PERMITTEE:

Permit No.: 1050210-005-AF

Americoat Corporation

Project:  
      Burn-Off Ovens


PERMITTEE:
Effective Date:
Americoat Corporation
Permit No:
1050210-005-AF

3915 U.S. 98 South
County: 
Polk

Lakeland, FL  33813
Expiration Date:
07/31/2009


Project:
Burn-off Ovens

This permit is issued under the provisions of Chapter 403, Florida Statutes, and Florida Administrative Code, Chapters 62-4, 62-204, 62-210, 62-212, 62-213, 62-296, and 62-297.  The above-named permittee is hereby authorized to perform the work or operate the facility shown on the application and approved drawing(s), plans and other documents, attached hereto or on file with the Florida Department of Environmental Protection:

Pursuant to Rule 62-210.300(2)(b), F.A.C., this facility-wide, federally enforceable, state operation permit (FESOP) is issued for the operation of two, natural-gas-fired, burn-off ovens, with afterburner-control of emissions.  One is a cleaning furnace manufactured by Pollution Control Products, Model PRC 330, controlled-pyrolysis.  This is designated as burn-off oven No. 11.  Its maximum heat-input rate is 0.80 MMBtu/hour. The other one is designated as burn-off oven No. 1.  Its maximum, heat-input rate is 0.79 MMBtu/hour.
Rule Applicability

The facility is subject to Rule 62-210.300(2)(b) – Additional Requirements for Federally Enforceable State Operating Permits (FESOPs) for non-Title V Sources.

--  --  --  --  --  --  --  --  --  --  --  --

Facility Information Summary

Location: 3915 U.S. 98 South, Lakeland, Polk County, Florida 33813

UTM Coordinates: 17-411.4 E
3096.7 N

Latitude:  27059’39”
Longitude:  81054’04”

Facility ID No.: 1050210

Emission Unit No:  03—Burn-off Oven No. 11


21—Burn-off Oven No. 1

Note: Please reference Permit No. and Emission Unit No. in all correspondence, test report submittals, applications, etc.

Replaces Permit No.: 1050210-004-AF

Specific Conditions

1.  General Conditions - The attachment with 15 General Conditions is a part of this permit.

[Rule 62-4.160, F.A.C.]

2.  Other Requirements - All applicable rules of the Department and design discharge limitations specified in the application must be adhered to.  The permit holder may also need to comply with county, municipal, federal, or other state regulations prior to construction.

[Rule 62-4.070(7), F.A.C.]

Emission and Operation Limitations
3.  Operating Hours for E. U. ID No. 03 - Burn-off Oven No. 11 may be used to remove paint residue from liquid-coated and powder-coated metal parts, and its operating hours are not restricted (i.e. permitted for 8,760 hours per year of operation).  It shall not be used for the curing or drying of varnished or painted parts that may contain uncured paint or significant amounts of volatile solvents.

[Rule 62-4.070(3), F.A.C.; construction permit 1050210-003-AC]

4.  Operating Hours for E. U. ID No. 21 - Burn-off Oven No. 1 may be used to remove paint residue from liquid-coated and powder-coated metal parts for up to 1000 hours in any 12-consecutive-month period.  There is no limitation on the total operating hours for this unit when it is used to dry or cure coatings.

[Rule 62-4.070(3), F.A.C.; construction permit 1050210-002-AC]

5.  Operating Temperature and Type of Coating for E. U. ID No. 21 - There is no limitation on the maximum-operating temperature in Burn-off Oven No. 1; nor is there is any limitation on the types of coatings that may be dried or cured in it.

[Construction permit 1050210-002-AC]

6.  Visible Emissions - 


E.U. ID No. 03:
No visible emission (5% opacity) except that visible emissions not exceeding 20% opacity are allowed for up to three minutes in any one hour period.


E.U. ID No. 21:
While operating in burn-off mode, no visible emission (5% opacity) except that visible emissions not exceeding 20% opacity are allowed for up to three minutes in any one hour period.

When the oven is used to dry or cure coatings, the visible emissions shall not be equal to or greater than 20% opacity.

[Rules 62-296.401,and 62-296.320(4)(b), F.A.C.; construction permits 1050210-002-AC and 1050210-003-AC]

7.  Circumvention - The permittee shall not circumvent any air-pollution-control device or allow the emissions of air pollutants without the applicable air-pollution-control device (i.e. afterburner) operating properly.

[Rule 62-210.650, F.A.C.]
8.  Objectionable Odor - The permittee shall not cause, suffer, allow, or permit the discharge of air pollutants that cause or contribute to an objectionable odor.  An objectionable odor is any odor present in the outdoor atmosphere, which by itself or in combination with other odors, is or may be harmful or injurious to human health or welfare, which unreasonably interferes with the comfortable use and enjoyment of life or property, or which creates a nuisance.  If any use of an oven to remove coatings results in objectionable odors, then that operation shall be stopped until such time as process changes are made to control the odors.

[Rule 62-296.320(2), F.A.C.]

Compliance Testing Requirements
9.  Visible Emissions (VE) Testing - During each federal fiscal year (October 1 to September 30), each burn-off oven’s exhaust shall be tested for visible emissions while cleaning coatings from parts that are likely to produce the worst-case visible emissions during the cleaning process.  (During any year when Burn-off Oven No. 1 is not used to burn-off coatings, no testing of visible emissions is required.)  Copies of each test report shall be submitted to the Air Compliance Section of the Southwest District Office within 45 days of such testing or with the operation permit application, whichever occurs first.  Each test report shall include (1) a statement that describes the kinds of parts being cleaned, (2) the type and quantity (approximate weight or surface area) of coatings that were cleaned off, (3) the operating parameters (typical readings and readings at time of test) of the afterburner, and (4) the identification of the oven.

[Rules 62-297.310(7) & (8), F.A.C.]

10.  VE Test Method - Compliance with the visible emission limitation of Specific Condition No. 6 shall be determined using EPA Method 9 contained in 40 CFR 60, Appendix A and adopted by reference in Rule 62-297, F.A.C.  Each visible emissions test shall be conducted by a certified observer and be a minimum of sixty (60) minutes in duration.  The test observation period shall include the period during which the highest opacity can reasonably be expected to occur.

The minimum requirements for stationary, point-source, emission-test procedures and reporting shall be in accordance with Rule 62-297, F.A.C. and 40 CFR 60 Appendix A.

[Rules 62-296.401,and 62-297 F.A.C.]

11.  Testing Notification - The permittee shall notify the Air Compliance Section of the Southwest District Office of the Department--at least 15 days prior to the date on which each formal compliance test is to begin--of the date, time, and place of each such test and of the test contact person who will be responsible for coordinating and having such test conducted.  

[Rule 62-297.310(7)(a)9, F.A.C.]

Recordkeeping Requirement

12.  In order to document compliance with the requirement of Specific Condition No. 4, the permittee shall maintain a record of operating hours for burn-off oven #1 while operating in the burn-off mode.  These records shall show, at a minimum, the following information:

A.
Facility Name, Facility ID No. and Emission Unit ID No.

B. Date,

C. Hours of operation in the burn-off mode,

D. At the end of each month, the total operating hours for the oven in the burn-off mode for (1) each month and (2) the most recent 12-consecutive-month period.

Renewal of Federally Enforceable State Operating Permit (FESOP)

13.  An application to renew this Federally Enforceable State Operating Permit (FESOP) shall be submitted to the Air Section of the Southwest District Office of the Department no later than 60 days prior to the expiration date of this permit.  To properly apply for a federally enforceable state-operating permit, the applicant shall submit the following:


A.
the completed application for Air Permit (Application for Non-Title V Air Permit Renewal, Form and Instructions (Effective 2-11-99), DEP Form 62-210.900(4), F.A.C.);


B.
the appropriate operation permit fee per Rule 62-4.050(4)(a)3. F.A.C.;

C. A copy of the most recent, visible-emissions test report for each burn-off oven (Specific Condition No. 9), if not previously submitted.

D.
a copy of the records required in Specific Condition No. 12.

[Rules 62-4.090(4), 62-210.310(7)(a)3, 62-210.900, and 62-4.070(3), F.A.C.]


FLORIDA DEPARTMENT OF 


ENVIRONMENTAL PROTECTION


______________________________


Gerald J Kissel, P.E.


District Air Administrator,


Southwest District
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