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Project: Air Curtain Incinerator, 2


Nonmetallic Mineral Crushing/Processing


Plants & 2 Diesel Fired Engines

This permit is issued under the provisions of Chapter 403, Florida Statutes, and Florida Administrative Code Chapters 62-204, 62-210, 62-212, 62-213, 62-296, 62-297, and Chapter 62-4.  The permit replaces operating permit 1010378-004-AO, regarding an air curtain incinerator.  This permit is also the initial operating permit for 2 Nonmetallic Mineral Crushing/Processing Plants and 2 Diesel Fired Engines, which were constructed on permit 1010378-005-AC.  This permit contains minor administrative changes to permits 1010378-004-AO and 1010378-005-AC, which are described below:

       -
Condition No. 35 of permit 1010378-004-AO, regarding the recordkeeping requirements of 40 CFR 60.7(b) were deleted, since they are not applicable to the air curtain incinerator pursuant to 40 CFR 60.2020(i).
       -
Condition No. 28 of permit 1010378-004-AO, regarding the air curtain incinerators testing and test report due dates were changed to incorporate the requirements of 40 CFR 60.2255(c) and 60.2260(d).  See Condition No. A.25. of this permit.
       -
Added a clarifying note to Condition A.2. of permit 1010378-005-AC that the 10% opacity limitation was stricter than the general visible emission standard of <20% opacity. See Condition No. B.2. of this permit.
       -
The recordkeeping requirements of 40 CFR 60.7(b) were added to the 2 nonmetallic mineral crushing/processing plants.  See Condition No. B.12. of this permit.
The above named permittee is hereby authorized to perform the work or operate the facility shown on the application and approved drawing(s), plans, and other documents, attached hereto or on file with the department and made a part hereof and specifically described as follows:

This permit authorizes the operation of an air curtain incinerator, 2 nonmetallic mineral crushing/processing plants, and 2 diesel fired engines at a synthetic non-Title V facility.  The facility is a synthetic non-Title V facility, since the permittee has requested to limit the hours of operation of the 2 diesel engines, which synthetically limits both engines total combined Nitrogen Oxides emissions below the Title V permitting threshold of 100 tons/year.  The incinerator is also subject to the requirements of 40 CFR 60, Subpart CCCC and Rules 62-204.800(8) and 62-296.401(7), F.A.C.  The incinerator will also become subject to:

       -
Rule 62-296.401(2)(h), F.A.C., which is currently in the rulemaking process, when it is promulgated.

       -
The changes to Rule 62-296.401(7), F.A.C., which is currently in the rulemaking process, when it is promulgated.

The 2 nonmetallic mineral crushing/processing plants are subject to 40 CFR 60, Subpart OOO – Standards of Performance for Nonmetallic Mineral Processing Plants, which is adopted and incorporated by reference in Rule 62-204.800(8)(b)64., F.A.C.  The 2 diesel fired engines are subject to the General Visible Emissions Standard of Rule 62-296.320(4)(b), F.A.C.

Permitted Emission Units

Emission Unit ID No. 001 -  Air Curtain Incinerator

For the operation of an Air Curtain Destructor (incinerator), Model CP2000T, manufactured by the Concepts Products Corporation.  The maximum material charging rate is 10 tons/hr. (daily average) and a maximum limit on the hours of charging is 3,120 hours per any consecutive 12 month period.  The incinerator's burning pit is not refractory lined and is 20 ft. long x 12 ft. wide maximum x 8 - 12 ft. deep.  The manifold is a minimum of 20 feet long with a blower fan powered by a 33 HP engine fired with diesel fuel oil (design <1.3 gal./hr.).  Emissions are controlled by forced air at a very high static pressure over and around the burning pit.

Emission Unit ID No. 002 – Steadman Rock Crushing/Processing Plant

This emission unit consists of a Steadman Machine Company, Model No. 4260H, Grand Slam Material Crushing/Processing Plant that processes nonmetallic minerals (materials) such as reclaimed asphalt, gravel, and concrete.  The plant has a maximum design material production rate of 300 tons/hour.  Material is transferred as follows, depending on the equipment configuration:

1.
Material received from trucks is dumped on the ground and stored in outdoor storage piles.

2.
Emission Point No. 1:


A.
Material from the outdoor storage piles is transferred by front-end loader to a vibrating Grizzly Feeder, or


B.
Material from the Pegson Rock Crushing/Processing Plant's No. 1 conveyor is transferred to a vibrating Grizzly Feeder, or


C.
Material from the Pegson Rock Crushing/Procesing Plant's rotating screener is transferred to a vibrating Grizzly Feeder.

3.
Emission Point No. 1, top of crusher: From the bottom of the Grizzly Feeder the material is transferred directly (dropped) into the top of a crusher.

4.
Emission Point No. 2: From the bottom of the crusher the material drops onto Conveyor Belt No. 1.

5.
Emission Point No. 3: Conveyor Belt No. 1 transfers the material to outdoor storage piles, to Conveyor Belt No. 2, or to a rotating screener.

6.
Emission Point No. 4: Conveyor Belt No. 2 transfers the material to outdoor storage piles or to a rotating screener.

7.
Emission Point No. 5: Material from the rotating screener is transferred to outdoor storage piles.

8.
Material from the outdoor storage piles is then transferred to trucks by a front-end loader.

A water spray dust suppression system located at the rotating screener is used as necessary to control unconfined particulate emissions.  Unpaved roads and outdoor storage piles are wetted, depending on weather conditions, to control unconfined particulate emissions.

This emission unit is subject to 40 CFR 60, Subpart OOO – Standards of Performance for Nonmetallic Mineral Processing Plants.

Emission Unit ID No. 003 – 600 HP Diesel Fired Engine

This emission unit consists of a 600 HP Caterpillar-Lima, Model No. 3412, engine used to generate up to 500 KW of power for the Steadman Rock Crushing/Processing Plant.  The engine is fired with new No. 2 diesel fuel oil having a maximum sulfur content of 0.5% by weight at a maximum design firing rate of 34.3 gallons/hour.  The engine is subject to the General Visible Emissions Standard of Rule 62-296.320(4)(b), F.A.C.

Emission Unit ID No. 004 – Pegson Rock Crushing/Processing Plant

This emission unit consists of a BL Pegson Company, Model No. 26x44, Crushing/Processing Plant that processes nonmetallic minerals (materials) such as reclaimed asphalt, gravel, and concrete.  The plant has a maximum design material production rate of 200 tons/hour.  Material is transferred as follows, depending on the equipment configuration:

1.
Material received from trucks is dumped on the ground and stored in outdoor storage piles.

2.
Emission Point No. 1: Material from the outdoor storage piles is transferred by front-end loader to a vibrating Grizzly Feeder.

3.
Emission Point No. 1, top of crusher: From the bottom of the Grizzly Feeder the material is transferred directly (dropped) into the top of a crusher.

4.
Emission Point No. 2: From the bottom of the crusher the material drops onto Conveyor Belt No. 1.

5.
Emission Point No. 3: Conveyor Belt No. 1 transfers the material to outdoor storage piles, Conveyor Belt No. 2, or to a rotating screener.  See Emission Unit No. 002, Emission Point No. 1, when Conveyor Belt No. 1 transfers material to the Steadman Rock Crushing/Processing Plant

6.
Emission Point No. 4: Conveyor Belt No. 2 transfers the material to outdoor storage piles or to a rotating screener.

7.
Emission Point No. 5: Material from the rotating screener is transferred to outdoor storage piles.  See Emission Unit No. 002, Emission Point No. 1, when the rotating screener transfers material to the Steadman Rock Crushing/Processing Plant.

8.
Material from the outdoor storage piles is then transferred to trucks by a front-end loader.

A water spray dust suppression system located at the rotating screener is used as necessary to control unconfined particulate emissions.  Unpaved roads and outdoor storage piles are wetted, depending on weather conditions, to control unconfined particulate emissions.

This emission unit is subject to 40 CFR 60, Subpart OOO – Standards of Performance for Nonmetallic Mineral Processing Plants.

Emission Unit ID No. 005 – 335 HP Diesel Fired Engine

This emission unit consists of a 335 HP Caterpillar Diesel Direct Drive, Model No. 3306, engine used to generate power for the Pegson Rock Crushing/Processing Plant.  The engine is fired with new No. 2 diesel fuel oil having a maximum sulfur content of 0.5% by weight at a maximum design firing rate of 16.7 gallons/hour.  The engine is subject to the General Visible Emissions Standard of Rule 62-296.320(4)(b), F.A.C.

Exempt Emission Source(s)

The incinerator's blower/fan/engine and a powerscreen for screening concrete & aggregate are considered exempt from permitting per Rule 62-4.040, F.A.C.

Facility Information Summary
Location: 14201 SR 54, Odessa

UTM Coordinates: 17-346.62 East
3119.96 North

Latitude: 28(11'53" North
Longitude: 82(34'42" West

Facility ID No.: 1010378

Emission Unit (EU) ID Nos.: 001 – Air Curtain Incinerator

  002 – Steadman Crushing/Processing Plant




     
  003 – 600 HP Diesel Fired Engine




     
  004 – Pegson Crushing/Processing Plant




     
  005 – 335 HP Diesel Fired Engine 

NOTE:  Please reference the Permit No., Facility ID, and Emission Unit ID in all correspondence, test report submittals, applications, etc.

Permit History

Replaces Permit Nos.: 1000378-005-AO & 1010378-004-AC

SPECIFIC CONDITIONS:
The following conditions apply facility-wide:

1.  General Conditions: A part of this permit is the attached 15 General Conditions.

[Rule 62-4.160, F.A.C.]

2.  Other Requirements: Issuance of this permit does not relieve the permittee from complying with the applicable emission limiting standards or other requirements of Chapters 62-204, 62-210, 62-212, 62-213, 62-296, and 62-297, F.A.C. or any other requirement under federal, state, or local law.  [Rule 62-210.300, F.A.C.]

3.  Operating Changes/Modifications: The permittee shall notify the Air Permitting Section of this office prior to implementing any physical changes or changes in the method operation, which would result in an increase of actual emissions for proper processing.  [Definition of a "Modification" in Rule 62-210.200, F.A.C.]

4.  Objectionable Odor: The permittee shall not cause, suffer, allow, or permit the discharge of air pollutants from this facility, which cause or contribute to an objectionable odor.  Objectionable odor is defined as "Any odor present in the outdoor atmosphere which by itself or in combination with other odors, is or may be harmful or injurious to human health or welfare, which unreasonably interferes with the comfortable use and enjoyment of life or property, or which creates a nuisance."  [Rules 62-210.200 (Objectionable Odor) and 62-296.320(2), F.A.C.; 1010378-005-AC]

5.  General Visible Emissions Standard: No person shall cause, let, permit, suffer or allow to be discharged into the atmosphere the emissions of air pollutants from any activity, the density of which is equal to or greater than that designated as Number 1 on the Ringelmann Chart (20 percent opacity).  [Rule 62-296.320(4(b)1., F.A.C.; 1010378-005-AC]

6.  Reasonable Precautions: No person shall cause, let, permit, suffer or allow the emissions of unconfined particulate matter from any activity, including vehicular movement; transportation of materials; construction, alteration, demolition or wrecking; or industrially related activities such as loading, unloading, storing or handling; without taking reasonable precautions to prevent such emissions.  Reasonable precautions include watering the facility grounds (e.g., roadways and aggregate piles) as necessary.  [Rule 62-296.320(4)(c), F.A.C.; 1010378-005-AC]

7.  Visible Emissions – Reasonable Precautions: In order to provide reasonable assurance the precautions and practices to control unconfined particulate emissions from the non-process emission sources at this facility are adequate, visible emissions shall not exceed 10% opacity.  If this value is exceeded, it will not be considered a violation in and of itself, but an indication additional control measures and/or practices may be necessary.  [Rule 62-4.070(3), F.A.C.]

8.  Special Compliance Tests: When the Department, after investigation, has good reason (such as complaints, increased visible emissions or questionable maintenance of control equipment) to believe that any applicable emission standard contained in a Department rule or in a permit issued pursuant to those rules is being violated, it may require the owner or operator of the emissions unit to conduct compliance tests which identify the nature and quantity of pollutants emissions from the emissions unit and to provide a report on the results of said tests to the Department.  [Rule 62-297.310(7)(b), F.A.C.]

9.  Test Notification: The owner or operator shall notify the Air Compliance Section of this office, at least 15 days prior to any the date on which each formal compliance test is to begin, of the date, time, and place of each such test, and the test contact person who will be responsible for coordinating and having such test conducted for the owner or operator.  [Rule 62-297.310(7)(a)9., F.A.C.]

10.  Visible Emission Test Report Submittal: The required visible emission test reports shall be filed with the Air Compliance Section of this office as soon as practical, but no later than 45 days after the last sampling run of each test is completed.  [Rule 62-297.310(8)(b), F.A.C.]

11.  Records/Logs Retention: Any records/logs required by this permit shall be maintained at the facility for a minimum of the most recent 5 year period and made available to the Department upon request.  [Rule 62-4.070(3), F.A.C.]

12.  Annual Operating Report: Submit to the Air Compliance Section of this office each calendar year on or before March 1, a completed DEP Form 62-210.900(5), "Annual Operating Report for Air Pollutant Emitting Facility," for the preceding calendar year.  [Rule 62-210.370(3)(a)2., F.A.C.]

13.  Excess Emissions:  The permittee shall comply with the following:

A.
Excess emissions resulting from startup, shutdown, or malfunction of any emissions unit shall be permitted providing (1) best operational practices to minimize emissions are adhered to and (2) the duration of excess emissions shall be minimized but in no cases exceed two hours in any 24 hour period unless specifically authorized by the Department for longer duration.

B.
Excess emissions which are caused entirely or in part by poor maintenance, poor operation, or any other equipment or process failure which may reasonably be prevented during startup, shutdown, or malfunction shall be prohibited.

C.
In the case of excess emissions resulting from malfunctions, each owner or operator shall notify the Air Compliance Section of this office in accordance with Rule 62-4.130, F.A.C. A full written report on the malfunctions shall be submitted in a quarterly report, if requested by the Department.


Permitting Note: The limitations in Specific Condition Nos. 13.A., 13.B., and 13.C. cannot vary any requirement of an emission unit subject to the New Source Performance Standards of 40 CFR 60.

[Rules 62-210.700(1), (4), and (6), F.A.C.] 

14.  Operating Permit Renewal Application Submittal:  An air pollution operating permit renewal application for these emission units shall be submitted to the Air Permitting Section of this office at least 60 days prior to the expiration date of this permit.  Be sure to include with the application the following:

A.
The correct application fee.

B.
A copy of one recent month of records/logs required by this permit.  The requirement includes the most recent sulfur analysis of the new No. 2 diesel fuel oil for the 2 diesel fired engines.

C.
Copies of the most recent visible emission test reports required by this permit, if not previously submitted.

D.
Copies of any newly issued training certificates for the previous 12 months for Emission Unit No. 001.

E.
A detailed description of how the most recent "default charging rate " was determined as required in Specific Condition No. A.3., along with a copy of the documentation/records of the determination, the bucket (rake) identification, and the type or types of wood material weighed in the determination for Emission Unit No. 001.

[Rules 62-297.310(7)(a)3., 62-4.090, and 62-4.070(3), F.A.C.]

The following conditions apply to Emission Unit ID No. 001:
Specific Regulatory Conditions and Requirements

A.1.  This incinerator is subject to the requirements of 40 CFR 60, Subpart CCCC, Standards of Performance for Commercial and Industrial Solid Waste Incineration Units for Which Construction Is Commenced After November 30, 1999 or for Which Modification or Reconstruction Is Commenced on or After June 1, 2001.  [Rule 62-204.800(8)(b)74., F.A.C.]

{Permitting Note: The following conditions/terms noted in "italics" are, as of the effective date of this permit, currently undergoing the rulemaking process to Rule 62-296.401, F.A.C., to incorporate the U.S. EPA already-in-effect requirements of 40 CFR 60, Subpart CCCC.  40 CFR 60, Subpart CCCC, is adopted and incorporated by reference in Rule 62-204.800(8)(b)74. , F.A.C.  Since the rule making process may result in minor changes to those conditions/terms, the Department may be required to change the conditions/terms at a later date.}

A.2.  The unit shall comply with all standards, limitations, and requirements of 40 CFR Part 60, to which it is subject, and with the requirements in Rules 62-296.401(7)(a)1.-18. and 62-296.401(2)(h), F.A.C., to the extent that those requirements are stricter than, or supplemental to, the requirements of 40 CFR Part 60 Subpart AAAA, BBBB, CCCC, or DDDD.  [Rules 62-296.401(2)(h) and 62-296.401(7)(a), F.A.C.]

{Permitting Note: The conditions for this emission unit include the requirements referenced in the underlined portion of Specific Condition No. A.2. above.}
Specific Operating and Emission Limitations

A.3.  The maximum charging rate to the incinerator shall not exceed 10 tons/hr. (daily average basis) and 31,200 tons per any consecutive 12-month period.  The charging rate going into the pit shall be determined by the following procedure: The loader used to charge the pit shall weigh 5 buckets (rakes) at a representative maximum capacity and representative material to be charged into the burn pit.  This average, along with the number of charges, shall then be used to determine the hourly process rate.  In addition, the loader bucket (rake) that will be used to charge the pit shall be designated as the only one used in charging the pit.  If a different or alternate sized loader is used, or if requested by the Department, a new average shall be determined and noted in the facility's records/logs.  [Rules 62-212.300, 62-296.401(7)(a)10., and 62-4.070(3), F.A.C.; 1010378-001-AC]

A.4. The operating (charging) hours of this incinerator shall not exceed 3,120 hours per any consecutive 12-month period.  [1010378-001-AC]

A.5.  Outside of startup procedures, visible emissions shall not exceed 10% opacity.  Until the preceding rule is promulgated the permittee shall also comply with the current State's rule, Rule 62-296.401(7)(a), F.A.C.  This rule states, "Outside of startup periods, no visible emission (5 percent opacity or less) shall be allowed, except that an opacity of up to 20* percent shall be permitted for not more than three minutes in any one hour."

      *
Please note that in order to comply with the existing state opacity standard for stationary air curtain incinerators found in Rule 62-296.401(7)(a), F.A.C., and the new federal New Source Performance Standard (NSPS) found in 40 CFR 60, Subpart CCCC, adopted and incorporated by reference in Rule 62-204.800(8)(b)74., F.A.C., the operator must ensure that, outside of the first 30 minutes of daily operation, the opacity does not exceed 5%, except that an opacity of up to 10% is allowed for up to 3 minutes each hour.  When this opacity condition is met, both DEP Method 9 and EPA Method 9 (see Specific Condition Nos. 30 & 31) will show compliance with both the federal NSPS and the state opacity standard.

[Rule 62-296.401(7)(a)1., F.A.C.]

A.6.  During startup periods, which shall not exceed the first 30 minutes of operation, an opacity of up to 35%, averaged over a six-minute period, shall be allowed.  [Rule 62-296.401(7)(a)2., F.A.C.]

A.7.  The general excess emissions rule, Rule 62-210.700, F.A.C., to handle start-ups, shutdowns, and malfunctions, shall not apply to air curtain incinerators.  [Rule 62-296.401(7)(a)3., F.A.C.]

A.8.  The following dimensions for the pit must be strictly adhered to: no more than 12 feet wide, between 8 and 15 feet deep, and no longer than the length of the manifold.  Pit width, length, and side walls shall be properly maintained so that combustion of the waste within the pit will be maintained at an adequate temperature and with sufficient air recirculation to provide enough residence time for mixing for complete combustion and control of emissions.  The pit shall not be dug within a previously active portion of a landfill.  [Rule 62-296.401(7)(a)4., F.A.C.]

A.9.  The only materials that shall be burned in an air curtain incinerator are wood waste, yard waste, and clean lumber.  [Rules 62-296.401(2)(h)3. and 62-296.401(7)(a)5., F.A.C.]

A.10.  The burning of sawdust, paper, paper, trash, tires, garbage, rubber material, plastics, liquid wastes, Bunker C residual oil, roofing materials, tar, asphalt, railroad cross ties or other creosoted lumber, chemically treated or painted wood, and other similar materials in any air curtain incinerator is expressly prohibited.  [Rules 62-296.401(2)(h)3. and 62-296.401(7)(a)6., F.A.C.]

A.11.  Only virgin oil, natural gas, or liquefied petroleum gas may be used to start the fire in an air curtain incinerator.  The use of waste oil, chemicals, gasoline, or tires is expressly prohibited.  [Rule 62-296.401(7)(a)7., F.A.C.]

A.12.  Biological waste shall not be combusted in an air curtain incinerator.  [Rule 62-296.401(2)(h), F.A.C.]

A.13.  In no case shall an air curtain incinerator be started before sunrise.  For all air curtain incinerators, charging* must have completely stopped before sunset.  [Rule 62-296.401(7)(a)8., F.A.C.]

     *
Note, until Rule 62-296.401(7)(a)8., F.A.C., in Specific Condition No. A.13 is promulgated, the permittee shall comply with the current State's rule, Rule 62-296.401(7)(h), F.A.C.  This rule states, "For air curtain incinerators that are not refractory lined, charging must have completely stopped two hours before sunset.

A.14.  An air curtain incinerator shall be attended at all times while materials are being burned.  During such times as the air curtain incinerator is not in operation, public access to the incinerator shall be restricted.  [Rule 62-296.401(7)(a)9., F.A.C.]

A.15.  Stationary air curtain incinerators must be located at least three hundred (300) feet from any occupied building located off site.  [Rule 296.401(7)(a)11., F.A.C.]

A.16.  Air curtain incinerators used at landfills may not operated within one thousand (1000) feet of any active portion of the landfill unless the air curtain incinerator is separated from the active portion of the landfill by a controlled gated or check-in station.  [Rule 62-296.401(7)(a)12., F.A.C.]

A.17.  The material shall not be loaded into the air curtain incinerator such that it will protrude above the air curtain.  [Rule 62-296.401(7)(a)13., F.A.C.]

A.18.  Ash shall not be allowed to build up in the pit of an air curtain incinerator to higher than 1/3 the pit depth or to the point where the ash begins to impede combustion, which occurs first.    [Rule 62-296.401(7)(a)14., F.A.C.]

A.19.  The pit shall be marked with an indicator to show the 1/3 depth.  [Rule 62-4.070(3), F.A.C.]

A.20.  The detailed operation and maintenance (O&M) guide received by the Department on February 28, 2001, shall be used and must be available to the operators of an air curtain incinerator at all times, and the permittee shall provide training to all operators before they work at the incinerator.   [Rule 62-296.401(7)(a)15., F.A.C.]

A.21.  Each trained operator shall receive a certificate demonstrating that the operator has successfully passed the training required by the operation and maintenance guide.  During the tenure of the operator, a copy of this certificate shall be kept on file at the facility and be made available to the Department upon request.  [Rule 62-4.070(3), F.A.C.]

A.22.  All reasonable precautions shall be taken to prevent and control generation of unconfined emissions of particulate matter from this emission unit. These provisions are applicable to any source, including, but not limited to vehicular movement, transportation of materials, construction, alteration, demolition or wrecking, or industrial related activities such as loading, unloading, storing and handling.  Reasonable precautions shall include the following:

       -
Ash removed from the pit shall be wetted with water, prior to removal, and as necessary.

       -
Ash removed from the pit shall be wetted with water, as necessary, to ensure the ash does not become airborne or begin to smolder.

       -
Reasonable care shall be taken in loading and unloading the pit.

[Rule 62-296.320(4)(c), F.A.C.; 1010378-001-AC]

A.23.  In order to ensure the visible emission limitations are not exceeded and objectionable odors are not generated, the air curtain incinerator's fan shall continue to operate after the last charge of each day until all combustion has ceased.  For purposes of this condition, "combustion" means the presence of any flames or smoke that causes a visible emission greater than 5% opacity.  [Rules 62-210.200(278) - Definition of Visible Emission and 62-4.070(3), F.A.C.]

Recordkeeping Requuirement

A.24.  A daily operating log shall be kept and at a minimum contain the following:

A. 
Date

B.
Type of starter fuel used.

C.
Total number charges.

D.
Default charging rate and identification of the rake used as determined by Specific Condition No. A.3.

E. 
Total material (in tons) charged.

F. 
Daily operating (charging) hours, which includes the start of initial combustion to the time of the last charge to the incinerator (Start and Stop Times shall be indicated).

G. 
Daily, calculate the hourly charging rate (tons/hr.).

H.
Monthly, provide the most recent consecutive 12 month period total of operating (charging) hours. 

I.
Monthly, provide the most recent consecutive 12 month period total for the amount of material charged in tons.

J. 
Type of Maintenance Performed

K. 
Comments

L. 
Operator's signature

The log shall be maintained at the facility for at least 5 years and shall be made available to the Department upon request.  [Rule 62-4.070(3), F.A.C.]

Testing Requirements

A.25.  Test the air curtain incinerator for visible emissions annually (no more than 12 calendar months following the date of your previous test).  Submit a copy of the test report to the Air Compliance Section of this office within 45 days of testing and within 12 months following the submittal of the previous test report.   All submitted compliance test reports shall include a copy of the daily log for each test day along with the actual charging rate, description of materials burned, and starter fuel used during the test period. Annual opacity test results shall be submitted as electronic or paper copy on or before the applicable submittal date.  [Rules 62-296.401(2)(h)4. & 7., 62-297.310(7) and 62-297.310(8)(b), F.A.C.; 40 CFR 60.2255(c) & 40 CFR 60.2260(d)]
A.26.  Testing of emissions must be conducted within 90-100% of the maximum allowable charging rate* of 10 tons/hr.  A compliance test submitted at a rate less than 90% of the maximum permitted charging rate will automatically constitute an amended permitted charging rate at that lesser rate, plus 10%.  Within 30 days of that lower amended permitted charging rate being exceeded, a new compliance test shall be conducted at no less than that higher rate and no greater than 10 tons/hr. The test results shall be submitted to the Air Compliance Section of this office within 45 days of testing.  Acceptance of the test by the Department will automatically constitute an amended permit at the higher charging tested rate, plus 10%, but in no case shall the maximum permitted charging rate of 10 tons/hr. be exceeded.  The emission limitations shall not change.

     *
Charging rate is defined as 1) the amount of material placed in the incinerator during the period starting with the initial loading and ending 60 minutes after initial combustion, for the first 60 minute period after initial combustion and 2) the amount of material placed in the incinerator for any 60-minute period thereafter.

[Rules 62-4.070(3) and 62-297.310(2), F.A.C.]

A.27.  The reference test method for visible emissions shall be EPA Method 9, as described in 40 CFR  Part 60, Appendix A, adopted and incorporated by reference at Rule 62-204.800, F.A.C.  [Rule 62-296.401(7)(a)16., F.A.C.]
A.28.  Test procedures shall conform to the procedures specified in Rule 62-297.310, F.A.C.

[Rule 62-296.401(7)(a)17., F.A.C.]

A.29.  The visible emission test shall be conducted when the highest emissions can reasonably be expected to occur.  The visible emission test report shall include the actual charging rate, description of materials burned, starter fuel used, and a copy of the daily operating log for the test day.  The EPA Method No. 9 test interval on this source shall be at least 60 minutes and meet all the applicable requirements of Chapter 62-297, F.A.C.  The visible emission test shall begin upon initial combustion and include the first 60* minutes of the burn (30 minutes start-up and 30 minutes normal operation).  In order to determine compliance and maximize the conditions for conducting a valid visible emission test, the Department reserves the right to require the air curtain incinerator to be repositioned, for example, with the incinerator's long axis in a north to south direction.  [Rules 62-296.401(7)(o), 62-297.310(4)(a)2. and 62-4.070(3), F.A.C.]

   *
Note, until Rule 62-296.401(7)(a)16., F.A.C., in Specific Condition No. A.27 is promulgated, the permittee shall also comply with the current State's rule, Rule 62-296.401(7)(o)1., F.A.C.  This rule states, "The test method for visible emissions shall be DEP Method 9, incorporated in Chapter 62-297, F.A.C."  In order to comply with the State's current rule, the visible emission test shall begin upon initial combustion and include the first 90 minutes of the burn (30 minutes start-up and 60 minutes normal operation).

A.30.  Records of the results of all opacity tests shall be kept onsite in either paper copy or electronic format, for at least 5 years.  These records shall be made available to the permitting authority or for an inspector's onsite review upon request.  [Rule 62-296.401(2)(h)6., F.A.C.]
Other Requirements

A.31.  Nothing in this rule (Rule 62-296.401(7)(a), F.A.C.), shall relieve the owner or operator from any requirement for obtaining authorization to use an air curtain incinerator, when necessary, from the Division of Forestry, or any local fire control authority.  [Rule 62-296.401(7)(a)18., F.A.C.]

A.32.  The exempt from permitting "diesel powered fan" shall not cause visible emissions equal to or greater than 20% opacity, in accordance with the facility-wide visible emission limitation of Rule 62-296.320(4)(b), F.A.C.  Permitting Note: This rule does not require testing annually or prior to permit renewal.  [Rule 62-296.320(4)(b), F.A.C.]

A.33.   Each time the incinerator is re-positioned to a different area of the site, the permittee shall notify the Air Compliance Section of this office in writing of the date the incinerator was moved within 5 calendar days of that date.  The notice shall include a sketch/diagram of the new location.  [Rule 62-4.070(3), F.A.C.]

Solid Waste Requirements and Limitations:

A.34.  The permittee shall comply with the following Solid Waste requirements:


Wood Waste Management Requirements.

1.
The owner or operator of this yard trash facility is not required to obtain a separate Solid Waste Management Facility permit pursuant to Rule 62-701.320(14), F.A.C., during the time that this Air Curtain Incinerator permit is in effect.  In the event that this Air Curtain Incinerator permit expires or is suspended, revoked or otherwise invalidated, the owner or operator shall obtain the appropriate permit pursuant to Chapter 62-701, F.A.C., for continued operation as a disposal facility or, if applicable, a Yard Trash Processing Facility registration pursuant to Rule 62-709.320, F.A.C., for the continued operation of the facility as a yard trash transfer station or yard trash recycling facility.

2.
Solid waste storage requirements.

(a)
The facility shall have the operational features and equipment necessary to maintain a clean and orderly solid waste storage operation, including:

1.
An effective barrier to prevent unauthorized entry and dumping into the facility site;

2.
Dust control methods; and

3.
Fire protection and control provisions to deal with accidental burning of solid waste, including:

a.
There shall be an all-weather access road, at least 20 feet wide, all around the perimeter of the site;

b.
There shall be interior lanes at least 15 feet wide; and

c.
No part of the solid waste storage area shall be more than 50 feet from access by motorized fire fighting equipment.

(b)
The facility shall be operated in a manner to control disease vectors, and to control objectionable odors in accordance with Rule 62-296.320(2), F.A.C.

(c)
Any wood waste received at the facility shall be incinerated or removed within 6 months, or within the period required to receive 3,000 tons or 12,000 cubic yards, which ever is greatest.  However, logs with a diameter of 6 inches or greater may be stored for up to 12 months before they are removed, provided the logs are separated and stored apart from other materials on site 

(d)
In order to verify that the storage limits in (c) above are not being exceeded, monthly records of incoming and outgoing material shall be kept on site or at another location approved by the Department for at least three years.  The values may be in cubic yards or tonnage, but the same unit of measurement shall be used to record both incoming and outgoing material.

(e)
Any solid waste received at the facility, which is not authorized by this permit to be incinerated shall be containerized, with all putrescible material removed within 48 hours.  Further, if any of the following materials are discovered, they shall be immediately containerized and removed from the facility: treated or untreated biomedical waste; hazardous waste; or any materials containing a polychlorinated biphenyl (PCB) concentration of 50 parts per million or greater.

(f)
The Prohibitions of Rule 62-701.300, F.A.C., shall not be violated by the activities at this site:


      [Rule 62-709.320, F.A.C.]




Rule 62-701.300, F.A.C. - Prohibitions.

(1)
General prohibition.

(a)
No person shall store, process, or dispose of solid waste except at a permitted solid waste management facility or a facility exempt from permitting under this chapter.

(b) No person shall store, process, or dispose of solid waste in a manner or location that causes air quality standards to be violated or water quality standards or criteria of receiving waters to be violated.

(2)
Siting. Unless authorized by a Department permit or site certification in effect on May 27, 2001, or unless specifically authorized by another Department rule or a Department permit or site certification based upon site-specific geological, design, or operational features, no solid waste shall be stored or disposed of by being placed:

(a) In an area where geological formations or other subsurface features will not provide support for the solid waste;
(b)
Within 500 feet of an existing or approved potable water well unless storage or disposal takes place at a facility for which a complete permit application was filed or which was originally permitted before the potable water well was in existence. This prohibition shall not apply to any renewal of an existing permit that does not involve lateral expansion, nor to any vertical expansion at a permitted facility;

(c)
In a dewatered pit unless the pit is lined and permanent leachate containment and special design techniques are used to ensure the integrity of the liner;

(d) In an area subject to frequent and periodic flooding unless flood protection measures are in place;

(e)
In any natural or artificial body of water including ground water;

(f)
Within 200 feet of any natural or artificial body of water unless storage or disposal takes place at a facility for which a complete permit application was filed or which was originally permitted before the water body was in existence. For purposes of this paragraph, a “body of water” includes wetlands within the jurisdiction of the Department, but does not include impoundments or conveyances which are part of an on-site, permitted stormwater management system, or bodies of water contained completely within the property boundaries of the disposal site which do not discharge from the site to surface waters. A person may store or dispose of solid waste within the 200 foot setback area upon demonstration to the Department that permanent leachate control methods will result in compliance with water quality standards and criteria. However, nothing contained herein shall prohibit the Department from imposing conditions necessary to assure that solid waste stored or disposed of within the 200 foot setback area will not cause pollution from the site in contravention of Department rules.

(g)
On the right of way of any public highway, road, or alley; and

(h)
Within 1000 feet of an existing or approved potable water well serving a community water supply as defined in Rule 62-550.200(12), F.A.C., unless storage or disposal takes place at a facility for which a complete permit application was filed or which was originally permitted before the water well was in existence. It is the intent of the Department that this provision shall be repealed on the effective date of any rule promulgated by the Department which regulates wellhead protection areas generally. This prohibition shall not apply to any renewal of an existing permit that does not involve lateral expansion, nor to any vertical expansion at a permitted facility.

(3)
Burning. Open burning of solid waste is prohibited except in accordance with Chapter 62-256, F.A.C. Controlled burning of solid waste is prohibited except in a permitted incinerator, or in a facility in which the burning of solid waste is authorized by a site certification order issued under Chapter 403, Part II, F.S.

(4)
Hazardous waste. No hazardous waste shall be disposed of in a solid waste management facility unless such facility is permitted pursuant to Chapter 62-730, F.A.C.

(5)
PCBs. Disposal of liquids containing a polychlorinated biphenyl (PCB), or non-liquid PCBs in the form of contaminated soil, rags, or other debris, may be restricted or prohibited by 40 CFR Part 761. Persons managing PCBs are advised to consult that federal regulation before attempting to dispose of PCBs in any solid waste disposal unit in this state.

(6)
Biomedical waste.

(a)
No biomedical waste shall be knowingly deposited in any solid waste management facility unless:

1.
The solid waste facility is specifically permitted to receive untreated biomedical waste;

2.
The biomedical waste has been properly incinerated so that little or no organic material remains in the ash residue, or treated by a process approved by the Department of Health, and the provisions in Rule 62-701.520(5)(c), F.A.C., are complied with; or

3.
The biomedical waste is generated by an individual as a result of self-care, or care by a family member or other non health care provider.  However, in order to reduce the chance of exposure to the public, home generators are advised to segregate and package such waste before disposal according to the guidelines for disposal of home-generated biomedical waste available from each county health department.

(b)
No solid waste, including treated biomedical waste, shall be commingled with untreated biomedical waste unless the solid waste is being managed in the same manner as the untreated biomedical waste.

(c)
Treated or untreated biomedical waste shall not be allowed to leak into the environment during transport.

(7)
Class I surface waters. The Department shall not issue a construction permit for a landfill within 3,000 feet of Class I surface waters.

(8)
Special wastes for landfills. No person who knows or who should know of the nature of such solid waste shall dispose of the following wastes in any landfill:

(a)
Lead-acid batteries;

(b)
Used oil, except as provided in Chapter 62-710, F.A.C.;

(c)
Yard trash, except in unlined landfills classified by Department rule;

(d)
White goods;

(e)
Whole waste tires, except as provided in Chapter 62-711, F.A.C.

(9)
Special wastes for waste-to-energy facilities. No person who knows or who should know of the nature of such solid waste shall dispose of lead-acid batteries, mercury-containing devices, or spent mercury-containing lamps in any waste-to-energy facility.

(10)
Liquids restrictions.

(a)
Noncontainerized liquid waste shall not be placed in solid waste disposal units which accept household waste or construction and demolition debris for disposal unless:

1.
The waste is household waste other than septic waste; or

2.
The waste is leachate or gas condensate derived from the solid waste disposal unit, or byproducts of the treatment of such leachate or gas condensate, and the solid waste disposal unit is lined and has a leachate collection system.

(b)
Containers holding liquid waste shall not be placed in a solid waste disposal unit unless:

1.
The container is a small container similar in size to that normally found in household waste;

2.
The container is designed to hold liquids for use other than storage; or

3.
The waste is household waste.

(c)
Containers or tanks twenty gallons or larger in capacity shall either have one end removed or cut open, or have a series of punctures around the bottom to ensure the container is empty and free of residue. The empty container or tank shall be compacted to its smallest practical volume for disposal.

(11)(a) Except as provided in paragraph (b) of this subsection, no person may mix or commingle used oil with solid waste that is to be disposed of in landfills or directly dispose of used oil in landfills.

(b)
Oily wastes, sorbents or other materials used for maintenance or to clean up or contain leaks, spills or accidental releases of used oil, and soils contaminated with used oil as a result of spills or accidental releases are not subject to the prohibition in paragraph (a) of this subsection.

(12)
Yard trash. The prohibitions in paragraphs (2)(b), (f), and (h) of this section apply to the storage, processing, or disposal of yard trash, except that the following setback distances shall apply:

(a)
100 feet from off-site potable water wells, no setback required from on-site water wells;

(b)
50 feet from water bodies; and

(c)
200 feet from wells serving community water supplies.

(13)
Tanks. The prohibitions in subsection (2) of this section do not apply to the storage or treatment of solid waste in tanks which meet the criteria of Chapter 62-761 or Rule 62-701.400(6), F.A.C. Instead, no such storage tank shall be installed within 500 feet of any existing community water supply system or any existing non-transient non-community water supply system, nor shall any tank be installed within 100 feet of any other existing potable water supply well.

(14)
Indoor storage. The prohibitions in subsection (2) of this section do not apply to the storage or processing of solid waste indoors, provided that the indoor storage area has an impervious surface and a leachate collection system. For the purposes of this subsection, an impervious surface means either a poured concrete pad having a minimum thickness of four inches, or an asphalt concrete paving with both a minimum thickness of one and one-half inches and with an additional component to restrict leaching to ground water such as a soil cement sub-base, an epoxy seal or a geomembrane.

(15)
Storage in vehicles. The prohibitions in subsection (2) of this section do not apply to the storage of solid waste in an enclosed or covered vehicle, provided that such vehicle has either been unloaded or moved over public highways within the previous seven days.

(16)  Existing facilities. Those portions of facilities which were constructed prior to May 27, 2001, remain subject to the prohibitions that were in effect at the time the permit authorizing construction was issued. Lateral expansions of such facilities remain subject to the prohibitions that were in effect at the time the permit authorizing the lateral expansion was issued. For example, portions of facilities constructed prior to May 19, 1994 were subject to the prohibition against storing or disposing of solid waste within 500 feet of an existing or approved shallow water supply well, but are not subject to the prohibitions of paragraphs (2)(b) and (h) of this section. However, lateral expansions of such facilities, which occurred after May 19, 1994, are subject to the prohibitions of paragraphs (2)(b) and (h) of this section.


Ash Management Requirements.

1.
Ash from the air curtain incinerator may be used as a soil amendment or incorporated into mulch or compost products.  If the ash is disposed of rather than beneficially used, such disposal shall be in accordance with the requirements of Chapter 62-701, F.A.C.

The following conditions apply to Emission Unit ID Nos. 002 and 004:

B.1.  Operation Limitations:  The nonmetallic mineral crushing/processing plants are limited as follows:

	Emission Unit No.
	Max. Operating Hours per any consecutive 12 month period
	Max. Hourly Production Rate based on a daily average
	Max. Production in tons per any consecutive 12 month period

	002
	3,120
	300
	936,000

	004
	3,120
	200
	624,000


[Rule 62-210.200 (PTE), F.A.C.; 1010378-005-AC]
B.2.  Visible Emissions Limitations:  The nonmetallic mineral crushing/processing plants are limited as follows:

	E.U. ID No.
	Emission Point No.
	Brief Description
	Max.VE Limit

(% Opacity)

	002
	1
	Material from outdoor storage piles or the Pegson Rock Crushing /Processing Plant's Conveyor No. 1 or rotating screener to the vibrating Grizzly Feeder
	15*

	002
	
	Bottom of Feeder to top of Crusher
	

	002
	2
	Bottom of Crusher to Conveyor Belt No. 1
	15

	002
	3
	Conveyor Belt No. 1 to outdoor storage piles**, Conveyor Belt No. 2, or a Rotating Screener
	10

	002
	4
	Conveyor Belt No. 2 to outdoor storage piles** or a Rotating Screener
	10

	002
	5
	Rotating Screener to outdoor storage piles**
	10

	004
	1


	Storage Piles to vibrating Grizzly Feeder
	15*

	004
	
	Bottom of Feeder to top of Crusher
	

	004
	2
	Bottom of Crusher to Conveyor Belt No. 1
	15

	004
	3
	Conveyor Belt No. 1 to outdoor storage piles**, Conveyor Belt No. 2, or to a rotating screener.
	10



	004
	4
	Conveyor Belt No. 2 to outdoor storage piles** or to a rotating screener
	10

	004
	5
	Rotating Screener to outdoor storage piles**
	10



*   Since the top of the Crusher partially vents up through the Feeder, per 40 CFR 60.675(e)(1)(i), this emission point is limited to a maximum of 15% opacity.

            **   The 10% opacity limitation is stricter than the General Visible Emission limitation of Rule 62-296.320(4)(b), F.A.C.  Also see definition of a "transfer point" in 40 CFR 60.671.

[40 CFR 60.672(b) and (c); 1010378-005-AC]

B.3.  Reasonable Precautions:  No person shall cause, let, permit, suffer or allow the emissions of unconfined particulate matter from any activity, including vehicular movement; transportation of materials; construction, alteration, demolition or wrecking; or industrially related activities such as loading, unloading, storing or handling; without taking reasonable precautions to prevent such emissions.  At a minimum, the following reasonable precautions shall be taken by the permittee:

A.
The permittee shall operate, as necessary, a water spray dust suppression system at each nonmetallic mineral crushing/processing plant's rotating screener.

B.
Drop heights of material transfers shall be minimized at each nonmetallic mineral crushing/processing plant.
 [Rule 62-296.320(4)(c), F.A.C.; 1010378-005-AC]

B.4.  Operating Conditions: Operations during periods of startup, shutdown, and malfunction shall not constitute representative conditions for the purpose of a performance test nor shall emissions in excess of the level of the applicable emission limit during periods of startup, shutdown, and malfunction be considered a violation of the applicable emission limit unless otherwise specified in the applicable standard.  [40 CFR 60.8(c)]

B.5.  Excess Emissions: The opacity standards set forth in this part shall apply at all times except during periods of startup, shutdown, and malfunction, and as otherwise provided in the applicable subpart.  [40 CFR 60.11(c)]

B.6.  Proper Operation: At all times, including periods of startup, shutdown, and malfunction, owners and operators shall, to the extend practicable, maintain and operate any affected facility including associated air pollution control equipment in a manner consistent with good air pollution control practice for minimizing emissions.  Determination of whether acceptable operating and maintenance procedures are being used will be based on information available to the Department, which may include, but is not limited to, monitoring results, opacity observations, review of operating and maintenance procedures, and inspection of the source.

[40 CFR 60.11(d)]

B.7.  Circumvention: No owner or operator subject to the provisions of this part shall build, erect, install, or use any article, machine, equipment or process, the use of which conceals an emission, which would otherwise constitute a violation of an applicable standard.  Such concealment includes, but is not limited to, the use of gaseous diluents to achieve compliance with an opacity standard or with a standard which is based on the concentration of a pollutant in the gases discharged to the atmosphere.  [40 CFR 60.12]

B.8.  Testing Frequency: The emission points at these emission units shall each be tested for visible emissions during each federal fiscal year (October 1 – September 30) thereafter.

[Rule 62-297.310(7)(a)1., F.A.C.]

B.9.  Test Method – Visible Emissions: Compliance with the visible emission limitations shall be determined using EPA Method 9 contained in 40 CFR 60, Appendix A, and adopted by reference in Rule 62-204.800(8), F.A.C.  The test(s) shall be conducted for at least 30 minutes in duration and shall include the period during which the highest opacity emissions can reasonably be expected to occur.  [40 CFR 60.11 and Rule 62-297.310(4)(a)2., F.A.C.]

B.10.  Testing Requirement-Production Rate: Testing of visible emissions shall be conducted within 90 – 100% of the associated maximum production rate for that nonmetallic mineral crushing/processing plant, if feasible.  Testing of the rotating screeners shall be conducted without the water spray bar dust suppression system operating unless otherwise directed by the Department.  A compliance test submitted at a production rate less than 90% of the permitted maximum production rate will automatically constitute an amended permit at the lesser rate plus 10% (110% of the lesser test rate) until another test, showing compliance at no less than that higher rate is submitted.  Once the unit is so limited, any time the permitted production rate (limited by the most recent emissions test) of the source is exceeded, a new compliance test shall be performed within 30 days of initiation of the higher rate and the test results shall be filed with the Air Compliance Section of this office within 45 days of testing.  Acceptance of the test by the Department will constitute an amended permit at the higher rate plus 10%, but no to exceed the associated maximum permitted production rate.  The test report shall include:

A.
The actual production rate (in tons/hour) during each visible emission test period.

B.
A copy of the daily logs/records required below.

Failure to submit the actual the actual production rate during the test period and a copy of the daily logs/records for the test day in the test report may invalidate the test(s) and fail to provide reasonable assurance of compliance.  [Rules 62-297.310(2) and 62-4.070(3), F.A.C.]
B.11.  Recordkeeping Requirements:  The permittee shall maintain the following logs/records in order to document compliance with Specific Condition Nos. B.1 and B.3.A. of this permit:

DAILY

A.
Facility ID No. (1010378) and Emission Unit ID No. (three digit number, e.g. - 002)

B.
Date (month/day/year).

C.
Operating Hours.

D.
Tons of material produced.

E.
Daily average hourly production rate in tons/hour.

F.
Operation of the water spray dust suppression system, YES or NO.

MONTHLY

G.
Facility ID No. (1010378) and Emission Unit ID No. (three-digit number, e.g. - 002)

H.
Month/Year

I.
Most recent consecutive 12 month period total hours of operation.

J.
Most recent consecutive 12 month period total tons of material produced.

Daily logs shall be completed by the end of the 3rd business day and monthly records shall be completed within 15 days of the end of the month.  [Rule 62-4.070(3), F.A.C.]

B.12.  The permittee shall maintain records of the occurrence and duration of any startup, shutdown, or malfunction in the operation of an affected facility.  [Rule 62-204.800(8), F.A.C. and 40 CFR 60.7(b)]

The following conditions apply to Emission Unit ID Nos. 003 and 005:
C.1.  Operation Limitations: The 2 engines are limited as follows:

	Emission Unit No.
	Fuel Oil Type
	Max. Sulfur 

Content by 

Weight
	Max. Operating Hours per any consecutive 12 month period
	Max. fuel oil usage in gallons per any consecutive 12 month period

	003
	New No. 2 Diesel
	0.5%
	3,120
	106,704

	005
	New No. 2 Diesel
	0.5%
	3,120
	52,104


[Rule 62-210.200 (PTE), F.A.C. and requested by permittee in the application dated July 2, 2003, in order to synthetically limit NOx emissions below Title V permitting threshold.; 1010378-005-AC]

C.2.  Recordkeeping Requirements:  The permittee shall maintain the following logs/records to document compliance with Specific Condition No. C.1.:

A.
A record for each shipment of new No. 2 diesel fuel oil documenting it meets the sulfur content limitation of 0.5% sulfur, by weight, as determined by ASTM methods: ASTM D4057-88 and ASTM D129-91, ASTM D2622-94, or ASTM D4294-90, adopted and incorporated by reference in Subsection 62-297.440(1), F.A.C.

B.
Daily the hours of operation of each engine.

C.
Monthly, the most recent consecutive 12 month period total hours of operation for each engine.

D.
Monthly, the most recent consecutive 12 month period total fuel oil usage in gallons for each engine.

Each log/record shall contain the Facility ID No. (1010378) and Emission Unit ID No. (three-digit number, e.g. – 003).  Daily logs/records shall have the date (month/day/ year) and monthly logs/records shall have the month/year.  Daily logs shall be completed by the end of the 3rd business day and monthly records shall be completed within 15 days of the end of the month.  [Rule 62-4.070(3), F.A.C.]
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