STATE OF FLORIDA DEPARTMENT
OF ENVIRONMENTAL PROTECTION

ELECTRONIC MAIL
orlandofuneral@aol.com

In the Matter of an

Application for Permit by:

A Community Funeral Home and Sunset Cremations Orange County - AP

910 W. Michigan Street Human Cremator

Orlando, Florida 32805 DEP File Number 0951289-001-AC

Attention: Christopher Scott Hora, Vice President

INTENT TO ISSUE

The Department of Environmental Protection ({Department) gives notice of its
intent to issue a permit (copy enclosed) for the proposed project as detailed in the
application specified above. The Central District is issuing this Intent to Issue
for the reasons stated below.

The applicant, A Community Funeral Home and Sunset Cremations, applied on
August 18, 2005, to the Department for an air construction permit to construct
(install) a human cremator, which is a source of air emissions, at its Orlando
facility (Downtown Chapel). The facility is located at 910 W. Michigan Street,
Orlando, Orange County, Florida. The Department has assigned File Number 0951289-
001-AC to the project.

The Department has permitting jurisdiction under Section 403 Florida Statutes
(F.S.) and Chapter 62-4.210 and Chapter 62-210.300 Florida Administrative Code
(F.A.C.). The project is not exempt from permitting procedures. The Department has
determined that a construction permit is required for the proposed work.

Pursuant to Section 403.815, F.S. and Rule 62-103.150, F.A.C., you (the
applicant) are required to publish at your own expense the enclosed Notice of Intent
to Issue Permit. The Notice shall be published one time only within 30 days, in the
legal ad section of a newspaper of general circulation in the area affected. For
the purpose of this rule, "publication in a newspaper of general circulation in the
area affected” means publication in a newspaper meeting the requirements of Sections
50.011 and 50.031, F.S., in the county where the activity is to take place. If you
are uncertain that a newspaper meets these requirements, please contact the
Department at the address or telephone number listed below. The applicant shall
provide proof of publication to the Department, at 3319 Maguire Boulevard, Suite
232, Orlando, FL 32803-3767 within seven days of publication. Failure to publish
the notice and provide proof of publication within the allotted time may result in
the denial of the permit.

The Department will issue the permit with the attached conditions unless a
response is received in accordance with the following procedures results in a
different decision or significant change of terms or conditions.

The Department will accept written comments concerning the proposed permit
issuance action for a period of 14 days from the date of publication of "“PUBLIC
NOTICE OF INTENT TO ISSUE CONSTRUCTION PERMIT.” Written comments should be provided
to the Central District office at 3319 Maguire Boulevard, Orlando, Florida 32803.
Any written comments filed shall be made available for public inspection. If
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written comments received result in a significant change in the proposed agency
action, the Department shall revise the proposed permit and require, if applicable,
another Public Notice.

The Department will issue the permit with the attached conditions unless a
timely petition for an administrative hearing is filed pursuant to Sections 120.569
and 120.57 F.S., before the deadline for filing a petition. The procedures for
petitioning for a hearing are set forth below.

A person whose substantial interests are affected by the proposed permitting
decision may petition for an administrative proceeding (hearing) under Sections
120.569 and 120.57 of the Florida Statutes. The petition must contain the
information set forth below and must be filed (received) in the Office of General
Counsel to the Department at 3900 Commonwealth Boulevard, Mail Stop 35, Tallahassee,
Florida, 32399-3000, Fax: 850/245-2303. Petitions filed by the permit applicant or
any of the parties listed below must be filed within 14 days of receipt of this
notice of intent. Petitions filed by any persons other than those entitled to
written notice under Section 120.60(3) of the Florida Statutes must be filed within
14 days of publication of the public notice or within 14 days of receipt of this
notice of intent, whichever occurs first. Under Section 120.60(3), F.S., however,
any person who asked the Department for notice of agency action may file a petition
within 14 days of receipt of that notice, regardless of the date of publication. A
petitioner shall mail a copy of the petition to the applicant at the address
indicated above at the time of filing. The failure of any person to file a petition
within the appropriate time period shall constitute a waiver of that person’s right
to request an administrative determination (hearing) under Sections 120.569 and
120.57, F.S., or to intervene in this proceeding and participate as a party to it.
Any subsequent intervention will be only at the approval of the presiding officer
upon the filing of a motion in compliance with Rule 28-106.205 of the Florida
Administrative Code.

A petition that disputes the material facts on which the Department’s action
is based must contain the following information:

(a) The name and address of each agency affected and each agency's
file or identification number, if known;

(b) The name, address, and telephone number of the petitioner, the
name, address, and telephone number of the petitioner's
representative, if any, which shall be the address for service
purposes during the course of the proceeding; and an explanation
of how the petitioner’s substantial interests will be affected by
the agency determination;

(c) A statement of how and when petitioner received notice of the
agency action or proposed action;

{(d) A statement of all disputed issues of material fact. If there are
none, the petition must so indicate;

(e) A concise statement of the ultimate facts alleged, as well as the
rules and statutes which entitle the petitioner to relief; and

(£) A statement of the specific rules or statutes the petitioner
contends require reversal or modification of the agency’s proposed
action; and

(g) A statement of the relief sought by the petitioner, stating
precisely the action the petitioner wishes the agency to take with
respect to the agency’s proposed action.




A petition that does not dispute the material upon which the Department’s
action is based shall state that no such facts are in dispute and otherwise shall
contain the same information as set forth above, as required by Rule 28-106.301,
F.A.C.

Because the administrative hearing process is designed to formulate final
agency action, the filing of a petition means that the Department’s final action may
be different from the position taken by it in this notice. Persons whose
substantial interests will be affected by any such final decision of the Department
on the application have the right to petition to become a party to the proceeding,
in accordance with the requirements set forth above.

Mediation under Section 120.573 of the Florida Statutes is not available in
this proceeding.

In addition to the above, a person subject to regulation has a right to apply
for a variance from or waiver of the requirements of particular rules, on certain
conditions, under Section 120.542 F.S. The relief provided by this state statute
applies only to state rules, not statutes, and not to any federal regulatory
requirements. Applying for a variance or waiver does not substitute or extend the
time for filing a petition for an administrative hearing or exercising any other
right that a person may have in relation to the action proposed in this notice of

intent.

The application for a variance or waiver is made by filing a petition with the
Office of General Counsel of the Department, 3900 Commonwealth Boulevard, Mail
Station 35, Tallahassee, Florida 32399-3000, Fax: 850/245-2303. The petition must
specify the following information:

(a) The name, address, and telephone number of the petitioner;

{b) The name, address, and telephone number of the attorney or
qualified representative of the petitioner, if any;

(c) Each rule or portion of a rule from which a variance or waiver is
requested;

(d) The citation to the statute underlying (implemented by) the rule
identified in (c) above;
(e) The type of action requested;

(£) The specific facts that would justify a variance or waiver for the
petitioner;

(g) The reason why the variance or waiver would serve the purposes of
the underlying statute (implemented by the rule); and

(h) A statement whether the variance or waiver 1is permanent or

temporary and, if temporary, a statement of the dates showing the
duration of the variance or waiver requested.

The Department will grant a variance or waiver when the petition demonstrates
both that the application of the rule would create a substantial hardship or violate
principles of fairness, as each of those terms is defined in Section 120.542(2) of
the Florida Statutes, and that the purpose of the underlying statute will be or has
been achieved by other means by the petitioner.




Persons subject to regulation pursuant to any federally delegated or approved
air program should be aware that Florida is specifically not authorized to issue
variances or waivers from any requirements of any such federally delegated or
approved program. The requirements of the program remain fully enforceable by the
Administrator of Environmental Protection Agency and by any person under the Clean
Air Act unless and until the Administrator separately approves any variance or
waiver in accordance with the procedures of the federal program.

Executed in Orlando, Florida.

STATE OF FLORIDA DEPARPY

Air Resources Management
3319 Maguire Boulevard
Suite 232

Orlando, Florida 32803-3767
(407) 894-7555

DATE: //"'3“95

FILING AND ACKNOWLEDGEMENT FILED, on
this date, pursuant to Section

. 120.52(7), Florida Statutes, with the
designated Department Clerk, receipt of
which is hereby acknowledged.

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

This is to certify that this INTENT TO ISSUE and all copies were emailed with

P
a “Read Receipt” requirement before t of business on (2,{ 4 260)
. Z ST
to the listed persons by f”
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LTK/jar

Enclosures: Draft Permit
Notice of Intent

Cc: Hamp Pridgen, Air Section Manager, OCEPD, (Hamp.Pridgenfocfl.net)
Marco A. Salgado, Engineer, Matthews Cremation Division, {(msalgado@matw.com)

Rev. 3/99 4




STATE OF FLORIDA
DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL PROTECTION
PUBLIC NOTICE OF INTENT TO ISSUE CONSTRUCTION PERMIT

The Department of Environmental Protection gives notice of its intent to issue
an air construction permit to A Community Funeral Home and Sunset Cremations, 910 W.
Michigan Street, Orlando, Orange County, Florida 32805, to construct (install) a
human cremator, which is a source of air emissions, at its Orlando facility
(Downtown Chapel). The facility is located at 910 W. Michigan Street, Orlando,
Orange County, Florida. The Department has assigned File Number 095128%-001-AC to
the project.

The Department will issue the permit with the attached conditions unless a
response received in accordance with the following procedures results in a different
decision or significant change of terms or conditions.

The Department will accept written comments concerning the proposed permit
issuance action for a period of 14 days from the date of publication of “PUBLIC
NOTICE OF INTENT TO ISSUE CONSTRUCTION PERMIT." Written comments should be provided
to the District office at 3319 Maguire Boulevard, Suite 232, Orlando, Florida 32803.
Any written comments filed shall be made available for public inspection. If
written comments received result in a significant change in the proposed agency
action, the Department shall revise the proposed permit and require, if applicable,
another Public Notice.

The Department will issue the permit with the attached conditions unless a
timely petition for an administrative hearing is filed pursuant to Sections 120.569
and 120.57 Florida Statutes (F.S.), before the deadline for filing a petition. The
procedures for petitioning for a hearing are set forth below.

A person whose substantial interests are affected by the proposed permitting
decision may petition for an administrative proceeding (hearing) under Sections
120.569 and 120.57 of the Florida Statutes. The petition must contain the
information set forth below and must be filed (received) in the Office of General
Counsel of the Department at 3900 Commonwealth Boulevard, Mail Station 35,
Tallahassee, Florida, 32399-3000, Fax: 850/245-2303. Petitions filed by the permit
applicant or any of the parties listed below must be filed within 14 days of receipt
of this notice of intent. Petitions filed by any persons other than those entitled
to written notice under Section 120.60(3) of the Florida Statutes must be filed
within 14 days of publication of the public notice or within 14 days of receipt of
this notice of intent, whichever occurs first. Under Section 120.60(3), F.S.,
however, any person who asked the Department for notice of agency action may file a
petition within 14 days of receipt of that notice, regardless of the date of
publication. A petitioner shall mail a copy of the petition to the applicant at the
address indicated above at the time of filing. The failure of any person to file a
petition within the appropriate time period shall constitute a waiver of that
person’s right to request an administrative determination (hearing) under Sections
120.569 and 120.57 F.S., or to intervene in this proceeding and participate as a
party to it. Any subsequent intervention will be only at the approval of the
presiding officer upon the filing of a motion in compliance with Rule 28-106.205 of
the Florida Administrative Code (F.A.C.).

Note to Newspaper: DO NOT PRINT THIS FOOTER!
Page numbers are only inciuded for administrative purposes.
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A petition that disputes the material facts on which the Department’s action
is based must contain the following information:

(a) The name and address of each agency affected and each agency’s
file or identification number, if known;
(b) The name, address, and telephone number of the petitioner, the

name, address, and telephone number of the petitioner’'s
representative, if any, which shall be the address for service
purposes during the course of the proceeding; and an explanation
of how the petitioner’s substantial interests will be affected by
the agency determination;

(c) A statement of how and when petitioner received notice of the
agency action or proposed action;

(d) A statement of all disputed issues of material fact. If there are
none, the petition must so indicate;

{e) A concise statement of the ultimate facts alleged, as well as the
rules and statutes which entitle the petitioner to relief; and

(£) A statement of the specific rules or statutes the petitioner

contends require reversal or modification of the agency's proposed
action; and

(g) A statement of the relief sought by the petitioner, stating
precisely the action the petitioner wishes the agency to take with
respect to the agency’s proposed action.

A petition that does not dispute the material facts upon which the
Department’s action is based shall state that no such facts are in dispute and
otherwise shall contain the same information as set forth above, as required by Rule
28-106.301 F.A.C.

Because the administrative hearing process is designed to formulate final
agency action, the filing of a petition means that the Department’s final action may
be different from the position taken by it in this notice. Persons whose
substantial interests will be affected by any such final decision of the Department
on the application have the right to petition to become a party to the proceeding,
in accordance with the requirements set forth above.

Mediation under Section 120.573 of the Florida Statutes is not available in
this proceeding.

A" complete project file is available for public inspection during normal
business hours, 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m., Monday through Friday, except legal
holidays, at: the Department of Environmental Protection, 3319 Maguire Boulevard,
Suite 232, Orlando, Florida.

Note to Newspaper: DO NOT PRINT THIS FOOTER!
Page numbers are only included for administrative purposes.
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Department of
Environmental Protection

Central District

Jeb Bush 3319 Maguire Boulevard, Suite 232 Colleen M. Castille
Governor Orlando, Florida 32803-3767 Secretary
Permittee: Facility Number: 0951289
A Community Funeral Home and Permit Number: 09501289-001-AC
Sunset Cremations Expiration Date: November 30, 2006
910 W. Michigan Street County: Orange
Orlando, FL 32805 Latitude/Longitude:
28° 30' 52"N/81° 23' 29"W
Attention: Christopher Scott Hora, Project: Human Cremator

Vice President

This permit is issued under the provisions of Chapter(s) 403, Florida Statutes, and
Florida Administrative Code Rule(s) 62-210. The above named permittee is hereby
authorized to perform the work or operate the facility shown on the application and
approved drawing(s), plans, and other documents attached hereto or on file with the
department and made a part hereof and specifically described as follows:

The permittee may construct (install) one human crematory unit, an IEE Power Pak II
Cremator, manufactured by Matthews Cremation Division and equipped with an
afterburner to control emissions.

The facility is located at 910 W. Michigan Street, Orlando, Orange County, Florida.

Page 1 of 9
“More Protection, Less Process”

Printed on recycled paper.




GENERAL CONDITIONS:

The terms, conditions, requirements, limitations and restrictions set forth in this permit,
are “permit conditions” and are binding and enforceable pursuant to Sections 403.141, 403.727,
or 403.859 through 403.861, Florida Statutes (F.S.) The permittee is placed on notice that the
Department will review this permit periodically and may initiate enforcement action for any
violation of these conditions.

This permit is wvalid only for the specific processes and operations applied for and indicated
in the approved drawings or exhibits. Any unauthorized deviation from the approved drawings,
exhibits, specifications, or conditions of this permit may constitute grounds for revocation
and enforcement action by the Department.

As provided in subsections 403.087(6) and 403.722(5), F.S., the issuance of this permit does
not convey any vested rights or any exclusive privileges. Neither does it authorize any injury
to public or private property or any invasion of personal rights, nor any infringement of
federal, state, or local laws or regulations. This permit is not a waiver of or approval of
any other Department permit that may be required for other aspects of the total project which
are not addressed in this permit.

This permit conveys no title to land or water, does not constitute State recognition or
acknowledgment of title, and does not constitute authority for the use of submerged lands
unless herein provided and the necessary title or leasehold interests have been obtained from
the State. Only the Trustees of the Internal Improvement Trust Fund may express State opinion
as to title.

This permit does not relieve the permittee from liability for harm or injury to human health
or welfare, animal, or plant life, or property caused by the construction or operation of this
permitted source, or from penalties therefore; nor does it allow the permittee to cause
pollution in contravention of Florida Statutes and Department rules, unless specifically
authorized by an order from the Department.

The permittee shall properly operate and maintain the facility and systems of treatment and
control (and related appurtenances) that are installed and used by the permittee to achieve
compliance with the conditions of this permit, as required by Department rules. This provision
includes the operation of backup and auxiliary facilities or similar systems when necessary to
achieve compliance with the conditions of the permit and when required by Department rules.

The permittee, by accepting this permit, specifically agrees to allow authorized Department
personnel, upon presentation of credentials or other documents as may be required by law and
at reasonable times, access to the premises where the permitted activity is located or
conducted to:

(a) Have access to and copy any records that must be kept under conditions of this permit;
(b) Inspect the facility, equipment, practices, or operations regulated or required under
this permit; and

(c) Sample or monitor any substances or parameters at any location reasonably necessary to

assure compliance with this permit or Department rules.
Reasonable time may depend on the nature of the concern being investigated.

If, for any reason, the permittee does not comply with or will be unable to comply with any
condition or limitation specified in this permit, the permittee shall immediately provide the
Department with the following information:

(a) A description of and cause of noncompliance; and
(b) The period of noncompliance, including dates and times; or, if not corrected, the
anticipated time the noncompliance is expected to continue, and steps being taken to reduce,
eliminate, and prevent recurrence of the noncompliance.

The permittee shall be responsible for any and all damages which may result and may be subject
to enforcement action by the Department for penalties or for revocation of this permit.
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GENERAL CONDITIONS:

9.

10.

11.

12.

13.

14.

(a)

(b)

(c)

15.

In accepting this permit, the permittee understands and agrees that all records, notes,
monitoring data and other information relating to the construction or operation of this
permitted source which are submitted to the Department may be used by the Department as
evidence in any enforcement case involving the permitted source arising under the Florida
Statutes or Department rules, except where such use is prescribed by Section 403.111 and
403.73, F.S. Such evidence shall only be used to the extent it is consistent with the Florida
Rules of Civil Procedure and appropriate evidentiary rules.

The permittee agrees to comply with changes in Department rules and Florida Statutes after a
reasonable time for compliance; provided, however, the permittee does not waive any other
rights granted by Florida Statutes or Department rules.

This permit is transferable only upon Department approval in accordance with Rule 62-4.120 and
Rule 62-30.300, Florida Administrative Code (F.A.C.), as applicable. The permittee shall be
liable for any non-compliance of the permitted activity until the transfer is approved by the
Department.

This permit or a copy thereof shall be kept at the work site of the permitted activity.
This permit also constitutes:

() Determination of Best Available Control Technology (BACT)

() Determination of Prevention of Significant Deterioration (PSD)

() Certification of compliance with State Water Quality Standards (Section 401, PL 92-500)
() Compliance with New Source Performance Standards

The permittee shall comply with the following:

Upon request, the permittee shall furnish all records and plans required under Department
rules. During enforcement actions, the retention period for all records will be extended
automatically unless otherwise stipulated by the Department.

The permittee shall hold at the facility or other location designated by this permit records
of all monitoring information (including all calibration and maintenance records and all
original strip chart recordings for continuous monitoring information) required by the permit,
copies of all reports required by this permit, and records of all data used to complete the
application for this permit. These materials shall be retained at least three years from the
date of the sample, measurement, report, or application unless otherwise specified by
Department rule.

Records of monitoring information shall include:

the date, exact place, and time of sampling or measurements;

the person responsible for performing the sampling or measurements;
the dates analyses were performed;

. the person responsible for performing the analyses:;

the analytical techniques or methods used;

the results of such analyses.

A WN =

When requested by the Department, the permittee shall within a reasonable time furnish any
information required by law which is needed to determine compliance with the permit. If the
permittee becomes aware the relevant facts were not submitted or were incorrect in the permit
application or in any report to the Department, such facts or information shall be corrected
promptly.
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Permittee: A Community Funeral Home & Permit Number: 0951289-001-AC

Sunset Cremations Expiration Date: November 30, 2006

SPECIFIC CONDITIONS:

SPECIFIC EMISSION LIMITING AND PERFORMANCE STANDARDS

The cremator is permitted to operate continuously.
[Rule 62-210.200(203), F.A.C. and permit application received August 18,
2005.] -

The only fuels authorized to be fired are natural gas or LP gas.
[Rule 62-210.200(203), F.A.C. and permit application received August 18,
2005.]

Visible emissions shall not exceed 5 percent opacity except that visible
emissions not exceeding 20 percent opacity are allowed for up to three
minutes in any one hour period.
[Rule 62-296.401(1) (a), F.A.C.]

No person shall cause, suffer, allow or permit the discharge of air
pollutants which cause or <contribute to an objectionable odor. An
objectionable odor is any odor present in the outdoor atmosphere which by
itself or in combination with other odors, is or may be harmful or injurious
to human health or welfare, which unreasonably interferes with the
comfortable use and enjoyment of life or property, or which creates a
nuisance.

[Rules 62-296.320(2) and 62-296.401(1) (b), F.A.C.]

Particulate matter emissions shall not exceed 0.080 grains per dry standard
cubic foot of flue gas (gr/dscf), corrected to 7 percent oxygen (0,).
[Rule 62-296.401(5) (a), F.A.C.]

Carbon monoxide (CO) emissions shall not exceed 100 parts per million by
volume (ppmv), dry basis, corrected to 7 percent oxygen (0O;) on an hourly
average basis.

[Rule 62-296.401(5) (b), F.A.C.]

The volume in the secondary chamber (or last) combustion zone shall be
sufficient to provide for at least a 1.0 second gas residence time at 1800
degrees Fahrenheit. The actual operating temperature of the secondary chamber

" combustion zone shall be no less than 1600 degrees Fahrenheit throughout the

combustion process in the primary chamber. Primary chamber and stack shall
not be used in calculating this residence time. Cremation in the primary
chamber shall not begin unless the secondary chamber combustion zone
temperature is equal to or greater than 1600 degrees Fahrenheit.

[Rule 62-296.401(5) (c), F.A.C.]
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Permittee: A Community Funeral Home & Permit Number: 0951289-001-AC

10.

Sunset Cremations . Expiration Date: November 30, 2006

Human crematories shall cremate only dead human bodies with appropriate
containers. The bodies may be clothed. The containers may contain no more
than 0.5 percent by weight chlorinated plastics as demonstrated by the
manufacturer's data sheet. If the containers are incinerated, documentation
from the manufacturer's certifying that they are composed of 0.5 percent or
less by weight chlorinated plastics must be kept on-file at the site for the
duration of their use and for at least two years after their use. This
documentation must also be submitted with any application for an initial or
renewal air operation permit or air general permit notification form. No
other material, including biomedical waste* as defined in rule 62-210.200,
F.A.C., shall be incinerated.

[Rule 62-296.401(5) (e), F.A.C.]

*"Biohazardous Waste" - Any solid waste or liquid waste which may present a
threat of infection to humans, including nonliquid tissue, body parts, blood,
blood products, and body fluids from humans and other primates; laboratory
and veterinary wastes which contain human disease-causing agents; and
discarded sharps. The following are also included:

(a) Used absorbent materials saturated with blood, blood products,
body fluids, or excretions or secretions contaminated with
visible blood; and absorbent materials saturated with blood or
blood products that have dried.

(b) Non~absorbent, disposable devices that have been contaminated
with blood, body fluids, or secretions or excretions visibly
contaminated with blood, but have not been treated by a method
listed in Section 381.0098, F.S., or a method approved pursuant
to Rule 64E-16, F.A.C.

[Rule 62-210.200(45), F.A.C.]

All crematory operators shall be trained by the equipment manufacturer's
representatives or another qualified organization. Only operators trained by
a Department-approved training program shall be allowed to operate a human
crematory.

[Rule 62-296.401(5) (f), F.A.C.]

A copy of the training certificate for each operator having satisfactorily
completed the Department-approved training program must be submitted to the
Orange County Environmental Protection Division within 15 days of completion
of training. The owner of any new or modified crematory unit shall submit
copies of the operator training certificates within 15 days after completion
of the initial compliance test pursuant to the wunit’s air construction
permit. If a crematory unit is modified to the extent that a Department air
construction permit is required, the operators shall be retrained to operate
the modified unit.

{Rule 62-296.401(5) (f)2., F.A.C.]

[Permitting Note: Submit training certificate(s) to the Orange County Environmental Protection
Division for crematory units located in Orange County.]
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Permittee: A Community Funeral Home & Permit Number: 0951289-001-AC

11.

12.

13.

14.

15.

16.

Sunset Cremations Expiration Date: November 30, 2006

An operator’s certificate must be kept on file at the facility for the
duration of the operator’s employment and for an additional two years after
termination of employment.

[Rule 62-296.401(5) (£f)3., F.A.C.]

The permittee shall not allow any person to circumvent the afterburner. The
afterburner and temperature. monitoring equipment shall be operational and
functioning properly prior to the incineration or ignition of the human
remains, and until all the remains are incinerated.

[Rule 62-210.650, F.A.C.]

EMISSION MONITORING AND APPLICABLE TEST PROCEDURES

At least 15 days prior to the date on which each formal compliance test is
due to begin, the permittee shall provide written notification of the test to
Orange County Environmental Protection Division. The notification must
include the following information: the date, time, and location of each test;
the name and telephone number of the facility's contact person who will be
responsible for coordinating the test; and the name, company, and telephone
number of the person conducting the test.

[Rule 62-297.310(7)(a)9., F.A.C.]

Testing of emissions shall be conducted with the source operating at the
manufacturer's recommended capacity.
[Rule 62-296.401(5) (h), F.A.C.]

The operating (incineration) rate shall not exceed 100 pounds per hour for
compliance testing for each unit. Testing of emissions shall be conducted
with the emissions units operating at permitted capacity. Permitted capacity
is defined as 90 to 100 percent of the maximum operation rate allowed by the
permit. If it is impractical to test at permitted capacity, an emissions unit
may be tested at less than the minimum permitted capacity; in this case,
subsequent emissions unit operation is limited to 110 percent of the test
load until a new test is conducted. Once a unit is so limited, operation at
higher capacities is allowed for no more than 15 consecutive days for the
purpose of additional compliance testing to regain the authority to operate
at the permitted capacity.

{Rule 62-297.310(2), F.A.C.]

New and existing facilities shall demonstrate individual emission wunit
compliance with the visible emissions standard upon initial compliance and
annually thereafter. Facilities permitted pursuant to Rule 62-210.300(4),
F.A.C., Air General Permits, shall demonstrate compliance within 60 days
prior to the submittal date of the air general permit notification form and
within 60 days prior to each anniversary of such date.

[Rule 62-296.401(5) (i) (1), F.A.C.]
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Permittee: A Community Funeral Home & Permit Number: 0951289~001-AC

17.

18.

19.

20.

21.

22.

23.

24.

25.

26.

Sunset Cremations Expiration Date: November 30, 2006

New and existing facilities shall demonstrate individual emission unit
compliance with the remaining applicable standards upon initial compliance
and prior to renewing the operating permit or, if the facility is permitted
pursuant to Rule 62-210.300(4), F.A.C., Air General Permits, within 60 days
prior to the submittal date of the air general permit notification form.
[Rule 62-296.401 (5) (i) (2), F.A.C.]

Temperature sensors and recorders shall be calibrated and adjusted to
indicate the true value of the temperature being measured with sufficient
accuracy to allow the temperature to be determined within 10 percent of its
true value.

[Rule 62-297.310(5) (b), F.A.C.]

The permittee shall have a formal compliance test for visible emissions
conducted on the unit within 180 days after receipt of this permit.
[Rule 62-296.401(6)(i)1l., F.A.C.]

The test method for visible emissions shall be DEP Method 9, incorporated in
Chapter 62-297, F.A.C.
{Rule 62-296.401(6) (g)1l., F.A.C.]

The required minimum period of observation for an opacity compliance test
shall be thirty (30) minutes. The opacity test observation period shall begin
when incineration begins in the primary chamber.

[Rule 62-297.310(4) (a)2., F.A.C.]

Compliance with the particulate matter emission limitation shall be
determined by using EPA Method 5, incorporated and adopted by reference in
Chapter 62-297, F.A.C. The minimum sample volume shall be 30 dry standard
cubic feet.

[Rule 62-296.401(5) (g)4., F.A.C.]

Compliance with the CO emission limitation shall be determined by using EPA
Method 10, incorporated and adopted by reference in Chapter 62-297, F.A.C.
[Rule 62-296.401(5) (g)2, F.A.C.]

The test method for oxygen shall be EPA Method 3, incorporated and adopted by
reference in Chapter 62-297, F.A.C
[Rule 62-296.401(5) (g)3., F.A.C.]

Compliance with the carbon monoxide (CO) and particulate emissions standards
demonstrated by submission of a test report for an identical (name, model,
and capacity) crematory unit operating in compliance with a valid Department
air permit and tested pursuant to that permit. The test data in the test
report must be less than 5 years old and may or may not be obtained from the
unit that is being permitted.

[Rule 62-296.401(5) (j), F.A.C.]

If the emission unit is to be stack tested the stack test ports and facilities
shall be operated in accordance with Rule 62-297.310(6), F.A.C.
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Permittee: A Community Funeral Home & Permit Number: 0951289-001-AC

27.

28.

29.

30.

Sunset Cremations Expiration Date: November 30, 2006

ADDITIONAL MONITORING

Continuous Emissions Monitor (CEM) Requirements. Each human crematory
facility shall install, operate, and maintain continuous monitors to record
temperature at the point where 1.0 second gas residence time is obtained in
the secondary chamber combustion zone in accordance with the manufacturer's
instructions. The owner or operator shall maintain a complete file of all
measurements, 1including CEM system, monitoring device, and performance
testing measurements; all CEM system performance evaluations; all CEM system
or monitoring device calibration checks; adjustments, preventative
maintenance, and corrective maintenance performed on these systems or
devices; recorded in a permanent legible form suitable for inspection.
Continuous temperature monitoring documentation shall include operator name,
operator indication of when cremation in the primary chamber begins, date,
time, and temperature markings. The file shall be retained for at least two
years following the date of such measurements, maintenance, reports and
records.

[Rule 62-296.401(5) (k), F.A.C.]

REPORTS AND RECORD KEEPING

The continuous temperature chart documentation shall include at a minimum the
following:

. Date markings

Time markings

temperature scale markings;

Operator name; and

Operator indication of when cremation of the remains in the primary
chamber began and when cremation of the remains ceased.

. .

moQwy

Temperature charts shall be retained for at least a two-year period and made
available upon request {Rule 62-296.401(5) (k), F.A.C.].

Reports of the required compliance tests shall be filed with the Orange
County Environmental Protection Division office as soon as practical but no
later than 45 days after the last sampling run of each test is completed.
[Rule 62-297.310(8) (b), F.A.C.]

A compliance test report shall provide sufficient detail on the source tested
and the test procedures used to allow the Orange County Environmental
Protection Division to determine if the test was properly conducted and the
test results properly computed. As a minimum, the test report, other than for

an EPA or DEP Method 9 test, shall provide the applicable information listed
in Rule 62-297.310(8) (c), F.A.C.

{Rule 62-297.310(8) (c), F.A.C.]
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Permittee: A Community Funeral Home & Permit Number: 0951289-001-AC

31.

32.

Sunset Cremations Expiration Date: November 30, 2006

In case of excess emissions resulting from malfunctions, the permittee shall
notify the Orange County Environmental Protection Division in accordance with
Rule 62-4.130, F.A.C. A full written report of the malfunctions shall be
submitted in a quarterly report, if requested by Orange County Environmental
Protection Division.

[Rule 62-210.700(6), F.A.C.]

PERMIT APPLICATION

The construction shall reasonably conform to the plans and schedule submitted
in the application. If the permittee is unable to complete construction on
schedule, he must notify the department in writing at least 90 days prior to
the expiration of the construction permit and submit an application for an
extension of the construction permit.

An operating permit or general permit is required for operation of this
source. To obtain a permit, the permittee must demonstrate compliance with
the conditions of the construction permit and submit the application fee,
along with the compliance test results and Application for Air Permit to the
Department's Central Florida District Office [Rule 62-4.220, F.A.C.]. The
application shall be submitted no later than 180 days after being placed in
operation.

STATE OF FLORIDA DEPARTMENT
OF ENVIRONMENTAL PROTECTION

L.T. Kozlov, P.E.
Program Administrator
Air Reources Management

Issued:
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