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This permit is issued under the provisions of Chapter 403, Florida Statutes, and Florida Administrative Code Chapters 62-204, 62-210, 62-212, 62-213, 62-296, 62-297, and Chapter 62-4.  The above named permittee is hereby authorized to perform the work or operate the facility shown on the application and approved drawing(s), plans, and other documents, attached hereto or on file with the department and made a part hereof and specifically described as follows:

This permit authorizes the construction modification of permit 1050148-005-AC, which is for an electric component repair facility.  The components are typically electric motors, armatures, and other similar components.  Specifically the modifications are for the following:

       -
Increase the allowable batch cycle rate of each of the 2 burn off ovens from 4,800 lbs./4-hour batch cycle to 1,500 lbs./hr. averaged over the time of the batch cycle for each oven.

       -
Increase the allowable hours of operation of the 2 burn off ovens from a total combined 4,160 hours in any consecutive 12 month period to 8,760 hours/year for each oven.

       -
Change the allowable fuels for each burn off oven from either natural gas or propane to only allowing natural gas to be used in each burn off oven.

       -
Decrease the design total heat input rate of the Controlled Pyrolysis burn off oven from 2.15 MMBTU/hr. to 0.95 MMBTU/hr.

       -
Decrease the design total heat input rate of the Bayco burn off oven from 1.94 MMBTU/hr. to 0.85 MMBTU/hr.

       -
Establish the Bayco burn off oven as Emission Unit No. 003, since both burn off ovens are part of Emission Unit No. 001 on permit 1050148-005-AC.

       -
Delete the requirement that each burn off oven's primary chamber shall be maintained at a minimum of 700(F.

       -
Establish construction of the 3rd electric bake oven should be completed during the 4th quarter of 2005. (all 3 considered exempt)

       -
Establish construction of the 2nd dip tank, which is part of Emission Unit No. 002, should be completed during the 4th quarter of 2005.

       -
Establish a second VPI tank has been built and to be part of Emission Unit No. 002.

       -
Establish 2 natural gas fired bake ovens (0.8 MMBTU/hr. max., each) have been built and that both ovens are considered exempt.

       -
Establish a second aqueous parts washer (degreaser) has been built and that both aqueous parts washers (degreasers) heated with natural gas are considered exempt. (0.4 MMBTU/hr. max., each)

       -
Establish emissions from a Safety Kleen degreaser has been built. (to be part of Emission Unit No. 002)

       -
Establish emissions from an electrically heated tandem Hot Press has been built. (to be part of Emission Unit No. 002)

       -
Establish 2 natural gas fired power flame evaporators for the 2 parts washers have been built. (both evaporators considered exempt, 0.4 MMBTU/hr. max., each)

After the above modifications have been completed the facility's description is as follows:

For the operation of a synthetic non-Title V electric components repair facility.  The permittee has requested total hazardous air pollutant (THAP) and volatile organic compound (VOC) emission limitations to synthetically avoid the Title V permitting requirements of Chapter 62-213, F.A.C.

The air emission sources at this facility are as described below:

Permitted Emissions Unit(s)
Emission Unit ID No. 001 – Controlled Pyrolysis, Model VPI 885 3756, burn off oven (south):
Electric motors, armature, and other components received at the facility for repair are place in a Controlled Pyrolysis, Model VPI 885 3756, burn off oven at a maximum allowable batch rate of 1,500 lbs/hr. averaged over the time of the batch cycle.  The oven is only fired with natural gas at a design total (primary burner + afterburner) maximum heat input rate of 0.95 MMBTU/hr.  A typical batch cycle is from 4 hours to 24 hours and is determined from the time a part(s) is placed in the oven and the firing of natural gas is initiated until the natural gas is shutoff.  During each batch cycle the oven's afterburner is maintained at a minimum of 1,400(F.  The purpose of the oven is to burn the insulating resin from the windings so they can be removed, and replaced with new windings.  The oven is not used specifically to strip or reclaim wiring of any polyvinyl chloride coated wire.  Varnish and other coatings are also removed from the copper wire to facilitate removal of defective windings.

The burn off oven is considered to operate as an incinerator and is subject to Rule 62-296.401(1), F.A.C.

Emission Unit ID No. 003 – Bayco, Model BB-360, burn off oven (north):

Electric motors, armature, and other components received at the facility for repair are place in a Bayco, Model BB-360, burn off oven at a maximum allowable batch rate of 1,500 lbs/hr. averaged over the time of the batch cycle.  The oven is only fired with natural gas at a design total (primary burner + afterburner) maximum heat input rate of 0.85 MMBTU/hr.  A typical batch cycle is from 4 hours to 24 hours and is determined from the time a part(s) is placed in the oven and the firing of natural gas is initiated until the natural gas is shutoff.  During each batch cycle the oven's afterburner is maintained at a minimum of 1,400(F.  The purpose of the oven is to burn the insulating resin from the windings so they can be removed, and replaced with new windings.  The oven is not used specifically to strip or reclaim wiring of any polyvinyl chloride coated wire.  Varnish and other coatings are also removed from the copper wire to facilitate removal of defective windings.

The burn off oven is considered to operate as an incinerator and is subject to Rule 62-296.401(1), F.A.C.

Emission Unit ID No. 002 – Miscellaneous VOC/HAP Activities:

An exempt (see below) small sand blast/bead blast booth and clean out room are vented to a cartridge filter collector.  The room and booth are used as necessary to clean the parts or motor cores in preparation for repairs.  Emissions from the collector exhaust inside the building.

A Safety Kleen degreaser and 2 exempt (see below) natural gas heated aqueous parts washers (degreasers) are also used to clean motor components before reassembly.   The 2 parts washers are each only fired with natural gas at a design maximum heat input rate of 0.4 MMBTU/hr.  Two (2) exempt (see below) natural gas fired power flame evaporators to evaporate water from the 2 parts washers have been built and each is only fired with natural gas at a design maximum heat input rate of 0.4 MMBTU/hr.

After rewinding or repairing, the windings may be coated with varnish, resins, or other sealing materials to help hold the windings in place and provide electric insulation.  The coatings may be applied by immersion of the product in one of two dip tanks and/or 2 VPI tanks.  The VPI tanks apply a vacuum to the tanks to remove air from between the windings followed by pressure to improve varnish impregnation through the windings.  The tanks remain closed except for when the parts are dipping and draining.  A paint booth with fiber filters is also available to paint repaired equipment on an as needed basis.  The coated windings are then typically sent to three electrically heated bake ovens and/or two natural gas fired bake ovens to dry moisture out of the windings and/or cure the resins/coatings.  The five bake ovens are exempt from permitting (see below).

An electrically heated tandem hot press is used to selectively cure resin in specific areas on some windings.

Exempt Emission Source(s)

The emissions from the following emission sources at this facility are deemed insignificant and exempt from permitting:

Sand blast/bead blast booth per Rule 62-4.040, F.A.C.

Clean out room per Rule 62-4.040, F.A.C.

Two aqueous parts washers (Steam Pit degreaser and Power Flame degreaser) each only heated with natural gas at a design maximum heat input rate of 0.4 MMBTU/hr. per Rule 62-210.300(3)(b), F.A.C.

Two power flame evaporators for the steam pit each only fired with natural gas at a design maximum rate of 0.4 MMBTU/hr. per Rule 62-210.300(3)(b), F.A.C.

Two bake ovens each only fired with natural gas at a maximum design rate of 0.8 MMBTU/hr. per Rule 62-210.300(3)(b), F.A.C.

Three electrically heated bake ovens per Rule 62-210.300(3)(b), F.A.C.

Facility Information Summary

Location: 2701 S. Combee Road, Lakeland

UTM Coordinates:  17-411.61E   3098.80N

Latitude: 28(00'46.8" North

Longitude: 81(54'28.9" West

Facility ID No.: 1050148

Emission Unit ID No.: 001 - Controlled Pyrolysis, Model VPI 885 3756, burn off oven (south)

   002 - Miscellaneous VOC/HAP Activities

   003 - Bayco, Model BB-360, burn off oven (north)

NOTE: Please reference the Permit No., Facility ID, and Emission Unit ID in all correspondence, test report submittals, applications, etc.

Permit History

Replaces Permit No.: 1050148-005-AC

SPECIFIC CONDITIONS:

The following conditions apply facility-wide:

1.  General Conditions: A part of this permit is the attached 15 General Conditions.

[Rule 62-4.160, F.A.C.]

2.  Other Requirements: Issuance of this permit does not relieve the permittee from complying with the applicable emission limiting standards or other requirements of Chapters 62-204, 62-210, 62-212, 62-213, 62-296, and 62-297, F.A.C. or any other requirement under federal, state, or local law.  [Rule 62-210.300, F.A.C.]

3.  Hours of Operation: The hours of operation of this facility are not restricted, 8,760 hours/year.  [Rule 62-210.200, F.A.C. - Definitions (PTE)]

4.  General Particulate Emission Limiting Standards.  General Visible Emissions Standard:
Except for emissions units that are subject to a particulate matter or opacity limit set forth or established by rule and reflected by conditions in this permit, no person shall cause, let, permit, suffer or allow to be discharged into the atmosphere the emissions of air pollutants from any activity, the density of which is equal to or greater than that designated as Number 1 on the Ringelmann Chart (20 percent opacity).  [Rule 62-296.320(4)(b)1., F.A.C.]

5.  Reasonable Precautions for Unconfined Emissions of Particulate Matter: All reasonable precautions shall be taken to prevent and control generation of unconfined emissions of particulate matter in accordance with the provisions in Rule 62-296.320, F.A.C.  These provisions are applicable to any source, including but not limited to, vehicular movement, transportation of materials, construction, alteration, demolition or wrecking, or industrial related activities such as loading, unloading, storing and handling.  Reasonable precautions include the following:

A.
Lawn & Ground Maintenance – Landscaping and planting grass in areas as necessary.

B.
Parking Areas – Application of water as needed.

C.
Paved and Unpaved Areas – As needed, application of water, the removal of particulate matter from paved areas, limit site access to vehicles, and vehicle speed limitations.

[Rule 62-296.320(4)(c), F.A.C.]

6.  General Pollutant Emission Limiting Standards.  Objectionable Odor Prohibited: The permittee shall not cause, suffer, allow or permit the discharge of air pollutants, which cause or contribute to an objectionable odor.  An "Objectionable Odor" is defined as any odor present in the outdoor atmosphere, which by itself or in combination with other odors, is or may be harmful or injurious to human health or welfare, which unreasonably interferes with the comfortable use and enjoyment of life or property, or which creates a nuisance.  [Rules 62-210.200 and 62-296.320(2), F.A.C.]

7.  Special Compliance Tests: When the Department, after investigation, has good reason (such as complaints, increased visible emissions or questionable maintenance of control equipment) to believe that any applicable emission standard contained in a Department rule or in a permit issued pursuant to those rules is being violated, it may require the owner or operator of the emissions unit to conduct compliance tests which identify the nature and quantity of pollutant emissions from the emissions unit and to provide a report on the results of said tests to the Department .  [Rule 62-297.310(7)(b), F.A.C.]

8.  Visible Emission (VE) Test Methods: If necessary, compliance with the visible emission limitations of Specific Condition No. 4 shall be determined using EPA Method 9 contained in Rule 62-297.401(9), F.A.C.  The visible emissions test shall be conducted by a certified observer and be a minimum of thirty (30) minutes in duration.  The test observation period shall include the period during which the highest opacity emissions can reasonably be expected to occur.  The minimum requirements for stationary point source emission test procedures and reporting shall be in accordance with Chapter 62-297, F.A.C. and 40 CFR 60 Appendix A. 

[Rules 62-297.310(4)(a)2. and 62-297.401, F.A.C.]

9.  Excess Emission Requirements:
A.
Excess emissions resulting from startup, shutdown, or malfunction shall be permitted providing (1) best operational practices to minimize emissions are adhered to and (2) the duration of excess emission shall be minimized but in no case exceed 2 hours in any 24 hour period unless specifically authorized by the Department for a longer duration.   [Rule 62-210.700(1), F.A.C.]

B.
Excess emissions which are caused entirely or in part by poor maintenance, poor operation, or any other equipment or process failure which may reasonably be prevented during  startup, shutdown, or malfunction shall be prohibited.                                     [Rule 62-210.700(4), F.A.C.]

C.
In case of excess emissions resulting from malfunctions, each owner or operator shall notify the Department in accordance with Rule 62-4.130, F.A.C.  A full written report on the malfunctions shall be submitted in a quarterly report, if requested by the Department.  [Rule 62-210.700(6), F.A.C.]

10.  Circumvention: No person shall circumvent any air pollution control device, or allow the emission of air pollutants without the applicable air pollution control device operating properly.  [Rule 62-210.650, F.A.C.]

11.  Annual Operating Report Requirement: On or before March 1 of each year, submit to the Air Compliance Section of this office, an emission report [DEP Form No. 62-210.900(5)] for the preceding calendar year.  The report may be submitted electronically in accordance with the instructions received with the AOR package sent by the Department, or a hardcopy may be submitted.  [Rule 62-210.370(3), F.A.C.]

12.  Operation Permit Application: Submit an air pollution operation permit application to the Air Permitting Section of this office by March 1, 2006.  To properly apply for an operation permit, the applicant shall submit the following:

A.
The appropriate Department application form [see Rule 62-210.900(3), F.A.C. (Forms and Instructions)];

B.
The appropriate operation permit application fee(s);

C.
Copy of the most recent visible emission compliance test report as required by Specific Condition No. A.5., if not previously submitted; and

D.
Copies of the most recent month of records as required by Specific Condition No. B.2.

[Rules 62-4.070(3), 62-297.310(7)(a)1., 62-4.220, 62-210.300(2), and 62-210.900, F.A.C.]

The following conditions apply to Emission Unit Nos. 001 and 003:

A.1.  Operation Limitations:
A.
Each burn off oven is limited to being only fired with natural gas.

B.
Each burn off oven is limited to a maximum allowable batch cycle rate of 1,500 lbs/hr. averaged over the time of the batch cycle.  A typical batch cycle is from 4 hours to 24 hours and is determined from the time a part(s) is placed in the oven and the firing of natural gas is initiated until the natural gas is shutoff.  

C.
During periods when parts are being processed in an oven, the associated burn off oven's afterburner shall be maintained at a minimum of 1,400(F.

D.
The hours of operation of each burn off oven is not limited, 8,760 hrs./yr.

[Rule 62-210.200(PTE), F.A.C.]

A.2.  Emission Limitations:

A.
Each burn off oven shall emit no visible emissions (5 percent) except that visible emissions not exceeding 20 percent opacity are allowed for up to three minutes in any one-hour period.

B.
No objectionable odors are allowed.

[Rules 62-296.401(1)(a) and (b), F.A.C.]

A.3.  Monitoring Equipment Requirements: When processing parts, each burn off oven shall have its own continuous monitor that digitally displays the oven's afterburner temperature.

[Rule 62-4.070(3), F.A.C.]

A.4.  Recordkeeping Requirements: In order to comply with Specific Condition Nos. A.1.B. and A.1.C., the permittee shall keep for each oven the following records for all periods of burn off oven operation:

A.
Oven Identification (i.e., Bayco oven or Controlled Pyrolysis oven).

B.
Facility ID No. (1050148) and Date (month/day/year).

C.
Batch cycle start time as determined when a part(s) is placed in the oven and the firing of natural gas is initiated.  Also record the afterburner's temperature.

D.
Batch cycle end time as determined when the natural gas is shut off.  Also record the afterburner's temperature just before the natural gas is shut off..

E.
Time of each batch cycle, in hours.

F.
Weight of each batch, in pounds.

G.
The batch rate, in lbs./hr., which is an average over the time of the batch cycle.

These records shall be recorded in a permanent form suitable for inspection by the Department upon request and maintained at the facility for at least 3 years.

[Rule 62-4.070(3), F.A.C.]

A.5.  Visible Emission Test Requirements: Each burn off oven shall be tested for visible emissions by December 31, 2005, and each federal fiscal year (October 1 - September 30) thereafter.  The test report shall be submitted to the Air Compliance Section of this office within 45 days of testing.  [Rules 62-297.310(7)(a)1., 62-297.310(7)(a)4., and 62-297.310(8) F.A.C.]

A.6.  Visible Emission Test Method: Compliance with the visible emission limitation(s) shall be determined in accordance with DEP Method 9 and shall be conducted by a certified observer.  The visible emission test shall be at least 60 minutes in duration and include the period when the highest opacity emissions are expected to occur (i.e., during the initial 60 minute period of a batch cycle, unless some other period can be shown to be a period with higher emissions).  The minimum requirements for stack sampling facilities, source sampling, and reporting shall bae in accordance with Chapter 62-297, F.A.C. and 40 CFR 60, Appendix A.

[Rules 62-297.310(4)(a)2., 62-297.310(8), and 62-297.401, F.A.C.]

A.7.  Operating Rate During Testing: Testing of each burn off oven shall be conducted with 90-100% of the maximum permitted allowable batch cycle rate of 1,500 lbs./hr.  A compliance test conducted at a batch cycle rate less than 90% of the maximum permitted rate will automatically constitute an amended permitted rate at the lesser rate plus 10%.  If the lesser amended rate is exceeded, then within 30 days of operating at that higher rate, a new visible emission test shall be conducted at no less than that higher rate, but not greater than 1,500 lbs/hr.  The test report shall be submitted to the Air Compliance Section of this office within 45 days of testing.  Acceptance of the test report by the Department shall constitute an amended maximum allowable batch cycle rate at the higher tested rate plus 10%.  Failure to include with the test report the information as required by Specific Condition No. A.8., may invalidate the test.

A.8.  Information Required With Visible Emission Test Reports: All burn off oven visible emission test reports shall include a copy of the oven's records as required by Specific Condition No. A.4. for the tested batch cycle.  Failure to include the records with the test report or operating at condition which do not reflect normal operating conditions, may invalidate the test.

[Rules 62-4.070(3) and 62-297.310(8), F.A.C.]

A.9.  Test Date Notification: The permittee shall notify the Air Compliance Section of this office at least 15 days prior to the date on which each formal compliance test is to begin of the date, time, and place of each such test, and the test contact person who will be responsible for coordinating and having such test conducted.  [Rule 62-297.310(7)(a)9., F.A.C.] 

The following conditions apply to Emission Unit No. 002:

B.1.  Volatile organic compound (VOC) and Total Hazardous Air Pollutant (THAP) Emission Limitations: In order to avoid the Title V permitting requirements of Chapter 62-213, F.A.C. the permittee has synthetically requested the VOC and THAP emissions from the non-exempt activities* at this facility comply with the following:

	POLLUTANT
	MAXIMUM TONS PER ANY CONSECUTIVE 12 MONTH PERIOD

	VOC
	5.0

	THAP
	5.0


       *
VOC and THAP emissions from Emission Unit Nos. 001 and 003 are considered negligible.

[Construction permit 1050148-005-AC and Rule 62-210.200(PTE), F.A.C.]

B.2.  VOC and THAP Emission Recordkeeping Requirements: In order to document compliance with Specific Condition No. B.1., the permittee shall maintain monthly records for all VOC and/or HAP containing materials (coatings, paint, solvents, etc.), which shall contain at a minimum the following:

A.
Facility ID No. (1050148) and DATE (Month/Year)

B.
The name/identification of each material used.

C.
The VOC content in each material used.

D.
The amount of each material used for the month.  (Note: At the permittee's option the assumption may be made that material purchases equal material usage, provided no materials are used that are not purchased.)

E.
Calculate and record the tons of VOC emissions from each material (based on amount of material used and VOC content).

F.
Calculate and record the tons of THAP emissions from each material (based on the total emissions of each individual HAP from the amount of materials used.)

G.
Calculate and record the most recent consecutive 12 month period total of VOC emissions, in tons.

H.
Calculate and record the most recent consecutive 12 month period total of THAP emissions, in tons.

Supporting documentation (MSDS sheets, "As Supplied" sheets, purchase orders, purchase records, inventory records, production records, etc.), which includes sufficient information to determine emissions shall also be kept.  These records shall be recorded in a permanent form suitable for inspection by the Department upon request and maintained at the facility for at least 3 years.  [Rule 62-4.070(3), F.A.C.]

B.3.  Reasonable Precautions to Prevent VOC and Organic Solvent (OS) Emissions: The permittee shall not store, pump, handle process, load, unload, or use in any process or installation, VOC's or OS's without applying know and existing vapor emission control devices or systems deemed necessary by the Department.  Reasonable precautions and/or controls shall include the following:

A.
All equipment, pipes, hoses, lids, fittings, etc., shall be operated and maintained in such a manner as to minimize leaks, fugitive emission, and spills of paints and solvent materials that contain VOC's and/or OS's.

B.
All solvents from solvent washings that contain VOC's and/or OS's shall be directed into containers that prevent evaporation into the atmosphere.

[Rule 62-296.320(1), F.A.C.]

B.4.
Safety Kleen Degreaser Solvent Limitations: In order to avoid the requirements of 40 CFR 63, Subpart T - National Emission Standards for Hazardous Air Pollutants for Halogenated Solvent Cleaning, the Safety Kleen degreaser shall not utilize the following solvents:

A.
Methylene Chloride

B.
1,1,1 - Trichloroethane

C.
Choroform

D.
Perchloroethylene

E.
Trichloroethylene

F.
Carbon Tetrachloride

Note: Blended cleaning solvents must contain a total regulated solvent content below 5% by weight to be exempted from the regulation.  To determine the solvent content, the permittee may contact the solvent vendor to obtain documentation, use Material Safety Data Sheets, or use EPA Test Method 18.

[Rule 62-4.070(3), F.A.C.]
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