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Permit Nos.: 1030488-002-AO
Suncoast Paper and Envelope, Inc.

Project: Lithographic Printing Facility

dba Gulfcoast Imprinting, Inc.



Permittee:
 





Permit No.: 1030488-002-AO
Suncoast Paper and Envelope, Inc.



Facility ID No.: 1030488
  dba Gulfcoast Imprinting, Inc.



Effective Date:  
6801 114th Avenue North




Expiration Date:  10/14/2008
Largo, FL  33773





Project: Lithographic Printing Facility
This permit is issued under the provisions of Chapter 403, Florida Statutes (F.S.) and Florida Administrative Code (F.A.C.) Chapters 62-4, 62-204, 62-210, 62-296, and 62-297.  The above-named permittee is hereby authorized to perform the work or operate the facility shown on the application and approved drawing(s), plans, and other documents, attached hereto or on file with the Department and made a part hereof and specifically described as follows:

This permit authorizes the operation of a lithographic printing facility.  Upon issuance of the permit, the facility will be considered a natural, non-Title V facility.  Inks are applied at the printing units and dried in the drying ovens.  The inks and solvents used in the operations contain volatile organic compounds (VOCs).  Some of the chemicals in the solvents are also considered hazardous air pollutants (HAPs).  

The facility currently operates two web presses and five, sheet-fed presses.  The facility recently underwent expansion that includes the construction of an additional building and the installation of two additional presses.  In addition, the facility also does plate-making, pre-press, and bindery operations that support printing operations.  Paper cuttings from web presses and bindery operations are conveyed to a collector, which exhausts within the building.  The regulated equipment is described below.

Equipment Item No. 1 represents the existing five, Halm, sheet-fed presses that are used to print envelopes.

Equipment Item No. 2 identifies the existing Didde, 8-color, heatset web press that is equipped with two natural-gas-fired ovens (dryers) and a catalytic incinerator.  (The web width of this press is 17.5 inches, and maximum web speed is 600 feet per minute.)  Each oven is equipped with a Maxon Ovenpak Model No. 408 burner, with a rated, nominal heat input of 800,000 BTU/hour.  Emissions from each oven are ducted to the TEC model no. 80 catalytic incinerator.  The heat input of the catalytic incinerator is rated at 650,000 BTU/hour, and the typical operating temperature of the device is 650o F.

Equipment Item No. 3 consists of the existing Didde, 8-color, ML ink web press that uses very low (<0.1%) VOC inks.  (The web width of this press is 17.5 inches, and maximum web speed is 800 feet per minute.)

Equipment Item No. 4 represents the newly installed Harris M110, heatset web press that is equipped with two natural-gas-fired ovens (dryers) and a catalytic incinerator.  Each oven is equipped with a burner with a rated, nominal heat input of 1,200,000 BTU/hour.  Emissions from each oven are ducted to a TEC model no. 80 catalytic incinerator.  The heat input from the catalytic incinerator is indicated to be 2,500,000 BTU/hour, and the assumed, typical operating temperature of the device is 650o F.  This press will use the same family of heatset inks that are presently used for emission unit no. 1.  (The web width of this press is 26.5 inches, and the maximum web speed is 800 feet per minute.)

Equipment Item No. 5 identifies the newly installed, Didde, 4-color, coldset web press that is installed adjacent to emission unit no. 4.  This press will use the same family of inks presently used for emission unit no. 1.

Rule Applicability Note

This facility is subject to Rules 62-296.320 and 62-296.401, General Pollutant Emission Limiting Standards and Incinerators, respectively.

Facility Information Summary
Location:  6801 114th Avenue North, Largo, Pinellas County

UTM Coordinates:  Zone 17, 329.5 km East 
3084.5 km North

Latitude:  27.875 North

Longitude:  82.732 West

Facility ID No. :  1030488

Emissions Unit ID No. and Description

	E.U.  ID No.
	Description

	  001
	Lithographic Printing Facility—including printing, drying, catalytic incineration, cutting, binding, & cleaning


	Note:  Please reference Permit No. and Emission Unit ID No. in all correspondence, test report submittals, applications, etc.


Permit History: Replaces Construction Permit No. 1030488-001-AC

{Permitting Note:  Use of incinerators to control VOC and HAP emissions from the printing lines is not required by this permit.  The calculation of VOC and HAP emissions from the printing lines does not take into account any emissions reductions achieved by the use of the incinerators.}

Insignificant Emission Activities

The following emissions units and/or activities are considered insignificant and their associated emissions are not considered in the calculation of facility-wide emissions.  Their expected emissions will not cause this facility to exceed Title V permitting thresholds.  However, changes in expected operation or additions to this list should be evaluated for their effect on Title V permitting.
· Plate-making, pre-press, cutting, and bindery operations

· NOx emissions resulting from combustion of natural gas in the catalytic incinerators 

Specific Conditions

1.  A part of this permit is the attached 15 General Conditions.

[Rule 62-4.160, F.A.C.]

2.  All applicable rules and design discharge limitations specified in the application must be met. The permit holder may also need to comply with county, municipal, federal, or other state regulations.

[Rule 62-210.300, F.A.C.]

Emission and Operation Limitations

3.  Operating Hours.  The operating hours are not limited (i.e., emission unit may operate 8760 hours per year).

[Rule 62-210.200, F.A.C. – Definitions (PTE); Construction Permit No. 1030488-001-AC]

4.  Emissions Limits.  The following emission limits on VOCs and HAPs shall apply facility-wide:

(a) Total VOC emissions shall not exceed 49.9 tons per consecutive 12-month period.

(b) Total HAP emissions shall not exceed 24.9 tons per consecutive 12- month period.

(c) Emissions of any individual HAP shall not exceed 9.9 tons per consecutive 12-month period.

[Rule 62-210.200, F.A.C. – Definitions (PTE); Construction Permit No. 1030488-001-AC]
5.
Visible Emissions.  From the incinerator, no visible emissions (5% opacity) are allowed from the incinerator except that visible emissions not exceeding 20% opacity are allowed for up to three minutes in any one-hour period.  For all other activities within the facility, no person shall cause, let, permit, suffer, or allow to be discharged into the atmosphere the emissions of air pollutants from any activity, the density of which is equal to or greater than 20 % opacity.

[Rules 62-296.401(1)(a) and –296.320(4)(b)1, F.A.C.; Construction Permit No. 1030488-001-AC]

6.  General Pollutant Emission Limiting Standards. Objectionable Odor Prohibited.   No person shall cause, suffer, allow or permit the discharge of air pollutants which cause or contribute to an objectionable odor.  An objectionable odor is any odor present in the outdoor atmosphere which by itself or in combination with other odors, is or may be harmful or injurious to human health or welfare, which unreasonably interferes with the comfortable use and enjoyment of life or property, or which creates a nuisance.

[Rule 62-296.320(2), F.A.C. & Pinellas County Code, Section 58-178]

7.  General Pollutant Emission Limiting Standards. Volatile Organic Compounds (VOC) Emissions or Organic Solvents (OS) Emissions.  The permittee shall allow no person to store, pump, handle, process, load, unload or use in any process or installation, VOCs or organic solvents (OS) without applying known and existing vapor-emission control devices or systems deemed necessary and ordered by the Department. 

(a)
All equipment, pipes, hoses, lids, fittings, etc., shall be operated/maintained in such a manner as to minimize leaks, fugitive emissions and spills of solvent materials.

(b)
All VOC/OS from washings (equipment clean up) shall be directed into containers that prevent evaporation into the atmosphere.

(c)
Tightly cover or close all VOC/OS containers when they are not in use.

(d) 
Prevent excessive air turbulence across exposed VOC/OS.

(e) 
Immediately confine and clean up VOC/OS spills and make sure wastes are placed in closed containers for reuse, recycling or proper disposal. 
 [Rule 62-296.320(1)(a), F.A.C.]
Test Methods and Procedures

8.  Tests Required.  In order to demonstrate compliance with Specific Condition No. 5, the permittee shall test the incinerators for visible emissions within 60 days prior to 6/18/08.

[Rule 62-297.310(7)(a)4, F.A.C.]
9. Test Method. 
Visible-emissions testing shall be conducted on the catalytic incinerators, using DEP Method 9, and shall be a minimum of 60 minutes in duration.  The test-observation period shall include the period during which the highest opacity emissions can reasonably be expected to occur.  Failure to operate at the maximum input rates normally encountered may invalidate the test results.  The minimum requirements for stationary point source emission test procedures shall be in accordance with Chapter 62-297, F.A.C., and 40 CFR 60 Appendix A.

[Rules 62-4.070(3), 62-297.310(4)(a)2, & 62-297.401(9)(c) F.A.C.]

10.  Test Notification.  The permittee shall notify the Air Program of the Pinellas County Department of Environmental Management (PCDEM) at least 15 days prior to the date on which each formal compliance test is to begin of the date, time, and place of each such test, and the name of the test-contact person who will be responsible for coordinating and having such test conducted for the owner.  [Rule 62-297.310(7)(a)9, F.A.C.]

11.  Test Reports.  The permittee of an air-pollution emissions unit for which compliance tests are required shall file a report with the Air Compliance Section of the Department’s Southwest Office and Air Program of the PCDEM regarding the results of each such test.  The required test report shall be filed with the PCDEM as soon as practical but no later than 45 days after each test is completed.  The test report submittal shall meet all applicable requirements of Chapter 62-297, F.A.C.  Specifically, the report shall provide the following information from the test period:

(a) Inlet and outlet gas temperatures of the catalyst bed and the pressure drop across the catalyst bed during the tests; and supporting temperature/pressure charts (or equivalent). 

(b) Utilization rates and VOC content of the inks and solvents used during the tests, in gallons per hour.


(c) The calculated VOC loading rate to the incinerator, in pounds per hour.

Failure to submit this data or the actual operating conditions may invalidate the test.

[Rules 62‑4.070(3) & 62-297.310(8), F.A.C.]

12.  Special Compliance Tests.  When the Department or PCDEM, after investigation, has good reason (such as complaints, increased visible emissions, or questionable maintenance of control equipment) to believe that any applicable emission standard contained in a Department rule or in a permit issued pursuant to those rules is being violated, it may require the owner or operator of the emissions unit to conduct compliance tests which identify the nature and quantity of pollutant emissions from the emissions unit and to provide a report on the results of said tests to the Department and/or the PCDEM.

[Rule 62-297.310(7)(b), F.A.C.]
Recordkeeping and Reporting Requirements

13.  VOC and HAP Records.  The permittee shall maintain monthly records for the facility to document compliance with Specific Condition No. 4.  Records shall be completed by the 15th day of the next month. The records shall include, but are not limited to, the following:

(a) Facility Name, Emission Unit ID No. (1030488  001) and Description;

(b)
Month, Year;


(c)
Month of record, date of entry, facility name, and emission-unit number.

(d)
List, by name or identification number, each ink, solvent, coating, thinner, or other VOC/HAP containing material used in association with the printing and manufacturing operations during the month and the usage (amount used minus amount collected for disposal or recycle) of each, in gallons. 

(e) List the VOC content and HAP content (lbs/gal) for each material listed in (b).


(f)
Calculate the VOC and HAP emissions, using the following general equation:

	Emissions = Usage (gal) x VOC or HAP Content (lbs/gal) 


(g)
Summarize the facility-wide VOC, individual HAP, and total HAP emissions for the most recent month.

(h)
Summarize the facility-wide VOC, individual HAP, and total HAP emissions for the most recent consecutive 12-month period.

(i) 
If the HAP emissions for the most recent consecutive 12-month period exceed 80% of the major-source thresholds (i.e., exceed 8.0 tons for any individual HAP or 20 tons for total HAPs), the records required in 13(a) - (f) shall be kept on a daily basis, rather than a monthly basis.  The permittee shall use this information to ensure that emissions for the upcoming consecutive 12-month period do not exceed permit limitations.  Should the consecutive 12-month period emissions fall below 80% of the major source thresholds, the recordkeeping shall revert to monthly.

Records of all calculations and supporting documentation ("As Supplied", "As Applied" sheets, MSD Sheets, EPA data sheets, purchase orders, etc.) shall be kept for each ink, solvent, coating, thinner, or other VOC/HAP containing material used in association with the printing and manufacturing operations that includes sufficient information to determine VOC and HAP emissions.  At the permittee’s option, “purchases” may be used where “usage” is specified, except when daily recordkeeping is required.  If this option is utilized, no material may be used which is not purchased.  The records shall be maintained for five years and made available to the Department and the Pinellas County Department of Environmental Management upon request.

{Permitting Note:  The catalytic incinerators’ destruction efficiencies shall not be used in recordkeeping to show compliance with the emission limits of this permit.}

[Rules 62‑296.500(2)(b), 62‑4.070(3), F.A.C. and Pinellas County Code, Section 58-90]
14.
Incinerator Temperature  For each incinerator, the permittee shall operate and maintain a device that displays the inlet and outlet temperatures of the catalyst bed.  At least once per day of operation of each heatset web press, the permittee shall record these temperatures.  The records shall include the date and time of the measurements and the person responsible for performing the measurements.  The records shall be maintained for five years and made available to the Department and the Pinellas County Department of Environmental Management upon request.

[Rule 62-4.070(3), F.A.C.]

15.
Annual Operating Report for Air Pollutant Emitting Facility.  The Annual Operating Report for Air Pollutant Emitting Facility (DEP Form No. 62-210.900(5)) shall be completed each year and submitted to the Pinellas County Department of Environmental Management by March 1 of the following year.

[Rule 62-210.370(3), F.A.C.]

16.
Plant Operation-Problems.  If the permittee is temporarily unable to comply with any of the conditions of the permit due to breakdown of equipment or destruction by hazard of fire, wind or by other cause, the permittee shall immediately notify the Department. Notification shall include pertinent information as to the cause of the problem, and what steps are being taken to correct the problem and to prevent its recurrence, and where applicable, the owner's intent toward reconstruction of destroyed facilities.  Such notification does not release the permittee from any liability for failure to comply with Department rules.

[Rule 62-4.130, F.A.C.]

17.
For purposes of notification to the Department pursuant to Rule 62-4.130, F.A.C., Plant Operation-Problems, “immediately” shall mean the same day, if during a workday (i.e., 8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.), or the first business day after the incident, excluding weekends and holidays.  [Rule 62-4.070(3), F.A.C.]

Operation Permit Renewal Application

18.
At least two applications to renew this operation permit shall be submitted to the Air Permitting Section of the Southwest District Office of the Department and a copy to the Air Quality Division of the PCDEM prior to 60 days before the expiration date of this permit.  To apply for the operation permit renewal, the applicant shall submit the following:

(a)
A complete Application for Air Permit Renewal—Non-Title V Source (DEP Form 62-210.900(4), F.A.C.).
(b) The appropriate operation permit fee per Rule 62-4.050(4)(a)3, F.A.C.

(c) A copy of the VE test report per specific condition No. 11 of this permit.

(d) The logs required in Specific Condition No. 13 for the most recently completed month. 

[Rules 62-4.090, 62-4.070(3) & 62-210.300(2), F.A.C.]







___________________________









Gerald J. Kissel, P.E.







District Air Program Administrator







Southwest District
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Page 1 of 6
Page 6 of 6

