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PROJECT

This is the final air operation Permit No. 0990333-007-AO, which authorizes the operation of Florida Gas Transmission Company,  a compressor field station (Standard Industrial Classification No. 4922).  This project is a renewal to the 
previous Permit No. 0990333-006-AO.  The facility is located on the east-side of the Florida Turnpike and on the north 
side of Belvedere Road within the city limits of West Palm Beach in Palm Beach County at 6789 Belvedere Road, West 
Palm Beach, Florida.  The UTM coordinates are Zone 17, 584.4 kilometers (km) East, and 2954.7 km North.  

This final permit is organized into the following sections:  Section 1 (General Information); Section 2 (Administrative Requirements); Section 3 (Emissions Unit Specific Conditions); and Section 4 (Appendices).  Because of the technical 
nature of the project, the permit contains numerous acronyms and abbreviations, which are defined in Appendix A
of Section 4 of this permit.
Permitting Authority:  Applications for air operation permits are subject to review in accordance with the provisions of Chapter 403, Florida Statutes (F.S.) and Chapters 62-4 and 62-210 of the Florida Administrative Code (F.A.C.).  The Permitting Authority responsible for making a permit determination for this project is the Florida Department of Health Palm Beach County (Health Department).  The Permitting Authority’s physical address is:  800 Clematis St., 4th Floor, West Palm Beach, Florida 33401.  The Permitting Authority’s mailing address is: 800 Clematis St., P.O. Box 29, West Palm Beach Florida 33402-0029.  The Permitting Authority’s telephone number is 561-837-5900.
Petitions.  A person whose substantial interests are affected by the proposed decision may petition for an administrative hearing in accordance with Sections 120.569 and 120.57, F.S.  The petition must contain the information set forth below and must be filed (received) in the Florida Department of Health Palm Beach County (Health Department) Legal Office of the, located at 800 Clematis Street in West Palm Beach, Florida, 33401 (Telephone: (561) 671-4000, Fax (561) 837-5195).  Petitions filed by the applicant or any of the parties listed below must be filed within 14 days of receipt of this notice.  Petitions filed by any other person must be filed within 14 days of receipt of this proposed action.  A petitioner must mail a copy of the petition to the applicant at the address indicated above, at the time of filing.  The failure of any person to file a petition within the appropriate time period shall constitute a waiver of that person’s right to request an administrative determination (hearing) under Sections 120.569 and 120.57, F.S., or to intervene in this proceeding and participate as a party to it.  Any subsequent intervention will be only at the approval of the presiding officer upon the filing of a motion in compliance with Rule 28-106.205, F.A.C.

A petition that disputes the material facts on which the Health Department’s action is based must contain the following information:  (a) The name and address of each agency affected and each agency’s file or identification number, if known; (b) The name, address, and telephone number of the petitioner; the name, address and telephone number of the petitioner’s representative, if any, which shall be the address for service purposes during the course of the proceeding; and

 an explanation of how the petitioner’s substantial interests will be affected by the agency determination; (c) A statement of how and when each petitioner received notice of the agency action or proposed action; (d) A statement of all disputed issues of material fact.  If there are none, the petition must so indicate; (e) A concise statement of the ultimate facts alleged, as well as the rules and statutes which entitle the petitioner to relief; (f) A statement of the specific rules or statutes the petitioner contends require reversal or modification of the agency’s proposed action; and, (g) A statement of the relief sought by the petitioner, stating precisely the action petitioner wishes the agency to take with respect to the agency’s proposed action.  
A petition that does not dispute the material facts upon which the permitting authority’s action is based shall state that no such facts are in dispute and otherwise shall contain the same information as set forth above, as required by Rule 28-106.301, F.A.C.
Because the administrative hearing process is designed to formulate final agency action, the filing of a petition means that the Health Department’s final action may be different from the position taken by it in this notice.  Persons whose substantial interests will be affected by any such final decision of the permitting authority on the application have the right to petition to become a party to the proceeding, in accordance with the requirements set forth above.

Mediation:  Mediation is not available in this proceeding.

Effective Date:  This permitting decision is final and effective on the date filed with the clerk of the Permitting Authority unless a petition is filed in accordance with the above paragraphs or unless a request for extension of time in which to file a petition is filed within the time specified for filing a petition pursuant to Rule 62-110.106, F.A.C., and the petition conforms to the content requirements of Rules 28-106.201 and 28-106.301, F.A.C.  Upon timely filing of a petition or a request for extension of time, this action will not be effective until further order of the Permitting Authority.

Judicial Review: Any party to this Order (Permit) has the right to seek judicial review pursuant to Section 120.68, F.S., by the filing of a Notice of Appeal pursuant to Rule 9.110, Florida Rules of Appellate Procedure with the Health Department at the address listed below and by filing a copy of the Notice of Appeal accompanied by the applicable filing fees with the appropriate District Court of Appeal.  The Notice of Appeal must be filed within 30 days from the date this Order (Permit) is filed with the Clerk of the Health Department.

	Executed in West Palm Beach, Florida

Florida department of health Palm Beach County 

______ ______________________________________

Laxmana Tallam., P.E., Environmental Administrator  

Air and Waste Section


Division of Environmental Public Health
	If you have any questions, contact:

Paul Kalamaras
Air & Solid Waste Section

Department of Health Palm Beach County

P.O. Box 29 (800 Clematis St.)

West Palm Beach, Florida, 33402-0029




CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

The undersigned duly designated deputy agency clerk hereby certifies that this Air Permit package was sent by electronic mail (with received receipt) requested before the close of business on the date indicated below to the following persons.

David W. Shellhouse, Vice President, Southeast Operations, FGT:  Dave.Shellhouse@sug.com
Janice Taylor, Environmental Engineer, FGT:  Janice.Taylor@sug.com
Diane Pupa, Florida Department of Environmental Protection, Southeast District Office: Diane.Pupa@dep.state.fl.us
FILING AND ACKNOWLEDGMENT FILED, on this date, pursuant to Section 120.52(7), F.S., with the designated agency Clerk, receipt of which is hereby acknowledged.  

_____________________________________________


________________________________




           (Clerk)






    (Date)

Permit History

08/21/2015:
Health Department received application for an operational permit revision (0990333-007-AO).

08/23/2015:
Health Department received sufficient fee


Facility Description
Compressor Station No. 21 is located in Palm Beach County. This compressor station provides natural gas transport capacity to the existing Florida gas pipeline system.  This facility has two 6500bhp natural gas-fired combustion turbines Model Centaur-Taurus T6502 (FGT 2101 and FGT 2102). Controls include dry, low NOX combustion which includes miscellaneous support equipment (EU003) on site.  The purpose of this compressor station in Palm Beach County is to support the transmission of natural gas in the pipeline by boosting the natural gas line pressure.

 The existing facility consists of the following emissions units (EU).
	Emissions

Unit No.
	Emissions Unit Description

	01
	Unit No. 2101 - Combustion turbine with compressor

	02
	Unit No. 2102 - Combustion turbine with compressor

	03
	Support equipment



APPLICABLE REGULATIONS 
 A summary of applicable regulations is shown in the following table.  
	Regulation

	Federal Rule Citations (if applicable)

	New Source Performance Standards 40 CFR 60 Subpart GG – Standards of Performance for Stationary Gas Turbines.  [EUs 001 & 002]

	National Emission Standards for Hazardous Air Pollutants 40 CFR Parts 61 and 63

	State Rule Citations

	Prevention of Significant Deterioration Rule 62-212.400, F.A.C

	New Source Review for Nonattainment Areas Rule 62-212.500, F.A.C.

	Federal Operating Permit Program Rule 62-213, F.A.C.



FACILITY REGULATORY CLASSIFICATION
· The facility is not a major source of hazardous air pollutants (HAP).
· The facility does not operate units subject to the acid rain provisions of the Clean Air Act (CAA).

· The facility is not a Title V major source of air pollution in accordance with Chapter 62-213, F.A.C.

· The facility is a synthetic minor source facility in accordance with Rule 62-212.400, F.A.C.

· The facility is not a major stationary source in accordance with Rule 62-212.400, F.A.C. for the Prevention of 
Significant Deterioration (PSD) of Air Quality.

· The facility is subject to the requirements of 40 CFR 61, Subpart M, Asbestos.
1. Permitting Authority:  The permitting authority for this project is the Florida Department of Health Palm Beach County (Health Department). The mailing address is at P.O. Box 29 (800 Clematis St), West Palm Beach, Florida 33402-0029, and telephone number (561) 837-5900.  [Specific Operating Agreement].  

2. Compliance Authority:  All documents related to compliance activities such as reports, tests, and notifications shall be submitted to the Air and Waste Section of the Florida Department of Health Palm Beach County (Health Department) at P.O. Box 29 (800 Clematis Street), West Palm Beach, Florida, 33402-0029, and telephone 
number (561) 837-5900. [Specific Operating Agreement].  

3. Appendices:  The following Appendices are attached as a part of this permit:  Appendix A (Citation Formats and Glossary of Common Terms); Appendix B (General Conditions); Appendix C (Common Conditions); Appendix D (Common Testing Requirements); Appendix GG (NSPS Subpart GG Requirements for Gas Turbines).
4.  Applicable Regulations, Forms and Application Procedures:  Unless otherwise specified in this permit, the construction and operation of the subject emissions units shall be in accordance with the capacities and specifications stated in the application.  The facility is subject to all applicable provisions of: Chapter 403, F.S.; and Chapters 62-4, 62-204, 62-210, 62-212, 62-213, 62-296 and 62-297, F.A.C.  Issuance of this permit does not relieve the permittee from compliance with any applicable federal, state, or local permitting or regulations.

5. New or Additional Conditions:  For good cause shown and after notice and an administrative hearing, if requested, the Department may require the permittee to conform to new or additional conditions.  The Department shall allow the permittee a reasonable time to conform to the new or additional conditions, and on application of the permittee, the Department may grant additional time.  [Rule 62-4.080, F.A.C.]
6. Modifications:  No new emissions unit shall be constructed and no existing emissions unit shall be modified without obtaining an air construction permit from the Department.  Such permit shall be obtained prior to beginning construction or modification.  [Rules 62-210.300(1) and 62-212.300(1)(a), F.A.C.]
7. County License Fee:  Pursuant to Sections 11-20(c) & 11-24(1) of the Palm Beach County Environmental Control Ordinance, the permittee shall obtain a county license every year

8. Source Obligation:

(a)
At such time that a particular source or modification becomes a major stationary source or major modification (as these terms were defined at the time the source obtained the enforceable limitation) solely by virtue of a relaxation in any enforceable limitation which was established after August 7, 1980, on the capacity of the source or modification otherwise to emit a pollutant, such as a restriction on hours of operation, then the requirements of subsections 62-212.400(4) through (12), F.A.C., shall apply to the source or modification as though construction had not yet commenced on the source or modification.

(b)
At such time that a particular source or modification becomes a major stationary source or major modification (as these terms were defined at the time the source obtained the enforceable limitation) solely by exceeding its projected actual emissions, then the requirements of subsections 62-212.400(4) through (12), F.A.C., shall apply to the source or modification as though construction had not yet commenced on the source or modification.
[Rule 62-212.400(12), F.A.C.]

9. Renewal.  Prior to 60 days before the expiration date of this permit, the permittee shall apply for a renewal of the permit.  A renewal application shall be timely and sufficient.  If the application is submitted prior to 60 days before expiration of the permit, it will be considered timely and sufficient.  If the renewal application is submitted at a later date, it will not be considered timely and sufficient unless it is submitted and made complete prior to the expiration of the operation permit.  When the application for renewal is timely and sufficient, the existing permit shall remain in effect until the renewal application has been finally acted upon by the Department.  [Rule 62-4.090, F.A.C.]
10. Annual Operating Report (AOR):  The annual operating report [DEP Form No. 62-210.900(5)] shall be submitted to the Health Department by April 1. If the report is submitted, using the DEP’s electronic annual operating report software (EAOR), there is no requirement to submit a hardcopy to DEP or the Health Department. [Rule 62-210.370(3)(c),F.A.C.].  

{Permitting Note:  Resources to help you complete your AOR are available on the electronic AOR (EAOR) website at:  http://www.dep.state.fl.us/air/emission/eaor.  If you have questions or need assistance after reviewing the information posted on the EAOR website, please contact the Department by phone at (850) 717-9000 or email at eaor@dep.state.fl.us.}
Emission Limiting and Performance Standards

11. General VOC Standards:  The permittee shall not store, pump, handle, process, load, unload or use in any process or installation, volatile organic compounds (VOC) or organic solvents without applying known and existing vapor emission control devices or systems. This includes: [Rule 62-296.320(1), F.A.C.]
(a) Regular inspection and maintenance of piping, valves, flanges, tanks, and containers used for storage and transfer of organic liquids and gases in order to minimize fugitive emissions.

(b) When not in use, directing solvent-containing materials to containers that prevent evaporation.

12.
Objectionable Odors: The permittee shall not cause, suffer, allow or permit the discharge of air pollutants which cause or contribute to an objectionable odor.  [Rule 62-296.320(2), F.A.C.]
Note:  An objectionable odor is defined as any odor present in the outdoor atmosphere which by itself or in combination with other odors, is or may be harmful or injurious to human health or welfare, which unreasonably interferes with the comfortable use and enjoyment of life or property, or which creates a nuisance.  [Rule 62-210.200(200), F.A.C.]
13.
General Visible Emissions Standard:  Unless otherwise specified by permit, the permittee shall not cause, let, permit, suffer or allow to be discharged into the atmosphere any air pollutants from new, or existing emissions units, the opacity of which is equal to or greater than 20 percent.  [Rule 62-296.320(4)(b), F.A.C.]
14.
Unconfined Emissions of Particulate Matter:  The permittee shall not cause, let, permit, suffer or allow the emissions of unconfined particulate matter from any activity, including vehicular movement; transportation of materials; construction, alteration, demolition or wrecking; or industrially related activities such as loading, unloading, storing or handling; without taking reasonable precautions to prevent such emissions. Reasonable precautions include the following: [Rule 62-296.320(4)(c), F.A.C.]
(a) Paving and maintenance of roads, parking areas and yards.

(b) Application of water or chemicals to control emissions from such activities as demolition of buildings, grading roads, construction, and land clearing.

(c) Application of asphalt, water, chemicals or other dust suppressants to unpaved roads, yards, open stock piles and similar activities.

(d) Removal of particulate matter from roads and other paved areas under the control of the permittee of the facility to prevent re-entrainment, and from buildings or work areas to prevent particulate from becoming airborne.

(e) Landscaping or planting of vegetation.

(f) Use of hoods, fans, filters, and similar equipment to contain, capture and/or vent particulate matter.

(g) Confining abrasive blasting where possible.

(h) Enclosure or covering of conveyor systems.

{Permitting note: Facilities that cause frequent, valid complaints will be required by the Health Department to take these or other reasonable precautions.  In determining what constitutes reasonable precautions for a particular facility, the Health Department shall consider the cost of the control technique or work practice, the environmental impacts of the technique or practice, and the degree of reduction of emissions expected from a particular technique or practice.}
Operation and Maintenance Requirements


15.
Changes/Modifications:  The permittee shall maintain all records and reports required by this permit for at least 3 years from the date the information is recorded to verify the facility’s status as a synthetic minor source under the PSD and Title V Operating Permit Programs.  [Rule 62-4.070(3), F.A.C.]

16.
Plant Operation - Problems:  If temporarily unable to comply with any of the conditions of the permit due to breakdown of equipment or destruction by hazard of fire, wind or by other cause, the permittee shall notify the Health Department as soon as possible, but at least within one working day, excluding weekends and holidays.  The notification shall include:  pertinent information as to the cause of the problem; the steps being taken to correct the problem and prevent future recurrence; and where applicable, the owner’s intent toward reconstruction of destroyed facilities.  Such notification does not release the permittee from any liability for failure to comply with the conditions of this permit and the regulations.  [Rule 62-4.130, F.A.C.]

17.
Circumvention:  Unless otherwise specified, the permittee shall not circumvent any air pollution control device, or allow the emission of air pollutants without the applicable air pollution control device operating properly. [Rule 62-210.650, F.A.C.]
18.
Excess Emissions:  Unless otherwise specified, excess emissions shall be regulated according to the following:  [Rule 62-210.700, F.A.C.]
(a) Excess emissions resulting from start-up, shutdown or malfunction of these emissions units shall be permitted providing (1) best operational practices to minimize emissions are adhered to and (2) the duration of excess emissions shall be minimized, but in no case exceed two hours in any 24 hour period unless specifically authorized by the Health Department for longer duration.  [Rule 62-210.700(1), F.A.C.]
(b) Excess emissions which are caused entirely or in part by poor maintenance, poor operation, or any other equipment or process failure which may reasonably be prevented during start-up, shutdown, or malfunction are prohibited.  [Rule 62-210.700(4), F.A.C.]

(c)
In case of excess emissions resulting from malfunctions, the permittee shall notify the Air & Waste Section  of the Palm Beach County Health Department within one working day of:  the nature, extent, and duration of the excess emissions; the cause of the problem; and the corrective actions being taken to prevent recurrence.  
[Rule 62-210.700(6), F.A.C.]

Compliance Monitoring Requirements
19.
Duration:  The permittee shall maintain all records and reports required by this permit for at least 3 years from the date the information is recorded to verify the facility’s status as a synthetic minor source under the PSD and Title V Operating Permit Programs.  [Rule 62-4.070(3), F.A.C.]
20.
Test Procedures: The permittee shall meet all applicable requirements of the Chapter 62-297, F.A.C.  See Appendix D of this permit for a summary of these requirements.  [Rule 62-297.100, F.A.C.]
21.
Operational Rate During Testing:  Unless otherwise stated in the applicable emission limiting standard for a rule, testing of emissions shall be conducted with the emissions unit operating at permitted capacity.  Permitted capacity is defined as 90 to 100 percent of the maximum operation rate allowed by the permit.  If it is impracticable to test at permitted capacity, an emissions unit may be tested at less than the minimum permitted capacity; in this case, subsequent emissions unit operation is limited to 110 percent of the test load until a new test is conducted.  Once the unit is so limited, operation at higher capacities is allowed for no more than 15 consecutive days for the purpose of additional compliance testing to regain the authority to operate at the permitted capacity.  [Rule 62-297.310(3), F.A.C.]
22.
Stack Testing Facilities:  The owner or operator shall maintain permanent stack testing facilities in accordance with Rule 62-297.310(6), F.A.C.  These requirements are summarized in Appendix D of this permit.

23.
Test Notification:  Unless otherwise specified, the permittee shall notify the Health Department, in writing, at least 15 days prior to the date on which each formal compliance test is to begin, of the test date, the expected test time, the location of the test, the facility contact person responsible for coordinating the test, and the person or company conducting test.  The 15 day notification requirement may be waived at the discretion of the Health Department.  Likewise, if circumstances prevent testing during the test window specified for the emissions unit, the owner or operator may request an alternate test date before the expiration of this window.  [Rule 62-297.310(9)., F.A.C.]
24.
Special Compliance Tests:   When the Health Department, after investigation, has good reason (such as complaints, increased visible emissions or questionable maintenance of control equipment) to believe that any applicable emission standard contained in a DEP rule or permit is being violated, it shall require the owner or operator of the emissions unit to conduct compliance tests which identify the nature and quantity of pollutant emissions from the emissions unit and to provide a report on the results of said tests to the Health Department.  [Rule 62-297.310(8)(c), F.A.C.]

Reports Required

25.
Excess Emissions Report:  If excess emissions occur, the permittee shall notify the Air Compliance Section of the Health Department within one working day of:  the nature, extent, and duration of the excess emissions; the cause of the excess emissions; and the actions taken to correct the problem.  In addition, the Health Department may request a written summary report of the incident.  [Rules 62-4.130 and 62-210.700(6), F.A.C.]



26.
Emission Compliance Stack Test Reports:  For each required emissions compliance test, a report indicating the results of the test shall be filed with the Health Department as soon as practical, but no later than 45 days after the last sampling run is completed.  The report shall provide sufficient detail on the tested emissions unit and the procedures used to allow the Health Department to determine if the test was properly conducted and if the test results were properly computed.  At a minimum, the test report shall provide the applicable information listed in Rule 62-297.310(8)(c), F.A.C. and summarized in Appendix D of this permit.  Additional report information may be specified for a given group of emissions units in this permit. [Rule 62-297.310(8), F.A.C.]


Waste Requirements

27.
Waste Disposal:  The owner or operator shall treat, store, and dispose of all liquid, solid, and hazardous wastes in accordance with all applicable Federal, State, and Local regulations.  This air pollution permit does not preclude the permittee from securing any other types of required permits, licenses, or certifications.

This section of the permit addresses the following emissions units.

	EU No.
	Emission Unit Description

	001
	Unit No. 2101:  6500 bhp natural gas-fired combustion turbine with compressor. Controls include dry, low NOX combustion. Solar Model Centaur –Taurus T 6502. (71.52 mmbtu/hr)

	002
	Unit No. 2102:  6500 bhp natural gas-fired combustion turbine with compressor. Controls include dry, low NOX combustion. Solar Model Centaur T 6502. (71.52 mmbtu/hr)


Performance Restrictions

1. Permitted Capacity:  The permittee shall not allow, cause, suffer or permit the operation of the units in excess of the following capacities without prior authorization from the Permitting Authority.  [Rules 62-4.160(2), 62-210.200, and 62-210.300, F.A.C., and Construction Permit No. AC50-229440]  
(a) Heat Input Rates: For each stationary gas turbine, the maximum heat input shall not exceed 71.52 Mmbtu per hour (based on the daily average fuel consumption and the typical heat content of the natural gas determined from the most recent fuel analysis).

(b) Natural Gas Consumption Rates: Fuel for each turbine is limited to natural gas with a maximum fuel consumption rate not to exceed 0.0684 million cubic feet per hour (based on a daily average).  [Rule 62-210.200(PTE), F.A.C.]
2.
Methods of Operation:  The permittee shall not allow, cause, suffer or permit any change in the method(s) of operation resulting in increased short-term or long-term emissions, without prior authorization from the Permitting Authority.  The authorized methods of operation include the following:


(a)
Stationary Gas Turbine:  The permittee is authorized to operate two natural gas fired combustion turbines. 


(b)
Fuels:  The permittee is authorized to fire only clean pipeline quality natural gas in each turbine.


(c) 
Hours of Operation:  The permittee is authorized to operate each turbine continuously.
[Rules 62-4.160(2) and 62-210.300, F.A.C., and Construction Permit AC50-229440]

3. Restricted Operation:  The hours of operation of are not limited (8760 hours per year).  [Rules 62-4.070(3) and 62-210.200(PTE), F.A.C.]


Emissions Standards

4.
NSPS Requirements:  Each gas turbine shall comply with the New Source Performance Standards (NSPS) of Subpart GG in 40 CFR 60.  The applicable NSPS requirements are provided in Appendix GG of this permit.  [Rule 62-204.800, F.A.C.; 40 CFR 60, Subpart GG]
5.
Nitrogen Oxides: The permittee shall not cause to be discharged into the atmosphere from any stationary gas turbine any gases which contains nitrogen oxides: 

(a) In excess of 42 parts per million by volume at 15 percent oxygen on a dry basis [Permit No. AC50-229440], nor

(b) in excess of the following [40 CFR 332.(a)(2)] 
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Where: 


STD =
Allowable NOX emissions (percent by volume at 15 percent oxygen and on a dry basis). 


Y =

Manufacturer's rated heat rate at manufacturer's rated peak load (kilojoules per watt hour), or actual measured heat rate based on lower heating value of fuel as measured at actual peak load for the facility. The value of Y shall not exceed 14.4 kilojoules per watt-hour. 


F = 

NOx emission allowance for fuel-bound nitrogen as defined in paragraph (a) (4) of 40 CFR 60.332.


F shall be defined according to the nitrogen content of the fuel as follows:

	Fuel Bound nitrogen (percent by weight)
	F (NOx percent by volume)

	N ≤ 0.015
	0

	0.015 < N ≤ 0.1
	0.04 (N)

	0.1 < N ≤ 0.25
	0.004 + 0.0067 (N-0.1)

	N > 0.25
	0.005



Where N = the nitrogen content of fuel (percent by weight).


Department Requirement:  The permittee is authorized to fire only pipeline quality natural gas. The fuel-bound nitrogen is not a factor in NOx emissions when burning natural gas.

{Permitting Note:  The “Y” value for this gas turbine is approximately 12.9 for natural gas.  The equivalent emission standard is 167 ppmvd corrected to 15% oxygen.  The emission standards established in Construction Permit AC50-229440 are much more stringent than that established by the NSPS.}   


[Construction Permit No. AC50-229440, 40 CFR 60.332(a)(2), and 40 CFR 60.332(c)]


6.
Natural Gas Sulfur Content: The permittee shall not allow the firing of natural gas with a sulfur content in excess of 0.8 percent by weight (8000 ppmw) nor greater than 10 grains per 100 standard cubic foot of gas on a monthly average. 


[40 CFR 60.333(b) and Construction Permit AC50-229440]


{Permitting Note:  The gas turbines will exclusively fire natural gas, which contains less than 0.03% sulfur by weight assuming a density of 0.0455 lb/scf of natural gas.}

7.
Excess Emissions.  Reportable periods of excess emissions shall be defined as follows:

(a) Nitrogen oxides.  If the permittee claims an allowance for fuel bound nitrogen (i.e., if an F-value greater than zero is being or will be used by the permittee to calculate STD in Condition (A.4 of this subsection), the permittee shall monitor the nitrogen content of the fuel combusted in the turbine.  [40 CFR 60.334(h)(2)] 


Because the nitrogen content of pipeline natural is negligible, the permittee does not claim an allowance for fuel bound nitrogen and will use “0” for the F-value when calculating the NOx standard in 40 CFR 60.332.  The permit prohibits the permittee from claiming the allowance for fuel nitrogen.  Therefore, no fuel nitrogen monitoring is required. 

(b) Sulfur dioxide.   The permittee may elect not to monitor the total sulfur content of the gaseous fuel combusted in the turbine, if the gaseous fuel is demonstrated to meet the definition of natural gas in 40 CFR 60.331(u).  [40 CFR 60.334(h)(1)]

40 CFR 60.331(u) states, “Natural gas means a naturally occurring fluid mixture of hydrocarbons (e.g., methane, ethane, or propane) produced in geological formations beneath the Earth’s surface that maintains a gaseous state at standard atmospheric temperature and pressure under ordinary conditions.  Natural gas contains 20.0 grains or less of total sulfur per 100 standard cubic feet.  Additionally, natural gas must either be composed of at least 70 percent methane by volume or have a gross calorific value between 950 and 1100 Btu per standard cubic foot.  Natural gas does not include the following gaseous fuels:  Landfill gas, digester gas, refinery gas, sour gas, blast furnace gas, coal-derived gas, producer gas, coke oven gas, or any gaseous fuel produced in a process which might result in highly variable sulfur content or heating value.”



[40 CFR 60.334(c)] 


The permittee elects not to monitor the sulfur content of natural gas based on 40 CFR 60.334(h)(3)(i), which states that, “The gas quality characteristics in a current, valid purchase contract, tariff sheet or transportation contract for the gaseous fuel, specifying that the maximum total sulfur content of the fuel is 20.0 grains/100 scf or less.”  The current tariff sheet specifies that natural gas delivered by the pipeline system shall contain not more than 10 grains of total sulfur per 100 cubic feet of gas.  


The permit requires the gas turbine to fire only pipeline natural gas with a maximum sulfur content of 10 grains of sulfur per 100 cubic feet of gas.  Therefore, no fuel sulfur monitoring is required and no periodic reports of excess SO2 emissions are required.

Testing Requirements

8. Test Requirements:  The permittee shall notify the Compliance Authority in writing at least 15 days prior to any required tests.  Tests shall be conducted in accordance with the applicable requirements specified in Appendix D (Common Testing Requirements) of this permit.  [Rule 62-297.310(9), F.A.C.]
9.
Nitrogen Oxides:  All nitrogen oxides tests performed pursuant to the requirements of this permit shall be determined using the following procedures:


(a)
EPA Method 20:  Method 20 is described in 40 CFR 60, Appendix A and incorporated in Rule 62-297.401(20), F.A.C.

(b)
Span Values:  The span values shall be 100 ppm of nitrogen oxide and 21 percent oxygen.  [Permit 099-0333-002-AC]


(c)
NOX Correction for NSPS:  For each run of the compliance test, the mean nitrogen oxides emission concentration (NOXO) corrected to 15% O2 shall be corrected to ISO standard conditions using the following equation. [40 CFR 60.335(b)(1)]: 


NOX  =  (NOXO)  (Pr  /  Po) 0.5  (e19)  (Ho  -  0.00633)  (288°K  /  Ta)  1.53

Where: 

NOX

=
NOX emissions at 15% O2 and ISO standard ambient conditions, ppm by volume, dry basis.

NOXO

=
mean observed NOX concentration, ppm by volume, dry basis, at 15% O2.
Pr

=
reference combustor inlet absolute pressure at 101.3 kilopascals ambient pressure, mm Hg. 

PO

=
observed combustor inlet absolute pressure at test, mm Hg. 

Ho

=
observed humidity of ambient air, grams H2O per gram of air. 

e

=
transcendental constant, 2.718, and  

Ta

=
Ambient temperature, °K. 


(d)
NOX Correction for State Limit:  To show compliance with the state limit, NOX emissions shall also be reported in parts per million by volume (ppmv) at 15% O2, dry basis. [Construction Permit AC50-229440 and 40 CFR 60.335]

(e)
NSPS Requirements: Each performance test shall consist of three separate runs using the applicable test method.  Each run shall be conducted for the time and under the conditions specified in the applicable standard.  For the purpose of determining compliance with an applicable standard, the arithmetic means of results of the three runs shall apply.  [40 CFR 60.8(f)]
10.
Test Methods:  Required tests shall be performed in accordance with the following reference methods:

	Method
	Description of Method and Comments

	20
	NOx from Stationary Gas Turbines



The above methods are described in Appendix A of 40 CFR 60 and are adopted by reference in Rule 62-204.800, F.A.C.  No other methods may be used unless prior written approval is received from the Department.  [Rules 62-204.800, F.A.C.; and Appendix A of 40 CFR 60]
Compliance Demonstrations and Monitoring Requirements
11.
Initial Compliance Demonstrations: The permittee shall have a formal compliance test conducted for visible emissions and nitrogen oxides in accordance with 40 CFR 60.8, Performance Tests for any in-kind replacement as allowed by condition A.13 of this permit. [Rule 62-4.070(3), F.A.C. and 40 CFR 60.8]
12.
Renewal Compliance Demonstrations: The permittee shall have formal compliance tests conducted for nitrogen oxides for the emissions units prior to renewal of the operating permit (every five years).  The most recent annual compliance tests may be submitted to satisfy the requirements of this provision. 


[Rule 62-297.310(7), F.A.C.]

13.
Daily Operation and Maintenance (O&M) Log:  The permittee shall keep a daily O&M log to include, at a minimum, the following information [Rule 62-4.070(3), F.A.C. and 40 CFR 60.7(b)]:


(a)
Date and name of operator.


(b)
Periods of startup, shutdown, and malfunction of a gas turbine.


(c)
Daily average fuel consumption in million cubic feet of natural gas per hour.


(d)
Daily average heat input in mmBTU per hour based on the daily average fuel consumption and the typical heat content determined by the most recent sampling and analysis.


(e)
Any maintenance performed on the gas turbines and/or monitoring equipment.  (Indicate the problem, the maintenance or repair made, and the person or company performing the work.)


(f)
Any comments on the performance of the gas turbines beneficial to the next operator.

14.
Fugitive Leak Assessment: On the date of each nitrogen oxides emissions test, the permittee shall also perform a visual inspection of the gas turbine, compressor engine, filters, exhaust stack and ductwork, and natural gas piping system for rust spots, cracks, leaks, and/or odors.  In addition, all safety mechanisms shall be inspected in order to ensure proper functioning.  A report on the findings of the inspection and any corrective actions taken shall be submitted along with the required nitrogen oxides emissions test report.  [Rule 62-4.070(3), F.A.C.]


RECORDS AND REPORTS
15.
Test Reports:  The following reports shall be submitted to the Health Department indicating the results of the tests required by this subsection:    [40 CFR 60.335 and F.A.C. 62-4.070(3)]

EPA Method 20:  In addition to the information required is F.A.C. Rule 62-297.570(3) [REPEALED IN 1996] and included in Appendix D of this permit, this report shall include:
(a) NOX emissions in percent by volume at 15% oxygen and ISO conditions.

(b) NOX emissions in parts per million at 15% oxygen on a dry basis.

(c) Sulfur content, ppmw.

(d) Percent of operating capacity (6500 bhp at ISO conditions would be 100% capacity).

(e) Compliance status.

(f) Results of Fugitive Leak Assessment.

GAS TURBINE REPLACEMENT GUIDELINES
16.
Component Replacements:  For the replacement of gas turbine components to facilitate prompt repair and return the unit to its original specifications, the permittee shall comply with the following notification and testing requirements:

(a) Components shall only be replaced with functionally equivalent “like-kind” equipment.  Replacement components may consist of improved or newer equipment, but such components shall not change the operation or increase the capacity (heat input and power output rates) of the gas turbine.  Replacement components that affect emissions shall be designed to achieve the emission standards specified in all valid air permits and shall achieve these standards or better.  After a component replacement, the gas turbine compressor engine remains subject to the standards of all valid air permits. [Rule 62-210.200, F.A.C.]
(b) The permittee shall notify the Health Department within seven days after beginning any replacement of the gas generator component of the compressor engine.  Within seven days of first fire on a replacement gas generator, the permittee shall submit the following information to the Compliance Authority: date of first fire and certification from the vendor that the replacement gas generator is a functionally equivalent “like-kind” component.  The vendor certification shall also identify the make, model number, serial number, maximum heat input rate (mmBTU/hour), power output (bhp) at ISO conditions, and that the permitted emission rates are achievable with the replacement component.  This notification may be made by letter, fax, or e-mail. A copy of the information shall be kept on site at the compressor station. Within 60 days of restarting the unit after a gas generator replacement, the permittee shall conduct stack tests to demonstrate compliance with the applicable emission standards.  The permittee shall notify the Compliance Authority in writing at least 15 days prior to conducting these tests.  The permittee shall comply with all permit requirements for testing notification, test methods, test procedures, and reporting. [Rules 62-4.130, 62-4.160(2), (6), and (15) and 62-297.310(7)(b), F.A.C.]   

After investigation and for good cause, the Health Department may require special compliance tests pursuant to Rule 62-297.310(7)(b), F.A.C

This section of the permit addresses the following emissions unit.

	Emission

Unit No.
	STATUS
	Emissions Unit Description

	003
	EXEMPT
	Support Equipment:

A Cummins 184 bhp natural gas fired emergency generator; Conditional exemption was issued by DEP's Bureau of Air Regulation on 10-19-93 pursuant to Rule 62-4.040(1)(b), F.A.C. (Engine was installed in 1995)
 A Mobile Field Compressor; Conditional exemption issued by DEP’s Bureau of Air Regulation on 10-19-93 pursuant to Rule 62-4.040(1)(b), F.A.C.  [REMOVED from the facility]
a 2000 gallon new lube oil tank;  a 4200 gallon condensate tank;  a 300 gallon oily water tank;  a 600 gallon used lube oil tank;  a 4200 gallon oily water tank;  and fugitive emissions from valves, flanges, and fittings. Emit negligible amounts of fugitive VOC.   Conditional exemption issued by Health Department on 12-18-95 pursuant to Rule 62-4.040(1)(b), F.A.C.


Performance Restrictions

1. The emergency  generator is exempt from air permitting requirements pursuant to Rule 62-210.300(3)(a)35., F.A.C. 
[62-210.300(3)(a)35.d. F.A.C.]

184 hp natural gas fired emergency electrical generator:
(a) Shall not burn more than 8.8 mmcf of natural gas in a year.
(b) Fuel shall be limited to natural gas.
(c) Records of monthly natural gas usage & hours of operation shall be maintained.
2.    NESHAP Subpart ZZZZ:    The emergency generator is subject to the applicable Requirements of 40 CFR Part 63 Subpart ZZZZ ‘National Emission Standards for Hazardous Air Pollutants for Reciprocating Internal Combustion Engines (RICE)’ Regulations, and the following maintenance requirements apply to the generator.   [40 CFR 63 Subpart ZZZZ]

(a) 
Change oil and filter every 500 hours of operation or annually, whichever comes first.

(b) 
Inspect spark plugs every 1,000 hours of operation or annually, whichever comes first; .and replace as necessary. 

(c)
Inspect all hoses and belts every 500 hours of operation or annually, whichever comes first, and replace as necessary. 
[40 CFR 63 Subpart ZZZZ, Table 2d]

3.
The following activities were identified in the application for this permit as sources of fugitive emissions of volatile organic compounds:

(a) 2000 gallon new lube oil tank

(b) 4200 gallon condensate tank

(c) 300 gallon oily water tank

(d) 600 gallon used lube oil tank

(e) 4200 gallon oily water tank

(f) Fugitive emissions from valves, flanges, and fittings


The Health Department determines these activities to emit negligible amounts of fugitive emissions of volatile organic compounds and exempts them from the requirement to obtain an air pollution permit.  
[Permit No. 0990333-002-AC]
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