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Permittee:	 				FINAL Permit No.:  0810002-003-AV Piney Point Phosphates, Inc.			Facility ID No.:  0810002

13300 US Highway 41 North			SIC Nos.:  28, 2874

Palmetto, FL 34221				Project: Initial Title V Air Operation Permit



This permit is for the operation of the Piney Point facility.  This facility is located at 13300 US Highway 41 North, Palmetto, Manatee County; UTM Coordinates:  Zone 17, 348.5 km East and 3057.3 km North; Latitude:  29( 23’ 00” North and Longitude:  82( 20’ 00” West.



Statement of Basis:  This Title V air operation permit is issued under the provisions of Chapter 403, Florida Statutes (F.S.) and Florida Administrative Code (F.A.C.) Chapters 62-4, 62-210, and 62-213.  The above named permittee is hereby authorized to perform the work or operate the facility shown on the application and approved drawing(s), plans, and other documents, attached hereto or on file with the permitting authority, in accordance with the terms and conditions of this permit.



The emission units at this facility have been shut down since June 30, 1992.  The emission units will be subject to the preconstruction review requirements of Chapter 62-212 if the emission units are not reactivated prior to June 30, 2002.  For shut down emissions units, also see APPENDIX TV-1, Condition 18. (Rule 62-210.300(2)(a)3.c., F.A.C.) and Condition 20. (Rule 62-210.300(6), F.A.C.).  Permit conditions for the Sulfuric Acid Plant have been adopted from Construction Permit 0810002-004-AC/PSD-FL-242.  Also, permit conditions for the 190  MMBtu/hr Auxiliary Boiler have been adopted from Construction Permit AC41-232096/PSD-FL-205.  The permittee shall conduct an initial compliance test on the following emission units within 45 days after reaching 90 percent of the maximum permitted capacity or within 90 days of reactivation (initial startup), whichever occurs first:  Sulfuric Acid Plant, Molten Sulfur Storage & Handling Facility, Phosphoric Acid Plant, DAP Manufacturing, Storage & Shipping, Lime Storage Silo, and Auxiliary Boiler.  The existing sulfuric acid plant shall cease operation and be permanently shut down when a new sulfuric acid plant commences commercial operations.



�Referenced attachments made a part of this permit:

Attachment A, Memorandum of Understanding Regarding Best Operational Start-up Practices for Sulfuric Acid Plants

Appendix U-1, List of Unregulated Emissions Units and/or Activities

APPENDIX TV-1, TITLE V CONDITIONS (version dated 12/02/97)

APPENDIX SS-1, STACK SAMPLING FACILITIES (version dated 10/7/96)

TABLE 297.310-1, CALIBRATION SCHEDULE (version dated 10/7/96)

FIGURE 1 - SUMMARY REPORT - GASEOUS AND OPACITY EXCESS EMISSION AND MONITORING SYSTEM PERFORMANCE REPORT (version dated 7/96)





				Effective Date:  

				Renewal Application Due Date:  January 1, 2002

					Expiration Date:  June 30, 2002





					FLORIDA DEPARTMENT OF 

					ENVIRONMENTAL PROTECTION



					___________________________                                 

					Richard D. Garrity, Ph.D.                    

prc					Director, District Management	

�Section I.  Facility Information.



Subsection A.  Facility Description.



This facility consists of a Monsanto double absorption contact sulfuric acid plant; a molten sulfur storage and handling system; a phosphoric acid plant; a diammonium phosphate fertilizer plant; an auxiliary process steam boiler; a lime storage silo; and a phosphogypsum stack.  Also included in this permit are miscellaneous unregulated/insignificant emissions units and/or activities.



Subsection B.  Summary of Emissions Unit ID No(s). and Brief Description(s).



E.U.  ID No.�

Brief Description��  001�Sulfuric Acid Plant��  002�Molten Sulfur Storage & Handling Facility��  003�Phosphoric Acid Plant��  006�Diammonium Phosphate (DAP) Plant Manufacturing, Storage & Shipping��  011�Auxiliary Boiler��  012�Lime Storage Silo��  013�Phosphogypsum Stack��

Unregulated Emissions Units and/or Activities

 014�Fugitive Emissions��



Please reference the Permit No., Facility ID No., and appropriate Emissions Unit(s) ID No(s). on all correspondence, test report submittals, applications, etc. 



�Subsection C.  Relevant Documents.



The documents listed below are not a part of this permit;  they are, however, specifically related to this permitting action.



These documents are provided to the permittee for information purposes only:

�PRIVATE ��Table 1-1, Summary of Air Pollutant Standards and Terms

Table 2-1, Summary of Compliance Requirements

Appendix A-1, Abbreviations, Acronyms, Citations, and Identification Numbers

Appendix H-1, Permit History / ID Number Transfers



These documents are on file with permitting authority:

Initial Title V Permit Application received June 13, 1996

Additional Information Request dated December 18, 1996

Additional Information Response received April 2, 1997





�

Section II.  Facility-wide Conditions.



The following conditions apply facility-wide:



1.  APPENDIX TV-1, TITLE V CONDITIONS, is a part of this permit.

{Permitting note:  APPENDIX TV-1, TITLE V CONDITIONS, is distributed to the permittee only.  Other persons requesting copies of these conditions shall be provided one copy when requested or otherwise appropriate.}



2.  Not federally enforceable.  General Pollutant Emission Limiting Standards. Objectionable Odor Prohibited.   The permittee shall not cause, suffer, allow, or permit the discharge of air pollutants which cause or contribute to an objectionable odor.

[Rule 62-296.320(2), F.A.C.]



3.  General Particulate Emission Limiting Standards.  General Visible Emissions Standard.  No person shall cause, let, permit, suffer or allow to be discharged into the atmosphere the emissions of air pollutants from any activity, the density of which is equal to or greater than that designated as Number 1 on the Ringelmann Chart (20 percent opacity).

[Rule 62-296.320(4)(b)1., F.A.C.]



4.  Prevention of Accidental Releases (Section 112(r) of CAA).  If required by 40 CFR 68, the permittee shall submit to the implementing agency:

     a.  a risk management plan (RMP) when, and if, such requirement becomes applicable; and

     b.  certification forms and/or RMPs according to the promulgated rule schedule.

[40 CFR 68]



5.  Unregulated Emissions Units and/or Activities.  Appendix U-1, List of Unregulated Emissions Units and/or Activities, is a part of this permit.

[Rule 62-213.440(1), F.A.C.]



�6.  Reasonable precautions to prevent emissions of unconfined particulate matter at this facility may include:  paving and maintenance of roads, parking areas and yards; application of water or chemicals to control emissions from such activities as demolition of buildings, grading roads, construction, and land clearing; application of asphalt, water, oil, chemicals or other dust suppressants to unpaved roads, yards, open stock piles and similar emissions units; removal of particulate matter from roads and other paved areas under the control of the owner or operator of the emissions unit to prevent reentrainment, and from buildings or work areas to prevent particulate from becoming airborne; landscaping or planting of vegetation; use of hoods, fans, filters, and similar equipment to contain, capture and/or vent particulate matter; confining abrasive blasting where possible; and enclosure or covering of conveyor systems.

[Rule 62-296.320(4)(c)2., F.A.C.]



7.  Excess emissions resulting from startup, shutdown, or malfunction are permitted providing: (1) best operational practices to minimize emissions are adhered to and; (2) the 

duration of excess emissions shall be minimized but in no case exceed two hours in any 24 hour period unless specifically authorized by the Department for longer duration.  Excess emissions which are caused entirely or in part by poor maintenance, poor operation, or any other equipment or process failure which may reasonably be prevented during startup, shutdown, or malfunction shall be prohibited.  In case of excess emissions resulting from malfunctions, the permittee shall notify the Department in accordance with Rule 62-4.130, F.A.C.  A full written report on the malfunctions shall be submitted in a quarterly report, if requested by the Department or the Manatee County Environmental Management Department (MCEMD).

[Rule 62-210.700, F.A.C.]



Test Methods and Procedures

8.  The requirements for stack sampling facilities, source sampling and reporting, shall be in accordance with Chapter 62-297, F.A.C., Stationary Sources - Emission Monitoring and 40 CFR 60, Appendix A.

[Rule 62-297.401, F.A.C.]



9.  The visible emissions test shall be conducted by a certified observer and be a minimum of thirty minutes in duration, unless otherwise specified within.  The test observation period shall include the period during which the highest opacity can reasonably be expected to occur.

[Rule 62-297.310(4)(a)2, F.A.C.]



�10.  Testing of emissions shall be conducted with the source operating at permitted capacity.  Permitted capacity is defined as 90-100 percent of the maximum operating rate allowed by the permit.  If it is impracticable to test at permitted capacity, then sources may be tested at less than capacity;  in this case subsequent source operation is limited to 110 percent of the test load until a new test is conducted.  Once the unit is so limited, then operation at higher capacities is allowed for no more than 30 consecutive days for the purposes of additional compliance testing to regain the permitted capacity in the permit.  In no case shall the process or production rate exceed the maximum permitted process or production rate.  The actual process or production rate during the test shall be included in each test report.  Failure to include the actual process or production rate in the results may invalidate the test.  In addition, the test results shall include any operating parameters limited or specified to be recorded in this permit, e.g., scrubber flow rate.

[Rules 62-297.310(2) and (2)(b), F.A.C.]



11.  If the Department of Environmental Protection 
or the MCEMD 
has reason to believe that any applicable emission standard is being violated, then the Department of Environmental Protection 
or the MCEMD 
may require the permittee to conduct compliance tests which identify the nature and quantity of pollutant emissions and to provide a report on the results of the tests.

[Rule 62-297.310(7)(b), F.A.C.]



12.  Compliance Testing.  The permittee shall conduct an initial compliance test on the following emission units within 45 days after reaching 90 percent of the maximum permitted capacity or within 90 days of reactivation (initial startup), whichever occurs first:  Sulfuric Acid Plant, Molten Sulfur Storage & Handling Facility, Phosphoric Acid Plant, DAP Manufacturing, Storage & Shipping, Lime Storage Silo, and Auxiliary Boiler.

[Rules 62-297.310(7) and 62-297.310(8), F.A.C.]



{Permitting Note: Compliance Test Dates.  Compliance test dates for emissions units in this permit are for planning purposes only.  Rule 62-297.310(7)(a)4, F.A.C., allows the permittee to conduct a formal compliance test any time during the federal fiscal year (October 1 -- September 30).}



Recordkeeping and Reporting Requirements

13.  The permittee shall notify the Manatee County Environmental Management Department (MCEMD) and the Southwest District Office of the Department in writing at least 30 days prior to reactivation of emission units.  The notification shall include a statement that demonstrates reactivation of the emission units will not constitute reconstruction pursuant to Rules 62-204.800(7) F.A.C.

[Rule 62-210.300(2)(a)4., F.A.C.]



14.  The permittee shall notify the MCEMD and the Southwest District Office of the Department in writing at least 15 days prior to the date on which each compliance test or auditing of any instrument is to begin.  The notification will include the date, time, and place of each test, and the test contact person who will be responsible for coordinating and having such test conducted.

[Rules 62-297.310(7)(a)., F.A.C. and 62-4.070(3), F.A.C.]



15.  In order to provide reasonable assurance that the air pollution control equipment or system are operating properly, the permittee shall comply with the following:

a.  The liquid flow rate (gallons per minute) to the pollution control system (e.g., scrubber) does not fall below 90% of the rate reported during the most recent satisfactory compliance test, following the final issuance of this permit.

b.  the pressure drop (inches of water) across the pollution control system (e.g., scrubber, baghouse) shall not fall below 90% of the rate reported during the most recent satisfactory compliance test, following the final issuance of this permit.

c.  The average liquid flow rate or pressure drop over a 24 hour period may be used in determining the “liquid flow rate” or “pressure drop” in 15.a. and 15.b. above.  It shall not be considered a violation if the liquid flow rate or pressure drop falls below the 90% value if another compliance test, at the same pollution control system parameters is conducted within 30 days and shows compliance.  Such tests shall be conducted in accordance with the testing conditions specified for a standard compliance test as specified in the conditions within.

d.  If an additional compliance test is to be conducted, as described in 15.c. above, then the permittee shall submit a proposed test protocol, for approval by the Department, with the test notification (See Condition No. 14).

[Rule 62-4.070(3), F.A.C.]

{Permitting note:  As an alternative to the minimum requirements of 15.a. and 15.b. above, the permittee may elect to propose a test protocol, with the Department’s approval, to demonstrate fixed minimum or maximum rates and operating tolerances.}



16.  The permittee shall submit to the Air Sections of the MCEMD and the Southwest District Office of the Department each calendar year on or before March 1 a completed DEP Form 62-213.900 (4), an "Annual Operating Report for Air Pollutant Emitting Facility" , for the preceding calendar year containing the following information pursuant to Subsection 403.61(13), F.S.:

	a.	Annual amount of materials and/or fuels utilized;

   b.	Annual emission (note calculation basis);

		c.	Hours of operation;

   d.	Any changes in the information contained in the permit application.

[Rule 62-210.370(3), F.A.C.]

{Permitting Note:  also see APPENDIX TV-1, Condition number 23.}



�17.  Test Reports

a.	The owner or operator of an emissions unit for which a compliance test is required shall file a report with the Air Compliance Sections of Southwest District Office of the Department and the MCEMD on the results of each such test.

	 b.	The required test report shall be filed with the Department and the MCEMD as soon as practical but no later than 45 days after the last sampling run of each test is completed or with the operating permit application, whichever is earlier.

	 c.	The report shall provide sufficient detail on the emissions unit tested and the test procedures used to allow the Department to determine if the test report was properly conducted and the test results properly computed.  Testing procedures shall be consistent with the requirements of Rule 62-297.310(7), F.A.C.

	d.	The test report, other than for an EPA or DEP Method 9 test, as a minimum, shall provide the following information:

		1.	The normal type and amount of fuels used and materials processed, and the types and amounts of fuels used and material processed during each test run.

		2.	The normal operating parameters of air pollution control devices installed on each emission unit (e.g., pressure drop, scrubber liquid flow rate, scrubber liquid pressure, total current, etc.), and the operating parameters of air pollution control devices during each test run.

  		Failure to submit the rates and actual operating conditions in the test report may invalidate the test and fail to provide reasonable assurance of compliance.	

[Rules 62-297.310(8), F.A.C., and 62-4.070(3), F.A.C.]



18.  Hours of Operation.  Unless otherwise noted, all emissions unit are allowed to operate continuously, i.e., 8,760 hours/year.

[Rule 62-210.200, F.A.C., Definitions - (PTE)]



19.  At a minimum, all records and logs required by this permit shall be updated monthly.  (Also reference appendix TV-1, items 12.(14)(b) and (c) and 43.)

[Rule 62-4.070(3), F.A.C.]



20.  When appropriate, any recording, monitoring, or reporting requirements that are time-specific shall be in accordance with the effective date of the permit, which defines day one.

[Rule 62-213.440, F.A.C.]



�21.  The permittee shall submit all compliance related notifications and reports required of this permit to the Department’s Southwest District office:

Department of Environmental Protection

Southwest District Office

3804 Coconut Palm Drive

Tampa, Florida 33619-8218

Telephone:  813/744-6100

Fax:  813/744-6458



22.  Any reports, data, notifications, certifications, and requests required to be sent to the

MCEMD, should be sent to:

Manatee County

Environmental Management Department

P.O. Box 1000

Bradenton, Florida 34206-1000

Telephone:  941/742-5980

Fax:  941/742-5996



23.  Any reports, data, notifications, certifications, and requests required to be sent to the United States Environmental Protection Agency, Region 4, should be sent to:

United States Environmental Protection Agency

Region 4

Air, Pesticides & Toxics Management Division

Air & EPCRA Enforcement Branch

61 Forsyth Street

Atlanta, Georgia 30303

Telephone:  404/562-9099

Fax:  404/562-9095



24.  This facility is subject to the provisions of 40 CFR 60 Subpart A - General Provisions.  A copy of 40 CFR 60 Subpart A - General Provisions is available from the Department upon request.



NOTES to PERMITTEE:

Please reference the Permit No., Facility ID No., and appropriate Emissions Unit(s) ID No(s). on all correspondence, test report submittals, applications, etc.



�PRIVATE ��Table 1-1, Summary of Air Pollutant Standards and Terms, summarizes information for convenience purposes only.  This table does not supersede any of the terms or conditions of this permit.



Permitting note:  Table 2-1, Summary of Compliance Requirements, summarizes information for convenience purposes only.  This table does not supersede any of the terms or conditions of this permit.



Permit Renewal - Reference Appendix TV-1, item 5





Note:  The emission units will be subject to the preconstruction review requirements of Chapter 62-212 if the emission units are not reactivated prior to June 30, 2002.



�Section III.  Emissions Unit(s) and Conditions.



Subsection A.  This section addresses the following emissions unit(s).



��E.U.  ID No.�

Brief Description��001�Sulfuric Acid Plant��

The Monsanto Double Absorption contact sulfuric acid plant is designed to produce 2,000 tons per day (83.3 tons per hour) of sulfuric acid (100% H2SO4 basis).  The Zink oil-burner used to heat sulfuric acid plant process equipment during startups after cold shutdowns has two guns which are fired with No. 4 fuel oil having a maximum sulfur content of 1%, at a maximum combined heat input rate of 34.32 MMBtu/hr.



{Permitting note(s):  This emissions unit is regulated under NSPS - 40 CFR 60,  Subpart H, Standards of Performance for Sulfuric Acid Plants, adopted and incorporated by reference in Rule 62-204.800(7)(b)10., F.A.C.;  and Rule  62-296.402., F.A.C., Emission Standards for Sulfuric Acid Plants.  Permit conditions have been adopted from Construction Permit 0810002-004-AC/PSD-FL-242.}



The following conditions apply to the emissions unit(s) listed above:



Essential Potential to Emit (PTE) Parameters



A.1.  Capacity. The sulfuric acid production rate shall not exceed 2,000 tons per day of 100% H2SO4  on a 24-hour basis.

 [Rule 62-4.160(2), F.A.C. and Rule 62-210.200, F.A.C., Definitions - (PTE), Air Construction Permit 0810002-004-AC/PSD-FL-242]



Emission Limitations and Standards

A.2.  Sulfur dioxide emissions shall not exceed the following limits:

	a.  3.5 pounds per ton of 100% acid produced (BACT)1, and

	b.  4.0 pounds per ton of 100% acid produced (NSPS)2, and

	c.  291.71 pounds per hour, and

	d.  333.2 pounds per hour, and

	e.  1,277.5 tons per year.

1.  48-hour rolling average based on CEMS data.

2.  3-hour rolling average based on CEMS data.

[Rules 62-204.800 and 62-296.402, F.A.C.; and 40 CFR 60.82(a), Air Construction Permit 0810002-004-AC/PSD-FL-242]



�A3.   Acid mist emissions shall not exceed any of the following:

	a.  0.15 pounds per ton of 100% acid produced, or

	b.  12.5 pounds per hour, or

	c.  54.8 tons per year.

[Rules 62-204.800 and 62-296.402, F.A.C.; and 40 CFR 60.83(a)(1), Air Construction Permit 0810002-004-AC/PSD-FL-242]



A4.  Visible emissions shall not be equal to or greater than 10% opacity.

[Rules 62-204.800 and 62-296.402, F.A.C.; and 40 CFR 60.83(a)(2)]



A5.   Nitrogen oxides (NOx) emissions shall not exceed any of the following:

	a.  0.12* pounds per ton of 100% acid produced, or

	b.  10.0 pounds per hour, or

	c.  43.8* tons per year.

[Air Construction Permit 0810002-004-AC/PSD-FL-242]

*Applicant’s estimate.  Required for initial compliance test only.



Source Commitments

A.6.  The existing sulfuric acid plant shall cease operation and be permanently shut down when a new sulfuric acid plant commences commercial operations.

[Air Construction Permit 0810002-004-AC/PSD-FL-242]



A.7.  Prior to the initial plant startup, the permittee shall install approximately 115,000 liters of cesium-promoted catalyst in the final converter pass.  The cesium catalyst shall be used for at least one plant turnaround cycle, or approximately two years, whichever is longer.  A change to non-cesium catalyst and switch to another SO2 control strategy shall not occur without the Department’s review and approval and shall require submittal of a permit modification request to revise the Best Available Control Technology Determination.

[Air Construction Permit 0810002-004-AC/PSD-FL-242]



A.8.  The permittee shall install high efficiency mist eliminators incorporating “Brownian Diffusion” to minimize emissions of fine sulfuric acid mist from the final tower.

[Air Construction Permit 0810002-004-AC/PSD-FL-242]



A.9.  The permittee shall implement and carry out at all times the safety program referred to in the agreement between Manatee County and the permittee.

[Air Construction Permit 0810002-004-AC/PSD-FL-242]



A.10.  The permittee shall implement and carry out at all times a risk management program that complies with 40 CFR Part 68 for Program 3.  The permittee shall modify its analyses, if necessary, when pending EPA litigation of certain issues is resolved.

[Air Construction Permit 0810002-004-AC/PSD-FL-242]



A.11.  Before resuming operation of the sulfuric acid plant, the permittee shall meet with representatives of Manatee County’s Emergency Response and Emergency Services Department to review the plans for complying with Condition A.2.  If Manatee County recommends installation of a public alarm system around the perimeter of the permittee’s facility, the permittee will work diligently to comply with the County recommendation..  Any such alarm shall be controlled exclusively by the permittee.

[Air Construction Permit 0810002-004-AC/PSD-FL-242]



A.12.  The permittee shall inspect, operate and maintain all process and support equipment in accordance with the best management practices required under all applicable federal, state and local regulations.  Any major deficiencies shall be reported to the Manatee County Emergency Response and Emergency Services Department and corrected immediately to ensure the safe operations of the facility.

[Air Construction Permit 0810002-004-AC/PSD-FL-242]



A.13.  Manatee County’s building inspectors and/or environmental compliance officials shall have access to the facility, following reasonable notice, to confirm that the permittee is in compliance with all applicable codes, ordinances, laws and regulations.

[Air Construction Permit 0810002-004-AC/PSD-FL-242]



A.14.  Manatee County shall be advised by the permittee as soon as the permittee has any knowledge of any scheduled or unscheduled visit by a representative of the Department, U.S. EPA, or the Occupational Health and Safety Administration, and the County shall be allowed to have one or two qualified observers accompany the agency inspectors during their visit to the facility.

[Air Construction Permit 0810002-004-AC/PSD-FL-242]



A.15.  Manatee County shall provide the permittee with a list of qualified County representatives for the plant visits mentioned above.  The list may be updated from time to time.  Unless requested by the inspecting agency, no other persons are authorized by this Agreement to accompany the agencies during their inspections of the facility.

[Air Construction Permit 0810002-004-AC/PSD-FL-242]



A.16.  Whenever a Manatee County representative visits the facility, such representative shall comply with the permittee’s safety regulations and shall follow all reasonable instructions provided by the permittee to ensure his or her safety.  The permittee shall provide a copy of its safety regulations to the County so that the County’s representatives may review the safety regulations before visiting the facility.

[Air Construction Permit 0810002-004-AC/PSD-FL-242]



A.17.  The permittee and Manatee County shall promptly provide each other with any report, test result or other information that is received from any agency concerning an inspection of the facility.

[Air Construction Permit 0810002-004-AC/PSD-FL-242]



A.18.  If Manatee County wishes to collect any samples at the facility, Manatee County shall split the samples with the permittee, if requested, and shall promptly provide the permittee with the results of any test performed on the samples.

[Air Construction Permit 0810002-004-AC/PSD-FL-242]



A.19.  During inspections of the facility, Manatee County’s representatives shall notify the permittee’s escort before they take any photographs of the facility.  In this fashion, the County’s  representative shall give the permittee’s representative an opportunity to view the conditions or area at the facility that is the subject of the photograph.  If Manatee County takes any photograph of the facility, Manatee County shall promptly provide a copy of the photograph to the permittee.  However, Manatee County shall not take photographs or any equipment or processes reasonably designated by the permittee as proprietary and confidential.  Photographs shall be taken only for authorized regulatory purposes.

[Air Construction Permit 0810002-004-AC/PSD-FL-242]



A.20.  The permittee and Manatee County shall work together in a cooperative manner to ensure and confirm that the permittee is complying with all local, state, and federal regulations.  If requested, the permittee shall provide a tour of the facility once each year for the Manatee Board of County Commissioners or the Board’s designees.

[Air Construction Permit 0810002-004-AC/PSD-FL-242]



A.21.  The permittee shall provide Manatee County with a copy of any report or document that the permittee is required to provide to any state or federal agency, (unless such documents are confidential under state or federal law), including but not limited:

	a.	routine reports to agencies concerning the facility’s stack tests, air emissions, surface water discharges, or other discharges;

	b.	reports concerning excess emissions, upset conditions or emergencies at the facility;

	c.	reports and other information required under the provisions of 40 CFR Part 68 or Condition A.10; and

	d.	reports or other information that must be submitted to the Department pursuant to the provisions of 40 CFR 60, Standards of Performance for New Stationary Sources, Subpart H, Sulfuric Acid Plants.

These reports and other materials shall be provided to Manatee County at the same time that they are provided to the state or federal agency.  Should the permittee determine that a report or portion thereof is confidential, the permittee shall take steps to redact the confidential information, or if this is not possible, notify the County of the report and the permittee’s reasons for not providing it to the County.

[Air Construction Permit 0810002-004-AC/PSD-FL-242]



Excess Emissions

A.22.  Excess emissions resulting from startup, shutdown, or malfunction are permitted providing: (1) best operational practices to minimize emissions are adhered to and; (2) the duration of excess emissions are minimized.  [Rule  62-210.700(1), F.A.C.].  Excess emissions which are caused entirely or in part by poor maintenance, poor operation, or any other equipment or process failure which may reasonably be prevented during startup, shutdown, or malfunction shall be prohibited.  [Rule 62-210.700(4), F.A.C.].



A.23.  This permit acknowledges that leaks of sulfur dioxide and sulfur trioxide, or other fugitive process emissions that do not pass through a stack, may occur as part of routine operations.  Best operational practices to minimize these emissions shall be adhered to and shall include regular inspections and the prompt repair or correction of any leaks or other fugitive emissions.

[Operating permit AO41-197112]



Test Methods and Procedures

A.24.  Compliance with the applicable emission limitations of  Conditions A.2, A.3, A.4 and A.5 shall be determined using EPA Methods 1, 2, 4, 7E, 8 and 9 contained in 40 CFR 60, Appendix A and adopted by reference in Rule 62-204.800, F.A.C.  The minimum requirements for stack sampling facilities, source sampling and reporting, shall be in accordance with Rule 62-297, F.A.C. and 40 CFR 60, Appendix A.

[Rules 62-204.800, 62-296.402(3) and 62-297, F.A.C.]



A.25.  The visible emissions test shall be conducted by a certified observer and be a minimum of sixty (60) minutes in duration.  The test observation period shall include the period during which the highest opacity can reasonably be expected to occur.

[Rule 62-297.310(4)(a)2, F.A.C.]



A.26.  The permittee shall test the emissions from Sulfuric Acid Plant for the following pollutants annually on, or during the 60 day period prior to, the anniversary date of the initial test as specified in Specific Condition 12 (page 7).



	a.  Sulfur Dioxide (SO2)

	b.  Sulfuric Acid Mist (Acid Mist)

	c.  Visible emissions (VE)

[Rule 62-297.310(7)(a)4, F.A.C.]



A.27.  The permittee shall test the emissions from the Sulfuric Acid Plant for Nitrogen Oxides (NOx) during the initial compliance test as specified in Specific Condition 12 (page 7).

[Air Construction Permit 0810002-004-AC/PSD-FL-242, ]



Continuous Monitoring Requirements

A.28.  A continuous emission monitoring system (CEMS) shall be installed, maintained, operated, and used to determine compliance with the 48-hour emissions limit for SO2.  The CEMS shall be installed and certified before the initial performance test and operated in compliance with 40 CFR 60, Appendix F, Quality Assurance Procedures (1996 version) or other Department-approved QA plan; 40 CFR 60, Appendix B, Performance Specification 2 (1996 version).

[Air Construction Permit 0810002-004-AC/PSD-FL-242, ]



A.29.  The CEMS shall calculate and record emission rates in units of pounds of SO2 per hour.  Each operating day, the average SO2 emission rate for the previous 48 hours shall be calculated and recorded.  Averages are to be calculated as the arithmetic mean of each monitored operating hour from the previous 48 monitored operating hours.  A monitored operating hour is each hour in which sulfur is burned in the unit and at least two emission measurements are recorded at least 15 minutes apart.  Data taken during periods of startup, or when sulfur is not burned in the unit, or when the CEMS is out of control as defined in 40 CFR 60, Appendix F, Section 5.2 shall be excluded from the 48-hour average.

[Air Construction Permit 0810002-004-AC/PSD-FL-242, ]



A.30.  The permittee shall operate and maintain equipment and/or instruments necessary to determine the production rate of H2SO4 as required in Condition A.33.  This equipment, along with any associated instrumentation, as well as the equipment and/or instruments necessary to measure other required process variables as stated in Condition A.35, shall be calibrated and adjusted to indicate the true value of the parameter being measured.  The frequency of calibration and adjustment shall be in accordance with the equipment and/or instrument manufacturers recommendations.

[Rule 62-297.310(5), F.A.C.]



�Recordkeeping and Reporting Requirements

A.31.  The permittee shall immediately notify Manatee County if there is an accident, malfunction or other event at the facility that poses a threat to human health or the environment in the areas located adjacent to the permittee’s facility.  Manatee County recognizes that, under such circumstances, the permittee may be required by law to provide notice to certain local, state, or federal agencies before the permittee provides notice to Manatee County.  Minor exceedances authorized under Rule 62-210.700, F.A.C., are not subject to the notification requirements contained in this Condition.

[Air Construction Permit 0810002-004-AC/PSD-FL-242]



A.32.  In order to document compliance with the daily production rate limitations of Condition A.1, the permittee shall maintain daily records of Sulfuric Acid Plant H2SO4 production.  Documentation as to how daily production rates were calculated shall be included as part of the records.

[Rule 62-4.070(3), F.A.C.]



A.33.  The permittee shall submit a written report (SUMMARY REPORT) of excess sulfur dioxide emissions for every calendar quarter in accordance with 40 CFR 60.7(c).  Periods of excess emissions shall be all three-hour periods (or the arithmetic average of three consecutive one-hour periods) during which the integrated average sulfur dioxide emissions exceed the applicable standard under 40 CFR 60.82.  The report shall include the magnitudes of the excess emissions, the duration of each excess emission period, the cause of the abnormal event, and the action taken to correct it.  The excess emission report shall also include a statement of periods during the quarter when the sulfur dioxide monitoring system was inoperative.  A listing of monitor downtime occurrences shall accompany the SUMMARY REPORT when the total duration of excess emissions is 1% or greater of if the monitoring system downtime is 5% or greater of the total monitored operating hours.  Copies of the quarterly sulfur dioxide excess emission report shall be submitted to the Southwest District Office, and MCEMD.

[Rule 62-296.402(4), F.A.C., and 40 CFR 60.84(e)].



A.34.  The permittee shall prepare and submit to the Department’s Southwest District and Manatee County each calendar quarter:  

	a.	compliance calculation worksheets for SO2 emissions;

	b.	the hourly CEMS data; and

	c.	supporting information necessary to demonstrate compliance with the emission limitations.

[Air Construction Permit 0810002-004-AC/PSD-FL-242]



A.35.  In order to document ongoing compliance with the emission limitations of Conditions A.2 and A.3, the permittee shall maintain daily records of Sulfuric Acid Plant sulfur dioxide (SO2) emissions.   The records shall include the following:

	a.	daily acid production (in tons as 100% H2SO4);

	b.	hours operated;

	c.	average pounds/hour SO2 emission rate for the previous 48 hours;

	d.	average pounds/hour SO2 emission rate for the previous 3 hours; and

	e.	a calculation of the SO2 emissions in tons/last 12 consecutive month period;

The daily records shall also show the sulfuric acid mist emission limits from Condition A.3.  These records shall be recorded in a permanent form suitable for inspection by the Department upon request.

[Rule 62-4.070(3), F.A.C]



A.36.  This facility shall maintain a central file containing all measurements, records, and other data that are required to be collected pursuant to this permit.  Operators shall keep a daily operation and maintenance log to include, at a minimum, calibration logs for all instruments, maintenance/repair logs for any work performed on equipment or instruments, all measurements, records, and any other data required to be maintained by the permittee.

[Rule 62-4.070(3), F.A.C., Air Construction Permit 0810002-004-AC/PSD-FL-242]



Reasonable Assurances

A.37.  Not federally enforceable.  The permittee shall comply with the Attachment A, Memorandum of Understanding Regarding Best Operation Start-up Practices for Sulfuric Acid Plants.

[Executed on   November 21, 1989.]

[Rule 62-4.070(3), F.A.C.]

�Subsection B.  This section addresses the following emissions unit(s).



��E.U.  ID No.�

Brief Description��002�Molten Sulfur Storage & Handling Facility��

The molten sulfur storage and handling system consists of:  one truck and railcar unloading system;  one molten sulfur receiving pit;  one 800 ton capacity molten sulfur storage tank; and all of the associated transfer pumps and piping.  The molten sulfur receiving and storage system is designed to unload a maximum of 34 trucks per day (at approximately 20 tons per truck) while simultaneously unloading up to 7 railcars per day (at approximately 100 tons per railcar).  The sulfuric acid plant which this molten sulfur system supplies consumes up to 667 tons per day of molten sulfur (based on a permitted production rate of 2,000 tons per day of 100% basis sulfuric acid).



{Permitting note(s):  This emissions unit is regulated under Rule 62-296.411 F.A.C, Emission Standards for Sulfur Storage and Handling Facilities.



The following conditions apply to the emissions unit(s) listed above:

 

Essential Potential to Emit (PTE) Parameters



B.1.  Capacity.  The maximum molten sulfur utilization rate in the sulfuric acid plant shall neither exceed 667 tons per day nor 243,100 tons per year. (Based on the sulfuric acid plant capacity of approximately 2,000 tons per day of 100% sulfuric acid.)

[0810002-004-AC/PSD-FL-242, Rule 62-4.160(2), F.A.C. and Rule 62-210.200, F.A.C., Definitions - (PTE)]



Emission Limitations and Standards

B.2. Visible emissions from any emission point in the molten sulfur handling and storage system shall not exceed 10% opacity (six minute average). 

[Rule 62-296.411(1)(g)., F.A.C.]



B.3.  Pursuant to Rule 62�296.411(5)(b), sulfur particulate matter emissions from each source shall not exceed 1 ton per year.

 [Rule 62-296.411(5)(b), F.A.C]



Test Methods and Procedures

 B.4.  The molten sulfur handling and storage system shall be tested for visible emissions within 60 days prior to applying for a renewed operating permit.

[Rule 62-297.310(7)(a)3, F.A.C.].



B.5. Compliance with the visible emission limitation of  Condition B.2 shall be determined using DEP Method 9 and shall be conducted by a certified observer.  The minimum requirements for stack sampling facilities, source sampling and reporting, shall be in accordance with Section 62-297, F.A.C. and 40 CFR 60, Appendix A.

[Rules 62-297.310(4)(a)2, and 62-296.411(1)(j)1., F.A.C.]



B.6.  The visible emissions tests shall be conducted during simultaneous unloading of at least one truck and one railcar, or for at least 60 minutes, whichever is greater.  Simultaneous visible emissions tests shall be conducted at the sulfur receiving pit and at each vent of the sulfur storage tank.  The unloading rate and a description of the unloading operations during the test shall be included with the test results.  Failure to submit the actual operating conditions may invalidate the test and fail to provide reasonable assurance of compliance.  

[AC41-176524 and Rule 62-4.070(3), F.A.C.]



Operating Practices

B.7.  The permittee shall employ at a minimum the following practices to minimize emissions of sulfur particulate matter:

	a.	All molten sulfur transfer shall be through enclosed piping systems where feasible and practical.  In user facilities, molten sulfur may be transferred by covered trench or a movable spout which is positioned over a receiving pit.  Contact surfaces between movable unloading arms and stationary pipes shall seat effectively around the entire circumference to minimize spillage.

		[Rule 62�296.411(1)(a), F.A.C.].

	b.	All areas surrounding points where molten sulfur pipes are routinely disconnected and areas where molten sulfur is transferred to trucks or railcars shall be paved and curbed within 20 feet of the point of disconnection or transfer to contain any spilled molten sulfur, or shall be provided with noncorrosible drip pans or other secondary containment, positioned to collect spills, that are adequate to contain amounts of sulfur that may escape during routine disconnection, reconnection or operation of the piping system.

		[Rule 62�296.411(1)(b), F.A.C.].

	c.	All spilled molten sulfur shall be collected and properly disposed of whenever the containment area is filled to one�half its containment capacity, or monthly, whichever is more frequent.  Spills of molten sulfur outside of a containment area, or where subject to vehicular traffic, shall be collected and disposed of as soon as possible, but no later than 24 hours after the spill occurs.  Drip pans or other secondary containment shall be cleaned as needed to prevent exceedance of capacity, but at least weekly.

		[Rule 62�296.411(1)(d), F.A.C.].

	d.	All vent surfaces shall be cleaned monthly to remove captured particles.

 		[Rule 62�296.411(1)(e), F.A.C.].



B.8.  Any change in the method of operation or equipment which will cause an increase in the actual emissions may be considered a modification and must be reported to the Southwest District Office of the Department for proper processing prior to implementing the change.

[Rules 62-210.300 and 62-210.200(185), F.A.C.]



Recordkeeping and Reporting Requirements

B.9.  The permittee shall implement the necessary recordkeeping, maintenance, and procedures to minimize emissions from the molten sulfur system pursuant to the applicable requirements of Rule 62-296.411(1), F.A.C., "Molten Sulfur Storage and Handling Facilities".



B.10.  In order to document compliance with the requirements of Condition B.1, the permittee shall maintain the following records and make them available to the Department and the MCEMD upon request:



	a.	Daily molten sulfur throughput rate (in tons per day);

	b.	Monthly total sulfur throughput rate (tons per month) and cumulative total for the most recent 12 consecutive month period (tons per year) (including sulfur loaded out to trucks);

 [Rules 62-4.070(3) and 62-213.440(1)(b)2.b., F.A.C.]

�Subsection C.  This section addresses the following emissions unit(s).



��E.U.  ID No.�

Brief Description��003�Phosphoric Acid Plant��

The phosphoric acid plant has a maximum design capacity of 45 tons per hour (TPH) of  phosphate (P2O5 ).  Emissions from attack tanks, filter and evaporators are vented through a cross flow and tail gas scrubber rated at 40,000 DSCFM.



{Permitting note(s):  This emissions unit is regulated under Rules 62-296.700, RACT Particulate Matter and 62-296.403, Emission Standards for Phosphate Processing.}



The following conditions apply to the emissions unit(s) listed above:



Essential Potential to Emit (PTE) Parameters



C.1.  Capacity. The material process input rate to the phosphoric acid plant shall not exceed 44.5 tons of 100% P205 per hour.

 [Rule 62-4.160(2), F.A.C. and Rule 62-210.200, F.A.C., Definitions - (PTE)]



{Permitting note:  The permitted capacity of this phosphoric acid plant is 44.5 TPH (40.04/0.9) of 100% P205 based on the rate at which the October 25, 1988 stack test was conducted.}



Emission Limitations and Standards

C.2. Particulate emissions from this facility shall not exceed 28.74 pounds per hour as requested by the Permittee to exempt the facility from Subpart 62-296.700, F.A.C. particulate RACT requirements.

[Rule 62-296.700(2)(b), F.A.C.]



C.3.  The maximum allowable emission rate for fluoride is 0.02 pounds of  Fluoride per ton of P205.

[Rule 62-296.403(1)(a), F.A.C.]



C.4. Visible emission shall not exceed 5% opacity (six-minute average). (Note: This visible emission limitation is more stringent than, and therefore satisfies the requirements of Rule 62-296.320(4)(b), F.A.C., which is applicable to this source.)

[Requested by applicant in letter dated May 24, 1991, Air Operating Permit AO41-164317]



�Test Methods and Procedures

C.5.  Compliance with the emission limitations of  Condition Nos. C.2, C.3 and C.4 shall be determined using EPA Methods 1, 2, 4, 5, 9 and 13A or 13B contained in 40 CFR 60, Appendix A and adopted by reference in Chapter 62-297, F.A.C. The minimum requirements for stack sampling facilities, source sampling and reporting, shall be in accordance with Section 62-297.310, F.A.C. and 40 CFR 60, Appendix A. The EPA Method 9 testing shall be for at least (60) minutes.

[Rule 62-297, F.A.C.]



C.6.  Test the emissions for the following pollutant(s) at the intervals shown:



		   Pollutant  	    Testing Frequency  

		a.  Fluorides	12 month intervals from anniversary date of initial compliance test as specified in Specific Condition 12 (page 7)

		b.  Opacity	12 month intervals from anniversary date of initial compliance test as specified in Specific Condition 12 (page 7)

		c.  Particulates	During the 60 day period prior to the expiration date of this permit *



	* At any time that the Department has reason to believe the particulate emission standard is not being met, the Department may require that compliance be demonstrated by testing in accordance with Rule 62-297.310, F.A.C.

[Rule 62-297.620(4), F.A.C.]



Monitoring and Recordkeeping of Operations

C.7.  The following scrubber operating parameters shall be monitored and recorded during the compliance test and a summary of this data shall be included with the fluoride emissions test report:  

	a.  the water flow rate (gallons per minute)

	b.  the scrubber pressure drop (inches of water)

	c.  equivalent P2O5 feed rate

NOTE:  The permittee may substitute continuous monitoring and strip chart recordings for the manual recordkeeping required by this Condition.

[Rules 62-4.070(3), 62-4.160(14)(b), and 62-4.160(14)(c), F.A.C.]



�C.8.  In order to provide reasonable assurance that the control equipment is operating properly, the permittee shall create and keep a record log of the scrubber operating parameters.  The record log shall contain, at a minimum:

	a.	the water flow rate (gallons per minute),  

	b.	the scrubber pressure drop (inches of water), 

	c.	the date and time of the measurements, and 

	d.	the name of the person responsible for performing the measurements.  

A record log entry shall be made at least once for every 8 hour shift for each phosphoric acid plant that operates.



NOTE:  The permittee may substitute continuous monitoring and strip chart recordings for the manual recordkeeping required by this Condition.

[Rules 62-4.070(3), 62-4.160(14)(b), and 62-4.160(14)(c), F.A.C.]



C.9.  In order to provide reasonable assurance, when the phosphoric acid plant is operating, that the pollution control system is operating properly, the permittee shall comply with Facility-wide Condition No. 15.

[Rule 62-4.070(3), F.A.C.]



�Subsection D.  This section addresses the following emissions unit(s).



��E.U.  ID No.�

Brief Description��006�Diammonium Phosphate (DAP) Plant Manufacturing, Storage & Shipping��

The fertilizer manufacturing plant is used to produce diammonium phosphate (DAP) and diammonium phosphate/sulfate (DAP/S).  The fertilizer manufacturing plant consists of the following process equipment: reactor/granulator;  dryer; screens/cooler; and storage/shipping.  Emissions from the reactor/granulator are controlled by the following control equipment:  venturi scrubber using phosphoric acid; cross-flow scrubber using pondwater; and tailgas scrubber.  Emissions from the Dryer are controlled by the following control equipment:  dry cyclone; venturi scrubber using phosphoric acid; cross-flow scrubber using pondwater; and tailgas scrubber.  Emissions from the screens/cooler are controlled by:  fertilizer coating applicator at cooler; dry cyclone; venturi scrubber using phosphoric acid; cross-flow scrubber using pondwater; and tailgas scrubber.  Emissions from storage/shipping are controlled by: fertilizer coating applicator at loadout; tailgas scrubber using pondwater.  All four tailgas scrubbers exhaust through a common stack.



{Permitting note(s):  This emissions unit is regulated under Rules 62-296.403, Emission Standards for Phosphate Processing and 62-296.700, RACT Particulate Matter.}



The following conditions apply to the emissions unit(s) listed above:

 

Essential Potential to Emit (PTE) Parameters



Capacity.

D.1.  The annual total combined production rate of DAP and DAP/S shall not exceed 735,840 tons per year. 



D.2.  The permitted production and shipping rate of this plant when producing DAP is 84 tons per hour (39.5 tons per hour P2O5 input) based on the rate at which the November 9, 1989 test was conducted.

[Rule 62-4.160(2), F.A.C. and Rule 62-210.200, F.A.C., Definitions - (PTE)]



D.3.  Fuels.

	a.  The dryer unit fires No. 4 Fuel oil as the primary fuel.

b.  The dryer is to be fired with No. 4 Fuel Oil with a sulfur content of less than 1% by weight.

[Rule 62-4.070(3), F.A.C.]



�Emission Limitations and Standards

D.4.  The maximum total allowable particulate emission rate from the covered sources is 22.5 pounds per hour as requested by the applicant to exempt the facility from the Rule 62-296.700, F.A.C. particulate RACT requirements.

[Rule 62-296.700(2)(b)., F.A.C.]



D.5.  The maximum total allowable fluoride (F) emission rate from the covered sources is 0.86 pounds F per hour, or 0.06 pounds F per ton of P2O5 input (hourly basis), whichever is less.

[Rule 62-296.403(1), F.A.C.]



D.6.  Visible emissions shall not be equal to or greater than 20% opacity.

[Rule 62-296.320(4), F.A.C.]



Test Methods and Procedures

D.7.  Test the emissions for the following pollutant(s) at intervals of 12 months from the anniversary date of the initial compliance test as specified in Specific Condition 12 (page 7):  particulates, visible emissions, and fluorides.

[Rules 62-297.310(7) and 62-297.310(8), F.A.C.]



D.8.  Compliance with the particulate, opacity and fluoride emission limitations shall be determined using EPA methods 1, 2, 4, 5, 9, and 13A or 13B contained in 40 CFR 60, Appendix A and adopted by reference in Rule 62-297, F.A.C..  The minimum requirements for stationary point source emissions test procedures and reporting shall be in accordance with Rule 62-297, F.A.C. and 40 CFR 60, Appendix A.



D.9.  The visible emissions test shall be conducted by a certified observer and be a minimum of sixty (60) minutes in duration.  The test observation period shall include the period during which the highest opacity emissions can reasonably be expected to occur.

[Rule 62-297.310(4)(a), F.A.C.]



D.10.  During the initial compliance test of DAP/S the permittee shall conduct a stack test in accordance with Conditions D.7 through D.9 to determine visible emissions and emissions of particulate and fluorides when DAP/S is being produced and to document compliance with the emission limitations of this permit.  Testing shall be done during production at a rate within 10% of the requested rate of 75 tons per hour of DAP/S (16.5 tons per hour P2O5 input).  If this testing indicates any increase in actual emissions over those measured during DAP production, then future production of DAP/S is prohibited until a construction modification permit is obtained for this increase.

[Rule 62-4.070(3), F.A.C.]

�Monitoring Requirements

D.11.  The following scrubber operating parameters shall be monitored and recorded during the compliance test and a summary of this data shall be included with the fluoride emissions test report:  

	a.  the water flow rate (gallons per minute)

	b.  the scrubber pressure drop (inches of water)

	c.  equivalent P2O5 feed rate

NOTE:  The permittee may substitute continuous monitoring and strip chart recordings for the manual recordkeeping required by this Condition.

[Rules 62-4.070(3), 62-4.160(14)(b), and 62-4.160(14)(c), F.A.C.]



D.12.  In order to provide reasonable assurance that the control equipment is operating properly, the permittee shall create and keep a record log of the scrubber operating parameters.  The record log shall contain, at a minimum:

	a.	the water flow rate (gallons per minute),  

	b.	the scrubber pressure drop (inches of water), 

	c.	the date and time of the measurements, and 

	d.	the name of the person responsible for performing the measurements.  

A record log entry shall be made at least once for every 8 hour shift for each phosphoric acid plant that operates.



NOTE:  The permittee may substitute continuous monitoring and strip chart recordings for the manual recordkeeping required by this Condition.

[Rules 62-4.070(3), 62-4.160(14)(b), and 62-4.160(14)(c), F.A.C.]



D.13.  In order to provide reasonable assurance, when the DAP plant is operating, that the pollution control system is operating properly, the permittee shall comply with Facility-wide Condition No. 15.

[Rule 62-4.070(3), F.A.C.]

�Recordkeeping and Reporting Requirements

D.14.  A daily record log(s) shall be established and maintained to document, at a minimum, the following:

	a.	The DAP and DAP/S production

	b.	The daily equivalent P2O5 feed.

	c.	Hours of operation.

	d.	The quantity of the new, fuel oil utilized in the dryer.

	e.	The sulfur content (percent, by weight) of the new, fuel oil utilized in the dryer.

 [Rule 62-4.070(3), F.A.C.]

�Subsection E.  This section addresses the following emissions unit(s).



��E.U.  ID No.�

Brief Description��011�Auxiliary Boiler��

The auxiliary boiler is a 190 MMBtu/hour process steam boiler fired with No. 2 distillate fuel oil producing a maximum of 150,000 pounds/hour of steam.  The maximum fuel consumption rate will be 1349 gallons/hour and the maximum heat input rate will be 190 MMBtu/hour.  Nitrogen oxides emissions will be controlled with low NOx burners, flue gas recirculation, and proper operation practices.  Sulfur dioxide emissions will be controlled by only firing No. 2 fuel oil containing no more than 0.05% sulfur, by weight.



{Permitting note(s):  The emissions unit is regulated under Rule 62-296.406, F.A.C., Fossil Fuel Steam Generators with less than 250 million Btu per Hour Heat Input; NSPS - 40 CFR 60,  Subpart Db, Standards of Performance for Industrial-Commercial-Institutional Steam Generating Units, adopted and incorporated by reference in Rule 62-204.800(7)(b)3., F.A.C.; and Prevention of Significant Deterioration (PSD) in Rule 62-212.400, F.A.C.}



The following conditions apply to the emissions unit(s) listed above:



At the present time, the 190 MMBtu/hr boiler has not been constructed.  When the new 190  MMBtu per hour boiler is constructed and in operation the existing 96 MMBtu per hour boiler shall be permanently shut down.  Until that time the 96 MMBtu per hour boiler is authorized to operate under the conditions of AO 41-156789.



The following permit conditions have been adopted from Construction Permit AC41-232096/PSD-FL-205.



Essential Potential to Emit (PTE) Parameters



E.1.  Capacity.  The maximum heat input rate is 190 MMBtu per hour when firing new* No. 2 distillate fuel oil only.

[Rule 62-4.160(2), F.A.C. and Rule 62-210.200, F.A.C., Definitions - (PTE)]

*New oil means an oil which has been refined from crude oil and has not been used in any manner that may contaminate it.



E.2.  The sulfur content of the No. 2 distillate fuel oil shall not exceed 0.05% by weight, which is defined as “very low sulfur oil” in 40 CFR 60.41b.

[Air Construction Permit AC 41-232096/PSD-FL-205]



E.3.  The maximum No. 2 distillate fuel oil consumption rate shall be 1349 gallons per hour.

[Air Construction Permit AC41-232096/ PSD-FL-205]



Emission Limitations and Standards

E.4.	The maximum allowable emission rates for the process boiler based on a No. 2 distillate fuel oil consumption of 1349 gallons/hour shall not exceed the following limits:



�Maximum Allowable Emissions��Pollutant�Pounds per hour�TPY*��PM/PMIO�2.7�11.8��SO2	�9.6�42.0��NOx	�28.5�124.8��*Based on 8760 hours of operation per year

[Air Construction Permit AC41-232096/PSD-FL-205]



E.5.	The visible emissions from this process steam boiler shall not exceed 20% opacity (6-minute average) , except for one 6-minute period per hour during which the opacity shall not exceed 27%.  These opacity standards shall apply at all times, except during periods of startup, shutdown or malfunction.

[Rules 62-296.406(1), F.A.C., and 40 CFR 60.43b(g)]



Test Methods and Procedures

E.6.  The permittee shall conduct performance tests on the process steam boiler for the pollutants listed in Condition E.4 and visible emissions at intervals of 12 months from the anniversary of the initial compliance test as specified in Specific Condition 12 (page 7).

[Rule 62-297.310(7)(a)4, F.A.C.]



�E.7.  Compliance with the pollutants respective maximum allowable emission limits referenced in  Condition E.4 shall be demonstrated using the applicable EPA methods as contained in 40 CFR 60, Appendix A (July 1,, 1993 version), and adopted by reference in Chapter 62-297, F.A.C.  The prescribed methods for those pollutants other than SO2 are contained in the following table.  The test method for SO2 is contained in Condition E.8.  The minimum test requirements for new stationary source emissions test procedures and reporting requirements shall be in accordance with Chapter 62.297, F.A.C., and 40 CFR 60, Appendix A.



For Determination of�U.S. EPA, Test Method��Sample and Velocity Traverse�Method 1��Velocity and Volumetric Flow Rate�Method 2��Particulate Matter (PM)/(PM10)�Method 3A or 3B with Method 5/201 or 201A��Opacity�Method 9��Nitrogen Oxides (NOx)	�Method 7, 7A, 7E or 19��

[Rule 62-297, F.A.C., Air Construction Permit AC41-232096/PSD-FL-205]



E.8.	 SO2 emissions shall be determined in accordance with Section 5.2.2 of EPA Method 19. Calculations of SO2 emissions shall be based on the sulfur content of the fuel as determined by the supplier pursuant to 40 CFR 60.45b(j) and 40 CFR 60.49b(r).

[40 CFR 60.45b(j) and 40 CFR 60.49b(r)]



E.9.  In order to document continuing compliance with Condition E.2, the permittee shall obtain and maintain at the facility fuel oil analysis from the fuel oil supplier which certifies that the oil received for firing in this boiler meets the specifications for No. 2 distillate fuel oil.

[Rules 62-4.070(3), 62-296.800, and 62-297.500, F.A.C.; and, 40 CFR 60.49b(r)]



Continuous Monitoring Requirements

E.10.  The permittee shall calibrate, maintain and operate a continuous emission monitoring system for opacity, and record the output of the system on a 6-minute average opacity basis. [Rule 62-296.800, F.A.C.; and, 40 CFR 60.48b(a), Subpart Db]



E.11.	The permittee shall maintain the daily continuous monitoring records as required by 40 CFR 60.49b(g) and Rules 62-296.800 and 62-297.500, F.A.C..

[40 CFR 60.49b(g) and Rules 62-296.800 and 62-297.500, F.A.C.]



�Recordkeeping and Reporting Requirements

E.12.  All records required by this permit and/or 40 CFR 60.49b,, shall be retained for a minimum of five years following the date of such records and be made available for inspection by the Department upon request.

[Rules 62-4.070(3). 62-296.800, and 62-297.500, F.A.C.; and, 40 CFR 60.49b(o)]



E.13.  The permittee shall maintain daily records of the hours of operation of the process steam boiler along with the quantity of fuel burned.  On a monthly basis, the annual hours of operation of the boiler for the previous 12 months shall be determined and included in the records.

[Rule 62-4.070(3), F.A.C.]



E.14.  If the permittee elects to demonstrate compliance with the nitrogen oxides emission standard by monitoring steam generator unit operating conditions and predict nitrogen oxides emission rates, the permittee shall submit a plan for approval as specified in 40 CFR 60.49b(c).

[40 CFR 60.49b(c)]



E.15.  The permittee shall submit quarterly opacity and nitrogen oxide excess emission reports in accordance with 40 CFR 60.7(c) and 40 CFR 60.49b(h) and (i).  If there are no excess emissions during a calendar quarter the permittee shall submit a report stating that no excess emissions occurred during the reporting period.  All quarterly reports shall be postmarked by the 30th day following the end of the calendar quarter.

[Rules 62-296.800 and 62-297.500, F.A.C.; and, 40 CFR 60.49b(h)]



E.16.	The permittee shall submit quarterly reports certifying that only No, 2 distillate fuel oil with a maximum sulfur content of 0.05% by weight was fired in this boiler in the preceding calendar quarter.  All quarterly reports shall be postmarked by the 30th day following the end of the calendar quarter.

[Rules 62-4.070(3), 62.296.800 and 62-297.500, F.A.C.; and, 40 CFR 60.49b(r)]



E.17. The permittee shall comply with the following:

a.  Upon request, the permittee shall furnish all records and plans required under Department rules.  During enforcement actions, the retention period for all records will be extended automatically unless otherwise stipulated by the Department,

b.  The permittee shall hold at the facility or other location designated by this permit records of all monitoring information (including all calibrations and maintenance records and all original strip chart recordings - for continuous monitoring instrumentation) required by the permit, copies of all reports required by this permit, and records of all data used to complete the application for this permit.  These materials shall be retained at least five years from the date of the sample measurement, report, or application unless otherwise specified by Department rule.



c.	Records of monitoring information shall include:

	1.	the date, exact place, and time of sampling or measurements;

	2.	he person responsible for performing the sampling or measurements;

	3.	the dates analyses were performed;

	4.	the person responsible for performing the analyses;

	5.	the analytical techniques or methods used; and,

	6.	the results of such analyses.

[Rule 62-4.070(3), F.A.C.]

�Subsection F.  This section addresses the following emissions unit(s).



��E.U.  ID No.�

Brief Description��012�Lime Storage Silo��

For the operation of the Quick Lime Storage Silo at the Two Stage Lime Treatment Station.  Particulate emissions from the loading of the silo are controlled by a Butler BVC�25 baghouse.  The silo is pneumatically loaded from trucks or railcars at a maximum rate of 20,000 pounds per hour.



{Permitting note(s): This emissions unit is regulated under Rule 62-296.700, RACT Particulate Matter.



The following conditions apply to the emissions unit(s) listed above:

 

Essential Potential to Emit (PTE) Parameters



F.1.  Capacity.  The maximum transfer rate for quick lime shall not exceed 20,000 pounds per hour. 

 [Rule 62-4.160(2), F.A.C. and Rule 62-210.200, F.A.C., Definitions - (PTE)]



Emission Limitations and Standards

F.2.  As requested by the permittee, in order to exempt the facility from Particulate RACT, the maximum allowable particulate emissions  shall not exceed 11.25 pounds per hour.

[Rule 62�296.700(2)(b), F.A.C.]



F.3.  Visible Emissions from the quick lime storage silo baghouse shall not be equal to or greater than 20% opacity in accordance with Rule 62�296.320(4)(b), F.A.C.

[Rule 62-296.320(4)(b), F.A.C.]



Test Methods and Procedures

F.4.  Test the emissions for the following pollutant(s) at intervals of 12 months from the anniversary date of  the initial compliance test as specified in Specific Condition 12 (page 7):

	a.  Particulates.	

	b.  Visible emissions.

[Rule 62-297.310(7)(a)4, F.A.C.]



�F.5.  Compliance with the emission limitation of Conditions F.2 and F.3 shall be determined using EPA Methods 1, 2, 4, 5 and 9 contained in 40 CFR 60, Appendix A and adopted by reference in Rule 62-297, F.A.C.  The minimum requirements for stationary point source emission test procedures and reporting shall be in accordance with Rule 62-297, F.A.C. and 40 CFR 60, Appendix A.

[Rule 62-297, F.A.C.]



F.6.  The maximum allowable emission rate for particulate matter for this source is set by Condition F.2.  Because of the expense and complexity of conducting a stack test on minor sources of particulate matter, the Department, pursuant to the authority granted under Rule 62�297.620(4), F.A.C., hereby allows the particulate stack testing to be waived in lieu of a visible emissions limitation not to exceed an opacity of 5%.

[Rule 62�297.620(4), F.A.C.]



F.7.  Should the Department have reason to believe that the particulate emission limit of Condition F.2 is not being met, the Department may require that compliance with the particulate emission standard be demonstrated by testing in accordance with Rule 62�297, F.A.C.

[Rule 62�297.620(4),F.A.C.]



Recordkeeping and Reporting Requirements

F.8.  In order to document compliance with the process rate limitation of Condition F.1, the permittee shall maintain daily records of the amount of material processed and the total hours of process operations.

[Rule 62-4.070(3), F.A.C.]

�Subsection G.  This section addresses the following emissions unit(s).



��E.U.  ID No.�

Brief Description��-013�Phosphogypsum Stack��

Phosphogypsum stack.



{Permitting note(s):  This emissions unit is regulated under Rule 40 CFR 61 Subpart A and R (National Emission Standards for Hazardous Air Pollutants -- General Provisions; and National Emission Standards for Radon Emissions from Phosphogypsum Stacks.).}



The following conditions apply to the emissions unit(s) listed above:



G.1.  The permittee shall comply with 40 CFR 61 Subpart A and R (National Emission Standards for Hazardous Air Pollutants -- General Provisions; and National Emission Standards for Radon Emissions from Phosphogypsum Stacks).



G.2.  The following specific conditions are a verbatim copy of 40 CFR 61 Subpart R- 

National Emission Standards for Radon Emissions From Phosphogypsum Stacks:



(61.200 Designation of facilities.

	

	The provisions of this subpart apply to each owner or operator of a phosphogypsum stack, and to each person who owns, sells, distributes, or otherwise uses any quantity of phosphogypsum which is produced as a result of wet acid phosphorus production or is removed from any existing phosphogypsum stack.



( 61.201 Definitions.



	As used in this subpart, all terms not defined here have the meaning given them in the Clean Air Act or subpart A of part 61. The following terms shall have the following specific meanings:

	(a) Inactive stack means a stack to which no further routine additions of phosphogypsum will be made and which is no longer used for water management associated with the production of phosphogypsum. If a stack has not been used for either purpose for two years, it is presumed to be inactive.

	(b) Phosphogypsum is the solid waste byproduct which results from the process of wet acid phosphorus production.

	(c) Phosphogypsum stacks or stacks are piles of waste resulting from wet acid phosphorus production, including phosphate mines or other sites that are used for the disposal of phosphogypsum.

�(61.202 Standard.



	Each person who generates phosphogypsum shall place all phosphogypsum in stacks. Phosphogypsum may be removed from a phosphogypsum stack only as expressly provided by this subpart. After a phosphogypsum-gypsum stack has become an inactive stack, the owner or operator shall assure that the stack does not emit more than 20 pCi/m2-s of radon-222 into the air.



(61.203 Radon monitoring and compliance procedures.



	(a) Within sixty days following the date on which a stack becomes an inactive stack, or within ninety days after the date on which this subpart first took effect if a stack was already inactive on that date, each owner or operator of an inactive phosphogypsum stack shall test the stack for radon-222 flux in accordance with the procedures described in 40 CFR part 61, appendix B, Method 115. EPA shall be notified at least 30 days prior to each such emissions test so that EPA may, at its option, observe the test. If meteorological conditions are such that a test cannot be properly conducted, then the owner or operator shall notify EPA and test as soon as conditions permit.

	(b)	(1) Within ninety days after the testing is required, the owner or operator shall provide EPA with a report detailing the actions taken and the results of the radon-222 flux testing. Each report shall also include the following information:

			(i) The name and location of the facility;

			(ii) A list of the stacks at the facility including the size and dimensions of each stack;

			(iii) The name of the person responsible for the operation of the facility and the name of the person preparing the report (if different);

			(iv) A description of the control measures taken to decrease the radon flux from the source and any actions taken to insure the long term effectiveness of the control measures; and

			(v) The results of the testing conducted, including the results of each measurement.

		(2) Each report shall be signed and dated by a corporate officer in charge of the facility and contain the following declaration immediately above the signature line: ``I certify under penalty of law that I have personally examined and am familiar with the information submitted herein and based on may inquiry of those individuals immediately responsible for obtaining the information, I believe that the submitted information is true, accurate and complete. I am aware that there are significant penalties for submitting false information including the possibility of fine and imprisonment. See, 18 U.S.C. 1001.''



	(c) If the owner or operator of an inactive stack chooses to conduct measurements over a one year period as permitted by Method 115 in appendix B to part 61, within ninety days after the testing commences the owner or operator shall provide EPA with an initial report, including the results of the first measurement period and a schedule for all subsequent measurements. An additional report containing all the information in (61.203(b) shall be submitted within ninety days after completion of the final measurements.

	(d) If at any point an owner or operator of a stack once again uses an inactive stack for the disposal of phosphogypsum or for water management, the stack ceases to be in inactive status and the owner or operator must notify EPA in writing within 45 days. When the owner or operator ceases to use the stack for disposal of phosphogypsum or water management, the stack will once again become inactive and the owner or operator must satisfy again all testing and reporting requirements for inactive stacks.

	(e) If an owner or operator removes phosphogypsum from an inactive stack, the owner shall test the stack in accordance with the procedures described in 40 CFR part 61, appendix B, Method 115. The stack shall be tested within ninety days of the date that the owner or operator first removes phosphogypsum from the stack, and the test shall be repeated at least once during each calendar year that the owner or operator removes additional phosphogypsum from the stack. EPA shall be notified at least 30 days prior to an emissions test so that EPA may, at its option, observe the test. If meteorological conditions are such that a test cannot be properly conducted, then the owner shall notify EPA and test as soon as conditions permit. Within ninety days after completion of a test, the owner or operator shall provide EPA with a report detailing the actions taken and the results of the radon-222 flux testing. Each such report shall include all of the information specified by (61.203(b).



(61.204 Distribution and use of phosphogypsum for agricultural purposes.



	Phosphogypsum may be lawfully removed from a stack and distributed in commerce for use in agriculture if each of the following requirements is satisfied:

	(a) The owner or operator of the stack from which the phosphogypsum is removed shall determine annually the average radium-226 concentration at the location in the stack from which the phosphogypsum will be removed, as provided by 61.207.

	(b) The average radium-226 concentration at the location in the stack from which the phosphogypsum will be removed, as determined pursuant to 61.207, shall not exceed 10 picocuries per gram (pCi/g).

	(c) All phosphogypsum distributed in commerce for use in agriculture by the owner or operator of a phosphogypsum stack shall be accompanied by a certification document which conforms to the requirements of 61.208(a).

	(d) Each distributor, retailer, or reseller who distributes phosphogypsum for use in agriculture shall prepare certification documents which conform to the requirements of (61.208(b).

�(61.205 Distribution and use of phosphogypsum for research and development.



	(a) Phosphogypsum may be lawfully removed from a stack and distributed in commerce for use in research and development activities if each of the following requirements is satisfied:

		(1) The owner or operator of the stack from which the phosphogypsum is removed shall determine annually the average radium-226 concentration at the location in the stack from which the phosphogypsum will be removed, as provided by (61.207.

		(2) All phosphogypsum distributed in commerce by the owner or operator of a phosphogypsum stack, or by a distributor, retailer, or reseller, or purchased by the end-user, shall be accompanied at all times by certification documents which conform to the requirements of (61.208.

	(b) Phosphogypsum may be purchased and used for research and development purposes if the following requirements are satisfied:

		(1) Each quantity of phosphogypsum purchased by a facility for a particular research and development activity shall be accompanied by certification documents which conform to the requirements of (61.208.

		(2) No facility shall purchase or possess more than 700 pounds of phosphogypsum for a particular research and development activity.

		(3) Containers of phosphogypsum used in research and development activities shall be labeled with the following warning:



	Caution: Phosphogypsum Contains Elevated Levels of

     	         Naturally Occurring Radioactivity



		(4) For each research and development activity in which phosphogypsum is used, the facility shall maintain records which conform to the requirements of 61.209(c).

	(c) Phosphogypsum not intended for distribution in commerce may be lawfully removed from a stack by an owner or operator to perform laboratory analyses required by this subpart or any other quality control or quality assurance analyses associated with wet acid phosphorus production.



(61.206 Distribution and use of phosphogypsum for other purposes.



	(a) Phosphogypsum may not be lawfully removed from a stack and distributed or used for any purpose not expressly specified in 61.204 or 61.205 without prior EPA approval.

	(b) A request that EPA approve distribution and/or use of phosphogypsum for any other purpose must be submitted in writing and must contain the following information:

		(1) The name and address of the person(s) making the request.

		(2) A description of the proposed use, including any handling and processing that the phosphogypsum will undergo.

		(3) The location of each facility, including suite and/or building number, street, city, county, state, and zip code, where any use, handling, or processing of the phosphogypsum will take place.

		(4) The mailing address of each facility where any use, handling, or processing of the phosphogypsum will take place, if different from paragraph (b)(3) of this section.

		(5) The quantity of phosphogypsum to be used by each facility.

		(6) The average concentration of radium-226 in the phosphogypsum to be used.

		(7) A description of any measures which will be taken to prevent the uncontrolled release of phosphogypsum into the environment.

		(8) An estimate of the maximum individual risk, risk distribution, and incidence associated with the proposed use, including the ultimate disposition of the phosphogypsum or any product in which the phosphogypsum is incorporated.

		(9) A description of the intended disposition of any unused phosphogypsum.

		(10) Each request shall be signed and dated by a corporate officer or public official in charge of the facility.

	(c) The Assistant Administrator for Air and Radiation may decide to grant a request that EPA approve distribution and/or use of phosphogypsum if he determines that the proposed distribution and/or use is at lease as protective of public health, in both the short term and the long term, as disposal of phosphogypsum in a stack or a mine.

	(d) If the Assistant Administrator for Air and Radiation decides to grant a request that EPA approve distribution and/or use of phosphogypsum for a specified purpose, each of the following requirements shall be satisfied:

		(1) The owner or operator of the stack from which the phosphogypsum is removed shall determine annually the average radium-226 concentration at the location in the stack from which the phosphogypsum will be removed, as provided by 61.207.

		(2) All phosphogypsum distributed in commerce by the owner or operator of a phosphogypsum stack, or by a distributor, retailer, or reseller, or purchased by the end-user, shall be accompanied at all times by certification documents which conform to the requirements 61.208.

		(3) The end-user of the phosphogypsum shall maintain records which conform to the requirements of 61.209(c).

	(e) If the Assistant Administrator for Air and Radiation decides to grant a request that EPA approve distribution and/or use of phosphogypsum for a specified purpose, the Assistant Administrator may decide to impose additional terms or conditions governing such distribution or use. In appropriate circumstances, the Assistant Administrator may also decide to waive or modify the recordkeeping requirements established by 61.209(c).



(61.207 Radium-226 sampling and measurement procedures.



	(a) Before removing phosphogypsum from a stack for distribution to commerce pursuant to (61.204, (61.205, or (61.206, the owner or operator of a phosphogypsum stack shall measure the average radium-226 concentration at the location in the stack from which phosphogypsum will be removed. Measurements shall be performed for each such location prior to the initial distribution in commerce of phosphogypsum removed from that location and at least once during each calendar year while distribution of phosphogypsum removed from the location continues.

	(b) The radium-226 concentration shall be determined in accordance with the analytical procedures described in 40 CFR part 61, appendix B, Method 114.

	(c) Phosphogysum samples shall be taken at regularly spaced intervals across the surface of the location in the phosphogypsum stack from which phosphogypsum will be removed.

	(d) The minimum number of samples considered necessary to determine a representative average radium-226 concentration for the location on the stack to be analyzed shall be calculated as follows:

	(1) Obtain the measured mean and standard deviation of 30 regularly spaced phosphogypsum samples.

	(2) Solve the following equation for the number of samples required to achieve a 95% confidence interval: 



		� EMBED Equation.2  ���(n)s

e (		_____

          x(n



where:



� EMBED Equation.2  ��� is the students -� EMBED Equation.2  ���distribution, 

 s = measured standard deviation of the radium-226 concentration, 

 x = measured mean of the radium-226 concentration, 

 e = allowable error (expressed as a fraction), and 

 n = number of samples.



	See Reference 1 of Method 115 in appendix B to part 61 for a detailed discussion of this statistical technique.

	(3) If the number of samples required is greater than 30, then obtain and analyze the necessary number of additional samples and recalculate the average radium-226 concentration using the combination of the results of the original 30 samples and additional samples. The additional samples shall also be regularly spaced across the surface of the location in the phosphogypsum stack from which phosphogypsum will be removed.



�(61.208 Certification requirements.



	(a)	(1) The owner or operator of a stack from which phosphogypsum will be removed and distributed in commerce pursuant to 61.204, 61.205, or 61.206 shall prepare a certification document for each quantity of phosphogypsum which is distributed in commerce which includes:

			(i) The name and address of the owner or operator;

			(ii) The name and address of the purchaser or recipient of the phosphogypsum;

			(iii) The quantity (in pounds) of phosphogypsum sold or transferred;

			(iv) The date of sale or transfer;

			(v) A description of the intended end-use for the phosphogypsum;

			(vi) The average radium-226 concentration, in pCi/g, of the phosphogypsum, as determined pursuant to §61.207; 		and 

			(vii) The signature of the person who prepared the certification.

		(2) The owner or operator shall retain the certification document for five years from the date of sale or transfer, and shall produce the document for inspection upon request by the Administrator, or his authorized representative. The owner or operator shall also provide a copy of the certification document to the purchaser or recipient.

	(b)	(1) Each distributor, retailer, or reseller who purchases or receives phosphogypsum for subsequent resale or transfer shall prepare a certification document for each quantity of phosphogypsum which is resold or transferred which includes:

			(i) The name and address of the distributor, retailer, or reseller;

			(ii) The name and address of the purchaser or recipient of the phosphogypsum;

			(iii) The quantity (in pounds) of phosphogypsum resold or transferred;

			(iv) The date of resale or transfer;

			(v) A description of the intended end-use for the phosphogypsum;

			(vi) A copy of each certification document which accompanied the phosphogypsum at the time it was purchased 	or received by the distributor, retailer, or reseller; and

			(vii) The signature of the person who prepared the certification.

		(2) The distributor, retailer, or reseller shall retain the certification document for five years from the date of resale or transfer, and shall produce the document for inspection upon request by the Administrator, or his authorized representative. For every resale or transfer of phosphogypsum to a person other than an agricultural end-user, the distributor, retailer, or reseller shall also provide a copy of the certification document to the purchaser or transferee.



�(61.209 Required records.



	(a) Each owner or operator of a phosphogypsum stack must maintain records for each stack documenting the procedure used to verify compliance with the flux standard in 61.202, including all measurements, calculations, and analytical methods on which input parameters were based. The required documentation shall be sufficient to allow an independent auditor to verify the correctness of the determination made concerning compliance of the stack with flux standard.

	(b) Each owner or operator of a phosphogypsum stack must maintain records documenting the procedure used to determine average radium-226 concentration pursuant to (61.207, including all measurements, calculations, and analytical methods on which input parameters were based. The required documentation shall be sufficient to allow an independent auditor to verify the accuracy of the radium-226 concentration.

	(c) Each facility which uses phosphogypsum pursuant to (61.205 or (61.206 shall prepare records which include the following information:

		(1) The name and address of the person in charge of the activity involving use of phosphogypsum.

		(2) A description of each use of phosphogypsum, including the handling and processing that the phosphogypsum underwent.

		(3) The location of each site where each use of phosphogypsum occurred, including the suite and/or building number, street, city, county, state, and zip code.

		(4) The mailing address of each facility using phosphogypsum, if different from paragraph (c)(3) of this section.

		(5) The date of each use of phosphogypsum.

		(6) The quantity of phosphogypsum used.

		(7) The certified average concentration of radium-226 for the phosphogypsum which was used.

		(8) A description of all measures taken to prevent the uncontrolled release of phosphogypsum into the environment.

		(9) A description of the disposition of any unused phosphogypsum.

	(d) These records shall be retained by the facility for at least five years from the date of use of the phosphogypsum and shall be produced for inspection upon request by the Administrator, or his authorized representative.



(61.210 Exemption from the reporting and testing requirements of 40 CFR 61.10.



	All facilities designated under this subpart are exempt from the reporting requirements of 40 CFR 61.10.
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