Port St. Lucie Tractor Services, Inc.



Permit Number 1110109-002-AO


NOTICE OF AIR POLLUTION PERMIT

ELECTRONIC CORRESPONDENCE

psltraco1@AOL.com

ISSUED TO:

Port St. Lucie Tractor Services, Inc.  CO. NAME


Permit Number:  1110109-002-AO
3850 Selvitz Road  CO. ADDRESS


Issue Date:  March 31, 2003
Fort Pierce, FL  34981


Expiration Date:  March 30, 2008
Authorized Representative:

Mr. Paul M. Revels  REPRESENTATIVE’S NAME
President  REPRESENTATIVE’S TITLE
PROJECT:
Project:  
Above Ground Refractory-Lined Air Curtain Incinerator.  COMPLETELY SUMMARIZE PROJECT
Facility Description:  
An Air Burners, LLC Refractory Wall Lined Air Curtain Incinerator Model S-327 (SIC # 4953)

Location:  
Wynne Ranch, North side of Orange Avenue, approximately 5.75 miles west of Minute Maid Road, west of Fort Pierce, St. Lucie County, Florida.

Lat./Long.:  
27(27'37" N / 80(40'22" W

UTM: 
Zone 17; 533.5 Km. E; 3037.2 Km. N

Dear Mr. Revels:

This is Permit Number 1110109-002-AO to operate an air pollution source issued pursuant to Chapter 403.087, Florida Statutes (F.S.).  ADD PURPOSE -- EXAMPLE:OR  This is a new operation permit to authorize operation of the emission unit described in this permit.

NOTICE OF RIGHTS:

Any party to this Order has the right to seek judicial review of the permit under Section 120.68 of the Florida Statutes, by filing a Notice of Appeal under Rule 9.110 of the Florida Rules of Appellate Procedure, with the Clerk of the Department of Environmental Protection in the Office of General Counsel of the Department at 3900 Commonwealth Boulevard, Mail Station 35, Tallahassee, Florida 32399-3000, and by filing a copy of the Notice of Appeal accompanied by the applicable filing fees with the appropriate District Court of Appeal.  The Notice of Appeal must be filed within 30 days from the date this Order is filed with the Clerk of the Department.

STATEMENT OF BASIS:

This permit is issued under the provisions of Chapter 403, Florida Statutes (F.S.), and Florida Administrative Code (F.A.C.) Rules 62-4, and 62-204 through 62-297, and in conformance with all existing regulations of the Florida Department of 

Environmental Protection.  The above named owner or operator is hereby authorized to perform the work or operate the facility shown on the application and approved drawing(s), plans, and other documents attached hereto or on file with the Department, in accordance with the terms and conditions of this permit.

PART I -- SUMMARY INFORMATION

PERMIT CONTENTS:
Part I -- Summary Information

Part II -- Facility-Wide Specific Conditions

Part III -- Emission Unit Specific Conditions

Appendix A -- General Conditions

Appendix B-- Applicable parts of 40 CFR Part 60 Subpart CCCC EXAMPLE  Small Boiler BACT Determination, etc.
OPERATE:  This permit addresses the following air pollution emission unit:

	Emission Unit Number
	Emission Unit Description

	001
	An above-ground Air Burners, LLC Refractory Wall Lined Air Curtain Incinerator Model S-327

A diesel-powered air blower supplies the air to the incinerator.


SIGNIFICANT DATES:
Visible Emission Test Report Received: March 24, 2003
Application Received:  November 26, 2002
PERMIT HISTORY:

Permit No. 1110109-001-AC issued February 6, 2003.

REGULATORY CLASSIFICATION

This facility is classified as a Synthetic non-Title V Source.

PART II -- FACILITY-WIDE SPECIFIC CONDITIONS

Conditions in this part generally apply to all emission unit and activities covered under this permit.

1.0
Administrative Requirements

1.1 Regulating Agencies: All applications, tests, reports, notifications, or other submittals required by this permit shall be submitted to the Florida Department of Environmental Protection, Southeast District Office Air Program at 400 North Congress Avenue, Suite 200, West Palm Beach, Florida 33401, phone 561/681-6600, Fax 561/ 681-6790.

1.2
Citation Format:  In this permit, references to F.A.C. Rule 62-xxx refer to rules promulgated under Title 62 of the Florida Administrative Code; references (if any) to 40 CFR 60.xx (or 61.xx or 63.xx) refer to regulations codified under Part 60 (or 61 or 63) of Title 40 of the Code of Federal Regulations.

1.3 Specific and General Conditions:  The owner or operator shall be subject to the specific conditions of this permit and the owner or operator shall be aware of, and operate under, the attached General Conditions, attached as Appendix A of this permit.  General Conditions are binding and enforceable pursuant to Chapter 403, F.S.  

[Rule 62-4.160, F.A.C.]

1.4
Applicable Regulations:  This facility is subject to regulation of Florida Administrative Code (F.A.C.) Rules 62-4, and 62-204 through 62-297, and 40 CFR Part 60 Subpart CCCC.  Issuance of this permit does not relieve the facility owner or operator from compliance with any other applicable federal, state or local permitting requirements or other regulations.

1.5
Other Permits:  This air pollution permit does not preclude the owner or operator from obtaining any other types of required permits, licenses or certifications from this Department or other departments or agencies.

1.6
Renewal of This Permit Required: An application for renewal of this operation permit must be submitted to the Department of Environmental Protection, Southeast District Office, Air Program at least 60 days prior to the expiration date of this permit.  To apply for an operation permit, the applicant shall submit the appropriate application form in quadruplicate, the appropriate application fee, all required compliance test results, and such additional information as the Department may by law require.  


[Rules 62-4.030, 62-4.050, and 62-4.220, F.A.C.]

2.0
General Pollutant Emission Limiting Standards

2.1 Objectionable Odor Prohibited:  No person shall cause, suffer, allow or permit the discharge of air pollutants which cause or contribute to an objectionable odor.  

[Rule 62-296.320(2), F.A.C.]

{Permitting note: Objectionable odor is defined as any odor present in the outdoor atmosphere which by itself or in combination with other odors, is or may be harmful or injurious to human health or welfare, which unreasonably interferes with the comfortable use and enjoyment of life or property, or which creates a nuisance}.
2.2 General Visible Emission Standard:  Unless otherwise specified by permit or rule, no person shall cause, let, permit, suffer or allow to be discharged into the atmosphere the emission of air pollutants from any activity, the density of which is equal to or greater than 20 percent opacity.  

[Rule 62-296.320(4)(b), F.A.C.]

2.3
Volatile Organic Compounds/Organic Solvents Emission:  No person shall store, pump, handle, process, load, unload or use in any process or installation, volatile organic compounds or organic solvents without applying known and existing vapor emission control devices or systems deemed necessary and ordered by the Department.

Such controls include the following: ^DELETE ALL THAT DO NOT APPLY AND DELETE ABOVE IF NONE APPLY
· Tightly cover or close all VOC containers when they are not in use.

· Tightly cover all open tanks that contain VOCs when they are not in use.

· Maintain all pipes, valves, fittings, etc., which handle VOCs in good operating condition.

· Confine rags used with VOCs to tightly closed, fireproof containers when not in use.

· Immediately confine and clean up VOC spills and make sure wastes are placed in closed containers for reuse, recycling or proper disposal.



  [Rule 62-296.320(1), F.A.C.]

2.4
Unconfined Emission of Particulate Matter:  No person shall cause, let, permit, suffer or allow the emission of unconfined particulate matter from any activity, including vehicular movement; transportation of materials; construction, alteration, demolition or wrecking; or industrially related activities such as loading, unloading, storing or handling; without taking reasonable precautions to prevent such emission.

Reasonable precautions include the following: ^DELETE ALL THAT DO NOT APPLY AND DELETE ABOVE IF NONE APPLY
· Ash removed from the Fire Box shall be wetted with water, prior to removal, and as necessary.

· Ash removed from the Fire Box shall be wetted with water, as necessary, to ensure the ash does not become airborne or begin to smolder.

· Water shall be applied as necessary to the facility grounds.

· Reasonable care shall be taken in loading and unloading the Fire Box.



[Rule 62-296.320(4)(c), F.A.C.]

3.0
Operation Requirements

3.1 Circumvention:  No person shall circumvent any air pollution control device, or allow the emission of air pollutants without the applicable air pollution control device operating properly.  

[Rule 62-210.650, F.A.C.]

4.0
Compliance Testing Requirements

4.1 Test Notification:  Unless otherwise specified in this permit, the Department of Environmental Protection, Southeast District Office, Air Program shall be notified in writing of expected compliance test dates at least fifteen (15) days prior to compliance testing.  The notification shall include the following information: the date, time, and location of each test, and the test contact person who will be responsible for coordinating and having such test conducted for the owner.  

[Rule 62-297.310(7)(a), F.A.C.]

4.2 Testing at Capacity:  Compliance testing shall be conducted with the emission unit operating at the permitted capacity (90 to 100% of the maximum permitted operation rate of the emission unit).  If an emission unit is not tested at permitted capacity, the emission unit shall not be operated above 110% of the test load until a new test showing compliance is conducted.  Operation of the emission unit above 110% of the test load is allowed for no more than 15 days for the purpose of conducting additional compliance testing to regain the authority to operate at the permitted capacity.  

[Rule 62-297.310(2), F.A.C.]

4.3 Special Compliance Tests:  When the Department, after investigation, has good reason (such as complaints, increased visible emission or questionable maintenance of control equipment) to believe that any applicable emission standard in Rules 62-204 through 62-297 or in a permit issued pursuant to those rules is being violated, it shall require the owner or operator of the emission unit to conduct compliance tests which identify the nature and quantity of pollutant emission from the emission unit and to provide a report on the results of said tests to the Department.  

[Rule 62-297.310(7)(b), F.A.C.]

5.0
Reporting and Record Keeping Requirements
5.1 Report Operation Problems:  If the owner or operator is temporarily unable to comply with any of the conditions of the permit due to breakdown of equipment or destruction by hazard of fire, wind or by other cause, the owner or operator shall immediately notify the Department.  Notification shall include pertinent information as to the cause of the problem, and what steps are being taken to correct the problem and to prevent its recurrence, and where applicable, the owner's intent toward reconstruction of destroyed facilities.  Such notification does not release the owner or operator from any liability for failure to comply with Department rules.  

[Rule 62-4.130, F.A.C.]

5.2
Compliance Test Reports:  Compliance test reports shall be submitted to the Department of Environmental Protection, Southeast District Office, Air Compliance Section, as soon as practical, but no later than 45 days after the last sampling run of each test is completed.  Test reports shall provide sufficient detail on the emission unit tested and the test procedures used to allow the Department to determine if the test was properly conducted and the test results properly computed.  

[Rules 62-297.310(8)(a) &(b), F.A.C.]

PART III USE “A” IF MORE THAN ONE PART III REQD.-- EMISSION UNIT SPECIFIC CONDITIONS

USE ADDITIONAL LETTERS -- EX. PART III B, PART III C, ETC. -- FOR ADDITIONAL SECTIONS
This part of this permit addresses the following emission unit:

	Emission Unit Number
	Emission Unit Description

	001
	An aboveground Air Burners, LLC Refractory Wall Lined Air Curtain Incinerator Model S-327. 
A diesel-powered air blower supplies the air to the incinerator.


[This emission unit is subject to sections 60.2245 through 60.2260 of 40 CFR Part 60, Subpart CCCC "Standards of Performance for Commercial and Industrial Solid Waste Incineration Units for Which Construction is commenced After November 30, 1999 or Which Modification or Reconstruction is commenced on or After June 1, 2001"]

1.0
Emission Limiting Standards and Operation Restrictions

TIME PERIODS BELOW SHOULD BE ONE OF: consecutive 12-month period, consecutive 365-day period, month, day -- DO NOT USE year!  EMISSION LIMITS MUST BE BASED ON A RULE OR A REQUEST BY THE APPLICANT!
1.1
This emission unit shall comply with the requirements of 40 CFR Part 60 Subpart CCCC, sections 60.2245 through 60.2260, and with the requirements in Rules 62-296.401(7), F.A.C., to the extent that those requirements are stricter than, or supplemental to, the requirements of 40 CFR Part 60 Subpart, CCCC. 
1.2
Visible Emission Outside of Start Up:  Visible emissions shall comply with the following limitations:

· Outside of startup periods, no visible emission (5 percent opacity or less) shall be allowed, except that an opacity of up to 20 percent shall be permitted for not more than three minutes in any one hour. 

[Rule 62-296.401(7), F.A.C.]

· The opacity limitation is 10 percent (6-minute average)

[40 CFR 60.2250(a)(1)]
{Permitting note: Compliance with the following will comply with both the State and Federal opacity limitations above: Outside of startup visible emissions shall not exceed 5% opacity (6 minute average) except that an opacity of 20% is allowed for up to 3 minutes each hour, as long as the 6- minute period containing the 3- minute exception does not exceed 10% opacity.}

1.3
Visible Emission During Start Up: During startup periods, which shall not exceed the first 30 minutes of operation, an opacity of up to 35 percent (six-minute average) shall be allowed.


[Rule 62-296.401(7)(b) and 40CFR 60.2250(2)]

1.4

Malfunctions:

· Except during malfunctions, the requirements of subpart CCCC apply at all times, and each malfunction must not exceed 3 hours.


[40 CFR 60.2250(b)]

· The general excess emissions rule, Rule 62-210.700, F.A.C., to handle startups, shutdowns, and malfunctions, shall not apply to air curtain incinerators.

[Rule 62-296.401(7)(c), F.A.C.]

{Permitting note: Compliance with the State opacity limitations, in 1.3 and 1.4 above, is required during startups, shutdowns and malfunctions.}

1.5
Permitted Burning Rate: The permittee shall operate the unit in such a manner that it will not exceed 15 tons per hour on an average daily basis.   The annual burning rate shall not exceed 48,000 tons per calendar year.

[Rule 62-296.401(7)(i), F.A.C and Requested by permittee in the construction/operation application dated November 26, 2002]

{Permitting note: The 15 ton per hour maximum burning rate assures the ton per day burning rate will not exceed 100,000 divided by 366 (273 tons per day).  The ton per year limit was requested by the applicant.}

1.6
Material Burned: The only materials that can be burned in an air curtain incinerator are wood wastes consisting of trees, logs, large brush, stumps relatively free of soil, unbagged leaves and yard trash, tree surgeon debris, and clean dry lumber such as pallets.

 [Rule 62-296.401(7)(e), F.A.C.]

1.7
Prohibited Material: The burning of sawdust, paper, trash, tires, garbage, plastics, liquid wastes, chemically treated or painted wood, and other similar materials is expressly prohibited.

 [Rule62-296.401 (7)(f), F.A.C.]

1.8
Starting Fuel: Only virgin oil, natural gas, or liquefied petroleum gas may be used to start the fire.  The use of waste oil, chemicals, gasoline, or tires is expressly prohibited.

 
[Rule 62-296.401(7)(g), F.A.C.]

1.9
Startup/Shut Down: In no case shall an air curtain incinerator be started before sunrise, charging must have completely stopped before sunset. 

[Rule 62-296.401(7)(h), F.A.C.]

1.10
Loading before Shut Down:  In order to ensure the visible emission limitations are not exceeded and objectionable odors are not generated, the air curtain incinerator's fan shall continue to operate after the last charge of each day until all combustion has ceased.  For purposes of this condition, "combustion" means the presence of any flames or smoke that causes a visible emission greater than 5% opacity. 

[Rules 62-4.070(3), F.A.C. & 62-210.200(278), Definition of Visible Emission] 

1.11
Location: The air curtain incinerator must be located at least three hundred (300) feet from any pre-existing occupied building located off site.

 [Rule 296.401(7)(j), F.A.C.]

1.12
The material shall not be loaded into the air curtain incinerator such that it will protrude above the air curtain.

[Rule 62-296.401(7)(l), F.A.C.]

1.13
Ash Height: Ash shall not be allowed to build up in the Fire Box to higher than 1/3 the Fire Box depth or to the point where the ash begins to impede combustion, whichever occurs first.


[Rule 62-296.401(7)(m), F.A.C.]

1.14
Operation and Maintenance Guide and Operator Training: A detailed operation and maintenance guide must be available to the operators at all times, and the permittee must provide the proper training to all operators before they work at the incinerator. The Department may request a copy of this guide.

PERIOD
[Rule 62-296.401)(7)(n), F.A.C.]

1.15
Each trained operator shall receive a certificate demonstrating that the operator has successfully passed the training required by the operation and maintenance guide.  During the tenure of the operator, a copy of this certificate shall be kept on file at the facility and be made available to the Department upon request. 

[Rule 62-4.070(3), F.A.C.]

2.0
Compliance Monitoring and Testing Requirements  EACH 1.0 ITEM MUST HAVE A CORRESPONDING 2.0 AND/OR 3.0 REQUIREMENT THAT IS PRACTICALLY ENFORCEABLE
2.1         
Conduct annual test for opacity no more than 12 calendar months following the date of the Initial test February19. 
[40 CFR 60.2255(c)]

2.2
Test Results: You must submit the results of the opacity tests no later than 45 days following the test.  Submit the annual opacity test results within 12 months following the previous report.


[62-297.310(8), F.A.C.]

2.3

Submit annual opacity test reports as electronic or paper copy on or before the applicable submittal date.


[40 CFR 60.2260(e)]

2.4
Test Methods and Procedures: 

· All emission tests performed pursuant to the requirements of Rule 62-296.401(7) shall comply with DEP Method 9 and the requirements of Chapter 62-297, F.A.C. 

[62-291.401(7)(o)1., F.A.C.]

· Visible emission tests performed pursuant to 40 CFR 60.2255 shall comply with EPA Method 9, as described in 40 CFR 60 Appendix A, adopted and incorporated by reference at Rule 62-204.800(8), F.A.C.

[40CFR 60.2255(a)]

{Permitting note: Observations determined by DEP Method 9 may be used to demonstrate compliance with both State and Federal visible emission limitations.}
 3.0
Reporting and Record Keeping Requirements
 3.1
Keep records of the results the initial and annual opacity tests onsite in either paper copy or electronic format.


[40 CFR 60.2260(b)]


3.2
Daily Log: The permittee shall maintain a daily log and it shall include the following:  

· Date of operation

· Type of starter fuel

· Time of startup

· Time of first charge

· Weight of material burned in tons per day

· Type of material burned

· Description of maintenance work carried out on the incinerator

· Time of last charge

· Time of shutdown

· Comments

· Operator's name

 [Rules 62-4.070(3), F.A.C.]

3.3
Monthly Log:  POLLUTANT By the tenth day of each month the permittee shall calculate and record in a monthly written log the following information. 

· Month of operation

· Total number of days of operation for the month

· Total weight of each type of material burned in the month

· After each calendar year the total material burned for the year shall be totaled and recorded


[Rule 62-4.070(3), F.A.C.]

3.4
The permittee shall maintain records of the occurrence and duration of any startup, shutdown, or malfunction in the operation and shall keep records of the results of all initial and annual opacity tests, the records shall be kept onsite in either paper copy or electronic format, for at least five (5) years.  These records shall be available to the permitting authority or for an inspector's onsite review upon request.


[Rule 62-204.800(8), F.A.C. and 40 CFR 60.2260(f)]
Executed in West Palm Beach, Florida.

STATE OF FLORIDA DEPARTMENT

OF ENVIRONMENTAL PROTECTION

_________________________________________

Thomas Tittle
    Date

District Air Program Administrator

Southeast District

TT/LT/md

cc:



Mr. Stephen Smallwood, P.E.                  e-mail       ssm97@comcast.netLOCAL PROGRAM
FILING AND ACKNOWLEDGMENT:  FILED, on this date, pursuant to § 120.52(7), F.S., with the designated Department Clerk, receipt of which is hereby acknowledged.


_____________________________________
________________

Clerk
                                                Date
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