STATEMENT OF BASIS

Wheelabrator North Broward, Inc.

North Broward Waste-to-Energy Facility

Facility ID No.:  0112120

Broward County

Title V Air Operation Permit Revision

FINAL Permit No.:  0112120-005-AV

The initial Title V Air Operation Permit went final on October 22, 2000, and effective on October 22, 2000.  This Title V Air Operation Permit Revision is issued under the provisions of Chapter 403, Florida Statutes (F.S.), and Florida Administrative Code (F.A.C.) Chapters 62-4, 62-210, 62-213, and 62-214.  The above named permittee is hereby authorized to operate the facility shown on the application and approved drawing(s), plans, and other documents, attached hereto or on file with the permitting authority, in accordance with the terms and conditions of this permit.

The subject of this permit revision is to incorporate changes to 40 CFR 60 Subpart Cb and Eb allowing 15 hours of excess carbon monoxide emissions for specified malfunctions into the Title V permit and to delete the obsolete specific conditions which address plant operation prior to the implementation of 40 CFR 60 Subpart Cb and Eb.  As a result, the following changes are made:

1.)  Section III, Subsection A. is “Reserved”.

2.)  Section III, Subsection B, Specific Condition B.44. is changed, as follows:

FROM:  B.44.
Startup, Shutdown and Malfunction.  The provisions for startup, shutdown, and malfunction are provided in paragraphs (1) and (2).

(1)
The standards under 40 CFR 60, Subpart Cb, as incorporated in Rule 62-204.800(8)(b), F.A.C., apply at all times except during periods of startup, shutdown, or malfunction.  Duration of startup, shutdown, or malfunction periods are limited to 3 hours per occurrence.

(i)
The startup period commences when the affected facility begins the continuous burning of municipal solid waste and does not include any warm-up period when the affected facility is combusting fossil fuel or other nonmunicipal solid waste fuel, and no municipal solid waste is being fed to the combustor. 

(ii)
Continuous burning is the continuous, semicontinuous, or batch feeding of municipal solid waste for purposes of waste disposal, energy production, or providing heat to the combustion system in preparation for waste disposal or energy production.  The use of municipal solid waste solely to provide thermal protection of the grate or hearth during the startup period when municipal solid waste is not being fed to the grate is not considered to be continuous burning. 

[Rule 62-204.800(8)(b), F.A.C.; 40 CFR 60.38b and 40 CFR 60.58b(a)]
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TO:
B.44.a.  Startup, Shutdown and Malfunction.  Except as provided by 40 CFR 60.56b, the standards under 40 CFR 60, Subpart Cb, as incorporated in Rule 62-204.800(8)(b), F.A.C., apply at all times except during periods of startup, shutdown, or malfunction. Duration of startup or shutdown periods are limited to 3 hours per occurrence, except as provided in 40 CFR 60.58b(a)(1)iii.

(i) The startup period commences when the affected facility begins the continuous burning of municipal solid waste and does not include any warm-up period when the affected facility is combusting fossil fuel or other nonmunicipal solid waste fuel, and no municipal solid waste is being fed to the combustor. 

(ii) Continuous burning is the continuous, semicontinuous, or batch feeding of municipal solid waste for purposes of waste disposal, energy production, or providing heat to the combustion system in preparation for waste disposal or energy production.  The use of municipal solid waste solely to provide thermal protection of the grate or hearth during the startup period when municipal solid waste is not being fed to the grate is not considered to be continuous burning. 

[40 CFR 60.38b and 40 CFR 60.58b(a)]

B.44.b.  For the purpose of compliance with the carbon monoxide emission limits in 40 CFR 60.53b(a), if a loss of boiler water level control (e.g., loss of combustion air fan, induced draft fan, combustion grate bar failure) is determined to be a malfunction, the duration of the malfunction period is limited to 15 hours per occurrence.

[40 CFR 60.58b(a)(1)iii]

