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   Furnace

This permit is issued under the provisions of Chapter 403, Florida Statutes, and Florida Administrative Code Chapters 62-204, 62-210, 62-212, 62-213, 62-296, 62-297, and Chapter 62-4.  The above named permittee is hereby authorized to perform the work or operate the facility shown on the application and approved drawing(s), plans, and other documents, attached hereto or on file with the department and made a part hereof and specifically described as follows:

For the
construction of a Title V Secondary Aluminum Sweat Furnace subject to the requirements of 40 CFR 63, Subpart RRR, - National Emission Standards for Hazardous Air Pollutants for Secondary Aluminum Production.  The furnace is also subject to the requirements of Rule 62-296.320, F.A.C., regarding odors, particulate emissions, and visible emissions.

The furnace melts scrap aluminum at a maximum input rate of 1,200 lbs./hr. and is only fired with propane, natural gas, or liquid petroleum gas (LPG) at a maximum heat input rate of 1.5 MMBTU/hr.  Emissions from the furnace are vented to an afterburner, which is only fired with propane, natural gas, or LPG at a maximum heat input rate of 1.0 MMBTU/hr., before being exhausted to the atmosphere.  The afterburner will be operated with a minimum airflow residence time of 0.8 seconds at the exit of the combustion zone and at a minimum of 1600 (F.  The temperature of the afterburner's airflow exiting the combustion zone is continuously monitored and recorded.  The afterburner is subject to Rule 62-296.401 (1), F.A.C.

Location: 5100 Ulmerton Road, Clearwater

UTM Coordinates:  17-332.3E   3086.4N

Latitude: 27(53'37" North

Longitude: 82(42'12"

Facility ID No.: 1030496

Emission Unit ID: 001 – Secondary Aluminum Sweat Furnace 

NOTE: Please reference the Permit No., Facility ID, and Emission Unit ID in all correspondence, test report submittals, applications, etc.

Replaces Permit No.: N/A

SPECIFIC CONDITIONS:

1.  General Conditions: A part of this permit is the attached 15 General Conditions.

[Rule 62-4.160, F.A.C.]

2.  Other Requirements: Issuance of this permit does not relieve the permittee from complying with the applicable emission limiting standards or other requirements of Chapters 62-204, 62-210, 62-212, 62-296, and 62-297, F.A.C. or any other requirement under federal, state, or local law.

[Rule 62-210.300, F.A.C.]

OPERATION LIMITATIONS

3.  This emission unit shall comply with the requirements of 40 CFR 63, Subpart RRR, - National Emission Standards for Hazardous Air Pollutants for Secondary Aluminum Production, attached as Appendix RRR and Appendix A.

[Rule 62-204.800(11)(b)51., F.A.C.]

4.  The furnace and afterburner shall be only fired with propane, natural gas, or LPG.

[Rule 62-210.200 (PTE), F.A.C. and Application dated September 20, 2002]

5.  The furnace shall melt scrap aluminum at a maximum input rate of 1,200 lbs./hr. (based on a daily average) and 1,248 tons per any consecutive 12 month period.

[Rule 62-210.200 (PTE), F.A.C. and Application dated September 20, 2002]

6.  The maximum operating hours of the furnace shall not exceed 2,080 hours per any consecutive 12 month period.  Operating hours are considered the time fuel is being fired in the furnace and/or afterburner.

[Rule 62-210.200 (PTE), F.A.C. and Application dated September 20, 2002]

7.  When melting aluminum, the minimum airflow temperature exiting the combustion zone of the afterburner shall not be less than 1,600 (F.

[Response dated December 11, 2002 & 40 CFR 63.1505(f)(1)]

8.  When melting aluminum, the minimum residence time of the air in the afterburner shall not be less than 0.8 seconds.

[Application dated September 20, 2002 & 40 CFR 63.1505(f)(1)]

EMISSION LIMITATIONS

9.  The maximum allowable emission rate of Dioxin/Furan is 0.80 nanograms (ng) TEQ per dscm (3.5 x 10-10 gr per dscf) at 11 percent oxygen (O2).  See attached Appendix RRR, Section 63.1505(f)(2).  {PERMITTING NOTE: Per 40 CFR 63.1505(f)(1) and Specific Condition Nos. 7 and 8, testing for emissions of Dioxin/Furan is not required.}

[Rule 62-204.800(11)(b)51., F.A.C. and 40 CFR 63.1505(f)(2)]

10.  The maximum allowable emission rate of particulate matter from the furnace for a maximum aluminum melting rate (input) of 1,200 lbs./hr. (0.6 tons/hr.) is 2.62 lbs./hr. as set by the Process Weight Table.  At lesser input rates the allowable emission rates can be determined from the equation: Allowable Emission (lbs./hr.) = 3.59 (Melting Rate in Tons/hr.)0.62.

[Rule 62-296.320(4)(a), F.A.C.]

11.  There shall be no visible emissions (5 percent opacity) except that visible emissions not exceeding 20% opacity are allowed for up to three minutes in any one-hour period from the furnace/afterburner.

[Rule 62-296.401(1)(a), F.A.C.]

12.  No person shall cause, suffer, allow or permit the discharge of air pollutants, which cause or contribute to an objectionable odor.  Objectionable odor is defined as, "Any odor present in the outdoor atmosphere which by itself or in combination with other odors, is or may be harmful or injurious to human heath or welfare, which unreasonably interferes with the comfortable use and enjoyment of life or property, or which creates a nuisance.

[Rules 62-210.200(181), 62-296.320(2), and 62-296.401(1)(b), F.A.C.; Pinellas County Code, Section 58-178] 

RECORDKEEPING REQUIREMENT
13.  In order to demonstrate compliance with Specific Condition Nos. 5 and 6, the permittee shall maintain the following records:

Daily
A.
Facility Name and emission unit number (1030496 001)

B.
Hours of operation.

C.
Total amount of scrap aluminum melted (input), in pounds.

D.
The daily average input rate, in pounds/hr.

Monthly
E.
Facility Name and emission unit number (1030496 001)

F.
The total input, in tons.

G.
The most recent cumulative 12 month period total of input, in tons.

H.
The total hours of operation.

I.
The most recent cumulative 12 month period total of hours of operation.

Daily records shall be completed by the end of the next business day and monthly logs shall be completed by the end of the following month.  The records shall be maintained at the facility for at least 5 years and made available to the Department or the Pinellas County Department of Environmental Management (PCDEM) upon request.  {Permitting Note: See Appendix RRR and Appendix A for the monitoring and recording requirements of the afterburner's temperature.} 

[Rule 62-4.070(3), F.A.C.]

COMPLIANCE TESTING REQUIREMENTS

14.  The furnace/afterburner shall be tested for particulate and visible emissions within 60 days of initial operation.  The test reports shall be submitted to the Air Compliance Section of this office and the PCDEM within 45 days of testing.  Be sure to attach to the test report a copy of the daily records and the monthly record for the month the tests were conducted.  {PERMITTING NOTE: Per 40 CFR 63.1505(f)(1) and Specific Condition Nos. 7 and 8, testing for emissions of Dioxin/Furan is not required.}

[Rules 62-297.310(7) and 62-296.310(8), F.A.C.]

15.  Compliance with the particulate and visible emission limitations of Specific Condition Nos. 10 and 11 shall be determined using EPA Methods 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, and 9 contained in 40 CFR 60, Appendix A, and adopted by reference in Chapter 62-297, F.A.C.  The visible emissions test shall be at least 60 minutes in duration.   The minimum requirements for stationary point source emissions test procedures and reporting shall be in accordance with Chapter 62-297, F.A.C. and 40 CFR 60, Appendix A.

[Rules 62-297.310 and 62-297.401, F.A.C.]

16.  The permittee shall notify the Air Compliance Section of the PCDEM at least 15 days prior to the date on which each formal particulate and visible emission compliance test is to begin, time, and place of each test, and the test contact person who will be responsible for coordinating and having such test conducted.

[Rule 62-297.310(7)(a)9., F.A.C.]

17.  Testing of emissions must be conducted within 90-100% of the maximum permitted process input rate of 1,200 lbs./hr.  A compliance test submitted at a rate less than 90 % of the maximum permitted rate will automatically constitute an amended permitted process input rate at that lower rate plus 10%.  Within 30 days of that lower amended permitted input rate being exceeded by more than 10%, a new compliance test shall be conducted at no less than that higher rate.  The test results shall be submitted to the Air Compliance Sections of this office and the PCDEM within 45 days of testing.  Acceptance of the test by the Department will automatically constitute and amended permit at the higher tested rate plus 10%, but in no case shall the maximum permitted process input rate of 1,200 lbs./hr. be exceeded.  Failure to submit

A.
A copy of the daily and monthly records, as required by Specific Condition No. 13, for the month the tests were conducted, and

B.
Verification that the capture/collection systems, required by Section 63.1506(c) in 40 CFR 63, Subpart RRR, complies with the minimum exhaust rates published by the American Conference of Governmental Industrial Hygienists in Chapters 3 and 5 of "Industrial Ventilation: A Handbook of Recommended Practice".

may invalidate the test and fail to provide reasonable assurance of compliance.

[Rule 62-297.310(2), F.A.C.]

REPORTING REQUIREMENT

18.  Submit to the Air Compliance Section of this office and the PCDEM for this facility, each calendar year and on or before March 1, an annual operating report [DEP Form 62-210.900(5)] for the preceding calendar year.

[Rule 62-210.370(3), F.A.C.]

19.  Submit in conjunction with the air operating permit application required in Specific Condition No. 20 below, an Operation and Maintenance (O&M) Plan for the afterburner.  The O&M Plan documentation shall be retained at the facility for at least 2 years and made available to the Department and PCDEM upon request.  At a minimum the O&M Plan shall include:

A.
Operating parameters of the pollution control device;

B.
Time table for the routine maintenance of the pollution control device as specified by the manufacturer.

C.
Time table for routine periodic observations of the pollution control device sufficient to ensure proper operation;

D.
A list of the type and quantity of the required spare parts for the pollution control device, which are stored on the premises of the permit applicant;

E.
A record log, which will indicate, at a minimum;


1.
When maintenance and observations were performed;


2.
What maintenance and observations were performed; and


3.
Who performed said maintenance and observations.


4.
Acceptable parameter ranges for each operation check.


{Permitting Note: This plan can be combined with the Monitoring requirements of Section 63.1510 in 40 CFR 63, Subpart RRR.}

[Pinellas County Code, Section 58-128]

OPERATING PERMIT APPLICATION REQUIREMENT

20.  An air pollution application for a Title V operating permit shall be submitted to the Air Permitting Section of this office and the PCDEM at least 90 days prior to the expiration date (07/10/2004) of this permit, but no later that 180 days after commencing operation.  Include with the application the O&M Plan required in Specific Condition No. 19, if not previously submitted.

[Rule 62-213.420(1)(a)2., F.A.C.]







STATE OF FLORIDA DEPARTMENT







OF ENVIRONMENTAL PROTECTION







___________________________







Gerald J. Kissel, P.E.







District Air Program Administrator
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