	PERMITTEE:

Standard Sand & Silica Company
	Permit No.: 1050113-003-AO

Project: Rotary Sand Dryer



Permittee:




Permit No:  1050113-003-AO
Standard Sand & Silica Company

County:  Polk

Post Office Box 35



Effective Date:     02/17/2006

Davenport, FL 33837



Expiration Date:  02/17/2011

Project:  Rotary Sand Dryer
This permit is issued under the provisions of Chapter 403, Florida Statutes, and Florida Administrative Code Chapters 62-204, through 62-297 and 62-4.  The permittee is hereby authorized to perform the work or operate the facility shown on the application and approved drawing(s), plans and other documents, attached hereto or on file with the Department and made a part hereof and specifically described as follows:

This permit authorizes the operation of a Rotary Sand Dryer at the Standard Sands & Silica Company facility located in Lake Wales, Florida.  The operation uses a rotary dryer to heat and dry wet sand. The dryer can be fired with Liquefied Petroleum Gas (LPG) or Natural gas. A dual cyclone separator is used to control particulate matter emissions generated by the dryer.

 Facility Information Summary

Location:  524 Story Road, 4.0 miles east of Lake Wales, Polk County
Facility UTM Coordinates:  17-450.2 East   3085.4 North
Latitude:  270 53’ 43”

Longitude:  810 29’ 28”

Facility ID No:  1050113


	E.U. ID No.
	Description

	001

	Rotary Sand Dryer


Note:  Please reference Permit No. and Emission Unit ID No. in all correspondence, test report submittals, applications, etc.

Permit History
This permit replaces permit No. 1050113-002-AO
SPECIFIC CONDITIONS:

1.   General Conditions - A part of this permit is the attached 15 General Conditions.

[Rule 62-4.160, F.A.C.]

2.  Other Requirements - Issuance of this permit does not relieve the permittee from complying with applicable emission limiting standards or other requirements of Chapters 62-204, 62-210, 62-212, 62-296, and 62-297, F.A.C. or any other requirements under federal, state, or local law.

[Rule 62-210.300, F.A.C.]

Operation and Emission Requirements

3.  Hours of Operation  – This rotary dryer is permitted to operate continuously (i.e., permitted for 8,760 hours per year).  

[Rule 62-210.200, F.A.C. – Definitions (PTE); construction permit No. AC53-261382]

4.  Operational Limits – Operation of the rotary dryer is limited as follows:

A. The dryer is limited to a maximum process input rate of 75.0 tons/hour (daily average basis).

B. The dryer burner is limited to the following maximum fuel usage: 

· 390.0 gallons/hour of Liquefied Petroleum Gas (LPG) or 

· 35,000 SCF/hour of Natural Gas. Natural Gas limit is based upon the dryer having a maximum heat input rate 35.0 MMBTU/hour and Natural Gas having heat content of 1,000 BTU/SCF.

[Construction permit No. AC53-261382]

5.  Particulate Matter (PM) Emission Limits - The maximum allowable particulate matter emission rate from this dryer is 22.0 pounds/hour and 96.4 tons/year.

[Construction permit No. AC53-261382]
6.  Visible Emissions (VE) - Visible emissions from the rotary dryer shall not be equal to or greater than 20% opacity.

[Rule 62-296.320(4)(b), F.A.C.]

7.  Objectionable Odor – The permittee shall not cause, suffer, allow or permit the discharge of air pollutants which cause or contribute to an objectionable odor.  An objectionable odor is any odor present in the outdoor atmosphere which by itself or in combination with other odors, is or may be harmful or injurious to human health or welfare, which unreasonably interferes with the comfortable use and enjoyment of life or property, or which creates a nuisance. 

[Rules 62-296.320(2), and 62-210.200, Definitions- (Objectionable Odors), F.A.C.]

8.  Unconfined Emissions of Particulate Matter  – All reasonable precautions shall be taken to prevent and control the generation of unconfined emissions of particulate matter.  These provisions are applicable to any source, including but not limited to, vehicular movement, transportation of materials, construction, alteration, demolition or wrecking, or industrial related activities such as loading, unloading, storing, and handling.  These precautions shall include the use of water when necessary to control fugitive emissions, such as the use of water to keep roadways and work areas damp to control dust and windborne emissions.

[Rule 62-296.320(4)(c)1, F.A.C.]

{Permitting Note:  If operating experience indicates that these reasonable precautions are not sufficient to control unconfined emissions, the Department reserves the right to require additional measures, such as recordkeeping for water truck gallons applied, etc.}

9.  Circumvention of Control Device – The permittee shall not allow any person to circumvent any air pollution control device, or allow the emission of air pollutants without the applicable control device operating properly

[Rule 62-210.650, and 62-4.070(3), F.A.C.]

Compliance Testing Requirements

10.  Emission Testing – In order to document compliance with Condition Nos. 5 and 6, the permittee shall test the dryer exhaust point for particulate and visible emissions annually between October 1 and September 30 (i.e. once per federal fiscal year). Submit a copy of the test data to the Air Section of the Department’s Southwest District Office within 45 days of such testing.

[Rule 62-297.310(7)(a), F.A.C.]

11.  Test Method  - Compliance with the emission limitation specified in specific conditions No. 5 and 6 shall be conducted in accordance with EPA Method 1-5 and 9 contained in 40 CFR 60, Appendix A and adopted by reference in Rule 62-297, F.A.C.  The minimum requirements for stationary point source emission test procedures and reporting shall be in accordance with Rule 62-297.310, F.A.C. and 40 CFR 60 Appendix A.  The visible emission (opacity) test observation period shall be at least 30 minutes in duration and occur when the highest opacity emissions can reasonably be expected to occur.  

[Rule 62-297.401, F.A.C.]

12.  Operation During Testing – The permittee shall conduct emissions testing with the emissions unit (EU-001– Rotary Dryer) operating within 90-100% of the maximum permitted process input rate of 75.0 tons/hour as defined in Specific Conditions No. 4a. If it is not feasible to test within this range, the emission unit may be tested at lower rates; however, subsequent emissions unit operation is limited to 110 percent of the test rates until a new test is conducted.  Once the unit is so limited, operation at higher rates is allowed for no more than 15 consecutive days for the purpose of additional compliance testing to regain the authority to operate at the permitted capacity.

[Rule 62-297.310(2), F.A.C.]

13.  Testing Notification - The permittee shall notify the Air Compliance Section of the Department’s Southwest District at least 15 days prior to the date on which each formal compliance test is to begin of the date, time, and place of each such test, and the test contact person who will be responsible for coordinating and having such test conducted for the permittee.

[Rule 62-297.310(7)(a) 9., F.A.C.]

14.  Test Report Submittal - The permittee of an air pollution emissions unit, for which compliance tests are required, shall file a report with the Air Compliance Section of the Department's Southwest District Office, on the results of each such test.  The required test report shall be filed with the Department as soon as practical but no later than 45 days after each test is completed.  The test report submittal shall meet all applicable requirements of Rule 62-297, F.A.C.  The following information shall be included in the test report:

A. Process operation rate during test (tons/hr)
B. Amount of LPG fired (gallons/hour) and/ or Natural Gas fired (SCF/hour and BTU/SCF)

[Rule 62-297.310(8), F.A.C.]
Compliance Recordkeeping Requirements
15.  Process Throughput Records - The permittee shall maintain process throughput records to document compliance with the limitations of Specific Condition No. 4A.  Monthly total and rolling 12-month total records shall be completed by the 10th day of the next month. The records shall include, but are not limited to, the following:

A. Daily Records 

1) Facility Name, Emission Unit No. (EU-001), Date.
2) The calculated daily average process throughput for the dryer in tons/hour.  Where “Daily Average” is the total amount of feed sand process in a day, divided by the hours of operation for that day.
B. Monthly Records 

1) Facility Name, Emission Unit No. (EU-001), Month and Year.

2) The total amount of sand processed during the month (in tons).

3) The total amount of sand processed for the most recent consecutive 12-month period (in tons).
 

 [Rule 62-4.070(3), F.A.C.]

16.  Fuel Usage Records - The permittee shall maintain fuel usage records to document compliance with the limitations of Specific Condition No. 4B.  Fuel Usage Records shall be completed by the 10th day of the next month. The records shall include, but are not limited to, the following:


Monthly Records 

A. Facility Name, Emission Unit No. (EU-001), Month and Year.

B. The calculated monthly hourly average amounts LPG and/or Natural Gas fired (in gallons/hr or SCF/hr, respectively) during the month.  

C. The total amounts LPG and/or Natural Gas fired (in gallons/hr or SCF/hr, respectively) during the month.  

D. The total amounts LPG and/or Natural Gas fired (in gallons/hr or SCF/hr, respectively) during the most recent consecutive 12-month period.

[Rule 62-4.070(3), F.A.C.]

17.  Records Retention - The records required by Specific Condition Nos. 15 and 16 shall be maintained on-site, or electronically available on-site, for a minimum of the most recent three (3) year period and made available to the Department.  

[Rule 62-4.160(14)(b), F.A.C.]

Reporting Requirements
18.  Annual Operating Report - Submit to the Air Compliance Section of the Department's Southwest District Office each calendar year on or before March 1, an annual operating report (DEP Form 62-210.900(5), "Annual Operating Report for Air Pollutant Emitting Facility," (AOR) for the preceding calendar year. This report may be submitted electronically in accordance with the instructions received with the AOR package sent by the department.

[Rule 62-210.370(3), F.A.C.]

Operation Permit Renewal Requirements

19.  Operation Permit Renewal Application - A completed application to renew this operation permit shall be submitted to the Air Program of Southwest District of the department no later than 60 days prior to the expiration of this permit. To properly apply for an operation permit, the applicant shall submit the following:

A. The appropriate operation permit application form (see current version of Rule 62-210.900, F.A.C. and /or FDEP Division of Air Resource management website at: http://www.dep.state.fl.us/air/); 

B. The appropriate operation permit application fee (see Rule 62-4.050(4)(a), F.A.C.)

(Continued)

19. (Continued)
C. The Process Throughput Records (Specific Condition No. 15A, “Daily Records”) for the most recent month.

D. The Process Throughput Records (Specific Condition No. 15B, “Monthly Records”) for the most recent 12-consecutive month period.

E. The Fuel Usage Records (Specific Condition No. 16) for the most recent 12-consecutive month period.
[Rule 62-4.050, 62-4.070(3), 62-210.300(2), 62-210.900, and 62-297.310(7)(a)1., F.A.C.]
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