Permittee:
Facility Number: 0830017

MFM Industries
Permit Number: 0830017-010-AO

P.O. Box 68

Expiration Date: January 30, 2009

Lowell, FL 32663
County: Marion 


Latitude/Longitude:


Attention: Adrian Simonet,
29° 19' 24"N/83° 00' 48"W 


           General Manager
Project: Clay Dryer and Fugitive Dust




Collection System


This permit is issued under the provisions of Chapter(s) 403, Florida Statutes, and Florida Administrative Code Rule(s) 62-210.  The above named permittee is hereby authorized to perform the work or operate the facility shown on the application and approved drawing(s), plans, and other documents attached hereto or on file with the department and made a part hereof and specifically described as follows:

The permittee can operate a clay dryer and a dried clay storage silo serviced by a common baghouse (CMI Corporation, Model SAF-4822, with 4.1 to 1 air to cloth ratio), which is approximately 99.8% efficient in controlling particulate emissions.  The dryer is utilized to produce clay products including cat litter.  The rotary kiln clay dryer is fired with natural gas, new no. 5 fuel oil or on-specification used oil only.

The permittee can also operate a recycled fuel operation consisting of receiving used oil in tanker trucks, storing the used oil in a series of storage tanks, and shipping the oil via tanker trucks to other facilities.  The facility operates a 2 MMBTU/hr oil heater, used intermittently to heat hot oil shipments.

The permittee can also operate a woodchip grinder at the facility to grind cedar, an additive in one of the products.  The grinder is a Reduction Technology Model 13CSD and includes a cyclone and an attached bag filter.  As there are no applicable unit-specific emission standards and given the negligible emissions based on the maximum operation rate of 750 pounds per hour, this unit is considered an insignificant emission source.

This facility is located at the MFM Industries, Inc., 3951 NW SR 329, Reddick, Marion County, Florida.

General Conditions, which are pages 2 and 3, are mailed only to the permittee.
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OPERATING CONDITIONS
1. The emission unit maximum operating limits are as follows:


a) The operating hours for the fugitive dust collection system shall not exceed 8200 hours per consecutive 12 months. 


[Rule 62-210.200(PTE), F.A.C. and construction permit 0830017-001-AC]

     
b) The operating hours for the clay dryer shall not exceed 7000 hours per consecutive 12 months.  The operating hours for the clay dryer, when fired with natural gas, new No. 2, new No. 3, new No. 4, new No. 5, or new No. 6 fuel oil, on-spec used oil, or a blend of new and on-spec used oil, shall be limited to ensure that the sulfur dioxide emission limits, 95 tons per consecutive 12 months, are not exceeded.  


[Rule 62-210.200(PTE), F.A.C. and construction permit 0830017-001-AC]

  
c) The sulfur content by weight for new No. 2, new No. 3, new No. 4, new No. 5, and new No. 6 fuel oil shall not exceed 2.5 percent.  The sulfur content by weight for on-spec used oil shall not exceed 2.26 percent.


[Rule 62-210.200(PTE), F.A.C. and construction permit 0830017-001-AC]


d) The fuel firing rate of the combination of all the new fuel oils burned shall not exceed 3,675,000 gallons per consecutive 12 months.  The fuel firing rate of on-specification used oil shall not exceed 4,081,000 gallons per consecutive 12 months.


[Rule 62-210.200(PTE), F.A.C.]


e)
The wet clay input to the clay dryer shall not exceed 525,000 tons per consecutive 12 months, and the clay (-40 mesh) transfer rate to Silo #9 shall not exceed 80,500 tons per consecutive 12 months.


[Rule 62-210.200(PTE), F.A.C.]

 2.
The material rate including dryer discharge, silo #9 unloading, rail car and truck filling, boxing and bagging operations shall not exceed 1,361,200 tons per consecutive 12 months.  The allowable emission rate during compliance (stack) testing will be calculated using the dryer discharge process rate only.  Allowable emissions for material handling points, including but not limited to those stated in this Specific Condition, at all times and at all places will be 5 percent maximum opacity in accordance with Rule 62-296.711(2)(a), F.A.C.


[Rule 62-210.200(PTE), F.A.C.]

 3.
Natural gas must be the primary fuel source for the dryer, and new No. 2, new No. 3, new No. 4, new No. 5, and new No. 6 fuel oil or on-specification used oil are not precluded as secondary fuel sources.  Used oil means any oil that has been refined from crude oil, used, and as a result of such use, is unsuitable for its original use because of physical or chemical impurities.


[Rule 62-210.200(PTE), F.A.C.]

 4. 
The following used oil specifications are applicable.  Used oil within the allowable levels is “on-specification” and used oil exceeding any allowable level is “off-specification.”  

Constituent/Property
Allowable Levels
       Test Methods





  Arsenic
    5 ppm maximum
       EPA  SW-846

  Cadmium
    2 ppm maximum
       EPA  SW-846

  Chromium
   10 ppm maximum
       EPA  SW-846

  Lead
  100 ppm maximum
       EPA  SW-846

  Flash Point
  100° F minimum
       EPA  SW-846

  Total Halogens
4,000 ppm maximum*
       EPA  SW-846

  PCB
 < 50 ppm
       EPA  SW-846


* Used oil containing between 1,000 and 4,000 ppm of total halogens is presumed to be a hazardous waste because it has been mixed with halogenated hazardous waste and cannot be utilized unless the applicant first rebuts this presumption by demonstrating that Used Oil does not contain hazardous waste and receives written approval from the Department.

      [Rule 62-710.210(3), F.A.C.; 40 CFR Part 279.11]

 5.
When used oil is fired in the dryer, the facility must operate in compliance with all applicable regulations and Department policy, including the requirements of Rule 62-710, Part V, F.A.C. and any new regulations subsequently adopted, and the following conditions shall apply:

a.
A quarterly composite sample, or a sample from every shipment, of used oil burned shall be analyzed for arsenic, chromium, cadmium, total halogens, PCB and lead, using ASTM-approved methods, or alternately with written notification to the Department, other DEP Air Program-approved methods, i.e. alternate sampling procedures.  Results of the used oil sampling and analysis shall be submitted to the Department within 30 days from the end of each calendar quarter in which the burning of used oil occurred.

b.
The total quantity of used oil burned during each calendar year, on a monthly basis, shall be included in the Annual Operations Report for air emissions sources.

 6.
No person shall circumvent any pollution control device or allow the emissions of air pollutants without the applicable air pollution control device operating properly.

      [Rule 62-210.650, F.A.C.]

 7.
No person shall cause, suffer, allow or permit the discharge of air pollutants which cause or contribute to an objectionable odor.  An objectionable odor is defined as any odor present in the outdoor atmosphere which by itself or in combination with other odors, is or may be harmful or injurious to human health or welfare, which unreasonably interferes with the comfortable use and enjoyment of life or property, or which creates a nuisance.


[Rules 62‑296.320(2) and 62-210.200(181), F.A.C.]

 8.
No person shall cause, let, permit, suffer or allow the emissions of unconfined particulate matter from any source whatsoever, including, but not limited to, vehicular movement, transportation of materials, construction alteration, demolition or wrecking, or industrially related activities such as loading, unloading, storing or handling, without taking reasonable precautions to prevent such emission [Rule 62-296.320(4)(c)1., F.A.C.]. The area must be watered down should unconfined emissions occur.

EMISSION LIMITS

 9.
The fugitive dust collection system is subject to Rule 62-296.320, Process Weight Table 296.320-1, F.A.C.  For process weight rates up to 30 tons per hour, P1, and for process weight rates greater than 30 tons per hour, P2, the respective allowable emission rates, E1 and E2 in pounds per hour are given below:


E1 = 3.59 (P10.62)



E2 = 17.31 (P20.16)


The allowable particulate emission rate is 6.0 pounds/hour and 24.6 tons/year, which is lower than the process weight limit and is requested by the applicant.

10.  
The clay dryer and dried clay storage silo are subject to Rule 62‑296.320(4), F.A.C., Process Weight Table 296.320-1, F.A.C.  For process rates up to 75 tons per hour, the allowable particulate emission rate is 18.0 pounds/hour and 63.0 tons/year which is lower than the process weight limit and is requested by the applicant.

11. 
The visible emission limitation for each emission unit, which emits particulates, must comply with Rule 62‑296.320(4)(b)1., F.A.C. (limited to less than 20% opacity).

COMPLIANCE TESTING

12. This source must be tested annually for visible emissions in accordance with DEP Method 9 within sixty days prior to September 1.  The DEP Method 9 test shall be conducted for thirty minutes.  The test date is provided for FDEP planning purposes only; Rule 62-297.310(7)(a)4., F.A.C., allows the permittee to conduct a formal compliance test anytime during the federal fiscal year (October 1 – September 30).

[Rule 62-296.320(4)(b)4., F.A.C.]


13.  
This source must be tested for particulate emissions in accordance with EPA Method 5 at least 90 days prior to permit expiration date.

[Rules 62-296.320(4)(a)3.b.(ii) and 62-297.310(7)(a)3., F.A.C.] 

14.
At least 15 days prior to the date on which each formal compliance test is due to begin, the permittee shall provide written notification of the test to the air compliance section of this office.  The notification must include the following information: the date, time, and location of each test; the name and telephone number of the facility's contact person who will be responsible for coordinating the test; and the name, company, and telephone number of the person conducting the test.

      [Rule 62-297.310(7)(a)9., F.A.C.]

15.
Testing of emissions shall be conducted with the emissions unit operation at permitted capacity.  The maximum operation rate for the clay dryer (wet clay input) is 75 tons/hr.  Permitted capacity is defined as 90 to 100 percent of the maximum operation rate allowed by the permit. If it is impractical to test at permitted capacity, an emissions unit may be tested at less than the minimum permitted capacity; in this case, subsequent emissions unit operation is limited to 110 percent of the test load until a new test is conducted. Once the unit is so limited, operation at higher capacities is allowed for no more than 15 consecutive days for the purpose of additional compliance testing to regain the authority to operate at the permitted capacity.

      [Rule 62-297.310(2), F.A.C.]

16.
Reports of the required compliance tests shall be filed with the air compliance section of this office as soon as practical but no later than 45 days after the last test is completed.

      [Rule 62-297.310(8)(b), F.A.C.]

17.
A differential pressure gauge is required to measure the pressure drop across the baghouse a minimum of 10 days before the stack test is performed.


[Rule 62-297.310(5) F.A.C.]

18.
The stack sampling facility must comply with Rule 62-297.310(6), F.A.C., regarding minimum requirements that include but are not limited to: location of sampling ports, work platform area hand rails and toe boards, caged ladder, access and electrical power.
RECORDKEEPING

19. The permittee shall maintain records to demonstrate that the sulfur content, by weight, of each shipment of new fuel oil (new No. 2, new No. 3, new No. 4, new No. 5, or new No. 6) and each shipment of on-spec used oil is less than 2.5 percent and 2.26 percent, respectively.


[Rule 62-210.200(PTE), F.A.C.]

20. The fuel sulfur content, percent by weight, for liquid fuels shall be evaluated using both ASTM D4057-88 and ASTM D129-91, ASTM D2622-94, or ASTM D4294-90, or latest editions.  Alternately, after written notification to the Department, the permittee may use other DEP air Program-approved methods, i.e. alternate sampling procedures, for sulfur in petroleum products.


[Rule 62-210.200(PTE), F.A.C.]

21.
In order to demonstrate compliance with condition numbers 1 and 2, the permittee shall maintain a log at the facility for a period of at least 3 years from the date the data is recorded.  The log at a minimum shall contain the following:

      Monthly
a)
Designation of the month and year of operation for which the records are being tabulated

b)
Consecutive 12-month total of fugitive dust collection system (FDCS) operating hours, clay dryer (CD) operating hours, sulfur dioxide emissions, new fuel firing rate, used oil firing rate, wet clay input to clay dryer, transfer rate to silo #9, and total material rate.  

      [Rules 62-4.070, F.A.C. and 62-4.160(14), F.A.C.]

Note:  A consecutive 12 month total is equal to the total for the month in question plus the totals for the eleven months previous to the month in question.  A consecutive 12-month total treats each month of the year as the end of a 12-month period.  A 12-month total is not a year-to-date total.  Facilities that have not been operating for 12 months should retain 12 month totals using whatever number of months of data are available until such a time as a consecutive 12 month total can be maintained each month.

22.  A DEP Form No. 62-210.900(5), "Annual Operating Report for Air Pollutant Emitting Facility" including the Emissions Report, shall be completed for each calendar year on or before March 1 of the following year and submitted to the compliance section of this office.

      [Rule 62-210.370(3)(a), F.A.C.]

PERMIT APPLICATION
23.
At least sixty days prior to the expiration date of this permit, the permittee shall submit to this office four air permit applications, DEP Form No. 62-210.900(3), along with the processing fee established in Rule 62-4.050(4), F.A.C. 

      [Rule 62-4.090, F.A.C.]



STATE OF FLORIDA DEPARTMENT




OF ENVIRONMENTAL PROTECTION


L.T. Kozlov, P.E.


Program Administrator




Air Resources Management




Issued: 



