Permittee:


Facility Number:  0950156

Orlando Paving Company
Permit Number:  0950156-006-AO

Post Office Box 547186

Expiration Date:  November 30, 2006

Orlando, Florida 32854

County:  Orange



Latitude/Longitude:



28° 37' 50"N/81° 27' 08"W

Attn:
Reginald H. Sterns, III,
UTM:  17-455.8 KmE;
3167.1 KmN


Vice President
Project:  Drum Mix Asphalt Plant No. 5

                                                       (Lockhart)

This permit is issued under the provisions of Chapter(s) 403, Florida Statutes, and Florida Administrative Code Rule(s) 62-210.  The above named permittee is hereby authorized to perform the work or operate the facility shown on the application and approved drawing(s), plans, and other documents attached hereto or on file with the department and made a part hereof and specifically described as follows:

The permittee can operate a drum mix asphalt plant equipped with a Gencor Skidded Ultradrum 9'9" X 44' counterflow drum, a Genco (Gencor) Ultra II-135 oil/gas fired burner, and a Gencor primary dust collector followed by an Astec Model SBH-56 baghouse with an air to cloth ratio of 4.2 to 1 equipped with Nomex bags, and having a particulate reduction efficiency of 99.9 percent in the 3 to 500 micron range.  The plant also has a 2MMBTU/HR hot oil heater.  This permit supercedes previously issued permit 0950156-005-AC.

The facility is located at 8008 Apopka Boulevard in Lockhart, Orange County, Florida.

General Conditions, which are pages 2 and 3, are mailed only to the permittee.

 1.
The facility is subject to the following provisions of 40 CFR 60, Subchapter C - Air Programs, Subpart A - General Provisions, the complete text of which is provided in Appendix A:

      a)   40 CFR 60.8 - Performance tests;

      b)   40 CFR 60.9 - Availability of information;

      c)   40 CFR 60.10 - State authority;

      d)   40 CFR 60.11 - Compliance with standards and maintenance requirements;

      e)   40 CFR 60.12 - Circumvention; and

      f)   40 CFR 60.14 - Modification;

 2.  The facility is subject to the provisions of 40 CFR 60, Subchapter C-Air Programs, Subpart I - Standards of Performance for Hot Mix Asphalt Facilities, the complete text of which is provided in Appendix A.

      a)   40 CFR 60.92 - Standard for particulate matter: and

      b)   40 CFR 60.93 - Test methods and procedures.

Operating Conditions
 3.
The emission unit maximum operating limits are as follows: 

a)
The process rate shall not exceed 0.500 million tons of a virgin or recycle mix asphalt product per any consecutive twelve month period.

b)
Total fuel oil consumption shall not exceed 1.2 million gallons in any consecutive twelve month period of the combination of new (virgin) no. 2 through new (virgin) no. 6 fuel oils and on-specification used oil.

c)
The plant is permitted to use natural gas, propane, new (virgin) no. 2 through new (virgin) no. 6 fuel oils and on-specification used oil only.

d)   The maximum sulfur content of all fuel oils consumed shall not exceed 1.0 percent by weight.

[Rule 62-210.200, F.A.C. - Definitions - (PTE) and construction permit application received January 5, 2001.]

 4.  The following used oil specifications are applicable.  Used oil within the allowable levels is “on-specification” and used oil exceeding any allowable level is “off-specification.” 

Constituent/Property 
Allowable Levels
Test Methods





  Arsenic
    5 ppm maximum
       EPA  SW-846

  Cadmium
    2 ppm maximum
       EPA  SW-846

  Chromium
   10 ppm maximum
       EPA  SW-846

  Lead
  100 ppm maximum
       EPA  SW-846

  Flash Point
  100° F minimum
       EPA  SW-846

  Total Halogens
4,000 ppm maximum*
       EPA  SW-846

  PCB
 < 50 ppm
       EPA  SW-846


* Used oil containing between 1,000 and 4,000 ppm of total halogens is presumed to be a hazardous waste because it has been mixed with halogenated hazardous waste and cannot be utilized unless the applicant first rebuts this presumption by demonstrating that Used Oil does not contain hazardous waste and receives written approval from the Department.

      [Rule 62-710.210(3), F.A.C.; 40 CFR Part 279.11]

 5.
When used oil is fired the facility must operate in compliance with all applicable regulations and Department policy including the requirements of Rule 62-710, Part V, F.A.C. and 40 CFR 266 Subparts D and E and any new regulations subsequently adopted, and the following conditions shall apply:

a)
Each time used oil is transferred to the facility storage tank a sample of used oil to be burned shall be analyzed for arsenic, chromium, cadmium, total halogens, PCB, flash point, and lead using EPA/DEP or ASTM approved methods prior to being fired.  Alternately, the used oil vendors' analysis for the referenced parameters may be utilized to satisfy this condition.  Results of the used oil sampling and analysis shall be retained on site for a three year period.

b)
The total quantity of used oil burned during each calendar year, on a monthly basis, shall be included in the Annual Operations Report for Air Emissions Sources.

c)
The firing of used oil which contains PCB at concentrations greater than   2 ppm and less than 50 ppm is regulated by 40 CFR 761. The source can not fire used oil which contains PCB concentrations in this range during startup or shutdown in accordance with 40 CFR 761.20(e)(3), and the source must submit to this office a copy of the written notice described in 40 CFR 761.20(e)(3)].

 6.
No person shall cause, let, permit, suffer or allow the emissions of unconfined particulate matter from any source whatsoever, including, but not limited to, vehicular movement, transportation of materials, construction alteration, demolition or wrecking, or industrially related activities such as loading, unloading, storing or handling, without taking reasonable precautions to prevent such emission [Rule 62-296.320(4)(c)1., F.A.C.]. The area must be watered down should unconfined emissions occur.

 7.
No person shall circumvent any pollution control device or allow the emissions of air pollutants without the applicable air pollution control device operating properly.

      [Rule 62-210.650, F.A.C.]

Emission Limits

8.
No person shall cause, suffer, allow or permit the discharge of air pollutants which cause or contribute to an objectionable odor.  An objectionable odor is defined as any odor present in the outdoor atmosphere which by itself or in combination with other odors, is or may be harmful or injurious to human health or welfare, which unreasonably interferes with the comfortable use and enjoyment of life or property, or which creates a nuisance.


[Rule 62‑296.320(2) F.A.C. and Rule 62‑210.200, F.A.C.]

 9.  The maximum permitted emissions are not to exceed 75 tons of particulate matter, sulfur dioxide, nitrogen oxide, or volatile organic matter per consecutive  twelve month period.

Compliance Testing

10. 
The emission units must be tested for particulate emissions and concurrently for visible emissions at least 60 days prior to this permit expiration date.

[Rule 40 CFR 60.8 and Rule 62-297.310(7)(a)3, F.A.C.]

11.   EPA Method 5 shall be used to determine the particulate matter concentration.  The sampling time and sample volume for each run shall be at least 60 minutes and 0.90 dscm (31.8 dscf).

      [Rule 62-297.401, F.A.C.; 40 CFR 60.93 (b)(1)]

12.  
EPA Method 9 and the procedures in 40 CFR 60.11 shall be used to determine opacity. DEP Method 9 shall be conducted for thirty minutes.

      [Rule 62-297.401 F.A.C.; 40 CFR 60.93(b)(2)]

13.
At least 15 days prior to the date on which each formal compliance test is due to begin, the permittee shall provide written notification of the test to the Orange County Environmental Protection Division.  The notification must include the following information:  the date, time and location of each test; the name and telephone number of the facility's contact person who will be responsible for coordinating the test;  and the name, company, and telephone number of the person conducting the test.

      [Rule 62-297.310(7)(a)9, F.A.C.]

14.
The maximum operating rate is 233 tons per hour.  Testing of emissions shall be conducted with the emissions unit operation at permitted capacity.  Permitted capacity is defined as 90 to 100 percent of the maximum operation rate allowed by the permit.  If it is impractical to test at permitted capacity, an emissions unit may be tested at less than the minimum permitted capacity;  in this case, subsequent emissions unit operation is limited to 110 percent of the test load until a new test is conducted.  Once the unit is so limited, operation at higher capacities is allowed for no more than 15 consecutive days for the purpose of additional compliance testing to regain the authority to operate at the permitted capacity.

      [Rule 62‑297.310(2), F.A.C.]

15.
The stack sampling facility must comply with Rule 62-297.310(6), F.A.C., regarding minimum requirements that include but are not limited to:  location of sampling ports, work platform area hand rails and toe rails, caged ladder, access and electrical power.

16.
A differential pressure gauge is required to measure the pressure drop across the baghouse,  a minimum of 10 days before the stack test is performed.

      [Rule 62‑297.310(5)(b), F.A.C.]

Recordkeeping and Document Submittal
17.
The permittee shall maintain records to demonstrate that the sulfur content, by weight, of each shipment of new and on-spec used oil is 1.0 percent or less and that the sulfur content was determined in accordance with the methods listed in specific condition 18.


[Rule 62-210.300(3)(c)1.c., F.A.C.]

18.
The fuel sulfur content, percent by weight, for liquid fuels shall be evaluated using one of ASTM D2622-94, ASTM D4294-90(95), ASTM 1552-95, ASTM D1266-91, or both ASTM D4057-88 and ASTM D129-95 or latest editions.  Alternately, after written notification to the Department, the permittee may use other DEP Air Program-approved methods, i.e. alternate sampling procedures, for sulfur in petroleum products.


[Rules 62-210.300(3)(c)1.c., and 62-297.440, F.A.C.]

19.
In order to demonstrate compliance with operating condition numbers 3 and 5 on pages 4 and 5, the permittee shall maintain a log at the facility for a period of at least 5 years from the date the data is recorded.  The log at a minimum shall contain the following:

      Monthly

a)
designation of the month and year of operation for which the records are being tabulated

  
b)
consecutive 12 month total of fuel burned (natural gas, used oil, diesel) and asphalt product produced (tons)


Note:  A consecutive 12 month total is equal to the total for the month in question plus the totals for the eleven months previous to the month in question.  A consecutive 12-month total treats each month of the year as the end of a 12-month period.  A 12-month total is not a year-to-date total.  Facilities that have not been operating for 12 months should retain 12 month totals using whatever number of months of data are available until such a time as a consecutive 12 month total can be maintained each month.

20. 
Supporting documentation (chemical usage tracking logs, MSDS sheets, purchase orders, EPA "As Supplied” data sheets) shall be kept for each chemical and associated products which includes sufficient information to determine usage rates and emissions.  These records shall be made available to the Department upon request.  Documentation of each chemical reclaimed will use a mass balance method to determine usage/emissions (amount used minus amount collected for disposal or recycle).  The log and documents shall be kept at the facility for at least five years and made available to the Department.  Daily logs shall be completed within seven business days and the monthly logs shall be completed by the end of the following month.

   
[Rules 62‑4.070(3), and 62‑213.440(1)(b)2., F.A.C.]

21.
The owner or operator shall submit a copy of the compliance test results to the air compliance section of the Orange County Environmental Protection Division within 45 days after the last sampling run of each test is completed.       [Rule 62-297.310(8)(b), F.A.C]

22.
The owner or operator shall complete DEP Form No. 62-210.900(5), F.A.C. “Annual Operating Report for Air Pollutant Emitting Facility”, including the Emissions Report, for each calendar year and submit to the Orange County Environmental Protection Division on or before March 1 of the following year.

      [Rule 62‑210.370(3), F.A.C.]

Permit Application

23. 
At least sixty days prior to the expiration date of this permit, the permittee shall submit to this office four air permit applications, DEP Form No. 62-210.900(3), along with the processing fee established in Rule 62-4.050(4), F.A.C. 

[Rule 62-4.090(1), F.A.C.]



STATE OF FLORIDA DEPARTMENT




OF ENVIRONMENTAL PROTECTION


L.T. Kozlov, P.E.


Program Administrator




Air Resources Management




Issued: 


CERTIFICATION

Application Number:  0950156-006-AO
APPLICANT:  Orlando Paving Company

PROJECT:  Drum Mix Asphalt Plant No. 5 (Lockhart)


I HEREBY CERTIFY that the engineering features described in the referenced application for an Air Operation Permit provide reasonable assurance of compliance with the applicable provisions of Chapter 403, Florida Statutes, and Florida Administrative Code Title 62.  However, I have not evaluated and I do not certify aspects of the proposal outside of my area of expertise (including but not limited to the electrical, mechanical, structural, hydrological, and geological features).




______________________________




ALAN ZAHM, P.E.




SEAL 36903
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