

SECTION 3.  EMISSIONS UNIT SPECIFIC CONDITIONS
C.  EU No. 004 – Nonmetallic Mineral Processing Plant Nos. 1 and 2
PERMITTEE
	PAW Materials, Inc.
6640 State Road 52
Bayonet, Florida 34667
Authorized Representative:
Ron Wohlfiel, President
	Air Permit No. 1010378-012-AO
Air Operation Permit
PAW Materials/SR 54 Odessa Yard
Pasco County, Florida


PROJECT
This is the final air operation permit, which authorizes the operation of PAW Materials/SR 54 Odessa Yard, which is a Rock Crushing/Processing Plant and Air Curtain Incinerator (Standard Industrial Classification No. 4953).  This project is for the renewal of the operation permit No. 1010378-011-AO.  The facility is located in Pasco County at 14201 State Road 54 in Odessa, Florida.  The UTM coordinates are Zone 17, 345.09 kilometers (km) East, and 3120.15 km North.  
This final permit is organized into the following sections:  Section 1 (General Information); Section 2 (Administrative Requirements and Facility-wide Specific Conditions); Section 3 (Emissions Unit Specific Conditions); and Section 4 (Appendices).  Because of the technical nature of the project, the permit contains numerous acronyms and abbreviations, which are defined in Appendix A of Section 4 of this permit.
Permitting Authority:  Applications for air operation permits are subject to review in accordance with the provisions of Chapter 403, Florida Statutes (F.S.) and Chapters 62-4 and 62-210 of the Florida Administrative Code (F.A.C.).  The Permitting Authority responsible for making a permit determination for this project is the District Office.  The Permitting Authority’s physical address is:  13051 North Telecom Parkway, Temple Terrace, Florida 33637-0926.  The Permitting Authority’s mailing address is: 13051 North Telecom Parkway, Temple Terrace, Florida 33637-0926.  The Permitting Authority’s telephone number is 813-470-5700.
Petitions.  A person whose substantial interests are affected by the proposed decision may petition for an administrative hearing in accordance with Sections 120.569 and 120.57, F.S.  The petition must contain the information set forth below and must be filed (received) in the Department’s Office of General Counsel, MS #35, 3900 Commonwealth Boulevard, Tallahassee, Florida 32399-3000, Agency_Clerk@dep.state.fl.us.  Petitions filed by the applicant or any of the parties listed below must be filed within 14 days of receipt of this notice.  Petitions filed by any other person must be filed within 14 days of receipt of this proposed action.  A petitioner must mail a copy of the petition to the applicant at the address indicated above, at the time of filing.  The failure of any person to file a petition within the appropriate time period shall constitute a waiver of that person’s right to request an administrative determination (hearing) under Sections 120.569 and 120.57, F.S., or to intervene in this proceeding and participate as a party to it.  Any subsequent intervention will be only at the approval of the presiding officer upon the filing of a motion in compliance with Rule 28-106.205, F.A.C.
A petition that disputes the material facts on which the Department’s action is based must contain the following information:  (a) The name and address of each agency affected and each agency’s file or identification number, if known; (b) The name, address, and telephone number of the petitioner; the name, address and telephone number of the petitioner’s representative, if any, which shall be the address for service purposes during the course of the proceeding; and an explanation of how the petitioner’s substantial interests will be affected by the agency determination; (c) A statement of how and when each petitioner received notice of the agency action or proposed action; (d) A statement of all disputed issues of material fact.  If there are none, the petition must so indicate; (e) A concise statement of the ultimate facts alleged, as well as the rules and statutes which entitle the petitioner to relief; (f) A statement of the specific rules or statutes the petitioner contends require reversal or modification of the agency’s proposed action; and, (g) A statement of the relief sought by the petitioner, stating precisely the action petitioner wishes the agency to take with respect to the agency’s proposed action.  
A petition that does not dispute the material facts upon which the permitting authority’s action is based shall state that no such facts are in dispute and otherwise shall contain the same information as set forth above, as required by Rule 28-106.301, F.A.C.
Because the administrative hearing process is designed to formulate final agency action, the filing of a petition means that the Department’s final action may be different from the position taken by it in this notice.  Persons whose substantial interests will be affected by any such final decision of the permitting authority on the application have the right to petition to become a party to the proceeding, in accordance with the requirements set forth above.
Mediation:  Mediation is not available in this proceeding.
Effective Date:  This permitting decision is final and effective on the date filed with the clerk of the Permitting Authority unless a petition is filed in accordance with the above paragraphs or unless a request for extension of time in which to file a petition is filed within the time specified for filing a petition pursuant to Rule 62-110.106, F.A.C., and the petition conforms to the content requirements of Rules 28-106.201 and 28-106.301, F.A.C.  Upon timely filing of a petition or a request for extension of time, this action will not be effective until further order of the Permitting Authority.
Judicial Review:  Any party to this permitting decision (order) has the right to seek judicial review of it under Section 120.68, F.S., by filing a notice of appeal under Rule 9.110 of the Florida Rules of Appellate Procedure with the clerk of the Department of Environmental Protection in the Office of General Counsel, Mail Station #35, 3900 Commonwealth Boulevard, Tallahassee, Florida, 32399-3000, and by filing a copy of the notice of appeal accompanied by the applicable filing fees with the appropriate District Court of Appeal.  The notice must be filed within 30 days after this order is filed with the clerk of the Department.

1010378-012-AO Effective Date: xxxxxx 
Renewal Application Due Date:  xxxxxx
Expiration Date:  xxxxxx
[bookmark: _GoBack]Executed in Hillsborough County, Florida.



_______________________________
Pamala Vazquez
Program Administrator
Permitting & Waste Cleanup Program
Southwest District






CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE
The undersigned duly designated deputy agency clerk hereby certifies that this Air Permit package was sent by electronic mail, or a link to these documents made available electronically on a publicly accessible server, with received receipt requested before the close of business on the date indicated below to the following persons.
Ron Wohlfiel, PAW Materials, Inc., ronwohlfiel@pawcompanies.com 
Kevin Golden, P.E., UNIVERSAL Solutions, Inc., KGolden@usienvironmental.com 
Cynthia Falandysz, Florida DEP Southwest District, Cynthia.Falandysz@dep.state.fl.us 
Danielle Henry, Florida DEP Southwest District, Danielle.D.Henry@dep.state.fl.us
Melissa Madden, Florida DEP Southwest District, Melissa.Madden@dep.state.fl.us  

Clerk Stamp
FILING AND ACKNOWLEDGMENT FILED, on this date, pursuant to Section 120.52(7), Florida Statutes, with the designated agency clerk, receipt of which is hereby acknowledged.



___________________      ______________
                        (Clerk)                                         (Date)
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FACILITY DESCRIPTION
The facility is a rock crushing/processing plan with an air curtain incinerator for processing of wood wastes. 
The existing facility consists of the following emissions units (EUs).
	EU No.
	Emission Unit Description

	001
	Air Curtain Incinerator

	002
	Nonmetallic Mineral Processing Plant No. 3

	004
	Nonmetallic Mineral Processing Plant Nos. 1 & 2



APPLICABLE REGULATIONS
A summary of applicable regulations is shown in the following table.  
	Regulation
	EU No(s).

	Federal Rule Citations 

	40 CFR 60, Subpart A, NSPS General Provisions
	001, 002, 004

	40 CFR 60, Subpart CCCC, Standards of Performance for Commercial and Industrial and Solid Waste Incineration Units
	001

	40 CFR 60, Subpart OOO, Standards of Performance for Nonmetallic Mineral Processing Plants
	002, 004

	State Rule Citations

	Rule 62-210.300, F.A.C., Permits Required
	All

	Rule 62-296.320, F.A.C., General Pollutant Emission Limiting Standards
	All

	Rule 62-296.401, F.A.C., Incinerators
	001



EXEMPT EMISSION SOURCES/ACTIVITIES
-	The air curtain incinerator’s blower/fan 33 HP Diesel Engine per Rule 62-210.300(3)(a).35, F.A.C.
-	 The nonmetallic mineral processing plant (NMPP) – 1: 231 HP Caterpillar Diesel Engine per Rule 62-210.300(3)(a).35, F.A.C.
· Two power screen units for screening concrete and aggregate per Rule 62-4.040, F.A.C.
The facility shall comply with all limitations and requirements of 40 CFR 63, Subpart ZZZZ that apply to the 231 HP and 33 HP Diesel Engines.
Exemptions under Rule 62-4.040(1)(b), F.A.C. (insignificant emissions), may be revoked if the installation is substantially modified or the basis for the exemption is determined to be materially incorrect.











FACILITY REGULATORY CLASSIFICATION
· The facility is not a major source of hazardous air pollutants (HAP).
· The facility does not operate units subject to the acid rain provisions of the Clean Air Act (CAA).
· The facility is not a Title V major source of air pollution in accordance with Chapter 62-213, F.A.C.
· The facility is not a major stationary source in accordance with Rule 62-212.400, F.A.C. for the Prevention of Significant Deterioration (PSD) of Air Quality.
· This facility is a synthetic non-Title V source for the particulate matter (PM10).
· The Air Curtain Incinerator (EU No. 001) is subject to 40 CFR 60, Subpart CCCC, Standards of Performance for Commercial and Industrial and Solid Waste Incineration Units for which Construction is commenced after November 30, 1999 or for which Modification or Reconstruction is commenced on or after June 1, 2001, which has been adopted by reference in Rule 62-204.800(8), F.A.C.

· Nonmetallic Mineral Processing Plants No. 1, No. 2, and No. 3 are subject to 40 CFR 60, Subpart OOO – Standards of Performance for Nonmetallic Mineral Processing Plants., which has been adopted by reference in Rule 62-204.800(8), F.A.C.

PERMIT HISTORY/AFFECTED PERMITS
This permit replaces Operation Permit No. 1010378-011-AO


(1) 
(1) 
SECTION 1.  GENERAL INFORMATION
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ADMINISTRATIVE REQUIREMENTS

1. Permitting Authority:  The permitting authority for this project is the Southwest District of the Department of Environmental Protection (Department). The mailing address, phone number and e-mail address is:
Florida Department of Environmental Protection
Southwest District Office
Air and Solid Waste Permitting Program
13051 North Telecom Parkway
Temple Terrace, Florida 33637-0926
Telephone: 813-470-5700
E-mail: SWD_Air_Permitting@dep.state.fl.us
All documents related to applications for permits to operate an emissions unit shall be submitted to the above e-mail address and/or address.

2. Compliance Authority:  All documents related to compliance activities such as reports, tests, and notifications shall be submitted to the Florida Department of Environmental Protection (Department), Southwest District Office’s Compliance Assurance Program.  The mailing address, phone number and e-mail address is:
Florida Department of Environmental Protection
Southwest District Office
Compliance Assurance Program
13051 North Telecom Parkway
Temple Terrace, Florida 33637-0926
Telephone: 813-470-5700
E-mail: SWD_Air@dep.state.fl.us 

3. Appendices:  The following Appendices are attached as a part of this permit:  Appendix A (Citation Formats and Glossary of Common Terms); Appendix B (General Conditions); Appendix C (Common Conditions); Appendix D (Common Testing Requirements); Appendix E (40 CFR 60, Subpart A: General Provisions); Appendix F (40 CFR 60, Subpart OOO: Standards for Performance for Nonmetallic Mineral Processing Plants); Appendix G (40 CFR 60, Subpart CCCC: Standards for Performance for Commercial and Industrial Solid Waste Incineration Units for Which Construction Commenced After November 30, 1999 or for Which Modification or Reconstruction Is Commenced on or After June 1, 2001) and Appendix H (Process Flow Diagrams).

4. Applicable Regulations, Forms and Application Procedures:  Unless otherwise specified in this permit, the construction and operation of the subject emissions units shall be in accordance with the capacities and specifications stated in the application.  The facility is subject to all applicable provisions of: Chapter 403, F.S.; and Chapters 62-4, 62-204, 62-210, 62-212, 62-213, 62-296 and 62-297, F.A.C.  Issuance of this permit does not relieve the permittee from compliance with any applicable federal, state, or local permitting or regulations.

5. New or Additional Conditions:  For good cause shown and after notice and an administrative hearing, if requested, the Department may require the permittee to conform to new or additional conditions.  The Department shall allow the permittee a reasonable time to conform to the new or additional conditions, and on application of the permittee, the Department may grant additional time.  
[Rule 62-4.080, F.A.C.]

6. Modifications:  No new emissions unit shall be constructed and no existing emissions unit shall be modified without obtaining an air construction permit from the Department.  Such permit shall be obtained prior to beginning construction or modification.  
[Rules 62-210.300(1) and 62-212.300(1)(a), F.A.C.]

7. Renewal.  Prior to 60 days before the expiration date of this permit, the permittee shall apply for a renewal of the permit.  A renewal application shall be timely and sufficient.  If the application is submitted prior to 60 days before expiration of the permit, it will be considered timely and sufficient.  If the renewal application is submitted at a later date, it will not be considered timely and sufficient unless it is submitted and made complete prior to the expiration of the operation permit.  When the application for renewal is timely and sufficient, the existing permit shall remain in effect until the renewal application has been finally acted upon by the Department. To properly apply for an operation permit, the applicant shall submit the following: 
1. the appropriate permit application form (see current version of Rule 62-210.900, F.A.C. (Forms and Instructions), and/or FDEP Division of Air Resource Management website at: http://www.dep.state.fl.us/air/); 
1. the appropriate operation permit application fee from Rule 62-4.050(4)(a), F.A.C.; 
1. copies of the most recent compliance test reports required by Specific Condition Nos. A.12., B.11., and C.12., if not previously submitted;
1. copies of the most recent month of records/logs specified in Specific Condition Nos. A.13., B.12., and C.13.
1. copies of any current training certificates for the previous 12 months for Emission Unit No.  001; and

1. a detailed description of how the most recent "default charging rate" was determined as required in Specific Condition No. A3. along with a copy of the documentation/records of the determination, the bucket (rake) identification, and the type or types of wood material weighed in the determination for Emission Unit No. 001.
[Rules 62-4.090, 62-210.300(2), and 62-210.900, F.A.C.] 

8. Annual Operating Report (AOR):  The information required by the Annual Operating Report for Air Pollutant Emitting Facility (DEP Form No. 62-210.900(5)) shall be submitted by April 1 of each year, for the previous calendar year, to the Department of Environmental Protection’s (DEP) District Office.  All synthetic non-Title V sources shall submit a completed DEP Form 62-210.900(5) unless the annual operating report is submitted using the DEP’s electronic annual operating report software.  Emissions shall be computed in accordance with the provisions of subsection 62-210.370(2), F.A.C.  
[Rule 62-210.370(3), F.A.C.]
{Permitting Note:  Resources to help you complete your AOR are available on the electronic AOR (EAOR) website at:  http://www.dep.state.fl.us/air/emission/eaor.  If you have questions or need assistance after reviewing the information posted on the EAOR website, please contact the Department by phone at (850) 717-9000 or email at eaor@dep.state.fl.us.}


FACILITY-WIDE REQUIREMENTS
	
9. Reasonable Precautions of Unconfined Emissions of Particulate Matter:  All reasonable precautions shall be taken to prevent and control generation of unconfined emissions of particulate matter (PM). These provisions are applicable to any source, including but not limited to, vehicular movement, transportation of materials, construction, alteration, demolition or wrecking, or industrial-related activities such as loading, unloading, storing, and handling.  Reasonable precautions to be taken shall include, but not be limited to the following:

a. Paving and maintenance of roads, parking areas, and yards;
b. Application of water or chemicals to control emissions from such activities as demolition of buildings, grading roads, construction, and land clearing;
c. Application of asphalt, water, oil, chemicals, or other dust suppressants to unpaved roads, yards, open stock piles, and similar activities;
d. Removal of PM from roads and other paved areas under the control of the owner or operator of the facility to prevent re-entrainment, and from building(s) or work areas to prevent particulate from becoming airborne;
e. Landscaping or planting of vegetation;
f. Sprinkling with water shall be used as necessary on paved areas, unpaved areas, stockpiles, and during loading/unloading operations;
g. Facility grounds, roadways, and material storage piles shall be watered, as necessary.

If operating experience indicates that these reasonable precautions are not sufficient to control unconfined PM emissions, the Department reserves the right to require additional measures, such as recordkeeping for water truck gallons applied, etc.
[Rules 62-4.070(3) and 62-296.320(4)(c), F.A.C.; Construction Permits 1010378-008-AC and 1010378-010-AC]

10. Fugitive Emissions Opacity Standard:  In order to provide reasonable assurance that the precautions and practices taken at the facility are adequate, all sources of unconfined PM not subject to 40 CFR 60, should not exceed ten percent (10%) opacity.  Exceedance of this limit shall not be considered a violation in and of itself, but an indication that additional control precautions and/or practices beyond those outlined in Specific Condition No.  9 may be necessary.
[Rule 62-4.070(3), F.A.C.]

11. Special Compliance Tests: When the Department, after investigation, has good reason (such as complaints, increased visible emissions or questionable maintenance of control equipment) to believe that any applicable emission standard contained in a Department rule or in a permit issued pursuant to those rules is being violated, it may require the owner or operator of the emissions unit to conduct compliance tests which identify the nature and quantity of pollutants emissions from the emissions unit and to provide a report on the results of said tests to the Air Compliance Section of the Department’s Southwest District Office.
	[Rule 62-297.310(8)(c), F.A.C.]

12.	Records Retention:  All test reports and records (or a copy thereof) required by this permit shall be kept at the facility for the most recent three (3) years period, unless otherwise specified.
	[Rule 62-4.070(3), F.A.C.]

13.	Excess Emissions:  The permittee shall comply with the following:
a. Excess emissions resulting from startup, shutdown, or malfunction of any emissions unit shall be permitted provided (1) best operational practices to minimize emissions are adhered to and (2) the duration of excess emissions shall be minimized but in no cases exceed two hours in any 24 hour period unless specifically authorized by the Department for longer duration.
b. Excess emissions which are caused entirely or in part by poor maintenance, poor operation, or any other equipment or process failure which may reasonably be prevented during startup, shutdown, or malfunction shall be prohibited.
c. In the case of excess emissions resulting from malfunctions, each owner or operator shall notify the Air Compliance Section of the Department’s Southwest District Office in accordance with Rule 62-4.130, F.A.C.  A full written report on the malfunctions shall be submitted in a quarterly report, if requested by the Department.
[Rules 62-210.700(1), (4), and (6), F.A.C.]
(Permitting Note: The limitations in Specific Condition No. 13. cannot vary any requirement of an emission unit subject to the New Source Performance Standards of 40 CFR 60.)







(1) 
(1) 
SECTION 2.  ADMINISTRATIVE REQUIREMENTS AND FACILITY-WIDE SPECIFIC CONDITIONS

This section of the permit addresses the following emissions unit.
	EU No.
	Emission Unit Description

	001
	An Air Curtain Destructor (incinerator), Model CP 2000T, manufactured by the Concepts Products Corporation. The incinerator’s earthen burning pit is not refractory lined and is 20 feet long by 12 feet wide maximum by 8 feet deep. The manifold is a minimum of 20 feet long with a blower fan powered by a 33-horsepower (HP) engine fired with diesel fuel oil (design capacity less than 1.3 gallons per hour). Emissions are controlled by forced air at a very high static pressure over and around the burning pit.


Federal Regulations
A.1. Federal Regulatory Requirements:

a. This incinerator is subject to the requirements of 40 CFR 60, Subpart CCCC – Standards of Performance for Commercial and Industrial Solid Waste Incineration Units for which construction is commenced After November 30, 1999 or for which Modification or Reconstruction is commenced on or After June 1, 2001.

b. Any air curtain incinerator subject to 40 CFR Part 60, Subpart AAAA, BBBB, CCCC, DDDD, or EEEE, adopted and incorporated by reference at Rule 62-204.800. F.A.C., shall be constructed and operated so as to comply with the standards, limitations, and requirements of the applicable subpart, and with the requirements Rule 62-296.401(7)(b), F.A.C., to the extent that those requirements are stricter than, or supplemental, the requirements of the applicable subpart.
[Rules 62-204.800(8)(b)77., F.A.C. and 62-296.401(7)(a)1., F.A.C.]
PERFORMANCE RESTRICTIONS
A.2. Charging Rate:  The maximum charging rate to the incinerator shall not exceed 10 tons/hr. (daily average basis) and 31,200 tons per any consecutive 12-month period.  The charging rate going into the pit shall be determined by the following procedure: The loader used to charge the pit shall weigh five (5) buckets (rakes) at a representative maximum capacity and representative material to be charged into the burn pit.  This average, along with the number of charges, shall then be used to determine the hourly process rate.  In addition, the loader bucket (rake) that will be used to charge the pit shall be designated as the only one used in charging the pit.  If a different or alternate sized loader is used, or if requested by the Department, a new average shall be determined and noted in the facility's records/logs.
[Rules 62-4.070(3) and 62-210.200 (PTE) F.A.C.; Construction Permit 1010378-008-AC]
A.3. Restricted Operation:  The hours of operation (charging hours) are limited to 3,120 hours per year.  
[Rules 62-4.070(3), 62-210.200(PTE), F.A.C. and Construction Permit 1010378-008-AC]
A.4.	Operational Requirements for Air Curtain Incinerator (ACI):
a. The earthen trench's pit walls (width and length) shall be vertical and maintained as such, so that combustion of the waste within the pit is maintained at an adequate temperature and with sufficient air recirculation to provide enough residence time and mixing for proper combustion and control of emissions.  The following dimensions for the pit must be strictly adhered to: no more than 12 feet wide, between eight feet (8') and 15' deep, and no longer than the manifold.  If the pit is located at a landfill, the pit shall not be dug within a previously active portion of a landfill.
[Rule 62-296.401(7)(b)2., F.A.C.]
b. Except as allowed herein, the only materials that shall be burned in the air curtain incinerator are vegetative material and untreated wood, excluding sawdust.  The air curtain incinerator shall not be used to burn any biological waste, hazardous waste, asbestos-containing materials, mercury-containing devices, pharmaceuticals, tires, rubber material, residual oil, used oil, asphalt, roofing materials, tar, treated wood, plastics, garbage, trash, or other material prohibited to be open burned as set forth in Rule 62-256.300(2), F.A.C.  Only kerosene, diesel fuel, drip-torch fuel (as used to ignite prescribed fires), untreated wood, virgin oil, natural gas, or liquefied petroleum gas shall be used to start the fire in the air curtain incinerator.  The use of used oil, chemicals, gasoline, or tires to start the fire is prohibited.  The air curtain incinerator may be used for the destruction of animal carcasses in accordance with 62-256.700(6), F.A.C.  When using an air curtain incineration to burn animal carcasses, untreated wood may also be used to maintain good combustion. 
[Rules 62-296.401(7)(b)3. and 4., F.A.C.]
c.  In no case shall an air curtain incinerator be started before sunrise.  All charging shall end no later than one (1) hour after sunset.  After charging ceases, air flow shall be maintained until all material within the air curtain incinerator has been reduced to coals, and flames are no longer visible.  A log shall be maintained onsite that documents daily beginning and ending times of charging.
[Rule 62-296.401(7)(b)5., F.A.C.]
d. The air curtain incinerator shall be attended at all times while materials are being    burned or flames are visible within the incinerator.
[Rule 62-296.401(7)(b)6., F.A.C.]
e. The air curtain incinerator shall be located at least 50 feet from any wild lands, brush, combustible structure, or paved public roadway.
[Rule 296.401(7)(b)7., F.A.C.]
f. The material shall not be loaded into the air curtain incinerator such that it protrudes above the air curtain.
[Rule 62-296.401(7)(b)8., F.A.C.]
g. Ash shall not be allowed to build up in the pit of an air curtain incinerator to higher than one-third (1/3) the pit depth or to the point where the ash begins to impede combustion, whichever occurs first.  The pit shall be marked with an indicator to show the 1/3 depth.
[Rules 62-4.070(3) and 62-296.401(7)(b)9., F.A.C.]
h. The detailed operation and maintenance (O&M) guide received by the Department on February 28, 2001, shall be used and must be available to the operators of an air curtain incinerator at all times, and the owner shall provide  training to  all operators before they work at the incinerator.  This guide shall be made available to the Department or for an inspector’s onsite review upon request.  
[Rule 62-296.401(7)(b)10., F.A.C.]
A.5.	Operator Certification:  Each trained operator shall receive a certificate demonstrating that the operator has successfully passed the training required by the operation and maintenance guide.  During the tenure of the operator, a copy of this certificate shall be kept on file at the facility and be made available to the Department upon request.
		[Rules 62-4.070(3) and 62-296.401(7)(b)10., F.A.C.]
A.6. 		Diesel Powered Fan: In order to ensure the VE limitations are not exceeded and objectionable odors are not generated, the air curtain incinerator's fan shall continue to operate after the last charge of each day until all combustion has ceased.   For purposes of this condition, "combustion" means the presence of any flames or smoke that causes a VE greater than five (5) % opacity.
[Rules 62-4.070(3) and 62-210.200 (Definition “Visible Emission”), F.A.C.; Construction Permit 1010378-008-AC]

A.7. 	Reasonable Precautions: All reasonable precautions shall be taken to prevent and control generation of unconfined emissions of particulate matter from this emission unit. These provisions are applicable to any source, including, but not limited to vehicular movement, transportation of materials, construction, alteration, demolition or wrecking, or industrial related activities such as loading, unloading, storing and handling.  Reasonable precautions shall include the following:
a. Ash removed from the pit shall be wetted with water, prior to removal, and as necessary;
b. Ash removed from the pit shall be wetted with water, as necessary, to ensure the ash does not become airborne or begin to smolder; and
c. Reasonable care shall be taken in loading and unloading the pit.
[Rule 62-296.320(4)(c), F.A.C.; Construction Permit No. 1010378-008-AC]
EMISSIONS STANDARDS
A.8	Visible Emissions Limit: Outside of startup procedures, visible emissions shall not exceed ten percent (10%) opacity, six-minute average.  During startup periods, which shall not exceed the first (30) minutes of operation, an opacity of up to 35%, averaged over a six (6) minute period, shall be allowed. The general excess emission rule, Rule 62-210.700, F.A.C., shall not apply.
	[Rule 62-296.401(7)(b)1., F.A.C.]
TESTING REQUIREMENTS
A.9.	Annual Compliance Tests:  During each calendar year (January 1st to December 31st), the emissions unit 	shall be tested to demonstrate compliance with the visible emissions (VE) standards.
a. Initial Operation: The emissions unit shall be tested to demonstrate compliance with the emissions standards for Visible Emissions (VE) the first time it operates after the effective date of this permit.
b. New Trench Location: If the air curtain incinerator commences operation at any new trench location a performance test shall be conducted for visible emissions no later than thirty (30) days after it commences operation, and annually thereafter. However, if the air curtain incinerator will be operated for less than thirty (30) day at the new trench location, and the owner or operator has demonstrated compliance with the emissions limiting standards through a visible emissions test conducted and submitted to the Department within the previous twelve (12) months, the requirement for testing within thirty (30) day of commencing operation at the new trench location shall not apply. Submit a copy of the test report to the Compliance Authority within 45 days of testing.  All submitted compliance test reports shall include a copy of the daily log for each test day along with the actual charging rate, description of materials burned, and starter fuel used during the test period.
c. Charging Rate Requirements During Testing: Testing of emissions must be conducted within 90-100% of the maximum allowable charging rate* of ten (10) TPH.  A compliance test submitted at a rate less than 90% of the maximum permitted charging rate will automatically constitute an amended permitted charging rate at that lesser rate, plus ten (10) %.  Once the unit is so limited, operation at higher capacities is allowed for no more than 15 days for the purpose of additional compliance testing to regain authority to operate at the permitted capacity. Acceptance of the test by the Department will automatically constitute an amended permit at the higher charging tested rate, plus ten (10) %, but in no case shall the maximum permitted charging rate of ten (10) TPH be exceeded.  The emission limitations shall not change.
Charging rate is defined as:  (1) the amount of material placed in the incinerator during the period starting with the initial loading and ending 60 minutes after initial combustion, for the first 60 minute period after initial combustion and, (2) the amount of material placed in the incinerator for any 60-minute period thereafter.
[40 CFR 60.2255(c) and 40 CFR 60.2260(d); Rules 62-4.070(3), 62-296.401(7)(d), 62-297.310 (2), (7) and (8), Construction Permit 1010378-008-AC]

A.10	Test Requirements:  The permittee shall notify the Compliance Authority in writing at least 15 days prior 	to any required tests.  The notification should include the following information: the date, time, and 	location of each test; the name and telephone number of the facility’s contact person who will be 	responsible for coordinating the test; and the name, company, and the telephone number of the person 	conducting the test. Tests shall be conducted in accordance with the applicable requirements specified 	in Appendix D (Common Testing Requirements) of this permit.  
	[Rule 62-297.310(9), F.A.C.]

A.11.	Test Methods:  Required tests shall be performed in accordance with the following reference method:

	Method
	Description of Method and Comments

	9
	Visual Determination of the Opacity of Emissions from Stationary Sources
The VE test shall be conducted when the highest emissions can reasonably be expected to occur.  The visible emission test report shall include the actual charging rate, description of materials burned, starter fuel used, and a copy of the daily operating log for the test day.  The EPA Method No. 9 test interval on this source shall be at least 60 minutes and meet all the applicable requirements of Chapter 62-297, F.A.C.  The VE test shall begin upon initial combustion and include the first 60 minutes of the burn (30 minutes start-up and 30 minutes normal operation).  In order to determine compliance and maximize the conditions for conducting a valid VE test, the Department reserves the right to require the air curtain incinerator to be repositioned, for example, with the incinerator's long axis in a north to south direction.


The above methods are described in Appendix A of 40 CFR 60 and are adopted by reference in Rule 62-204.800, F.A.C.  No other methods may be used unless prior written approval is received from the Department.  
[Rules 62-204.800, F.A.C.; and Appendix A of 40 CFR 60]
RECORDS AND REPORTS
A.12.	Test Reports:  The permittee shall prepare and submit reports for all required tests in accordance with the 	requirements specified in Appendix D (Common Testing Requirements) of this permit.  These records 	shall also be kept onsite in either paper copy or electronic format for at least five (5) years and made 	available to the Department upon request. 
[Rules 62-296.401(7)(c)3., F.A.C. and 62-297.310(10), F.A.C.]
A.13.	Operating Log: The permittee shall maintain a daily operating log and at a minimum contain the 	following:
a.	Date;
b.	Type of starter fuel used;
c.	Total number charges;
d.	Default charging rate and identification of the rake used as determined by Specific Condition No. A.2.;
e.	Total material (in tons) charged;
f.	Daily operating (charging) hours, which includes the start of initial combustion to the time of the last charge to the incinerator (Start and Stop times shall be indicated);
g.	Daily, calculate the hourly charging rate, TPH;
h.	Monthly, provide the most recent consecutive 12-month period total of operating (charging) hours;
i.	Monthly, provide the most recent consecutive 12-month period total for the amount of material charged, in tons;
j.	Type of Maintenance Performed;
k.	Comments; and
l.	Operator's signature.
The log shall be maintained at the facility for at least five (5) years and shall be made available to the Compliance Authority upon request.
[Rule 62-4.070(3), F.A.C.]

ADDITIONAL REQUIREMENTS

A.14.	Burn Authorization: Nothing in this rule (Rule 62-296.401(7)(a), F.A.C.), shall relieve the owner or operator from any requirement for obtaining authorization to use an air curtain incinerator, when necessary, from the Division of Forestry, or any local fire control authority.
	   [Rule 62-210.300, F.A.C.; Construction Permit 1010378-008-AC]

A.15. 	Diesel-Powered Fan Emissions: The exempt from permitting “diesel-powered fan" shall not cause VE equal to or greater than 20% opacity, in accordance with the facility-wide visible emission limitation of Rule 62-296.320(4)(b), F.A.C.
		[Rule 62-296.320(4)(b), F.A.C.]
		(Permitting Note: This rule does not require testing annually or prior to permit renewal.)

A.16. 	Air Curtain Incinerator Position: Each time the incinerator is re-positioned to a different area of the site the permittee shall notify the Compliance Authority in writing of the date the incinerator was moved within five (5) calendar days of that date.  The notice shall include a sketch/diagram of the new location.
		[Rule 62-4.070(3), F.A.C.]

SOLID WASTE MANAGEMENT REQUIREMENTS

A.17.	Wood Waste. The owner or operator of this yard trash facility is required to obtain a separate Solid Waste Management Facility permit pursuant to Rule 62-709.320(1)(a), F.A.C. during the time that this Air Curtain Incinerator permit is in effect and wood waste is accepted, stored or processed at the facility.
[Rule 62-709.320(1)(a), F.A.C.]

A.18.	Ash Management. Ash from the air curtain incinerator may be used as a soil amendment or incorporated into mulch or compost products.  If the ash is disposed of rather than beneficially used, such disposal shall be in accordance with the requirements of Chapter 62-701, F.A.C.



(1) 
(1) 
SECTION 3.  EMISSIONS UNIT SPECIFIC CONDITIONS
A.  EU No. 001 – Air Curtain Incinerator

This section of the permit addresses the following emissions unit.
	ID No.
	Emission Unit Description

	002
	The emission unit consists of Nonmetallic Mineral Processing Plant No. 3. The processing plant has a manufacturer’s maximum material crushing rate of 200 tons/hr.  This permit limits the material crushing rate to a maximum of 624,000 tons per any consecutive month period.  The processing plant is powered by electricity obtained from grid.

Figure 3 in Appendix H of this permit, describes the operating configuration of the processing plant.

{Permitting Note:  The permittee must notify the Department prior to any equipment change in order to validate the similar size and capacity requirement.}



Federal Regulations
B.1. Federal Regulatory Requirements: This emission unit is subject to Title 40, Code of Federal Regulations, Part 60, Subpart OOO – Standards of Performance for Nonmetallic Mineral Processing Plants which is adopted by reference in Rule 62-204.800, F.A.C.
[Rule 62-204.800(8), F.A.C.; Construction Permit 1010378-010-AC] 

PERFORMANCE RESTRICTIONS
B.2. Permitted Capacity:  The maximum material crushing rate shall not exceed 624,000 tons per any consecutive 12-month period.  This rate is determined from the amount of material transferred from front-end loaders to Nonmetallic Mineral Processing Plant No. 3’s crusher.
[Rule 62-210.200(PTE), F.A.C.; Construction Permit 1010378-010-AC]

B.3. Restricted Operation:  The hours of operation of are not limited (8,760 hours per year).
[Rules 62-4.070(3), 62-210.200(PTE), F.A.C. and Construction Permit 1010378-010-AC]

B.4.	Maximum Emission Points:  The processing plant shall not have more emission points and specific pieces of equipment than shown in Specific Condition No. B.6. and Figure 3 in Appendix H of this permit.
[Rule 62-210.200 (PTE), F.A.C.; Construction Permit 1010378-010-AC]

EMISSIONS STANDARDS
B.5. Reasonable Precautions:  No person shall cause, let, permit, suffer or allow the emissions of unconfined particulate matter from any activity, including vehicular movement; transportation of materials; construction, alteration, demolition or wrecking; or industrially related activities such as loading, unloading, storing or handling; without taking reasonable precautions to prevent such emissions.  Reasonable precautions include:

a. Transfer points of material associated with the processing plant shall be controlled with a water spray or an enclosed chute as shown on the attached Figure 3 in Appendix H, as necessary.

b. Prevent emissions from material handling by a loader shall be achieved by reducing the material freefall as the bucket dumps the aggregate.  Drop heights shall be minimized from conveyors and screens; and

c. Water shall be applied to the crusher and transfer points, as necessary, to reduce unconfined PM.
	[Rule 62-296.320(4)(c), F.A.C.]

B.6.	Visible Emissions (VE) Limitations:  As shown in Figure 3 in Appendix H of this permit, each emission point associated with this emission unit shall comply with the following maximum visible emission limitations.  Note, since emission point Nos. 1 – 5 were previously used in the Department’s database system and have been inactivated, the emission points listed below start with No. 6.  Also, note emission point numbers shown below correspond to the emission point numbers shown in Figure 3 in Appendix H of this permit.  

	
Emission Point No.
	

Brief Description
	Max.VE Limit
(% Opacity)1
	Max.VE Limit
(% Opacity)2

	6
	Front-end Loader to Loading Hopper
	<20*
	<20*

	7
	Crusher
	15**
	12**

	8
	Crusher to Belt #10
	15**
	12**

	9
	Belt #10 to Storage Pile
	<20*
	<20*

	10
	Crusher to Belt #11
	15**
	12**

	11
	Belt #11 to Screen
	10**
	7**

	12
	Screen
	10**
	7**

	13
	Screen to Belt #12
	10**
	7**

	14
	Belt #12 to Storage Pile
	<20*
	<20*

	15
	Screen to Belt #13
	10**
	7**

	16
	Belt #13 to Storage Pile
	<20*
	<20*

	17
	Screen to Belt #14
	10**
	7**

	18
	Belt #14 to Storage Pile
	<20*
	<20*


	*  Rule 62-296.320(4)(b), F.A.C.      **  40 CFR 60.672(b)	

	1  For crushers and affected pieces of equipment (e.g., screens) that commenced construction, modification or reconstruction after 8/31/1983, but before 4/22/2008.
	2 For crushers and affected pieces of equipment (e.g., screens) that commenced construction, modification or reconstruction on or after 4/22/2008.
	Permitting Note: Emission Point Nos. 6, 9, 14, 16, and 18 do not require regular scheduled VE compliance testing, since the applicable visible emission limitation is a facility-wide limitation and there is no applicable allowable mass emission limitation.  Emission Point Nos. 11 and 12 are at the same location and require only one VE test when both activities are occurring.
	[Rules 62-210.200 (“Potential to Emit”) and 62-296.320(4)(b), F.A.C.; 40 CFR 60.672(b); Construction Permit 1010378-010-AC]

TESTING REQUIREMENTS
B.7.	Annual Compliance Tests:  During each calendar year (January 1st to December 31st), the emissions unit 	shall be tested to demonstrate compliance with the visible emissions (VE) standards.

	The permittee shall test:

	a.	Emission Point Nos. 7, 8, 11, 12, 13, 15 and 17 for visible emissions annually during each calendar year (January 1st – December 31st).

	b.	If the daily average material crushing rate of Processing Plant No. 3 is more than 10% of when the most recent compliance test was conducted, new tests shall be conducted as required by Section 4., Appendix D, No. 1 at an actual material crushing rate that is no less than the total daily average material crushing rate recorded.

	c.	If an emission point was not operating during the most recent compliance test, the emission point shall be tested within 15 days after resuming operation.

[Rule 62-297.310(8)(a)1, F.A.C.]

B.8.	Test Requirements:  The permittee shall notify the Compliance Authority in writing at least 15 days prior to any required tests.  Tests shall be conducted in accordance with the applicable requirements specified in Appendix D (Common Testing Requirements) of this permit. Visible emission testing shall also comply with the following:

	a.	The minimum distance between the observer and the emission source shall be 15 feet.
	
	b.	The observer shall, when possible, select a position that minimizes interference from other fugitive emission sources (e.g., road dust).  The required observer position relative to the sun (Method 9, Section 2.1) must be followed.

	c.	The duration of the Method 9 observations must be 30 minutes (five 6-minute averages). Compliance with Specific Condition B.6., must be based on the average of the five 6-minute averages.

	d.	As an alternative to the Method 9 requirement to conduct visible emission observations of only one emission point at a time, a single visible emission observer may conduct visible emission observations for up to three fugitive, stack, or vent emission points within a 15-second interval if the following conditions are met:

	1.	No more than three emission points may be read concurrently.
	2.	All three emission points must be within a 70 degree viewing sector or angle in front of the observer such that the proper sun position can be maintained for all three points.
	3.	If an opacity reading for any one of the three emission points equals or exceeds the applicable standard, then the observer must stop taking readings for the other two points and continue reading just that single point.
[40 CFR 60.675 (c) and (e)(2); Rule 62-297.310(9), F.A.C.]

B.9.	Test Methods:  Required tests shall be performed in accordance with the following reference methods:

	Method
	Description of Method and Comments

	9
	Visual Determination of the Opacity of Emissions from Stationary Sources


The above methods are described in Appendix A of 40 CFR 60 and are adopted by reference in Rule 62-204.800, F.A.C.  No other methods may be used unless prior written approval is received from the Department.  
[Rules 62-204.800, F.A.C.; and Appendix A of 40 CFR 60]

MONITORING REQUIREMENTS
B.10.	Monitoring Requirements:  If any affected piece(s) of equipment of the processing plant (i.e., crusher, screen or conveyor belt) was constructed, modified, or began reconstruction on or after April 22, 2008, a monthly inspection must be performed to check that water is flowing to discharge spray nozzles of the wet suppression system. The owner or operator must initiate corrective action within 24 hours and complete corrective action as expediently as practical if water is not flowing properly during the inspection.
	[Rule 62-4.070(3), F.A.C.; 40 CFR 60.674(b]

RECORDS AND REPORTS
B.11	Test Reports:  The permittee shall prepare and submit reports for all required tests in accordance with the requirements specified in Appendix D (Common Testing Requirements) of this permit.  The test reports shall include the following:
	a.	Facility name;

	b.	Facility ID No. and Emission Unit No. (e.g., 1010378 and E.U. No. 002);

	c.	date each affected piece of equipment of the crushing system (processing plant) commenced construction, modification or reconstruction;

	d.	type of material processed;

	e.	actual material crushing rate during the test period (tons/hour); and

	f.	a copy of the monthly log as required by Specific Condition No. B.13. for the month the test was conducted.
[Rule 62-297.310(10), F.A.C.]

B.12	Operational Data:  In order to document compliance with Specific Condition No. B.2., the permittee shall record the following:

	Daily:
	 a.	facility name, facility ID No., emission unit ID No., and date (month/day/year)

	b.	hours of crushing material;

	c.	amount of material crushed in tons;

	d.	daily average crushing rate based on b. and c. above in tons/hr.  If the daily average crushing rate is more than 10% above the crushing rate at which the most recent test was conducted, a new test shall be conducted at a crushing rate no less than that rate recorded in accordance with Section 4, Appendix D, No. 1.;


	Monthly:

	e.	facility name, facility ID No., and emission unit ID No. and date (month/day/year);

	f.	total material crushed in tons;

	g.	most recent consecutive 12-month total amount of material crushed in tons (tons/consecutive 12-month period); and

	h.	most recent consecutive 12-month total hours of operation.

	Daily records shall be completed within five (5) business days and monthly records shall be completed by the end of the following month.
	[Rule 62-4.070(3), F.A.C.]

B.13	Monitoring Records:  If any affected piece(s) of equipment of the processing plant was constructed, modified, or began reconstruction on or after April 22, 2008, the owner or operator must record each inspection of the water spray nozzles, including the date of each inspection and any corrective actions taken. (see also Specific Condition B.10.)
	[40 CFR 60.674(b); Rule 62-4.070(3), F.A.C.]





SECTION 3.  EMISSIONS UNIT SPECIFIC CONDITIONS
B.  EU No. 002 – Nonmetallic Mineral Processing Plant No. 3

This section of the permit addresses the following emissions unit.
	ID No.
	Emission Unit Description

	004
	The emission unit consists of two (2) nonmetallic mineral processing plants (NMPP) subject to Title 40, Code of Federal Regulations, Part 60, Subpart OOO – Standards of Performance for Nonmetallic Mineral Processing Plants.

Nonmetallic Mineral Processing Plant No. 1, has a manufacturer’s maximum material crushing rate of 440 tons/hr., and this permit limits its material crushing rate to a maximum of 780,000 tons per any consecutive month period.  This is run by a 231 hp diesel engine.

Nonmetallic Mineral Processing Plant No. 2, has a manufacturer’s maximum material crushing rate of 175 tons/hr. and this permit limits its material crushing rate to a maximum of 546,000 tons per any consecutive 12-month period.  The processing plant is powered by electricity obtained from grid.

When Nonmetallic Mineral Processing Plant No. 2’s crusher is not receiving material from front-end loaders, it may operate as a secondary crusher to Nonmetallic Mineral Processing Plant No. 1.

When Nonmetallic Mineral Processing Plant No. 1 is not operating, Nonmetallic Mineral Processing Plant No. 2’s crusher may operate as an initial (primary) crusher by receiving material only from front-end loaders and its own material returned from the triple deck screen.

Both processing plants use common conveyor belts and use the same triple deck screen.

Figure 2 in Appendix H of this permit, describes the processing plants operating configuration.  Note, Belt No. 4 may receive material from Belt No. 3 or Belt No. 6.

{Permitting Note:  The permittee must notify the Department prior to any equipment change in order to validate the similar size and capacity requirement.}




FEDERAL REGULATIONS

C.1.	Federal Regulatory Requirements:  This emission unit is subject to Title 40, Code of Federal Regulations, Part 60, Subpart OOO – Standards of Performance for Nonmetallic Mineral Processing Plants which is adopted by reference in Rule 62-204.800, F.A.C.  See Appendix E and Appendix F attached to this permit.
	[Rule 62-204.800(8), F.A.C.; Construction Permit 1010378-010-AC]

PERFORMANCE RESTRICTIONS

C.2.	Permitted Capacity:  The processing plants shall comply with the following:

	a.	The material crushing rate of Nonmetallic Mineral Processing Plant No. 1 shall not exceed 780,000 tons per any consecutive 12-month period.  This rate is determined from the amount of material transferred from front-end loaders to Nonmetallic Mineral Processing Plant No. 1’s crusher.

	b.	When Nonmetallic Mineral Processing No. 2’s crusher is operating as an initial (primary) crusher, the material crushing rate shall not exceed 546,000 ton per any consecutive month period.  This rate is determined from only the amount of material transferred from front-end loaders to Nonmetallic Mineral Processing Plant No. 2’s crusher.

	c.	When Nonmetallic Mineral Processing Plant No. 2’s crusher is not receiving material from front-end loaders, it may operate as a secondary crusher to Nonmetallic Mineral Processing Plant No. 1.

	[Rule 62-210.200(PTE), F.A.C.; Construction Permit 1010378-010-AC]

C.3.	Restricted Operation:  The hours of operation of this emission unit are not limited (8,760 hours per year.).
	[Rule 62-210.200(PTE), F.A.C.; Construction Permit 1010378-010-AC]

C.4.	Maximum Emission Points:  The processing plants shall not have more emission points and specific pieces of equipment than shown in Specific Condition No. C.6. and Figure 4 in Appendix H of this permit.
	[Rule 62-210.200 (PTE), F.A.C.; Construction Permit 1010378-010-AC]

EMISSIONS STANDARDS

C.5.	Reasonable Precautions:  No person shall cause, let, permit, suffer or allow the emissions of unconfined particulate matter from any activity, including vehicular movement; transportation of materials; construction, alteration, demolition or wrecking; or industrially related activities such as loading, unloading, storing or handling; without taking reasonable precautions to prevent such emissions.  Reasonable precautions include:

a. Transfer points of material associated with the processing plant shall be controlled with a water spray or an enclosed chute as shown on Figure 2 in Appendix H of this permit, as necessary.

b. Prevent emissions from material handling by a loader shall be achieved by reducing the material freefall as the bucket dumps the aggregate.  Drop heights shall be minimized from conveyors and screens; and

c. Water shall be applied to the crusher and transfer points, as necessary, to reduce unconfined PM.

	[Rule 62-296.320(4)(c), F.A.C.]

C.6.	Visible Emissions (VE) Limitations:  As shown in Figure 4 in Appendix H of this permit, each emission point associated with this emission unit shall comply with the following maximum visible emission limitations.  Note, since emission point Nos. 1 – 11 were previously used in the Department’s database system and have been inactivated, the emission points listed below start with No. 12.  Also note that emission point numbers shown below correspond to the emission point numbers shown in Figure 2 in Appendix H of this permit.

	
Emission Point No.
	

Brief Description
	Max.VE Limit
(% Opacity)1
	Max.VE Limit
(% Opacity)2

	12
	Front-end Loader to Nonmetallic Mineral Processing Plant No. 1’s Hopper
	<20*
	<20*

	13
	Nonmetallic Mineral Processing Plant No. 1’s Crusher
	15**
	12**

	14
	Nonmetallic Mineral Processing Plant No. 1’s Crusher to Fines Storage Pile Under Crusher
	15**
	12**

	15
	Nonmetallic Mineral Processing Plant No. 1’s Crusher to Belt #1
	15**
	12**

	16
	Belt #9 and Belt #1 to Belt #2
	10**
	7**

	17
	Belt #2 to Triple Deck Screen
	10**
	7**

	18
	Triple Deck Screen
	10**
	7**

	19
	Triple Deck Screen to Belt #3
	10**
	7**

	20
	Belt #3 to Storage Pile
	<20*
	<20*

	21
	Belt #3 to Belt #4
	10**
	7**

	22
	Belt #4 to Storage Pile
	<20*
	<20*

	23
	Triple Deck Screen to Belt #5
	10**
	7**

	24
	Belt #5 to Belt #6
	10**
	7**

	25
	Belt #6 to Storage Pile
	<20*
	<20*

	26
	Triple Deck Screen to Belt #7
	10**
	7**

	27
	Triple Deck Screen to Belt #8
	10**
	7**

	28
	Belt #7 to Nonmetallic Mineral Processing Plant No. 2’s hopper/crusher
	15**
	12**

	29
	Belt #7 to Bin 
	<20*
	<20%

	30
	Belt #8 to Nonmetallic Mineral Processing Plant No. 2’s hopper/crusher
	15**
	12**

	31
	Belt #8 to Bin
	<20*
	<20*

	32
	Front-end Loader to Nonmetallic Mineral Processing Plant No. 2’s hopper
	15**
	12**

	33
	Nonmetallic Mineral Processing Plant No. 2’s crusher
	15**
	12**

	34
	Nonmetallic Mineral Processing Plant No. 2’s crusher to Belt #9
	15**
	12**


	*  Rule 62-296.320(4)(b), F.A.C.      **  40 CFR 60.672(b)	
	1  For crushers and affected pieces of equipment (e.g., screens) that commenced construction, modification or reconstruction after 8/31/1983, but before 4/22/2008.
	2 For crushers and affected pieces of equipment (e.g., screens) that commenced construction, modification or reconstruction on or after 4/22/2008.
	Permitting Notes: Emission Point Nos. 12, 20, 22, 25, 29, and 31 do not require regular scheduled VE compliance testing, since the applicable visible emission limitation is a facility-wide limitation and there is no applicable allowable mass emission limitation.  Emission Point Nos. 17 and 18 are at the same location and require only one VE test when both activities are occurring.  Emission Point Nos. 29, 30, 32, and 33 are at the same location and require only one VE test when all the associated activities are occurring.
	[Rules 62-210.200 (“Potential to Emit”) and 62-296.320(4)(b), F.A.C.; 40 CFR 60.672(b) and (c); Construction Permit 1010378-010-AC]






TESTING REQUIREMENTS

C.7.	Annual Compliance Tests:  During each calendar year (January 1st to December 31st), this emissions unit shall be tested to demonstrate compliance with the emissions standards for visible emissions (VE).  The permittee shall test:

	a.	Emission Point Nos. 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 21, 23, 24, 26, 27, 28, 30, 32, 33, and 34 for visible emissions annually during each calendar year (Jan 1 – Dec 31st).

	b.	If the daily average material crushing rate is more than 10% of when the most recent compliance test was conducted, new tests shall be conducted as required by Section 4., Appendix D, No. 1 at an actual material crushing rate that is no less than the daily average material crushing rate recorded.

	c.	If an emission point was not operating during the most recent compliance test, the emission point shall be tested within 15 days after resuming operation.

	Tests shall be conducted in accordance with the applicable requirements specified in Appendix D (Common Testing Requirements) of this permit.  
	[Rule 62-297.310(8)(a), F.A.C.]

C.8.	Visible Emission Testing Requirements:  The permittee shall notify the Compliance Authority in writing at least 15 days prior to any required tests.  Tests shall be conducted in accordance with the applicable requirements specified 	in Appendix D (Common Testing Requirements) of this permit.  Visible emission testing shall also comply with the following:

	a.	The minimum distance between the observer and the emission source shall be 15 feet.
	
	b.	The observer shall, when possible, select a position that minimizes interference from other fugitive emission sources (e.g., road dust).  The required observer position relative to the sun (Method 9, Section 2.1) must be followed.

	c.	The duration of the Method 9 observations must be 30 minutes (five 6-minute averages). Compliance with Specific Condition C.6., must be based on the average of the five 6-minute averages.

	d.	As an alternative to the Method 9 requirement to conduct visible emission observations of only one emission point at a time, a single visible emission observer may conduct visible emission observations for up to three fugitive, stack, or vent emission points within a 15-second interval if the following conditions are met:

	1.	No more than three emission points may be read concurrently.
	2.	All three emission points must be within a 70 degree viewing sector or angle in front of the observer such that the proper sun position can be maintained for all three points.
 3.	If an opacity reading for any one of the three emission points equals or exceeds the applicable standard, then the observer must stop taking readings for the other two points and continue reading just that single point.

	f.	Visible emissions from Emission Point Nos. 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 29, and 31 are expected to be the highest when Nonmetallic Mineral Processing Plant No. 1’s crusher is operating as an initial (primary) crusher.  If the emission points are tested when Nonmetallic Mineral Processing Plant No. 1 is not operating and Nonmetallic Mineral Processing Plant No. 2’s crusher is operating as a primary crusher, new tests shall be conducted when Nonmetallic Mineral Processing Plant No. 1’s crusher operates as an initial (primary) crusher in accordance with Section 4, Appendix D, No. 1.

	g.	Visible emissions from Emission Point Nos. 28, 30, 32, 33, and 34 are expected to be the highest when Nonmetallic Mineral Processing Plant No. 2’s crusher is operating as an initial (primary) crusher (receiving material from front-end loader and not serving as a secondary crusher for Nonmetallic Mineral Processing Plant No. 1).  If the emission points are tested when Nonmetallic Mineral Processing Plant No. 2’s crusher is serving as a secondary crusher for Nonmetallic Mineral Processing Plant No. 1, new tests shall be conducted when Nonmetallic Mineral Processing Plant No. 2’s crusher operates as an initial (primary) crusher in accordance with Section 4, Appendix D, No. 1.
	[Rules 62-297.310(9), F.A.C.; 40 CFR 60.675 (c) and (e)(2)]

C.9.	Test Method:  Required test shall be performed in accordance with the following reference method.

	Method
	Description of Method and Comments

	9
	Visual Determination of the Opacity of Emissions from Stationary Sources



	The above method(s) are described in Appendix A of 40 CFR 60 and are adopted by reference in Rule 62-204.800, F.A.C.  No other method(s) may be used unless prior written approval is received from the Department.
	[Rules 62-204.800, F.A.C.; 40 CFR 60, Appendix A-4]

MONITORING REQUIREMENTS

C.10.	Monitoring Requirements:  If any affected piece(s) of equipment of the processing plant (i.e., crusher, screen or conveyor belt) was constructed, modified, or began reconstruction on or after April 22, 2008, a monthly inspection must be performed to check that water is flowing to discharge spray nozzles of the wet suppression system. The owner or operator must initiate corrective action within 24 hours and complete corrective action as expediently as practical if water is not flowing properly during the inspection.
	[40 CFR 60, 60.674(b)]

RECORDS AND REPORTS

C.12.	Test Reports:  The permittee shall prepare and submit to the Compliance Authority reports for all required tests in accordance with the requirements specified in Appendix D (Common Testing Requirements) of this permit.  The test reports shall include the following:

	a.	Facility name;

	b.	Facility ID No. and Emission Unit No. (e.g., 1010378 and E.U. No. 004);

	c.	date each affected piece of equipment of the crushing system commenced construction, modification or reconstruction;

	d.	type of material processed;

	e.	actual material crushing rate during the test period (tons/hour) as determined from the amount of transferred from front-end loaders to the initial crusher ; and

	f.	a copy of the monthly log as required by Specific Condition No. C.13 for the month the test was conducted.

	g.	For Emission Point Nos. 28, 30, 32, 33, and 34, the test reports shall include a statement indicating if the tests were conducted when Nonmetallic Mineral Processing Plant No. 2’s crusher was operating as an initial (primary) crusher or as a secondary crusher for Nonmetallic Mineral Processing Plant No. 1.
	
	[Rules 62-4.070(3) and 62-297.310(10), F.A.C.]

C.13.	Operational Data:  In order to document compliance with Specific Condition Nos. C.2. and Section 4., Appendix D, No. 1., the permittee shall record the following:

	Daily:
	a.	facility name, facility ID No., emission unit ID No., and date (month/day/year)

	b.	hours of (initially) crushing material in Nonmetallic Mineral Processing Plant No. 1;

	c.	hours of (initially) crushing material in Nonmetallic Mineral Processing Plant No. 2;

	d.	amount of material (initially) crushed in Nonmetallic Mineral Processing Plant No. 1 as determined from material transferred from front-end loaders to the crusher.

	e.	amount of material (initially) crushed in Nonmetallic Mineral Processing Plant No. 2 as determined from material transferred from front-end loaders to the crusher.

	f.	daily average crushing rate based on b. and d. above in tons/hr. for Nonmetallic Mineral Processing Plant No. 1.  If the daily average crushing rate is more than 10% above the crushing rate at which the most recent test was conducted, a new test shall be conducted at a crushing rate no less than that rate recorded in accordance with Section 4, Appendix D, No. 1. {Permitting Note: see Specific Condition No. C.8.f.)};

	g.	daily average crushing rate based on c. and e. above in tons/hr. for Nonmetallic Mineral Processing Plant No. 2.  If the daily average crushing rate is more than 10% above the crushing rate at which the most recent test was conducted, a new test shall be conducted at a crushing rate no less than that rate recorded in accordance with Section 4, Appendix D, No. 1. {Permitting Note: see Specific Condition No. C.8.g.)};

	Monthly:

	h.	facility name, facility ID No., and emission unit ID No. and date (month/day/year);

	i.	total amount of material (initially) crushed in Nonmetallic Mineral Processing Plant No. 1 in tons;

	j.	total amount of material (initially) crushed in Nonmetallic Mineral Processing Plant No. 2 in tons;

	k.	most recent consecutive 12-month total amount of material (initially) crushed in Nonmetallic Mineral Processing Plant No. 1 in tons (tons/consecutive 12-month period);

	l.	most recent consecutive 12-month total amount of material (initially) crushed in Nonmetallic Mineral Processing Plant No. 2 in tons (tons/consecutive 12-month period); and 
	
	m.	most recent consecutive 12-month total hours of operation of Nonmetallic Mineral Processing Plant Nos. 1 and 2 when material was initially crushed.

	Daily records shall be completed within five (5) business days and monthly records shall be completed by the end of the following month.
	[Rule 62-4.070(3), F.A.C.]

C.14.	Monitoring Records:  If any affected piece(s) of equipment of the processing plant was constructed, modified, or began reconstruction on or after April 22, 2008, the owner or operator must record each inspection of the water spray nozzles, including the date of each inspection and any corrective actions taken. (see also Specific Condition C. 10.)
	[40 CFR 60.674(b)]
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