PERMITEE:

 I.D. Number:
1090036

Lakeview Dirt Company, Inc.

 Permit/Cert:
1090036-003-AO

497 South Holmes Boulevard               
          
 Date of Issue:
November 7, 2005

St. Augustine, FL 32086         
         
 Expiration Date:
November 7, 2010


PERMITTEE:














I.D. Number:
1090036





Permit/Cert Number:
1090036-003-AO

Lakeview Dirt Company, Inc.
Date of Issue:
November 7, 2005



531 South Holmes Boulevard
Expiration Date:
November 7, 2010

St. Augustine, FL 32084
County:
St. Johns





Latitude/Longitude:
29o 52' 54" N; 81o 21' 09" W





UTM:
E-(17) 465.96; N-3305.55 





Project:
Air Curtain Incinerator

This permit is issued under the provisions of Chapter(s) 403, Florida Statutes, and Florida Administrative Code Rule(s) 62-210, 62-212, 62-272, 62-296, 62-297 and 62-4.  The above named permittee is hereby authorized to perform the work or operate the facility shown on the application and approved drawing(s), plans, and other documents attached hereto or on file with the department and made a part hereof and specifically described as follows:

To operate a McPherson Systems Inc. Model M30F refractory lined burning pit with a Model M16ACD air curtain blower. 

Located at 531 South Holmes Boulevard, Just south of Northword Drive on the west side of St. Augustine, St. Johns County, Florida. 

In accordance with:


Construction permit issued July 18, 1995


Operating permit Issued November 21, 1995


Operating permit application received October 31, 2000


Operating Permit application received September 30, 2005
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SPECIFIC CONDITIONS:

1.
The ID No. and Project Name for this source shall be used on all correspondence.  The failure to do so may result in the immediate return of all submitted material prior to review.

Operation

2.
The air curtain incinerator shall not be started before sunrise and charging must be completely stopped before sunset.

3.
The maximum operating hours are 9.5 hours per day, 5 days per week and 52 weeks per year.

4.
The maximum input rate (operating rate) is below and shall not be exceeded without prior approval.

	MATERIAL
	RATE 

NOTE (1)
	TO

	Wood Wastes

 NOTE (2)
	20 tons/hr


	Burning Pit

	Propane
	As Needed
	Burning Pit

for Startup



Note (1)
The charging rate is defined as the total amount of material initially in the burn pit in addition to the total amount added over the first 60 minute period.  For each subsequent 60 minute period it is the total amount added.


Note (2):
Wood Wastes may consist of trees, logs, large brush, stumps relatively free of soil, unbagged leaves and yard trash, tree surgeon debris, and clean dry lumber such as pallets.

5.
The operating rate shall not exceed 110% of the most recently accepted test, except for additional testing purposes, and shall not exceed the rate in Specific Condition No. 8.  After testing at a higher rate, the operating rate shall continue to not exceed the aforementioned rates until the test report at the higher rate is reviewed and accepted by the Department.

6.
The material shall be loaded into the air curtain incinerator such that it will not protrude above the air curtain.

7.
The air curtain shall be maintained until no flames or smoke are present. 

8.
The burning of sawdust, paper, trash, tires, garbage, plastics, liquid wastes, chemically treated or painted wood, and other similar materials is expressly prohibited.

9.
The use of waste oil, chemicals, gasoline, or tires, to start the fire is expressly prohibited.

10.
Ash shall not be allowed to build up in the pit to higher than 1/3 the pit depth or to the point where the ash begins to impede combustion, whichever occurs first.

11.
Unconfined particulate matter emissions shall be controlled by the wetting of ash that is removed from the pit and by the application of dust suppressants to all areas necessary to reasonably control such emissions per FAC Rule 62-296.310(3), unless an alternative method is requested and approved.
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SPECIFIC CONDITIONS:

12.
A daily operating log shall be maintained and at a minimum contain the following:


A)
Date


B)
Total charges


C)
Total material (in tons) charged


D)
Daily operating hours, which extends from the start of



initial combustion to when all flames have been extinguished


E)
Daily average hourly charging rate


F)
Total monthly operating hours


G)
All maintenance that is performed


H)
Comments


I)
Operator's signature.


The log shall be maintained at the facility for a minimum of two (2) years and shall be made available to the Department at all times.

13.
A detailed operation and maintenance guide must be available to the operators at all times, and the permittee must provide the proper training to all operators before they work at the incinerator.

Emissions
14.
The permitted maximum allowable emission rate for each pollutant is as follows:

	POLLUTANT
	MAXIMUM ALLOWABLE
	FAC RULE

	Visible Emissions  (VE)
	5% Opacity, except for

        20% for 3 min/hr
	62-296.401(6)(a)

	Visible Emissions  (VE)
	35% Opacity 

during startup 

NOTE (1)
	62-296.401(6)(b)

	Odor
	None Objectionable
	62-296.401(1)(b)



Note(1):  The startup shall not exceed the first 30 minutes of operation and the opacity shall be averaged over a six-minute period.

15.
The general excess emissions rule, FAC Rule 62-210.700, to handle startups, shutdowns, and malfunctions, shall not apply.

Testing and Reporting
16.
Testing of emissions must be performed at an operating rate of at least 90% of the rate in Specific


Condition No. 4, or Specific Condition No. 5 will become effective.
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SPECIFIC CONDITIONS:

17.
Test the emissions for the following pollutant(s) within 60 days prior to the date stated below, notify the  Department 15 days prior to testing [FAC Rule 62-297.340(1)(i)], and submit the test report documentation to the Department within 45 days after completion of the testing [FAC Rule 62-297.570(2)]:

	POLLUTANT
	TEST INTERVAL
	TEST METHOD

NOTES ( 1) & (2)

	VE


	annual
	DEP 9



Note (1):
From FAC Rule 62-296.401(6)(o)


Note (2):
The test shall consist of three 30 minute runs with propane being used to ignite the fire and the first run shall start at the beginning of startup.  The burning pit shall be recharged during the test as it would be during normal operations or a minimum of one time, whichever is greater.


Tests and test reports shall comply with the requirements of FAC Rules 62-297.330 and 62-297.570, respectively.

18. In each test report, submit the maximum input/production rate at which this source was operated since the previous test.

19. The facility shall comply with solid waste requirements as indicated under Chapter 403, Florida Statutes (F.S.), and Florida Aministrative Code (F.A.C.) Chapters 62-4 and 62-701.

20. Any revision(s) to a permit (and application) must be submitted to the Department, in writing, and approved by the Department prior to implementation.

21. A completed Application for Air Permit - Short Form [DEP Form No. 62-210.900(2)] with a compliance report is due 60 days prior to the expiration of this permit.



Executed in Jacksonville, Florida.






STATE  OF FLORIDA DEPARTMENT






OF ENVIRONMENTAL PROTECTION






______________________________






Christopher L. Kirts, P.E.






District Air Program Administrator
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GENERAL CONDITIONS:

1.

The terms, conditions, requirements, limitations, and restrictions set forth in this permit are "Permit 
Conditions" and are binding and enforceable pursuant to Sections 403.161, 403.727, or 403.859 through 
403.861, Florida Statutes.  The permittee is placed on notice that the Department will review this permit 
periodically and may initiate enforcement action for any violation of the conditions.

2.

This permit is valid only for the specific processes and operations applied for and indicated in the approved 
drawings or exhibits.  Any unauthorized deviation from the approved drawings, exhibits, specifications, or 
conditions of this permit may constitute grounds for revocation and enforcement action by the Department.

3.

As provided in Subsections 403.087(6) and 403.722(5), Florida Statutes, the issuance of this permit does not 
convey any vested rights or any exclusive privileges.  Neither does it authorize any injury to public or private 
property or any invasion of personal rights, nor any infringement of federal, state or local laws or 
regulations.  This permit is not a waiver of or approval of any other Department permit that may be required 
for other aspects of the total project which are not addressed in the permit.

4.

This permit conveys not title to land or water, does not constitute State recognition or acknowledgment of 
title, and does not constitute authority for the use of submerged lands unless herein provided and the 
necessary title or leasehold interests have been obtained from the State.  Only the Trustees of the Internal 
Improvement Trust Fund may express State opinion as to title.

5.

This permit does no relieve the permittee from liability for harm or injury to human health or welfare, 
animal, or plant life or property caused by the construction or operation of this permitted source, or from 
penalties therefore; nor does it allow the permitted to cause pollution in contravention of Florida Statutes and 
Department rules, unless specifically authorized by an order from the Department.

6.

The permittee shall properly operate and maintain the facility and systems of treatment and control (and 
related appurtenances) that are installed and used by the permittee to achieve compliance with the conditions 
of this permit, as required by Department rules.  This provision includes the operation of backup or auxiliary 
facilities or similar systems when necessary to achieve compliance with the conditions of the permit and 
when required by Department rules.

7.

The permittee, by accepting this permit, specifically agrees to allow authorized Department personnel, upon 
presentation of credentials or other documents as may be required by law and at a reasonable time, access to 
the premises, where the permitted activity is located or conducted to:



a.
Have access to and copy any record that must be kept under the conditions of the permit;



b.
Inspect the facility, equipment, practices, or operations regulated or required under this permit; and

    

c.
Sample or monitor any substances or parameters at any location reasonably necessary to assure 
compliance with this permit or Department rules.



Reasonable time may depend on the nature of the concern being investigated.
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GENERAL CONDITIONS:

8.

If, for any reason, the permittee does not comply with or will be unable to comply with any condition or 
limitation specified in this permit, the permittee shall immediately provide the Department with the 
following information:



a.  a description of and cause of non-compliance; and



b.  the period of non-compliance, including dates and times; or, if not corrected, the anticipated time the 
non-compliance is expected to continue, and steps being taken to reduce, eliminate, and prevent recurrence 
of the non-compliance.



The permittee shall be responsible for any and all damages which may result and may be subject to 
enforcement action by the Department for penalties or for revocation of this permit.

9.

In accepting this permit, the permittee understands and agrees that all records, notes, monitoring data and 
other information relating to the construction or operation of this permitted source which are submitted to 
the Department may be used by the Department as evidence in any enforcement case involving the permitted 
source arising under the Florida Statutes or Department rules, except where such use is prescribed by 
Sections 403.73 and 403.111, Florida Statutes.  Such evidence shall only be used to the extent it is consistent 
with the Florida Rules of Civil Procedure and appropriate evidentiary rules.

10.

The permittee agrees to comply with changes in Department rules and Florida Statutes after a reasonable 
time for compliance, provided, however, the permittee does not waive any other rights granted by Florida 
Statutes or Department rules.

11.

This permit is transferable only upon Department approval in accordance with Florida Administrative Code 
Rules 62-4.120 and 62-730.300, F.A.C., as applicable.  The permittee shall be liable for any non-compliance 
of the permitted activity until the transfer is approved by the Department.

12.

This permit or a copy thereof shall be kept at the work site of the permitted activity.

13.

This permit also constitutes:



() Determination of Best Available Control Technology (BACT)



( ) Determination of Prevention of Significant Deterioration (PSD)



( ) Compliance with New Source Performance Standards (NSPS)
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GENERAL CONDITIONS:

14.

The permittee shall comply with the following:



a.  Upon request, the permittee shall furnish all records and plans required under Department rules.  


During 
enforcement actions, the retention period for all records will be extended automatically unless 


otherwise stipulated by the Department.



b.  The permittee shall hold at the facility or other location designated by this permit records of all 


monitoring information (including all calibration and maintenance records and all original strip chart 


recordings for continuous monitoring instrumentation) required by the permit, copies of all reports 


required by this permit, and records of all data used to complete the application for this permit.  These 


materials shall be retained at least three years from the date of the sample, measurement, report, or 


application unless otherwise specified by Department rule.

     

c.  Records of monitoring information shall include:




-  the date, exact place, and time of sampling or measurements;




-  the person responsible for performing the sampling or measurement;




-  the dates analyses were performed;




-  the person responsible for performing the analyses;




-  the analytical techniques or methods used; and




-  the results of such analyses.

15.

When requested by the Department, the permittee shall within a reasonable time furnish any information 

required by law which is needed to determine compliance with the permit.  If the permittee becomes aware 

that relevant facts were not submitted or were incorrect in the permit application or in any report to the 


Department, such facts or information shall be corrected promptly.
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