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Project: Incinerator with Afterburner

This permit is issued under the provisions of Chapter 403, Florida Statutes (F.S.), and Florida Administrative Code (F.A.C.) Chapters 62-204, 62-210, 62-212, 62-213, 62-296, 62-297, and Chapter 62-4. The above named permittee is hereby authorized to perform the work or operate the facility shown on the application and approved drawing(s), plans and other documents, attached hereto or on file with the Florida Department of Environmental Protection:

For the operation of a B & L Systems, Inc. Model BLI 500/100 Refuse Incinerator equipped with an afterburner used to incinerate still bottom waste which is a polymerized contact lens waste called "Poly-2-Hema" (a non-hazardous waste).  Natural Gas is the only fuel used.  The maximum fuel-firing rate is 1.2 million BTU (MMBtu) per hour.

The normal operating procedure is for a 55-gallon drum of waste to be loaded into the primary chamber.  The secondary chamber is then preheated.  An interlock control system prevents combustion air from entering the primary chamber unless the temperature in the secondary chamber is at least 1,300(F.  The secondary chamber is maintained at 1,300(F for approximately 8 hours and then raised to 1,800(F for the remainder of the incineration process to insure complete combustion of all gaseous materials entering the secondary chamber.  The unit is designed to provide a one second residence time in the secondary chamber (afterburner) at a secondary chamber temperature of 1,800(F.

Facility Information Summary

Location:  6447 Parkland Drive, Sarasota, Manatee County

UTM Coordinates:  17-349.78 E
3034.23 N
Latitude:  270 25’ 29”
Longitude: 820 32’ 05.7”

Facility ID No: 0810079
Emission Unit ID No. and Description:

001 – Incinerator with afterburner for contact lens polymer waste

Note:  Please reference Permit No. and Emission Unit ID No. in all correspondence, test report submittals,

Applications, etc.

Attachment to this permit:


General Conditions, version dated 11/1/2005

Permit History

Replaces Permit No. 0810079-002-AO

Specific Conditions

The following conditions apply facility-wide:

1.  General Conditions - A part of this permit is the attached 15 General Conditions.

[Rule 62-4.160, F.A.C.]

2.  Other Requirements - Issuance of this permit does not relieve the permittee from complying with applicable emission limiting standards or other requirements of Chapters 62-204, 62-210, 62-212, 62-213, 62-296 and 62-297, or any other requirements under federal, state or local law.

[Rule 62-210.300, F.A.C.]

Operation and Emission Limitations

3.  Hours of Operation - The hours of operation of this incinerator shall not exceed 3,744 hours per year. (Operation is defined as any period during which natural gas is being fired in this unit).

[Construction Permit No. AC41-173945]

4.  Firing Fuel - This incinerator shall be fired with natural gas only.

[Construction Permit No. AC41-173945]

5.  Operating Rate - The maximum permitted incineration rate for this incinerator is the design rate of 100 pounds per hour, with a maximum batch-size of 500 pounds of waste (not including non-combustible container) per charge.

[Construction Permit No. AC41-173945 and Operation Permit Amendment application dated 7/5/94]

6.  Circumvention - The permittee shall not circumvent any air pollution control device or allow the emissions of air pollutants without the applicable air pollution control device (i.e. the afterburner) operating properly. [Rule 62-210.650, F.A.C.]

7.  Operating Temperature - To provide reasonable assurance of compliance with Specific Condition Nos. 8 and 9, and to provide reasonable assurance of high combustion efficiency for pollutants, the minimum operating temperature in the secondary chamber shall be 1,300 (F and the minimum residence time shall be 1 second at 1,800 (F.

[Permit AC41-173945 and Rule 62-4.070(3), F.A.C.]

8.  Visible Emissions (VE) - Visible emissions shall not exceed 5% opacity except that visible emissions not exceeding 20% opacity are allowed for up to 3 minutes in any one-hour period.

[Rule 62-296.401(1)(a), F.A.C.]

9.  General Pollutant Emission Limiting Standards: Objectionable Odor Prohibited – No person shall cause, suffer, allow or permit the discharge of air pollutants that cause or contribute to an objectionable odor.  An objectionable odor is any odor present in the outdoor atmosphere, which by itself or in combination with other odors, is or may be harmful or injurious to human health or welfare, which unreasonably interferes with the comfortable use and enjoyment of life or property, or which creates a nuisance.

[Rules 62-296.401(1)(b) and 62-210.200(181), F.A.C.]

10.  General Pollutant Emission Limiting Standards: Unconfined Emissions of Particulate Matter - All reasonable precautions shall be taken to prevent and control generation of unconfined emissions of particulate matter in accordance with the provision in Rule 62-296.320(4(c), F.A.C.  These provisions are applicable to any source, including, but not limited to, vehicular movement, transportation of materials, construction, alterations, demolition or wrecking, or industrial related activities such as loading, unloading, storing and handling of ash.

[Rule 62-296.320(4(c), F.A.C.]

Compliance Testing Requirements

11.  Visible Emissions (VE) Testing - This incinerator shall be tested for visible emissions on an annual basis on or during the 60 day period prior to the date of March 19 of each year.  A report of the test results shall be submitted to the Air Compliance Section of the Southwest District Office of the Department and to the Manatee County Environmental Management Department (MCEMD) within 45 days after the test is completed.

[Rules 62-297.310(7)(a) 4 and 62-297.310(8)(b), F.A.C.]

12.  Visible Emissions (VE) Test Method - Compliance with the emission limitation of Specific Condition No. 8 shall be determined using DEP Method 9 as incorporated in Rule 62-297.401, F.A.C.  The visible emissions test shall be conducted by a certified observer and be a minimum of sixty (60) minutes in duration.  The test observation period shall include the period during which the highest opacity can reasonably be expected to occur.  The minimum requirements for stationary point source emission test procedures and reporting shall be in accordance with Rule 62-297.310, F.A.C.

[Rule 62-297.401(9)(c), F.A.C.]

13.  Operating Rate During Testing - Compliance testing must be conducted during incineration of a batch that is within 90-100% of the maximum permitted batch size of 500 pounds, if feasible, and while the burners are operating at a normal high fire.  The test shall begin when the waste is first ignited in the primary chamber.  A compliance test submitted for testing on a batch less than 90% of the permitted batch size will automatically constitute an amended permit at the lesser batch size plus 10%.  Within 30 days of that lower amended permitted batch size being exceeded, a new compliance test shall be conducted at the higher rate.  The test results shall be submitted to the Southwest District Office of the Department and the Manatee County Environmental Management Department (MCEMD) within 45 days of testing.  Acceptance of the test by the Department will automatically constitute an amended permit at the higher tested rate plus 10%, but in no case shall the maximum batch size of 500 pounds be exceeded.  The permittee shall submit a statement of the batch size during the compliance test as a part of the compliance test report.  Failure to include the actual charging rate in the results or operating at conditions during testing which do not reflect normal operating conditions may invalidate the test.

[Rules 62-297.310(2) and 62-297.310(8) F.A.C.]

14.  Compliance Testing Notification - The permittee shall notify the Air Compliance Section of the Southwest District Office of the Department and the Manatee County Environmental Management Department (MCEMD) at least 15 days prior to the date on which each formal compliance test is to begin of the date, time, and place of each such test, and the test contact person who will be responsible for coordinating and having such test conducted.

[Rule 62-297.310(7)(a) 9., F.A.C.]

Recordkeeping Requirements

15.  Recordkeeping Requirements - In order to document compliance with Specific Condition Nos. 3 and 5, the permittee shall maintain operation records for this incinerator which show operating hours and charged batch sizes (pounds of waste not including non-combustible container) for each day the unit is operated.  Operation is defined as any period during which natural gas is being fired in this unit.  These records shall be recorded in a permanent form suitable for inspection by the Department upon request, and shall be retained for at least a two-year period.

[Rule 62-4.070(3), F.A.C.]

Permit Renewal Application
16.  Operation Permit Renewal – An application to renew this operating permit shall be submitted to the Air Permitting Section of the Southwest District Office of the Department, with a copy sent to the Manatee County Environmental Management Department (MCEMD) prior to sixty (60) days before the expiration date of this permit.  To properly apply for an operation permit, the applicant shall submit the following:


A.
the appropriate application form (DEP Form No. 62-210.900(4) Application for Non-Title V Air Permit Renewal);


B.
the appropriate operation permit application fee;


C.
copies of the operation records (Specific Condition No. 15) for the most recent two operating weeks.

[Rules 62-4.090, 62-210.300(2), 62-210.900, and 62-4.070(3), F.A.C.]
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