SECTION 3.  EMISSIONS UNIT SPECIFIC CONDITIONS
A.  EU 001 – Air Curtain Incinerator
PERMITTEE
	Sandhill Recycling, LLC
153326 CR 108
Yulee, Florida 32097
Authorized Representative:
David Edwards, President
	Air Permit No. 0890445-002-AO
Air Operation Permit
Sandhill Recycling
Nassau County, Florida


PROJECT
This is the final air operation permit, which authorizes the operation of Sandhill Recycling, LLC, which is categorized under Standard Industrial Classification No. 4953.  This project authorizes the operation of an Air Burners Model S-327 air curtain incinerator powered by an 85 horsepower, 4-cylinder diesel motor certified US EPA Tier 4 compliant.  The facility is located in Nassau County at 153326 CR 108 in Yulee, Florida.  The UTM coordinates are Zone 17, 430.98 km East and 3395.37 km North.  
This final permit is organized into the following sections:  Section 1 (General Information); Section 2 (Administrative Requirements); Section 3 (Emissions Unit Specific Conditions); and Section 4 (Appendices).  Because of the technical nature of the project, the permit contains numerous acronyms and abbreviations, which are defined in Appendix A of Section 4 of this permit.
Permitting Authority:  Applications for air operation permits are subject to review in accordance with the provisions of Chapter 403, Florida Statutes (F.S.) and Chapters 62-4 and 62-210 of the Florida Administrative Code (F.A.C.).  The Permitting Authority responsible for making a permit determination for this project is the Northeast District.  The Permitting Authority’s physical address is:  8800 Baymeadows Way West, Suite 100, Florida 32256.  The Permitting Authority’s mailing address is: 8800 Baymeadows Way West, Suite 100, Florida 32256.  The Permitting Authority’s telephone number is 904-256-1700.
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Petitions.  A person whose substantial interests are affected by the proposed decision may petition for an administrative hearing in accordance with Sections 120.569 and 120.57, F.S.  The petition must contain the information set forth below and must be filed (received) in the Department’s Office of General Counsel, MS #35, 3900 Commonwealth Boulevard, Tallahassee, Florida 32399-3000, Agency_Clerk@dep.state.fl.us.  Petitions filed by the applicant or any of the parties listed below must be filed within 14 days of receipt of this notice.  Petitions filed by any other person must be filed within 14 days of receipt of this proposed action.  A petitioner must mail a copy of the petition to the applicant at the address indicated above, at the time of filing.  The failure of any person to file a petition within the appropriate time period shall constitute a waiver of that person’s right to request an administrative determination (hearing) under Sections 120.569 and 120.57, F.S., or to intervene in this proceeding and participate as a party to it.  Any subsequent intervention will be only at the approval of the presiding officer upon the filing of a motion in compliance with Rule 28-106.205, F.A.C.
A petition that disputes the material facts on which the Department’s action is based must contain the following information:  (a) The name and address of each agency affected and each agency’s file or identification number, if known; (b) The name, address, and telephone number of the petitioner; the name, address and telephone number of the petitioner’s representative, if any, which shall be the address for service purposes during the course of the proceeding; and an explanation of how the petitioner’s substantial interests will be affected by the agency determination; (c) A statement of how and when each petitioner received notice of the agency action or proposed action; (d) A statement of all disputed issues of material fact.  If there are none, the petition must so indicate; (e) A concise statement of the ultimate facts alleged, as well as the rules and statutes which entitle the petitioner to relief; (f) A statement of the specific rules or statutes the petitioner contends require reversal or modification of the agency’s proposed action; and, (g) A statement of the relief sought by the petitioner, stating precisely the action petitioner wishes the agency to take with respect to the agency’s proposed action.   
A petition that does not dispute the material facts upon which the permitting authority’s action is based shall state that no such facts are in dispute and otherwise shall contain the same information as set forth above, as required by Rule 28-106.301, F.A.C.
Because the administrative hearing process is designed to formulate final agency action, the filing of a petition means that the Department’s final action may be different from the position taken by it in this notice.  Persons whose substantial interests will be affected by any such final decision of the permitting authority on the application have the right to petition to become a party to the proceeding, in accordance with the requirements set forth above.
Mediation:  Mediation is not available in this proceeding.
Effective Date:  This permitting decision is final and effective on the date filed with the clerk of the Permitting Authority unless a petition is filed in accordance with the above paragraphs or unless a request for extension of time in which to file a petition is filed within the time specified for filing a petition pursuant to Rule 62-110.106, F.A.C., and the petition conforms to the content requirements of Rules 28-106.201 and 28-106.301, F.A.C.  Upon timely filing of a petition or a request for extension of time, this action will not be effective until further order of the Permitting Authority.
Judicial Review:  Any party to this permitting decision (order) has the right to seek judicial review of it under Section 120.68, F.S., by filing a notice of appeal under Rule 9.110 of the Florida Rules of Appellate Procedure with the clerk of the Department of Environmental Protection in the Office of General Counsel, Mail Station #35, 3900 Commonwealth Boulevard, Tallahassee, Florida, 32399-3000, and by filing a copy of the notice of appeal accompanied by the applicable filing fees with the appropriate District Court of Appeal.  The notice must be filed within 30 days after this order is filed with the clerk of the Department.
0890445-002-AO Effective Date:  July 24, 2018
Renewal Application Due Date:  April 24, 2013
Expiration Date:  July 24, 2023
Executed in Jacksonville, Florida
STATE OF FLORIDA DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL PROTECTION



Brian Durden
Environmental Manager
Permitting Program
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CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE
The undersigned duly designated deputy agency clerk hereby certifies that this Air Permit package was sent by electronic mail, or a link to these documents made available electronically on a publicly accessible server, with received receipt requested before the close of business on the date indicated below to the following persons.
David Edwards, Sandhill Recycling, LLC, david.sandhill@gmail.com 
Christianne Ferraro, Grove Scientific & Engineering, chris@grovescientific.com


Clerk Stamp
FILING AND ACKNOWLEDGMENT FILED, on this date, pursuant to Section 120.52(7), Florida Statutes, with the designated agency clerk, receipt of which is hereby acknowledged.


[bookmark: _GoBack]
						July 24, 2018
Clerk						Date
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FACILITY DESCRIPTION
Sandhill Recycling, LLC is an existing refuse system that operates an Air Burners Model S-327 air curtain incinerator powered by an 85 horsepower, 4-cylinder diesel motor certified US EPA Tier 4 compliant. 
The existing facility consists of the following emissions units (EU).
	EU No.
	Emission Unit Description

	001
	Air Burners Model S-327 air curtain incinerator

	Exempt emission unit from an AC and Non-Title V permitting as per Rule 62.210.300(3)(a)35.

	85 horsepower, 4-cylinder diesel motor certified US EPA Tier 4 compliant


APPLICABLE REGULATIONS
A summary of applicable regulations is shown in the following table.  
	Regulation
	EU No(s).

	Federal Rule Citations

	40 CFR 60, NSPS Subpart A -  General Provisions
	001, Exempt Engine

	40 CFR 60, NSPS Subpart CCCC – Standards of Performance for Commercial and Industrial Solid Waste Incineration Units
	001

	40 CFR 60, NSPS Subpart IIII – Standards of Performance for Stationary Compression Ignition Internal Combustion Engines
	Exempt Engine

	40 CR 63, NESHAP Subpart ZZZZ – National Emissions Standards for Hazardous Air Pollutants for Stationary Reciprocating Internal Combustion Engines
	Exempt Engine

	State Rule Citations

	Rule 63-296.401
	001

	
	


FACILITY REGULATORY CLASSIFICATION
· The facility is not a major source of hazardous air pollutants (HAP).
· The facility does not operate units subject to the acid rain provisions of the Clean Air Act (CAA).
· The facility is not a Title V major source of air pollution in accordance with Chapter 62-213, F.A.C.
· The facility is not a major stationary source in accordance with Rule 62-212.400, F.A.C. for the Prevention of Significant Deterioration (PSD) of Air Quality.
· The facility does operate units subject to the New Source Performance Standards (NSPS) of Title 40 Part 60 of the Code of Federal Regulations (40 CFR 60). 

(1) 
(1) 
SECTION 1.  GENERAL INFORMATION
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1. [bookmark: _Hlk486317300]Permitting Authority:  The permitting authority for this project is the Northeast District Office of the Department of Environmental Protection (Department).  The Northeast District Office mailing address is 8800 Baymeadows Way W., Jacksonville, Florida 32256. All documents related to applications for permits to operate an emissions unit shall be submitted to the Northeast District Office.
2. [bookmark: _Hlk486399232]Compliance Authority:  All documents related to compliance activities such as reports, tests, and notifications shall be submitted to the Northeast District Office, Compliance Assurance at:  8800 Baymeadows Way W., Jacksonville, Florida 32256.
3. Appendices:  The following Appendices are attached as a part of this permit:  Appendix A (Citation Formats and Glossary of Common Terms); Appendix B (General Conditions); Appendix C (Common Conditions); and Appendix D (Common Testing Requirements); Appendix E (40 CFR 60, Subpart A – General Provisions); Appendix F (40 CFR 60, Subpart CCCC); Appendix G (40 CFR 60, Subpart IIII)
4. Applicable Regulations, Forms and Application Procedures:  Unless otherwise specified in this permit, the construction and operation of the subject emissions units shall be in accordance with the capacities and specifications stated in the application.  The facility is subject to all applicable provisions of: Chapter 403, F.S.; and Chapters 62-4, 62-204, 62-210, 62-212, 62-213, 62-296 and 62-297, F.A.C.  Issuance of this permit does not relieve the permittee from compliance with any applicable federal, state, or local permitting or regulations.
5. New or Additional Conditions:  For good cause shown and after notice and an administrative hearing, if requested, the Department may require the permittee to conform to new or additional conditions.  The Department shall allow the permittee a reasonable time to conform to the new or additional conditions, and on application of the permittee, the Department may grant additional time.  [Rule 62-4.080, F.A.C.]
6. Modifications:  No new emissions unit shall be constructed and no existing emissions unit shall be modified without obtaining an air construction permit from the Department.  Such permit shall be obtained prior to beginning construction or modification.  [Rules 62-210.300(1) and 62-212.300(1)(a), F.A.C.]
7. Renewal:  Prior to 60 days before the expiration date of this permit, the permittee shall apply for a renewal of the permit.  A renewal application shall be timely and sufficient.  If the application is submitted prior to 60 days before expiration of the permit, it will be considered timely and sufficient.  If the renewal application is submitted at a later date, it will not be considered timely and sufficient unless it is submitted and made complete prior to the expiration of the operation permit.  When the application for renewal is timely and sufficient, the existing permit shall remain in effect until the renewal application has been finally acted upon by the Department.  [Rule 62-4.090, F.A.C.]
(1) 
(1) 
SECTION 2.  ADMINISTRATIVE REQUIREMENTS

This section of the permit addresses the following emissions unit.
	EU No.
	Emission Unit Description

	001
	Air Burners Model S-327 air curtain incinerator 


[bookmark: _Hlk486399296]{This EU is subject to Rules 62-296.401(7), F.A.C.; 62-204.800, F.A.C.; Rule 62-256, F.A.C.; 62-297 F.A.C.}
PERFORMANCE RESTRICTIONS
1. [bookmark: _Hlk487018339]Permitted Capacity: The maximum process rate of the air curtain destructor shall be limited to 10 tons per hour of clean wood waste and/or clean lumber. [Rule 62-210.200(PTE), F.A.C.; Air Construction Permit No. 0890445-001-AC] 
2. Restricted Operation:  The hours of operation are limited to 2300 hours per year.  [Rule 62-210.200(PTE), F.A.C ; Air Construction Permit No. 0890445-001-AC]
EMISSIONS STANDARDS
3. [bookmark: _Ref488151669]Visible Emissions – Startup Periods:  Visible emissions shall be limited as follows:
a. NSPS during startup periods.  Maintain opacity to less than or equal to 35 percent opacity (as determined by the average of three 1- hour blocks consisting of ten 6-minute average opacity values) during the startup period that is within the first 30 minutes of operation. [40 CFR 60.2250(b); and Rule 62-204.800(8)(b)79, F.A.C.]
b. State Rule during startup periods:  During startup periods, which shall not exceed the first 30 minutes of operation, an opacity of up to 35% shall be allowed, based on the specified averaging time of EPA Method 9 (a six (6) minute period).  The general excess emissions rule, Rule 62-210.700, F.A.C., shall not apply. [Rule 62-296.401(7)(b)1., F.A.C.]
[bookmark: _Hlk488151355]{Permitting Note:  The state standard is based on an averaging period of six minutes and is more stringent than the requirements of 40 CFR 60, Subpart CCCC (section 60.2250).  Compliance of the state standard using Method 9 satisfies the federal requirement.}
4. Visible Emissions – Non-Startup Periods:  Visible emissions shall be limited as follows:
a. NSPS during non-startup periods:  Within 60 days after your air curtain incinerator reaches the charge rate at which it will operate, but no later than 180 days after its initial startup, the facility must maintain opacity to less than or equal to 10 percent opacity (as determined by the average of three 1-hour blocks consisting of ten 6-minute average opacity values), except as described in Specific Condition 3.a.  [40 CFR 60.2250(a); and Rule 62-204.800(8)(b)79, F.A.C.]
b. State Rule during non-startup period:  Visible emissions shall not exceed 10% opacity, except as stated in Condition No. 3.b.  [Rule 62-296.401(7)(b)1., F.A.C.]
WORK PRACTICE AND OPERATION STANDARDS
5. [bookmark: _Hlk488322839][bookmark: _Ref487015155]Allowable Materials to be Burned:  The only materials that shall be burned in the air curtain incinerator are vegetative material and untreated wood, excluding sawdust.  The air curtain incinerator shall not be used to burn any biological waste, hazardous waste, asbestos-containing materials, mercury-containing devices, pharmaceuticals, tires, rubber material, residual oil, used oil, asphalt, roofing material, tar, treated wood, plastics, garbage, trash or other material prohibited to be open burned as set forth in subsection 62-256.300(2), F.A.C.  Only kerosene, diesel fuel, drip-torch fuel (as used to ignite prescribed fires), untreated wood, virgin oil, natural gas, or liquefied petroleum gas shall be used to start the fire in the air curtain incinerator.  The use of used oil, chemicals, gasoline, or tires to start the fire is prohibited.

Condition No. 5 Continued:
(1) 100 percent wood waste;
(2) 100 percent clean lumber; and
(3) 100 percent mixture of only wood waste, clean lumber, and/or yard waste.
[Rule 62-296.401(7)(b)3., F.A.C.; Rule 62-256.300(2)(a), F.A.C.; 40 CFR 60.2245(b)(1) – (3); and Rule 62-204.800(8)(b)79, F.A.C]
6. Use of ACI- Destruction of Animal Carcasses:  Notwithstanding the provisions of Specific Condition No. 5., the air curtain incinerator may be used for the destruction of animal carcasses in accordance with the provisions of subsection 62-256.700(6); F.A.C.  When using an air curtain incinerator to burn animal carcasses, untreated wood may also be burned to maintain good combustion. [Rule 62-296.401(7)(b)4., F.A.C]
7. [bookmark: _Hlk487018392]Startup and Charging:  In no case shall the air curtain incinerator be started before sunrise.  All charging shall end no later than one (1) hour after sunset.  After charging ceases, air flow shall be maintained until all material within the air curtain incinerator has been reduced to coals, and flames are no longer visible.  A log shall be maintained onsite that documents daily beginning and ending times of charging; The daily operating log at a minimum shall contain the following:
a.	Date;
b.	Total charges;
c. 	Total material (tons) charged;
d. 	Daily operating hours, which extends from the start of initial combustion to when all flames have been extinguished;
e.	Daily average hourly charging rate;
f.	Total monthly operating hours;
g. 	All maintenance that is performed;
h.	Operator’s signature;
i.	Comments 
[Rule 62-296.401(7)(b)5., F.A.C]
8. Attendance:  The air curtain incinerator shall be attended at all times while materials are being burned or flames are visible within the incinerator. [Rule 62-296.401(7)(b)6., F.A.C]
9. Air Curtain Incinerator Location:  The air curtain incinerator shall be located at least fifty (50) feet from any wildlands, brush, combustible structure, or paved public roadway. [Rule 62-296.401(7)(b)7., F.A.C]
10. Height of Loaded Material:  The material shall not be loaded into the air curtain incinerator such that it protrudes above the air curtain. [Rule 62-296.401(7)(b)8., F.A.C]
11. Ash:  Ash shall not be allowed to build up in the pit of the air curtain incinerator to higher than one third (1/3) the pit depth or to the point where the ash begins to impede combustion, whichever occurs first. [Rule 62-296.401(7)(b)9., F.A.C]
12. Operation and Maintenance Guide:  An operation and maintenance guide shall be available to the operators of the air curtain incinerator at all times, and the owner shall provide training to all operators before they work at the incinerator.  This guide shall be made available to the Department or for an inspector’s onsite review upon request. [Rule 62-296.401(7)(b)10., F.A.C]


TESTING REQUIREMENTS
13. Annual Compliance Tests:
a. NSPS (CCCC):  Conduct annual tests no more than 12 calendar months following the date of your previous test. [40 CFR 60.2255(c); and Rule 62-204.800(8)(b)79, F.A.C.]
b. State Rule:  During each calendar year (January 1st to December 31st), the emissions unit shall be tested to demonstrate compliance with the emissions standards for visible emissions. [Rule 62-297.310(8)(a)1, F.A.C.]
14. Compliance Test Duration:
a. NSPS (CCCC): The required minimum period of observation for a compliance test shall be three (3) hours (as determined by the average of three, 1-hour blocks consisting of ten 6- minute average opacity values).  The first run shall start at the beginning of the startup period. [40 CFR 60.2250 & 2255 (b)]
b. State Rule: The required minimum period of observation for a compliance test shall be 30-minutes for startup and 30-minutes for non-startup operation.  The first run shall start at the beginning of the startup period. [Rule 62-297.320(5)(b), F.A.C.]
15. Test Requirements:  The permittee shall notify the Compliance Authority in writing at least 15 days prior to any required tests.  Tests shall be conducted in accordance with the applicable requirements specified in Appendix D (Common Testing Requirements) of this permit.  [Rule 62-297.310(9), F.A.C.]
16. [bookmark: _Ref488152194]Test Methods:  Required tests shall be performed in accordance with the following reference methods.
	Method
	Description of Method and Comments

	9
	Visual Determination of the Opacity of Emissions from Stationary Sources


The above methods are described in Appendix A of 40 CFR 60, Appendix A-4, and are adopted by reference in Rule 62-204.800, F.A.C.  No other methods may be used unless prior written approval is received from the Department. [Rule 62-204.800, F.A.C.; Appendix A of 40 CFR 60; Rule 62-297.310, F.A.C.; and Rule 62-296.401(7)(c)1. and 2, F.A.C.; and 40 CFR 60.2255]
RECORDS AND REPORTS
17. Test Reports:  The permittee shall prepare and submit reports for all required tests in accordance with the requirements specified in Appendix D (Common Testing Requirements) of this permit.  For each test run, the report shall also indicate the total material (tons) charged. [Rule 62-297.310(10), F.A.C.]
18. Records:  Records of the results of all initial and annual visible emissions tests shall be kept by the owner or operator in either paper copy or electronic format for at least five (5) years.
a. These records shall be made available to the Department or for an inspector’s onsite review upon request.
b. .  Submit annual opacity test results within 12 months following the previous report.
c. Submit annual opacity test reports as electronic or paper copy on or before the applicable submittal date.
d. Keep a copy of the initial and annual reports onsite for a period of 5 years.
[Application No. 0890445-001-AC; Rule 62-296.401(7)(c)3., F.A.C.; 40 CFR 60.2260(a)(1) – (3), (b) – (f); and Rule 62-204.800(8)(b)79, F.A.C.]
{Permitting Note:  The state standard is based on an averaging period of six minutes and is more stringent than the requirements of 40 CFR 60, Subpart CCCC (section 60.2250).  Compliance of the state standard using Method 9 (as described in Specific Condition No. 16.) satisfies the federal requirement.}
19. [bookmark: _Hlk488154286]Recordkeeping ACI.  The Owner shall maintain records to document:
a. Hours of burning operation per day, per month, per year.
b. Records of operating days at each burn location.
c. List the location of each burn site.

Records shall be retained for five years in either paper copy or electronic format.
[Air Construction Permit No. 0890445-002-AC]
20. [bookmark: _Hlk488154304][bookmark: _Hlk488154325]Cease Operations: Within 30 days of ceasing operation of the facility, the Permittee shall remove all remaining solid waste for either disposal or processing at an appropriate, permitted facility.  The Permittee shall document, in writing, to the Department, the approximate volume of waste removed and name of the disposal facility receiving the waste within 60 days of the date the facility ceased operation. [Air Construction Permit No. 0890445-002-AC]
SOLID WASTE CONDITIONS 
{Permitting Note: Conditions provided by the Department’s Solid Waste Section}.
In addition to the rules and regulations that the air portion of the permit is issued under, the solid waste portion of the permit is issued under Chapter 403, Florida Statutes, and Florida Administrative Code (FAC) Chapters 62‑4 and 62‑701.
21. Acceptable Waste:  The facility shall be limited to accepting land clearing debris as defined by F.A.C. Rule 62-701.200(56).  Any other waste is prohibited waste. [Rule 62-701.200(56)]
22. Solid Waste Storage:  The permittee shall ensure at all times that storage of the solid waste associated with the operation of the facility does not violate the prohibitions stated in F.A.C. Chapter 62-701.300. [ Rule 62-701.300, F.A.C.; and Rule 62-4.070(3), F.A.C.]
23. [bookmark: _Ref488926711]General Prohibition:  This permit does not authorize any solid waste storage or disposal activities.
a.	No person shall store, process, or dispose of solid waste except as authorized at a permitted solid waste management facility or a facility exempt from permitting under this chapter.  [Rule 62-701.300(1)(a), F.A.C.]
b.	No person shall store, process, or dispose of solid waste in a manner or location that causes air quality standards to be violated or water quality standards or criteria of receiving waters to be violated.  [Rule 62-701.300(1) (b), F.A.C.]
c. No person shall ignite, cause to be ignited, or permit to be ignited, any material which will result in any prohibited open burning as regulated by this chapter; nor shall any person suffer, allow, conduct or maintain any prohibited open burning.  [Rule 62-256.300(1), F.A.C.]
d. Prohibition on Open Burning During Adverse Conditions. No open burning, including use of any air curtain incinerator exempted from permitting pursuant to Rule 62-210.300, F.A.C., shall be conducted during a National Weather Service Air Stagnation Advisory or Air Pollution Episode, or if the Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services, Florida Forest Service, has determined that weather conditions are unfavorable for safe burning.  [Rule 62-256.300(3), F.A.C.]
24. General Prohibition Non-Authorized Activities:
a. No person shall store or dispose of solid waste in any natural or artificial body of water including ground water and wetlands within the jurisdiction of the Department.  This prohibition also applies to areas where waste may settle into ground water as a result of the maximum expected loads over the waste.

Condition No. 24 Continued:
b. This prohibition does not apply to areas of standing water that exist only after storm events, provided that the storage or disposal does not result in objectionable odors or sanitary nuisances.
[Rule 62-701.300(2)(d), F.A.C.]
c. Yard Trash.  The prohibitions of this section apply to the storage, processing, or disposal of yard trash.  No waste shall be placed 100 feet from off-site potable water wells, no setback required from on-site water wells. [Rule 62-701.300(12)(a), F.A.C.]
d. Yard Trash.  The prohibitions of this section apply to the storage, processing, or disposal of yard trash.  No waste shall be placed within 50 feet from water bodies. [Rule 62-701.300(12)(b), F.A.C.]
25. Hazardous Waste:  Any hazardous waste that is received by the facility shall be managed in accordance with the provision of F.A.C. Chapter 62-730. [Rule 62-701.300(4), F.A.C.]
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