PERMITTEE:





FINAL PERMIT No.: 1010327-006-AO

Coastal Landfill Disposal of Florida, L.L.C.

PROJECT: Air Curtain Incinerator


PRIVATE 

PERMITTEE:

Final Permit No.: 1010327-006-AO
Coastal Landfill Disposal of Florida, LLC

County: Pasco
4719 South Cobb Drive

Effective Date:    04/29/2008
Smyrna, Georgia 30080

Expiration Date: 04/21/2013


Project: Air Curtain Incinerator

This permit is issued under the provisions of Chapter 403, Florida Statutes (F.S.), and Florida Administrative Code (F.A.C.) Chapters 62-4, 62-204, 62-210, 62-212, 62-213, 62-296, and 62-297.  The above named permittee is hereby authorized to perform the work or operate the facility shown on the application and approved drawing(s), plans, and other documents, attached hereto or on file with the department and made a part hereof and specifically described as follows:

Permitted Emission Unit

Emission Unit ID No. 001 - Air Curtain Incinerator

This permit authorizes the operation of a synthetic non-Title V Finn Corporation, Model TJF-40, air curtain incinerator.  The Finn Corporation Model TJF-40 air curtain incinerator was re-constructed on permit 1010327-004-AC.  Note, the construction permit was issued to replace the Finn Corporation incinerator with a Whitton Industries, Inc. incinerator, but the Whitton Industries, Inc. incinerator did not operate satisfactorily.  Therefore, the Finn Corporation air curtain incinerator was re-constructed with the operating parameters established in construction permit 1010327-004-AC.

Particulate matter emissions are synthetically below the Title V permitting thresholds in Chapter 62-213, F.A.C., since the permittee has requested a maximum material charging limitation of 25 tons/hr. (daily average) and a maximum limit on the hours of charging of 1,960 hours per any consecutive 12 month period.  The incinerator has earthen pit walls, which are not refractory lined.  The pit's dimensions are 27' 8" long x 12' wide (max.) x 8' – 15' deep.  The manifold will also be a minimum of 27' 8" long with a blower fan powered by an engine fired with virgin No. 2 fuel oil with a maximum sulfur content of 0.5% by weight.  Emissions from the incinerator are controlled by forced air at a very high static pressure over and around the burning pit, which has vertical walls.
The incinerator is subject to the requirements of Title 40, Code of Federal Regulations, Part 60, Subpart CCCC – Commercial and Industrial Solid Waste Incinerator Units for Which Construction is Commenced After November 30, 1999 or for Which Modification or Reconstruction is Commenced On or After June 21, 2001, and Rules 62-204.800(8) and 62-296.401(7), F.A.C.
Exempt Emission Source(s)

Air is supplied to the air curtain incinerator by a diesel-powered fan is considered exempt from permitting per Rule 62-4.040, F.A.C.  Additionally, the diesel-powered fan does not meet the applicability requirements of Title 40, Code of Federal Regulations, Part 60, Subpart IIII – Standards of Performance for Stationary Compression Ignition Internal Combustion Engines, which is adopted by reference in Rule 62-204.800(8), F.A.C.
Facility Information Summary
Location: 11416 Houston Avenue, Hudson
UTM Coordinates: 17-340.95 East 
3142.89 North
Latitude: 28(24'10"
Longitude: 82(37'25"
Facility ID No.: 1010327
Emission Unit (EU) ID No.: 001 – Air Curtain Incinerator

NOTE:  Please reference the Permit No., Facility ID, and Emission Unit ID in all correspondence, test report submittals, applications, etc.

Permit History

Replaces Operating Permit No. 1010327-005-AO
Attachments to this Permit:

General Conditions, version dated 11/1/2005

SPECIFIC CONDITIONS:
Facility-Wide Conditions

1.  A part of this permit is the attached 15 General Conditions.

[Rule 62-4.160, F.A.C.]

2.  Issuance of this permit does not relieve the permittee from complying with applicable emission limiting standards or other requirements of Chapters 62-204, 62-210, 62-212, 62-213, 62-296, and 62-297, F.A.C. or any other requirements under federal, state, or local law.

[Rule 62-210.300, F.A.C.]

3.  General Visible Emission Limitation: Except for the air curtain incinerator, the facility shall not have visible emissions equal to or greater than 20% opacity, in accordance with the facility-wide visible emission limitation of Rule 62-296.320(4)(b), F.A.C.  Permitting Note: This rule does not require testing annually or prior to permit renewal.

[Rule 62-296.320(4)(b), F.A.C.]

4.  Objectionable Odor Requirements: This facility shall not cause, suffer, allow or permit the discharge of air pollutants, which cause or contribute to an objectionable odor.  An objectionable odor is defined in Rule 62-210.200, F.A.C., as any odor present in the outdoor atmosphere, which by itself or in combination with other odors, is or may be harmful or injurious to human health or welfare, which unreasonably interferes with the comfortable use and enjoyment of life or property, or which creates a nuisance.

[Rules 62-210.200 (Definition of Objectionable Odor) and 62-296.320(2), F.A.C.]
5.  Special Testing Requirements: When the Department, after investigation, has good reason (such as complaints, increased visible emissions or questionable maintenance of control equipment) to believe that any applicable emission standard contained in a Department rule or in a permit issued pursuant to those rules is being violated, it may require the owner or operator of the emissions unit to conduct compliance tests which identify the nature and quantity of pollutant emissions from the emissions unit and to provide a report on the results of said tests to the Department.

[Rule 62-297.310(7)(b), F.A.C.]

6.  Annual Operating Report Requirement: Submit to the Air Compliance Section of the Department's Southwest District Office each calendar year on or before March 1, completed DEP Form 62-210.900(5), "Annual Operating Report for Air Pollutant Emitting Facility," for the preceding calendar year.  The report may be submitted electronically in accordance with the instructions received with the annual operating report package sent by the Department, or a hardcopy may be submitted.

[Rule 62-210.370(3)(a)2., F.A.C.]

7.  Operating Permit Renewal Requirement: An application for an operating permit renewal shall be submitted to the Air Permitting Section of the Department's Southwest District Office at least 60 days prior to the expiration date of this permit.  To properly apply for an operation permit, the applicant shall submit the following:

A.
The most recent month of records as required by Specific Condition No. A.19.

B.
A copy of the visible emission test reports as required by Specific Condition No. A.20.

C.
The appropriate Department application form [see Rule 62-210.900, F.A.C. (Forms and Instructions)];

D.
The appropriate operation permit application fee pursuant to Rule 62-4.050, F.A.C.;

Note, if the emission unit is not reactivated by April 21, 2013, renewal of this permit is not allowed pursuant to Rule 62-210.300(2)(a)3.c., F.A.C.

[Rules 62-4.050, 62-4.070(3), 62-210.300(2), 62-210.900 and 62-296.310(7)(a)1., F.A.C.]

Emission Unit No. 001 – Air Curtain Incinerator

Specific Regulatory Conditions and Requirements

A.1.  This incinerator is subject to the requirements of 40 CFR 60, Subpart CCCC – Standards of Performance for Commercial and Industrial Solid Waste Incineration Units for which Construction is Commenced after November 30, 1999 or for which Modification or Reconstruction is Commenced on or after June 1, 2001.
[Rule 62-204.800(8)(b)74., F.A.C.]
A.2.  Any air curtain incinerator subject to 40 CFR Part 60, Subpart AAAA, BBBB, CCCC, DDDD, or EEEE, adopted and incorporated by reference at Rule 62-204.800, F.A.C., shall be constructed and operated so as to comply with the standards, limitations, and requirements of the applicable subpart, and with the requirements Rule 62-296.401(7)(b), F.A.C., to the extent that those requirements are stricter than, or supplemental to, the requirements of the applicable subpart.
{Permitting Note: The conditions of this permit include the requirements referenced in the underlined portion of Specific Condition No. A.2. above.}

[Rule 62-296.401(7)(a)1., F.A.C.]

Specific Operating and Emission Limitations

A.3.  The maximum charging rate to the incinerator shall not exceed 25 tons/hr. (daily average basis) and 49,000 tons per any consecutive 12-month period.  The charging rate going into the pit shall be determined by the following procedure: The loader used to charge the pit shall weigh five (5) buckets (rakes) at a representative maximum capacity and representative material to be charged into the burn pit.  This average, together with the number of charges, shall then be used to determine the hourly process rate.  In addition, the loader bucket (rake) that will be used to charge the pit shall be designated as the only one used in charging the pit.  If a different or alternate sized loader is used a new average shall be determined and noted in the facility's records/logs.

[Rules 62-210.200 (Definition of Potential to Emit) and 62-4.070(3), F.A.C.; Construction permit 1010327-004-AC]

A.4.  The operating (charging) hours of this incinerator shall not exceed 1,960 hours per any consecutive 12-month period.

[Rule 62-210.200 (Definition of Potential to Emit), F.A.C.; Construction permit 1010327-004-AC]

A.5.  Outside of startup periods, visible emissions shall not exceed ten percent (10%) opacity, six (6) minute average.  During startup periods, which shall not exceed the first (30) minutes of operation, an opacity of up to 35%, averaged over a six (6) minute period, shall be allowed. The general excess emission rule, Rule 62-210.700, F.A.C., shall not apply.

[Rule 62-296.401(7)(b)1., F.A.C.]

A.6.  The earthen trench's pit walls (width and length) shall be vertical, and maintained as such, so that combustion of the waste within the pit is maintained at an adequate temperature and with sufficient air recirculation to provide enough residence time and mixing for proper combustion and control of emission.  The following dimensions for the pit must be strictly adhered to: no more than twelve feet (12') wide, between eight feet (8') and fifteen (15') feet deep, and no longer than the manifold.  If the pit is located at a landfill, the pit shall not be dug within a previously active portion of a landfill.

[Rule 62-296.401(7)(b)2., F.A.C.]

A.7.  Except as allowed by Rule 62-296.401(7)(b)4., F.A.C., the only materials that shall be burned in the air curtain incinerator are vegetative material and untreated wood, excluding sawdust.  The air curtain incinerator shall not be used to burn any biological waste, hazardous waste, asbestos-containing materials, mercury-containing devices, pharmaceuticals, tires, rubber material, residual oil, used oil asphalt, roofing material, tar, treated wood, plastics, garbage, trash or other material prohibited to be open burned as set forth in Rule 62-256.300(2), F.A.C.  Only kerosene, diesel fuel, drip-torch fuel (as used to ignite prescribed fires), untreated wood, virgin oil, natural gas, or liquefied petroleum gas shall be used to start the fire in the air curtain incinerator.  The use of used oil, chemicals, gasoline, or tires to start the fire is prohibited.

[Rule 62-296.401(7)(b)3., F.A.C.]

A.8.  Notwithstanding the provisions of Rule 62-296.401(7)(b)3., F.A.C., the air curtain incinerator may be used for the destruction of animal carcasses in accordance with the provisions of Rule 62-256.700(6), F.A.C.  When using an air curtain incinerator to burn animal carcasses, untreated wood may also be burned to maintain good combustion.

[Rule 62-296.401(7)(b)4., F.A.C.]

A.9.  In no case shall an air curtain incinerator be started before sunrise.  All charging shall end no later than one (1) hour after sunset.  After charging ceases, airflow shall be maintained until all material within the air curtain incinerator has been reduced to coals, and flames are no longer present.  A log shall be maintained onsite that documents daily beginning and ending times of charging (see recordkeeping requirements below).

[Rule 62-296.401(7)(b)5., F.A.C.]

A.10.  In order to ensure the visible emission limitations are not exceeded and objectionable odors are not generated, the air curtain incinerator's fan shall continue to operate after the last charge of each day until all combustion has ceased.  For purposes of this condition, "combustion" means the presence of any flames or smoke that causes a visible emission greater than five (5) % opacity.

[Rules 62-210.200 (Definition of Visible Emission) and 62-4.070(3), F.A.C.; Construction permit 1010327-004-AC]

A.11.  The air curtain incinerator shall be attended at all times while materials are being burned or flames are visible within the incinerator.

[Rule 62-296.401(7)(b)6., F.A.C.]

A.12.  The air curtain incinerator shall be located at least 50 feet from any wildlands, brush, combustible structure, or paved public roadway.

[Rule 296.401(7)(b)7., F.A.C.]

A.13.  The material shall not be loaded into the air curtain incinerator such that it protrudes above the air curtain.

[Rule 62-296.401(7)(b)8., F.A.C.]

A.14.  Ash shall not be allowed to build up in the pit of an air curtain incinerator to higher than 1/3 the pit depth or to the point where the ash begins to impede combustion, whichever occurs first.

[Rule 62-296.401(7)(b)9., F.A.C.]

A.15.  The pit shall be marked with a indicator to show the 1/3 depth.
[Rule 62-4.070(3), F.A.C.; Construction permit 1010327-004-AC]

A.16.  An operation and maintenance guide shall be available to the operators of an air curtain incinerator at all times, and the owner shall provide training to all operators before they work at the incinerator.  This guide shall be made available to the Department or for an inspector's onsite review upon request.

[Rule 62-296.401(7)(b)10., F.A.C.]

A.17.  Each trained operator shall receive a certificate demonstrating that the operator has successfully passed the training required by the operation and maintenance guide.  During the tenure of the operator, a copy of this certificate shall be kept on file at the facility and be made available to the Department upon request.

[Rule 62-4.070(3), F.A.C.; Construction permit 1010327-004-AC]

A.18.  All reasonable precautions shall be taken to prevent and control generation of unconfined emissions of particulate matter. These provisions are applicable to any source, including, but not limited to vehicular movement, transportation of materials, construction, alteration, demolition or wrecking, or industrial related activities such as loading, unloading, storing and handling.  Reasonable precautions shall include the following:

  -
Ash removed from the pit shall be wetted with water, prior to removal, and as necessary.

  -
Ash removed from the pit shall be wetted with water, as necessary, to ensure the ash does not become airborne or begin to smolder.

  -
Water shall be applied as necessary to the facility grounds.

  -
Reasonable care shall be taken in loading and unloading the pit.

 [Rule 62-296.320(4)(c), F.A.C.; Construction permit 1010327-004-AC]

Recordkeeping Requirements
A.19.  A daily operating log shall be kept and at a minimum contain the following:

A.
Date


B.
Type of starter fuel used;


C.
Total number charges;


D.
Default charging rate and identification of the rake used;


E.
Total material (in tons) charged;


F.
Daily operating (charging) hours, which includes the start of initial combustion to the time of the last charge to the incinerator (Start and Stop Times shall be indicated);


G.
Daily, calculate the hourly charging rate (tons/hr.);


H.
Monthly, provide the most recent consecutive 12-month period total of operating (charging) hours;


I.
Monthly, provide the most recent consecutive 12-month period total for the amount of material charged in tons;


J.
Type of Maintenance Performed;


K.
Comments


L.
Operator's signature.

The log shall be maintained at the facility for at least three (3) years and shall be made available to the Department upon request.  Daily logs shall be completed within 5 business days and monthly logs (H. and I., above) shall be completed by the end of the following month.
[Rules 62-4.070(3), 62-4.160(14), and 62-296.401(7)(b)5., F.A.C.; Construction permit 1010327-004-AC]

Testing Requirements
A.20.  Test the air curtain incinerator for visible emissions within 60 days of reactivation and annually thereafter during each federal fiscal year (October 1 to September 30).  Submit a copy of the test data to the Air Compliance Section of the Department's Southwest District Office within 45 days of such testing. All submitted compliance test reports shall include:


A.
A copy of the daily log for each test day along with the actual charging rate during the test period.


B.
A description of materials burned and starter fuel used during the test period.

The annual opacity test results shall be submitted as electronic or paper copy on or before the applicable submittal due date.

[Rules 62-210.300(2)(a)4., 62-296.401(7)(d)1., 62-297.310, and 62-4.070(3), F.A.C.]
A.21.  Any air curtain incinerator using an earthen trench shall have a performance test conducted for visible emissions no later than thirty (30) days after it commences operation at any new trench location, and annually thereafter.  However, if the air curtain incinerator will be operated for less than thirty (30) days at the new trench location, and the owner or operator has demonstrated compliance with the emissions limiting standards of paragraph 62-296.401(7)(b), F.A.C., through a visible emissions test conducted and submitted to the Department with the previous twelve (12) months, the requirement for testing within thirty (30) of commencing operation at the new trench location shall not apply.
[Rule 62-296.401(7)(d)2., F.A.C.]

A.22.  Charging Rate Requirements During Testing: Testing of emissions must be conducted within 90-100% of the permitted capacity.  The permitted capacity is considered to be the maximum allowable charging rate* of 25 tons/hr.  If it is impracticable to test at permitted capacity, an emission unit may be tested at less than the maximum permitted capacity; in this case, subsequent emission unit operation is limited to 110 percent of the test rate until a new test is conducted.  Once the unit is so limited, operation at higher capacities is allowed for no more than 15 consecutive days for the purpose of additional compliance testing to regain the authority to operate at the permitted capacity.  The test results shall be submitted to the Air Compliance Section of the Department's Southwest District Office within 45 days of testing.  Acceptance of the test by the Department will automatically constitute an amended permit at the higher charging tested rate, plus 10%, but in no case shall the maximum allowable charging rate of 25 tons/hr. be exceeded.  The emission limitations shall not change.

     *
Charging rate is defined as 1) the amount of material placed in the incinerator during the period starting with the initial loading and ending 60 minutes after initial combustion, for the first 60 minute period after initial combustion and 2) the amount of material placed in the incinerator for any 60-minute period thereafter.

[Rules 62-4.070(3) and 62-297.310(2), F.A.C.; Construction permit 1010327-004-AC]

A.23.  The reference test method for visible emissions shall be EPA Method 9, as described in 40 CFR Part 60, Appendix A, adopted and incorporated by reference at Rule 62-204.800, F.A.C.

[Rule 62-296.401(7)(c)1., F.A.C.]

A.24.  Test procedures shall conform to the procedures specified in Rule 62-297.310, F.A.C.  All test results shall be reported to the Air Compliance Section of the Department's Southwest District Office in accordance with the provisions of Rule 62-297.310, F.A.C.

[Rule 62-296.401(7)(c)2., F.A.C.]

A.25.  The visible emission test shall be conducted when the highest emissions can reasonably be expected to occur.  The visible emission test report shall include the charging rate, description of materials burned, starter fuel used, and a copy of the daily operating log for the test day.  The EPA Method No. 9 test interval on this source shall be at least 60 minutes and meet all the applicable requirements of Chapter 62-297, F.A.C.  The visible emission test shall begin upon initial combustion and include the first 60 minutes of the burn (30 minutes start-up and 30 minutes normal operation).  In order to determine compliance and maximize the conditions for conducting a valid visible emission test, the Department reserves the right to require the air curtain incinerator to be repositioned, for example, with the incinerator's long axis in a north to south direction.

[Rules 62-297.310(4)(a)2. and 62-4.070(3), F.A.C.]
A.25.  Records of the results of all annual visible emissions tests shall be kept by the owner or operator in either paper copy or electronic format for at least five (5) years.  These records shall be made available to the Department or for an inspector's onsite review upon request.

[Rule 62-296.401(7)(c)3., F.A.C.]

A.26.  The permittee shall notify the Air Compliance Section of the Department's Southwest District Office at least 15 days prior to the date on which each formal compliance test is to begin of the date, time and place of each such test, and the test contact person who will be responsible for coordinating and having such test conducted.

[Rule 62-297.310(7)(a)9., F.A.C.]

Other Requirements

A.27.  The permittee shall maintain records of the occurrence and duration of any startup, shutdown, or malfunction in the operation of an affected facility; or any malfunction of the air pollution control equipment.  The records shall be recorded in a permanent form suitable for inspection and shall be retained for at least 2 years.

[Rule 62-204.800(8), F.A.C. and 40 CFR 60.7(b) & (f)]

A.28.  The requirements of this permit shall not relieve the owner or operator from any requirement for obtaining authorization to use an air curtain incinerator, when necessary, from the Division of Forestry, or any local fire control authority.

[Rule 62-4.070(3), F.A.C.]

A.29.  Each time the incinerator is re-positioned to a difference area of the landfill, the permittee shall notify the Air Compliance Section of the Department's Southwest District Office in writing of the date the incinerator was moved within 5 calendar day of that date.  The notice shall include a sketch/diagram of the new location.
[Rule 62-4.070(3), F.A.C.]

A.30.  The exempt from permitting "diesel powered fan" shall not cause visible emissions equal to or greater than 20% opacity, in accordance with the facility-wide visible emission limitation of Rule 62-296.320(4)(b), F.A.C.  Permitting Note: This rule does not require testing annually or prior to permit renewal.

[Rule 62-296.320(4)(b), F.A.C.]
A.31.  As of the effective date of this permit, this emission unit has been shutdown since April 21, 2003.  Therefore, the expiration date of this permit is April 21, 2013.
[Rule 62-210.300(2)(a)3.c., F.A.C.]
Reactivation Requirements
A.32.  The permittee of this emission unit which has a valid air operation permit and has been shut down more than one (1) year, shall notify the Air Compliance Section of the Department’s Southwest District Office in writing of the air curtain incinerator’s intended reactivation (startup) a minimum of 60 days prior to the intended startup date.


A.
The notification shall include information as to the startup date, anticipated emission rates or pollutants released, changes to processes or control devices which will result in changes to emission rates, and any other conditions which may differ from the valid outstanding operation permit.

B.
If, due to an emergency, a startup date is not known 60 days prior thereto, the owner shall notify the Air Compliance Section of the Department’s Southwest District Office as soon as possible after the date of such startup is ascertained.


C.
The notification shall include a statement that the reactivation does not constitute any modification or reconstruction pursuant to Chapter 62-210, F.A.C. or any federal regulation adopted by reference at Rule 62-204.800, F.A.C.

[Rules 62-210.300(2)(a)4. and 62-210.300(5), F.A.C.]

A.33.  The permittee shall notify the Air Compliance Section of the Department’s Southwest District Office in writing of the air curtain incinerator’s actual reactivation date within 7 calendar days of that date.
[Rule 62-210.300(2)(a)4., F.A.C.]

A.34.   The permittee shall conduct a visible emission test of the air curtain incinerator within 60 days of reactivation.  Testing shall be in accordance with the methods, procedures, notification, and reporting requirements of Specific Condition Nos. A.20. through A.26. above.

[Rules 62-4.070(3) and 62-210.300(2)(a)4., F.A.C.]
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