt shall be located 15 and one-half inches above the centerline of the sampling port.

(c) The three-quarter inch eyebolt shall be capable of supporting a 500 pound working load. For stacks that are less than 12 feet in diameter, the eyebolt shall be located 48 inches above the horizontal portion of the angle bracket. For stacks that are greater than or equal to 12 feet in diameter, the eyebolt shall be located 60 inches above the horizontal portion of the angle bracket. If the eyebolt is more than 120 inches above the platform, a length of chain shall be attached to it to bring the free end of the chain to within safe reach from the platform.
(4) A complete monorail or dual rail arrangement may be substituted for the eyebolt and bracket.

(5) When the sample ports are located in the top of a horizontal duct, a frame shall be provided above the port to allow the sample probe to be secured during the test.

[Rule 62-297.310(6), F.A.C.]

TR7.
Frequency of Compliance Tests. The following provisions apply only to those emissions units that are subject to an emissions limiting standard for which compliance testing is required.

a. General Compliance Testing.

(1) The owner or operator of a new or modified emissions unit that is subject to an emission limiting standard shall conduct a compliance test that demonstrates compliance with the applicable emission limiting standard prior to obtaining an operation permit for such emissions unit.

(2) For excess emission limitations for particulate matter specified in Rule 62-210.700, F.A.C., a compliance test   shall be conducted annually while the emissions unit is operating under soot blowing conditions in each federal fiscal year during which soot blowing is part of normal emissions unit operation, except that such test shall not be required in any federal fiscal year in which a fossil fuel steam generator does not burn liquid and/or solid fuel for more than 400 hours other than during startup.
(3) The owner or operator of an emissions unit that is subject to any emission limiting standard shall conduct a compliance test that demonstrates compliance with the applicable emission limiting standard prior to obtaining a renewed operation permit. Emissions units that are required to conduct an annual compliance test may submit the most recent annual compliance test to satisfy the requirements of this provision. In renewing an air operation permit pursuant to sub-subparagraph 62-210.300(2)(a)3.b., c., or d., F.A.C., the Department shall not require submission of emission compliance test results for any emissions unit that, during the year prior to renewal:

(a) Did not operate; or

(b) In the case of a fuel burning emissions unit, burned liquid and/or solid fuel for a total of no more than 400 hours.

(4) During each federal fiscal year (October 1 – September 30), unless otherwise specified by rule, order, or permit, the owner or operator of each emissions unit shall have a formal compliance test conducted for:

(a) Visible emissions, if there is an applicable standard;

(b) Each of the following pollutants, if there is an applicable standard, and if the emissions unit emits or has the potential to emit: 5 tons per year or more of lead or lead compounds measured as elemental lead; 30 tons per year or more of acrylonitrile; or 100 tons per year or more of any other regulated air pollutant; and

(c) Each NESHAP pollutant, if there is an applicable emission standard.
(5) An annual compliance test for particulate matter emissions shall not be required for any fuel burning emissions unit that, in a federal fiscal year, does not burn liquid and/or solid fuel, other than during startup, for a total of more than 400 hours.

(6) For fossil fuel steam generators on a semi-annual particulate matter emission compliance testing schedule, a compliance test shall not be required for any six-month period in which liquid and/or solid fuel is not burned for more than 200 hours other than during startup.
(7) For emissions units electing to conduct particulate matter emission compliance testing quarterly pursuant to paragraph 62-296.405(2)(a), F.A.C., a compliance test shall not be required for any quarter in which liquid and/or solid fuel is not burned for more than 100 hours other than during startup.
(8) Any combustion turbine that does not operate for more than 400 hours per year shall conduct a visible emissions compliance test once per each five-year period, coinciding with the term of its air operation permit.

(9) The owner or operator shall notify the Department, at least 15 days prior to the date on which each formal compliance test is to begin, of the date, time, and place of each such test, and the test contact person who will be responsible for coordinating and having such test conducted for the owner or operator.

(10) An annual compliance test conducted for visible emissions shall not be required for units exempted from air permitting pursuant to subsection 62-210.300(3), F.A.C.; units determined to be insignificant pursuant to subparagraph 62-213.300(2)(a)1., A.C., or paragraph 62-213.430(6)(b), F.A.C.; or units permitted under the General Permit provisions in paragraph 62-210.300(4)(a) or Rule 62-213.300, F.A.C., unless the general permit specifically requires such testing.
b.    Special Compliance Tests. When the Department, after investigation, has good reason (such as complaints, [image: image6.jpg]7
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increased visible emissions or questionable maintenance of control equipment) to believe that any applicable emission standard contained Department rule or in a permit issued pursuant to those rules is being violated, it shall require the owner or operator of the emissions unit to conduct compliance tests which identify the nature and quantity of pollutant emissions from the emissions unit and to provide a report on the results of said tests to the Department.

c. Waiver of Compliance Test Requirements. If the owner or operator of an emissions unit that is subject to a compliance test requirement demonstrates to the Department, pursuant to the procedure established in Rule 62- 297.620, F.A.C., that the compliance the emissions unit with an applicable weight emission limiting standard can be adequately determined by means other than the designated test procedure, such as specifying a surrogate standard of no visible emissions for particulate matter sources equipped with a bag house or specifying a fuel analysis for sulfur dioxide emissions, the Department shall waive the compliance test requirements for such emissions units and order that the alternate means of determining compliance be used, provided, however, the provisions of paragraph 62-297.310(7)(b), F.A.C., shall apply.
[Rule 62-297.310(7), F.A.C.]





TR8.
Test Reports.

a. The owner or operator of an emissions unit for which a compliance test is required shall file a report with the Department on the results of each such test.

b. The required test report shall be filed with the Department as soon as practical but no later than 45 days after the last sampling run of each test is completed.

c. The test report shall provide sufficient detail on the emissions unit tested and the test procedures used to allow the
Department to determine if the test was properly conducted and the test results properly computed. As a minimum, the test report, other than for an EPA or DEP Method 9 test, shall provide the following information.
(1) The type, location, and designation of the emissions unit tested.

(2) The facility at which the emissions unit is located.

(3) The owner or operator of the emissions unit.

(4) The normal type and amount of fuels used and materials processed, and the types and amounts of fuels used and material processed during each test run.
(5) The means, raw data and computations used to determine the amount of fuels used and materials processed, if necessary to determine compliance with an applicable emission limiting standard.

(6) The type of air pollution control devices installed on the emissions unit, their general condition, their normal operating parameters (pressure drops, total operating current and GPM scrubber water), and their operating parameters during each test run.
(7) A sketch of the duct within 8 stack diameters upstream and 2 stack diameters downstream of the sampling ports, including the distance to any upstream and downstream bends or other flow disturbances.

(8) The date, starting time and duration of each sampling run.
(9) The test procedures used, including any alternative procedures authorized pursuant to Rule 62-297.620, F.A.C. Where optional procedures are authorized in this chapter, indicate which option was used.
(10) The number of points sampled and configuration and location of the sampling plane.

(11) For each sampling point for each run, the dry gas meter reading, velocity head, pressure drop across the stack, temperatures, average meter temperatures and sample time per point.

(12) The type, manufacturer and configuration of the sampling equipment used.
(13) Data related to the required calibration of the test equipment.

(14) Data on the identification, processing and weights of all filters used.

(15) Data on the types and amounts of any chemical solutions used.
(16) Data on the amount of pollutant collected from each sampling probe, the filters, and the impingers, are reported separately for the compliance test.

(17) The names of individuals who furnished the process variable data, conducted the test, analyzed the samples and prepared the report.

(18) All measured and calculated data required to be determined by each applicable test procedure for each run.
(19) The detailed calculations for one run that relate the collected data to the calculated emission rate.
(20) The applicable emission standard and the resulting maximum allowable emission rate for the emissions unit plus the test result in the same form and unit of measure.
(21) A certification that, to the knowledge of the owner or his authorized agent, all data submitted are true and
correct. When a compliance test is conducted for the Department or its agent, the person who conducts the test shall provide the certification with respect to the test procedures used. The owner or his authorized agent shall certify that all data required and provided to the person conducting the test are true and correct to his knowledge.

        [Rule 62-297.310(8), F.A.C.]
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