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PERMITTEE:





Permit No.: 1050331-002-AF PRIVATE 

Phoenix Phosphors, Inc.



County: Polk

Post Office Box 1439




Effective Date:
Mulberry, FL  33860




Expiration Date:  November 15, 2009  









Project: Phosphor Reclamation Plant

This federally enforceable state operation permit is issued under the provisions of Chapter 403, Florida Statutes, and Florida Administrative Code (F.A.C.) Chapters 62-4, 62-204, 62-210, 62-212, 62-213, 62-214, 62-296 and 62-297.  The above named permittee is hereby authorized to perform the work or operate the facility shown on the application and approved drawing(s), plans and other documents, attached hereto or on file with the Department and made a part hereof and specifically described as follows:

Process Description

For the operation of a phosphor-reclamation plant:  Scrap, plastic material is received, cleaned and prepared for processing.  Then, in a batch process, the plastic is treated with solvents to free the phosphor compound from the plastic.  The contents of the batch are segregated into three constituents: (1) the phosphor compound, (2) undissolved plastic, and (3) spent solvent and dissolved plastic.  The undissolved plastic is gathered for disposal as non-hazardous waste.  A distiller separates the spent solvent from the dissolved plastic.  The solvent is collected for reuse, and the distiller “bottom” is collected for disposal as a hazardous waste.  A 250,000-BTU natural gas fired burner and commercial, lab-scale spray dryer – both exempt from permitting – are used to obtain larger agglomerates of ceramic dust.  (At the applicant’s request, specific information regarding this process is confidentially maintained by the Department.)

This facility is a natural, non-Title V source of fugitive emissions of volatile organic compounds (VOCs) and hazardous air pollutants (HAPs).

Facility Information Summary

Location: 2377 State Road 37, South, Mulberry in Polk County

UTM Coordinates: 
17-404.230 East     3083.420 North

Latitude:
27° 52’ 24.9” North  
Longitude:
81° 58’ 22.4” West

Facility ID No.: 1050331

	Emission Unit ID No.
	Description

	001
	Phosphor Reclamation Facility


Permit History

Replaces Permit No.:  1050331-001-AF

	NOTE: Please reference the Facility Name, Permit No., Facility ID, and Emission Unit ID in all correspondence, test report submittals, applications, etc.


SPECIFIC CONDITIONS:

1. General Conditions.  A part of this permit is the attached 15 General Conditions. [Rule 62-4.160, F.A.C.]

2. Other Requirements.  Issuance of this permit does not relieve the permittee from complying with applicable emission limiting standards or other requirements of Chapters 62-204 through 62-297, or any other requirements under federal, state, or local law.  [Rule 62-210.300, F.A.C.]

Operating and Emission Limitations

3. Hours of Operation.  This facility is permitted to operate continuously, 8,760 hours per 12 month consecutive period.  [Permit 1050331-001-AF]

4. Emission Limitations.  The VOC and HAP emission operation limits for the entire facility are as follows:

	Pollutant
	Emission Limits

(tons/consecutive 12 month period)

	Total Volatile Organic Compounds (VOC) 
	10.0

	Individual Hazardous Air Pollutants (HAP)
	5.0

	Total Hazardous Air Pollutants (HAP)
	10.0


[Rules 62-210.200(PTE) and 62-210.300(2)(a)1, F.A.C.; Permit 1050331-001-AF]

5. Volatile Organic Compounds Emissions (VOC).  The permittee shall not store, pump, handle, process, load, unload or use in any process or installation, volatile organic compounds (VOC) without applying known and existing vapor emission control devices or systems deemed necessary and ordered by the Department.  Pursuant to Rule 62-296.320(1)(a), F.A.C., the following procedures shall be utilized to minimize pollutant emissions:

A. Maintain tightly fitting cover, lids, etc. on all containers of VOC when they are not being handled, tapped, etc.

B. Prevent excessive air turbulence across exposed VOC’s.

C. Where possible and practical, procedure/fabricate a tightly fitting cover for any open trough, basin, bath, etc. of VOC so that it can be covered when not in use.

D. All equipment, fittings, valve lines, pipes, drums, etc. shall be properly operated and maintained.

E. All VOC spills shall be attended to immediately and the waste properly disposed of, recycled, etc.


[Rule 62-296.320(1)(a), F.A.C.] 

6. Objectionable Odor.  The permittee shall not cause, suffer, allow, or permit the discharge of air pollutants from this plant which cause or contribute to an objectionable odor.  Objectionable odor is defined as “Any odor present in the outdoor atmosphere which by itself or in combination with other odors, is or may be harmful or injurious to human health or welfare, which unreasonably interferes with the comfortable use and enjoyment of life or property, or which creates a nuisance.” [Rules 62-296.320(2) and 62-210.200 and Definitions - (Objectionable Odor), F.A.C.]

7. Excess Emissions.  Excess Emissions which are caused entirely or in part by poor maintenance, poor operation, or any other equipment or process failure which may reasonably be prevented during startup, shutdown, or malfunction shall be prohibited.  [Rule 62-210.700(4), F.A.C.]

Compliance and Recordkeeping Requirements

8. Recordkeeping.  In order to demonstrate compliance with Specific Condition No. 4, the permittee shall keep records to support the VOC/HAP usage and emissions: 

A. Monthly, calculate the following:

1. The usage* of all solvents containing VOCs and HAPs (Usage must be supported by inventory tallies of new solvents, recycled solvents, and solvent-bearing wastes.);

2. The total VOC content and total HAP content of each solvent;

3. The density of each solvent;

4. The total of VOC/HAP emissions for each month

5. The cumulative 12-month running total of VOC/HAP emissions to ensure the annual VOC/HAP emission limits are not exceeded.

6. Supporting documentation (“As Supplied” sheets, “As Applied” sheets, MSDS sheets, EPA data sheets, purchase orders, waste shipment/disposal records, etc.) that includes information to determine VOC and HAP emissions.  

All records shall include the Facility Name, Facility ID, Emission Unit ID, Source Description, Date (Month, Day, and Year), and Operator Initials for each measurement.  Monthly records shall be completed by the 10th day of the following month.  

*  At the option of the permittee, “purchases” may be used instead of “usage” in determining VOC and HAP emissions, provided no materials are used which are not purchased.  However, once implemented, the chosen option shall not change without prior written approval by the Department.  Quantifying and recording the recycle-rate of solvents is not necessary if no credit is taken for the recycling of solvents.

[Rule 62-4.070(3), F.A.C.]

9. Record Retention.  The records required in Specific Condition No. 8 shall be recorded in a permanent form suitable for inspection by the Department upon request.  The records shall be maintained onsite for a minimum of the most recent three (3) year period.  [Rules 62-4.070(3), 62-210.300(2)(b)1.e F.A.C.]

10. Operating Changes.  Any proposed change to this source that will cause the limitations of this permit to be exceeded--such as design-parameter changes, addition or replacement of process equipment, increase in solvent use and use of solvents with higher VOC or HAP constituents, or other change that will increase actual emissions may be considered a modification and must be reported.   The permittee shall notify the Air Permitting Section of this office of any changes and receive written approval from this office of the changes prior to implementing the changes.  [Rule 62-4.070(3), F.A.C.]

Federally Enforceable State Operation Permit (FESOP) Renewal

11. Permit Renewal.  A completed application to renew this FESOP permit shall be submitted to the Air Program of the Southwest District Office of the Department no later than 60 days prior to the expiration date of this permit.  To properly apply for an operation permit, the applicant shall submit the following:

A. The appropriate Department application form (see Rule 62-210.900, F.A.C. (Forms and Instructions));

B. The appropriate operation permit application fee per Rule 62-4.050(4)(a);

C. A copy of the records/logs required in Specific Condition No. 8 for the month prior to the application date.  

[Rules 62-4.070(3), 62-4.090, 62-210.300(2), and 62-210.900]







STATE OF FLORIDA DEPARTMENT







OF ENVIRONMENTAL PROTECTION







___________________________







Gerald J. Kissel, P.E.







District Air Program Administrator







Southwest District

Electronic File:  1050331002af.doc

Page 1 of 5
Page 4 of 5

