SECTION 4.  APPENDICES

PERMITTEE
	Ranger Construction Industries, Inc.
P.O. Box 14589
Fort Pierce, Florida 34979-4589
Authorized Representative:
Tom Rehyansky, Environmental Manager
	Air Permit No. 0990087-016-AO
Issued: 2/27/2018
Expires:  2/26/2023
Renewal Date: 12/26/2022

Ranger Construction Industries
Palm Beach County, Florida


PROJECT
This is the FINAL Air Operation Permit, which authorizes the operation of Ranger Construction Industries, Inc., which is a Hot Mix Asphalt Plant (Asphalt Paving Mixtures and Blocks No. 2951).  This project is a renewal to air operation Permit No. 0990087-014-AO, and also includes the conditions revised per 0990087-015-AO.  The facility is located in Palm Beach County at 606 95th Avenue North in Royal Palm Beach, Florida.  The UTM coordinates are Zone 17, 579.9 kilometers (km) East, and 2951.7 km North.  
This final permit is organized into the following sections:  Section 1 (General Information); Section 2 (Administrative Requirements); Section 3 (Emissions Unit Specific Conditions); and Section 4 (Appendices).  Because of the technical nature of the project, the permit contains numerous acronyms and abbreviations, which are defined in Appendix A of Section 4 of this permit.
Permitting Authority:  Applications for air operation permits are subject to review in accordance with the provisions of Chapter 403, Florida Statutes (F.S.) and Chapters 62-4 and 62-210 of the Florida Administrative Code (F.A.C.).  The Permitting Authority responsible for making a permit determination for this project is the Florida Department of Health Palm Beach County (Health Department). The Permitting Authority’s physical address is:  800 Clematis Street, 4th Floor, West Palm Beach, Florida 33401. The Permitting Authority’s mailing address is: 800 Clematis Street, P.O. Box 29, West Palm Beach, Florida 33402-0029.  The Permitting Authority’s telephone number is 561837-5900.
Petitions.  A person whose substantial interests are affected by the proposed decision may petition for an administrative hearing in accordance with Sections 120.569 and 120.57, F.S.  The petition must contain the information set forth below and must be filed (received) in the Florida Department of Health Palm Beach County (Health Department) Legal Office located at 800 Clematis Street in West Palm Beach, Florida, 33401 (Telephone: (561) 671-4000, FAX (561) 837-5195). Petitions filed by the applicant or any of the parties listed below must be filed within 14 days of receipt of this notice.  Petitions filed by any other person must be filed within 14 days of receipt of this proposed action.  A petitioner must mail a copy of the petition to the applicant at the address indicated above, at the time of filing.  The failure of any person to file a petition within the appropriate time period shall constitute a waiver of that person’s right to request an administrative determination (hearing) under Sections 120.569 and 120.57, F.S., or to intervene in this proceeding and participate as a party to it.  Any subsequent intervention will be only at the approval of the presiding officer upon the filing of a motion in compliance with Rule 28-106.205, F.A.C.

	Mission:
To protect, promote & improve the health
of all people in Florida through integrated
state, county & community efforts.
	[image: palm beach chd_clr]
	Rick Scott
Governor

Celeste Philip, MD, MPH 
State Surgeon General & Secretary

	Vision: To be the Healthiest State in the Nation
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A petition that disputes the material facts on which the Department’s action is based must contain the following information:  (a) The name and address of each agency affected and each agency’s file or identification number, if known; (b) The name, address, and telephone number of the petitioner; the name, address and telephone number of the petitioner’s representative, if any, which shall be the address for service purposes during the course of the proceeding; and an explanation of how the petitioner’s substantial interests will be affected by the agency determination; (c) A statement of how and when each petitioner received notice of the agency action or proposed action; (d) A statement of all disputed issues of material fact.  If there are none, the petition must so indicate; (e) A concise statement of the ultimate facts alleged, as well as the rules and statutes which entitle the petitioner to relief; (f) A statement of the specific rules or statutes the petitioner contends require reversal or modification of the agency’s proposed action; and, (g) A statement of the relief sought by the petitioner, stating precisely the action petitioner wishes the agency to take with respect to the agency’s proposed action. A petition that does not dispute the material facts upon which the permitting authority’s action is based shall state that no such facts are in dispute and otherwise shall contain the same information as set forth above, as required by Rule 28-106.301, F.A.C.
Because the administrative hearing process is designed to formulate final agency action, the filing of a petition means that the Department’s final action may be different from the position taken by it in this notice.  Persons whose substantial interests will be affected by any such final decision of the permitting authority on the application have the right to petition to become a party to the proceeding, in accordance with the requirements set forth above.
Mediation:  Mediation is not available in this proceeding.
Effective Date:  This permitting decision is final and effective on the date filed with the clerk of the Permitting Authority unless a petition is filed in accordance with the above paragraphs or unless a request for extension of time in which to file a petition is filed within the time specified for filing a petition pursuant to Rule 62-110.106, F.A.C., and the petition conforms to the content requirements of Rules 28-106.201 and 28-106.301, F.A.C.  Upon timely filing of a petition or a request for extension of time, this action will not be effective until further order of the Permitting Authority.
Judicial Review:  Any party to this Order (Permit) has the right to seek judicial review of it under Section 120.68, F.S., by filing a notice of appeal under Rule 9.110 of the Florida Rules of Appellate Procedure with the clerk of the Florida Department of Health Palm Beach County (Health Department) Legal Office located at 800 Clematis Street in West Palm Beach, Florida, 33401 (Telephone: (561) 671-4000, FAX (561) 837-5195), and by filing a copy of the notice of appeal accompanied by the applicable filing fees with the appropriate District Court of Appeal.  The notice must be filed within 30 days after this order is filed with the clerk of the Department.
Executed in West Palm Beach, Florida 	 
Florida Department of Health Palm Beach County	If you have any questions, contact:
	Paul Kalamaras, Engineering Specialist III
Air & Compliance Section
	Department of Health Palm Beach County
Laxmana Tallam, P.E., Environmental Administrator			P.O. Box 29 (800 Clematis St., 4th Floor)
Ari and Waste Section 							West Palm Beach, Florida, 33402-0029
Division of Environmental Public Health					Tel 561-837-5974	


CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE
The undersigned duly designated deputy agency clerk hereby certifies that this Air Permit package was sent by electronic mail, with received receipt requested before the close of business on the date indicated below to the following persons.
Tom Rehyansky, Ranger Construction Industries, Inc. 	Tom.Rehyansky@rangerconstruction.com
Tim Fox, Ranger Construction Industries, Inc. 	Tim.Fox@rangerconstruction.com
Diane Pupa, DEP/SED 	Diane.Pupa@dep.state.fl.us
Jaime Morales, Health Department 	Jaime.Morales@flhealth.gov

FILING AND ACKNOWLEDGMENT FILED, on this date, pursuant to Section 120.52(7), Florida Statutes, with the designated agency clerk, receipt of which is hereby acknowledged.



FINAL AIR OPERATION PERMIT

	(Clerk)	(Date)
Ranger Construction Industries Inc.	Air Permit No. 0990087-016-AO
West Palm Beach Plant	FINAL	Air Operating Permit Renewal
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PERMIT HISTORY
1/22/2018:	Health Department received sufficient fee.
1/04/2018:	Health Department received application for renewal operational permit (0990087-016-AO).
FACILITY DESCRIPTION
The existing facility consists of the following emissions units (EU).
	EU No.
	Emission Unit Description

	001
	250TPH ASPH PLANT-CYCLONE D C & B H (INACTIVE)

	003
	ASTEC DRUM MIX ASPHALT PLANT, 250 TPH W/60% RECYCLE (INACTIVE)

	004
	Double drum dryer (250 TPH) (Astec Industries Model No. DDC-946C; S/N 92-128) firing fuel oil grade No. 5 or better containing no more than 1.0% sulfur by weight and natural gas as an alternative fuel. Particulate emissions are controlled by a Astec Industries Model No. SBHT-79 baghouse.

	005
	Asphalt cement heater (1.4 mmBTUH) burning Natural Gas (Heatec Model No. HC-120) firing No. 2 fuel oil or better containing no more than 0.5% sulfur by weight.

	006
	Materials Handling & Storage Operations including the storage piles, storage silos, conveyors, and transfer operations. [EXEMPT].

	007
	Volatile Organic Liquid Storage Tanks: one 30,000 gallons asphalt tank, two 20,000 gallons asphalt tanks, and two 400 gallons fuel oil tanks [EXEMPT].

	008
	Rap Crusher (500TPH)
Fugitive particulate matter is emitted from crushing, screening, stockpiles, and the transfer points of belt conveyors, crushers, grinding mills, screening operations, bucket elevators, storage bins, and loading stations. The affected transfer points are points are subject to 40 CFR 60 Subpart OOO adopted and incorporated by reference In Rule 60-204.800(8)(b), F.A.C.


APPLICABLE REGULATIONS
A summary of applicable regulations is shown in the following table.  
	Regulation
	EU No(s).

	Federal Rule Citations 

	40 CFR 60 Subpart I 
	004

	40 CFR 60 Subpart OOO
	008

	State Rule Citations

	Rule 62-210.300, F.A.C., Permits Required
	004

	Rule 62-204.800, F.A.C.,
	004, 008

	Rule 62-297.310, F.A.C.,
	004, 008

	Rule 62-296.320, F.A.C.,
	006, 007, 008


FACILITY REGULATORY CLASSIFICATION
· The facility is not a major source of hazardous air pollutants (HAP).
· The facility does not operate units subject to the acid rain provisions of the Clean Air Act (CAA).
· The facility is not a Title V major source of air pollution in accordance with Chapter 62-213, F.A.C.
· The facility is not a major stationary source in accordance with Rule 62-212.400, F.A.C. for the Prevention of Significant Deterioration (PSD) of Air Quality.
· This facility is a NSPS stationary source in accordance with 40 CFR 60 Subpart OOO.

1. Permitting Authority:  The permitting authority for this project is the Air & Waste Section, Florida Department of Health Palm Beach County (Health Department). The mailing address is P.O. Box 29 (800 Clematis Street), West Palm Beach, Florida 33402-0029, and telephone number (561) 837-5900.  All documents related to applications for permits to operate an emissions unit shall be submitted to the Air and Waste Section, Florida Department of Health Palm Beach County (Health Department).
2. Compliance Authority:  All documents related to compliance activities such as reports, tests, and notifications shall be submitted to the Air & Waste Section of the Florida Department of Health Palm Beach County (Health Department) at P.O. Box 29 (800 Clematis Street), West Palm Beach, Florida, 33402-0029, and telephone number (561) 837-5900.
3. Appendices:  The following Appendices are attached as a part of this permit:  Appendix A (Citation Formats and Glossary of Common Terms); Appendix B (General Conditions); Appendix C (Common Conditions); Appendix D (Common Testing Requirements); Appendix E (Standards of Performance for Hot Mix asphalt Facilities [40 CFR 60 Subpart I]); Appendix F (Standards of Performance for Nonmetallic Mineral Processing Plants [40 CFR Subpart OOO]); Appendix G (‘Order on Request For Alternate Procedures and Requirements’ issued by DEP on February 22, 2011)
4. Applicable Regulations, Forms and Application Procedures:  Unless otherwise specified in this permit, the construction and operation of the subject emissions units shall be in accordance with the capacities and specifications stated in the application.  The facility is subject to all applicable provisions of: Chapter 403, F.S.; and Chapters 62-4, 62-204, 62-210, 62-212, 62-213, 62-296 and 62-297, F.A.C.  Issuance of this permit does not relieve the permittee from compliance with any applicable federal, state, or local permitting or regulations.
5. New or Additional Conditions:  For good cause shown and after notice and an administrative hearing, if requested, the Department may require the permittee to conform to new or additional conditions.  The Department shall allow the permittee a reasonable time to conform to the new or additional conditions, and on application of the permittee, the Department may grant additional time.  [Rule 62-4.080, F.A.C.]
6. Modifications:  No new emissions unit shall be constructed and no existing emissions unit shall be modified without obtaining an air construction permit from the Department.  Such permit shall be obtained prior to beginning construction or modification.  [Rules 62-210.300(1) and 62-212.300(1)(a), F.A.C.]
7. Renewal.  Prior to 60 days before the expiration date of this permit, the permittee shall apply for a renewal of the permit.  A renewal application shall be timely and sufficient.  If the application is submitted prior to 60 days before expiration of the permit, it will be considered timely and sufficient.  If the renewal application is submitted at a later date, it will not be considered timely and sufficient unless it is submitted and made complete prior to the expiration of the operation permit.  When the application for renewal is timely and sufficient, the existing permit shall remain in effect until the renewal application has been finally acted upon by the Department. [Rule 62-4.090, F.A.C.]
EMISSION LIMITING AND PERFORMANCE STANDARDS
8. General Particulate Emission Limiting Standards:  Except for emissions units that are subject to a particulate matter or opacity limit set forth or established by rule and reflected by conditions in this permit, the permittee shall not:
(a) Cause, let, permit, suffer or allow to be discharged into the atmosphere the emissions of air pollutants from any activity, the density of which is equal to or greater than that designated as No. 1 on the Ringelmann Chart (20 percent opacity). [Rule 62-296.320(4)(b)1., F.A.C.]
(b) If the presence of uncombined water is the only reason for failure to meet the visible emissions standards given in Rule 62-296.320(4)1, F.A.C., such failure shall not be a violation of the rule.  
[Rule 62-296.320(4)(b)3, F.A.C.] 
(c) All visible emissions test performed pursuant to the requirements of Rule 62-296.320(b)(4)1, F.A.C. shall use EPA Reference Method 9, and shall meet all applicable requirements of Chapter 62-297, F.A.C. 
[Rule 62-296.320(4)(b)4, F.A.C.]
9. Objectionable Odors:  The permittee shall not cause, suffer, allow, or permit the discharge of air pollutants, which cause or contribute to an objectionable odor.  [Rule 62-296.320(2), F.A.C.]
 Note: An objectionable odor is defined as any odor present in the outdoor atmosphere which by itself or in combination with other odors, is or may be harmful or injurious to human health or welfare, which unreasonably interferes with the comfortable use and enjoyment of life or property, or which creates a nuisance.  
[Rule 62-210.200, [Definitions] F.A.C.]
10. Volatile Organic Compounds Emissions or Organic Solvents Emissions:  The permittee shall allow no person to store, pump, handle, process, load, unload, or use in any process or installation, volatile organic compounds (VOC) or organic solvents (OS) without applying known and existing vapor emission control devices or systems deemed necessary and ordered by the Department. [Rule 62-296.320(1), F.A.C.]
11. Unconfined Emissions of Particulate Matter:  The permittee shall not cause, let, permit, suffer or allow the emissions of unconfined particulate matter from any activity, including vehicular movement; transportation of materials; construction, alteration, demolition or wrecking; or industrially related activities such as loading, unloading, storing or handling; without taking reasonable precautions to prevent such emissions.  Reasonable precautions shall include the following: 
(a) Paving and maintenance of roads, parking areas and yards.
(b) Application of water or chemicals to control emissions from such activities as demolition of buildings, grading roads, construction, and land clearing.
(c) Application of asphalt, water, oil, chemicals or other dust suppressants to unpaved roads, yards, open stock piles and similar activities.
(d) Removal of particulate matter from roads and other paved areas under the control of the owner or operator of the facility to prevent reentrainment, and from buildings or work areas to prevent particulate from becoming airborne.
(e) Landscaping or planting of vegetation.
(f) Use of hoods, fans, filters, and similar equipment to contain, capture and/or vent particulate matter.
(g) Confining abrasive blasting where possible.
(h) Enclosure or covering of conveyor systems.
	[Rule 62-296.320(4)(c), F.A.C.]
12. Facility-Wide Operating Restrictions:  The facility is subject to the following operating restrictions on a 12-month rolling total [Request of applicant]:
(a) Fuel Oil Usage shall not exceed 1,800,000 gallons.
(b) Asphalt Concrete Production shall not exceed 750,000 tons.
(c) Hours of Operation shall not exceed 2,600 hours. 
[Permit No. 0990087-013-AC]
13. Circumvention:  The owner or operator shall not circumvent air pollution control equipment/methods or allow the emission of air pollutants without the equipment/methods operating properly.  
[Rule 62-210.650, F.A.C.]

14. Excess Emissions Requirements:
(a) Excess emissions resulting from start-up, shutdown or malfunction of these emissions units shall be permitted providing (1) best operational practices to minimize emissions are adhered to and (2) the duration of excess emissions shall be minimized, but in no case exceed two hours in any 24-hour period unless specifically authorized by the Health Department for longer duration.
[Rule 62-210.700(1), F.A.C.]
(b) Excess emissions which are caused entirely or in part by poor maintenance, poor operation, or any other equipment or process failure which may reasonably be prevented during start-up, shutdown, or malfunction are prohibited.  [Rule 62-210.700(2), F.A.C.]
(c) In case of excess emissions resulting from malfunctions, the permittee shall notify the Air Pollution Control Section of the Department of Health Palm Beach County within one working day of: the nature, extent, and duration of the excess emissions; the cause of the problem; and the corrective actions being taken to prevent recurrence.  [Rule 62-210.700(5), F.A.C.]
(d) Considering operational variations in types of industrial equipment operations affected by this rule, the Department may adjust the maximum and minimum factors to provide reasonable and practical regulatory controls consistent with the public interest. [Rule 62-210.700(4), F.A.C.]
COMPLIANCE MONITORING REQUIREMENTS
15. Duration:  Unless otherwise specified in this permit, all records and reports required by this facility shall be kept for at least three (3) years from the date the information was recorded.  [Rule 62-4.070(3), F.A.C. and 62-4.160(14)(b)].

16. Test Procedures:  All test methods and procedures shall be performed in accordance with the applicable requirements of Chapter 62-297, F.A.C., summarized in Appendix D of this permit.  [Rule 62-297.100, F.A.C.]

17. Operational Rate During Testing:  Unless otherwise stated in the applicable emission limiting standard for a rule, testing of emissions shall be conducted with the emissions unit operating at permitted capacity.  Permitted capacity is defined as 90 to 100 percent of the maximum operation rate allowed by the permit.  If it is impracticable to test at permitted capacity, an emissions unit may be tested at less than the minimum permitted capacity; in this case, subsequent emissions unit operation is limited to 110 percent of the test load until a new test is conducted.  Once the unit is so limited, operation at higher capacities is allowed for no more than 15 consecutive days for the purpose of additional compliance testing to regain the authority to operate at the permitted capacity.  [Rule 62-297.310(3), F.A.C.]

18. Stack Testing Facilities:  The permittee shall install and maintain permanent / temporary stack testing facilities in accordance with the requirements provided in Appendix D of this permit.  [Rule 62-297.310(6), F.A.C.]

19. Test Notification:  At least 15 days prior to the date on which each formal compliance test is to begin, the permittee shall notify the Health Department in writing of:  the test date; the expected test time; the location of the test; the facility contact person responsible for coordinating the test; and the person or company conducting test. The 15-day notification requirement may be waived at the discretion of the Health Department.  Likewise, if circumstances prevent testing during the 60-day test window specified for the emissions unit, the owner or operator may request an alternate test date before the expiration of this window.  [Rule 62-297.310(9)., F.A.C.]

20. Special Compliance Tests:  When the Health Department, after investigation, has good reason (such as complaints, increased visible emissions or questionable maintenance of control equipment) to believe that any applicable emission standard contained in a DEP rule or permit is being violated, it shall require the owner or operator of the emissions unit to conduct compliance tests which identify the nature and quantity of pollutant emissions from the emissions unit and to provide a report on the results of said tests to the Health Department. 
[Rule 62-297.310(8)(c), F.A.C.]

REPORTS REQUIRED
21. [bookmark: _GoBack]Annual Operations Report:  The annual operating report shall be submitted to the Health Department by April 1 of the following year using DEP Form No. 62-210.900(5). If the report is submitted using the Department’s electronic annual operating report software, there is no requirement to submit a copy to the Health Department. 
[Rule 62-210.370(3)(c), F.A.C.]

22. Excess Emissions Report:  If excess emissions occur, the Health Department may request a written summary report of the incident.  [Rule 62-210.700(5), F.A.C.]

23. Emission Compliance Stack Test Reports:  For each required emissions compliance test, a report indicating the results of the test shall be filed with the Health Department as soon as practical, but no later than 45 days after the last sampling run is completed.  The report shall provide sufficient detail on the tested emissions unit and the procedures used to allow the Health Department to determine if the test was properly conducted and if the test results were properly computed.  At a minimum, the test report shall provide the applicable information listed in Rule 62-297.310(8)(b), F.A.C. and summarized in Appendix D of this permit.  Additional report information may be specified for a given group of emissions units in this permit. [Rule 62-297.310(8), F.A.C.]

WASTE REQUIREMENTS
24. Waste Disposal:  The owner or operator shall treat, store, and dispose of all liquid, solid, and hazardous wastes in accordance with all applicable Federal, State, and Local regulations.  This air pollution permit does not preclude the permittee from securing any other types of required permits, licenses, or certifications.  
[Rule 62-4.070(3), F.A.C.]

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH PALM BEACH COUNTY LICENSE FEE REQUIREMENT

25. License Fee:  Pursuant to Sections 11-20(c) & 11-24(1) of the Palm Beach County Environmental Control Ordinance, the permittee shall obtain a county license every year.

(1) 
(1) 
SECTION 2.  ADMINISTRATIVE REQUIREMENTS

Group. A. This portion of the permit addresses the following emission unit:
	EU ID NO.
	STATUS
	BRIEF DESCRIPTION

	004
	Regulated
	Double drum dryer (250 TPH) (Astec Industries Model No. DDC-946C; S/N 92-128) firing fuel oil grade No. 5 or better containing no more than 1.0% sulfur by weight and natural gas as an alternative fuel. Particulate emissions are controlled by a Astec Industries Model No. SBHT-79 baghouse.


EMISSION LIMITING STANDARDS
1. Rule Applicability:  This emission unit is subject to the regulations of 40 CFR Part 60 Subpart I “Standards for Performance for Hot Mix Asphalt Facilities,” included in Appendix E. [Rules 62-210.300(3)(c), F.A.C. and 62-204.800, F.A.C.]
2. Visible Emissions:  The owner or operator shall not cause, let, permit, suffer or allow to be discharged into the atmosphere any air pollutants from new, or existing emissions units, the opacity of which is equal to or greater than 20 percent based on the highest 6-minute average.  
[40 CFR 60.92(a)(2), Rules 62-204.800, F.A.C. and 62-210.300(c)2.f.  F.A.C.]
3. Particulate Matter (PM): Particulate emissions from the dryer exhaust shall not exceed 0.04 grains per dry standard cubic foot (90 mg/dscm) of flue gas.  
[40 CFR 60.92(a)(1), Rules 62-204.800, F.A.C., and 62-210.300(3)(c)2.d., F.A.C.]

OPERATING RESTRICTIONS
4. Hours of Operation:  The permittee is authorized to operate the dryer 24 hours per day, 7 days per week, but no more than 2,600 hours per year, 12-month rolling total.   [Permit No. 0990087-013-AC]
5. Alternate Fuel:
(a) Alternatively, natural gas may also be fired in the drum mixer and the asphalt cement heater. 
(b) If a combination of fuel oil and natural gas is burned during a reporting period, each fuel consumption limit shall be prorated based upon the heat input for each fuel type. Total heat input shall not exceed the heat input calculated based on the fuel consumption specified in Section II. 12(a).
(The heat content of No. 2 fuel oil is 141 MMbtu per thousand gallons, and that of natural gas is 1050 MMbtu per million cubic feet.)
[Permit No. 0990087-013-AC]
6. Allowable Fuels:  The permittee is authorized to fire the following fuels, alone or in combination, within the dryer:
(a) Distillate Fuel Oil Grades 2 through 5.
(b) Natural Gas.
(c) On-Specification Used Fuel Oil.
Note:  The use of on-specification used oil is authorized provided the permittee receives a vendor certificate for each shipment.  The analysis shall include sulfur, arsenic, cadmium, chromium, lead and polychlorinated biphenyls (PCB) contents, heat content, total halogens, and flash point. 
[Permit No. 0990087-013-AC]
7. Sulfur Content:   The maximum sulfur content of any fuel oil fired in the dryer shall not exceed 1.0 percent by weight (As-Fired Limitation). 
Note:  The permittee shall receive a vendor certificate for each shipment of fuel oil including an analysis of the sulfur content. The permittee shall maintain copies of all the vendor certifications on-site. Upon request, this information shall be made available during the inspection by the Department of Health Palm Beach County. 
 [Permit No. 0990087-013-AC and Rule 62-210.300(3)(c)2.c., F.A.C.]
8. On-specification Used Oil Allowed as Fuel:  This permit allows the burning of used oil fuel meeting EPA “on-specification” used oil specifications, with a maximum sulfur content of 1.0 percent by weight, and a PCB concentration of no greater than 49 ppm.

On-specification used oil shall meet the following specifications:  
Arsenic shall not exceed 5.0 ppm;
Cadmium shall not exceed 2.0 ppm;
Chromium shall not exceed 10.0 ppm;
Lead shall not exceed 100.0 ppm;
Total halogens shall not exceed 1000 ppm;
Flash point shall not be less than 100 degrees F.
Used oil that does not meet the specifications for on-specification used oil, shall not be burned at this facility.  [40 CFR 279, Subpart B]
9. On- Specification Used Fuel Oil – Certification Required:  The owner or operator shall receive from the marketer, for each load of used oil received, a certification that the used oil meets the specifications for on-specification used oil and contains a PCB concentration of no greater than 49 ppm.  This certification shall also describe the basis for the certification, such as analytical results.  [Permit No. 0990087-013-AC]

10. Note that a claim that used oil does not contain quantifiable levels of PCBs (that is, that the used oil contains less than 2 ppm of PCBs) must be documented by analysis or other information.  The first person making the claim that the used oil does not contain PCBs is responsible for furnishing the documentation.  The documentation can be tests, personal or special knowledge of the source and composition of the used oil, or a certification from the person generating the used oil claiming that the used oil contains no detectable PCBs.  

Used fuel oil – Analysis Required:  If the owner or operator does not receive certification from the marketer as described above, the owner or operator shall sample and analyze each load of used oil received for the following parameters:  
· Arsenic, cadmium, chromium, lead, total halogens, flash point, PCBs, and percent sulfur content by weight, ash, and BTU value (BTU per gallon).
· Analysis shall be performed via EPA-approved or ASTM methods.
If the analytical results show that the used oil does not meet the specification for on-specification used oil, or that it contains a PCB concentration of 50 ppm or greater, the owner or operator shall immediately notify the Department of Health Palm Beach County and provide the analytical results to the Department.  The owner or operator shall immediately cease burning of the used oil.  Annual analysis of used fuel oil shall not be required if the facility did not burn used fuel oil in that calendar year.
	[Permit No. 0990087-013-AC, and Rule 62-4.070(3), F.A.C.]
11. Stack Height:  The permittee shall maintain a minimum stack height of 14.2 meters (44’ 6”) above the ground level. [Permit No. 0990087-013-AC]
COMPLIANCE/ PERIODIC MONITORING REQUIREMENTS
12. Visible Emissions: The permittee shall have a formal compliance test conducted on the dryer exhaust each federal fiscal year (October 1 – September 30) to demonstrate compliance with the opacity limitation. 
[Rule 62-210.300(3)(c)2.i., F.A.C.]  
The test shall meet the following requirements:
(a) The permittee shall use EPA Method 9, Visual Determination of the Opacity of Emissions from Stationary Sources, 40 CFR 60, Appendix A. [40 CFR 60.93(b)(2)]
(b) The observation period of the EPA Method 9 shall be at least thirty (30) minutes in duration. 
[Rule 62-297.310(5)(b)2, F.A.C.]
13. Particulate Matter Testing:  The permittee shall have a formal compliance test conducted on the dryer exhaust each federal fiscal year (October 1 – September 30) to demonstrate compliance with the grain loading and mass emission limitations. [Rule 62-210.300(3)(c)2., F.A.C.]
The test shall meet the following requirements:
(a) The permittee shall use EPA Method 5, Determination of Particulate Emissions from Stationary Sources, 40 CFR 60, Appendix E.  [40 CFR 60.93(b)(1)] 
(b) Each test shall consist of 3 separate runs with sample times and volumes of at least 60 minutes and 31.8 dry standard cubic feet per run. [40 CFR 60.93(b)(1)]
(c) The Department of Environmental Protection (DEP) issued an Order on February 22, 2011 ( Appendix G) approving the facility’s existing port locations for the annual EPA Method 5 particular matter compliance testing. 
The permittee shall receive a vendor certificate for each shipment of fuel oil including an analysis of the sulfur content. The permittee shall maintain copies of all the vendor certifications on-site. Upon request, this information shall be made available for inspection by the Department of Health Palm Beach County. 
[Rule 62-297.310(7), F.A.C. & Permit No. 0990087-013-AC]
14. Operating Records:  The permittee shall maintain the following records for at least three (3) years:
(a) Daily Records:  The permittee shall maintain daily records on the following:
· Day, Month and Year.
· Hours of Operation of the Dryer.
· Total Tons of Asphalt Produced.
· Total Gallons of Fuel Oil and/or On-Specification Used Oil fired.
· Total MMCF Natural Gas used.
(b) Monthly Records:  The permittee shall maintain monthly records on the following:
· Month and Year.
· Hours of Operation of the Dryer and the 12-month rolling total.
· Total Tons of Asphalt Produced and the 12-month rolling total.
· Total Gallons of Fuel Oil/On-Specification Used Oil Fired and the 12-month rolling total.
· Total MMCF Natural Gas used and the 12-month rolling total.
· Vendor Certificates on Fuel Oil/On-Specification Used Oil.
(1) 
(1) 
SECTION 3.  EMISSIONS UNIT SPECIFIC CONDITIONS

 	[Permit No. 0990087-013-AC and 62-4.160(14)(b)]
Group. B. This section of the permit addresses the following emission unit: 
	EU ID NO.
	STATUS
	BRIEF DESCRIPTION

	005
	Regulated
	Asphalt cement heater (1.4 mmBTUH) burning Natural Gas (Heatec Model No. HC-120) firing No. 2 fuel oil or better containing no more than 0.5% sulfur by weight.


OPERATING RESTRICTIONS
1. Hours of Operation:  The operating hours of the heater are not restricted. The permittee can operate 24 hours per day, 7 days per week, and can operate 8,760 hours per year.  [Permit No. 0990087-013-AC]
2. Fuel Oils:  The permittee is authorized to either fire only No. 2 fuel oil or natural gas as an alternative fuel. 
3. Sulfur Content:   Maximum sulfur content of any fuel fired within the heater shall not exceed 0.5 percent by weight. [Permit No. 0990087-013-AC]
COMPLIANCE/ PERIODIC MONITORING REQUIREMENTS
4. Monthly Records:  The permittee shall maintain monthly records for at least three (3) years on the following:
· Month.
· Total Gallons of No. 2 Fuel Oil Fired in the Asphalt Cement Heater and the 12-month rolling total.
· Vendor delivery invoices on No. 2 Fuel Oil identifying that ultra-low or low-sulfur fuel was delivered. 
· No. 2 Fuel Oil Quantities Received. 
· Total MMCF Natural Gas used.
[Permit No. 0990087-013-AC and 62-4.160(14)(b)]


Group. C. This section of the permit addresses the following emission unit: 
	EU ID NO.
	STATUS
	BRIEF DESCRIPTION

	006
	EXEMPT
	Materials Handling & Storage Operations including the storage piles, storage silos, conveyors, and transfer operations. 


OPERATING RESTRICTIONS
1. Hours of Operation:  The permittee is authorized to operate the materials handling and storage operations 24               hours per day, 7 days per week, and 52 weeks per year. [Permit No. 0990087-013-AC] 
2. Unconfined Emissions of Particulate Matter:  The permittee shall not cause, let, permit, suffer or allow the emissions of unconfined particulate matter from any activity, including vehicular movement; transportation of materials; construction, alteration, demolition or wrecking; or industrially related activities such as loading, unloading, storing or handling; without taking reasonable precautions to prevent such emissions.  Reasonable precautions include the following: [Rule 62-296.320(4)(c), F.A.C.]
· Paving and maintenance of roads, parking areas and yards.
· Application of water or chemicals to control emissions from such activities as demolition of buildings, grading roads, construction, and land clearing.
· Application of asphalt, water, chemicals or other dust suppressants to unpaved roads, yards, open stock piles and similar activities.
· Removal of particulate matter from roads and other paved areas under the control of the owner or operator of the facility to prevent reentrainment, and from buildings or work areas to prevent particulate from becoming airborne.
· Landscaping or planting of vegetation.
Note:  Facilities that cause frequent, valid complaints will be required by the Health Department to take these or other reasonable precautions.  In determining what constitutes reasonable precautions for a particular facility, the Health Department shall consider the cost of the control technique or work practice, the environmental impacts of the technique or practice, and the degree of reduction of emissions expected from a particular technique or practice.


Group. D. This section of the permit addresses the following emission unit: 
	EU ID NO.
	STATUS
	BRIEF DESCRIPTION

	007
	EXEMPT
	Volatile Organic Liquid Storage Tanks: one 30,000 gallons asphalt tank, two 20,000 gallons asphalt tanks, and two 400 gallons fuel oil tanks.


OPERATING RESTRICTIONS
1. Hours of Operation:  The permittee is authorized to operate the organic liquid storage tanks 24 hours per day, 7 days per week, and 52 weeks per year.  [Permit No. 0990087-013-AC]
2. Fuel Oils:  The permittee is authorized to store and handle the following fuels:
(a) Distillate Fuel Oil Grades 2 through 5.
(b) On-Specification Used Fuel Oil.
[Permit No. 0990087-013-AC]
3. Operating Records:  The permittee shall maintain the following monthly records for at least three (3) years:
(a) Month.
(b) Throughput for each tank on a 12-month rolling total.
(c) Vendor Certificates on Fuel Oil/On-Specification Used Oil
(d) Fuel Oil/On-Specification Used Oil Quantities Received. 
 [Permit No. 0990087-013-AC and 62-4.160(14)(b)]   
4. General VOC Standards:  The owner or operator shall not store, pump, handle, process, load, unload or use in any process or installation, volatile organic compounds (VOC) or organic solvents without applying known and existing vapor emission control devices or systems.  This includes:  
(a) Monthly inspection, maintenance and repair of the oil storage tanks and piping in order to minimize spills and leaks of volatile organic liquids.
[Rule 62-296.320(1), F.A.C. & Permit No. 0990087-013-AC]


Group. E. This section of the permit addresses the following emission unit: 
	EU ID NO.
	STATUS
	BRIEF DESCRIPTION

	008
	Regulated
	Rap Crusher (500TPH)
Fugitive particulate matter is emitted from crushing, screening, stockpiles, and the transfer points of belt conveyors, crushers, grinding mills, screening operations, bucket elevators, storage bins, and loading stations. The affected transfer points are points are subject to 40 CFR 60 Subpart OOO adopted and incorporated by reference In Rule 60-204.800(8)(b), F.A.C.L


This permit is not for a specific crusher, but to allow any crusher with capacity up to 500 tons per hour and a diesel engine with a capacity up to 350 hp.
EMISSIONS LIMITING STANDARDS
1. Rule Applicability:  The crusher and the appurtenances are subject to the regulations of 40 CFR 60 Subpart OOO 
“Standards for Nonmetallic Mineral Processing Plants” as included in Appendix F.
(a) The capacity of the crusher shall not exceed 500 tons per hour.
(b) The capacity of the diesel engine shall not exceed 350 hp.
[Rule 62-204.800(8)(b), F.A.C. & permit No. 0990087-011-AC]
2. Visible Emission (VE) Standards:  
(a) The VE Standards for the crushers and the affected facilities subject to 40 CFR Subpart OOO are presented in the table below. [40 CFR 60.672(a)]
	For
	The owner or operator must meet the following fugitive emissions limit for grinding mills, screening operations, bucket elevators, transfer points on belt conveyors, bagging operations, storage bins, enclosed truck or railcar loading stations or from any other affected facility (as defined in 40 CFR 60.670 and 60.671)
	The owner or operator must meet the following fugitive emissions limit for crushers.
	The owner or operator must demonstrate compliance with these limits by conducting

	Affected facilities (as defined in 40 CFR 60.670 and 60.671) that commenced construction, modification, or reconstruction after August 31, 1983 but before April 22, 2008
	10 percent opacity
	15 percent opacity
	An initial performance test according to 40 CFR 60.11 and 40 CFR 60.675.

	Affected facilities (as defined in 40 CFR 60.670 and 60.671) that commence construction, modification, or reconstruction on or after April 22, 2008
	7 percent opacity
	12 percent opacity
	An initial performance test according to 40 CFR 60.11 and 40 CFR 60.675; and
Periodic inspections of water sprays according to 40 CFR 60.674(b) and 40 CFR 60.676(b).


(b) VE standard for Transfer Points and Crusher Not Subject to subpart OOO:  Visible emissions from any crusher, grinding mill, screening operation, bucket elevator, transfer point on belt conveyors, bagging operation, storage bin, enclosed truck or railcar loading station, or any other emission point not subject to 40 CFR Part 60, Subpart OOO, shall be less than 20% opacity, pursuant to Rule 62-296.320(4)(b)1., F.A.C. [Rule 62-296.320(4), F.A.C.]
(c) VE Standards for Wet Operations:  The owner or operator shall ensure that wet screening operations and subsequent screening operations, bucket elevators, and belt conveyors that process saturated material in the production line up to the next crusher, grinding mill or storage bin and are subject to 40 CFR Part 60, Subpart OOO, adopted and incorporated by reference at Rule 62-204.800, F.A.C., do not discharge any visible emissions. The owner or operator shall also ensure that screening operations, bucket elevators, and belt conveyors in the production line downstream of wet mining operations, where such screening operations, bucket elevators, and belt conveyors process saturated materials up to the first crusher, grinding mill, or storage bin in the production line and are subject to 40 CFR Part 60, Subpart OOO, adopted and incorporated by reference at Rule 62-204.800, F.A.C., do not discharge any visible emissions. [40 CFR 60.672(a)]
(d) Truck dumping: Truck dumping of nonmetallic minerals into any screening operation, feed hopper, or crusher is exempt from the requirements 40 CFR 60 Subpart OOO. [40 CFR 60.672(d)]
OPERATING RESTRICTIONS
3.  Hours of Operation:  The permittee is authorized to operate the RAP Crusher and the diesel engine for 2600 hours per year.  [Permit No.  0990087-011-AC]
COMPLIANCE/ PERIODIC MONITORING REQUIREMENTS
4. Compliance Frequency:  
· The permittee shall demonstrate initial compliance with the emission standards on or after sixtieth day after achieving maximum production rate at which the facility will be operated, but not later than 180 days after initial startup. The renewal compliance shall be demonstrated within 60 days prior to the expiration of the operating permit. 
· A repeat performance test according to 40 CFR 60.11 and 40 CFR 60.675 within 5 years from the previous performance test for fugitive emissions from affected facilities without water sprays. Affected facilities controlled by water carryover from upstream water sprays that are inspected according to the requirements in 40 CFR 60.674(b) and 40 CFR 60.676(b) are exempt from this 5-year repeat testing requirement.
· The permittee shall use EPA Method 9, Visual Determination of the Opacity of Emissions from Stationary Sources, 40 CFR 60, Appendix B.  [40 CFR 60.672 (b), Rule 62-297.310, F.A.C.]
5. VE Observations:  In determining compliance with the particulate matter standards in specific condition section III. 2(a), the owner or operator shall use Method 9 and the procedures in 40 CFR 60.11, with the following additions:
(a) The minimum distance between the observer and the emission source shall be 4.57 meters (15 feet).
(b) The observer shall, when possible, select a position that minimizes interference from other fugitive emission sources (e.g., road dust). The required observer position relative to the sun (Method 9, Section 2.1) must be followed.
(c) For affected facilities using wet dust suppression for particulate matter control, a visible mist is sometimes generated by the spray. The water mist must not be confused with particulate matter emissions and is not 
to be considered a visible emission. When a water mist of this nature is present, the observation of emissions is to be made at a point in the plume where the mist is no longer visible.
[40 CFR 60.675 (c)(1)]
6. When determining compliance with the fugitive emissions standard for any affected facility specified in the condition section III. 2(a), the duration of the Method 9 (40 CFR part 60, Appendix B–4) observations must be 30 minutes (five 6-minute averages). Compliance with the applicable fugitive emission limits specified in condition section III. 2(a) shall be based on the average of the five 6-minute averages. [40 CFR 60.675 (c)(3)]
7. The permittee may use the following as alternatives to the reference methods and procedures specified. 
(a) If emissions from two or more facilities continuously interfere so that the opacity of fugitive emissions from an individual affected facility cannot be read, either of the following procedures may be used:
(i) Use for the combined emission stream the highest fugitive opacity standard applicable to any of the individual affected facilities contributing to the emissions stream.
(ii) Separate the emissions so that the opacity of emissions from each affected facility can be read.
(b) A single visible emission observer may conduct visible emission observations for up to three fugitives, stack, or vent emission points within a 15-second interval if the following conditions are met:
(i) No more than three emission points may be read concurrently.
(ii) All three emission points must be within a 70 degree viewing sector or angle in front of the observer such that the proper sun position can be maintained for all three points.
(iii) If an opacity reading for any one of the three emission points equals or exceeds the applicable standard, then the observer must stop taking readings for the other two points and continue reading just that single point. [40 CFR 60.675(e)]
8. Reporting and Recordkeeping Requirements
(a) The owner or operator shall notify the Health Department by telephone, e-mail, fax, or written communication at least one (1) business day prior to bringing the crusher to this facility and transmit (by e-mail, fax, post, or courier) the details of the crusher as mentioned below to the Health Department no later than five (5) business days following relocation of the crusher. 
i. The manufacturer, model no. and serial no. of the crusher, screen, and conveyor.
ii. Rated capacity of the crusher (tons per hour), total surface area of the top screen, and width of the conveyor belt, and the rated capacity of the storage bin (tons). 
iii. The startup date of crusher and other appurtenances (screens, conveyors, and storage bins).
(b) The owner or operator shall notify the Health Department by telephone, e-mail, fax or written communication at least within five (5) days of the removal of the crusher from the facility.
(c) The owner or operator shall notify the Health Department, at least 15 days prior to the date on which each formal compliance test is to begin, of the date, time, and place of each test, and the test contact person who will be responsible for coordinating and having such test conducted for the owner or operator pursuant to Rule 62-297.310(7)(a)9., F.A.C.
(d) The owner or operator shall submit the test report(s) to the Health Department, no later than 45 days after the last sampling run of each test is completed pursuant to Rules 62-297.310(8)(a) & (b), F.A.C.  The details of the reports shall be in accordance with Rule 62-297.310(8)(c), F.A.C
[Permit No. 0990087-011-AC]
9. When an existing facility is replaced by a piece of equipment of equal or smaller size, as defined in 40 CFR 60.671, having the same function as the existing facility, and there is no increase in the amount of emissions, the new facility is exempt from the provisions of 40 CFR 60.672, 60.674, and 60.675 except as provided for in paragraph (b) below.
(a) An owner or operator complying with paragraph above shall submit the information required in the specific condition E.10.
(b) An owner or operator replacing all existing facilities in a production line with new facilities does not qualify for the exemption and must comply with the provisions of 40 CFR 60.672, 60.674 and 60.675.
 [40 CFR 60.670(d)]
10.  Each owner or operator seeking to comply with the specific condition E.8. shall submit the following information about the existing facility being replaced and the replacement piece of equipment.
(a) For a crusher, grinding mill, bucket elevator, bagging operation, or enclosed truck or railcar loading station:
i. The rated capacity in tons per hour of the existing facility being replaced and
ii. The rated capacity in tons per hour of the replacement equipment.
(b) For a screening operation:
i. The total surface area of the top screen of the existing screening operation being replaced and
ii. The total surface area of the top screen of the replacement screening operation.
(c) For a conveyor belt:
i. The width of the existing belt being replaced and
ii. The width of the replacement conveyor belt.
(d) For a storage bin:
i. The rated capacity in tons of the existing storage bin being replaced and
ii. The rated capacity in tons of replacement storage bins.
   [40 CFR 60.676(a)]
11. A notification of the actual date of initial startup of each affected facility shall be submitted to the Health Department.
(a) For a combination of affected facilities in a production line that begin actual initial startup on the same day, a single notification of startup may be submitted by the owner or operator to the Health Department. The notification shall be postmarked within 15 days after such date and shall include a description of each affected facility, equipment manufacturer, and serial number of the equipment, if available.
(b) For portable aggregate processing plants, the notification of the actual date of initial startup shall include both the home office and the current address or location of the portable plant.
[40 CFR 60.676(h)]
12. A notification of any physical or operational change to an existing facility which may increase the emission rate of any air pollutant to which a standard applies, unless that change is specifically exempted under an applicable subpart or in 40 CFR 60.14(e) (Modifications). This notice shall be postmarked within 60 days or as soon as practicable before the change is commenced and shall include information describing the precise nature of the change, present and proposed emission control systems, productive capacity of the facility before and after the change, and the expected completion date of the change. The Health Department may request additional relevant information subsequent to this notice.	
The following shall not, by themselves, be considered modifications under this part:
(a) Maintenance, repair, and replacement, which the Health Department determines to be routine for a source category. 
(b) An increase in production rate of an existing facility, if that increase can be accomplished without a capital expenditure on that facility.
(c) An increase in the hours of operation.
(d) Use of an alternative fuel or raw material. 
(e) The addition or use of any system or device whose primary function is the reduction of air pollutants, except when an emission control system is removed or is replaced by a system, which the Health Department determines to be less environmentally beneficial.
(f) The relocation or change in ownership of an existing facility.  
[40 CFR 60.14]
13. The owner or operator of any affected facility shall submit written reports of the results of all performance tests conducted to demonstrate compliance with the standards set forth in 40 CFR 60.672, including reports of opacity observations made using Method 9 (40 CFR part 60, Appendix B–4). 
Owners or operators of affected facilities (as defined in 40 CFR 60.670 and 60.671) for which construction, modification, or reconstruction commenced on or after April 22, 2008, must record each periodic inspection required under 40 CFR 60.674(b) or (c), including dates and any corrective actions taken, in a logbook (in written or electronic format). The owner or operator must keep the logbook onsite and make hard or electronic copies (whichever is requested) of the logbook available to the Health Department upon request.
        [40 CFR 60.676(b)(1)]
14. The owner or operator of any wet material processing operation that processes saturated and subsequently processes unsaturated materials, shall submit a report of this change within 30 days following such change. At the time of such change, this screening operation, bucket elevator, or belt conveyor becomes subject to the applicable opacity limit in specific condition section III.2.
[40 CFR 60.676(g)] 
15. Operating Records The permittee shall maintain the following records for the RAP Crusher and Industrial 
 Engine for at least three (3) years:
(a) Daily Records:  The permittee shall maintain daily records on the following:
a. Date of operation and operator’s name
b. Total hours of operation.
c. Total gallons of each fuel oil fired.
(b) Monthly Records:  The permittee shall maintain daily on the following:  
a. Month of operation.
b. Total hours of operation.
c. Total gallons of each fuel oil fired.
[40 CFR 60.19(d), Rule 62-297.310, F.A.C. and Rule 62-4.160(14)(b)]
16. The following table specifies the provisions of subpart A of 40 CFR Part 60 that do not apply to owners and operators of affected facilities subject to the 40 CFR Subpart OOO or that apply with certain exceptions.
	Subpart A reference
	Applies to
subpart OOO
	Explanation

	60.4, Address
	Yes
	Except in 40 CFR 60.4(a) and (b) submittals need not be submitted to both the EPA Region and delegated State authority (40 CFR 60.676(k)).

	60.7, Notification and recordkeeping
	Yes
	Except in (a) (1) notification of the date, construction or reconstruction commenced (40 CFR 60.676(h)).

	  
	
	Also, except in (a)(6) performance tests involving only Method 9 (40 CFR part 60, Appendix B–4) require a 7-day advance notification instead of 30 days (40 CFR 60.675(g)).

	60.8, Performance tests
	Yes
	Except in (d) performance tests involving only Method 9 (40 CFR part 60, Appendix B–4) require a 7-day advance notification instead of 30 days (40 CFR 60.675(g)).

	60.11, Compliance with standards and maintenance requirements
	Yes
	Except in (b) under certain conditions (40 CFR 60.675(c)), Method 9 (40 CFR part 60, Appendix B–4) observation is reduced from 3 hours to 30 minutes for fugitive emissions.

	60.18, General control device
	No
	Flares will not be used to comply with the emission limits
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