Department of
Environmental Protection

Twin Towers Office Building
Jeb Bush 2600 Blair Stone Road David B. Struhs
Governor : Tallahassee, Florida 32399-2400 Secretary

PROPOSED Permit Electronic Posting Courtesy Notification

Pasco County Resource Recovery Facility
Facility ID No.: 1010056
' Pasco County

. Initial Title V Air Operation Permit
PROPOSED Permit No.: 1010056-002-AV

The electronic version of the PROPOSED permit was posted on the Division of Air
Resources Management’s world wide web site for the United States Environmental Protection
Agency (USEPA) Region 4 office’s review on September 5, 2000.

USEPA’s review period ends on the 45th day after the permit posting date. Day 45 is
October 19, 2000. If an objection (veto) is received from USEPA, the permitting authority will
provide a copy of the objection to the applicant.

" Provided an objection is not received from USEPA, the PROPOSED permit will become
a FINAL permit by operation of law on the 55th day after the permit posting date. Day 55 is
October 29, 2000.

“The web site address is http://www?2.dep.state.fl.us/air.

“More Protection, Less Process”

Printed on recycled paper.



Department of
Environmental Protection

Twin Towers Office Building
Jeb Bush 2600 Blair Stone Road David B. Struhs
Governor Tallahassee, Florida 32399-2400 Secretary

September 1, 2000

Mr. John Gallagher

County Administrator

Pasco County

7530 Little Road

New Port Richey, Florida 34654

Re: PROPOSED Title V Permit No.: 1010056-002-AV
‘Pasco County Resource Recovery Facility

Dear Mr. Gallagher:

One copy of the “PROPOSED PERMIT DETERMINATION"” for the Pasco County Resource Recovery
Facility, located at 14230 Hayes Road, Spring Hill, Pasco County, is enclosed. This letter is only a courtesy to
inform you that the DRAFT permit has become a PROPOSED permit. An electronic version of this determination has
been posted on the Division of Air Resources Management’s world wide web site for the United States Environmental
Protection Agency (USEPA) Region 4 office’s review. The web site address is attp://www2.dep.state fl.us/air.

Pursuant to Section 403.0872(6), Florida Statutes, if no objection to the PROPOSED permit is made by the
USEPA within 45 days, the PROPOSED permit will become a FINAL permit no later than 55 days after the date on
which the PROPOSED permit was mailed (posted) to USEPA. If USEPA has an objection to the PROPOSED permit,
the FINAL permit will not be issued until the permitting authority receives written notice that the objection is resolved
or withdrawn. If you have any questions, please contact Tom Cascio at 850/921-9526.

Sincerely,
$» C. H. Fancy, PE.
Chief
Bureau of Air Regulation
CHF/tbc
Enclosures

copy furnished to:

Mr. Bill Thomas, P.E., Southwest District
Mr. Daniel E. Strobridge, Q.E.P., Camp Dresser & McKee, Inc.

UyS. EPA, Region 4 (INTERNET E-mail Memorandum)
’

0](000 cc - v
o

“More Protection, Less Process”

Printed on recycled paper.



PROPOSED PERMIT DETERMINATION

PROPOSED Permit No.: 1010056-002-AV

I. Public Notice.

An “INTENT TO ISSUE TITLE V AIR'-OPERATION PERMIT” to Pasco
County for the Pasco County Resource Recovery Facility, located at 14230 Hayes Road,
Spring Hill, Pasco County was clerked on May 23, 2000. The “PUBLIC NOTICE OF
INTENT TO ISSUE TITLE V AIR OPERATION PERMIT” was published in the Pasco
Times on June 2, 2000. The Revised DRAFT Title V Air Operation Permit was available
for public inspection at the Department of Environmental Protection’s Southwest District
Office in Tampa, and the permitting authority’s office in Tallahassee. Proof of
publication of the “PUBLIC NOTICE OF INTENT TO ISSUE TITLE V AIR
OPERATION PERMIT” was received on June 8, 2000.

II. Public Comments.

Comments were received, and the DRAFT Title V Operation Permit will not be
reissued. The comments were not considered significant enough to reissue the DRAFT
Title V Permit and require another Public Notice. Comments were received from one
respondent: Listed below are responses to the comments in the document. The
comments are not restated.

A. A letter from Camp Dresser & McKee Inc., engineering consuitants retained by Pasco
County, dated July 5, 2000, requesting changes to the Specific Conditions of the
Revised DRAFT Permit. The requested changes, and the corresponding Department
responses, are noted in the table below.

Comment and Permit
| Specific Condition ™ .

Reference -~
| (if appropriate) - . - ..

“Department Response . '+ ..

Remove PSD emissions | The Department agrees to remove PSD emissions limits from the
limits from the DRAFT | PROPOSED DRAFT document that are less stringent than the
permit that are less applicable requirements of 40 CFR 60 Subpart Cb.

stringent than applicable - '
requirements of 40 CFR
60 Subpart Cb.

2 | Revise wording of The Department agrees to make this change.
Facility-wide Condition
8.b., to delete reference
to a vacuum street
sweeper.

3 | Revise wording of the The Department agrees to make this change.
“Status of Compliance '

with Increments of

Progress for Title V




PROPOSED Permit No.:

PROPOSED PERMIT DETERMINATION

1010056-002-AV

Permit” section.

4 | Remove the reference to | The Department agrees to make this change.
NESHAP 40 CFR 61 '
for beryllium in the
permitting note on page
6.

5 | Delete Specific The Department agrees to make this change.
Condition A.3.(b)(2). _

6 | Delete the second The Department acknowledges receipt of this comment, however, the
sentence in Specific condition will remain. '
Condition A.7.1.1. _

7 | In Specific Condition The Department agrees to make this change.
A.7.1.8., change “rolling
30 day” to “calendar
month” average.

8 | In Specific Condition The Department agrees to make this change.
A.7.1.9., change “rolling '

30 day” to “calendar
month” average. :

9 | Revise wording in The Department agrees to make this change. However, we will
Specific Condition require that the permittee provide justification of the functional
A.7.3.0. correlation indicated certified by a P.E. in the State of Florida.

10 | Include Table 1-1 in the | This table will be included in the PROPOSED permit.

DRAFT permit.

11 | Delete Specific The Department agrees to delete this condition since it is less
Condition A.16.2. stringent than Specific Condition A.16.1.

12 | Delete Specific The Department agrees to delete this condition since it is less
Condition A.17.2. stringent than Specific Condition A.17.1. ‘

13 | Delete Specific The Department agrees to delete this condition since it is less
Condition A.20. stringent than Specific Condition A.19.

14 | Delete Specific The Department agrees to delete this condition since it is less
Condition A.22. stringent than Specific Condition A.21.

15 | Include the averaging This request is non-applicable since the specific condition referenced
time in Specific will be deleted. See response to comment #16, below.
Condition A.30.

16 | Delete Specific The Department agrees to delete this condition since it is less
Condition A.30. stringent than Specific Condition A.29.

17 |} Delete Specific The Department agrees to delete this condition since it is less
Condition A.31.2. stringent than Specific Condition A.31.1.

18 | Revise wording in The Department disagrees with making this change. We believe the
Specific Condition condition is consistent with the Emission Guideline.

A.36.
19 | Add frequency of

The Department agrees to make this change. Also, a permitting note




PROPOSED PERMIT DETERMINATION

PROPOSED Permit No.: 1010056-002-AV

testing to Specific
Conditions A.23., A.24.,

1 A.25., A.47., and A.48.

has been added after Specific Condition A.55. clarifying that
frequency of testing information is indicated within each appropriate
condition.

20

Revise wording in

Specific Condition

A.55(a) to add
“reserved” for the
missing sections.

| The Department agrees to make this change.

21

Revise wording in
Specific Condition
A.70. to remove the
quarterly reporting
requirement.

The Department agrees to make this change.

22

Include Figure 1 in the
permit.

Figure 1 will be included in the PROPOSED permit.

23

Delete Specific
Condition A.83.

The Department agrees to delete this Specific Condition.

24

Revise wording in
Specific Condition
A.84(b).

The Department disagrees with this request, since it would require a
rule change. However, we have proposed that this change be
implemented in the next rule-making activity.

25

Revise wording in
Specific Condition
A.85(b)., and (¢).

The Department agrees to make this change.

26

Add “reserved” for the
missing sections of
Specific Condition
B.8(a).

The Department agrees to make this change.

27

Remove the annual
testing requirement

| from Specific Condition

C3.

The Department disagrees with this change. The condition is written
in accordance with the SIP.

28

Add “reserved” for the
missing sections of
Specific Condition
C.8(a).

The Department agrees to make this change.

29

Revise wording to
Subsection D, Brief
Description.

The Department agrees to make this change.

30

Revise wording to
Specific Condition D.5.

‘The Department agrees to make this change.

31

Replace the word
“methane” with
“NMOC” in the heading

The Department agrees to replace the word “emissions” with
“generation rate”.




PROPOSED PERMIT .DETERMINATION

PROPOSED Permit No.: 1010056-002-AV

of Specific Condition -
D.11.

32

Move Specific
Condition D.13. to the
Reporting Requirements
section.

The Department agrees to make this change.

33

Revise wording to
Specific Condition
D.14. and separate out
reporting from
recordkeeping.

The Department agrees to make this change.

34

Revise wording in
Specific Condition
D.16.

The Department agrees to make this change.

35

Delete Specific
Condition D.18.,
because it only applies
to a controlled landfill.

The Department agrees to make this change.

36

Delete Specific
Condition D.20.,
because the permit does
not contain any

requirements testing for

the landfill.

The Department agrees to make this change.

37

Delete Specific
Conditions D.18. and
D.20., and revise the
wording of Specific
Condition D.5.

The Department agrees to make these changes.

A.1. Departmental review of initial comments identified other wording changes needed
to certain specific conditions to correct inadvertent and/or typographical errors. The
Specific Conditions affected are as follows: '

A.7.1.3.: The list of unauthorized fuels was expanded to include biomedical and
biological wastes. Also, a permitting note was added referencing Attachment -
BW, Biomedical Waste Definitions.

A.11.(4).: The phrase “paragraphs (1) and (2)” was changed to “paragraph (1)”.
B4.: The reference to PM-RACT was deleted.

Ca4.: The reference to PM-RACT was deleted.

D.10.: The word “II” was changed to “2”.
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B. Documents on file with the permitting authority:

- A letter from Camp Dressér & McKee Inc., dated July 5, 2000, offering comments on
the Revised DRAFT Title V permit.

III. Conclusion.

The permitting authority hereby issues the PROPOSED Permit, No. 1010056-
002-AV, with the changes reflected above. '



STATEMENT OF BASIS

Title V PROPOSED Permit No.: 1010056-002-AV
Pasco County
Pasco County Resource Recovery Facility
Pasco County

This Title V air operation permit is issued under the provisions of Chapter 403, Florida Statutes
(F.S.), and Florida Administrative Code (F.A.C.) Chapters 62-4, 62-210, and 62-213. The above
named permittee is hereby authorized to perform the work or operate the facility shown on the
application and approved drawing(s), plans, and other documents, attached hereto or on file with
the permitting authority, in accordance with the terms and conditions of this permit.

The Pasco County Resource Recovery Facility began commercial operation in May 1991. It has
a nameplate rating of 1050 tons per day of non-recycled waste at 4800 Btu/lIb, which it converts
" into saleable energy. It produces up to 31.2 MW of electricity daily that are sold to the Florida
Power Corporation. The facility is owned by Pasco County, and was designed and built, and is
currently operated by, Ogden-Martin Systems of Pasco, Inc. (OMSP). OMSP has a twenty-year
operating contract with the County.

The facility’s mass burn combustion system incorporates the technology of German-based
Martin GmbH. Waste is combusted at furnace temperatures exceeding 1800 degrees Fahrenheit,
and reduced to an inert ash residue that is approximately ten percent of the original volume. The
ash is disposed of in an adjacent County landfill.

The three Municipal Waste Combustor (MWC) emissions units are identical in configuration,
and the three provide steam to a single Turbine-Generator, which has a nameplate rating of 29
MW. Emissions are controlled by a dry scrubber, fabric filter baghouse, and a carbon injector
system. Using lime slurry, the scrubber neutralizes any acid-forming gases, such as sulfur oxides
and hydrogen chloride. The baghouse captures the particulate matter. Captured dry ash particles
fall into hoppers and are transported by an enclosed conveyor system to the bottom ash
discharger where they are wetted to prevent dust, and mixed with the bottom ash. Activated
carbon is injected into the flue gases prior to the baghouse to control mercury emissions. Stack
height is 275 feet. The emissions units’ initial startup date was in January of 1991.

These emissions units are regulated under NSPS - 40 CFR 60, Subpart Cb, Emission Guidelines
and Compliance Times for Large Municipal Waste Combustors That Are Constructed on or

* Before September 20, 1994, adopted and incorporated by reference in Rule 62-204.800(7),
F.A.C.; Rule 212.400(5), F.A.C., Prevention of Significant Deterioration (PSD)(Permit No. PSD-
F1.-127); Rule 62-212.400(6), F.A.C., Best Available Control Technology (BACT)
Determination. Also please note that certain conditions in 40 CFR 60, Subpart Cb, are detailed
in 40 CFR 60, Subpart Eb. :

Based on the initial Title V permit application received June 17, 1996, this facility is a major
source of hazardous air pollutants (HAPS).



Pasco County has installed a selective noncatalytic reduction system (SNCR) employing the use
of aqueous ammonia (19%) for the control of NOx emissions. The system basically includes an
aqueous ammonia storage tank, associated piping, injection lances at the boilers and controls.
The construction was completed in March 2000. Performance tests of the SNCR system and the
new continuous emissions monitoring (CEM) system, which included a CEM for NOx,
commenced on April 3, 2000. -

Status of Compliance with Increments of Progress for Title V Permit.

The following provides a status of Pasco County’s progress toward compliance with 40 CFR 60,
Subpart Cb, emission requirements for its MWCs.

Pasco County has executed an amendment to its Service Agreement with the facility operator,
Ogden Martin Systems of Pasco Inc. (OMSP), to design, install and demonstration test this
equipment. OMSP is currently in the process of designing the improvements and has placed
purchase orders for several of the major equipment pieces. Construction began in early Fall
1999.

Pasco County has evaluated its MWCs and the alternatives for complying with the 40 CFR 60,
Subpart Cb, requirements. The County has determined that its continuous emissions monitoring
system (CEMS) requires upgrading and will add SO, and O, inlet monitors and NO, outlet
monitors, sampling lines and computer hardware and software. A nitrogen oxides (NO,) control
system will also be added.

OMSP was contractually obligated to complete the project, including demonstration testing by
April 19, 2000. The results of the testing demonstrated compliance with PSD-FL-127, Specific
Condition No. 4; Rule 62-296, and Rule 62-204.800, F.A.C. '




Pasco County
Pasco County Resource Recovery Facility

Facility ID No.: 1010056
Pasco County

_Initial Title V Air Operation Permit
PROPOSED Permit No.: 1010056-002-AV

Permitting Authority:
State of Florida
Department of Environmental Protection
Division of Air Resources Management
Bureau of Air Regulation
Title V Section

Mail Station #5505
2600 Blair Stone Road
Tallahassee, Florida 32399-2400

Telephone: 850/488-1344
Fax: 850/922-6979

Compliance Authority:
Department of Environmental Protection
Southwest District

3804 Coconut Palm Drive
Tampa, Florida 33619-8218

Telephone: 813/744-6100
Fax: 813/744-6458



 Department of
Environmental Protection

Twin Towers Office Building

Jeb Bush 2600 Blair Stone Road David B. Struhs
Governor Tallahassee, Florida 32399-2400 Secretary
Permittee: PROPOSED Permit No.: 1010056-002-AV
Pasco County Facility ID No.: 1010056
7536 State Street SIC Nos.: 49,4911
New Port Richey, Florida 33553 Project: Initial Title V Air Operation Permit

This permit is for the operation of the Pasco County Resource Recovery Facility. This facility is
located at 14230 Hayes Road, Spring Hill, Pasco County; UTM Coordinates: Zone 17, 422.3 km
East and 2952.9 km North; Latitude: 28° 22’ 05” North and Longitude: 82° 33’ 30” West.

STATEMENT OF BASIS: This Title V air operation permit is issued under the provisions of
Chapter 403, Florida Statutes (F.S.), and Florida Administrative Code (F.A.C.) Chapters 62-4,
62-210, and 62-213. The above named permittee is hereby authorized to perform the work or
operate the facility shown on the application and approved drawing(s), plans, and other
documents, attached hereto or on file with the permitting authority, in accordance with the terms
and conditions of this permit.

Referenced attachments made a part of this permit:

Appendix I-1, List of Insignificant Emissions Units and/or Activities -
Appendix U-1, List of Unregulated Emissions Units and/or Activities
Appendix TV-3, TITLE V CONDITIONS (version dated 4/30/99)

Appendix SS-1, STACK SAMPLING FACILITIES (version dated 10/07/96)
Appendix 40 CFR 60, Subpart A - General Provisions (dated 07/23/97)

Effective Date:
Renewal Application Due Date:
Expiration Date:

Howard L. Rhodes, Director,
Division of Air Resources
Management

HLR/sms/tbc

“More Protection, Less Process”

Printed on recycled paper.
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Pasco County PROPOSED Permit No.: 1010056-002-AV
Pasco County Resource Recovery Facility

Section I. Facility Information.
Subsection A. Facility Description.

The Pasco County Resource Recovery Facility began commercial operation in May 1991. Ithasa
nameplate rating of 1050 tons per day of non-recycled waste at 4800 Btu/Ib, which'it converts into
saleable energy. It produces up to 31.2 MW of electricity daily that are sold to the Florida Power
Corporation. The facility is owned by Pasco County, and was designed and built, and is currently
operated by, Ogden-Martin Systems of Pasco, Inc. (OMSP). OMSP has a twenty-year operating contract
with the County.

The facility’s mass burn combustion system incorporates the technology of German-based Martin
GmbH. Waste is combusted at furnace temperatures exceeding 1800 degrees Fahrenheit, and reduced to
an inert ash residue that is approximately ten percent of the original volume. The ash is disposed of in an
adjacent County landfill.

Based on the initial Title V permit application recelved June 17, 1996, this facility is a major source of
hazardous air pollutants (HAPs).

Subsection B. Summary of Emissions Unit ID Nos. and Brief Descriptions.

E.U. ID |
‘No..". | Brief Descrlptlon

-001 Municipal Waste Combustlon Umt No l

-002 Municipal Waste Combustion Unit No. 2

-003 Municipal Waste Combustion Unit No. 3

-004 Storage Silo for Activated Carbon

-005 Leachate Treatment Facility

-007 Fugitive Landfill Gas Emissions

-008 Ash Building and Handling System

Unregulated Emlssmns Umt
No. Bri_e‘f _ escription

-006 Cooling Tower

Please r"eference the Permit No., Facility ID No., and appropriate Emissions Unit(s) ID No(s). on all
correspondence, test report submittals, applications, etc.

Subsection C. Relevant Documents.

The documents listed below are not a part of this permit; however, they are specifically related to this permitting
action.

These documents are provided to the permittee for information purposes only:
Table 1-1, Summary of Air Pollutant Standards and Terms

Table 2-1, Summary of Compliance Requirements

Appendix A-1, Abbreviations, Acronyms, Citations, and Identification Numbers
Appendix H-1, Permit History/ID Number Changes




Pasco County  PROPOSED Permit No.: 1010056-002-AV
Pasco County Resource Recovery Facility

These documents are on file with permitting authority:

Initial Title V Permit Application received June 17, 1996.

Memorandum from Mr. Daniel E. Strobridge received August 16, 1999.

DRAFT Title V Permit clerked September 30, 1999.

Letter from Camp Dresser & McKee, Inc., received December 15, 1999 offering comments on the DRAFT Title V
Permit.

E-mail memorandum from Mr. Daniel E. Strobridge received April 10, 2000.

Letter from Camp Dresser & McKee, Inc., dated March 31, 2000 and received on April 3, 2000, requesting a
change to a specific condition of the DRAFT Title V Permit.

Revised DRAFT Title V Permit clerked May 23, 2000.

Letter from Camp Dresser & McKee, Inc., dated July 5, 2000 and received on July 10, 2000, requesting
changes to specific conditions of the Revised DRAFT Title V Permit.




Pasco County : PROPOSED Permit No.: 1010056-002-AV
Pasco County Resource Recovery Facility

Section II. Facility-wide Conditions.
The following Conditions apply facility-wide:

1. APPENDIX TV-3, TITLE V CONDITIONS, is a part of this permit.

{Permitting note: APPENDIX TV-3, TITLE V CONDITIONS, is distributed to the permittee only.
Other persons requesting copies of these conditions shall be provided a copy when requested or
otherwise appropriate.}

2. General Pollutant Emission Limiting Standards. Objectionable Odor Prohibited. No person
shall cause, suffer, allow, or permit the discharge of air pollutants which cause or contribute to an
objectionable odor.

[Rule 62-296.320(2), F.A.C.; and PSD-FL-127, Specific Condition No..10]

3. General Particulate Emission Limiting Standards. General Visible Emissions Standard. Except
for emissions units that are subject to a particulate matter or opacity limit set forth or established by rule
and reflected by conditions in this permit, no person shall cause, let, permit, suffer or allow to be
discharged into the atmosphere the emissions of air pollutants from any activity, the density of which is
equal to or greater than that designated as Number 1 on the Ringelmann Chart (20 percent opacity). EPA
Method 9 is the method of compliance pursuant to Chapter 62-297, F.A.C.

[Rules 62-296.320(4)(b)1. & 4., F.A.C.]

4. Prevention of Accidental Releases (Section 112(r) of CAA).

a. The permittee shall submit its Risk Management Plan (RMP) to the Chemical Emergency
Preparedness and Prevention Office (CEPPO) RMP Reporting Center when, and if, such requirement
becomes applicable ; and '

b. The permittee shall submit to the permitting authority Title V certification forms or a compllance
schedule in accordance with Rule 62-213.440(2), F.A.C.

[40 CFR 68]

{Permitting Note: The permittee has stated that the facility doés not store any 112(r) materlals matrials
in regulated quantities.}

S. Unregulated Emissions Units and/or Activities. Appendix U-1, List of Unregulated Emissions
Units and/or Activities, is a part of this permit.
[Rule 62-213.440(1), F.A.C]

6. Insignificant Units and/or Activities. Appendix I-1, List of Insignificant Emissions Units and/or
Activities, is a part of this permit.
[Rules 62-213.440(1), 62-213.430(6) and 62-4.040(1)(b), F.A.C.]

7. General Pollutant Emission Limiting Standards. Volatile Organic Compounds Emissions or
Organic Solvents Emissions. The permittee shall allow no person to store, pump, handle, process, load,
unload or use in any process or installation, volatile organic compounds or organic solvents without
applying known and existing vapor emission control devices or systems deemed necessary and ordered
by the Department.

{Permitting Note: The Department has not ordered any control devices or systems under the referenced
rule}.

[Rule 62-296.320(1)(a), F.A.C.]
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Pasco County Resource Recovery Facility

8. Not federally enforceable. Reasonable Precautions. The following techniques shall be used to
control unconfined particulate matter emissions on an as needed basis:

a. Roads, parking areas, and yards are paved.

“b. The unpaved areas of the facility are maintained and either sodded or landscaped.

c. Hoods, fans, filters, or similar equipment are used to contain, capture, and/or vent particulate matter.
d. The conveyor systems of the facility are enclosed.

[Rule 62-296.320(4)(c)2., F.A.C.; PSD-FL-127, Specific Condition No. 11; and Title V Permit
Application]

9. When appropriate, any recording, monitoring, or reporting requirements that are time-specific
shall be in accordance with the effective date of the permit, which defines day one.
[Rule 62-213.440, F. A.C.]

10. The permittee shall submit all compliance related notifications and reports required of this
permit to the Department’s Southwest District office: :
Department of Environmental Protection
Southwest District’
3804 Coconut Palm Drive
Tampa, Florida 33619-8218
Telephone: 813/744-6100
Fax: 813/744-6084

11. Any reports, data, notifications, certifications, and requests required to be sent to the United
States Environmental Protection Agency, Region 4; should be sent to:

United States Environmental Protection Agency

' Region 4
Air, Pesticides & Toxics Management Division
Air & EPCRA Enforcement Branch, Air Enforcement Section
61 Forsyth Street
Atlanta, Georgia 30303
Telephone: 404/562-9155
Fax: 404/562-9163 or 404/562-9164



Pasco County PROPOSED Permit No.: 1010056-002-AV
Pasco County Resource Recovery Facility '

Section 11I. Emissions Unit(s) and Conditions.

Subsection A. This section addresses the following emissions units.

E.U.
ID No. | Brief Description

-001 Municipal Waste Combustion Unit No. 1

-002 Municipal Waste Combustion Unit No. 2

-003 Municipal Waste Combustion Unit No. 3

These three Municipal Waste Combustor (MWC) emissions units are identical in configuration, and each
has a nameplate rating of 350 tons per day of waste at 4,800 Btu/lb. Emissions are controlled by a spray
dryer absorber (SDA), fabric filter baghouse, and a carbon injector system. Using lime slurry, the
scrubber neutralizes acid-forming gases, such as sulfur oxides and hydrogen chloride. The baghouse
captures the particulate matter. Captured dry ash particles fall into hoppers and are transported by an
enclosed conveyor system to the combined ash discharger where they are wetted to prevent dust, and
mixed with the bottom ash. Activated carbon is injected into the flue gases prior to the baghouse to
control mercury emissions. Stack height is 275 feet. The emissions units’ initial startup date was in
January of 1991.

Pasco County has installed a selective noncatalytic reduction system (SNCR) employing the use of
aqueous ammonia (19%) for the control of NOx emissions. The system basically includes an aqueous
ammonia storage tank, associated piping, injection lances at the boilers and controls. The construction
was completed in March 2000. Performance tests of the SNCR system and the new continuous
emissions monitoring (CEM) system, which included a CEM for NOx, commenced on April 3, 2000.

{Permitting note(s): These emissions units are regulated under NSPS - 40 CFR 60, Subpart Cb,
Emission Guidelines and Compliance Times for Large Municipal Waste Combustors That Are
Constructed on or Before September 20, 1994, adopted and incorporated by reference, subject to
provisions, in Rule 62-204.800(8)(b), F.A.C.; NSPS - 40 CFR 60, Subpart E, Standards of Performance
for Incinerators, adopted and incorporated by reference in Rule 62-204.800(7), F.A.C.; Rule 62-
212.400(5), F.A.C., Prevention of Significant Deterioration (PSD); Rule 62-212.400(6), F.A.C., Best
Available Control Technology (BACT); Rule 62-296.401(2), F.A.C., Incinerators; Rule 62-296.416,
F.A.C., Waste-to-Energy Facilities. Also please note that certain conditions in 40 CFR 60, Subpart Cb,
are detailed in 40 CFR 60, Subpart Eb.}

~ Status of Compliance with Increments of Progress for Title V Permit.

The following provides a status of Pasco County’s progress toward compliance with 40 CFR 60,
Subpart Cb, emission requirements for its MWCs.

Pasco County has executed an amendment to its Service Agreement with the facility operator, Ogden
Martin Systems of Pasco Inc. (OMSP), to design, install and demonstration test this equipment. OMSP
is currently in the process of designing the improvements and has placed purchase orders for several of
the major equipment pieces. Construction began in early Fall 1999.



Pasco County PROPOSED Permit No.: 1010056-002-AV
Pasco County Resource Recovery Facility

Pasco County has evaluated its MWCs and the alternatives for complying with the 40 CFR 60, Subpart
Cb, requirements. The County has determined that its continuous emissions monitoring system (CEMS)
requires upgrading and will add SO, and O, inlet monitors and NO, outlet monitors, sampling lines and
computer hardware and software. A nitrogen oxides (NO,) control system will also be added.

OMSP was contractually obligated to complete the project, including demonstration testing by April 19,
2000. The results of the testing demonstrated compliance with PSD-FL-127, Specific Condition No. 4;
Rule 62-296, and Rule 62-204.800, F.A.C.

The following conditions apply to the emissions unit(s) listed above:
General.
A.1.0. Definitions.

A.1.1. For the purposes of Rule 62-204.800(8), F.A.C., the definitions contained in the various )
provisions of 40 CFR 60, shall apply except that the term "Administrator" when used in 40 CFR 60, shall
mean the Secretary or the Secretary's designee.

[40 CFR 60.2; Rule 62-204.800(8)(a), F.A.C]

A.1.2. For the purposes of Rule 62-204.800(7), F.A.C., the definitions contained in the various
provisions of 40 CFR 60, shall apply except that the term "Administrator" when used in 40 CFR 60, shall
mean the Secretary or the Secretary's designee. '

[40 CFR 60.2; Rule 62-204.800(7)(a), F.A.C.]

A.2.0. Compliance with Standards.

A.2.1. Credible Evidence. For the purpose of submitting compliance certifications or establishing
whether or not a person has violated or is in violation of any standard in 40 CFR 60, nothing in 40 CFR
60 shall preclude the use, including the exclusive use, of any credible evidence or information, relevant
to whether a source would have been in compliance with applicable requirements if the appropriate
performance or compliance test or procedure had been performed.

[40 CFR 60.11(g)] '

A.2.2. Circumvention. No owner or operator subject to the provisions of 40 CFR 60 shall build, erect,
install, or use any article, machine, equipment or process, the use of which conceals an emission which
would otherwise constitute a violation of an applicable standard. Such concealment includes, but is not
limited to, the use of gaseous diluents to achieve compliance with an opacity standard or with a standard
which is based on the concentration of a pollutant in the gases discharged to the atmosphere.

[40 CFR 60.12] '

Essential Potential to Emit (PTE) Parameters -

A.3. Capacity.
(a) Each of the three MWC’s have a design rated capacity of 350 tons of municipal solid waste (MSW)

per day, and 140 MMBtu heat input per hour, assuming a heating value of 4,800 Btu per pound. The
maximum individual MWC’s throughput shall not exceed 114% of either the design MSW charging rate
of 350 TPD or the heat input of 140 MMBtu/hr. This is equivalent to a limit of 103,850 pounds of
steam per hour (four-hour average) per emissions unit.
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(b) The procedures specified in paragraph (1) shall be used for calculating municipal waste combustor
unit capacity as defined under 40 CFR 60.51b.
(1) For municipal waste combustor units capable of combusting municipal solid waste continuously for a
24-hour period, municipal waste combustor unit capacity shall be calculated based on 24 hours of
operation at the maximum charging rate. The maximum charging rate shall be determined as specified in
paragraphs (i) and (ii) as applicable.
(i) For combustors that are designed based on heat capacity, the maximum charging rate shall be
calculated based on the maximum design heat input capacity of the unit and a heating value of
12,800 kilojoules per kilogram for combustors firing refuse-derived fuel and a heating value of
10,500 kilojoules per kilogram for combustors firing mun1c1pal solid waste that is not refuse-derived
fuel.
(i) For combustors that are not designed based on heat capacity, the maximum charging rate shall be
the maximum design charging rate.
[40 CFR 60.31b and 40 CFR 60.58b(j); Rules 62-4.160(2) and 62-210. 200(PTE), F.A.C.; and PSD-FL-
127, Specific Condition No. 1]

A.4. Emissions Unit Operating Rate Limitation After Testing. See Specific Condition A.51.
[Rule 62-297.310(2), F.A.C.]

A.5. Maximum Demonstrated Municipal Waste Combustor Unit Load. Maximum demonstrated
municipal waste combustor unit load means the highest 4-hour arithmetic average municipal waste
combustor unit load achieved during four consecutive hours during the most recent dioxin/furan
performance test demonstrating compliance with the applicable limit for municipal waste combustor
organics specified in Specific Condition A.28.

[40 CFR 60.34b(b) and 40 CFR 60.51b]

A.6. Maximum Demonstrated Particulate Matter Control Device Temperature. Maximum
demonstrated particulate matter control device temperature means the highest 4-hour arithmetic average
flue gas temperature measured at the particulate matter control device inlet during four consecutive hours
during the most recent dioxin/furan performance test demonstrating compliance with the applicable limit
for municipal waste combustor organics specified in Specific Condition A.28.

[40 CFR 60.34b(b) and 40 CFR 60.51b]

A.7.0.0. Methods of Operation.

A.7.1.0. Fuels.

A.7.1.1. Except as provided below, the primary fuel allowed to be burned in the MWCs is municipal
solid waste. Other wastes shall not be burned without written prior approval from the Department.

A.7.1.2. The primary fuel for the facility is municipal solid waste (MSW), including the items and
materials that fit within the definition of MSW contained in either 40 CFR 60.51b or Section 403.706(5),
F.S.

A.7.1.3. Unauthorized Fuel. Subject to the limitations contained in this permit, the authorized
fuels for the facility also include the other solid wastes that are not MSW which are described in
Specific Conditions A.7.1.7., A.7.1.8., and A.7.1.9., below. However, the facility
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(a) shall not burn:
(1) those materials that are prohibited by state or federal law;
(2) those materials that are prohibited by this permit;
(3) lead acid batteries;
(4) hazardous waste;
(5) nuclear waste; -
(6) radioactive waste;
(7) sewage sludge;
(8) explosives;
(9) beryllium-containing waste, as deﬁned in 40 CFR 61, Subpart C.
(b) and shall not knowingly burn:
(1) untreated biomedical waste from biomedical waste generators regulated pursuant to
Chapter 64E-16, F.A.C., and from other similar generators (or sources);
(2) segregated loads of biological waste.

{Pemitting Note: See the attached Appendix BW, Biomedical Waste Definitions, for definitions of what
constitutes biomedical waste.}

[Rules 62-4.070(3), 62-213.410, and 62-213.440, F.A.C ]

A.7.1.4. The fuel may be received either as a mixture or as a single-item stream (segregated load) of
discarded materials. If the facility intends to use an authorized fuel that is segregated non-MSW
material, the fuel shall be either:

(a) well mixed with MSW in the refuse pit; or
(b) alternately charged with MSW in the hopper.

A.7.1.5. The facility operator shall prepare and maintain records concerning the description and
quantities of all segregated loads of non-MSW material which are received and used as fuel at the
facility, and subject to a percentage weight limitation, below (Specific Conditions A.7.1.8. and A.7.1.9.).
For the purposes of this permit, a segregated load is defined to mean a container or truck that is almost
completely or exclusively filled with a single item or homogeneous composition of waste material, as
determined by visual observation.

A.7.1.6. To ensure that the facility’s fuel does not adversely affect the facility’s combustion process or
emissions, the facility operator shall:

(a) comply with good combustion operating practices in accordance with 40 CFR 60.53b;

(b) install, operate and maintain continuous emissions monitors (CEMS) for oxygen, carbon
monoxide, sulfur dioxide, oxides of nitrogen and temperature in accordance with 40 CFR
60.58b; and

(¢) record and maintain the CEMS data in accordance with 40 CFR 60.59b.

These steps shall be used to ensure and verify continuous compliance with the emissions
limitations in this permit.

Natural or propane gas may be used as fuel during warm-up, startup, shutdown, and malfunction
periods, and at other times when necessary and consistent with good combustion practices.
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A.7.1.7. Subject to the conditions and limitations contained in this permit, the following other solid
waste may be used as fuel at the facility:

(a) Confidential, proprietary or special documents (including but not limited to business records,
lottery tickets, event tickets, coupons and microfilm);

(b) Contraband which is being destroyed at the request of appropriately authorized local, state or
federal governmental agencies, provided that such material is not an explosive, a propellant, a
hazardous waste, or otherwise prohibited at the facility. For the purposes of this section,
contraband includes but is not limited to drugs, narcotics, fruits, vegetables, plants,

~ counterfeit money, and counterfeit consumer goods;

(c) Wood pallets, clean wood, and land clearing debris;

(d) Packaging materials and containers;

(e) Clothing, natural and synthetic fibers, fabric remnants, and similar debris, including but not
limited to aprons and gloves; or ‘

(f) Rugs, carpets, and floor coverings, but not asbestos-containing materials or polyethylene or
polyurethane vinyl floor coverings.

A.7.1.8. Subject to the conditions and limitations contained in this permit, waste tires may be used as
fuel at the facility. The total quantity of waste tires received as segregated loads and burned at the
facility shall not exceed 3%, by weight, of the facility's total fuel. Compliance with this limitation shall
be determined by using a calendar month average.

A.7.1.9. Subject to the conditions and limitations contained in this permit, the following other solid
waste materials may be used as fuel at the facility (i.e., the following are authorized fuels that are non-
MSW material). The total quantity of the following non-MSW material received as segregated loads and
burned at the facility shall not exceed 5%, by weight, of the facility’s total fuel. Compliance with this
limitation shall be determined by using a calendar month average.

(a) Construction and demolition debris.

(b) Oil spill debris from aquatic, coastal, estuarine or river environments. Such items or
materials include but are not limited to rags, wipes, and absorbents.

(c) Ttems suitable for human, plant or domesticated animal use, consumption or application
where the item’s shelf-life has expired or the generator wishes to remove the items from the
market. Such items or materials include but are not limited to off-specification or expired
consumer products, pharmaceuticals, medications, health and personal care products,
cosmetics, foodstuffs, nutritional supplements, returned goods, and controlled substances.

(d) Consumer-packaged products intended for human or domesticated animal use or application
but not consumption. Such items or materials include but are not limited to carpet cleaners,

~ household or bathroom cleaners, polishes, waxes and detergents.

(e¢) Waste materials that:

(i) are generated in the manufacture of items in categories (¢) or (d), above and are
functionally or commercially useless (expired, rejected or spent); or ’

(ii) are not yet formed or packaged for commercial distribution. Such items or materials must
be substantially similar to other items or materials routinely found in MSW.

(f) Waste materials that contain oil from:

(i) the routine cleanup of industrial or commercial establishments and machinery; or
(ii) spills of virgin or used petroleum products. Such items or materials include but are not
limited to rags, wipes, and absorbents. ’

(g) Used oil and used oil filters. Used oil containing a PCB concentration equal or greater than
50 ppm shall not be burned, pursuant to the limitations of 40 CFR 761.20(e).
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(h) Waste materials generated by manufacturing, industfial or agricultural activities, provided
that these items or materials are substantially similar to items or materials that are found
routinely in MSW, subject to prior approval of the Department.

Waste materials specifically authorized above do not require prior Department approval before
combustion. :
[Rules 62-4.070(3) and 62-213.440, F.A.C.]

A.7.2.0. Auxiliary Fuel Burners. These devices shall be used at startup during the introduction of
MSW fuel until design furnace gas temperature is achieved. They shall be fueled only with natural or
propane gas. If the annual capacity value for natural or propane gas is greater than 10%, as
determined by 40 CFR 60.43b(d), the facility shall be subject to 40 CFR 60.44b, Standards for
Nitrogen Oxides.

[Rules 62-4.160(2), 62-210.200, and 62-213.440(1), F.A.C.; and, PSD-FL-127, Specific Condition No. 1]

A.7.3.0. Operating Temperature. The furnace mean temperature at the fully mixed zones of the
combustors shall not be less than 1,800 degrees F. '

{Permitting note: The applicant has indicated that a furnace roof temperature thermocouple reading of at least
1,167 degrees F (four hour average) corresponds to a furnace temperature of 1,800 degrees F. Prior to using the
roof temperature as a surrogate for the furnace temperature, the applicant shall submit a correlation report certified
by a Florida professional engineer to the Department for review and approval.}

[Rules 62-4.070(3), 62-4.160(2), 62-210.200, and 62-213.440(1), F.A.C.; and, PSD-FL-127, Specific
Condition No. 1]

A.8. Hours of Operation. These emissions units are allowed to operate continuously, i.e., 8,760

hours/year.
[Rule 62-210.200(PTE), F.A.C.; PSD-FL-127, Specific Condition No. 1]

Operating Practices and Requirements

A9. No owneror operator of an affected facility shall cause such facility to operate at a load level
greater than 110 percent of the maximum demonstrated municipal waste combustor unit load as defined
in.Specific Condition A.S., except as specified below. The averaging time is specified in Specific
Condition A.11. :

(1) During the annual dioxin/furan performance test and the two weeks preceding the annual
dioxin/furan performance test, no municipal waste combustor unit load limit is applicable.

(2) The municipal waste combustor unit load limit may be waived in accordance with permission
granted by the Administrator or delegated State regulatory authority for the purpose of evaluating system
performance, testing new technology or control technologies, diagnostic testing, or related activities for
the purpose of improving facility performance or advancing the state-of-the-art for controlling facility
emissions. '

[40 CFR 60.34b(b) and 40 CFR 60.53b(b)]

A.10. No owner or operator of an affected facility shall cause such facility to operate at a temperature,
measured at the particulate matter control device inlet, exceeding 17°C above the maximum
demonstrated particulate matter control device temperature as defined in Specific Condition A.6., except
as specified below. The averaging time is specified in Specific Condition A.11. These requirements
apply to each particulate matter control device utilized at the affected facility.
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(1) During the annual dioxin/furan performance test and the two weeks preceding the annual
dioxin/furan performance test, no particulate matter control device temperature limitations are
applicable. ‘ :

(2) The particulate matter control device temperature limits may be waived in accordance with
permission granted by the Administrator or delegated State regulatory authority for the purpose of
evaluating system performance, testing new technology or control technologies, diagnostic testing, or
related activities for the purpose of improving facility performance or advancing the state- of—the art for
controlling facility emissions. '

[40 CFR 60.34b(b) and 40 CFR 60.53b(c)]

A.11. Operating Requirements. The procedures specified in paragraphs (1) through (12) shall be used
for determining compliance with the operating requirements under 40 CFR 60.53b.
(1) Compliance with the carbon monoxide emission limits in 40 CFR 60.53b(a) shall be determined
using a 4-hour block arithmetic average.
(2) Reserved.
(3) The owner or operator of an affected fac111ty shall install, calibrate, maintain, and operate a
continuous emission monitoring system for measuring carbon monoxide at the combustor outlet
and record the output of the system and shall follow the procedures and methods specified in
paragraphs(i) through(iii).
(i) The continuous emission monitoring system shall be operated according to Performance
Specification 4A in appendix B of 40 CFR 60.
(ii) During each relative accuracy test run of the continuous emission monitoring system required by
Performance Specification 4A in appendix B of 40 CFR 60, carbon monoxide and oxygen (or carbon
dioxide) data shall be collected concurrently (or within a 30- to 60-minute period) by both the
continuous emission monitors and the test methods specified in paragraphs (A) and(B).
(A) For carbon monoxide, EPA Reference Method 10, 10A, or 10B shall be used.
(B) For oxygen (or carbon dioxide), EPA Reference Method 3, 3A, or 3B, as applicable shall be
used.
(iii) The span value of the continuous emission monitoring system shall be 125 percent of the
maximum estimated hourly potential carbon monoxide emissions of the municipal waste combustor
unit.
(4) The 4-hour block and 24-hour daily arithmetic averages specified in paragraph (1) shall be calculated
from 1-hour arithmetic averages expressed in parts per million by volume corrected to 7 percent oxygen
(dry basis). The 1-hour arithmetic averages shall be calculated using the data points generated by the
continuous emission momtormg system. At least two data points shall be used to calculate each 1-hour
arithmetic average.
(5) The owner or operator of an affected facility may request that compliance with the carbon monoxide
emission limit be determined using carbon dioxide measurements corrected to an equivalent of 7 percent
oxygen. The relationship between oxygen and carbon dioxide levels for the affected facility shall be
established as specified in 40 CFR 60.58b(b)(6).
(6) The procedures specified in paragraphs (i) through (v) shall be used to determine compllance with
load level requirements under 40 CFR 60.53b(b).
(i) The owner or operator of an affected facility with steam generation capability shall install,
_calibrate, maintain, and operate a steam flow meter or a feedwater flow meter; measure steam (or
feedwater) flow in kilograms per hour (or pounds per hour) on a continuous basis; and record the
output of the monitor. Steam (or feedwater) flow shall be calculated in 4-hour block arithmetic
averages.
(i) The method included in the " American Society of Mechanical Engineers Power Test Codes: Test
Code for Steam Generating Units, Power Test Code 4.1-1964 (R1991)" section 4 (incorporated by

12
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reference, see 40 CFR 60.17) shall be used for calculating the steam (or feedwater) flow required
under paragraph (6)(i). The recommendations in **American Society of Mechanical Engineers
Interim Supplement 19.5 on Instruments and Apparatus: Application, Part Il of Fluid Meters, 6th
edition (1971)," chapter 4 (incorporated by reference-see 40 CFR 60.17) shall be followed for design,
construction, installation, calibration, and use of nozzles and orifices except as specified in (iii).
(iii) Measurement devices such as flow nozzles and orifices are not required to be recalibrated after
they are installed. ‘
(iv) All signal conversion elements associated with steam (or feedwater flow) measurements must be
calibrated according to the manufacturer's instructions before each dioxin/furan performance test,
and at least once per year.
(7) To determine compliance with the maximum particulate matter control device temperature
requirements under 40 CFR 60.53b(c), the owner or operator of an affected facility shall install,
calibrate, maintain, and operate a device for measuring on a continuous basis the temperature of the flue
gas stream at the inlet to each particulate matter control device utilized by the affected facility.
Temperature shall be calculated in 4-hour block arithmetic averages.
(8) The maximum demonstrated municipal waste combustor unit load shall be determined during the
initial performance test for dioxins/furans and each subsequent performance test during which
compliance with the dioxin/furan emission limit specified in 40 CFR 60.33b(c)(1) is achieved. The
maximum demonstrated municipal waste combustor unit load shall be the highest 4-hour arithmetic
average load achieved during four consecutive hours during the most recent test during which
compliance with the dioxin/furan emission limit was achieved.
(9) For each particulate matter control device employed at the affected facility, the maximum
demonstrated particulate matter control device temperature shall be determined during the initial
performance test for dioxins/furans and each subsequent performance test during which compliance with
the dioxin/furan emission limit specified in 40 CFR 60.52b(c) is achieved. The maximum demonstrated
particulate matter control device temperature shall be the highest 4-hour arithmetic average temperature
achieved at the particulate matter control device inlet during four consecutive hours during the most
recent test during which compliance with the dioxin/furan limit was achieved.
(10) At a minimum, valid continuous emission monitoring system hourly averages shall be obtained as
specified in paragraphs(i) and(ii) for 75 percent of the operating hours per day for 90 percent of the
operating days per calendar quarter that the affected facility is combusting municipal solid waste.
(i) At least two data points per hour shall be used to calculate each 1-hour arithmetic average.
(ii) At a minimum, each carbon monoxide 1-hour arithmetic average shall be corrected to 7 percent
oxygen on an hourly basis using the 1-hour arithmetic average of the oxygen continuous emission
monitoring system data. '
(11) All valid continuous emission monitoring system data must be used in calculating the parameters
specified under 40 CFR 60.58b(i) even if the minimum data requirements of paragraph (10) are not met.
When carbon monoxide continuous emission data are not obtained because of continuous emission
monitoring system breakdowns, repairs, calibration checks, and zero and span adjustments, emissions
data shall be obtained using other monitoring systems as approved by the Administrator or EPA
Reference Method 10 to provide, as necessary, the minimum valid emission data.
(12) Quarterly accuracy determinations and daily calibration drift tests for the carbon monoxide
continuous emission monitoring system shall be performed in accordance with procedure 1 in appendix F
of 40 CFR 60.
[40 CFR 60.38b and 40 CFR 60.58b(i)]
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Operator Training and Certification

A.12. Standards for municipal waste combustor operator training and certification.
(a) No later than the date 6 months after the date of startup of an affected facility or 12 months after
State plan approval [40 CFR 60.39b(c)(4)(ii)], whichever is later, each chief facility operator and shift
supervisor shall obtain and maintain a current provisional operator certification from either the American
Society of Mechanical Engineers [QRO-1-1994 (incorporated by reference - see 40 CFR 60.17 of
Subpart A)] or a State certification program.
(b) No later than the date 6 months after the date of startup of an affected facility or 12 months after
State plan approval [40 CFR 60.39b(c)(4)(ii)], whichever is later, each chief facility operator and shift
supervisor shall have completed full certification or shall have scheduled a full certification exam with
either the American Society of Mechanical Engineers [QRO-1-1994 (incorporated by reference - see 40
CFR 60.17 of Subpart A)] or a State certification program. :
(c) No owner or operator of an affected facility shall allow the facility to be operated at any time unless
one of the following persons is on duty and at the affected facility: A fully certified chief facility
operator, a provisionally certified chief facility operator who is scheduled to take the full certification
exam according to the schedule specified in paragraph (b), a fully certified shift supervisor, a
provisionally certified shift supervisor who is scheduled to take the full certification exam according to
the schedule specified in paragraph (b).

(1) The requirement specified in paragraph (c) shall take effect 6 month after the date of startup of

the affected facility or 12 months after State plan approval [40 CFR 60.39b(c)(4)(ii)], whichever is

later.

(2) If one of the persons listed in paragraph (c) must leave the affected facility during their operating

shift, a provisionally certified control room operator who is onsite at the affected facility may fulfill

the requirement in paragraph (c).
(d) All chief facility operators, shift supervisors, and control room operators at affected facilities must
complete the EPA or State municipal waste combustor operator training course no later than the date 6
months after the date of startup of the affected facility, or by 12 months after State plan approval [40
CFR 60.39b(c)(4)(iii)], whichever is later.
(e) The owner or operator of an affected facility shall develop and update on a yearly basis a site-
specific operating manual that shall, at a minimum, address the elements of municipal waste combustor
unit operation specified in paragraph (e)(1) through (e)(11).

(1) A summary of the applicable standards;

(2) A description of basic combustion theory applicable to a municipal waste combustor unit;

(3) Procedures for receiving, handling, and feeding municipal solid waste;

(4) Municipal waste combustor unit startup, shutdown, and malfunction procedures;

(5) Procedures for maintaining proper combustion air supply levels;

(6) Procedures for operating the municipal waste combustor unit within the standards establlshed

(7) Procedures for responding to periodic upset or off-specification conditions;

(8) Procedures for minimizing particulate matter carryover;

(9) Procedures for handling ash;

(10) Procedures for monitoring municipal waste combustor unit emissions; and

(11) Reporting and recordkeeping procedures.
(f) The owner or operator of an affected facility shall establish a training program to review the
operating manual according to the schedule specified in paragraphs (f)(1) and (f)(2) with each person
who has responsibilities affecting the operation of an affected facility including, but not limited to, chief
facility operators, shift supervisors, control room operators, ash handlers, maintenance personnel and
crane/load handlers.
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(1) Each person specified in paragraph (f) shall undergo initial training no later than the date
specified in paragraph (£)(1)(i), (£)(1)(ii), or (f)(1)(iii), whichever is later.
(i) The date 6 months after the date of startup of the affected facility;
(ii) The date prior to the day the person assumes responsibilities affecting municipal waste
combustor unit operation; or
(iii) 12 months after State plan approval [40 CFR 60.39b(c)(4)(iii)].
(2) Annually, following the initial review required by paragraph (f)(1).
(g) The operating manual required by paragraph (e) shall be kept in a readily accessible location for all
persons required to undergo training under paragraph (f). The operating manual and records of training -
shall be available for inspection by the EPA or its delegated enforcement agency upon request.
[40 CFR 60.35b, 40 CFR 60.39b(c)(4)(ii) & (iii), and 40 CFR 60.54b]
{Permitting note: The State 111(d) plan was approved by U.S.EPA on November 13, 1997. The facility
start-up date was in January, 1991.}

A.13. The requirement specified in 40 CFR 60.54b(d) does not apply to chief operators, shift
supervisors, and control room operators who have obtained full certification from the American Society

of Mechanical Engineers on or before the date of State plan approval.
[40 CFR 60.39b(c)(4)(iii)(A)]

A.14. [Reserved.]

A.15. The initial training requirements specified in 40 CFR 60.54b(f)(1) shall be completed no later
than the date specified in (1), (2), or (3), whichever is later.

(1) The date six (6) months after the date of startup of the affected facility;

(2) Twelve (12) months after State plan approval; or

(3) The date prior to the day when the person assumes responsibilities affecting municipal waste
combustor unit operation. :

[40 CFR 60.39b(c)(4)(iii)(C)]

Emission Limitations and Standards

{Permitting note: Table 1-1, Summary of Air Pollutant Standards and Terms, summarizes information
for convenience purposes only. This table does not supersede any of the terms or conditions of this
permit.}

Particulate Matter

A.16. The emission limit for particulate matter contained in the gases discharged to the atmosphere is
27 milligrams per dry standard cubic meter, corrected to 7 percent oxygen. Testing shall be on an annual
basis. 4

[40 CFR 60.33b(a)(1)(i); PSD-FL-127, Specific Condition 4.b.]

Visible Emissions

A.17. The emission limit for opacity exhibited by the gases discharged to the atmosphere is 10 percent
(6-minute block average). Testing shall be on an annual basis.
[40 CFR 60.33b(a)(1)(iii)]

15
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Cadmium

A.18. The emission limit for cadmium contained in the gases discharged to the atmosphere is 0.040
milligrams per dry standard cubic meter, corrected to 7 percent oxygen. Testing frequency shall be

annual.
[40 CFR 60.33b(a)(2)(1)]

Mercury

A.19. The emission limit for mercury contained in the gases discharged to the atmosphere is 0.070
milligrams per dry standard cubic meter or 15 percent of the potential mercury emission concentration
(85-percent reduction by weight), corrected to 7 percent oxygen, whichever is less stringent. Testing
frequency shall be annual. ‘

[40 CFR 60.33b(a)(3) and Rule 62-296.416(3)(a)1., F.A.C ]

A.20. [Reserved.]

Lead
'A21. The émission limit for lead contained in the gases discharged to the atmosphere is 0.44
milligrams per dry standard cubic meter, corrected to 7 percent oxygen. Testing frequency shall be
annual. :

[40 CFR 60.33b(a)(4)]

A.22. [Reserved.]

Fluoride

A.23. Fluoride flue gas emissions from each unit shall not exceed 0.008 Ib/MMBtu heat input. Testing
frequency shall be annual.

[PSD-FL-127, Specific Condition No. 3]

Bervllium

A.24. Beryllium flue gas emissions from each unit shall not exceed 1.35x 10~ 1b/MMBtu heat input.
‘Testing frequency shall be annual.
[PSD-FL-127, Specific Condition No. 3]

Volatile Organic Compounds (VOCs)

A.25. VOC flue gas emissions from each unit shall not exceed 0.021 I1b/MMBtu heat input. Testing
frequency shall be every five years. ‘
[PSD-FL-127, Specific Condition No. 3]

Sulfur Dioxide

A.26.1. The emission limit for sulfur dioxide contained in the gases discharged to the atmosphere is 29
parts per million by volume or 25 percent of the potential sulfur dioxide emission concentration (75-
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percent reduction by weight or volume), corrected to 7 percent oxygen (dry basis), whichever is less
stringent. Compliance with this emission limit is based on a 24-hour daily geometric mean. Testing
shall be conducted on an annual basis.

[40 CFR 60.33b(b)(3)(1)]

{Permitting Note: The annual SO, test that is required by Rule 62-297.310(7), F.A.C., can be done
during the annual RATA as satisfaction of this requirement, provided all other testing requirements
specified in the permit are met.}

A.26.2. Sulfur dioxide flue gas emissions from each unit shall not exceed 104 ppmdv corrected to 7%
O, 3-hour (rolling) average, and 60 ppmdyv corrected to 7% O, 6-hour (rolling) average; or 70%
reduction of uncontrolled SO, emissions, 6-hour (rolling) average, but not to exceed 100 ppmdv

corrected to 7% O, , 6-hour (rolling) average. Testing shall be conducted on an annual basis.
[PSD-FL-127, Specific Condition No. 3]

Hydrogen Chloride

A.27. The emission limit for hydrogen chloride contained in the gases discharged to the atmosphere is
29 parts per million by volume or 5 percent of the potential hydrogen chloride emission concentration
(95-percent reduction by weight or volume), corrected to 7 percent oxygen (dry basis), whichever is less
stringent. Testing frequency shall be annual.

[40 CFR 60.33b(b)(3)(ii)]

Dioxins/Furans

A.28. The emission limit for dioxins/furans contained in the gases discharged to the atmosphere that do
not employ an electrostatic precipitator-based emission control system is 30 nanograms per dry standard

cubic meter (total mass), corrected to 7 percent oxygen. Testing frequency shall be annual. See Specific
Condition A.44.

[40 CFR 60.33b(c)(1)(i1)]

Nitrogen Oxides

A.29. The emission limit for nitrogen oxides contained in the gases discharged to the atmosphere is
205 parts per million by volume, corrected to 7 percent oxygen, dry basis. Testing shall be on an annual
basis. ’

[40 CFR 60.33b(d); PSD-FL-127; Specific Condition 4.b.]

{Permitting Note: The annual NO, test that is required by Rule 62-297.310(7), F.A.C., can be done
during the annual RATA as satisfaction of this requirement, provided all other testing requirements
specified in the permit are met.} '

A.30. [Reserved.]

Carbon Monoxide

A.31. The emission limit for carbon monoxide contained in the gases discharged to the atmosphere is
100 parts per million by volume, measured at the combustor outlet in conjunction with a measurement of
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oxygen concentration, corrected to 7 percent oxygen, dry basis. Calculated as an arithmetic average.
Averaging time is a 4-hour block average beginning at m1dmght Testing shall be on an annual basis.
[40 CFR 60.34b(a)]

{Pérmitting Note: The annual CO test that is required by Rule 62-297.310(7), F.A.C., can be done

during the annual RATA as satisfaction of this requirement, provided all other testing requirements
specified in the permit are met.}

Fugitive Ash Visible Emissions

A.32. Fugitive Ash Visible Emissions.

(a) On and after the date on which the initial performance test is completed or is required to be
completed under 40 CFR 60.8 of Subpart A, no owner or operator of an affected facility shall cause to be
discharged to the atmosphere visible emissions of combustion ash from an ash conveying system
(including conveyor transfer points) in excess of 5 percent of the observation period (i.e., 9 minutes per
3-hour period), as determined by EPA Reference Method 22 observations as specified in 40 CFR
60.58b(k), except as provided in paragraphs (b) and (c). See Specific Condition A.49.

(b) The emission limit specified in paragraph (a) does not cover visible emissions discharged inside
buildings or enclosures of ash conveying systems; however, the emission limit specified in paragraph (a)
does cover visible emissions discharged to the atmosphere from buildings or enclosures of ash conveying
systems.

(c) The provisions of paragraph (a) do not apply during maintenance and repair of ash conveying
systems.

[40 CFR 60.36b and 40 CFR 60.55b]

Excess Emissions

{Permitting Note: The Excess Emissions Rule at Rule 62-210.700, F.A.C., cannot vary any requ1rement
of an NSPS or NESHAP provision.}

A.33. The opacity standards set forth in 40 CFR 60 shall apply at all times except during periods of
startup, shutdown, malfunction, and as otherwise provided in the applicable standard.
[40 CFR 60.11(c)]

A.34. Atall times, including periods of startup, shutdown, and malfunction, owners and operators
shall, to the extent practicable, maintain and operate any affected facility including associated air
pollution control equipment in a manner consistent with good air pollution control practice for
minimizing emissions. Determination of whether acceptable operating and maintenance procedures are
being used will be based on information available to the Administrator which may include, but is not
limited to, monitoring results, opacity observations, review of operating and maintenance procedures,
and inspection of the source.

[40 CFR 60.11(d)]

A.35. Startup, Shutdown and Malfunction. The provisions for startup, shutdown, and malfunction are
provided in paragraph (1).

(1) The standards under 40 CFR 60, Subpart Cb, as incorporated in Rule 62-204.800(8)(b), F:A.C., apply
at all times except during periods of startup, shutdown, or malfunction. Duration of startup, shutdown, or
malfunction periods are limited to 3 hours per occurrence.
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(i) The startup period commences when the affected facility begins the continuous burning of
municipal solid waste and does not include any warm-up period when the affected facility is
combusting fossil fuel or other nonmunicipal solid waste fuel, and no municipal solid waste is being
fed to the combustor.
(ii) Continuous burning is the continuous, semicontinuous, or batch feeding of municipal solid waste
for purposes of waste disposal, energy production, or providing heat to the combustion system in
preparation for waste disposal or energy production. The use of municipal solid waste solely to
provide thermal protection of the grate or hearth during the startup period when municipal solid
waste is not being fed to the grate is not considered to be continuous burning.

[40 CFR 60.38b and 40 CFR 60.58b(a)]

A.36. Excess emissions resulting from malfunction shall be permitted provided that best operational
practices to minimize emissions are adhered to and the duration of excess emissions shall be minimized
but in no case exceed three hours in any 24 hour period unless specifically authorized by the Department
for longer duration.

[Rule 62-210.700(1), F.A.C.; and, Applicant Request, dated March 31, 2000]

A.37. Excess emissions which are caused entirely or in part by poor maintenance, poor operation, or
any other equipment or process failure which may reasonably be prevented during startup, shutdown, or
malfunction shall be prohibited.

[Rule 62-210.700(4), F.A.C.]

Test Methods and Proceddres

{Permitting note: Table 2-1, Summary of Compliance Requirements, summarizes information for
convenience purposes only. This table does not supersede any of the terms or conditions of this permit.}

A.38. Performance tests shall be conducted under such conditions as the Administrator shall specify to
the plant operator based on representative performance of the affected facility. The owner or operator
shall make available to the Administrator such records as may be necessary to determine the conditions
of the performance tests. Operations during periods of startup, shutdown, and malfunction shall not
constitute representative conditions for the purpose of a performance test nor shall emissions in excess of
the level of the applicable emission limit during periods of startup, shutdown, and malfunction be
considered a violation of the applicable emission limit unless otherwise specified in the applicable
standard. See Specific Condition A.51. -

[40 CFR 60.8(c)]

Particulate Matter and Opacity

A.39. The procedures and test methods specified in paragraphs (1) through (11) shall be used to
determine compliance with the emission limits for particulate matter and opacity.

(1) The EPA Reference Method 1 shall be used to select sampling site and number of traverse points.
(2) The EPA Reference Method 3, 3A, or 3B, as applicable shall be used for gas analysis.

(3) The EPA Reference Method 5 shall be used for determining compliance with the particulate matter
emission limit. The minimum sample volume shall be 1.7 cubic meters. The probe and filter holder
heating systems in the sample train shall be set to provide a gas temperature no greater than 160 +14 °C.
An oxygen or carbon dioxide measurement shall be obtained simultaneously with each Method 5 run.
(4) The owner or operator of an affected facility may request that compliance with the particulate matter
emission limit be determined using carbon dioxide measurements corrected to an equivalent of 7 percent
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oxygen. The relationship between oxygen and carbon dioxide levels for the affected facility shall be
established as specified in paragraph (6).
(5) As specified under 40 CFR 60.8, all performance tests shall consist of three test runs. The average of
the particulate matter emission concentrations from the three test runs is used to determine compliance.
(6) In accordance with paragraphs (7) and (11), EPA Reference Method 9 shall be used for determining
compliance with the opacity limit except as provided under 40 CFR 60.11(¢)
(7) The owner or operator of an affected facility shall conduct an initial performance test for particulate
matter emissions and opacity as required under 40 CFR 60.8.
(8) The owner or operator of an affected facility shall install, calibrate, maintain, and operate a
continuous opacity monitoring system for measuring opacity and shall follow the methods and
procedures specified in paragraphs (8)(i) through (8)(iv).
(i) The output of the continuous opacity monitoring system shall be recorded on a 6-minute block
average basis. \
(ii) The continuous opacity momtormg system shall be installed, evaluated and operated in
accordance with 40 CFR 60.13.
(iii) The continuous opacity monitoring system shall conform to Performance Specification | in
appendix B of 40 CFR 60.
(iv) The initial performance evaluation shall be completed no later than 180 days after the date of the
initial startup of the municipal waste combustor unit, as specified under 40 CFR 60.8.
(9) Following the date that the initial performance test for particulate matter is completed or is required
to be completed under 40 CFR 60.8 for an affected facility, the owner or operator shall conduct a
performance test for particulate matter on an annual basis (no more than 12 calendar months following
the previous performance test).
(10) [reserved]
(11) Following the date that the initial performance test for opacity is completed or is required to be
completed under 40 CFR 60.8 for an affected facility, the owner or operator shall conduct a performance
test for opacity on an annual basis (no more than 12 calendar months following the previous performance
test) using the test method specified in paragraph (6).
[40 CFR 60.38b and 40 CFR 60.58b(c); and, PSD-FL-127, Specific Condition No. 4]

Cadmium, Lead and Mercury

A.40. The procedures and test methods specified in paragraphs (1) and (2) shall be used to determine
compliance with the emission limits for cadmium, lead, and mercury.
(1) The procedures and test methods specified in paragraphs (1)(i) through (1)(ix) shall be used to
determine compliance with the emission limits for cadmium and lead.
(i) The EPA Reference Method | shall be used for determmmg the location and number of sampling
points.
(i) The EPA Reference Method 3, 3A, or 3B, as applicable, shall be used for flue gas analysis.
(iii) The EPA Reference Method 29 shall be used for determining compliance with the cadmium and
lead emission limits.
(iv) An oxygen or carbon dioxide measurement shall be obtained simultaneously with each Method
29 test run for cadmium and lead required under paragraph (1)(iii).
(v) The owner or operator of an affected facility may request that compliance with the cadmium or
lead emission limit be determined using carbon dioxide measurements corrected to an equivalent of
7 percent oxygen. The relationship between oxygen and carbon dioxide levels for the affected
facility shall be established as specified in paragraph 40 CFR 60.58b(b)(6).
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(vi) All performance tests shall consist of a minimum of three test runs conducted under
representative full load operating conditions. The average of the cadmium or lead emission
concentrations from three test runs or more shall be used to determine compliance.
(vii) Following the date of the initial performance test or the date on which the initial performance
test is required to be completed under 40 CFR 60.8, the owner or operator of an affected facility shall
conduct a performance test for compliance with the emission limits for cadmium and lead on an
annual basis (no more than 12 calendar months following the previous performance test).
(viii) [reserved]
(ix) [reserved] .
(2) The procedures and test methods specified in paragraphs (2)(i) through (2)(xi) shall be used to
determine compliance with the mercury emission limit.
(i) The EPA Reference Method 1 shall be used for determining the location and number of sampling
points. . .
(ii) The EPA Reference Method 3, 3A, or 3B, as applicable, shall be used for flue gas analysis.
(iii) The EPA Reference Method 29 shall be used to determine the mercury emission concentration.
The minimum sample volume when using Method 29 for mercury shall be 1.7 cubic meters.
(iv) An oxygen (or carbon dioxide) measurement shall be obtained simultaneously with each Method
29 test run for mercury required under paragraph (2)(iii). :
(v) The percent reduction in the potential mercury emissions (%Pyg) is computed using equation 1:

Ei—Eo

] X 100 (equation 1) -

(% Puo] = [

where:
%Py = percent reduction of the potential mercury emissions achieved.

E; = potential mercury emission concentration measured at the control device inlet, corrected to 7
percent oxygen (dry basis).

E, = controlled mercury emission concentration measured at the mercury control device outlet,
corrected to 7 percent oxygen (dry basis).

(vi) All performance tests shall consist of a minimum of three test runs conducted under
representative full load operating conditions. The average of the mercury emission concentrations or
percent reductions from three test runs or more is used to determine compliance. :
(vii) The owner or operator of an affected facility may request that compliance with the mercury
emission limit be determined using carbon dioxide measurements corrected to an equivalent of 7
percent oxygen. The relationship between oxygen and carbon dioxide levels for the affected facility
shall be established as specified in paragraph 40 CFR 60.58b(b)(6).

(viii) The owner or operator of an affected facility shall conduct an initial performance test for
mercury emissions as required under 40 CFR 60.8.

(ix) Following the date that the initial performance test for mercury is completed or is required to be
completed under 40 CFR 60.8, the owner or operator of an affected facility shall conduct a
performance test for mercury emissions on a annual basis (no more than 12 calendar months from
the previous performance test).

(x) [reserved] '
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(xi) The owner or operator of an affected facility where activated carbon injection is used to comply
with the mercury emission limit shall follow the procedures specified in 40 CFR 60.58b(m) for
measuring and calculating carbon usage. See Specific Condition A.86.

[40 CFR 60.38b and 40 CFR 60.58b(d)]

A.41. Mercury Emissions Test Method and Procedures. All mercury emissions tests performed
pursuant to the requirements of this rule shall comply with the following provisions.
1. The test method for mercury shall be EPA Method 29 adopted in Rule 62-297, F.A.C.
2. Test procedures shall meet all applicable requirements of Chapter 62-297, F.A.C.
(4) Flue Gas Temperature Standard. Waste-to-energy facilities choosing to control mercury
emissions through the use of post-combustion control equipment designed to remove mercury from
flue gases shall comply with the flue gas temperature standard of Rule 62-296.416(4)(a), F.A.C.
(a) Temperature Standard. The flue gas temperature standard set forth in 40 CFR 60.53b(c),
incorporated by reference in Rule 62-2-4.800, F.A.C., shall apply.
(b) Temperature Monitoring. The temperature monitoring requirements set forth in 40 CFR
60.58b(i), incorporated by reference in Rule 62-204.800, F.A.C., shall apply.
(5) Carbon Usage Rate. The carbon injection rate operating standard and monitoring requirements
~set forth in 40 CFR 60.58b(m), incorporated by reference in Rule 62-204.800, F.A.C_; shall apply.
See Specific Condition A.86. '
[Rule 62-296.416(3)(d), F.A.C.]

Sulfur Dioxide

A.42. The procedures and test methods specified in paragraphs (1) through (14) shall be used for
determining compliance with the sulfur dioxide emission.

(1) The EPA Reference Method 19, section 4.3, shall be used to calculate the daily geometric average
sulfur dioxide emission concentration. .

(2) The EPA Reference Method 19, section 5.4, shall be used to determine the daily geometric average
percent reduction in the potential sulfur dioxide emission concentration.

(3) The owner or operator of an affected facility may request that compliance with the sulfur dioxide
emission limit be determined using carbon dioxide measurements corrected to an equivalent of 7 percent
oxygen. The relationship between oxygen and carbon dioxide levels for the affected facility shall be
established as specified in 40 CFR 60.58b(b)(6).

(4) The owner or operator of an affected facility shall conduct an initial performance test for sulfur
dioxide emissions as required under 40 CFR 60.8. Compliance with the sulfur dioxide emission limit
(concentration or percent reduction) shall be determined by using the continuous emission monitoring
system specified in paragraph (5) to measure sulfur dioxide and calculating a 24-hour daily geometric
average emission concentration or a 24-hour daily geometric average percent reduction using EPA
Reference Method 19, sections 4.3 and 5.4, as applicable.

(5) The owner or operator of an affected facility shall install, calibrate, maintain, and operate a
continuous emission monitoring system for measuring sulfur dioxide emissions discharged to the
atmosphere and record the output of the system. _

(6) Following the date that the initial performance test for sulfur dioxide is completed or is required to be
completed under 40 CFR 60.8, compliance with the sulfur dioxide emission limit shall be determined
based on the 24-hour daily geometric average of the hourly arithmetic average emission concentrations
using continuous emission monitoring system outlet data if compliance is based on an emission
concentration, or continuous emission monitoring system inlet and outlet data if compliance is based on
a percent reduction. :
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(7) At a minimum, valid continuous monitoring system hourly averages shall be obtained as specified in
paragraphs (7)(i) and (7)(ii) for 75 percent of the operating hours per day for 90 percent of the operating
days per calendar quarter that the affected facility is combusting municipal solid waste.
(i) At least two data points per hour shall be used to calculate each 1-hour arithmetic average.
(ii) Each sulfur dioxide 1-hour arithmetic average shall be corrected to 7 percent oxygen on an
hourly basis using the 1-hour arithmetic average of the oxygen (or carbon dioxide) continuous
emission monitoring system data.
(8) The 1-hour arithmetic averages required under paragraph (6) shall be expressed in parts per million
corrected to 7 percent oxygen (dry basis) and used to calculate the 24-hour daily geometric average
emission concentrations and daily geometric average emission percent reductions. The 1-hour arithmetic
averages shall be calculated using the data points required under 40 CFR 60.13(e)(2).

*(9) All valid continuous emission monitoring system data shall be used in calculating average emission
concentrations and percent reductions even if the minimum continuous emission monitoring system data
requirements of paragraph (7) are not met.

(10) The procedures under 40 CFR 60.13 shall be followed for installation, evaluation, and operation of
the continuous emission monitoring system.
(11) The initial performance evaluation shall be completed no later than 180 days after the date of initial
startup of the municipal waste combustor as specified under 40 CFR 60.8.
(12) The continuous emission monitoring system shall be operated according to Performance
Specification 2 in 40 CFR 60 appendix B.
(i) During each relative accuracy test run of the continuous emissiori monitoring system required by
Performance Specification 2 in 40 CFR 60 appendix B, sulfur dioxide and oxygen (or carbon
dioxide) data shall be collected concurrently (or within a 30- to 60-minute period) by both the
continuous emission monitors and the test methods specified in paragraphs (A) and (B).
(A) For sulfur dioxide, EPA Reference Method 6, 6A, or 6C shall be used.
(B) For oxygen (or carbon dioxide), EPA Reference Method 3, 3A, or 3B, as applicable shall be
used. :
(ii) The span value of the continuous emissions monitoring system at the inlet to the sulfur dioxide
control device shall be 125 percent of the maximum estimated hourly potential sulfur dioxide
emissions of the municipal waste combustor unit. The span value of the continuous emission
monitoring system at the outlet of the sulfur dioxide control device shall be 50 percent of the
maximum estimated hourly potential sulfur dioxide emissions of the municipal waste combustor
unit.
(13) Quarterly accuracy determinations and daily calibration drift tests shall be performed in accordance
with procedure 1 in appendix F of 40 CFR 60.
(14) When sulfur dioxide emissions data are not obtained because of continuous emission monitoring
system breakdowns, repairs, calibration checks, and zero and span adjustments, emissions data shall be
obtained by using other monitoring systems as approved by the Administrator or EPA Reference Method
19 to provide, as necessary, valid emissions data for a minimum of 75 percent of the hours per day that
the affected facility is operated and combusting municipal solid waste for 90 percent of the days per
calendar quarter that the affected facility is operated and combusting municipal solid waste.
[40 CFR 60.38b and 40 CFR 60.58b(e)]

Hvdrogen Chloride

A.43. The procedures and test methods specified in paragraphs (1) through (8) shall be used for
determining compliance with the hydrogen chloride emission limit.

(1) The EPA Reference Method 26 or 26A, as applicable, shall be used to determine the hydrogen
chloride emission concentration. The minimum sampling time for Method 26 shall be 1 hour.
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(2) An oxygen (or carbon dioxide) measurement shall be obtained simultaneously with each Method 26
test run for hydrogen chloride required by paragraph (1).

(3) The percent reduction in potential hydrogen chloride emissions (% Pyc)) is computed using equation
2:

Ei—Eo

i

:| X 100 (equation 2)

[%Prcr] = [

where:
%Pyci=percent reduction of the potential hydrogen chloride emissions achieved.

E;=potential hydrogen chloride emission concentration measured at the control device inlet,
corrected to 7 percent oxygen (dry basis).

E,=controlled hydrogen chloride emission concentration measured at the control device outlet,
corrected to 7 percent oxygen (dry basis).

(4) The owner or operator of an affected facility may request that compliance with the hydrogen
chloride emission limit be determined using carbon dioxide measurements corrected to an equivalent of
7 percent oxygen. The relationship between oxygen and carbon dioxide levels for the affected facility
shall be established as specified in 40 CFR 60.58b(b)(6).

(5) As specified under 40 CFR 60.8, all performance tests shall consist of three test runs. The average of
the hydrogen chloride emission concentrations or percent reductions from the three test runs is used to
determine compliance.

(6) The owner or operator of an affected facility shall conduct an initial performance test for hydrogen
chloride as required under 40 CFR 60.8.

(7) Following the date that the initial performance test for hydrogen chloride is completed or is required
to be completed under 40 CFR 60.8, the owner or operator of an affected facility shall conduct a
performance test for hydrogen chloride emissions on an annual basis (no more than 12 calendar months
following the previous performance test).

(8) [reserved]

[40 CFR 60.38b and 40 CFR 60.58b(f)]

Dioxin/Furan

A.44. The procedures and test methods specified in paragraphs (1) through (9) shall be used to
determine compliance with the limits for dioxin/furan emissions.
(1) The EPA Reference Method 1 shall be used for determining the location and number of sampling
points.
(2) The EPA Reference Method 3, 3A, or 3B, as applicable, shall be used for flue gas analysis.
(3) The EPA Reference Method 23 shall be used for determining the dioxin/furan emission
concentration.
(i) The minimum sample time shall be 4 hours per test run.
(it) An oxygen measurement shall be obtained simultaneously with each Method 23 test run for
dioxins/furans.
(4) The owner or operator of an affected facility shall conduct an initial performance test for dioxin/furan
emissions in accordance with paragraph (3), as required under 40 CFR 60.8.
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(5) Following the date that the initial performance test for dioxins/furans is completed or is required to be

completed under 40 CFR 60.8, the owner or operator of an affected facility shall conduct performance

tests for dioxin/furan emissions in accordance with paragraph (3), according to one of the schedules

specified in paragraphs (i) through (iii).
(i) For affected facilities, performance tests shall be conducted on an annual basis (no more than 12
calendar months following the previous performance test.)
(ii) [reserved] -
(iii) Where all performance tests over a 2-year period indicate that dioxin/furan emissions are less
than or equal to 15 nanograms per dry standard cubic meter (total mass) for all affected facilities
located within a municipal waste combustor plant, the owner or operator of the municipal waste
combustor plant may elect to conduct annual performance tests for one affected facility (i.e., unit)
per year at the municipal waste combustor plant. At a minimum, a performance test for dioxin/furan
emissions shall be conducted annually (no more than 12 months following the previous performance
test) for one affected facility at the municipal waste combustor plant. Each year a different affected
facility at the municipal waste combustor plant shall be tested, and the affected facilities at the plant
shall be tested in sequence (e.g., unit 1, unit 2, unit 3, as applicable). If each annual performance test
continues to indicate a dioxin/furan emission level less than or equal to 15 nanograms per dry
standard cubic meter (total mass), the owner or operator may continue conducting a performance test
on only one affected facility per year. If any annual performance test indicates a dioxin/furan
emission level greater than 15 nanograms per dry standard cubic meter (total mass), performance
tests thereafter shall be conducted annually on all affected facilities at the plant until and unless all
annual performance tests for all affected facilities at the plant over a 2-year period indicate a
dioxin/furan emission level less than or equal to 15 nanograms per dry standard cubic meter (total
mass).

(6) The owner or operator of an affected facility that elects to follow the performance testing schedule

specified in paragraph (5)(iii) shall follow the procedures specified in 40 CFR 60 60.59b(g)(4) for

reporting the selection of this schedule. ‘

(7) The owner or operator of an affected facility where activated carbon is used to comply with the

dioxin/furan emission limits specified in 40 CFR 60.52b(c) or the dioxin/furan emission level specified

in paragraph (5)(iii) shall follow the procedures specified in 40 CFR 60.58b(m) for measuring and

calculating the carbon usage rate.

(8) The owner or operator of an affected facility may request that compliance with the dioxin/furan

emission limit be determined using carbon dioxide measurements corrected to an equivalent of 7 percent

oxygen. The relationship between oxygen and carbon dioxide levels for the affected facility shall be

established as specified in 40 CFR 60.58b(b)(6).

(9) As specified under 40 CFR 60.8, all performance tests shall consist of three test runs. The average of

the dioxin/furan emission concentrations from the three test runs is used to determine compliance.

[40 CFR 60.38b and 40 CFR 60.58b(g)]

Nitrogen Oxides

A.45. The p'rocedures and test methods specified in paragraphs (1) through (12) shall be used to
determine compliance with the nitrogen oxides emission limit for affected facilities under Sec.
60.52b(d). .

(1) The EPA Reference Method 19, section 4.1, shall be used for determining the daily arithmetic
average nitrogen oxides emission concentration.

(2) The owner or operator of an affected facility may request that compliance with the nitrogen oxides
emission limit be determined using carbon dioxide measurements corrected to an equivalent of 7 percent
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oxygen. The relationship between oxygen and carbon dioxide levels for the affected facility shall be
established as specified in 40 CFR 60.58b(b)(6).
(3) The owner or operator of an affected facility subject to the nitrogen oxides limit shall conduct an
initial performance test for nitrogen oxides as required under 40 CFR 60.8. Compliance with the
nitrogen oxides emission limit shall be determined by using the continuous emission monitoring system
specified in paragraph (4) for measuring nitrogen oxides and calculating a 24-hour daily arithmetic
average emission concentration using EPA Reference Method 19, section 4.1.
(4) The owner or operator of an affected facility subject to the nitrogen oxides emission shall install,
calibrate, maintain, and operate a continuous emission monitoring system for measuring nitrogen ox1des
discharged to the atmosphere, and record the output of the system.
(5) Following the date that the initial performance test for nitrogen oxides is completed or is required to
be completed under 40 CFR 60.8, compliance with the emission limit for nitrogen oxides shall be
determined based on the 24-hour daily arithmetic average of the hourly emission concentrations using
continuous emission monitoring system outlet data.
(6) At a minimum, valid continuous emission monitoring system-hourly averages shall be obtained as
specified in paragraphs (i) and (ii) for 75 percent of the operating hours per day for 90 percent of the
operating days per calendar quarter that the affected facility is combusting municipal solid waste.
(i) At least 2 data points per hour shall be used to calculate each 1-hour arithmetic average.
(ii) Each nitrogen oxides 1-hour arithmetic average shall be corrected to 7 percent oxygen on an
hourly basis using the 1-hour arithmetic average of the oxygen (or carbon dioxide) continuous
emission monitoring system data.
(7) The 1-hour arithmetic averages required by paragraph (5) shall be expressed in parts per million by
volume (dry basis) and used to calculate the 24-hour daily arithmetic average concentrations. The 1-hour
arithmetic averages shall be calculated using the -data points required under 40 CFR 60.13(e)(2).
(8) All valid continuous emission monitoring system data must be used in calculating emission averages
even if the minimum continuous emission monitoring system data requirements of paragraph (6) are not
met.
(9) The procedures under 40 CFR 60.13 shall be followed for installation, evaluation, and operation of
the continuous emission monitoring system. The initial performance evaluation shall be completed no
later than 180 days after the date of initial startup of the municipal waste combustor unit, as specified
under 40 CFR 60.8.
(10) The owner or operator of an affected facility shall operate the continuous emission monitoring
system according to Performance Specification 2 in appendix B of 40 CFR 60 and shall follow the
procedures and methods specified in paragraphs(i) and (ii).
(i) During each relative accuracy test run of the continuous emission monitoring system required by
Performance Specification 2 of appendix B of 40 CFR 60, nitrogen oxides and oxygen (or carbon
dioxide) data shall be collected concurrently (or within a 30- to 60-minute period) by both the
continuous emission monitors and the test methods specified in paragraphs(A) and (B).
(A) For nitrogen oxides, EPA Reference Method 7, 7A, 7C, 7D, or 7E shall be used.
(B) For oxygen (or carbon dioxide), EPA Reference Method 3, 3A, or 3B, as-applicable shall be
used.
(i1) The span value of the continuous emission monitoring system shall be 125 percent of the
maximum estimated hourly potential nitrogen oxide emissions of the municipal waste combustor
unit. :
(11) Quarterly accuracy determinations and daily calibration drift tests shall be performed in accordance
with procedure 1 in appendix F of 40 CFR 60.
(12) When nitrogen oxides continuous emissions data are not obtained because of continuous emission
monitoring system breakdowns, repairs, calibration checks, and zero and span adjustments, emissions
data shall be obtained using other monitoring systems as approved by the Administrator or EPA
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Reference Method 19 to provide, as necessary, valid emissions data for a minimum of 75 percent of the
hours per day for 90 percent of the days per calendar quarter the unit is operated and combusting

municipal solid waste.
[40 CFR 60.38b and 40 CFR 60.58b(h); and PSD-FL-127, Specific Condition No. 4]

Fluoride

A.46. EPA Method 13A or 13B shall be used to ensure compliance.
[PSD-FL-127, Specific Condition No. 4]

Bervllium

A.47. EPA Method 29 or 104 shall be used to ensure compliance.
[PSD-FL-127, Specific Condition No. 4]

Carbon Monoxide

A.48.1. See Specific Condition A.11.

Volatile Organic Compounds

A.48.2. EPA Method 18, 25, or 25A shall be used to ensure compliance.
[PSD-FL-127, Specific Condition No. 4]

Fugitive Ash

A.49. The procedures specified in paragraphs (1) through (4) shall be used for determining compliance
with the fugitive ash emission limit under 40 CFR 60.55b.
(1) The EPA Reference Method 22 shall be used for determining compliance with the fugitive ash
emission limit under 40 CFR 60.55b. The minimum observation time shall be a series of three 1-hour
observations. The observation period shall include times when the facility is transferring ash from the
municipal waste combustor unit to the area where ash is stored or loaded into containers or trucks.
(2) The average duration of visible emissions per hour shall be calculated from the three 1-hour
observations. The average shall be used to determine compliance with 40 CFR 60.55b.
(3) The owner or operator of an affected facility shall conduct an initial performance test for fugitive ash
emissions as required under 40 CFR 60.8.
(4) Following the date that the initial performance test for fugitive ash emissions is completed or is
required to be completed under Sec. 60.8 for an affected facility, the owner or operator shall conduct a
performance test for fugitive ash emissions on an annual basis (no more than 12 calendar months
following the previous performance test).
[40 CFR 60.38b and 40 CFR 60.58b(k)]

A.50. Required Number of Test Runs. For mass emission limitations, a compliance test shall consist of
three complete and separate determinations of the total air pollutant emission rate through the test section
of the stack or duct and three complete and separate determinations of any applicable process variables
corresponding to the three distinct time periods during which the stack emission rate was measured
provided, however, that three complete and separate determinations shall not be required. if the process
variables are not subject to variation during a compliance test, or if three determinations are not
necessary in order to calculate the unit's emission rate. The three required test runs shall be completed
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within one consecutive five day period. In the event that a sample is lost or one of the three runs must be
discontinued because of circumstances beyond the control of the owner or operator, and a valid third run
cannot be obtained within the five day period allowed for the test, the Secretary or his or her designee
may accept the results of the two complete runs as proof of compliance, provided that the arithmetic
‘mean of the results of the two complete runs is at least 20 percent below the allowable emission limiting
standards.

[Rule 62-297.310(1), F.A.C.]

A.51. Operating Rate During Testing. Testing of emissions shall be conducted with the emissions unit
operation at permitted capacity, which is defined as 90 to 100 percent of the maximum operation rate
allowed by the permit. If it is impracticable to test at permitted capacity, an emissions unit may be tested
at less than the minimum permitted capacity; in this case, subsequent emissions unit operation is limited
to 110 percent of the test load until a new test is conducted. Once the emissions unit is so limited,
operation at higher capacities is allowed for no more than 15 consecutive days for the purpose of
additional compliance testing to regain the authority to operate at the permitted capacity.

[Rules 62-297.310(2) & (2)(b), F.A.C.]

A.52. Calculation of Emission Rate. The indicated emission rate or concentration shall be the arithmetic
average of the emission rate or concentration determined by each of the three separate test runs unless
otherwise specified in a particular test method or applicable rule.

[Rule 62-297.310(3), F.A.C.]

A.53. Applicable Test Procedures.
(a) Required Sampling Time.
1. Unless otherwise specified in the applicable rule, the required sampling time for each test run
shall be no less than one hour and no greater than four hours, and the sampling time at each sampling
point shall be of equal intervals of at least two minutes.
2. Opacity Compliance Tests. When either EPA Method 9 or DEP Method 9 is specified as the
applicable opacity test method, the required minimum period of observation for a compliance test
shall be sixty (60) minutes for emissions units which emit or have the potential to emit 100 tons per
year or more of particulate matter, and thirty (30) minutes for emissions units which have potential
emissions less than 100 tons per year of particulate matter and are not subject to a multiple-valued
opacity standard. The opacity test observation period shall include the period during which the
highest opacity emissions can reasonably be expected to occur. Exceptions to these requirements are
as follows: - '
a. For batch, cyclical processes, or other operations which are normally completed
within less than the minimum observation period and do not recur within that time, the
period of observation shall be equal to the duration of the batch cycle or operation
completion time.
b. The observation period for special opacity tests that are conducted to provide data to
establish a surrogate standard pursuant to Rule 62-297.310(5)(k), F.A.C., Waiver of
Compliance.Test Requirements, shall be established as necessary to properly establish
the relationship between a proposed surrogate standard and an existing mass emission
limiting standard.
¢. The minimum observation period for opacity tests conducted by employees or agents
of the Department to verify the day-to-day continuing compliance of a unit or activity
with an applicable opacity standard shall be twelve minutes.
(b) Minimum Sample Volume. Unless otherwise specified in the applicable rule, the minimum sample
volume per run shall be 25 dry standard cubic feet.
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(c) Required Flow Rate Range. For EPA Method 5 particulate sampling, acid mist/sulfur dioxide, and
fluoride sampling which uses Greenburg Smith type impingers, the sampling nozzle and sampling time
shall be selected such that the average sampling rate will be between 0.5 and 1.0 actual cubic feet per
minute, and the required minimum sampling volume will be obtained.

(d) Calibration of Sampling Equipment. Calibration of the sampling train equipment shall be conducted
in accordance with the schedule shown in Table 297.310-1, attached as part of this permit.

(e) Allowed Modification to EPA Method 5. When EPA Method 5 is required, the following
modification is allowed: the heated filter may be separated from the impingers by a flexible tube.

[Rule 62-297.310(4), F.A.C.] ' '

A.54. Required Stack Sampling Facilities. When a mass emissions stack test is required, the permittee .
shall comply with the requirements contained in Appendix SS-1, Stack Sampling Facilities, attached to
this permit.

[Rule 62-297.310(6), F.A.C.]

A.55. Frequency of Compliance Tests. The following provisions apply only to those emissions units that
are subject to an emissions limiting standard for which compliance testing is required.
(a) General Compliance Testing.
1. [Reserved.]
2. [Reserved.] A
3. The owner or operator of an emissions unit that is subject to any emission limiting
standard shall conduct a compliance test that demonstrates compliance with the applicable
emission limiting standard prior to obtaining a renewed operation permit. Emissions units that are
required to conduct an annual compliance test may submit the most recent annual compliance test to
satisfy the requirements of this provision. In renewing an air operation permit pursuant to Rule 62-
210.300(2)(a)3.b., c., or d., F.A.C., the Department shall not require submission of emission
compliance test results for any emissions unit that, during the year prior to renewal:
a Did not operate; or A '
b. In the case of a fuel burning emissions unit, burned liquid and/or solid fuel for a total
of no more than 400 hours.
4. During each federal fiscal year (October 1 - September 30), unless otherwise specified by rule,
order, or permit, the owner or operator of each emissions unit shall have a formal compliance test
conducted for:
a. Visible emissions, if there is an applicable standard;
b. Each of the following pollutants, if there is an applicable standard, and if the emissions unit
emits or has the potential to emit: 5 tons per year or more of lead or lead compounds measured
as elemental lead; or 100 tons per year or more of any other regulated air pollutant; and
c. Each NESHAP pollutant, if there is an applicable emission standard.
5. An annual compliance test for particulate matter emissions shall not be required for any fuel
burning emissions unit that, in a federal fiscal year, does not burn liquid and/or solid fuel, other than
during startup, for a total of more than 400 hours.
6. [Reserved.]
7. [Reserved.]
8. [Reserved.] . :
9. The owner or operator shall notify the Department, at least 15 days prior to the date on which each
formal compliance test is to begin, of the date, time, and place of each such test, and the test contact
person who will be responsible for coordinating and having such test conducted for the owner or
operator. ' '
10. [Reserved.]
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(b) Special Compliance Tests. When the Department, after investigation, has good reason (such as
complaints, increased visible emissions or questionable maintenance of control equipment) to believe
that any applicable emission standard contained in a Department rule or in a permit issued pursuant to
those rules is being violated, it may require the owner or operator of the emissions unit to conduct
compliance tests which identify the nature and quantity of pollutant emissions from the emissions unit
and to provide a report on the results of said tests to the Department. '
(¢) Waiver of Compliance Test Requirements. If the owner or operator of an emissions unit that is

" subject to a compliance test requirement demonstrates to the Department, pursuant to the procedure
established in Rule 62-297.620, F.A.C., that the compliance of the emissions unit with an applicable
weight emission limiting standard can be adequately determined by means other than the designated test
procedure, such as specifying a surrogate standard of no visible emissions for particulate matter sources
equipped with a bag house or specifying a fuel analysis for sulfur dioxide emissions, the Department
shall waive the compliance test requirements for such emissions units and order that the alternate means
of determining compliance be used, provided, however, the provisions of Rule 62-297.310(7)(b), F.A.C,,
shall apply. -
[Rule 62-297.310(7), F.A.C.; and, SIP approved]
{Permitting note: Appropriate festing frequency is indicated as necessary, by pollutant, within each
condition under the Emissions Limitations and Standards Section, above.}

Compliance With Standards and Maintenance Requirements

A.56. Compliance with standards in 40 CFR 60, other than opacity standards, shall be determined only
by performance tests established by 40 CFR 60.8, unless otherwise specified in the applicable standard.
[40 CFR 60.11(a)]

A.57. Compliance with opacity standards in 40 CFR 60 shall be determined by conducting observations
in accordance with Reference Method 9 in Appendix A of 40 CFR 60, any alternative method that is
approved by the Administrator, or as provided in 40 CFR 60.11(e)(5).

[40 CFR 60.11(b)] '

A.58. The owner or operator of an affected facility subject to an opacity standard may submit, for
compliance purposes, continuous opacity monitoring system (COMS) data results produced during any
performance test required under 40 CFR 60.8 in lieu of EPA Method 9 observation data. If an owner or
operator elects to submit COMS data for compliance with the opacity standard, he or she shall notify the
Administrator of that decision, in writing, at least 30 days before any performance test required under 40
CFR 60.8 is conducted. Once the owner or operator of an affected facility has notified the Administrator
to that effect, the COMS data results will be used to determine opacity compliance during subsequent
tests required under 40 CFR 60.8 until the owner or operator notifies the Administrator, in writing, to the
contrary. For the purpose of determining compliance with the opacity standard during a performance test
required under 40 CFR 60.8 using COMS data, the minimum total time of COMS data collection shall be
averages of all 6-minute continuous periods within the duration of the mass emission performance test.
Results of the COMS opacity determinations shall be submitted along with the results of the
performance test required under 60.8. The owner or operator of an affected facility using a COMS for
compliance purposes is responsible for demonstrating that the COMS meets the requirements specified

in 40 CFR 60.13(c), that the COMS has been properly maintained and operated, and that the resulting
data have not been altered in any way. If COMS data results are submitted for compliance with the
opacity standard for a period of time during which EPA Method 9 data indicates noncompliance, the
EPA Method 9 data will be used to determine opacity compliance.

[40 CFR 60.11(e)(5)]
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Monitoring Requirements

A.59. For the purposes of 40 CFR 60.13, all continuous monitoring systems (CMS) required under
applicable subparts shall be subject to the provisions of 40 CFR 60.13 upon promulgation of
performance specifications for continuous monitoring systems under Appendix B of 40 CFR 60 and, if
the continuous monitoring system is used to demonstrate compliance with emission limits on a
continuous basis, Appendix F of 40 CFR 60, unless otherwise specified in an applicable subpart or by the
Administrator. Appendix F is applicable December 4, 1987.

[40 CFR 60.13(a)]

A.60. Ifthe owner or operator of an affected facility elects to submit continuous opacity monitoring
system (COMS) data for compliance with the opacity standard as provided under 40 CFR 60.11(e)(5), he
shall conduct a performance evaluation of the COMS as specified in Performance Specification 1,
Appendix B, of 40 CFR 60 before the performance test required under 40 CFR 60.8 is conducted.
Otherwise, the owner or operator of an affected facility shall conduct a performance evaluation of the
COMS or continuous emission monitoring system (CEMS) during any performance test required under
40 CFR 60.8 or within 30 days thereafter in accordance with the applicable performance specification in
Appendix B of 40 CFR 60. The owner or operator of an affected facility shall conduct COMS or CEMS
performance evaluations at such other times as may be required by the Administrator under section 114
of the Act.

(1) The owner or operator of an affected facility using a COMS to determine opacity compliance during
any performance test required under 60.8 and as described in 40 CFR 60.11(e)(5) shall furnish the
Administrator two or, upon request, more copies of a written report of the results of the COMS
performance evaluation described in 40 CFR 60.13(c) at least 10 days before the performance test
required under 60.8 is conducted.

[40 CFR 60.13(c)(1)]

A.61. (1) Owners and operators of all continuous emission monitoring systems (CEMS) installed in
accordance with the provisions of this part shall check the zero (or low-level value between 0 and 20
percent of span value) and span (50 to 100 percent of span value) calibration drifts at least once daily in
accordance with a written procedure. The zero and span shall, as a minimum, be adjusted whenever the
24-hour zero drift or 24-hour span drift exceeds two times the limits of the applicable performance
specifications in Appendix B. The system must allow the amount of excess zero and span drift measured
at the 24-hour interval checks to be recorded and quantified, whenever specified. For continuous
monitoring systems measuring opacity of emissions, the optical surfaces exposed to the effluent gases
shall be cleaned prior to performing the zero and span drift adjustments except that for systems using
automatic zero adjustments. The optical surfaces shall be cleaned when the cumulative automatic zero
compensation exceeds 4 percent opacity.

(2) Unless otherwise approved by the Administrator, the following procedures shall be followed for
continuous monitoring systems measuring opacity of emissions. Minimum procedures shall include a
method for producing a simulated zero opacity condition and an upscale (span) opacity condition using a
certified neutral density filter or other related technique to produce a known obscuration of the light
beam. Such procedures shall provide a system check of the analyzer internal optical surfaces and all
electronic circuitry including the lamp and photo detector assembly.

[40 CFR 60.13(d)(1) and (2)]
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A.62. Except for system breakdowns, repairs, calibration checks, and zero and span adjustments
required under 40 CFR 60.13(d), all ‘continuous monitoring systems (CMS) shall be in continuous
operation and shall meet minimum frequency of operation requirements as follows:

(1) All continuous monitoring systems referenced by 40 CFR 60.13(c) for measuring opacity of
emissions shall complete a minimum of one cycle of sampling and analyzing for each successive 10-
second period and one cycle of data recording for each successive 6-minute period.

(2) All continuous monitoring systems referenced by 40 CFR 60.13(c) for measuring emissions, except
opacity, shall complete a minimum of one cycle of operation (sampling, analyzing, and data recording)
for each successive 15-minute period.

[40 CFR 60.13(e)(1) and (2)]

A.63. All continuous monitoring systems (CMS) or monitoring devices shall be installed such that
representative measurements of emissions or process parameters from the affected facility are obtained.
Additional procedures for location of continuous monitoring systems contained in the applicable
Performance Specifications of Appendix B of 40 CFR 60 shall be used.

[40 CFR 60.13(f)]

A.64. [Reserved.]

A.65. Owners or operators of all continuous monitoring systems for measurement of opacity shall
reduce all data to 6-minute averages and for continuous monitoring systems other than opacity to 1-hour
averages for time periods as defined in 40 CFR 60.2. Six-minute opacity averages shall be calculated
from 36 or more data points equally spaced over each 6-minute period. For continuous monitoring
systems other than opacity, 1-hour averages shall be computed from four or more data points equally
spaced over each 1-hour period. Data recorded during periods of continuous monitoring system
breakdowns, repairs, calibration checks, and zero and span adjustments shall not be included in the data
averages computed under this paragraph. An arithmetic or integrated average of all data may be used.
The data may be recorded in reduced or non reduced form (e.g., ppm pollutant and percent O2 or ng/J of
pollutant). All excess emissions shall be converted into units of the standard using the applicable
conversion procedures specified in subparts. After conversion into units of the standard, the data may be
rounded to the same number of significant digits as used in the applicable subparts to specify the
emission limit (e.g., rounded to the nearest 1 percent opacity).

[40 CFR 60.13(h)]

A.66. Determination of Process Variables.

(a) Required Equipment. The owner or operator of an emissions unit for which compliance tests are
required shall install, operate, and maintain equipment or instruments necessary to determine process
variables, such as process weight input or heat input, when such data are needed in conjunction with
emissions data to determine the compliance of the emissions unit with applicable emission limiting
standards.

(b) Accuracy of Equipment. Equipment or instruments used to directly or indirectly determine process
variables, including devices such as flow meters, shall be calibrated and adjusted to indicate the true
value of the parameter being measured with sufficient accuracy to allow the applicable process variable
to be determined within 10% of its true value. '

[Rule 62-297.310(5), F.A.C.]

A.67. The owner or operator of an affected facility shall install, calibrate, maintain, and operate a
continuous emission monitoring system and record the output of the system for measuring the oxygen or
carbon dioxide content of the flue gas at each location where carbon monoxide, sulfur dioxide, or
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nitrogen oxides emissions are monitored and shall comply with the test procedures and test methods
specified in paragraphs (1) through (7).

(1) The span value of the oxygen (or carbon dioxide) monitor shall be 25 percent oxygen (or carbon
dioxide).

(2) The monitor shall be installed, evaluated, and operated in accordance with 40 CFR 60.13.

(3) The initial performance evaluation shall be completed no later than 180 days after the date of initial
startup of the affected facility, as specified under 40 CFR 60.8.

(4) The monitor shall conform to Performance Specification 3 in appendix B of 40 CFR 60 except for
section 2.3 (relative accuracy requirement). »
(5) The quality assurance procedures of appendix F of 40 CFR 60 except for section 5.1.1 (relative
accuracy test audit) shall apply to the monitor.

[40 CFR 60.38b and 40 CFR 60.58b(b)]

Record keeping and Reporting Requirements

A.68. The owner or operator subject to the provisions of 40 CFR 60 shall furnish the Admlmstrator
written notification as follows:

(4) A notification of any physical or operational change to an existing facility which may increase the
emission rate of any air pollutant to which a standard applies, unless that change is specifically exempted
under an applicable subpart or in 40 CFR 60.14(e). This notice shall be postmarked 60 days or as soon
as practicable before the change is commenced and shall include information describing the precise
nature of the change, present and proposed emission control systems, productive capacity of the facility
before and after the change, and the expected completion date of the change. The Administrator may
request additional relevant information subsequent to this notice.

[40 CFR 60.7(a)(4)] :

A.69. The owner or operator subject to the provisions of 40 CFR 60 shall maintain records of the
occurrence and duration of any startup, shutdown, or malfunction in the operation of an affected facility;
any malfunction of the air pollution control equipment; or, any periods during which a continuous
monitoring system or monitoring device is inoperative. :

[40 CFR 60.7(b)]

A.70. Each owner or operator required to install a continuous monitoring system (CMS) or monitoring
device shall submit an excess emissions and monitoring systems performance report (excess emissions
are defined in applicable subparts) and/or a summary report form [see 40 CFR 60.7(d)] to the
Administrator semiannually, except when: more frequent reporting is specifically required by an
applicable subpart; or, the Administrator, on a case-by-case basis, determines that more frequent
reporting is necessary to accurately assess the compliance status of the source. All reports shall be
postmarked by the 30th day following the end of each six-month period. Written reports of excess
emissions shall include the following information:

(1) The magnitude of excess emissions computed in accordance with 40 CFR 60.13(h), any conversion
factor(s) used, and the date and time of commencement and completion of each time period of excess
emissions. The process operating time during the reporting period.

(2) Specific identification of each period of excess emissions that occurs during startups, shutdowns, and
malfunctions of the affected facility. -‘The nature and cause of any malfunctlon (if known), the corrective
action taken or preventative measures adopted.

(3) The date and time identifying each period during which the continuous monitoring system was
inoperative except for zero and span checks and the nature of the system repairs or adjustments.
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(4) When no excess emissions have occurred or the continuous monitoring system(s) have not been
inoperative, repaired, or adjusted, such information shall be stated in the report.

[40 CFR 60.7(c)(1), (2), (3), and (4)] ' '

A.71. The summary report form shall contain the information and be in the format shown in Figure 1
(attached) unless otherwise specified by the Administrator. One summary report form shall be submitted
for each pollutant monitored at each affected facility.

(1) If the total duration of excess.emissions for the reporting period is less than 1 percent of the total
operating time for the reporting period and CMS downtime for the reporting period is less than 5 percent
of the total operating time for the reporting period, only the summary report form shall be submitted and
the excess emission report described in 40 CFR 60.7(c) need not be submitted unless requested by the
Administrator.

(2) If the total duration of excess emissions for the reporting period is 1 percent or greater of the total
operating time for the reporting period or the total CMS downtime for the reporting period is 5 percent or
greater of the total operating time for the reporting period, the summary report form and the excess
emission report described in 40 CFR 60.7(c) shall both be submitted. '

[40 CFR 60.7(d)(1) and (2)]

{See attached Figure 1: Summary Report-Gaseous and Opacity Excess Emission and Monitoring System
Performance} (electronic file name: figurel.doc)

A.72. (1) Notwithstanding the frequency of reporting requirements specified in 40 CFR 60.7(c), an
owner or operator who is required by an applicable subpart to submit excess emissions and monitoring
systems performance reports (and summary reports) on a quarterly (or more frequent) basis may reduce
the frequency of reporting for that standard to semiannual if the following conditions are met:

(i) For 1 full year (e.g., 4 quarterly or 12 monthly reporting periods) the affected facility’s excess
emissions and monitoring systems reports submitted to comply with a standard under this part
continually demonstrate that the facility is in compliance with the applicable standard;

(ii) The owner or operator continues to comply with all recordkeeping and monitoring requirements
specified in 40 CFR 60, Subpart A, and the applicable standard; and

(iii) The Administrator does not object to a reduced frequency of reporting for the affected facility,
as provided in 40 CFR 60.7(e)(2). '

(2) The frequency of reporting of excess emissions and monitoring systems performance (and
summary) reports may be reduced only after the owner or operator notifies the Administrator in writing
of his or her intention to make such a change and the Administrator does not object to the intended
change. In deciding whether to approve a reduced frequency of reporting, the Administrator may review
information concerning the source’s entire previous performance history during the required
recordkeeping period prior to the intended change, including performance test results, monitoring data,
and evaluations of an owner or operator’s conformance with operation and maintenance requirements.
Such information may be used by the Administrator to make a judgment about the source’s potential for
noncompliance in the future. If the Administrator disapproves the owner or operator’s request to reduce
the frequency of reporting, the Administrator will notify the owner or operator in writing within 45 days
after receiving notice of the owner or operator’s intention. The notification from the Administrator to the
owner or operator will specify the grounds on which the disapproval is based. In the absence of a notice
of disapproval within 45 days, approval is automatically granted.

(3) As soon as monitoring data indicate that the affected facility is not in compliance with any
emission limitation or operating parameter specified in the applicable standard, the frequency of
reporting shall revert to the frequency specified in the applicable standard, and the owner or operator
shall submit an excess emissions and monitoring systems performance report (and summary report, if

34



Pasco County | PROPOSED Permit No.: 1010056-002-AV
Pasco County Resource Recovery Facmty :

required) at the next appropriate reporting period following the noncomplying event. After
demonstrating compliance with the applicable standard for another full year, the owner or operator may
again request approval from the Administrator to reduce the frequency of reporting for that standard as
provided for in 40 CFR 60.7(e)(1) and (e)(2). : '

[40 CFR 60.7(e)(1)]

A.73. Any owner or operator subject to the provisions of 40 CFR 60 shall maintain a file of all
measurements, including continuous monitoring system, monitoring device, and performance testing
measurements; all continuous monitoring system performance evaluations; all continuous monitoring
system or monitoring device calibration checks; adjustments and maintenance performed on these
systems or devices; and, all other information required by 40 CFR 60 recorded in a permanent form
suitable for inspection. The file shall be retained for at least 5 (five) years following the date of such
measurements, maintenance, reports, and records.

[40 CFR 60.7(f); Rule 62-213.440(1)(b)2.b., F.A.C.]

A.74. Notification of Construction or Reconstruction. The owner or operator of an affected facility with
a capacity to combust greater than 250 tons per day shall submit a notification of construction, which
includes the information specified in paragraphs (1) through (4).

(1) Intent to construct.

(2) Planned initial startup date.

(3) The types of fuels that the owner or operator plans to combust in the affected facility.

(4) The municipal waste combustor unit capacity and supporting capacity calculations prepared in
accordance with 40 CFR 60.58b(j).

[40 CFR 60.39b and 40 CFR 60.59b(b)]

A.75. The owner or operator of an affected facility subject to the standards under 40 CFR. 60.53b,
60.54b, and 60.55b shall maintain records of the information specified in paragraphs (1) through (15), as
applicable, for each affected facility for a period of at least 5 years.
(1) The calendar date of each record.
(2) The emission concentrations and parameters measured using continuous monitoring systems as
specified under paragraphs (i) and (ii).
(1) The measurements specified in paragraphs (A) through (D) shall be recorded and be available for
submittal to the Administrator or review onsite by an inspector.
(A) All 6-minute average opacity levels as specified under 40 CFR 60.58b(c).
(B) All 1-hour average sulfur dioxide emission concentrations as specified under 40 CFR
60.58b(e).
(C) All 1-hour average nitrogen oxides emission concentrations as specified under 40 CFR
60.58b(h). ,
(D) All 1-hour average carbon monoxide emission concentrations, municipal waste combustor
unit load measurements, and particulate matter control device inlet temperatures as specified
" under 40 CFR 60.58b(i). :
(i1) The average concentrations and percent reductions, as applicable, specified in paragraphs
(2)(11)(A) through (2)(ii)(D) shall be computed and recorded, and shall be available for submittal to
the Administrator or review on-site by an inspector.
(A) All 24-hour daily geometric average sulfur dioxide emission concentrations and all 24-hour
daily geometric average percent reductions in sulfur dioxide emissions as specified under 40
CFR 60.58b(e).
(B) All 24-hour daily arithmetic average nitrogen oxides emission concentrations as specified
under 40 CFR 60.58b(h).
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(C) All 4-hour block or 24-hour daily arithmetic average carbon monoxide emission
concentrations, as applicable, as specified under 40 CFR 60.58b(i).
(D) All 4-hour block arithmetic average municipal waste combustor unit load levels and
particulate matter control device inlet temperatures.as specified under 40 CFR 60.58b(i).
(3) Identification of the calendar dates when any of the average emission concentrations, percent
reductions, or operating parameters recorded under paragraphs (2)(ii)(A) through (2)(ii)(D), or the
opacity levels recorded under paragraph (2)(i)(A) are above the applicable limits, with reasons for such
exceedances and a description of corrective actions taken.
(4) For affected facilities that apply activated carbon for mercury or dioxin/furan control, the records
specified in paragraphs (i) through (v).
(i) The average carbon mass feed rate (in kilograms per hour or pounds per hour) estimated as
required under 40 CFR 60.58b(m)(1)(i) during the initial mercury performance test and all
subsequent annual performance tests, with supporting calculations. .
(ii) The average carbon mass feed rate (in kilograms per hour or pounds per hour) estimated as
required under 40 CFR 60.58b(m)(1)(ii) during the initial dioxin/furan performance test and all
subsequent annual performance tests, with supporting calculations. v
(iii) The average carbon mass feed rate (in kilograms per hour or pounds per hour) estimated for each
hour of operation as required under 40 CFR 60.58b(m)(3)(ii), with supporting calculations.
(iv) The total carbon usage for each calendar quarter estimated as specified by 40 CFR 60.58b(m)(3),
with supporting calculations.
(v) Carbon injection system operating parameter data for the parameter(s) that are the primary
indicator(s) of carbon feed rate (e.g., screw feeder speed).
(5) [Reserved]
(6) Identification of the calendar dates for which the minimum number of hours of any of the data
specified in paragraphs (i) through (v) have not been obtained including reasons for not obtaining
sufficient data and a description of corrective actions taken.
(i) Sulfur dioxide emissions data;
(ii) Nitrogen oxides emissions data;
(iii) Carbon monoxide emissions data;
(iv) Municipal waste combustor unit load data; and
(v) Particulate matter control device temperature data.
(7) Identification of each occurrence that sulfur dioxide emissions data, nitrogen oxides emissions data
(large municipal waste combustors only), or operational data (i.e., carbon monoxide emissions, unit load,
and particulate matter control device temperature) have been excluded from the calculation of average
emission concentrations or parameters, and the reasons for excluding the data.
(8) The results of daily drift tests and quarterly accuracy determinations for sulfur dioxide, nitrogen
oxides, and carbon monoxide continuous emission monitoring systems, as required under appendix F of
this part, procedure 1.
(9) The test reports documenting the results of the initial performance test and all annual performance
tests listed in paragraphs (i) and (ii) shall be recorded along with supporting calculations.
(1) The results of the initial performance test and all annual performance tests conducted to determine
compliance with the particulate matter, opacity, cadmium, lead, mercury, dioxins/furans, hydrogen
chloride, and fugitive ash emission limits.
(i1) For the initial dioxin/furan performance test and all subsequent dioxin/furan performance tests
recorded under paragraph (9)(i), the maximum demonstrated municipal waste combustor unit load
and maximum demonstrated particulate matter control device temperature (for each particulate
matter control device).
(10) [Reserved]
(11) [Reserved]
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(12) The records specified in paragraphs (i) through (iii).
(1) Records showing the names of the municipal waste combustor chief facility operator, shift
supervisors, and control room operators who have been provisionally certified by the American
Society of Mechanical Engineers or an equivalent State-approved certification program as required
by 40 CFR 60.54b(a) including the dates of initial and renewal certifications and documentation of
current certification.
(ii) Records showing the names of the municipal waste combustor chief facility operator, shift
supervisors, and cortrol room operators who have been fully certified by the American Society of
Mechanical Engineers or an equivalent State-approved certification program as required by 40 CFR
60.54b(b) including the dates of initial and renewal certifications and documentation of current
certification. '
(iii) Records showing the names of the municipal waste combustor chief facility operator, shift
supervisors, and control room operators who have completed the EPA municipal waste combustor
operator training course or a State-approved equivalent course as requ1red by 40 CFR 60.54b(d)
including documentation of training completion.
(13) Records showing the names of persons who have completed a review of the operating manual as
required by 40 CFR 60.54b(f) including the date of the initial review and subsequent annual reviews.
(14) For affected facilities that apply activated carbon for mercury or dioxin/furan control, identification
of the calendar dates when the average carbon mass feed rates recorded under (4)(iii) were less than
either of the hourly carbon feed rates estimated during performance tests for mercury or dioxin/furan
emissions and recorded under paragraphs (4)(i) and (4)(ii), respectively, with reasons for such feed rates
and a description of corrective actions taken.
(15) For affected facilities that apply activated carbon for. mercury or dioxin/furan control, identification
of the calendar dates when the carbon injection system operating parameter(s) that are the primary
indicator(s) of carbon mass feed rate (e.g., screw feeder speed) recorded under paragraph (4)(v) are
below the level(s) estimated during the performance tests as specified in 40 CFR 60.58b(m)(1)(i) and 40
CFR 60.58b(m)(1)(ii), with reasons for such occurrences and a description of corrective actions taken.
[40 CFR 60.39b and 40 CFR 60.59b(d)]

A.76. The owner or operator of an affected facility shall submit the information specified in paragraphs
(1) through (6) in the initial performance test report.

(1) The initial performance test data as recorded under 40 CFR 60.59b(d)(2)(ii)(A) through (d)(2)(ii)(D)
for the initial performance test for sulfur dioxide, nitrogen oxides, carbon monoxide, municipal waste
combustor unit load level, and particulate matter control device inlet temperature.

(2) The test report documenting the initial performance test recorded under 40 CFR 60.59b(d)(9) for
particulate matter, opacity, cadmium, lead, mercury, dioxins/furans, hydrogen chloride, and fugitive ash
emissions.

(3) The performance evaluation of the continuous emission monitoring system using the applicable
performance specifications in appendix B of this part.

(4) The maximum demonstrated municipal waste combustor unit load and maximum demonstrated
particulate matter control device inlet temperature(s) established during the initial dioxin/furan
performance test as recorded under 40 CFR 60.59b(d)(9).

(5) For affected facilities that apply activated carbon injection for mercury control, the owner or operator
shall submit the average carbon mass feed rate recorded under 40 CFR 60.59b(d)(4)(i).

(6) For those affected facilities that apply activated carbon injection for dioxin/furan control, the owner
or operator shall submit the average carbon mass feed rate recorded under 40 CFR 60.59b(d)(4)(i1).

[40 CFR 60.39b and 40 CFR 60.59b(f)]
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A.77. Following the first year of municipal combustor operation, the owner or operator of an affected
facility shall submit an annual report including the information specified in paragraphs (1) through (4),
as applicable, no later than February 1 of each year following the calendar year in which the data were
collected (once the unit is subject to permitting requirements under Title V of the Act, the owner or
operator of an affected facility must submit these reports semiannually). :
(1) A summary of data collected for all pollutants and parameters regulated under this subpart, which
includes the information specified in paragraphs (i) through (v).
(i) A list of the particulate matter, opacity, cadmium, lead, mercury, dioxins/furans, hydrogen
chloride, and fugitive ash emission levels achieved during the performance tests recorded under 40
CFR 60.59b (d)(9). :
(ii) A list of the highest emission level recorded for sulfur dioxide, nitrogen oxides, carbon
monoxide, municipal waste combustor unit load level, and particulate matter control device inlet
temperature based on the data recorded under 40 CFR 60.59b(d)(2)(ii)(A) through (d)(2)(ii)(D).
(iii) List the highest opacity level measured, based on the data recorded under 40 CFR
60.59b(d)(2)(i)(A). _
(iv) The total number of days that the minimum number of hours of data for sulfur dioxide, nitrogen
oxides, carbon monoxide, municipal waste combustor unit load, and particulate matter control device
temperature data were not obtained based on the data recorded under 40 CFR 60.59b(d)(6).
(v) The total number of hours that data for sulfur dioxide, nitrogen oxides, carbon monoxide,
municipal waste combustor unit load, and particulate matter control device temperature were
excluded from the calculation of average emission concentrations or parameters based on the data
recorded under 40 CFR 60.59b(d)(7).
(2) The summary of data reported under paragraph (1) shall also provide the types of data specxﬂed in
paragraphs (1)(i) through (1)(vi) for the calendar year preceding the year being reported, in order to
provide the Administrator with a summary of the performance of the affected facility over a 2-year
period.
(3) The summary of data including the information specified in paragraphs (1) and (2) shall highlight any
emission or parameter levels that did not achieve the emission or parameter llmltS specified under this
subpart.
(4) A notification of intent to begin the reduced dioxin/furan performance testing schedule specified in
40 CFR 60.58b(g)(5)(iii) during the following calendar year.
[40 CFR 60.39b and 40 CFR 60.59b(g)]

. A.78. The owner or operator of an affected facility shall submit a semiannual report that includes the
information specified in paragraphs (1) through (5) for any recorded pollutant or parameter that does not
comply with the pollutant or parameter limit specified under this subpart, according to the schedule
specified under paragraph (6).

(1) The semiannual report shall include information recorded under 40 CFR 60.59b(d)(3) for sulfur
dioxide, nitrogen oxides, carbon monoxide, municipal waste combustor unit load level, particulate matter
control device inlet temperature, and opacity.

(2) For each date recorded as required by 40 CFR 60.59b(d)(3) and reported as required by paragraph
(1), the semiannual report shall include the sulfur dioxide, nitrogen oxides, carbon monoxide, municipal
waste combustor unit load level, particulate matter control device inlet temperature, or opacity data, as
applicable, recorded under 40 CFR 60.59b(d)(2)(ii)(A) through (d)(2)(ii)(D) and (d)(2)(i)(A), as
applicable.

(3) If the test reports recorded under 40 CFR 56.59b(d)(9) document any particulate matter, opacity,
cadmium, lead, mercury, dioxins/furans, hydrogen chloride, and fugitive ash emission levels that were
above the applicable pollutant limits, the semiannual report shall include a copy of the test report
documenting the emission levels and the corrective actions taken.
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(4) The semiannual report shall include the information recorded under 40 CFR 60.59b(d)(15) for the
carbon injection system operating parameter(s) that are the primary indicator(s) of carbon massfeed rate.
(5) For each operating date reported as required by paragraph (4), the semiannual report shall include the
carbon feed rate data recorded under 40 CFR 60.59b(d)(4)(iii). :
(6) Semiannual reports required by this condition shall be submitted accordmg to the schedule specified
in paragraphs (i) and (ii).
(i) If the data reported in accordance with paragraphs (1) through (5) were collected during the first
calendar half, then the report shall be submitted by August 1 following the first calendar half.
(ii) If the data reported in accordance with paragraphs (1) through (5) were collected during the
second calendar half, then the report shall be submitted by February 1 following the second calendar
half.
[40 CFR 60.39b and 40 CFR 60.59b(h)]

A.79. All reports specified under 40 CFR 60.59b(a), (b), (¢), (), (g), (h), and (i) shall be submitted as a
paper copy, postmarked on or before the submittal dates specified under these paragraphs, and

maintained onsite as a paper copy for a period of 5 years.
[40 CFR 60.39b and 40 CFR 60.59b(j)]

A.80. All records specified under 40 CFR 60.59b(d) and (e) shall be maintained onsite in either paper
copy or computer-readable format, unless an alternative format is approved by the Administrator.
[40 CFR 60.39b and 40 CFR 60.59b(k)]

A.81. If the owner or operator of an affected facility would prefer a different annual or semiannual date
for submitting the periodic reports required by 40 CFR 60.59b(g), (h) and (i), then the dates may be
changed by mutual agreement between the owner or operator and the Administrator according to the
procedures specified in 40 CFR 60.19(c) of subpart A of this part.

[40 CFR 60.39b and 40 CFR 60.59b(1)]

A.82. In the case of excess emissions resulting from malfunctions, each owner or operator shall notify
the Department in accordance with Rule 62-4.130, F.A.C. A full written report on the malfunctions shall
be submitted in a quarterly report, if requested by the Department.

[Rule 62-210.700(6), F.A.C.]

A.83. [Resefved.]

A.84. Test Reports. _ :
(a) The owner or operator of an emissions unit for which a compliance test is required shall file a report

with the Department on the results of each such test.
(b) The required test report shall be filed with the Department as soon as practical but no later than 45
days after the last sampling run of each test is completed.
(c) The test report shall provide sufficient detail on the emissions unit tested and the test procedures used
to allow the Department to determine if the test was properly conducted and the test results properly
computed. As a minimum, the test report, other than for an EPA or DEP Method 9 test, shall provide the
following information:

1. The type, location, and designation of the emissions unit tested.

2. The facility at which the emissions unit is located.

3. The owner or operator of the emissions unit.

4. The normal type and amount of fuels used and materials processed, and the types and
- amounts of fuels used and material processed during each test run.
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5. The means, raw data and computations used to determine the amount of fuels used and

materials processed, if necessary to determine compliance with an applicable emission

limiting standard.

6. The type of air pollution control devices installed on the emissions unit, their general

condition, their normal operating parameters (pressure drops, total operating current and GPM

scrubber water), and their operating parameters during each test run.

7. A sketch of the duct within 8 stack diameters upstream and 2 stack diameters downstream of the

sampling ports, including the distance to any upstream and downstream bends or other flow

disturbances.

8. The date, starting time and duration of each sampling run.

9. The test procedures used, including any alternative procedures authorized pursuant to Rule 62-

297.620, F.A.C. Where optional procedures are authorized in this chapter, indicate which option was

used. .

10. The number of points sampled and configuration and location of the sampling plane.

11. For each sampling point for each run, the dry gas meter reading, velocity head, pressure drop

across the stack, temperatures, average meter temperatures and sample time per point.

12. The type, manufacturer and configuration of the sampling equ1pment used.

13. Data related to the required calibration of the test equipment.

14. Data on the identification, processing and weights of all filters used.

15. Data on the types and amounts of any chemical solutions used.

16. Data on the amount of pollutant collected from each sampling probe, the filters, and the

impingers, are reported separately for the compliance test.

17. The names of individuals who furnished the process variable data, conducted the test,

analyzed the samples and prepared the report.

18. All measured and calculated data required to be determined by each applicable test

procedure for each run.

19. The detailed calculations for one run that relate the collected data to the calculated emission rate.

20. The applicable emission standard, and the resulting maximum allowable emission rate for the

emissions unit, plus the test result in the same form and unit of measure.

21. A certification that, to the knowledge of the owner or his authorized agent, all data submitted are
true and correct. When a compliance test is conducted for the Department or its agent, the person who
conducts the test shall provide the certification with respect to the test procedures used. The owner or his
authorized agent shall certify that all data required and provided to the person conducting the test are true
and correct to his knowledge.

[Rule 62-297.310(8), F.A.C.]

A.85. Segregated Solid Waste Record Keeping. The following records shall be made and kept to
demonstrate compliance with the segregated non-MSW percentage limitations of Specific Conditions
A.7.1.8. and A.7.1.9. :
(a) Each segregated load of non-MSW materials, that is subject to the percentage weight limitations
of Specific Conditions A.7.1.8. and A.7.1.9., which is received for processing shall be documented as
to waste description and weight. The weight of all waste materials received for processing shall be
measured using the facility truck scale and recorded. :

(b) Each day the total weight of segregated tires received shall be computed, and the daily total shall
be added to the sum of the daily totals from the previous days of the current calendar month. At the
end of each calendar month, the resultant calendar month’s total weight of tires shall be divided by the
total weight of all waste materials received in the same calendar month period, and the resultant
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number shall be multiplied by 100 to express the ratio in percentage terms. The percentage computed
shall be compared to the 3% limitation.

(c) Each day the total weight of segregated non-MSW materials received that are subject to the 5%
restriction shall be computed, and the daily total shall be added to the sum of the daily totals from the
previous: days of the current calendar month. At the end of each calendar month, the resultant
calendar month’s total weight of segregated non-MSW materials shall be divided by the total weight
of all waste materials received in the same calendar month period, and the resultant number shall be

multiplied by 100 to express the ratio in percentage terms. The percentage computed shall be
compared to the 5% limitation. '
[Rule 62-213.440, F.A.C.]

Miscellaneous Requirements.

Activated Carbon Injection

A.86. The owner or operator of an affected facility where activated carbon injection is used to comply
with the mercury emission limit, or the dioxin/furan emission limits , or the dioxin/furan emission level
specified in 40 CFR 60.58b(g)(5)(iii) shall follow the procedures specified in paragraphs (1) through (3).
(1) During the performance tests for dioxins/furans and mercury, as applicable, the owner or operator
shall estimate an average carbon mass feed rate based on carbon injection system operating parameters
such as the screw feeder speed, hopper volume, hopper refill frequency, or other parameters appropriate
to the feed system being employed, as specified in paragraphs (i) and(ii).
(i) An average carbon mass feed rate in kilograms per hour or pounds per hour shall be estimated
during the initial performance test for mercury emissions and each subsequent performance test for
mercury emissions. :
(i1) An average carbon mass feed rate in kilograms per hour or pounds per hour shall be estimated
during the initial performance test for dioxin/furan emissions and each subsequent performance test
for dioxin/furan emissions.
(2) During operation of the affected facility, the carbon injection system operating parameter(s) that are
the primary indicator(s) of the carbon mass feed rate (e.g., screw feeder setting) must equal or exceed the
level(s) documented during the performance tests specified under paragraphs (1)(i) and (1)(i1).
(3) The owner or operator of an affected facility shall estimate the total carbon usage of the plant
(kilograms or pounds) for each calendar quarter by two independent methods, according to the
procedures in paragraphs (i) and (ii).
(i) The weight of carbon delivered to the plant.
(ii) Estimate the average carbon mass feed rate in kilograms per hour or pounds per hour for each
hour of operation for each affected facility based on the parameters specified under paragraph (1),
and sum the results for all affected facilities at the plant for the total number of hours of operation
during the calendar quarter.
[40 CFR 60.38b and 40 CFR 60.58b(m)]

A.87. General Applicability and Definitions. The Emission Guidelines for Existing Sources adopted
by reference in this rule shall be controlling over other standards in the air pollution rules of the
Department except that any emissions limiting standard contained in or determined pursuant to the air
pollution rules of the Department which is more stringent than one contained in an Emission Guideline,
or which regulates emissions of pollutants or emissions units not regulated by an applicable Emission
Guideline, shall apply.

[Rule 62-204.800(8)(a)l., F.A.C]
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Subsection B. This section addresses the following emissions unit.

ID No.**' Bnef :begéirip'tion

-004 Storage Silo for Activéted Carbon

This emissions unit, which includes associated transport and injection equipment, is used to store and
inject dry activated carbon into the flue gas of the Resource Recovery Facility. The carbon injection is
used to control mercury emissions. Particulate matter (PM) emissions from the silo during pneumatic
loading are controlled by a baghouse dust collector. The emissions unit is located in a PM “area of
influence” and is subject to the requirements of Rule 62-296.700, F.A.C., Reasonably Available Control
Technology (PM-RACT), but qualifies for an exemption per Rule 62-296.700(2)(b), F.A.C.

General

B.1. The permittee shall not allow any person to circumvent the operation of the baghouse collector.
The baghouse must be operational during the pneumatic loading of the storage silo.
[AC51-266667, Specific Condition No. 4]

Essential Potential to Emit (PTE) Parameters

B.2. Hours of Operation. These emissions units are allowed to operate continuously, i.e., 8,760
hours/year.
[Rule 62-210.200(PTE), F.A.C.; and AC51-266667, Specific Condition No. 3]

Emission Limitations and Standards

{Permitting note: Table 1-1, Summary of Air Pollutant Standards and Terms, summarizes information
for convenience purposes only. This table does not supersede any of the terms or conditions of this
permit.}

B.3. Visible Emissions. Testing shall be conducted annually. Visible emissions from the baghouse
exhaust and the support equipment (the dry carbon transport piping and metering system) shall not
exceed 5% opacity, pursuant to Rule 62-297.620(4), F.A.C., for an emissions unit equipped with a
baghouse. This visible emission limitation is established in lieu of a particulate matter emissions stack
test. Should the Department have reason to believe the particulate matter standard as specified in this
Specific Condition is not being met, the Department may require that compliance with the particulate
matter standard be demonstrated by testing in accordance with Chapter 62-297, F.A.C.

[Rule 62-297.620(4), F.A.C.; and AC51-266667, Specific Condition No. 6]

B.4. Particulate Matter. The maximum allowable particulate matter emission rate from storage silo
exhaust shall not exceed 0.084 pounds per hour and 0.37 tons per year.
[AC51-266667, Specific Condition No. 7]
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Test Methods and Procedures

B.S. Visible Emissions. Compliance with the visible emission limitation shall be determined using EPA
Method 9, and be a minimum of 30 minutes in duration. The test observation period shall include the
period during which the highest opacity emissions can reasonably be expected to occur. This period is
expected to be the last minutes of silo loading. For a silo loading operation that is normally completed in
less than 30 minutes, the visible emissions test shall be conducted for the normal duration of the silo
loading operation.

[AC51-266667, Specific Condition No. 9]

B.6. Visible Emissions. The visible emissions test shall be conducted while pneumatically loading the
silo at a rate that is representative of the normal silo loading rate. The silo loading rate shall be at least
25 tons per hour and shall occur in less than one hour. Each test report shall include a calculation
indicating the actual silo loading rate during the visible emission test. The dry carbon injections system

~ is assumed to be in continuous operation and should be operating normally during all visible emission -
testing. If these operations are not in simultaneous operation during a scheduled visible emissions test, it
shall be so noted on the test report.

[AC51-266667, Specific Condition No. 10]

B.7. Excess emissions resulting from malfunction shall be permitted provided that best operational
practices to minimize emissions are adhered to and the duration of excess emissions shall be minimized
but in no case exceed two hours in any 24 hour period unless specifically authorized by the Department
for longer duration.

[Rule 62-210.700(1), F.A.C.]

B.8. Frequency of Compliance Tests. The following provisions apply only to those emissions units that
are subject to an emissions limiting standard for which compllance testing is required.
(a) General Compliance Testing.
1. [Reserved.]
2. [Reserved.]
3. The owner or operator of an emissions unit that is subject to any emission limiting
standard shall conduct a compliance test that demonstrates compliance with the applicable
emission limiting standard prior to obtaining a renewed operation permit. Emissions units that are
required to conduct an annual compliance test may submit the most recent annual compliance test to
satisfy the requirements of this provision. In renewing an air operation permit pursuant to Rule 62-
210.300(2)(a)3.b., c., or d., F.A.C., the Department shall not require submission of emission
compliance test results for any emissions unit that, during the year prior to renewal:
a Did not operate; or
b. In the case of a fuel burning emissions unit, burned liquid and/or solid fuel for a total
of no more than 400 hours.
4. During each federal fiscal year (October 1 - September 30), unless otherwise specified by rule,
order, or permit, the owner or operator of each emissions unit shall have a formal compliance test -
conducted for:
a. Visible emissions, if there is an applicable standard; :
b. Each of the following pollutants, if there is an applicable standard, and if the emissions unit
emits or has the potential to emit: 5 tons per year or more of lead or lead compounds measured
as elemental lead; or 100 tons per year or more of any other regulated air pollutant; and
c. Each NESHAP pollutant, if there is an applicable emission standard.
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5. An annual compliance test for particulate matter emissions shall not be required for any fuel
burning emissions unit that, in a federal fiscal year, does not burn liquid and/or solid fuel, other than
during startup, for a total of more than 400 hours.
6. [Reserved.]
7. [Reserved.]
8. [Reserved.] ' .
9. The owner or operator shall notify the Department, at least 15 days prior to the date on which each
formal compliance test is to begin, of the date, time, and place of each such test, and the test contact
person who will be responsible for coordinating and having such test conducted for the owner or
operator.
(b) Special Compliance Tests. When the Department, after investigation, has good reason (such as
complaints, increased visible emissions or questionable maintenance of control equipment) to believe
that any applicable emission standard contained in a Department rule or in a permit issued pursuant to
those rules is being violated, it may require the owner or operator of the emissions unit to conduct _
. compliance tests which identify the nature and quantity of pollutant emissions from the emissions unit
and to provide a report on the results of said tests to the Department. _
(c) Waiver of Compliance Test Requirements. If the owner or operator of an emissions unit that is
subject to a compliance test requirement demonstrates to the Department, pursuant to the procedure
established in Rule 62-297.620, F.A.C., that the compliance of the emissions unit with an applicable
weight emission limiting standard can be adequately determined by means other than the designated test
procedure, such as specifying a surrogate standard of no visible emissions for particulate matter sources
equipped with a bag house or specifying a fuel analysis for sulfur dioxide emissions, the Department
shall waive the compliance test requirements for such emissions units and order that the alternate means
of determining compliance be used, provided; however, the provisions of Rule 62-297.310(7)(b), F.A.C,,
shall apply. ' :
[Rule 62-297.310(7), F.A.C.; and, SIP approved]

Recordkeeping and Reporting Requirements

B.9. The permittee shall notify the Department’s Southwest District Office in writing at least 15 days
prior to the date an which a compliance test is to begin. The notice shall include the date, time, and place
of each test, and the contact person who will be responsible for coordinating the test.

[AC51-266667, Specific Condition No. 11]
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Subsection C. This section addresses the following emissions unit.

féID No.

-005 ' L.eacflamté Tréatfﬂé.nt Facility -

This emissions unit is a Bowen Model No. AA-6 natural gas fired spray drying system for the ashfill
leachate. Included in the unit is a natural gas fired Parker Boiler Company 1.0 MMBtu/hour startup
boiler, to be used during the first 24 hours during startup of the spray drying system. Emissions from the
spray drying system are controlled with a Niro, Inc. baghouse having a air to cloth ratio of 3.9:1.

Essential Potential to Emit (PTE) Parameters

C.1. Capacity. The maximum heat input rate to the dryer is 3.0 MMBtu/hour. The design leachate feed
rate is 1724 pounds/hour, with an evaporation rate of 1207 pounds/hour, and a powder rate of 517

pounds/hour.
[1010056-001-AC, Description]

C.2. Hours of Operation. These emissions units are allowed to operate continuously, i.e., 8,760
hours/year.
[Rule 62-210.200(PTE), F.A.C.; and 1010056 001-AC, Specific Condition No. 4]

Emission Limitations and Standards

{Permitting note: Table 1-1, Summary of Air Pollutant Standards and Terms, summarizes information
for convenience purposes only. This table does not supersede any of the terms or conditions of this
permit.}

C.3. Visible Emissions. Testing shall be conducted annually. Visible emissions from the dryer’
baghouse shall not exceed 5% opacity, pursuant to Rule 62-297.620(4), F.A.C., for an emissions unit
equipped with a baghouse. This visible emission limitation is established in lieu of a particulate matter
emissions stack test. Should the Department have reason to believe the particulate matter standard as
specified in this Specific Condition is not being met, the Department may require that compliance with
the particulate matter standard be demonstrated by testing in accordance with Chapter 62-297, F.A.C.
[Rule 62-297.620(4), F.A.C.; and 1010056-001-AC, Specific Conditions No. 10 and 11]

C.4. Particulate Matter. The maximum permitted allowable emission rate of particulate matter from the
dryer baghouse shall not exceed 0.52 pounds/hour and 2.26 tons/year.
[Rule 62-296.700(2), F.A.C.; and 1010056-001-AC, Specific Condition No. 2]

C.5. Excess emissions resulting from malfunction shall be permitted provided that best operational
practices to minimize emissions are adhered to and the duration of excess emissions shall be minimized
but in no case exceed two hours in any 24 hour period unless specifically authorized by the Department
for longer duration.

[Rule 62-210.700(1), F.A.C.]
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Test Methods and Procedures

C.6. Compliance with the emissions limitations of Specific Conditions C.3. and C.4. shall be determined
using EPA Methods 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, and 9 contained in 40 CFR 60, Appendix A, and adopted by reference in
Chapter 62-297, F.A.C. The minimum requirements for stationary point source sampling and reporting
shall be in accordance with Chapter 62-297, F.A.C. and 40 CFR 60, Appendix A. The visible emissions
compliance tests shall be conducted by a certified observer and be a minimum of 30 minutes in duration.
[1010056-001-AC, Specific Condition No. 7] :

C.7. Testing of emissions to show compliance shall be conducted within 90-100% of the maximum
permitted dryer feed rate of 1724 pounds/hour. A compliance test submitted at an operating rate less
than 90% of the permitted rate will automatically constitute an amended permit at the lesser rate plus
10%, until another test, showing compliance at a higher rate, is submitted. Any time the permitted rate
of the emissions unit is exceeded by more than 10% a compliance test shall be performed within 30 days
of initiation of the higher rate and the test results shall be submitted to the Department within 45 days of
testing. Acceptance of the test by the Department will constitute an amended permit at the higher rate
plus 10%, but in no case shall the maximum permitted dryer feed rate of 1724 pounds/hour be exceeded.
Failure to submit the dryer feed rate and actual operating conditions in the test report may invalidate the
test data. ' '

[1010056-001-AC, Specific Condition No. 9]

C.8. Frequency of Compliance Tests. The following provisions apply only to those emissions units that
are subject to an emissions limiting standard for which compliance testing is required.
(a) General Compliance Testing.
1. [Reserved.]
2. [Reserved.]
3. The owner or operator of an emissions unit that is subject to any emission limiting
standard shall conduct a compliance test that demonstrates compliance with the applicable
emission limiting standard prior to obtaining a renewed operation permit. Emissions units that are
required to conduct an annual compliance test may submit the most recent annual compliance test to
satisfy the requirements of this provision. In renewing an air operation permit pursuant to Rule 62-
210.300(2)(a)3.b., c., or d., F.A.C., the Department shall not require submission of emission
compliance test results for any emissions unit that, during the year prior to renewal: '
a Did not operate; or '
b. In the case of a fuel burning emissions unit, burned liquid and/or solid fuel for a total
of no more than 400 hours. :
4. During each federal fiscal year (October 1 - September 30), unless otherwise specified by rule,
order, or permit, the owner or operator of each emissions unit shall have a formal compliance test
conducted for:
a. Visible emissions, if there is an applicable standard;
b. Each of the following pollutants, if there is an applicable standard, and if the emissions unit
emits or has the potential to emit: 5 tons per year or more of lead or lead compounds measured
as elemental lead; or 100 tons per year or more of any other regulated air pollutant; and
c. Each NESHAP pollutant, if there is an applicable emission standard.
5. An annual compliance test for particulate matter emissions shall not be required for any fuel
burning emissions unit that, in a federal fiscal year, does not burn liquid and/or solid fuel, other than
during startup, for a total of more than 400 hours.
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6. [Reserved.]

7. [Reserved.]

8. [Reserved.]

9. The owner or operator shall notify the Department, at least 15 days prior to the date on which each

formal compliance test is to begin, of the date, time, and place of each such test, and the test contact

person who will be responsible for coordinating and having such test conducted for the owner or

operator. h : .
(b) Special Compliance Tests. When the Department, after investigation, has good reason (such as
complaints, increased visible emissions or questionable maintenance of control equipment) to believe
that any applicable emission standard contained in a Department rule or in a permit issued pursuant to
those rules is being violated, it may require the owner or operator of the emissions unit to conduct
compliance tests which identify the nature and quantity of pollutant emissions from the emissions unit
and to provide a report on the results of said tests to the Department.
(c) Waiver of Compliance Test Requirements. If the owner or operator of an emissions unit that is
subject to a compliance test requirement demonstrates to the Department, pursuant to the procedure
established in Rule 62-297.620, F.A.C., that the compliance of the emissions unit with an applicable
weight emission limiting standard can be adequately determined by means other than the designated test
procedure, such as specifying a surrogate standard of no visible emissions for particulate matter sources
equipped with a bag house or specifying a fuel analysis for sulfur dioxide emissions, the Department
shall waive the compliance test requirements for such emissions units and order that the alternate means
of determining compliance be used, provided, however, the provisions of Rule 62-297.310(7)(b), F.A.C.,
shall apply.
[Rule 62-297.310(7), F.A.C.; and, SIP approved]

Recordkeeping and Reporting Requirements

C.9. The permittee shall notify the Department’s Southwest District Office in writing at least 15 days
prior to the date an which a compliance test is to begin. The notice shall include the date, time, and place
of each test. ' : -

[1010056-001-AC, Specific Condition No. 8]
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Subsection D. This section addresses the following emissions unit.

E.U. :
ID No. | Brief Description

-007 Fugitive Landfill Gas Emissions

Although the Pasco County Landfill is primarily an ash landfill, it also accepts small amounts of
municipal solid waste (MSW) as bypass from the associated municipal waste combustors. The landfill
has accepted waste since 1987, and the current design capacity is estimated to be 18,586,137 cubic yards
(14,210,031 cubic meters). Total area of waste placement storage is estimated at 238 acres.
Approximately 619,296 tons (522,805 megagrams) of ash have been accepted between 1991 and 1999.
Approximately 45,390 tons (41,175 megagrams) of MSW bypass were accepted in the same period.
There is no gas collection and control system in place. All emissions from the landfill are fugitive.

The scheduled landfill closure date is 2067. In compliance with 40 CFR Subpart Cc regulations adopted
and incorporated by Rule 62-204.800(8), F.A.C., NMOC emissions from the landfill were calculated.
Tier I calculations yielded an NMOC value for 1999 of 8.9 megagrams per year (Mg/year), which is less
than the threshold NMOC value of 50 Mg/yr., and therefore a gas collection and control system was not
installed at this landfill site.

{Permitting notes: This emissions unit is regulated under 40 CFR 60, Subpart Cc, Emissions Guidelines
and Compliance Times for Municipal Solid Waste Landfills, adopted and incorporated by reference,
subject to provisions, in Rule 62-204.800(8)(c), F.A.C. Also, please note that conditions in 40 CFR 60,
Subpart Cc, are contained in 40 CFR 60, Subpart WWW .}

The following Specific Conditions apply to the emissions units listed above:

General

D.1. Designated Facility. -
(a) The designated facility to which the guidelines apply is each existing MSW landfill

(i) for which construction, reconstructlon or modification was commenced before May 30, 1991;
and
(i) which has accepted waste at any time since November 8 1987, or has additional design capacnty
available for future waste deposition.
(b) Physical or operational changes made to an existing MSW landfill solely to comply with the
provisions of Rule 62-204.800(8)(c), F.A.C. are not considered a modification or reconstruction and
would not subject an existing MSW landfill to the requirements of 40 CFR 60, Subpart WWW [see 40
CFR 60.750].
(d) When a MSW landfill subject to 40 CFR 60, Subpart Cc is closed, the owner or operator is no
longer subject to the requirement to maintain an operating permit under 40 CFR 70 or 71 for the landfill
if the landfill is not otherwise subject to the requirements of either 40 CFR 70 or 71 and if either of the
following conditions are met.
(1) The landfill was never subject to the req uirement for a control system under Rule 62-
204.800(8)(c)3.; or
(2) The owner or operator meets the conditions for control system removal specified in 40 CFR
60.752(b)(2)(v).
[Rules 62-204.800(8)(c)1. & 3., F.A.C.; 40 CFR 60.32c; and, 40 CFR 60.33¢c(a)(1)]
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D.2. Definitions. For the purposes of Rule 62-204.800(8), F.A.C., the definitions contained in the
various provisions of 40 CFR Part 60, adopted herein shall apply except that the term "Administrator"
when used in 40 CFR Part 60, shall mean the Secretary or the Secretary's designee.

[Rule 62-204.800(8)(a)2., F.A.C.; and, 40 CFR 60.2]

D.3. Definitions — Subpart Cc. The terms used but not defined in 40 CFR 60, Subpart Cc have the
meaning given to them in the Act and in Subparts A, B, and WWW of 40 CFR 60.
[Rule 62-204.800(8)(c)2., F.A.C.; and, 40 CFR 60.31c]

D.4. Standards for Air Emissions from MSW Landfills. Any MSW landfill which has a design capacity
greater than or equal to 2.5 million Megagrams and 2.5 million cubic meters but whose NMOC emission
rate as of December 31, 1996, is less than 50 Megagrams per year shall comply with the provisions of 40
CFR 60.752(b)(2)(i) through (v) (see specific condition D.5.) commencing from December 31 of the first
year after 1996 for which the nonmethane organic compound emission rate equals or exceeds 50
Megagrams per year.

[Rule 62-204.800(8)(c)3.b., F.A.C.]

D.5. Collection and Control System Requirements.
2 If the calculated NMOC emission rate is equal to or greater than 50 megagrams per year, the

owner or operator shall:

(i) Submit a collection and control system desngn plan prepared by a professnonal engineer to the

Administrator within 1 year:

(A) The collection and control system as described in the plan shall meet the design
requirements of paragraph (ii) below.

(B) The collection and control system design plan shall include any alternatives to the
operational standards, test methods, procedures, compliance measures, monitoring,
recordkeeping or reporting provisions of 40 CFR 60.753 through 60.758 proposed by the owner
or operator.

© The collection and control system design plan shall either conform with specifications
for active collection systems in 40 CFR 60.759 or include a demonstration to the Administrator's
satisfaction of the sufficiency of the alternative provisions to 40 CFR 60.759.

(D) The Administrator shall review the information submitted under paragraphs (i) (A),(B)
and (C) above and either approve it, disapprove it, or request that additional information be
submitted. Because of the many site-specific factors involved with landfill gas system design,
alternative systems may be necessary. A wide variety of system designs are possible, such as
vertical wells, combination horizontal and vertical collection systems, or horizontal trenches
only, leachate collection components, and passive systems.

(i) Install a collection and control system that captures the gas generated within the landfill as
required by paragraphs (ii)(A) or (B) and (iii) below within 30 months after the first annual
report in which the emission rate equals or exceeds 50 megagrams per year, unless Tier 2 or
Tier 3 sampling demonstrates that the emission rate is less than 50 megagrams per year, as
specified in 40 CFR 60.757(c)(1) or (2).

(A) An active collection system shall:
(1) Be designed to handle the maximum expected gas flow rate from the entire area of the
landfill that warrants control over the intended use period of the gas control or treatment
system equipment;
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(2) Collect gas from each area, cell, or group of cells in the landfill in which the initial solid
waste has been placed for a period of:
(i) 5 years or more if active; or
(ii) 2 years or more if closed or at final grade;
(3) Collect gas at a sufficient extraction rate;
(4) Be designed to minimize off-site migration of subsurface gas.
(B) A passive collection system shall:
(1) Comply with the provisions specified in paragraphs (b)(2)(ii), (A) (1), (2), and (4) of
this section.
(2) Be installed with liners on the bottom and all sides in all areas in which gas is to be
collected. The liners shall be installed as required under Sec. 258.40 of this title.
(iii) Route all the collected gas to a control system that complies with the requirements in either
paragraph (iii) (A), (B) or (C) below.
A) An open flare designed and operated in accordance w1th 40 CFR 60.18;
(B) A control system designed and operated to reduce NMOC by 98 weight-percent, or,
when an enclosed combustion device is used for control, to either reduce NMOC by 98 weight
percent or reduce the outlet NMOC concentration to less than 20 parts per million by volume,
dry basis as hexane at 3 percent oxygen. The reduction efficiency or parts per million by volume
shall be established by an initial performance test to be completed no later than 180 days after
the initial startup of the approved control system using the test methods specified in 40 CFR
60.754(d). '
©) Route the collected gas to a treatment system that processes the collected gas for
subsequent sale or use. All emissions from any atmospheric vent from the gas treatment system
shall be subject to the requirements of paragraph (iii) (A) or (B) above.
(iv) Operate the collection and control device installed to comply with 40 CFR 60, Subpart WWW in
accordance with the provisions of 40 CFR 60.753, 60.755 and 60.756, and applicable provisions of
60.757, 60.758, and Rules 62-213.440 and 62-297.310(8), F.A.C..
(v) The collection and control system may be capped or removed provided that all the conditions of
paragraphs (v) (A), (B), and (C) below are met:
(A) The landfill shall be a closed landfill as defined in 40 CFR 60.751. A closure report shall be
submitted to the Administrator as provided in 40 CFR 60.757(d);
(B) The collection and control system shall have been in operation a minimum of 15 years; and
(C) Following the procedures specified in 40 CFR 60:754(b), the calculated NMOC gas
produced by the landfill shall be less than 50 megagrams per year on three successive test dates.
The test dates shall be no less than 90 days apart, and no more than 180 days apart.
[40 CFR 60.752(b)(2)(1) through (v)]

D.6. Hours of Operation. The landfill may operate continuously, i.e., 8,760 hrs/yr.
[Rules 62-213.440 and 62-210.200(PTE), F.A.C.]

Test Methods and Procedures

D.7. The provisions of 40 CFR 60.754, as applicable, shall be used to calculate the landfill NMOC
emission rate for the purposes of the submittal of NMOC emission rate reports and determining whether
the landfill has a nonmethane organic compound (NMOC) emission rate of 50 Megagrams per year or

more.
[Rule 62-204.800(c)5., F.A.C.]
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D.8. Method of Calculating NMOC Emissions. _

The landfill owner or operator shall calculate the NMOC emission rate using either the equation

- provided in paragraph (i) below or the equation provided in paragraph (ii) below. Both equations may be
used if the actual year-to-year solid waste acceptance rate is known, as specified in paragraph (i), for part
of the life of the landfill and the actual year-to-year solid waste acceptance rate is unknown, as specified
in paragraph (ii), for part of the life of the landfill. The values to be used in both equations are 0.05 per
year for k, 170 cubic meters per megagram for L., and 4,000 parts per million by volume as hexane for
the Cyuoc. For landfills located in geographical areas with a thirty year annual average precipitation of
less than 25 inches, as measured at the nearest representative official meteorologic site, the k value to be
used is 0.02 per year. '

(i) The following equation shall be used if the actual year-to-year solid waste acceptance rate is known.

X -kt. )
Muwoc = 9 2KL,M; (€™ XCopoc )(3.6 X 10°)

i=l
where,

Myumoc = Total NMOC emission rate from the landfill, megagrams per year
k = methane generation rate constant, year™ '

L, = methane generation potential, cubic meters per megagram solid waste
M; = mass of solid waste in the i section, megagrams

t, = age of the i" section, years

Cumoc = concentration of NMOC, parts per million by volume as hexane
3.6 x 10”°= conversion factor

The mass of nondegradable solid waste may be subtracted from the total mass of solid waste in a
particular section of the landfill when calculating the value for M; if documentation of the nature and
amount of such wastes is maintained.

(ii) The following equation shall be used if the actual year-to-year solid waste acceptance rate is
unknown.

Moc = 2LR(e™ - €*) (Camoc) (3.6 x 107)
where,

Muwmoc = mass emission rate of NMOC, megagrams per year

L, = methane generation potential, cubic meters per megagram solid waste
R = average annual acceptance rate, megagrams per year

k = methane generation rate constant, year

t = age of landfill, years

Cumoc = concentration of NMOC, parts per million by volume as hexane

¢ = time since closure, years. For active landfill c =0 and e* =1

3.6 x 10® = conversion factor
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The mass of nondegradable solid waste may be subtracted from the average annual acceptance
rate when calculating a value for R, if documentation of the nature and amount of such wastes is
maintained.

[40 CFR 60.754(a)(1)]

D.9. Requirements if Calculated NMOC Emissions are less than 50 megagrams per vear.

Tier 1. The owner or operator shall compare the calculated NMOC mass emission rate to the standard of
50 megagrams per year.

(i) If the NMOC emission rate calculated in 40 CFR 60.754(a)(1) is less than 50 megagrams per
year, then the landfill owner shall submit an emission rate report as provided in 40 CFR 60.757(b)(1),
and shall recalculate the NMOC mass emission rate annually as required under 40 CFR 60.752(b)(1).
(i1) If the calculated NMOC emission rate is equal to or greater than 50 megagrams per year, then
the landfill owner shall either comply with 40 CFR 60.752(b)(2), or determine a site-specific NMOC
concentration and recalculate the NMOC emission rate using the procedures provided in 40 CFR
60.754(a)(3).

[40 CFR 60.754(a)(2)]

D.10. Method for Determining Site-Specific NMOC Emissions.

Tier 2. The landfill owner or operator shall determine the NMOC concentration using the following
sampling procedure.  The landfill owner or operator shall install at least two sample probes per hectare of
landfill surface that has retained waste for at least 2 years. If the landfill is larger than 25 hectares in
area, only 50 samples are required. The sample probes should be located to avoid known areas of
nondegradable solid waste. The owner or operator shall collect and analyze one sample of landfill gas
from each probe to determine the NMOC concentration using Method 25C or Method 18 of 40 CFR 60
Appendix A. If using Method 18 of 40 CFR 60 Appendix A, the minimum list of compounds to- be
tested shall be those published in the most recent Compilation of Air Pollutant Emission Factors (AP-
42). If composite sampling is used, equal volumes shall be taken from each sample probe. If more than
the required number of samples are taken, all samples shall be used in the analysis. The landfill owner or
operator shall divide the NMOC concentration from Method 25C of 40 CFR 60 Appendix A by six to
convert from Cyyoc as carbon to Cyyoc as hexane.

6) The landfill owner or operator shall recalculate the NMOC mass emission rate using the
equations provided in 40 CFR 60.754(a)(1)(i) or (a)(1)(ii) and using the average NMOC concentration
from the collected samples instead of the default value in the equation provided in 40 CFR 60.754(a)(1).
(i) If the resulting mass emission rate calculated using the site-specific NMOC concentration is
equal to or greater than 50 megagrams per year, then the landfill owner or operator shall either comply
with 40 CFR 60.752(b)(2), or determine the site-specific methane generation rate constant and
recalculate the NMOC emission rate using the site-specific methane generation rate using the procedure
specified in 40 CFR 60.754(a)(4).

(iii)  If the resulting NMOC mass emission rate is less than 50 megagrams per year, the owner or
operator shall submit a periodic estimate of the emission rate report as provided in 40 CFR 60.757(b)(1)
and retest the site-specific NMOC concentration every 5 years using the methods specified in 40 CFR
60.754(a)(3).

[40 CFR 60.754(a)(3)]

D.11. Method for Determining Site-Specific Methane Generation Rate.

Tier 3. The site-specific methane generation rate constant shall be determined using the procedures
provided in Method 2E of 40 CFR 60 Appendix A. The landfill owner or operator shall estimate the
NMOC mass emission rate using equations in 40 CFR 60.754(a)(1)(i) or (a)(1)(ii) and using a site-
specific methane generation rate constant k, and the site-specific NMOC concentration as determined in
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40 CFR 60.754(a)(3) instead of the default values provided in 40 CFR 60.754(a)(1). The landfill owner
or operator shall compare the resulting NMOC mass emission rate to the standard of 50 megagrams per
year.

(1) If the NMOC mass emission rate as calculated using the site-specific methane generation rate
and concentration of NMOC is equal to or greater than 50 megagrams per year, the owner or operator
shall comply with 40 CFR 60.752(b)(2).

(ii) If the NMOC mass emission rate is less than 50 megagrams per year, then the owner or operator
shall submit a periodic emission rate report as provided in 40 CFR 60.757(b)(1) and shall recalculate the
NMOC mass emission rate annually, as provided in 40 CFR 60.757(b)(1) using the equations in 40 CFR
60.754(a)(1) and using the site-specific methane generation rate constant and NMOC concentration
obtained in 40 CFR 60.754(a)(3). The calculation of the methane generation rate constant is performed
only once, and the value obtained from this test shall be used in all subsequent annual NMOC emission
rate calculations.

[40 CFR 60.754(a)(4)]

D.12. Alternative Methods. The owner or operator may use other methods to determine the NMQOC
concentration or a site-specific k as an alternative to the methods required in 40 CFR 60. 754(a)(3) and
(a)(4) if the method has been approved by the Administrator. -

[40 CFR 60.754(a)(5)]

Reporting Requirements

D.13. The NMOC emission rate shall be recalculated annually, except as provided in 40 CFR

60.757(b)(1)(ii). _

(1) = Ifthe calculated NMOC emission rate is less than 50 megagrams per year, the owner or operator

shall: '

(i) submit an annual emission report, except as provided for in 40 CFR 60.757(b)(1)(ii); and
(ii) recalculate the NMOC emission rate annually using the procedures specified in 40 CFR
60.754(a)(1) until such time as the calculated NMOC emission rate is equal to or greater than 50
megagrams per year, or the landfill is closed.

(2) (i) If the NMOC emission rate, upon initial calculation or annual recalculation required in paragraph
(1)(ii) above, is equal to or greater than 50 megagrams per year, the owner or operator shall mstall a
collection and control system as provided in 40 CFR 60.752(b)(2).

(ii) If the landfill is permanently closed, a closure notification shall be submitted to the
Administrator as provided in 40 CFR 60.757(d).
{40 CFR 60.33c(e)]

D.14. Reporting. Each owner or operator of an MSW landfill to which Rule 62-204.800(8)(c), F.A.C.,
applies shall comply with the reporting provisions of 40 CFR 60 757, as applicable.
[Rule 62-204.800(c)5., F.A.C.]

D.15. Notification of anv Increase in Design Capacity. An amended design capacity report shall be
submitted to the Administrator providing notification of an increase in the design capacity of the landfill,
within 90 days of an increase in the maximum design capacity of the landfill to or above 2.5 million
megagrams and 2.5 million cubic meters. This increase in design capacity may result from an increase in
the permitted volume of the landfill or an increase in the density as documented in the annual
recalculation required in 40 CFR 60.758(f).

[40 CFR 60.757(a)(3)]
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D.16. Annual NMOC Emission Rate. Each owner or operator subject to the requirements of Rule 62-

204.800(8)(c), F.A.C., shall submit an NMOC emission rate report to the Administrator annually, except

as provided for in paragraphs (1)(ii) or (3) below. The Administrator may request such additional

information as'may be necessary to verify the reported NMOC emission rate.

") The NMOC emission rate report shall contain an annual or 5-year estimate of the NMOC

emission rate calculated using the formula and procedures provided in 40 CFR 60.754(a) or (b), as

applicable. :
(i) NMOC emission rate reports shall be submitted annually, except as provided for in paragraphs
(1)(ii) and (3) below.
(i1) If the estimated NMOC emission rate as reported in the annual report to the Administrator is less
than 50 megagrams per year in each of the next 5 consecutive years, the owner or operator may elect
to submit an estimate of the NMOC emission rate for the next 5-year period in lieu of the annual
report. This estimate shall include the current amount of solid waste-in-place and the estimated
waste acceptance rate for each year of the 5 years for which an NMOC emission rate is estimated.
All data and calculations upon which this estimate is based shall be provided to the Administrator.
This estimate shall be revised at least once every 5 years. If the actual waste acceptance rate exceeds
the estimated waste acceptance rate in any year reported in the 5-year estimate, a revised 5-year
estimate shall be submitted to the Administrator. The revised estimate shall cover the 5-year period
beginning with the year in which the actual waste acceptance rate exceeded the estimated waste
acceptance rate. '

2 The NMOC emission rate report shall include all the data, calculations, sample reports and

measurements used to estimate the annual or 5-year emissions. ‘

3) Each owner or operator subject to the requirements of 40 CFR 60, Subpart Cc is exempted from

the requirements of paragraphs (1) and (2) above, after the installation of a collection and control system

in compliance with 40 CFR 60.752(b)(2), during such time as the collection and control system is in

operation and in compliance with 40 CFR 60.753 and 60.755.

[Rule 62-204.800(8)(c)S., F.A.C.; and, 40 CFR 60.757(b)]

D.17. Collection and Control System Design Plan. Each owner or operator subject to the provisions of
40 CFR 60.752(b)(2)(i) shall submit a collection and control system design plan to the Administrator
within 1 year of the first report, required under 40 CFR 60.757(b), in which the emission rate exceeds 50
megagrams per year, except as follows: :
N If the owner or operator elects to recalculate the NMOC emission rate after Tier 2 NMOC
sampling and analysis as provided in 40 CFR 60.754(a)(3) and the resulting rate is less than 50
megagrams per year, annual periodic reporting shall be resumed, using the Tier 2 determined site-
specific NMOC concentration, until the calculated emission rate is equal to or greater than 50
megagrams per year or the landfill is closed. The revised NMOC emission rate report, with the
recalculated emission rate based on NMOC sampling and analysis, shall be submitted within 180 days of
the first calculated exceedance of 50 megagrams per year.
2) [f the owner or operator elects to recalculate the NMOC emission rate after determining a site-
specific methane generation rate constant (k), as provided in Tier 3 in 40 CFR 60.754(a)(4), and the
resulting NMOC emission rate is less than 50 Mg/yr, annual periodic reporting shall be resumed. The

. resulting site-specific methane generation rate constant (k) shall be used in the emission rate calculation
until such time as the emissions rate calculation results in an exceedance. The revised NMOC emission
rate report based on the provisions of 40 CFR 60.754(a)(4) and the resulting site-specific methane
generation rate constant (k) shall be submitted to the Administrator within 1 year of the first calculated
emission rate exceeding 50 megagrams per year.
[40 CFR 60.757(c)]
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D.18. [Reserved.]

D.19. Uncontrolled Landfill Closure Report. Each owner or operator of an uncontrolled landfill shali
submit a closure report to the DEP Southwest District Office within 30 days of waste acceptance
cessation. The Department may request additional information as may be necessary to verify that
permanent closure has taken place in accordance with the requirements of 40 CFR 258.60. If a closure
report has been submitted to the Department, no additional wastes may be placed into the landfill without
filing a notification of modification as described under 40 CFR 60.7(a)(4).

[Rule 62-213.440, F.A.C.]

Recordkeeping Requirements

D.20. [Reserved.]

D.21. Capacity and Acceptance Reports. Except as provided in 40 CFR 60.752(b)(2)(i)(B), each owner
or operator of an MSW landfill subject to the provisions of 40 CFR 60.752(b) shall keep for at least 5
years up-to-date, readily accessible, on-site records of the design capacity report which triggered 40 CFR
60.752(b), the current amount of solid waste in-place, and the year-by-year waste acceptance rate. Off-
site records may be maintained if they are retrievable within 4 hours. Either paper copy or electronic
~ formats are acceptable.

[40 CFR 60.758(a)]

D.22. Design Capacity Calculations. Landfill owners or operators who convert design capacity from
volume to mass or mass to volume to demonstrate that landfill design capacity is less than 2.5 million

megagrams or 2.5 million cubic meters, as provided in the definition of "*design capacity”, shall keep

readily accessible, on-site records of the annual recalculation of site-specific density, design capacity,

and the supporting documentation. Off-site records may be maintained if they are retrievable within 4
hours. Either paper copy or electronic formats are acceptable.

[40 CFR 60.758(f)]

D.23. Recordkeeping. Each owner or operator of a an MSW landfill to which Rule 62-204.800(8)(c),
F.A.C., applies shall comply with the recordkeeping provisions of 40 CFR 60.758, as applicable.
[40 CFR 60.758]
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Subsection E. This section addresses the following emissions unit.

E.U. :
ID No. | Brief Description

-008 Ash Building and Handling System

Emission Limitations and Standards
{Permitting note: Table 1-1, Summary of Air Pollutant Standards and Terms, summarizes information
for convenience purposes only. This table does not supersede any of the terms or conditions of this

permit.}

Fugitive Ash Visible Emissions

E.1.  Fugitive Ash Visible Emissions.

(a) On and after the date on which the initial performance test is completed or is required to be
completed under 40 CFR 60.8 of Subpart A, no owner or operator of an affected facility shall cause to be
discharged to the atmosphere visible emissions of combustion ash from an ash conveying system
(including conveyor transfer points) in excess of 5 percent of the observation period (i.e., 9 minutes per
3-hour period), as determined by EPA Reference Method 22 observations as specified in 40 CFR
60.58b(k), except as provided in paragraphs (b) and (c). See Specific Condition E.2.

(b) The emission limit specified in paragraph (a) does not cover visible emissions discharged inside
buildings or enclosures of ash conveying systems; however, the emission limit specified in paragraph (a)
does cover visible emissions discharged to the atmosphere from buildings or enclosures of ash conveying
systems. _ '

(c) The provisions of paragraph (a) do not apply during maintenance and repair of ash conveying
systems. ' ’

- [40 CFR 60.36b and 40 CFR 60.55b]

Test Methods and Procedures

{Permitting note: Table 2-1, Summary of Compliance Requirements, summarizes information for
convenience purposes only. This table does not supersede any of the terms or conditions of this permit.}

Fugitive Ash

E.2. The procedures specified in paragraphs (1) through (4) shall be used for determining compliance
with the fugitive ash emission limit under 40 CFR 60.55b.

(1) The EPA Reference Method 22 shall be used for determining compliance with the fugitive ash
emission limit under 40 CFR 60.55b. The minimum observation time shall be a series of three 1-hour
observations. The observation period shall include times when the facility is transferring ash from the
municipal waste combustor unit to the area where ash is stored or loaded into containers or trucks.

(2) The average duration of visible emissions per hour shall be calculated from the three 1-hour
observations. The average shall be used to determine compliance with 40 CFR 60.55b.

(3) The owner or operator of an affected facility shall conduct an initial performance test for fugitive ash
emissions as required under 40 CFR 60.8. .

(4) Following the date that the initial performance test for fugitive ash emissions is completed or is

- required to be completed under Sec. 60.8 for an affected facility, the owner or operator shall conduct a
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performance test for fugitive ash emissions on an annual basis (no more than 12 calendar months
following the previous performance test).
[40 CFR 60.38b and 40 CFR 60.58b(k)]
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~ Appendix U-1. List of Unregulated Emissions Units and/or Activities.

Unregulated Emissions Units and/or Activities. An emissions unit which emits no ‘“emissions-
limited pollutant” and which is subject to no unit-specific work practice standard, though it may
be subject to regulations applied on a facility-wide basis (e.g., unconfined emissions, odor,
general opacity) or to regulations that require only that it be able to prove exemption from unit-
specific emissions or work practice standards.

The below listed emissions unit and/or activity is neither a ‘regulated emissions unit’ nor an
‘insignificant emissions unit’. '

No. - | Brief Description

-006 Cooling Tower
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Appendix I-1. List of Insignificant Emissions Units and/or Activities.

The facilities, emissions units, or pollutant-emitting activities listed in Rule 62-210.300(3)(a), F.A.C.,
Categorical Exemptions, are exempt from the permitting requirements of Chapters 62-210 and 62-4,
F.A.C.; provided, however, that exempt emissions units shall be subject to any applicable emission
limiting standards and the emissions from exempt emissions units or activities shall be considered in
determining the potential emissions of the facility containing such emissions units. Emissions units and
pollutant-emitting activities exempt from permitting under Rule 62-210.300(3)(a), F.A.C., shall not be
exempt from the permitting requirements of Chapter 62-213, F.A.C., if they are contained within a Title
V source; however, such emissions units and activities shall be considered insignificant for Title V
purposes provided they also meet the criteria of Rule 62-213.430(6)(b), F.A.C. No emissions unit shall
be entitled to an exemption from permitting under Rule 62.210.300(3)(a), F.A.C,, if its emissions, in
combination with the emissions of other units and activities at the facility, would cause the facility to
emit or have the potential to emit any pollutant in such amount as to make the facility a Title V source.

The below listed emissions units and/or activities are considered insignificant pursuant to Rule 62-
213.430(6), F.A.C.

‘Brief Description of Emissions. Units and/or Activities

Fire and Safety Equipment

Paint

Diesel Storage Tanks (300 gallons, 1100 gallons)

Vehicular Traffic

Generator

Refuse Pit

Mineral Spirit Drums

Cooling Water Treatment Bulk Drum

Flanges and Valves

Natural Gas Dryer

Indoor Lime Storage Silo

Sulfuric Acid Tank (4500 gallons)

Sodium Hydroxide Tank (4500 gallons)

Ammonia Tank (10000 gallons at 19% solution)

Chlorine Cylinders (1350 pounds, total)

T S e S s S R S R L R R R N

Propane Tank (30000 gallons)
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Appendix H-1. Permit History/ID Number Changes

Pasco County Resource Recovery Facility Permit No.: 1010056-002-AV

Facility ID No.: 1010056

Permit History (for tracking purposes):

E.U.

-~ | Permit No. -

ID No | Description ; > IssueDate ‘Expiration Date. - ':Ekt:e:ndedf'Ddte"z Revised Date(s)
-001 | Municipal Waste Combustion Unit | PSD-FL-127 09/22/88 06/25/97
No. 1
-002 | Municipal Waste Combustion Unit | PSD-FL-127 09/22/88 ' , 06/25/97
No. 2 ‘ ,
-003 | Municipal Waste Combustion Unit | PSD-FL-127 09/22/88 06/25/97
No. 3 '
-004 | Storage Silo for Activated Carbon | AC51-266667 | 04/20/95 | 03/15/98
-005 | Leachate Treatment Facility 1010056-001- | 03/20/96 | 08/20/97
AC :
-1010056-003- | 03/13/97 | 08/20/97

AC

(if applicable) ID Number Changes (for tracking purposes):

From: Facility ID No.: 40TPA510056

N

To:  Facility ID No.: 1010056

Notes:
1 - AO permit(s) automatic extension(s) in Rule 62-210.300(2)(a)3 .a., F.A.C., effective 03/21/96.
2 - AC permit(s) automatic extension(s) in Rule 62-213.420(1)(a)4., F.A.C., effective 03/20/96.

{Rule 62-213.420(1)(b)2., F.A.C., allows Title V Sources to operate under valid permits that were in effect at the time of application until the Title V
permit becomes effective}



Table 1-1, Air Pollutant Standards and Terms

Pasco County

Pasco County Resource Recovery Facility

Permit No.:

1010056-002-AV
Facility ID No.: 1010056

This table summarizes information for convenience purposes only. This table does not supersede any of the terms or conditions of this permit, or add any conditions.

-001 MWC Unit No. 1 PM MsSwW 8760 27 mg per dscm 6.8 29.784 40 CFR 60.33b{a}({1){i} A.16.
-002 MWC Unit No. 2 NO,’ MSW 8760 205 ppmv. 26.9 117.822 40 CFR 60.33b{d)] A.29.
-003 MWC Unit No. 3 co Msw 8760 100 ppmv 92.8 406.464 40 CFR 60.34b(a}] A.31.
Cadmium MsSwW 8760 0.040 mg per dscm ’ 40 CFR 60.33bla){2)(i) A.18
Mercury MSwW 8760 0.070 mg per dscm 0.18 0.7884 40 CFR 60.33b{a)(3) A.19.
Lead MsSwW 8760 0.44 mg per dscm 0.1 0.438 40 CFR 60.33b{a){4) A.21.
Fluoride MSW 8760 0.008 Ib/MMBtu 0.15 0.657 PSD-FL-127, SC No. 3 A.23.
Beryllium MsSwW 8760 1.35 x 107 Ib/MMBtu 0.0000189| 8.2782E-05 PSD-FL-127, SC No: 3 A.24.
vOoC MsSwW 8760 0.021 tb/MMBtu 71 31.098 PSD-FL-127, SC No. 3 A.25.
502 MSwW 8760 29 ppmv 35.8 156.804 40 CFR 60.33b(b)(3)i) A.26.
HCI MSW 8760 29 ppmv : 40 CFR 60.33b(b)(3){ii) A.27.
Dioxins/Furans MswW 8760 30 nanograms per dscm 40 CFR 60.33b{c)(1){ii) A.28.
Opacity MSW 8760 Not > 10% 40 CFR 60.33b(a){1){i
*for each MWC

-004 Storage Silo for Carbon PM 0.084 0.37 AC51-266667 B.4.
Opacity Not > 5% AC51-266667 B.3.

-005 Leachate Treatment PM 0.52 2.26 1010056-001-AC c.4.
Opacity Not > 5% 1010056-001-AC c.3

-008 Ash Building Opacity Not > 5% 40 CFR 60.36b; 40 CFR 60.55b E.1




Appendix BW, Biomedical Waste Definitions

- The following definitions are excerpted from Rule 64E-16.002 Definitions, Florida Administrative
Code (version dated 6/3/97). For ease of reference, the rule numbering has been retained.

(2) Biomedical Waste -- Any solid or liquid waste which may present a threat of infection to humans,
including nonliquid tissue, body parts, blood, blood products, and body fluids from humans and other
primates; laboratory and veterinary wastes which contain human disease-causing agents; and
discarded sharps. The following are also included:

(a) Used, absorbent materials saturated with blood, blood products body fluids, or excretions or
secretions contaminated with visible blood; and absorbent materials saturated with blood or
blood products that have dried.

(b) Non-absorbent, disposable devices that have been contaminated with blood, body fluids, or
secretions or excretions visibly contaminated with blood, but have not been treated by an
approved method. :

(3) Biomedical Waste Generator -- A facility or person that produces biomedical waste. The term
includes hospitals, skilled nursing or convalescent hospitals, intermediate care facilities, clinics,
dialysis clinics, dental offices, health maintenance organizations, surgical clinics, medical buildings,
physicians' offices, laboratories, veterinary clinics and funeral homes.

(a) Mobile health care units, such as bloodmobiles, that are part of a stationary biomedical waste
generator, are not considered individual biomedical waste generators.
(b) Funeral homes that do not practice embalming are not considered biomedical waste generators.

(4) Body Fluids -- Those fluids which have the potential to harbor pathogens, such as human
immunodeficiency virus and hepatitis B virus and include blood, blood products, lymph, semen,
vaginal secretions, cerebrospinal, synovial, pleural, peritoneal, pericardial and amniotic fluids. In
instances where identification of the fluid cannot be made, it shall be considered to be a regulated
body fluid.. Body excretions such as feces and secretions such as nasal discharges, saliva, sputum,
sweat, tears, urine, and vomitus shall not be considered blomedlcal waste unless visibly
contaminated with blood.

[electronic file name: bw.doc]
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APPENDIX TV-3, TITLE V CONDITIONS (version dated 04/30/99)

[Note: This artachment includes “canned conditions™ developed from the “Title V Core List.™)

{Permitting note: APPENDIX TV-3, TITLE V CONDITIONS, is distributed to the permittee only. Other persons requesting copies
of these conditions shall be provided one copy when requested or otherwise appropriate. }

Chaoter 62-4. F.A.C.

1. Not federaily enforceable. General Prohibition. Any stationary installation which will reasonably be expected to be a source of
pollution shall not be operated, maintained, or modified without the appropriate and valid permits issued by the Department, unless
the source is exempted by Department rule.  The Department may issue a permit only after it receives reasonable assurance that the
installation will not cause pollution in violation of any of the provisions of Chapter 403, F.S., or the rules promulgated thereunder.

A permined installation may only be operated, maintained, constructed, expanded or modified in a manner that is consistent with the
terms of the permit '

[Rule 62-4.030, Florida Administrative Code (F.A.C.); Section 403.087, Florida Statute (F.S.)]

2. Not federally enforceable. Procedure to Obtain Permits: Aoplication.

(1) Any person desiring to obtain a permit from the Department shall apply on forms prescribed by the Department and shall submit

such additional information as the'Department by law may require.

(2) All applications and supporting documents shall be filed in quadruplicate with the Department.

(3) To ensure protection of public health, safety, and welfare, any construction, modification, or operation of an installation which

may be a source of pollution shall be in accordance with sound professional engineering practices pursuant to Chapter 471, F.S. All

applications for a Department permit shall be certified by a professional engineer registered in the State of Florida except when the
application is for renewal of an air pollution operation permit at a minor facility as defined in Rule 62-210.200, FA.C., or where
professional engineering is not required by Chapter 471, F.S. Where required by Chapter 471 or 492, F.S., applicable portions of
permit applications and supporting documents which are submitted to the Dcpartmcnt for public record shall be signed and sealed by
the professional(s) who prepared or approved them. :

(4) Processing fees for air construction permits shall be in a.ccordancc with Rule 62-4.050(4), FA.C.

(5)(@) To be considered by the Department, each application must be accompanied by the proper processing fee. The fee shall be
paid by check, payable to the Department of Environmental Protection. The fe¢ is non-refundable except as provided in
Section 120.60, F.S., and in this section.

(c) Upon recceipt of the proper application fee, the permit processing time requirements of Sections 120.60(2) and 403.0876,
F.S., shall begin. -

(d) If the applicant does not submit the required fee within ten days of receipt of written notification, the Department shall
cither retum the unprocessed application or arrange with the applicant for the pick up of the application.

() If an applicant submits an application fec in excess of the required fec, the permit processing time requirements of Sections
120.60(2) and 403.0876, F.S., shall begin upon receipt, and the Department shall refund to the applicant the amount received
in excess of the required fee.

(6) Any substantial modification to a complete application shall require an additional processing fee determined pursuant to the

schedule set forth in Rule 62-4.050, F.A.C., and shall restart the time requirements of Sections 120.60 and 403.0876, F.S. For

purposes of this Subsection, the term “substantial modification” shall mean a modification which is reasonably cxpcc!.:d to lead to
substantially different environmental impacts which require a detailed review.

(7) Modifications to existing permits proposed by the permittee which require substantial changes in the existing permit or require

substantial evaluation by the Department of potential impacts of the proposed modifications shall require the same fee as a new

application.
[Rufe 62-4.050, F.A.C]

3. Standards for Issuing or Denving Permits. Except as provided at Rule 62-213.460, F.A.C., the issuance of a permit does not

relicve any person from complying with the requirements of Chapter 403, F.S., or Department rules.
[Rule 62~4.070(7), F.A.C]
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APPENDIX TV-3, TITLE V CONDITIONS (version dated 04/30/99) (contmued)
BEST AVAILABLE COPY

4. Modification of Permit Conditions.
(1) For good cause and after notice and an administative hearing, if requested, the Department may require the permittee to
conform to new or additional conditions. The Department shall allow the permittee a reasonable time to conform to the new or
additional conditions and on abplicaxion of the permiuee the Deparunent may grant additional time. For the purpose of this section,
good cause shall include, but not be limited to, any of the following: (also, see Condition No. 38)

(a) A showing that an improvement in effluent or emission quality or quantity can be accomplished because of technological

advarnces without unreasonable hardship.

(b) A showing that a higher degree of treatment is necessary to effect the intent and purpose of Chapter 403, F.S.

(c) A showing of any change in the environment or surrounding conditions that requires a modification o0 conform to

applicable air or water quality standards. A

(¢) Adoption or revision of Florida Statutes, rules, or standards which require the modification of a permit condition for

compliance.
(2) A permittec may request a modification of a permit by applying to-the Department.
(3) A permittee may request that a permit be extended as a modification of the permit. Such a request must be submitted to the
Department in writing before the expiration of the permit. Upon timely submittal of a request for extension, unless the permit
automarically expires by statute or rule, the permit will remain in effect until final agency action is taken on the request. For
construction permits, an extension shall be granted if the applicant can demonstrate reasonable assurances that, upon completion, the
extended permit will comply with the standards and conditions required by applicable regulation. For all other permits, an extension
shall be granted if the applicant can demonstrate reasonable assurances that the extended permit will comply with the standards and
conditions applicable to the original permit. A permit for which the permit application fes was prorated in accordance with Rule 62-
4.050(4)(1), F.A.C., shall not be extended. In no event shall a permit be extended or remain in effect longer than the time limits
established by statute or rule.
[Rule 62-4.080, F.A.C.]

5. Renewals. Prior to one hundred eighty (180) days before the expiration of a permit issued pursuant to Chapter 62-213, F.A.C.,
the permittee shall apply for a renewal of a permit using forms incorporated by reference in the specific rule chapter for that kind of
permit. A rencwal application shall be timely and sufficient. If the application is submitied prior to 180 days before expiration of
the permit, it will be considered timely and sufficient. If the renewal -application is submitted at a later date, it will not be considered
timely and sufficient unless it is submitted and made complete prior to the expiration of the operation permit. When the application
for renewal is timely and sufficient, the existing permit shall remain in effect until the renewal application has been finally acted
upon by the Department or, if there is court review of the Department's final agency. action, unti! a later date is required by Section
120.60, F.S., providcd that, for renewal of a permit issued pursuant to Chapter 62-213, F.A.C., the applicant complies with the
requirements of Rules 62-213.420(1)(b)3. and 4., F.A.C.

Rule 62-4.090(1), FA.C.] '

6. Suspension and Revocation.
(1) Permits shall be effective until suspended, revoked, surrendered, or expired and shall be subject to the provisions of Chapter
403, F.S., and rules of the Department. '
(2) Failure to compiy with pollution control laws and rules shall be grounds for suspension or revocation.
(3) A permit issued pursuant to Chapter 624, F.A.C., shall not become a vested property right in the permittee. The Department
may revoke any permit issued by it if it finds that the permit holder or the permit holder’s agent:
(a) Submitted false or inaccurate information in application or operational reports.
(b) Has violated |aw, Department orders, rules or permit conditions.
(c) Has failed to submit operational reports or other information required by Department rules.
(d) Has refused lawful inspection under Section 403.091, F.S.
[Rule 62-4.100, F.A.C.]

7. Naot federaily enforceable. Financial Resoonsibilitv. The Department may require an applicant to submit proof of financial
responsibility and may require the applicant to post an appropriate bond to guarantee compliance with the law and Department rules.
[Rule 624.110, F.A.C.]
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APPENDIX TV-3, TITLE V CONDITIONS (version dated 04/30/99) (continued)

8. Transfer of Permits.

(1) Within 30 days after the salc or legal transfer of a permitted facility, an "Application for Transfer of Permit® (DEP Form 62-
1.201(1)) must be submitted to the Deparunent. This form must be completed with the notarized signatures of both the permitee
and the propased new permittee.

(2) The Department shall approve the transfer of a permit unless it determines that the proposed new permittee cannot provide
reasonable assurances that conditions of the permit will be met. The determination shall be limited solely to the ability of the new
permittes to comply with the conditions of the existing permit, and it shall not concem the adequacy of these permit conditions. If |
the Deparament proposes to deny the transfer, it shall provide both the permittee and the proposed new permittes a written objection
to such transfer together with notice of a right to request a Chapter 120, F.S., procesding on such determination.

(3) Within 30 days of receiving a properiy complieted Application for Transfer of Permit form, the Department shall issue a final
detzrmination. The Department may toll the time for making a determination on the transfer by notifying both the permittee and the
proposed new penmittee that additional information is required to adequately review the transfer request. Such notification shall be
served within 30 days of receipt of an Application for Transfer of Permit form, completed pursuant to Rule 62-4,120(1), F.A.C. If
the Department fails to take action to approve or deny the transfer within 30 days of reccipt of the completed Application for
Transfer of Permit form, or within 30 days of receipt of the ast item of timely requested additional information, the transfer shall be
decmed approved. .

(4) The permittee is encouraged to apply for a permit transfer prior to the sale or legal transfer of a permitted facility. However, the
transfer shall not be effective prior to the sale or legal transfer.

(5) Until this transfer is approved by the Department, the permittee and any other person constructing, operating, or maintaining the
permitted facility shall be liable for compliance with the terms of the permit. The permittee transferring the permit shall remain
liable for corrective actions that may be required as a result of any violations occurring prior to the sale or legal transfer of the
facility. :

[Rule 62-4.120, F.A.C.]

9. Plant Operation-Problems. If the permittes is temporarily unable to comply with any of the conditions of the permit due to
breakdown of equipment or destruction by hazard of fire, wind or by other cause, the permittee shall immediately notify the
Department. Notification shalf include pertinent information as to the cause of the problem, and what steps are being taken to comrect
the problem and to prevent its recurrence, and where applicable, the owner’s intent toward reconstruction of destroyed facilities.
Such notification does not release the permittee from any liability for failure to comply with Department rules. (also, see Condition
No_. 10) :

[Rule 624.130, F.AC.]

10. For purposes of notification to the Department pursuant to Condition No. 9, Condition No. 12(8), and Rule 624.130, FA.C.,
Plant Operation-Problems, “immediately™ shall mean the same day, if during a workday (i.c., 8:00 am. - 5:00 p.m.), or the first
business day after the incident, excluding weckends and holidays; and, for purposes of 40 CFR 70.6(a)iii, "prompt” shall have the
same meanirig as "immediately”®. [also, see Conditions Nos. 9 and 12(8)]

[40 CFR 70.6(2)(G)(iii}(B)]

11. Not federaily enforceable. Review. Failure to request a hearing within 14 days of receipt of notice of proposed or final agency
action on a permit application or as otherwise required in Chapter 62-103, F A.C., shall be deemed a waiver of the right to an
administrative hearing.

[Rule 624.150, FA.C]

12. Permit Conditions. All permits issued by the Department shall include the following general conditions:

(1) The terms, conditions, requirements, limitations and reswrictions set forth in this permit, are "permit conditions” and are binding
and enforceable pursuant to Sections 403.141, 403.727, or 403.859 through 403.861, F.S. The permittes is placed on notice that the
Department will review this permit periodically and may initiate enforcement action for any violation of these conditions.

(2) This permit is valid only for the specific processes and operations applied for and indicated in the approved drawings or
“exhibits. Any unauthorized deviation from the approved drawings, exhibits, specifications, or conditions of this permit may
constitute grounds for revocation and enforcement action by the Department

(3) As provided in subsections 403.087(6) and 403.722(5), F.S., the issuance of this permit does not convey any vested rights or any
exclusive privileges. Neither does it authorize any injury to public or private property or any invasion of personal rights, nor any
infringement of federal, state, or local laws or regulations. This permit is not a waiver of or approval of any other Department
permit that may be required for other aspects of the total project which are not addressed in this permit
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(4) This permit conveys no title to land or water, does not constitute State recognition or acknowledgment of title, and does not
constitute authority for the use of submerged lands unless herein provided and the necessary title or leasehold interests have been
obtained from the State. Only the Trustees of the Intermnal Improvement Trust Fund may express State opinion as to title.
(5) This peamit does not relieve the permittee from liability for harm or injury to human health or welfare, animal, or plant life, or
property caused by the construction or operation of this permitted source, or from penalties therefore; nor does it allow the permitiee
to cause pollution in contravention of F.S. and Deparmment rules, unless specifically authorized by an order from the Department.
(6) The permittee shall properly operate and maintain the facility and systems of treatment and control (and related appurtenances)
that are installed and used by the permittee to achieve compliance with the conditions of this permit, as required by Department
rules. This provision includes the operation of backup or auxiliary facilities or similar systems when necessary to achieve
compliance with the conditions of the permit and when required by Deparunent rules.
(7) The permittee, by accepting this permit, specifically agrees to allow authorized Department personne!, upon presentation of
credentials or other documents as may be required by law and at reasonable times, access to the premises where the permitted
activity is located or conducted to:
(a) Have access to and copy any records that must be kept under conditions of the permit;
(b) Inspect the facility, equipment, practices, or operations regulated or required under this permit; and,
(c) Sample or monitor any substances or parameters at any location reasonable necessary to assure compliance with this
permit or Department rules. Reasonable time may depend on the nature of the concem being investigated.
(8) £, for any reason, the permittee does not comply with or will be unable to comply with any condition or limitation specified in
this permit, the permittee shall immediately provide the Department with the following information: (also, see Condition No. 10)
(a) A description of and cause of noncompliancc;-and,
(b) The period of noncompliance, including dates and times; or, if not corrected, the anticipated time the noncompliance is
expected to continue, and steps being taken to reduce, eliminate, and prevent recurrence of the noncompliance. The permittee
shall be fesponsiblc for any and all damages which may result and may be subject to enforcement action by the Department for
penalties or for revocation of this permit
(9) In accepting this permit, the permittee understands and agrees tha.t all records, notes, momwnng data and other information
relating to the construction or operation of this permitted source which.are submitted to the Department may be used by the
Department as evidence in any enforcement case involving the permitted source arising under the F.S. or Department rules, except
where such use is prescribed by Sections 403.111 and 403.73, F.S. Such evidence shall only be used to the extent it is consistent
with the Florida Rules of Civil Procedure arid appropriate evidentiary rules.
(10) The permittes agrees to comply with changes in Department rules and F.S. after a reasonable time for compliance; provided,
however, the permittee does not waive any other rights granted by F.S. or Department rules.
(11) This permit is transferable only upon Department approval in accordance with Rule 624.120, F.A.C,, as applicable. The
permittee shall be liable for any non-compliance of the permitted activity until the transfer is approved by the Dcpartmcnt.
(12) This permit or a copy thercof shall be kept at the work site of the permitted activity. ‘
(14) The permittee shall comply with the following:
(a) Upon request, the permittee shall furnish all records and plans required under Department rules. During enforcement
actions, the retention period for all records will be extended automatically unless otherwise stipulated by the Department.
(b) The penmittee shall hold at the facility or other location designated by this permit records of all monitoring information
(including all calibration and maintenance records and all original strip chart recordings for continuous monitoring
instrumentation) required by the permit, copies of all reports required by this permit, and records of all data used to complete
the application for this permit. These materials shall be retained at [east five (5) years from the date of the sample,
measurement, report, or application unless otherwise specified by Department rule.
(¢) Records of monitoring information shall include: -
1. the date, exact place, and time of sampling or measurements;
. the person responsible for performing the sampling or measurements;
. the dates analyses were performed;
. the person responsible for performing the analyscs;
. the analytical techniques or methods used; and.

[= NV I S VU )

. the results of such analyses.

(15) When requested by the Department, the permittee shall within a reasonable time fumish any information required by law which
is needed to determine compliance with the permit If the permince becomes aware the relevant facts were not submirted or. were
incorrect in the permit application or in any report 10 the Department. such facts or information shall be correcied prompuly.

[Rules 62-4.160 and 62-213.440(1)(b), F.A.C.]
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APPENDIX TV-3, TITLE V CONDITIONS (version dated 04/30/99) (continued)

13. Construction Permits. )
(1) No person shall construct any installation or facility which will reasonably be expected to be a source of air or water poilution
without first applying for and recciving a construction permit from the Department unless exempted by statute or Department rule.
In addition<to the requirements of Chapter 624, F.A.C., applicants for a Department Construction Permit shall submit the following
as applicable:
(a) A completed application on forms furnished by the Department.
(b) An engineering report covering:
1. plant description and operations,
2. types and quantitics of all waste material to be gencrated whether liquid, gaseous or solid,
3. proposed waste control facilities,
4. the treatment objectives,
5. the design criteria on which the control facilities are based, and,
6. other information deemed relevant
Design criteria submitted pursuant to Rule 62-4.210(1}b)S., F.A.C., shall be based on the results of laboratory and pilot-plant scale
studies whenever such studies are warranted. The design efficiencies of the proposed waste treamment facilities and the quantitics
and types of pollutants in the treated effluents or emissions shall be indicated. Work of this nature shall be subject to the
requirements of Chapter 471, F.S. Where confidential records are involved, certain information may be kept confidential pursuant
to Section 403.111, F.S. '
(c) The owners' written guarantee to meet the design criteria as accepted by the Department and to abide by Chapter 403, F.S.
and the rules of the Department as to the quantities and types of materials to be discharged from the installation. The owner
may be required to post an appropriate bond or other equivalent evidence of financial responsibility to guarantes compliance
with such conditions in instances where the owner's financial resources are inadequate or proposed controf facilities are
experimental in nature.
(2) The construction permit may contain conditions and an expiration date as determined by the Secretary or the Secretary’s
designee. '
(3) When the Department issues a permit to construct, the permittee shall be allowed a period of time, specified in the permit, to
construct, and to operate and test to determine compliance with Chapter 403, F.S., and the rules of the Department and, where
applicable, to apply for and receive an operation permit. The Department may require tests and evaluations of the trearment
facilities by the permittee at his/her expense.
[Rule 624.210, F.A.C.]

14. Not federally enforceable. Overation Permit for New Sources. To properly apply for an operation permit for new sources, the
applicant shall submit certification that construction was completed noting any deviations from the conditions in the construction
permit and test results where appropriate. . ‘ ‘
[Rule 624220, F.A.C.]

Chanoters 28-106 and 62-110. F.A.C.

15. Public Notice. Public Participation. and Proposed Agencv Action. The permittee shall comply with all of the requirements for
public notics, public participation, and proposed agency action pursuant to Rule 62-110.106 and Rule 62-210.350, F.A.C.
[Rules 62-110.106, 62-210.350 and 62-213.430(1}b), F.A.C.] : '

16. Administrative Hearina. The permittee shall comply with all of the requirements for a petition for administrative hearing or
waiver of right to administrative proceeding pursuant to Rules 28-106.201, 28-106.301 and 62-110.106, F.A.C.
[Rules 28-106.201, 28-106.301 and 62-110.106, , F.A.C.]

Chapter 62-204. F A C.

17. Asbestos. This permit does not authorize any demolition or renovation of the facility or its parts or components which involves
asbestos removal. This permit does not constitute a waiver of any of the requirements of Chapter 62-257, F.A.C., and 40 CFR Pant
61, Subpart M, National Emission Standard for Asbestos, adopted and incorporated by reference in Rule 62-204.800, F.A.C.
Compliance with Chapter 62-257, F.A.C., and 40 CFR 61, Subpant M, Section 61.145, is required for any asbestos demolition or
renovation at the source.

[40 CFR 61; Rule 62-204.800, F.AC.: and, Chapter 62257, FAC]

\
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APPENDIX TV-3, TITLE V CONDITIONS (version dated 04/30/99) (continued)

Chaoter 62-210. F.A.C.

18. Permits Reaquired. The owner or operator of any cmissions unit which emits or can reasonably be expected to emit any air
pollutant shall obtain an appropriate permit from the Deparament prior to beginning construction, modification, or inidal or
continued operation of the emissions unit unless exempted pursuant to Department rule or statute. All emissions limitations,
controls, and other requirements imposed by such pcmm's shall be at least as stringent as any applicable limitations and

requirements contained in or enforceable under the State Implementation Plan (SIP) or that are otherwise federaily enforecable.
Except as provided at Rule 62-213.460, F.A.C., issuance of a permit does not relieve the owner or operator of an emissions unit
from complying with any applicable requirements, any emission limiting standards or other requirements of the air pollution rules of

the Department or any other such requirements under federal, state, or local law.
(1) Air Construction Permits.
(a) Unless exempt from permitting pursuant to Rule 62-210.300(3Xa) or (b), F.A.C., or Rule 62-4.040, F.A.C., an air
construction permit shall be obtained by the owner or operator of any proposed new or modified facility or emissions unit prior
to the beginning of construction or modification, in accordance with all applicable provisions of this chapter, Chapter 62-212,
F.A.C., and Chapter 624, F.A.C. Except as provided under Rule 62-213.415, F.A.C., the owner or operator of any facility
seeking to create or change an air emissions bubble shall obtain an air construction permit in accordance with all the applicable
provisions of this chapter, Chapter 62-212, F.A.C., and Chapter 62-4, F.A.C. The construction permit shall be issued for a
period of time sufficient to allow construction or modification of the facility or emissions unit and operation while the new or
modified facility or emissions unit is conducting tests or otherwise demonstrating initial compliance with the conditions of the
construction permit.
(b) Notwithstanding the expiration of an air construction permit, all limitations and requirements of such permit that are
applicable to the design and operation of the permitted facility or emissions unit shall remain in effect until the facility or
emissions unit is permanenty shut down, except for any such limitation or requirement that is obsolete by its nature (such as a
requirement for initial compliance testing) or any such limitation or requirement that is changed in accordance with the
provisions of Rule 62-210.300(1)(b)1., F.A.C. Either the applicant or the Department can propose that certain conditions be
considercd obsolete. Any conditions or language in an air coastruction permit that are included for informational purposes
only, if they are transferred to the air operation permit, shall be transferred for informational purposes only and shall not
become enforceable conditions unless voluntarily agreed to by the permittee or otherwise required under Department nudes.
1. Except for those limitations or requirements that arc obsolete, all limitations and requirements of an air construction
permit shall be included and identificd in any air operation permit for the facility or emissions unit. The limitations and
requirements included in the air operation permit can be changed, and thereby superseded, through the issuance of an air
construction permit, federally enforceable state air opcranon permit, federally enforceable air general permit, or Title V
air operation permit; provided, however, that:
2 Any change that would constitute an administrazive correction may be made pursuant to Rule 62-210.360,
"FAC,;
b. Any change that would constitute a modification, as dcﬁncd at Rule 62-210.200, F.A_C., shall be accomplished
only through the issuance of an air construction permit; and
¢. Any change in‘a permit limitation or requircment that originates from a permit issued pursuant to 40 CFR 5221,
Rule 62-204.800(10)(d)2., F.A.C., Rule 62-212.400, F.A.C., Rule 62-212.500, F.A.C,, or any former codification of
Rule 62-212.400 or 62-212.500, F.A.C., shall be accomplished only through the issuance of a new or revised air
construction permit under Rule 62-204.800(10)(d)2., F.A.C., 62-212.400 or 62-212.500, F.A.C,, as appropriate.
2. The force and effect of any change in a permit limitation or requirement made in accordance with the provisions of
Rule 62-210.300(1)(b)1. F.A.C., shall be the same as if such change were made to the original air construction permit
3. Nothing in Rule 62-210.300(1)(b), F.A.C., shall be constmcd as to allow operation of a facility or emissions unit
without a valid air opcmnon permit.
(2) Air Overation Permits. Upon cxplranon of the air opcraxion permit for any existing facility or emissions unit, subsequent to
construction or modification and demonstration of initial compliance with the conditions of the construction permit for any new or
modified facility or emissions unit, or as otherwise provided in Chapter 62-210 or Chapter 62-213, the owner or operator of such
facility or emissions unit shall obtain a renewal air operation permit. an initial air operation permit, or an administrative corrcction
or revision of an existing air operation permit, whichever is appropriate, in accordance with all applicable provxsxons of Chapter 62-

210, Chapter 62-213, and Chapter 62-4, FA.C.
(a) Minimum Requirements for All Air Operation Permits. At a minimum, a permit issued pursuant to this subsection shall:
1. Specify the manner, nature, volume and frequency of the emissions permitted, and the applicabie emission limiting
standards or performance standards, if any;
2. Require proper operation and maintenance of any pollution control equipment by qualified personnel, where
applicable in accordance with the provisions of any operation and maintenance pian required by the air poilution rules of

the Department.
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APPENDIX TV-3, TITLE V CONDITIONS (version dated 04/30/99) (continued)

3. Contain an effective date stated in the permit which shall not be earlier than the date final action is taken on the
application and be issued for a period, beginning on the effective date, as provided below.
a. The operation permit for an emissions unit which is in compliance with all applicable rules and in operational
*  condition, and which the owner or operator intends to continue operating, shall be issued or renewed for a five-year
period, except that, for Title V sources subject to Rule 62-213.420(1Xa)l., F.A.C., operation permits shall be
extended until 60 days after the due date for submittal of the facility's Tide V permit application as specified in
Rule 62-213.420(1)(a)1.. F.A.C.
b. Except as provided in Rule 62-210.300(2)(a)3.d., F.A.C., the operation permit for an emissions unit which has
been shut down for six months or more prior to the expiration date of the current operation permit, shall be renewed
for a period not to exceed five years from the date of shutdown, even if the emissions unit is not mamta.med in
operational condition, provided:
(i) the owner or operator of the emissions unit demonstrates to the Department that the cmissidns unﬁ méy
need to be reactivated and used, or that it is the owner’s or operator’s intent to apply to the Department for a
permit to construct a new emissions unit at the facility before the end of the extension period; and,
(i) the owner or operator of the emissions unit agrees to and is legally pmhibiu:d from providing the
allowable emission permitted by the renewed permit as an emissions offsct to any other person under Rule 62-
212.500, F.A.C.; and, )
(1ii) the emissions unit was operating in compliance with all applicable rules as of the time the source was
shut down.
c. Except as provided in Rule 62-210.300(2)(a)3.d., F.A.C., the operation permit for an emissions unit which has
been shut down for five years or more prior to the expiration date of the current operation permit shall be renewed
for a maximum period not to exceed ten years from the date of shutdown, even if the emissions unit is not
maintained in operational condition, provided the conditions given in Rule 62-210.300(2)(a)3.b., F.A.C., are met
and the owner or operator demonstrates to the Department that failure to renew the permit would constitute a
hardship, which may include economic hardship.
d. The operation permit for an electric utility generating unit on cold standby or Iong-u:rm reserve shutdown shall
be rencwed for a five-year period, and additional five-year periods, even if the unit is not maintained in operational
condition, provided the conditions given in Rules 62-210.300(2)(a)3.b.(i) through (iii), F.A.C., are met.
4. In the case of an emissions unit permitted pursuant to Rules 62-210.300(2)(a)3.b., ¢, and d., F.A.C., include
reasonable notification and compliance testing requirements for reactivation of such emissions unit and provide that the
owner or operator demonstrate to the Department prior to reactivation that such reactivation would not constitute
reconstruction pursuant to Rule 62-204.800(7), F.A.C.
[Rules 62-210300(1) & (2), FAC.]

19. Not federally enforceable. Notification of Startup. The owner or operator of any emissions unit or facility which has a valid

air operation permit and which has been shut down more than one (1) year, shall notify the Department in writing of the intent to

start up such emissions unit or facility, a minimum of sixty (60) days prior to the intended startup date.
(a) The notification shall include the planned startup date, anticipated emission rates or pollutants released, changes to
processes or control devices which will result in changes to emission rates, and any other conditions which may differ from the
valid outstanding operation permit.
(b) If, due to an emergency, a startup date is not known 60 days prior thereto, the owner shall notify the Dcpamncnt as soon as
possible after the date of such startup is ascertained.

[Rule 62-210.300(S), F.A.C.}

20. Emissions Unit Reclassification. 7

(a)' Any emissions unit whose operation permit has been revoked as provided for in Chapter 62-4, F.A.C., shall be deemed
permanently shut down for purposes of Rule 62-212.500, F.A.C. Any emissions unit whose permit to operate has expired without
timely renewal or transfer may be deemed permanently shut down, provided, however, that no such emissions unit shall be deemed
permanently shut down if, within 20 days after receipt of written notice from the Department, the emissions unit owner or operator
demonstrates that the permit expiration resulted from inadvertent failure to comply with the requirements of Rule 62-4.090, FA.C.,

and that the owner or operator intends to continue the emissions unit in operation, and either submits an application for an air
operation permit or complies with permit transfer requirements, if applicable.
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APPENDIX TV-3, TITLE V CONDITIONS (version dated 04/30/93) (continued)

(b) If the owner or operator of an emissions unit which is so permanently shut down, applies to the Department for a permit to
reactivate or operate such emissions unit, the emissions unit will be reviewed and permitted as a new emissions unit.
[Rule 62-210.300(6), F.A.C.]

Ca

Public Notice and Comment

(1) Public Notice of Proposed Agency Action.

(a) A notice of proposed agency action on permit application, where the proposed agency action is to issue the permit, shall
be published by any applicant for:
1. An air construction permit;
2. An air operation permit, permit renewal or pcn-mt revision subject o Rule 62-210.300(2)(b), F.A.C,, (i.c., a FESOP),
except as provided in Rule 62-210.300(2}(b)1.b., F.A.C.; or
3. Anair operation permit, permit renewal, or permit revision subject to Chapter 62-213, F A.C., except those permit

revisions meeting the requirements of Rule 62-213.412(1), FA.C.
(b) The notice required by Rule 62-210.350(1)(a), F.A.C., shall be published in accordance with all otherwise applicable
provisions of Rule 62-110.106, FA.C. A public notice under Rule 62-210.350(1)a)!., F.A.C,, for an air construction permit
may be combined with any required public notice under Rule 62-210.350(1)(a)2. or 3., F.A.C., for air operation permits. If
such notices are combined, the public notice must comply with the. requirements for both notices.
(c) Except as otherwise provided at Rules 62-210.350(2) and (5), F.A.C., cach notice of intent to issue an air construction

permit shall provide a 14-day period for submittal of public comments.

(2) Additional Public Notice Requirements for Emissions Units Subject to Prevention of Significant Deterioration or Nonarttainment

- Arca Preconstruction Review.

(a) Before taking final agency action on a construction permit application for any proposed new or modified facility or
emissions unit subject to the preconstruction review requirements of Rule 62-212.400 or 62-212.500, F.A.C., the Department
shall comply with all applicable provisions of Rule 62-110.106, F.A.C., and provide an opportunity for public comment which
shall include as a minimum the following: '
1. A complete file available for public inspection in at least one location in the district affectzd which includes the
information submitted by the owner or operator, exclusive of confidential records under Section 403.111, F.S., and the
Department's analysis of the effect of the proposed construction or modification on ambient air quality, including the
Department's preliminary determination of whether the permit should be approved or disapproved;
2. A 30-day period for submittal of public comments; and,
3. A notice, by advertisement in a newspaper of general circulation in the county affected, specifying the nature and
location of the proposed facility or emissions unit, whether BACT or LAER has been determined, the degree of PSD
increment consumption expected, if applicable, and the location of the information specified in paragraph 1. above; and
notifying the public of the opportunity for submitting comments and rcquestingA a public hearing.
(b) The notice provided for in Rule 62-210.350(2)(2)3., F.A.C., shall be prepared by the Department and published by the
applicant in accordance with all applicable provisions of Rule 62-110.106, F.A.C., except that the applicant shall cause the
notice to be published no later than thirty (30) days prior to final agency action. :
(c) A copy of the notice provided for in Rule 62-210.350(21a)3., F.A.C., shall also be sent by the Department to the Regional
Office of the U. S. Environmental Protection Agency and to.all other state and local officials or agencies having cognizance
* over the location of such new or modified facility or emissions unit, including local air pollution control agencies, chief
executives of city or county govemment, regional land use planning agencies, and any other state, Federal Land Manager, or
Indian Goveming Body whose lands may be affected by emissions from the new or modified facility or emissions unit.
(d) A copy of the notice provided for in Rule 62-210.350(2Xa)3., F.A.C., shall be displayed in the appropriate district, branch
and local program offices.
() An opportunity for public hearing shall be provided in accordance with Chapter 120, F.S., and Rule 62-110.106, F.A.C.
() Any public comments received shall be made available for public inspection in the location where the information
specified in Rule 62-210.350(2)(a)l., F.A.C., is available and shall be considercd by the Depargnent in making a final
determination to approve or deny the permit
(g) The final determination shall be made available for public inspection at the same location where the information specified
in Rule 62-210.350(2)(a)l., F.A.C., was made available.
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APPENDIX TV-3, TITLE V CONDITIONS (version dated 04/30/99) (continued)

(h) For a proposed new or modified emissions unit which would be located within 100 kilometers of any Federal Class { area
. or whose emissions may affect any Federal Class | area, and which would be subject to the preconstruction review
requirements of Rule 62-212.400, F.A.C., or Rule 62-212.500, F.A.C.:
i The Departunent shall mail or transmit to the Administrator a copy of the initial application for an air construction
permit and notice of every action related to the consideration of the permit application.
2. The Department shall mail or transmit to the Federal Land Manager of each affected Class | area a copy of any written
notice of intent to apply for an air construction permit; the initial application for an air construction permit, including all
required analyses and demonstrations; any subsequently submitted information related to the application; the preliminary
determination and notice of proposed agency action on the permit application; and any petition for an administrative
hearing regarding the application or the Department’s proposed action. Each such document shall be mailed or
transmitted to the Federal Land Manager within fourteen (14) days after its receipt by the Deparunent.
(3) Additional Public Notice Requirements for Facilities Subject to Operation Permits for Tide V Sources.
(a) Before taking final agency action to issue a new, renewed, or revised air operation permit subject to Chapter 62-213,
F.A.C., the Department shall comply with all applicable provisions of Rule 62-110.106, F.A.C., and provide an opportunity for
public comment which shall include as 2 minimum the following:
1. A complete file available for public inspection in at least one location in the district affected which includes the
information submitted by the owner or operator, exclusive of confidential records under Section 403.111, F.S.; and,
2. A 30-day period for submittal of public comments. '
(b) The notice provided for in Rule 62-210.350(3)(a), F.A.C., shall be prepared by the Department and published by the
applicant in accordance with all applicable provisions of Rule 62-110.106, F.A.C., except that the applicant shall cause the
notice to be published no later than thirty (30) days prior to final agency action.
(c) The notice shall identify:
1. The facility;
2. The name and address of the office at which processing of the permit occurs;
3. The activity or activities involved in the permit action;
4. The emissions change involved in any permit revision;
5. The name, address, and telephone number of a Department representative from whom interested persons may obtain
additional information, including copices of the permit draft, the application, and all relevant supporting materials,
including any permit application, compliance plan, permit, monitoring report, and compliance statement required
pursuant to Chapter 62-213, FA.C. (except for information entitled to confidential treatment pursuant to Section
403.111, F.S.), and all other materials available to the Department that are relevant to the permit decision;
6. A brief description of the comment procedures required by Rule 62-210.350(3), F.A.C.;
7. The time and place of any hearing that may be held, including a statement of procedure to request a hearing (unlcss a
hearing has alréady been scheduled); and,
8. The procedures by which persons may petition the Administrator to object to the issuance of the proposed pcnmt after
expiration of the Administrator’s 45-day review period.
[Rule 62-210.350, FAC.)

22. Administrative Permit Corrections.
(1) A facility owner shall notify the Department by letter of minor corrections to information contamcd in a permit. Such
notifications shall include:
(a) Typographical errors noted in the permit;
(b) Name, address or phone number change from that in the permit;
{c) A change requiring more frequent monitoring or reporting by the permittee;
(d) Changes listed at 40 CFR 72.83(a)(1), (2), (6. (9) and (10), hereby adopted and incorporated by reference, to Tide V
sources subject to emissions limitations or reductions pursuant to 42 USC ss. 7651-76510;
(¢) Changes listed ar 40 CFR 72.83(a)(11), hereby adopted and incorporated by reference, to Title V sources subject to
cmissions limitations or reductions pursuant to 42 USC ss. 7651-76510, provided the notification is accompanied by a copy of
any EPA determination conceming the similarity of the change to those listed at Rule 62-210.360(1)(d), F.A.C.; and
‘ (f) Any other similar minor administrative change at the source.
(2) Upon receipt of any such notification the Department shall within 60 days correct the permit and provide a corrected copy to the
owner.
(3) After first notifying the owner, the Department shall correct any permit in which it discovers errors of the types listed at Rule
62-210.360(1)(a) and (b), F.A.C., and provide a corrected copy to the owner.
(4) For Tide V source permits. other than general permits, a copy of the corrected permit shall be provided to EPA and any
approved local air program in the county where the facility or any part of the facility is located.
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(5) The Department shall incorporate requirements resulting from issuance of a new or revised construction permit into an cxxstmg
Tite V source permit, if the construction permit or permit revision incorporates requirements of federally enforceable
preconstruction review, and if the applicant requests at the time of application that all of the requirements of Rule 62-213.430(1),
F.A.C., be complied with in conjunction with the processing of the construction permit application.

[Rule 62-210.360, F.A.C.]

23. Reports.

(3) Annual Operating Report for Air Pollutant Emitting Facility.
(a) The Annual Operating Report for Air Pollutant Emicting Facility (DEP Form No. 62-210.900(5)) shall be completed each
year. ' .
(c) The annual operating report shall be submitted to the appropriate Departunent District or Department approved local air
pollution control program office by March 1 of the following year unless otherwise indicated by permit condition or
Department request. '

[Rule 62-210.370(3), FA.C.]

24. Circumvention. No person shall circumvent any air pollution control device, or allow the emission of air pollutants without the
applicable air pollution control device operating properly. :
[Rule 62-210.650, FA.C.]

25. Forms and Instructions. The forms used by the Department in the stationary source control program are adopted and
incorporated by reference in this section. The forms are listed by rule number, which is also the form number, with the subject, title
and effective date. Forms 62-210.900(1),(3),(4) and (5), F.A.C., including instructions, arc available from the Department as hard-
copy documents or executable files on computer diskettes. Copies of forms (hard—copy or diskette) may be obtained by writing to
the Departument of Environmental Protection, Division of Air Resources Management, 2600 Blair Stone Road, Tallahassee, Florida
32399-2400. Notwithstanding the requirement of Rule 62-4.050(2), F.A.C., to file application forms in quadruplicate, if an air
permit application is submitted using the Department’s electronic application form, only one copy of the diskette and signature
pages is required to be submitted.
(1) Application for Air Permit - Title V Source, Form and Instructions (Effective 2-11-99).
(a) Acid Rain Part (Phase II), Form and Instructions (Effective 7-1-95).
1. Repowering Extension Plan, Form and Instructions (Effective 7-1-95).
2. New Unit Exemption, Form and Instructions (Effective 7-1-95).
3. Retired Unit Exemption, Form and Instructions (Effective 7-1-95).
4. Phase Il NOx Compliance Plan, Form and Instructions (Effective 1-6-98).
S. Phase II NOx Averaging Plan, Form (Effective 1-6-98).
®) ‘Reserved.
.(5) Annual Operating Report for Air Pollutant Emitting Facility, Form and Instructions (Efective 2- 11-99).

[Rule 62-210.900, F.A.C.]

Chanter 62-213. F.A.C.

26. Annual Emissions Fee. Each Title V source permitted to operate in Florida must pay between January 15 and March 1 of each
year, upon written notice from the Department, an annual emissions fee in accordance with Rule 62-21320\5, FAC, and the
appropriate form and associated instructions.

[Rules 62-213.205 and 62-213.900(1), F.A.C.]

27. Annual Emissions Fee. Failure to pay timely any required annual emissions fee, penalty, or interest constitutes grounds for
permit revocation pursuant to Rule 624.100, F.A.C.
[Rule 62-213.205(1Xg), F.A.C.]

28. Annual Emissions Fee. Any documentation of actual hours of operation, actual material or heat input, actual production

amount, or actual emissions used to calculate the annual emissions fee shall be retained by the owner for a minimum of five (5)
years and shall be made available to the Department upon request.
[Rule 62-213.205(1)Xj), F.A.C.]

29. Annual Emissions Fee. A completed DEP Form 62-213.900(1), F.A.C., “Major Air Polilution Source Annual Emissions Fee
Form™, must be submirted by the responsible official with the annual emissions fee.
[Rule 62-213.205(1)(k), F.A.C.]
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30. Air Operation Permit Fees. After December 31, 1992, no permit application processing fee, renewal fee, modification fee or
amendment fee is required for an operation permit for a Title V source.
{Rule 62-213.205(4), F.A.C.]

31. Permits and Permit Revisions Reauired. All Title V sources are subject to the permit requirements of Chapter 62-213, F.A.C.
(1) No Tide V source may operate except in compliance with Chapter 62-213, FA.C.
(2) Except as provided in Rule 62-213.410, F.A.C,, no source with a permit issued under the provisions of this chapter shall make
any changes in its operation without first applying for and receiving a permit revision if the change meets any of the following:
(a) Canstitutes a modification;
(b) Violates any applicable requirement;
(c) Excecds the allowable emissions of any air pollutant from any unit within the source;
(d) Contravenes any permit term or condition for momwnng, testing, recordkeeping, reporting or of a compliance certification
requirement;
(¢) Requires a case-by—case determination of an emission limitation or other standard or a source specific determination of
ambicnt impacts, or a visibility or increment analysis under the provisions of Chapters 62-212 or 62-296, F.A.C.;
() Violates a permit term or condition which the source has assumed for which there is no corresponding underlying
applicable requirement to which the source would otherwise be subject;
(g) Results in the trading of emissions among units within a source except as specifically authorized pursuant to Rule
62-213.415, FAC.
(h) Results in the change of location of any relocatable fa.cxhty identified as a Title V source pursuant to paragraph (a)(¢e), (g)
or (h) of the definition of “major source of air pollution™ at Rule 62-210200, F A.C
(i) Constitutes a change at an Acid Rain Source under the provisions of 40 CFR 72.81(a)(1),(2),0r (3),(b)(1) or (b)(3), hereby
incorporated by reference;
(i) Constitutes a change in a repowering plan, nitrogen oxides avcragmg plan, or nitrogen oxides compliance dcadlmc
extension at an Acid Rain Source.

(k) Is a request for exemption pursuant to Rule 62-214340, F.A.C.
{Rule 62-213.400(1) & (2), FA.C.]

32. Changes Without Permit Revision. Title V sources having a valid permit issued pursuant to Chapter 62-213, F A.C., may make
the following changes without permit revision, provided that sources shall maintain source logs or records to verify periods of
operation in each alternative method of operation:

(1) Permitted sources may change among those altemative methods of operation allowed by the source's permit as provided by the

terms of the permit;

(2) Permitted sources may implement the terms or conditions of a new or revised construction permit if;

(a) The application for construction permit complied with the requirements of Rule 62-213.420(3) and (4), F.A.C.;

(b) The terms or conditions were subject to fcdcra."y enforceable preconstruction review pursuant to Chapter 62-212, FA.C.;
(c) The new or revised construction permit was issued after the Dcpanmcnt and the applicant complied with all the
requirements of Rule 62-213.430(1), FA.C; ‘

(3) A permitted source may implement operating changes after the source submits any forms required by any applicable

requirement and provides the Department and EPA with at least 7 days written notice prior to implementation. The source and the

Department shall attach each notice to the relevant permit;

(a) The written notice shall include the date on which the change will occur, and a dcscnpuon of the change within the
permitted source, the pollutants emitted and any change in emissions, and any term or condition becoming applicable or no
longer applicable as a result of the change;
(b) The permit shicld described in Rule 62-213.460, F.A_C., shall not apply o such changes;
(4) Permitted sources may implement changes involving modes ofopcrzmon only in accordance with Rule 62-213.415, F.A.C.
(Rule 62-213.410, F.A.C.]

33. Immediate Imolementation Pending Revision Process. |

(1) Those permitted Tide V sources making any change that constitutes a modification pursuant to the definition of modification at
Rule 62-210.200, F.A.C., but which would not constitute a modification pursuant to 42 USC 7412(a) or 1o 40 CFR 52.01, 60.2, or
61.15, adopted and incorporated by reference at Rule 62-204.800, F.A.C., may implement such change prior to final issuance of a

permit revision in accordance with this section, provided the change:
(a) Does not violate any applicable requirement;
(b) Does not contravene any permit term or condition for monitoring, testing, rtcordkccpmg or reporting, or any compliance

certification requirement;
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(c) Does not require or change a case-by—case determination of an emission timitation or other standard, or a source-specific
determination of ambient impacts, or a visibility or increment analysis under the provisions of Chapter 62-212 or 62-296,
FAC,;
(d) Does not seck to establish or change a permit term or condition for which there is no corresponding underlying applicable
requirement and that the source has assumed to avoid an applicable requirement to which the source would otherwise be
subject including any federally enforceable emissions cap or federally enforceable alteative emissions limit
(2) A Tide V source may immediate!ly implement such changes after they have been incorporated into the terms and conditions of a
new or revised construction permit issued pursuant to Chapter 62-212, F.A.C., and after the source provides to EPA, the Department,
cach affected state and any approved local air program having geographic jurisdiction over the source, a copy of the source's
application for operation permit revision. The Tite V source may conform its application for construction permit to include all
information required by Rule 62-213.420, F.A.C,, in lieu of submitting scparate application forms.
(3) The Deparunent shall process the application for operation permit revision in accordance with the provisions ot‘Chachr 62-213,
F.A.C., except that the Department shall issue a draft permit revision or a detzrmination to deny the revision within 60 days of
receipt of a complete application for operation permit revision or, if the Title V source has submitted a construction permit
application conforming to the requirements of Rule 62-213.420, F.A.C., the Department shall issue qdmﬂ permit or a determination
to deny the revision at the same time the Department issues its determination on issuance or denial-of the construction permit
application. The Department shall not take final action until all the requirements of Rule 62-213.430(1)(a), (¢), (d), and (c), FA.C,,
have been complied with.
(4) Pending final action on the operation permit revision application, the source shall implement the changes in accordance with the
terms and conditions of the source’s new or revised construction permit.
(5) The permit shield described in Rule 62-213.460, F.A.C., shall not apply to such changes until after the Department takes final
action to issue the operation permit revision.
(6) If the Department denies the source's application for operation permit revision, the source shall cease implementation of the
proposed changes. : :
(Rule 62-213.412, FA.C.]

34. Permit Applications. .
(1) Duty to Apply. For each Tite V source, the owner or operator shall submit a timely and complete permit application in

compliance with the requirements of Rules 62-213.420, 62-4.050(1) & (2), and 62-210.900, F A.C.

(a) Timely Application. -
3. For purposcs of permit renewal, a timely application is one that is submitted in accordance with Rule 62-4.090, FAC.

(b) Complete Application.
1. Any applicant for a Title V permit, permit revision or permit renewal must submit an application on DEP Form No.
62-210.900(1), which must include all the information specified by Rule 62-213.420(3), F.A.C,, except that an
application for permit revision must contain only that information related to the proposed change. The applicant shall
include information conceming fugitive emissions and stack emissions in the application. . Each application for permit,
pcm"li; revision or permit renewal shall be certified by a responsible official in accordance with Rule 62-213.420(4),
FAC. ‘ '
2. For those applicants submitting initial permit applications pursuant to Ruie 62-213.420(1)(a)1., F.A.C., a complete
application shall be an application that substantially addresses all the information required by the application form
number 62-210.900(1), and such applications shall be decmed complete within sixty days of receipt of a signed and
certified application unless the Department notifies the applicant of incompleteness within that time. For ail other
applicants, the applications shall be deemed complete sixty days after receipt, unless the Department, within sixty days
after receipt of a signed application for permit, permit revision or permit renewal, requests additional documentation or
information needed to process the application. An applicant making timely and complete application for permit, or
timely application for permit renewal as described by Rule 62-4.090(1), F.A.C., shall continuc to operate the source
under the authority and provisions of any existing valid permit or Florida Electrical Power Plant Siting Certification,
provided the applicant complies with all the provisions of Rules 62-213.420(1)(b)3. and 4. F.A.C. Failurc of the
Deparmment to request additional information within sixty days of receipt of a properly signed application shall not
impair the Department’s ability to request additional information pursuant to Rules 62-213.420(1)(b)3. and 4., F.A.C.
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APPENDIX TV-3, TITLE V CONDITIONS (version dated 04/30/99) (continued)

3. For those permit applications submitted pursuant to the provisions of Rule 62-213.420(1X3a)!., F.A.C,, the Department
shall notify the applicant if the Department becomes aware at any time during processing of the application that the
application contains incorrect or incomplete information. The applicant shall submit the corrected or supplementary
mformation to the Department within ninety days unless the applicant has requested and been granted additional time to
submit the information. Failure of an applicant to submit corrected or supplementary information requested by the
Deparmment within ninety days or such additional time as requested and granted shall render the application incomplete.
4. For all applications other than those addressed at Rule 62-213.420(1)(b)3., F.A.C., should the Department become
aware, during processing of any application that the application contains incorrect information, or should the Department
become aware, as a result of comment from an affected State, an approved local air program, EPA, or the public that
additional information is needed to evaluate the application, the Department shall notify the applicant within 30 days.
When an applicant becomes aware that an application contains incorrect or incomplete information, the applicant shall
submit the corrected or supplementary information to the Departnent. If the Department notifies an applicant that
corrected or supplementary information is necessary to process the permit, and requests a response, the applicant shall
provide the information to the Deparunent within ninety days of the Department request unless the applicant has
requested and been granted additional time to submit the information or, the applicant shall, within ninety days, submit a
written request that the Department process the application without the information. Failure of an applicant to submit
corrected or supplementary information requested by the Department within ninety days, or such additional time as
requested and granted, or to demand in writing within ninety days that the application be processed without the
information shall render the application incompiete. Nothing in this section shall limit any other remedies available to
the Department. .

[Rules 62-213.420(1)(a)3. and 62-213.420(1}¥b)1., 2.,3. &4, F.A.C]

35. Confidential Information. Whenever an applicant submits information under a claim of confidentiality pursuant to Section
403.111, F.S,, the applicant shall also submit a copy of ail such information and claim directly to EPA. (also, see Condition No.
50.)

[Rule 62-213.420(2), FA.C.]

36. Standard Aoplication Form and Reguired Information. Applications shall be submitted under Chapter 62-213, F.A.C., on forms
provided by the Deparmment and adopted by reference in Rule 62-210.900(1), FA.C. The information as described in Rule 62-
210.900(1), F.A.C., shall be included for the Title V source and each emissions unit. An application must include information
sufficient to determine all applicable requirements for the Title V source and each emissions unit and to evaluate a fee amount
pursuant to Rule 62-213.205, F.AC. ' '

[Rule 62-213.420(3), F.A.C.]

37. Certification bv Responsible Official (RO). In addition to the ﬁrofcssional engineering certification required for applications by
Rule 62-4.050(3), F.A_C., any application form, report, compliance statement, compliance plan and compliance schedule submitted
pursuant to Chapter 62-213, F.A.C., shall contain a certification signed by a responsible official that, based on information and
belief formed after reasonable inquiry, the statements and information in the document are true, accurate, and complete.

[Rule 62-213.420(4), F.A.C.]

38. a Permit Renewal and Expiration. Permits being renewed are subject to the same requircments thar apply to permit issuance
at the time of application for renewal. Permit renewal applications shall contain that information identified in Rules 62-
210.900(1) and 62-213.420(3), F.A.C. Unless a Title V source submits a timely application for permit renewal in accordance
with the requirements of Rule 62-4.090(1), F.A.C., the existing permit shall expire and the source's right to operate shall
terminate.
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APPENDIX TV-3, TITLE V CONDITIONS (version dated 04/30/99) (continued)

b. Permit Revision Procedures. Permit revisions shall meet all requirements of Chapter 62-213, F.A.C,, including those for
content of applications, public participation, review by approved local programs and affected states, and review by EPA, as
they apply to permit issuance and renewal, except that permit revisions for those activities implemented pursuant to Rule 62-
213.442, F.A.C,, need not meet the requirements of Rule 62-213.430(1}(b), F.A.C. The Department shall require permit
revision in accordance with the provisions of Rule 62-4.080, F. A.C., and 40 CFR 70.7(f), whenever any source becomes
subject to any condition listed at 40 CFR 70.7(f)(1), hereby adopted and incorporated by reference. The below requirements
from 40 CFR 70.7(f) arc adopted and incorporated by reference in Rule 62-213.430(4), F.A.C.:

o 40 CFR 70.7(D: Reopening for Cause. (also, see Conditioa Na. 4)

(1) This section contains provisions from 40 CFR 70.7(f) that specify the conditions under which a Title V permit shall be
reopened prior to the expiration of the permit. A Title V permit shall be reopened and revised under any of the following

circumstances: _
(1) Additional applicable requirements under the Act become applicable to a major Part 70 source with a remaining
permit term of 3 or more years. Such a reopening shall be completed not later than 18 months after promulgation of the
applicable requirement No such reopening is required if the effective date of the requirement is later than the date on
which the permit is due to expire, unless the original permit or any of its terms and conditions has been extended
pursuant to 40 CFR 70.4(b)(10)(i) or (ii). )
(ii) Additional requirements (including excess emissions rcquircmcms) become applicable to an affected source under
the acid rain program. Upon approved by the Administrator, excess emissions offset plans'shail be deemed to be
incorporated into the permit
(ili) The permitting authority or EPA determines that the permit contains a material mistake or that inaccurate statements
were made in establishing the emissions standards or other terms or conditions of the permit
(iv) The Administrator or the permitting authority determines that the permit must be revised or revoked to assure
compliance with the applicabie requirements. )
(2) Proceedings to reopen and issue 2 permit shall follow the same procedures as apply to initial permit issuance and shail
affect only those parts of the permit for which cause to reopen exists. Such reopening shall be made as expeditiously as
practicable.
(3) Reopenings under 40 CFR 70.7(f)(1).shall not be initiated before a notice of such intent is provided to the Part 70 source
by the permitting authority at least 30 days in advance of the date that the permit is to be reopened, except that the permitting
authority may provide a shorter time period in the case of an emergency. . :
[Rules 62-213.430(3) & (4), F.A.C.; and, 40 CFR 70.7(f)]

39. Insignificant Emissions Units or Pollutant-Emitting Activities.
(a) All requests for determination of insignificant emissions units or activities made pursuant to Rule 62-213.420(3)(m),
F_A_C., shall be processed in conjunction with the permit, permit renewal or permit revision application submitted pursuant to
Chapter 62-213, F A C. Insignificant emissions units or activities shall be approved by the Department consistent with the
provisions of Rule 62-4.040(1)(b), F.A.C. Emissions units or activities which are added to a Title V source after issuance of a
permit under Chapter 62-213, F_A_C., shall be incorporated into the permit at its next renewal, provided such emissions units
or activities have been exempted from the requirement to obtain an air construction permit and also qualify as insignificant
pursuant to Rule 62-213.430(6), F A.C. :
(b) An emissions unit or activity shall be considered insignificant if:
1. Such unit or activity would be subject to no unit-specific applicable requirement;
2. Such unit or activity, in combination with other units or activities proposed as insignificant, would not cause the
facility to exceed any major source threshold(s) as defined in Rule 62-213.420(3)(c)1., F.A.C., uniess it is acknowledged
in the permit application that such units or activities would cause the facility to exceed such threshold(s); and
3. Such unit or activity would not emit or have the potential to emit:
a. 500 pounds per year or more of lead and lead compounds expressed as lead;
b. 1,000 pounds per year or more of any hazardous air pollutant;
c. 2,500 pounds per year or more of total hazardous air pollutants; or
d. 5.0 wons per year or more of any other regulated pollutant
(Rule 62-213.430(6), F.A.C.] '

40. Permit Duration. Operation permits for Title V sources may not be extended as provided in Rule 62-4.080(3), F.A.C., if such

extension will result in a permit term greater than five (5) years.
[Rule 62-213.440(1Xa), F.A.C.)
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APPENDIX TV-3, TITLE V CONDITIONS (version dated 04/30/99) (continued)

41. Monitoring {nformation. All recards of monitoring information shall specify the date, place, and time of sampling or
measurement and the operating conditions at the time of sampling or measurement, the date(s) analyses were performed, the
company or entity that performed the analyses, the analytical techniques or methods used, and the results ofsuch analyses.
[Rule 62-213.440(1)(0)2.2, FAC]

42. Retention of Records. Retention of recards of all monitoring data and support information shall be for a period of at least §
years from the date of the monitoring sample, measurement, report, or application. Support information includes all calibration and
maintenance recards and all odginal strip-chart recordings for continuous monitoring instrumentatior, and capies of all reparts
required by the permit.

" [Rule 62-213.440(1)(b)2.b., F.A.C.]

43. Monitoring Revorts. The permittee shall submit reports of any required monitoring at least every six (6) months. All instances
of deviations from permit requirements must be clearly identified in such reports.
[Rule 62-213.440(1)(®)3.2, F.A.C.] '

44. Deviation from Permit Reauirements Reports. The permittee shall report in accordance with the requirements of Rules 62-
210.700(6) and 624.130, F.A_C., any deviations from permit requirements, including those attributable to upset conditions as
defined in the permit. Reports shall include the probable cause of such deviations, and any corrective actions or preventive
measures taken. :

[Rule 62-213.440(1)}(b)3.b., F.AC.]

45. Reports. All reports shall be accompanicd by a certification by a respansible official, pursuant to Rule 62-213.420(4), F.A.C.
[Rule 62-213.440(1)(b)3.c, F.A.C.]

46. If any portion of the final permit is invalidated, the remainder of the permit shall remain in effect.
[Rule 62-213.440(1)(d)1., F.AC.]

47. It shall not be a defense for a permittes in an enforcement action that maintaining compliance with any permit condition would
necessitate halting of or reduction of the source activity. '
[Rule 62-213.440(1)(d)3., FA.C.]

48. A Title V source shall comply with all the terms and conditions of the existing permit.until the Department has taken final
action on any permit renewal or any requested permit revision, except as provided at Rule 62-213.412(2), FA.C.
[Rule 62-213.440(1 (d)4., FAC.]

49. A situation arising from sudden and unforeseeable cvents beyond the control of the source which causes an exceedance of a
_technology-based emissions limitation because of unavoidable increases in emissions attributable to the situation and which requires
immediate corrective action to restore normal operation, shall be an affirmative defense to an enforcement action in accordance with
the provisions and requirements of 40 CFR 70.6(g)(2) and (3), hereby adopted and incorporated by reference.

[Rule 62-213.440(1Xd)S., F.A.C.]

50. Confidentialitv Claims. Any permittes may claim confidentiality of any data or other information by complying with Rule 62-
213.420(2). F.A.C. (also, see Condition No. 35.)
[Rule 62-213.440(1)(d)6., F.A.C.)
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ArroivwiA 1V-3, TITLE V CONDITIONS (version dated 04/30/99) (continued) BEST AVAILABLE COPY

51. Statement of Compliance. The permittee shall submit a statement of compliance with all terms and conditions of the permit.
Such statements shall be submitted to the Department and EPA annually, or more frequently if specified by Rule 62-213.440(2),
F.A.C., or by any other applicable requirement. Such statements shall be accompanied by a certification in accordance with Rule
62-213.420(4), F.A.C. The statement of compliance shall include ail the provisions of 40 CFR 70.6(c)(5)(iii), incorporated by
reference at Rule 62-204.800, F.A.C.

0 40 CFR 70.6(c)(5)(iii). The compliance certification shall include all of the following (provided that the identification of

applicable information may cross-reference the permit or previous reports, as applicable):
(A) The identification of each term or condition of the permit that is the basis of the certification; .
(B) The identification of the method(s) or other means used by the owner or operator for determining the compliance status with
cach term and condition during the certification period, and whether such methods or other means provide continuous or
intermitent data. Such methods and other means shall include, at a minimum, the methods and means required under 40 CFR
70.6(a)(3). If necessary, the owner or operator also shall identify any other material-information that must be included in the
certification to comply with section113(c)(2) of the Act, which prohibits knowingly making a false certification or omitting
material information;
(C) The status of compliance with the terms and conditions ofthc permit for the period covered by the certification, based on
the method or means designated in paragraph (c)(S)(iili{B) of this section. The certification shall identify each deviation and
take it into account in the compliance certification. The certification shall also identify as possible exceptions to compliance any
periods during which compliancz is required and in which an excursion or cxccedancc as defined under part 64 of this chapter
occurred; and
(D) Such ather facts as the permitting authority may require to determine the compha.ncc status of the source.
The statement shall be accompanied by a certification by a responsibie official, in accordance with Rule 62-213.420(4), FA.C. The
responsible official may treat compliance with all other applicable requirements as a surrogate for compliance with Rule 62-
296.320(2), Objectionable Odor Prohibited.

[Rule 62-213.440(3), F.A.C.]

52. Permit Shicld. Except as provided in Chapter 62-213, F.A.C., compliance with the terms and conditions of a permit issued
pursuant to Chapter 62-213, F.A.C,, shall be deemed compliance with any applicable requirements in effect as of the date of permit
issuance, provided that the source included such applicable requirements in the permit application. Noth.ing in Rule 62-213.460,
F.A.C., or in any permit shall alter or affect the ability of EPA or the Department to deal with an emergency, the liability of an
owner or operator of a source for any violation of applicable requirements prior to or at the time of permit issuance, or the
requirements of the Federal Acid Rain Program. ’ N

{Permiting note: The permit shield is not in effect until the effective date of the permit.}

[Rule 62-213.460, F.A.C]

53. Forms and Instructions. The forms used by the Department in the Title V source operation program are adopted and
incorporated by reference in Rule 62-213.900, F.A.C. The form is listed by nile number, which is also the form number, and with
the subject, title, and effective date. Copies of forms may be obtained by writing.to the Department of Environmental Protection,
Division of Air Resources Management, 2600 Blair Stone Road, Tallahassee, Florida 32399-2400, or by contacting the appropriate
permitting authority.

(1) Major Air Pollution Source Annual Emissions Fee (AEF) Form.

[Rule 62-213.900(1), FAC.]

Chaoter 62-256. F.A.C.

54. Not federally enforceable. Open Burning. This permit does not authorize any open burning nor does it constitute any waiver
of the requirements of Chapter 62-256, F.A.C. Source shall comply with Chapter 62-256, F.A.C., for any open buming at the
source.

[Chapter 62-256, F.A.C.]

Chanter 62-281_F.AC.

$5. Refricernnt Reguirements. Any facility having refrigeration equipment, including air conditioning equipment, .which uses a

Class [ or [l substance (listed at 40 CFR 82, Subpart A, Appendices A and B), and any facility which maintains, services, or repairs
motor vehicles using a Class { or Class {l substance as refngerant must comply with all requirements of 40 CFR 82, Subparts B and
F. and with Rule 62-281.100, F.A.C. Those requircments include the following restrictions:

(1) Any facility having any refrigeration equipment normally containing 50 (fifty) pounds of refrigerant, or more, must keep
servicing records documenting the datc and rype of all service and the quantity of any refrigerant added pursuant to 40 CFR 82.166.
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APYNDIX TV-3, TITLE V CONDITIONS (version dated 04/30/99) (continued) BEST AVAILABLE COPY

(2) No person repairing or scrvicing a motor vehicle may perform any service on a motor vehicle air conditioner (MVAC) involving
the refrigerant for such air conditioner unless the person has been properly trained and certified as provided at 40 CFR 82.34 and 40
CFR 82.40, and properly uses equipment approved pursuant to 40 CFR 8236 and 40 CFR 82.38, and complies with 40 CFR 82.42;
(3) No person may sell or distribute, or offer for sale or distribution, any substance listed as a Class ! or Class II substance at 40
CFR 82, Subpart A, Appendices A and B, except in compliance with Rule 62-281.100, F.A.C., and 40 CFR 82.34(b), 40 CFR 82.42,
and/or 40 CFR 82.166;

(4) No person ﬁﬂntaining, servicing, repairing, or disposing of appliances may knowingly vent or otherwise release into the
ammosphere any Class ! or Class II substance used as a refrigerant in such equipment and no other person may open appliances
(except MVACs as defined at 40 CFR 82.152) for service, maintenance or repair unless the person has been properly trained and
certified pursuant to 40 CFR 82.161 and unless the person uses equipment certified for that type of appliance pursuant to 40 CFR
82.158 and unless the person observes the practices set forth at 40 CFR 82.156 and 40 CFR 82.166;

(5) No person may dispose of appliances (except small appliances, as defined at 40 CFR 82.152) without using equipment certified
for that type of appliance pursuant to 40 CFR 82.158 and without observing the practices set forth at 40 CFR 82.156 and 40 CFR
82.166;

(6) No person may recover refrigerant from small appliances, MVACs and MVAC-like appliances (as defined at 40 CFR 82.152),
except in compliance with the requirements of 40 CFR 82, Subpart F.

(40 CFR 82; and, Chapter 62-281, F.A.C. (Chapter 62-281, F.A.C,, is not {federally enfarceable)]

Chapter 62-296. F.A.C.

56. Industrial. Commercial. and Municioal Open Buming Prohibited. Open burning in connection with industrial, commercial, or
municipal operations is prohibited, except when:
(a) Open burning is determined by the Department to be the only f:asnblc method of operation and is authorized by an air
permit issued pursuant to Chapter 62-210 or 62-213, FA.C,; or
(b) An emergency exists which requires immediate action to protect human health and safety; or
(c) A county or municipality would use a portable air curtain incinerator to bum yard trash generated by a hurmicane, tomado,
fire or other disaster and the air curtain incinerator would otherwise be operated in accordance with the permitting exemption
criteria of Rule 62-210.300(3), F.A.C.
[Rule 62-296.320(3), FA.C.]

58. Unconfined Emissions of Particulate Matter. .

(4)(c)1. No person shall cause, let, permit, suffer or allow the emissions of unconfined particulate matter from any emissions unit
whatsoever, including, but not limited to, vehicular movement, transportation of materials, construction, alteration, demolition or
wrecking, or industrially related activities such as loading, unloading, storing or handling, without taking reasonable precautions to

prevent such emission.
3. Reasonable precautions may include, but shall not be limited to the following:
a Paving and maintenance of roads, parking arcas and yards.
b. Application of water or chemicals to control emissions from such activities as demolition of buildings, grading roads,
construction, and land clearing.
c. Application of asphalt, water, oil, chemicals ar other dust suppressants to unpaved roads, yards, opcn stock piles and
similar emissions units.
d. Removal of particulate matter from roads and other paved areas under the control of the owner or aperator of the
emissions unit to prevent reentrainment, and from buildings or work areas to prevent particulate from becoming airborne.
c. Landscaping or planting of vegetation.
f. Use of hoods, fans, filters, and similar equipment to contain, capture and/or vent particulate marter.
g- Confining abrasive blasting where possible.
h. Enclosure or covering of conveyor systems. e
4. In determining what constitutes reasonable precautions for a particular facility, the Department shall consider the cost of the
control technique or work practice, the environmental impacts of the technique or practice, and the degree of reduction of emissions
expected from a particular technique or practice. - N
[Rules 62-296.320(4)(c)1., 3., & 4. F.AC]

[electronic file name: tv-3.doc]
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APPENDIX 5S-1, STACK SANMPLING FACILITIES (version dated 10/07/96)

- m

ck Samoling Facilities Provided bv the Owner of an Emissions Unit.  This section
:*bes the minimum re_n_lre:ne its for stack sampling fzcilities that are nece S32ry 0
ample point emissions units. Sammpling facilities include sampling ports, work
latforms, access to work plau orms, electrical power, and sampling equipment supgort.
Emissions units must provide these facilities at their expense. All stack s:mn.-:_
faciliies must mest any Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA) Sz
end Health Standards described in 29 CFR Part 1910, Subparts D and E.

(2) Permanent Test Fzcilities. The owner or ope*ator of an emissions unit for which 2
compliance test, other than a visible emissions test, is required on at least an annual basis,
shall install and meintain permanent stack sampling facilities.

(b) Temporary Test Facilities. The owner or operator of an emissions unit thet is not
required to conduct & compliance test on &t least an annual basis may use pew:-:;ent or
temporan v stack sampling facilme:. If the owner chooses to use temporary sampling

ities on an emissions unit, 2nd the Depariment elects to test the unir, such temporary
facilities shell be insizlled on the emissions unit within 5 days of 2 reguest by tie
Depariment and remain on the emissions unit unti] the test is comole*ea

(c) Sampling Ports.

tz
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U‘l

s
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4

1. A1l sampling ports shell have 2 min _xr:.uz: inside diameter of 3 inches.
2 The poris shzll be capable of be zng sezled when not in use.
3. The sampling ports shall be located in the stack at least 2 stack ciameters or

matze

E"'U‘.Je’n diameters downsiream and at least 0.5 stack diameter or equivalent dizmeter
ipsiream from any fzn, bE'ld consiriction or other fiow disturbance.

4. For emissions units for which 2 complete application to construct has besn filed

prior to December 1, 1880, at least two sampling ports, 90 degress apart, shall be
1nstalled et each sarmpling location on all circular stacks that have an outside diameter of

15 feet or less. For siacks with a larger diemeter, four sampling ports, each 90 degress

epari, shall be insielled. For emissions units for which & complete anplication to

consiruct is filed on or afier December 1, 1980, zt least two sampling” ports, ¢0 degress
epery, shall be installed 2t each sar nhnc location on all circular siacks that hav: an

ouiside diameter of 10 fe=t or le<= For stacks with larger diameters, four sa:
. each 60 degrees apari, shall be installed. Or horizontal circuler ducts, the porn -
loc::e: so that t‘ae probe czn enter the siack veriically, horizontally or at & 45 dazres

cts, the cross

seciional zrez shall be divided Into the number of
with EPA Meth

a
ace 0d 1. Sampling ports shall be pxox:ce: which
arrpllr.g point. The poris shall be Tocated so that the prote czn be
o the gas fiow.
he working platform shall be 24 square fest in area. Pleforms

zmolin 5, the platform shall exténc az lezs: 110

. the work piatform shzil
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APPENDINX §5-1, ST ACI\ ANIPLING FACILITIES (version dated 10/07/96)
(continued)

1. Ladders to the work pi:iforn exceeding 15 feet in length shall have sa t\ cages or
fzll arresters with e minimum of 3 compatible safety belts availzble for use bv ampling
personnel.

2. Welkways over fres-fz] areas shall be equipped with safefy rails and toeboards.
(f) Electriczl Power.

1. A minimum of two 120-volt AC, 20-zmp outlets er_Il be provided &t the sampling
platiorm within 20 fest of each s sampling port.

2. If extension cords are used to provide the electrical power, they shall be kapt on the
plant's properiy aac be availeble immediately upon reques: by samplicg personnel.

- (g) Sampling Equipment Support.

1. A thres-quarier inch ey e5olt and an angle bracket shall be atiached directly above
each port on verticz! stacks end above each row of sampling poris on the sides of
horizontal ducts.

2. The bracket shall be a sr‘:vds:d 3 inch x 3 inch x one-guarter inch eq 1zl-leg
br‘.cke: which is 1 £d one-half inches wide. A hole that is one-half inch ini diamerer
shall be drilled through the exact center of the horizontal pon.on of the bracket: The
horuoma pomor- of the bracke shall be located 14 inches zbove the centeriine of the

b. A t_' re2-eignin inch belt which protmces 2 inches from the siack may be

ubS‘ for t.-» recuired bracket. The bolt shall b located 15 2nd cne-half inches

I ﬂ'\e_ <"mnun¢r por .

- inch evebolt shall be czpable of supcorting 2 300 pound working

: less than 12 feet in du_.-e'e‘ the ey eholt shell be located 48
'zo“tal portion of the angle bracket. For stacks that are greater than -

or 6"1.."_1 to 12 fe:. in diarmeter, the evebolt shall ke located 60 inches zbove the horizontal
racket. Ifthe evebolt is more than 120 inches above the platform, a

leqcn?' of cm_‘q s— 11 be 2ftached to it to bring the free end of the chain to within safe
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2 A C'\n ete r:.onorail or cuzlrail arrangement may be substitutad for the evebolt

“hen the sample poris are located in the top of 2 horizontal duct, 2 frame shall be
provided above the por to allow the sample prote to be secured during the tes:
[Rule 62-297.310(€). F.A.C]



40 CFR 60 Subpart A-General Provisions
(Version dated 07/23/97)

These conditions are based on the July 1996 CFR version.

[Applicability note: These conditions are for an NSPS emissions unit (a.k.a. “federal facility”) that
has béeen built and has conducted the initial performance test(s) in accordance with 40 CFR 60.8.]

{Note: Rule 62-204.800(d), F.A.C., did not adopt/incorporate 40 CFR 60.4, 40 CFR 60.16, and 40 CFR
60.17.} '

1. Definitions. For the purposes of Rule 62-204.800(7), F.A.C., the definitions contained in the various
provisions of 40 CFR 60, shall apply except that the term "Administrator" when used in 40 CFR 60, shall
mean the Secretary or the Secretary's designee.

[40 CFR 60.2; Rule 62-204.800(7)(2), F.A.C.]

40 CFR 60.7 Notification and record keéping.

2. The owner or operator subject to the provisions of 40 CFR 60 shall furnish the Administrator written
notification as follows:

(4) A notification of anv physical or operational change 10 an existing facility which may increase the
emission rate of any air pollutant to which a standard applies, unless that change is specifically exempted
under an applicable subpart or in 40 CFR 60.14(e). This notice shall be postmarked 60 days or as soon
as practicable before the change is commenced and shall include information describing the precise
nature of the change, present and proposed emission control systems, productive cap:.city of the facility
before and after the change, and the expected completion date of the change. The Administrator may
request.additional relevant information subsequent to this notice.

[40 CFR 60.7(a)(4)] :

3. The owner or operator subject to the provisions of 40 CFR 60 shall maintain records of the occurrence
and duration of any startup, shutdown, or malfunction in the operation of an affected facility; any
malfunction of the air pollution control equipment; or, any periods during which a continuous monitoring
svstem or monitoring device is inoperative.

[40 CFR 60.7(b)]

4. Each owner or operator required to install a continuous monitoring system (CMS) or monitoring
device shall submit an excess emissions and monitoring svstems performance report (excess emissions -
are defined in applicable subparts) and/or a summary report form [see 40 CFR 60.7(d)] 10 the
Administrator semiannually, except when: more frequen: reporting is specificallv required by an
applicable subpart; or, the CMS data are to be used directly for compliance determination, in which case
quarterly reports shall be subminted; or, the Administrator, on a case-byv-case basis, determines that more
frequent reporting is necessary to accurately assess the compliance status of the source. All reports shall
be postmarked by the 30th day following the end of each calendar half (or quarter, as appropriate).
Written reports ¢f excess emissions shall include the following information:

(1) The magnitude of excess emissions computed in accordance with 40 CFR 60.13(h), anv conversion
factor(s) used, and the date and time of commencement.and compietion of each time pzriod of excess
emissions. The process operating time during the reporting period.

(2) Specific identification of each period of excess emissions that occurs during startups, shutdowns, and
malfunctions of the affected facilicv. The nature and cause of any malfunction (if known), the corrective
action taken or preventative measures adopted.
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(3) The date and time identifving each period during which the continuous monitoring system was
inoperative except for zero and span checks and the nature of the system repairs or adjustments.

(4) When no excess emissions have occurred or the continuous monitoring system(s) have not been
inoperative, repaired, or adjusted, such information shall be stated in the report.

[40 CFR 60.7(c)(1), (2). (3), and (4)] -

5. The summary report form shall contain the information and be in the format shown in Figure |
(attached) unless otherwise specified by the Administrator. One summary report form shall be submitted
for each pollutant monitored at each affected facility.

(1) If the total duration of excess emissions for the reporting period is less than 1 percent of the total
operating time for the reporting period and CMS downtime for the reporting period is less than 5 percent
of the total operating time for the reporting period, only the summary report form shall be submitted and
the excess emission report described in 40 CFR 60.7(c) need not be submitted unless requested by the
Administrator. '

(2) If the total duration of excess emissions for the reporting period is 1 percent or greater of the toral
operating time for the reporting period or the total CMS downtime for the reporting period is 5 percent or
greater of the total operating time for the reporting period, the summary report form and the excess
emission report described in 40 CFR 60.7(c) shall both be submitted.

{See attached Figure 1: Summary Report-Gaseous and Opaciry Excess Emission and Monitoring System
Performance} (electronic file name: figurel.doc)

[40 CFR 60.7¢d)(1) and (2)]

6. (1) Notwithstanding the frequency of reporting requirements specified in 40 CFR 60.7(c), an owner
or operator who is required by an applicable subpart to submit excess emissions and monitoring systems
performance reports (and summary reports) on a quarterly (or more frequent) basis may reduce the
frequency of reporting for that standard to semiannual if the following conditions are met:

(i) For 1 full year (e.g., 4 quarterly or 12 monthly reporting periods) the affected facility’s excess
emissions and monitoring svstems reports submitted to comply with a standard under this part
continually demonstrate that the facility is in compliance with the applicable standard;

(ii) The owner or operator continues to comply with all recordkeeping and monitoring requirements
specified in 40 CFR 60, Subpart A, and the applicable standard; and

(iii) The Administrator does not object to.areduced frequency of reporting for the affected facility,
as provided in 40 CFR 60.7(e)(2). '

(2) The frequency of reporting of excess emissions and monitoring svstems performance (and
summary) reports may be reduced only after the owner or operator notifies the Administrator in writing
of his or her intention to make such a change and the Administrator does not object to the intended
change. In deciding whether to approve a reduced frequency of reporting, the Administrator may review
information concerning the source’s entire previous performance history during the required
recordkeeping period prior to the intended change, including performance test results, monitoring data.
and evaluations of an owner or operator’s conformance with operation and maintenance requirements.
Such information may be used by the Administrator to make a judgment about the source’s potential for
noncompiiance in the future. If the Administrator disapproves the owner or operator’s request to reduce
the frequency of reporting. the Administrator will notify the owner or operator in writing within 45 days
after receiving notice of the owner or operator’s intention. The notification from the Administrator to the
owner or operator will specify the grounds on which the disapproval is based. In the absence of a notice
of disapproval within 45 days, approval is automatically granted.

(3) As soon as monitoring data indicate thar the affected facility is not in compliance with any
emission limitation or operating parameter specified in the applicable standard, the frequency of
reporting shall revert to the frequency specified in the applicable standard, and the owner or operator
shall submit an excess emissions and monitoring systems performance report (and summary report, if
. required) at the next appropriate reporting period following the noncomplyving event. After
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"+ demonstrating compliance with the applicable standard for another full year, the owner or operator may
again request approval from the Administrator to reduce the frequency of reporting for that standard as
provided for in 40 CFR 60.7(e)(1) and (e)(2).

[40 CFR 60.7(e)(1)]

7. Any owneror operator subject to the provisions of 40 CFR 60 shall maintain a file of all
measurements, including continuous monitoring system, monitoring device, and performance testing
measurements; all continuous monitoring svstem performance evaluations; all continuous monitoring
svstem or monitoring device calibration checks; adjustments and maintenance performed on these
svstems or devices; and, all other information required by 40 CFR 60 recorded in a permanent form
suitable for inspection. The file shall be retained for at least 5 (five) years following the date of such

measurements, maintenance, reports, and records.
[40 CFR 60.7(f); Rule 62-213.440(1)(b)2.b., F.A.C.]

40 CFR 60.8 Performance tests.

8. Performance tests shall be conducted under such conditions as the- Administrator shall specify to the
plant operator based on representative performance of the affected faciliry. The owner or operator shall
make available to the Administrator such records as may be necessary to determine the conditions of the
performance tests. Operations during periods of startup, shutdown, and matfunction shall not constitute
representative conditions for the purpose of a performance test nor shall emissions in excess of the level .
of the applicable emission limit during periods of startup, shutdown, and malfunction be considered a
violation of the applicable emission limit unless otherwise specified in the applicable standard.

[40 CFR 60.8(c)]

40 CFR 60.11 Compliance with standards and maintenance requirements.

9. Compliance with standards in 40 CFR 60, other than opacity standards, shall be determined only by
performance tests established by 40 CFR 60.8, unless otherwise specified in the applicable standard.
[40 CFR 60.11(a)]

10. Compliance with opacity standards in 40 CFR 60 shall be determined by conducting observations in
accordance with Reference Method 9 in Appendix A of 40 CFR 60, any alternative method that is
approved by the Administrator, or as provided in 40 CFR 60.11(e)(5).

[40 CFR 60.11(b)]

11. The opacity standards set forth in 40 CFR 60 shall apply at all times except during periods of startup,
shutdown, malfunction, and as otherwise provided in the applicable standard.
[40 CFR 60.11(c)]

12. At all times, including periods of startup. shutdown, and malfunction, owners and operators shall, to
the extent practicable, maintain and operate any affected facility including associated air pollution
control equipment in a manner consistent with good air pollution control practice for minimizing
emissions. Determnination of whether acceptable operating and maintenance procedures are being used
will be based on information available to the Administrator which may include, but is not limited to,
monitoring results, opacity observations, review of operating and maintenance procedures, and
inspection of the source.

[40 CFR 60.11(d)] ~

13. The owner or operator of an affected facility subject to an opacity standard may submit, for
compliance purposes, continuous opacity monitoring system (COMS) data results produced during any
performance test required under 40 CFR 60.8 in lieu of EPA Method 9 observation data. If an owner or
operator elects 1o submit COMS data for compliance with the opacity standard, he or she shall notify the
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Administrator of that decision, in writing, at least 30 days before any performance test required under 40
- CFR 60.8 is conducted. Once the owner or operator of an affected facility has notified the Administrator
to that effect, the COMS data results will be used to determine opacity compliance during subsequent
tests required under 40 CFR 60.8 until the owner or operator notifies the Administrator, in writing, to the
contrary. For the purpose of determining compliance with the opacity standard during a performance test
required under 40 CFR 60.8 using COMS data, the minimum total time of COMS data collection shall be
averages of all 6-minute continuous periods within the duration of the mass emission performance test.
Results of the COMS opacity determinations shall be submitted along with the results of the
performance test required under 60.8. The owner or operator of an affected facility using a COMS for
compliance purposes is responsible for demonstrating that the COMS meets the requirements specified
in 40 CFR 60.13(c), that the COMS has been properly maintained and operated, and that the resulting
data have not been altered in any way. If COMS data results are submitted for compliance with the
opaciry standard for a period of time during which EPA Method 9 data indicates noncompliance, the
EPA Method 9 data will be used to determine opacity compliance.
(40 CFR 60.11(e)(3)]

40 CFR'60.12 Circumvention.

14. No owner or operator subject to the provisions of 40 CFR 60 shall build, erect, install, or use any
article, machine, equipment or process, the use of which conceals an emission which would otherwise
constitute a violation of an applicable standard. Such concealment includes, but is not limited to, the use
of gaseous diluents to achieve compliance with an opacity standard or with a standard which is based on
the concentration of a pollutant in the gases discharged to the atmosphere.

[40 CFR 60.12]

40 CFR 60.13 Monitoring requirerﬁents.

15. For the purposes of 40 CFR 60.13, all continuous monitoring systems (CMS) required under
applicable subparts shall be subject to the provisions of 40'CFR 60.13 upen promulgation of
pérformance specifications for continuous monitoring systems under Appendix B of 40 CFR 60 and, if
the continuous monitoring system is used to demonstrate compliance with emission limits on a
continuous basis, Appendix F of 40 CFR 60, unless othenwise specified in an applicable subpart or by the
Administrator. Appendix F is applicable December 4, 1987.

(40 CFR 60.13(a)] '

16. If the owner or operator of an affected facility elects to submit continuous opacity monitoring
syvstem (COMS) data for compliance with the opaciry standard as provided under 40 CFR 60.11(e)(3), he
shall conduct a performance evaluation of the COMS as specified in Performance Specification 1,
Appendix B, of 40 CFR 60 before the performance test required under 10 CFR 60.8 is conducted.
Othenwise, the owner or operator of an affected faciliry shall conduct a performance evaluation-of the
COMS or continuous emission monitoring syvstem (CEMS) during any performance test required under
40 CFR 60.8 or within 30 davs thereafter in accordance with the applicable performance specification in
Appendix B of 40 CFR 60. The owner or operator of an affected facilitv shall conduct COMS or CEMS
performance evaluations at such other times as may be required by the Administrator under section 114
of the Act. .

(1) The owner or operator of an affected facility using a COMS to determine opacity compliance during
any performance test required under 60.8 and as described in 40 CFR 60.11(e)(5) shall furnish the
Administrator two or, upon reguest, more copies of a writien report of the results of the COMS
performance evaluation described in 40 CFR 60.13(c) at least 10 days before the performance test
required under 60.8 is conducied.

140 CFR 60.13(c)(1)]
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17. (1) Owners and operators of all continuous emission monitoring systems (CEMS) installed in
accordance with the provisions of this part shall check the zero (or low-level value between 0 and 20
percent of span value) and span (50 to 100 percent of span value) calibration drifts at least once daily in
accordance with a written procedure. The zero and span shall, as a minimum, be adjusted whenever the
24-hour zero drift or 24-hour span drift exceeds two times the limits of the applicable performance
specifications in Appendix B. The system must allow the amount of excess zero and span drift measured
at the 24-hour interval checks to be recorded and quantified, whenever specified. For continuous
monitoring systems measuring opacity-of emissions, the optical surfaces exposed to the effluent gases
shall be cleaned prior to performing the zero and span drift adjustments except that for systems using
automatic zero adjustments. The optical surfaces shall be cleaned when the cumulative automatic zero
tompensation exceeds 4 percent opacity.

(2) Unless othenwise approved by the Administrator, the following procedures shall be followed for
continuous monitoring svstems measuring opacity of emissions. Minimum procedures shzall include a
method for producing a simulated zero opacity condition and an upscale (span} opacity condition using a
certified neutral density filter or other related technique to produce a known obscuration of the light
beam. Such procedures shall provide a system check of the analyzer internal optical surfaces and ali
electronic circuitry including the lamp and photo detector assembly.

[40 CFR 60.13(d)(1) and (2)]

18. Except for system breakdowns, repairs, calibration checks, and zero and span adjustments required
under 40 CFR 60.13(d), all continuous monitoring systems (CMS) shall be in continuous operation and
shall mest minimum frequency of operation requirements as follows: :
(1) All continuous monitoring svstems referenced by 40 CFR 60.13(c) for measuring opacity of
emissions shall complete 2 minimum of one cycle of sampling and analyzing for each successive 10-
second period and one cycle of data recording for each successive 6-minute period.

(2) All continuous monitoring systems referenced by 40 CFR 60.13(c) for measuring emissions, except
opacity, shall complete 2 minimum of one cvcle of operation (sampling. analyzing, and data recording)
for each successive 15-minute period.

[40 CFR 60.13(e)(1) and (2)]

19. All continuous monitoring svstems (CMS) or monitoring devices shall be installed such that
representative measurement: of emissions or process parameters from the affected facility are obtained.
Additional procedures for location of continuous monitoring sysiems contained in the applicable
Performance Specifications of Appendix B of 40 CFR 60 shall be used.

(40 CFR 60.15(f)]

20. When the effluents from a single affected facility or nvo or more affected faciiities subject to the
same emission standards are combined before being released to the atmosphere, the owner or operator
may insiall applicable continuous monitoring svstems (CMS) on each effluent or on the combined
effluent. When the affected facilities are not subject to the same emission standards. separate continuous
monitoring svstems shall be installed on each effluent. When the effluent from one affected facility is

_released 1o the atmosphere through more than one point, the owner or operator shall install an applicable
continuous monitoring svstem on each separate-effiuent unless the installation of fewer svstems is
approved by the Administrator. When more than one continuous monitoring svstem is'used to measure
the emissions from one affected facility (e.g., multiple breechings. multiple outlets), the owner or
operator shall report the results as required from each continuous monitoring svsiem.

[40 CFR 60.13(2)]
21. Owners or operators of all continuous monitoring svstems for measurement of opacity shall reduce
all data to 6-minute averages and for continuous monitoring syvstems other than opacity to 1-hour

- averages for time periods as defined in 40 CFR 60.2. Six-minute opacity averages shall be calculated

from 36 or more data points equally spaced over cach 6-minute period. For continuous monitoring

syvstems other than opacity, 1-hour averages shall be computed from four or more data points equally
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- spaced over each 1-hour period. Data recorded during periods of continuous monitoring system

breakdowns, repairs, calibration checks, and zero and span adjustments shall not be included in the data
averages computed under this paragraph. An arithmetic or integrated average of all data may be used.
The data may be recorded in reduced or non reduced form (e.g., ppm pollutant and percent O3 or ng/J of
pollutant). All excess emissions shall be converted into units of the standard using the applicable
conversion procedures specified in subparts. After conversion into units of the standard, the data may be
rounded to the same number of significant digits as used in the applicable subparts to specify the '
emission limit (e.g., rounded to the nearest | percent opacity).

[40 CFR 60.13(h)]

[electronic file name: 40CFR60a.doc]
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