Permittee:
Facility Number: 0830164 

Florida Express Shavings, LLC
Permit Number: 0830164-002-AF

1826 NW 21st Street

Expiration Date: July 30, 2011

Ocala, Florida 34475
County: Marion 


Latitude/Longitude:

Attention: 
Michael Paglia,
29° 12' 29"N/82° 09' 15"W 




Owner-Manager
Project: Direct wood-fired, rotary dryer 

                                                   Initial FESOP for facility 

This permit is issued under the provisions of Chapter(s) 403, Florida Statutes, and Florida Administrative Code Rule(s) 62-210.  The above named permittee is hereby authorized to perform the work or operate the facility shown on the application and approved drawing(s), plans, and other documents attached hereto or on file with the department and made a part hereof and specifically described as follows:

This is the initial FESOP (Federally Enforceable State Operating Permit) for the facility.

The permittee may operate a direct wood-fired rotary dryer at the existing wood shavings facility engaged in commercial production of animal bedding for Ocala and the greater area.  Generally, the facility dries wet wood shavings that are sold as animal bedding.  The production process at FES (Florida Express Shavings, LLC) begins with logs being sized and reduced to shavings in a six-saw shaver system.  Green (moist) shavings are carried by conveyor belt to a three-pass rotary dryer, where the moisture content is reduced from approximately 40 to 12 percent.  Hot air for the rotary dryer is supplied from a Webb Burner that uses wood fines resulting from the process, as fuel.  The hot air/dry shavings mix exits the dryer and enters a cyclone where the dry shavings (product) and fines (small wood particles) are separated from the hot air.  The air is exhausted through the cyclone stack, while the dry shavings and fines are fed over a screen below the bottom of the cyclone.  The fines are screened out and used as fuel in the burner.  Dry product is conveyed to a truck loading/storage bin used to load delivery trucks.

The exhaust stack is located at the top of the cyclone.  The facility generates emissions of volatile organic compounds (VOC), carbon monoxide (CO), nitrous oxides (NOx), sulfur oxides (SOx), particulate matter (PM), and a small amount of hazardous air pollutants.  Some fugitive PM emissions will be produced from the shaving, screening, and truck loading processes.  Moisture in the logs and wet shavings, vacuum collecting fines, and controlling the rate at which the dry shavings are loaded in trucks can reduce the amount of fugitive PM emissions.

The facility is located at 1826 NW 21st Street, Ocala, Marion County, Florida, which is approximately two (2) miles east of the intersection of I-75 and Hwy 27 (I-75 Exit No. 354 (New), No. 70 (Old)). 
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SPECIFIC CONDITIONS:
OPERATING CONDITIONS
 1.
The maximum permitted operation hours for the wood-fired rotary dryer are 3,615 hours per consecutive twelve-month period.

[Response to FDEP Request for Additional Information (June 1, 2006 and June 19, 2006), and Rule 62-210.200, (Potential Emissions or Potential to Emit, PTE), F.A.C.] 

 2.  
The maximum permitted production rate is 16,000 tons of oven-dried shavings (tons) per consecutive twelve-month period.

[Response to FDEP Request for Additional Information (June 1, 2006 and June 19, 2006), and Rule 62-210.200, (Potential Emissions or Potential to Emit, PTE), F.A.C.] 

 3.
The wood-fired rotary dryer must be maintained in good operating condition to insure that emission standards are met at all times and to minimize safety hazards.


[Rule 62-4.070, F.A.C.]

 4.
The burner for the wood-fired rotary dryer shall only be fired using wood dust (fines) for fuel, including startups. 

      [FESOP Application received March 20, 2006]      

 5.
An operator must be in attendance at all times to insure proper operation of the wood-fired rotary dryer.


[Rule 62-4.070, F.A.C.]

 6.
No person shall cause, suffer, allow or permit the discharge of air pollutants which cause or contribute to an objectionable odor.  An objectionable odor is defined as any odor present in the outdoor atmosphere which by itself or in combination with other odors, is or may be harmful or injurious to human health or welfare, which unreasonably interferes with the comfortable use and enjoyment of life or property, or which creates a nuisance.

      [Rule 62‑296.320(2), F.A.C]

 7.
No person shall circumvent any pollution control device or allow the emissions of air pollutants without the applicable air pollution control device operating properly.

      [Rule 62-210.650, F.A.C.]

EMISSION LIMITS
 8.
The emission limitations for this wood-fired rotary dryer are as follows pursuant to Rules 62-296.410(2) and 62-213.400(1), F.A.C.: 

a)
Burners of capacity less than 30 million Btu per hour total heat input -  Ringelmann Number 1 (20 percent opacity) except that a density of Ringelmann Number 2 (40 percent opacity) is permissible for not more than two minutes in any one hour. 


[Rule 62-296.410(2)(a), F.A.C.]

b)
Emissions of volatile organic compound (VOC) and particulate matter (PM) from this wood-fired rotary dryer at the facility shall not exceed 70.0 tons per consecutive twelve months, updated monthly. 


[Rules 62-210.200, (PTE) and 62-213.400(1), F.A.C.] 

 9.
The emission limitations for the materials handling, sizing, screening, crushing and grinding operations are as follows pursuant to Rule 62-296.711(2), F.A.C: 

a)
No owner or operator of an emissions unit governed by Rule 62-296.711, F.A.C., shall cause, permit, or allow any visible emissions (five percent opacity) from such emissions unit except that at the point where material is being discharged to the hold of a ship from a conveyor.  When the conveyor and/or hatch covering is moved, an opacity of 10 percent will be allowed


[Rule 62-296.711(2)(a), F.A.C.]

COMPLIANCE
10.
In order to demonstrate compliance with specific condition numbers 1, 2, and 8b, the permittee shall maintain a log at the facility for a period of at least 5 years from the date the data is recorded.  The log at a minimum shall contain the following:

      Monthly
a)
designation of the month and year of operation for which the records are being tabulated.

b) consecutive twelve (12) month total of oven dried shavings (tons) that were produced from the wood-fired rotary dryer.

c) consecutive twelve (12) month total of wood-fired rotary dryer operation time (hours).

d)
consecutive twelve (12) month total of volatile organic compound (VOC) emissions (tons).  Use the volatile organic compound (VOC) rate from the February 22, 2006 emission test and the amount of oven-dried shavings to compute the VOC emissions.  


[Rule 62-4.070, F.A.C.]

e)
consecutive twelve (12) month total of particulate (PM) emissions (tons).  Use the particulate matter (PM) rate from the February 22, 2006 emission test and the amount of oven-dried shavings to compute the PM emissions.  


[Rule 62-4.070, F.A.C.]

Note:  A consecutive 12-month total is equal to the total for the month in question plus the totals for the eleven months previous to the month in question.  A consecutive 12-month total treats each month of the year as the end of a 12-month period.  A 12-month total is not a year-to-date total.  Facilities that have not been operating for 12-months should retain 12 month totals using whatever number of months of data are available until such a time as a consecutive 12 month-total can be maintained each month.

11.
Supporting documentation (chemical usage tracking logs, MSDS sheets, purchase orders, EPA "As Supplied” data sheets, etc.) shall be kept for each chemical and associated products which includes sufficient information to determine usage rates and emissions. These records shall be made available to the Department upon request. Documentation of each chemical reclaimed will use a mass balance method to determine usage/emissions (amount used minus amount collected for disposal or recycle). The log and documents shall be kept at the facility for at least 5 years and made available to the Department.  Monthly logs shall be completed by the end of the following month.

[Rule 62-4.070(3), F.A.C.]

12.
All emission tests (stack and visible emission (VE)) to demonstate compliance with specific condition numbers 8a and 8b shall be as follows pursuant to Rules 62-296.410(3) and 62-213.400(1), F.A.C.:

a)
The test method for visible emissions shall be DEP Method 9, incorporated in Chapter 62-297, F.A.C. 


[Rule 62-296.410(3)(a), F.A.C.] 

b)
The test method for particulate emissions shall be EPA Method 5, incorporated and adopted by reference in Chapter 62-297, F.A.C.


[Rule 62-296.410(3)(b), F.A.C.]
c)
The test method for the volatile organic compound (VOC) emissions shall be EPA Method 25A, incorporated and adopted by reference in Chapter 62-297, F.A.C.

 
[Rules 62-210.200, (PTE) and 62-213.400(1), F.A.C.] 

13. 
All emission tests (stack and visible emission (VE)) to demonstrate compliance with specific condition numbers 8a and 8b shall be conducted twice during the first consecutive 12 months of operation under this permit, and once each year (annually) thereafter as specified:

a)
The first emission tests shall be conducted during the months of September 2006 or October 2006. 


[Rule 62-4.070, F.A.C.]

b) The source shall be tested annually during the months of April or May starting in the year 2007.


[Rule 62-4.070, F.A.C.]

c) The last annual emission tests prior to renewal will be conducted during the months of April 2011 or May 2011.   The emission unit must be tested for volatile organic compounds (VOC) emissions, particulate matter (PM) emissions, and concurrently for visible emissions at least 60 days prior to permit expiration date, which is July 30, 2011.

[Rules 62-4.070 and 62-297.310(7)(a)3., F.A.C.]
14.
The DEP Method 9 test shall be thirty minutes in duration of time.

      [Rule 62-297.310(4)(a)2., F.A.C.]

15.
The stack sampling facility must comply with Rule 62-297.310(6), F.A.C., regarding minimum requirements that include but are not limited to:  location of sampling ports, work platform area hand rails and toe rails, caged ladder, access and electrical power.

16.  
Facility personnel shall read a temperature monitor that measures the internal dryer temperature at least once every hour when the dryer is operating; and the temperature recorded by the monitor shall not exceed 735 degrees Fahrenheit when the dryer is operating. 


[Rule 62-4.070, F.A.C.]

17. 
The maximum operation rate for wood-fired rotary dryer is 6.22 tons per hour (oven-dried shavings) of product, excluding wood (dust) fines.  Testing of emissions shall be conducted with the emissions unit operation at permitted capacity.  Permitted capacity is defined as 90 to 100 percent of the maximum operation rate allowed by the permit. If it is impractical to test at permitted capacity, an emissions unit may be tested at less than the minimum permitted capacity; in this case, subsequent emissions unit operation is limited to 110 percent of the test load until a new test is conducted. Once the unit is so limited, operation at higher capacities is allowed for no more than 15 consecutive days for the purpose of additional compliance testing to regain the authority to operate at the permitted capacity.

      [Rule 62-297.310(2), F.A.C.]

18.  
The weight and type of material processed must be entered in the visible emissions test report. 


[Rule 62-4.070, F.A.C.]

19. 
The owner or operator shall notify the air compliance section of this office, at least 15 days prior to the date on which each formal compliance test is to begin, of the date, time, and place of each such test, and the test contact person who will be responsible for coordinating and having such test conducted for the owner or operator.
      [Rule 62-297.310(7)(a)9., F.A.C.]

20.
The owner or operator shall submit a copy of the compliance test results to the air compliance section of this office as soon as practical but no later than 45 days after the last sampling run of each test is completed.    


[Rule 62-297.310(8)(b), F.A.C]

21.
The owner or operator shall complete DEP Form No. 62-210.900(5), F.A.C. “Annual Operating Report for Air Pollutant Emitting Facility”, including the Emissions Report, for each calendar year and submit to the air compliance section of this office on or before March 1 of the following year.

      [Rule 62‑210.370(3)(a), F.A.C.]

PERMIT APPLICATION
22.
At least sixty days prior to the expiration date of this permit, the permittee shall submit to this office four air permit applications, DEP Form No. 62-210.900(1), along with the processing fee established in Rule 62-4.050(4), F.A.C.


[Rule 62-4.090, F.A.C.]



STATE OF FLORIDA DEPARTMENT




OF ENVIRONMENTAL PROTECTION


L.T. Kozlov, P.E.


Program Administrator




Air Resources Management




Issued: 



