PERMITTEE:

Permit No.: 1030500-001-AC

Precision Litho Service, Inc.

Project:  Lithographic Printing

Specific Conditions:


PRIVATE 

PERMITTEE:
Effective Date: 
Precision Litho Service, Inc.
Permit No: 1030500-001-AC

4250 118th Avenue North
County:  Pinellas
Clearwater, Florida  33762
Expiration Date:  01/31/05


Project:  Lithographic Printing
This permit is issued under the provisions of Chapter 403, Florida Statutes, and Florida Administrative Code Chapters 62-204, 62-210, 62-212, 62-213, 62-296, 62-297, and Chapter 62-4.  The above named permittee is hereby authorized to perform the work or operate the facility shown on the application and approved drawing(s), plans and other documents, attached hereto or on file with the Florida Department of Environmental Protection:

This permit authorizes the after-the-fact construction and operation of an existing lithographic printing facility engaged in commercial wholesale lithographic printing.  The facility operates two web presses, 5 sheet fed presses, and a new heat set press*.  A sixth sheet fed press is used for perforating paper, not printing.

The existing printing operations consist of two Diddle MVP web presses, four Komori sheet fed presses and one Heidelberg sheet fed press.  (An existing Miehle sheet fed press is the one that is not used for printing.)  The two web presses utilize very low (<0.1%) VOC inks.  The maximum web width of these presses is 17.5 inches.  The presses typically operate at an average web speed of 600 feet per minute and are rated at a maximum of 800 feet per minute.

The new heat set press* is a Harris M-110 heat set press equipped with two drying ovens and a catalytic incinerator.  Each of the two drying ovens are equipped with a natural gas fired burner with a nominal heat input rating of 1.6 MMBtu/hour.  The incinerator is a TEC Systems Diablo #1250S catalytic incinerator with an operating temperature of approximately 650(F.  This unit is natural gas fired with a heat input rating of 3.72 MMBtu/hour.   The maximum web width of this press is 17.75 inches.  This press typically operates at an average web speed of 750 feet per minute and is rated at a maximum of 1000 feet per minute.  (* Note:  At the time of submittal of the permit application this press was under construction and had not yet been operated at this facility.)

The facility also operates other insignificant air emission sources including plate making, pre-press, and bindery operations that support the printing operations; and  emissions resulting from combustion of natural gas in the heat set press drying ovens and catalytic incinerator.  Paper cutting from the web presses and other cutting and bindery operations are ducted to an internal collector which vents within the building (i.e. no external discharge).

Location:  4250 118th Avenue North, Clearwater, Pinellas County

UTM: 17-335.18 E  3084.77 N
        Latitude:  27(52’45”   Longitude: 82(41’28”

Facility ID No: 1030500   

Emissions Unit ID No. and Description

	E.U.  ID No.
	Description

	       001
	Lithographic Printing Facility - including printing, drying, catalytic incineration, cutting, binding, & cleaning


 Note: Please reference Permit No. and Emission unit ID No. in  all correspondence, test report submittals, applications, etc.                                                                                    

Replaces Permit No.:  N/A – This is the first air pollution permit for this facility.

(Title V Applicability Permitting Note:  The VOC and HAP limitations contained in this permit make this facility a synthetic minor non-Title V source (as defined in Rule 62-210.200, F.A.C.)). 

{Permitting Note:  Use of an incinerator to control VOC and HAP emissions from the heat set printing press is not required by this permit.  The calculation of VOC and HAP emissions from this facility will not take into account any emissions reductions achieved by the use of the incinerator on the heat set press.}

-- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- --
Specific Conditions:

1.  General Conditions - A part of this permit is the attached 15 General Conditions.

[Rule 62-4.160, F.A.C.]
2.  Other Requirements - Issuance of this permit does not relieve the permittee from complying with applicable emission limiting standards or other requirements of Chapters 62-204, 62-210, 62-212, 62-296 and 62-297, or any other requirements under federal, state or local law.  

[Rule 62-210.300, F.A.C.]

Emission and Operation Limitations

3.  Operating Hours - The operating hours are not limited (i.e. emission unit may operate 8760 hours per year).

[Rule 62-210.200, F.A.C. – Definitions (PTE); as requested by applicant in permit application dated September 2003]

4.  VOC and HAP Emissions Limits - The following emission limits on volatile organic compounds (VOCs) and Hazardous Air pollutants (HAPs), as defined in Rule 62-210.200, F.A.C., shall apply facility-wide:


A.
total VOC emissions shall not exceed 38.0 tons per consecutive 12-month period;


B. 
total HAP emissions shall not exceed 8.0 tons per consecutive 12- month period.

[Rule 62-210.200, F.A.C. - Definitions (PTE); as requested by applicant in permit application dated September 2003]

(Permitting Note:  The above VOC and HAP limitations make this facility a synthetic minor non-Title V source (as defined in Rule 62-210.200, F.A.C.)). 

5.  General Particulate Emission Limiting Standards.  General Visible Emissions Standard. - Except for emissions units that are subject to a particulate matter or opacity limit set forth or established by rule and reflected by conditions in this permit, no person shall cause, let, permit, suffer or allow to be discharged into the atmosphere the emissions of air pollutants from any activity, the density of which is equal to or greater than 20 percent opacity.  EPA Method 9 is the method of compliance pursuant to Chapter 62-297, F.A.C.

[Rules 62-296.320(4)(b)1. & 4., F.A.C.]

6.
Visible Emissions (VE) from Heat Set Press Incinerator - No visible emissions (5% opacity) are allowed from the heat set press incinerator except that visible emissions not exceeding 20% opacity are allowed for up to three minutes in any one-hour period.  

[Rule 62-296.401(1)(a), F.A.C.]

7.  General Pollutant Emission Limiting Standards. Objectionable Odor Prohibited - No person shall cause, suffer, allow or permit the discharge of air pollutants which cause or contribute to an objectionable odor.  An objectionable odor is any odor present in the outdoor atmosphere which by itself or in combination with other odors, is or may be harmful or injurious to human health or welfare, which unreasonably interferes with the comfortable use and enjoyment of life or property, or which creates a nuisance.

[Rules 62-296.320(2), and 62-296.401(1)(b), F.A.C. & Pinellas County Code, Section 58-178]

8.  General Pollutant Emission Limiting Standards. Volatile Organic Compounds (VOC) Emissions or Organic Solvents (OS) Emissions - The permittee shall allow no person to store, pump, handle, process, load, unload or use in any process or installation, VOCs or organic solvents (OS) without applying known and existing vapor-emission control devices or systems deemed necessary and ordered by the Department. 


A.
All equipment, pipes, hoses, lids, fittings, etc., shall be operated/maintained in such a manner as to minimize leaks, fugitive emissions and spills of solvent materials.


B.
All VOC/OS from washings (equipment clean up) shall be directed into containers that prevent evaporation into the atmosphere.


C.
Tightly cover or close all VOC/OS containers when they are not in use.


D.
Prevent excessive air turbulence across exposed VOC/OS.


E.
Immediately confine and clean up VOC/OS spills and make sure wastes are placed in closed containers for reuse, recycling or proper disposal. 

 [Rule 62-296.320(1)(a), F.A.C.]

Heat Set Press Incinerator Operation and Maintenance Plan

9.  Incinerator O&M Plan - In accordance with the requirements of Pinellas County Code, Section 58-128, an Operation and Maintenance (O&M) plan shall be submitted for the heat set press catalytic incinerator.  This O&M plan shall be submitted as part of the application for an operation permit (see Specific Condition No. 19).  At a minimum the O&M Plan shall include:


A.
The operating parameters of the pollution control device.


B.
Time table for the routine maintenance of the pollution control device as specified by the manufacturer.


C.
Time table of routine periodic observations of the pollution control device sufficient to ensure proper operation


D.
A list of the type and quantity of the required spare parts for the pollution 
control device which are stored on the premises.


E.
A record log which will indicate, at a minimum:



 
1.  When maintenance was performed;




2.  What maintenance was performed;




3.
 Who performed said maintenance and observations and




4.
Acceptable parameter ranges for each operational check.

[Pinellas County Code, Section 58-128; Rule 62-210.650, F.A.C.]

Compliance Testing Requirements

10.  VE Test Required - In order to demonstrate compliance with Specific Condition No. 6, the permittee shall test the heat set press incinerator exhaust stack for visible emissions (VE) within 120 days of final issuance of this permit, with an additional test required every five years prior to renewal of the operation permit.     [Rules 62-297.310(7)(a)1 & 3, F.A.C.]

11.  Test Method - Visible-emissions testing shall be conducted on the catalytic incinerators, using DEP Method 9, and shall be a minimum of 60 minutes in duration.  The test-observation period shall include the period during which the highest opacity emissions can reasonably be expected to occur. Failure to operate at the maximum input rates normally encountered may invalidate the test results.  The minimum requirements for stationary point source emission test procedures shall be in accordance with Chapter 62-297, F.A.C., and 40 CFR 60 Appendix A.

[Rules 62-4.070(3), 62-297.310(4)(a)2, & 62-297.401(9)(c) F.A.C.]

12.  Test Notification - The permittee shall notify the Air Quality Division of the Pinellas County Department of Environmental Management (PCDEM) at least 15 days prior to the date on which each formal compliance test is to begin of the date, time, and place of each such test, and the name of the test-contact person who will be responsible for coordinating and having such test conducted for the owner.     [Rule 62-297.310(7)(a)9, F.A.C.]

13.  Test Reports -  The permittee of an air-pollution emissions unit for which compliance tests are required shall file a report with the Air Compliance Section of the Department’s Southwest Office and the Air Quality Division of the PCDEM regarding the results of each such test.  The required test report shall be filed with the PCDEM as soon as practical but no later than 45 days after each test is completed.  The test report submittal shall meet all applicable requirements of Chapter 62-297, F.A.C.  Specifically, the report shall provide the following information from the test period:


A. 
Inlet and outlet gas temperatures of the catalyst bed and the pressure drop across the catalyst bed during the tests; and supporting temperature/pressure charts (or equivalent). 


B.
Utilization rates and VOC content of the inks and solvents used during the tests, in gallons per hour.


C.
The calculated VOC loading rate to the incinerator, in pounds per hour.

Failure to submit this data or the actual operating conditions may invalidate the test.

[Rules 62‑4.070(3) & 62-297.310(8), F.A.C.]

14.  Special Compliance Tests - When the Department or PCDEM, after investigation, has good reason (such as complaints, increased visible emissions, or questionable maintenance of control equipment) to believe that any applicable emission standard contained in a Department rule or in a permit issued pursuant to those rules is being violated, it may require the owner or operator of the emissions unit to conduct compliance tests which identify the nature and quantity of pollutant emissions from the emissions unit and to provide a report on the results of said tests to the Department and/or the PCDEM.

[Rule 62-297.310(7)(b), F.A.C.]

Recordkeeping Requirements

15.  VOC and HAP Records - The permittee shall maintain monthly records for the facility to document compliance with Specific Condition No. 4.  Records shall be completed by the 15th day of the next month. The records shall include, but are not limited to, the following:


A.
Facility Name, Emission Unit ID No. (1030500; EU 001) and Description;


B.
Month, Year of record;

 
C.
List, by name or identification number, each ink, solvent, coating, thinner, or other VOC/HAP containing material used in association with the printing and manufacturing operations during the month and the usage (amount used minus amount collected for disposal or recycle) of each, in gallons. 


D.
List the VOC content and HAP content (lbs/gal) for each material listed in C.


E.
Calculate the VOC and HAP emissions, using the following general equation:

	Emissions = Usage (gal) x VOC or HAP Content (lbs/gal) 



F.
Summarize the facility-wide VOC, and total HAP emissions for the most recent month.


G.
Summarize the facility-wide VOC, and total HAP emissions for the most recent consecutive 12-month period.

Records of all calculations and supporting documentation ("As Supplied", "As Applied" sheets, MSDS Sheets, EPA data sheets, purchase orders, etc.) shall be kept for each ink, solvent, coating, thinner, or other VOC/HAP containing material used in association with the printing and 

manufacturing operations that includes sufficient information to determine VOC and HAP 

15.  (continued)
emissions.  At the permittee’s option, “purchases” may be used where “usage” is specified, except when daily recordkeeping is required.  If this option is utilized, no material may be used which is not purchased.  The records shall be maintained for three (3) years and made available to the Department and the PCDEM upon request.
(Permitting Note:  The heat set press  catalytic incinerators’ destruction efficiency shall not be used in recordkeeping to reduce emissions from the heat set press to show compliance with the emission limits of this permit.)

[Rules 62‑296.500(2)(b), 62‑4.070(3), F.A.C.; Pinellas County Code, Section 58-90]

16.
Incinerator Operation Records – In order to document periods of use of the heat set press catalytic incinerator for information purposes, the permittee shall operate and maintain a device that displays the inlet and outlet temperatures of the heat set press incinerator catalyst bed.  At least once per day of operation of the heat set web press, the permittee shall record these temperatures.  The records shall include the date and time of the measurements and the person responsible for performing the measurements.  The records shall also indicate any catalyst replacements/additions that occur.  The records shall be maintained for three (3) years and made available to the Department and the PCDEM upon request.    [Rule 62-4.070(3), F.A.C.]

Reporting Requirements

17.
 Annual Operating Report for Air Pollutant Emitting Facility - The Annual Operating Report for Air Pollutant Emitting Facility (DEP Form No. 62-210.900(5)) shall be completed each year and submitted to the Air Quality Division of the Pinellas County Department of Environmental Management by March 1 of the following year.

[Rule 62-210.370(3), F.A.C.]

18.
  Plant Operation Problems -  If the permittee is temporarily unable to comply with any of the conditions of the permit due to breakdown of equipment or destruction by hazard of fire, wind or by other cause, the permittee shall immediately notify the Department. Notification shall include pertinent information as to the cause of the problem, and what steps are being taken to correct the problem and to prevent its recurrence, and where applicable, the owner's intent toward reconstruction of destroyed facilities.  Such notification does not release the permittee from any liability for failure to comply with Department rules.  For purposes of notification to the Department pursuant to Rule 62-4.130, F.A.C., Plant Operation-Problems, “immediately” shall mean the same day, if during a workday (i.e., 8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.), or the first business day after the incident, excluding weekends and holidays.     [Rule 62-4.130, F.A.C.]

Operation Permit

19.
 Operation Permit Application - At least two applications for an operation permit shall be submitted to the Air Permitting Section of the Southwest District Office of the Department, with a copy also sent to the Air Quality Division of the PCDEM, at least 90 days prior to the expiration date of this permit.  To apply for the operation permit  the applicant shall submit the following:


A.
A completed operation permit application (currently Application for Air Permit Renewal—Non-Title V Source (DEP Form 62-210.900(3), F.A.C.). - see current version of Rule 62-210.900, F.A.C., and/or FDEP Division of Air Resource Management website at: http://www.dep.state.fl.us/air/ ).

B.
The appropriate operation permit fee per Rule 62-4.050(4)(a)3, F.A.C.


C.
A copy of the VE test report required in Specific Condition No. 10.


D.
A copy of the VOC/HAP log required in Specific Condition No. 13 for the most recently completed month. 


E.
The incinerator O&M plan as required in Specific Condition No. 9.


F. 
Incinerator exhaust stack information (as required in DEP Air Permit application Section II. B. (Emission Point (Stack/Vent) Information) – this information was omitted in the construction permit application) 

[Rule 62-4.070(3), 62-4.220, 62-210.900(2), and 62-297.310(7)(a)1., F.A.C.]
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