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SECTION 3.  EMISSIONS UNIT SPECIFIC CONDITIONS (DRAFT)

[bookmark: _GoBack]PERMITTEE	
	GI Shavings LLC
1150 E. Hallendale Beach Blvd., Ste. B
Hallendale Beach, FL 33009
Authorized Representative:
Giuseppe Iadisernia, Manager
	Air Permit No. 0694866-009-AC 
Permit Expires:  November 30, 2018
Minor Source Air Construction Permit 
GI Shavings LLC Facility
Burner Firing Rate Downrated


Project
[bookmark: _Hlk507327064]This is the final minor source air construction permit, which authorizes a change to the regulatory emission limitation standard from Rule 62-296.410(2)(b), F.A.C. to Rule 62-296.410(2)(a), F.A.C., because the sawdust burner firing rate has been downrated from 30 MMBTU/HR to 26 MMBTU/HR by the manufacturer during the system commissioning through physical, electrical, and programming means. As a result, the visible emissions limitation has been changed from, “Visible emissions shall not exceed 30 percent opacity except that visible emissions not exceeding 33 percent opacity shall be allowed for one six-minute period in any one-hour period” to “Visible emissions shall not exceed 20 percent opacity except that visible emissions not exceeding 27 percent opacity shall be allowed for one six-minute period in any one-hour period.”  The particulate matter emissions limitation has been removed, because there is no particulate emissions limitation under Rule 62-296.410(2)(a), F.A.C., and the operational hours agreement has been removed from the permit. The downrating incorporates a maximum design heat input rate of 26 MMBtu/hr. for EU 001. The maximum operational heat rate input allowed is 21.87 MMBtu/hr. The corresponding feed rate limitation in the permit is 2590 lb/hr of sawdust feed.   The proposed work will be conducted at the existing GI Shavings LLC Facility, which is a wood products manufacturing facility, categorized under Standard Industrial Classification No. 2499.  The existing facility is located in Lake County at 26444 County Road 33 in Groveland, Florida.  The UTM coordinates are Zone 17, 412.48 km East and 3179.01 km North.  
This air construction permit replaces and supersedes all previous air construction permits and permit revisions.
This final permit is organized into the following sections:  Section 1 (General Information); Section 2 (Administrative Requirements); Section 3 (Emissions Unit Specific Conditions); and Section 4 (Appendices).  Because of the technical nature of the project, the permit contains numerous acronyms and abbreviations, which are defined in Appendix A of Section 4 of this permit.  
STATEMENT OF BASIS
This air pollution construction permit is issued under the provisions of:  Chapter 403 of the Florida Statutes (F.S.) and Chapters 62-4, 62-204, 62-210, 62-212, 62-296 and 62-297 of the Florida Administrative Code (F.A.C.).  The permittee is authorized to conduct the proposed work in accordance with the conditions of this permit.  This project is subject to the general preconstruction review requirements in Rule 62-212.300, F.A.C. and is not subject to the preconstruction review requirements for major stationary sources in Rule 62-212.400, F.A.C. for the Prevention of Significant Deterioration (PSD) of Air Quality.  
Upon issuance of this final permit, any party to this order has the right to seek judicial review of it under Section 120.68 of the Florida Statutes by filing a notice of appeal under Rule 9.110 of the Florida Rules of Appellate Procedure with the clerk of the Department of Environmental Protection in the Office of General Counsel (Mail Station #35, 3900 Commonwealth Boulevard, Tallahassee, Florida, 32399-3000) and by filing a copy of the notice of appeal accompanied by the applicable filing fees with the appropriate District Court of Appeal.  The notice must be filed within 30 days after this order is filed with the clerk of the Department.  
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EXECUTION AND CLERKING

Executed in Orlando, Florida.
STATE OF FLORIDA DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL PROTECTION

[image: C:\Users\rush_k\AppData\Local\Microsoft\Windows\INetCache\Content.Word\Kim signature.jpg]

_____________________
Kimberly Rush, P.E.	
Program Administrator
Permitting and Waste Cleanup
 
CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE
The undersigned duly designated deputy clerk hereby certifies that this permit and all copies were sent on the filing date below to the following listed persons:

Giuseppe Iadisernia, Manager, GI Shavings LLC, gishavingsllc@gmail.com
Carmen Romero Tejada, Manager, CST Business Group LLC, cstacctg@cstgroup.us 
Claudia Moncarz, Attorney, claudia@claudiamoncarz.com 
Bruno Ferraro, Grove Scientific & Engineering Company, bruno@grovescientific.com    
Glenn Semanisin, P.E., Grove Scientific & Engineering Company, glenn@grovescientific.com       
Denise Grovo, Resident, Certified Mail, 4113 Arlington Ridge Blvd., Leesburg, FL 34768
FDEP: Wanda-Parker-Garvin, Brianna Gowan, Jeff Rustin, P.E., Nathan Hess

FILING AND ACKNOWLEDGMENT
FILED, on this date, pursuant to Section 120.52, F. S., with the designated Department Clerk, receipt of which is hereby acknowledged.
 
___________            ___________
Clerk                              Date
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DRAFT PERMIT

GI Shavings LLC Facility	Air Permit No. 0694866-009-AC
Change Regulatory Emission Limitation Standard for EU-001	Minor Source Air Construction Permit	
Page 8 of 8
FACILITY DESCRIPTION
The existing facility consists of the following emissions unit.
	Facility ID No. 0694866

	ID No.
	Emission Unit Description

	001
	Wood Chip Dryer with Cyclone Dust Collector


There are two exhaust stacks at the site: the shorter 31-foot stack located above the combustor, and the main 40-foot stack located downstream of the cyclone dust collector.  The regulated emission point is the top of the main 40-foot exhaust stack downstream of the cyclone dust collector.  The dryer is Model MEC 12-40 3-pass Rotary Drum Dryer Neosho Kansas rated.  The combustor is a Model EU30R wood fired furnace.  
PROPOSED PROJECT
The applicant proposes a change to the regulatory emission limitation standard from Rule 62-296.410(2)(b), F.A.C. to Rule 62-296.410(2)(a), F.A.C., because the sawdust burner firing rate has been downrated from 30 MMBTU/HR to 26 MMBTU/HR by the manufacturer during the system commissioning through physical, electrical, and programming means. As a result, the visible emissions limitation has been changed from, “Visible emissions shall not exceed 30 percent opacity except that visible emissions not exceeding 33 percent opacity shall be allowed for one six-minute period in any one-hour period” to “Visible emissions shall not exceed 20 percent opacity except that visible emissions not exceeding 27 percent opacity shall be allowed for one six-minute period in any one-hour period.”  The particulate matter emissions limitation has been removed, because there is no particulate emissions limitation under Rule 62-296.410(2)(a), F.A.C., and the operational hours agreement has been removed from the permit. The downrating incorporates a maximum design heat input rate of 26 MMBtu/hr. for EU 001. The maximum operational heat rate input allowed is 21.87 MMBtu/hr; the corresponding feed rate limitation is 2590 lb/hr of sawdust feed. This project will modify the specific conditions for emissions unit 001.
	Facility ID No. 0694866

	ID No.
	Emission Unit Description

	001
	Wood Chip Dryer with Cyclone Dust Collector



Facility Regulatory Classification
· The facility is not a major source of hazardous air pollutants (HAP).
· The facility does not operate units subject to the acid rain provisions of the Clean Air Act (CAA).
· The facility is not a Title V major source of air pollution in accordance with Chapter 62-213, F.A.C.
· The facility is classified as a natural minor source for carbon monoxide (CO), nitrous oxides (NOX), particulate matter (PM), volatile organic compounds (VOC), and sulfur dioxide (SO2).
· The facility is not a major stationary source in accordance with Rule 62-212.400(PSD), F.A.C.


SECTION 1.  GENERAL INFORMATION 

1. Permitting Authority:  The permitting authority for this project is the Florida Department of Environmental Protection, Central District, Permitting and Waste Cleanup Program.  The Central District’s mailing address and phone number is:
Florida Department of Environmental Protection
Central District Office
Suite 232
3319 Maguire Boulevard
Orlando, FL  32803-3767
Telephone: 407-897-4100

All documents related to applications for permits shall be submitted to the above address or electronically to the following address: DEP_CD@dep.state.fl.us.  In each document, clearly identify the Air Permit Project No. 0694866-009-AC.

2. Compliance Authority:  All documents related to compliance activities such as reports, tests, and notifications shall be submitted to the Central District Compliance Assurance Program. (Use the above mailing or e-mail address.)  
3. Appendices:  The following Appendices are attached as a part of this permit:  Appendix A (Citation Formats and Glossary of Common Terms); Appendix B (General Conditions); Appendix C (Common Conditions); and Appendix D (Common Testing Requirements); and Appendix E (Equipment Drawing).
4. Applicable Regulations, Forms and Application Procedures:  Unless otherwise specified in this permit, the construction and operation of the subject emissions units shall be in accordance with the capacities and specifications stated in the application.  The facility is subject to all applicable provisions of: Chapter 403, F.S., and Chapters 62-4, 62-204, 62-210, 62-212, 62-213, 62-296, and 62-297, F.A.C.  Issuance of this permit does not relieve the permittee from compliance with any applicable federal, state, or local permitting or regulations.
5. New or Additional Conditions:  For good cause shown and after notice and an administrative hearing, if requested, the Department may require the permittee to conform to new or additional conditions.  The Department shall allow the permittee a reasonable time to conform to the new or additional conditions, and on application of the permittee, the Department may grant additional time.  [Rule 62-4.080, F.A.C.]
6. Modifications:  The permittee shall notify the Compliance Authority upon commencement of construction.  No new emissions unit shall be constructed and no existing emissions unit shall be modified without obtaining an air construction permit from the Department.  Such permit shall be obtained prior to beginning construction or modification.  [Rules 62-210.300(1) and 62-212.300(1)(a), F.A.C.]
7. Operation Permit Application:  A completed application for an initial operation permit shall be submitted to the Permitting Authority no later than May 1, 2018 regardless of the test results in Section 2, Condition 7.c. below.  To properly apply for an operation permit, the applicant shall submit the following:
a. the appropriate permit application form (see current version of Rule 62-210.900, F.A.C. (Forms and Instructions), and/or FDEP Division of Air Resource Management website at: http://www.dep.state.fl.us/air/ ); 
b. the appropriate operation permit application fee from Rule 62-4.050(4)(a), F.A.C.; 
c. the results of the Initial Compliance Test if that report has not been previously submitted; and, 
d. copies of the most recent two months of records/logs specified in Specific Condition Section 3.A. Number A.16.	
(1) 
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SECTION 2.  ADMINISTRATIVE REQUIREMENTS (DRAFT)

This section of the permit addresses the following emissions unit.
	EU No.
	Emission Unit Description

	001
	Wood Chip Dryer with Cyclone Dust Collector


The combustor is a Model EU30R wood fired furnace, which is currently rated at a maximum design heat input rate of 26 MMBtu/hr.  The maximum operational heat rate input allowed is 21.87 MMBtu/hr. The corresponding feed rate limitation in the permit is 2590 lb/hr of sawdust feed.  There are two exhaust stacks at the site: the shorter 31-foot stack located above the combustor, and the main 40-foot stack.  The regulated emission point is the top of the main 40-foot exhaust stack downstream of the rotary kiln dryer and cyclone dust collector.  The dryer is Model MEC 12-40 3-pass Rotary Drum Dryer Neosho Kansas. 

PERFORMANCE RESTRICTIONS
A.1. [bookmark: _Hlk507326284]Permitted Capacity:  The maximum feed rate allowed is 2590 lb/hr  [Application No.0694866-009-AC; Rules 62-210.200(247), “Potential to Emit”, F.A.C.]
A.2. Restricted Operation:  
a. The exhaust vent/stack for the combustor unit is not authorized+ to be open more than 10 minutes during the start-up.  It is not considered a regulated emission point. 

b. The procedures in the Startup, Shutdown, Malfunction, and Operation Procedure (SSMOP) must be met after the SSMOP has been approved by the Department (see Condition A.15.).  The restrictions include wind direction and observation of the plume exiting the top of the main 40-foot exhaust stack. 
[Startup, Shutdown, Malfunction, and Operation Procedure (SSMOP); Rule 62-210.200(247), Potential to Emit, F.A.C.]
A.3. Authorized Fuel: During startup, the burner is permitted to burn split logs or whole log.  During normal operations (outside of startup), the burner is permitted to burn sawdust, wood chips, split logs, or whole logs.  [Rule 62-210.200(247), Potential to Emit, F.A.C.]
A.4. Objectionable Odor Prohibited: No person shall cause, suffer, allow or permit the discharge of air pollutants which cause or contribute to an objectionable odor.							                 	
[Rule 62-296.320(2), F.A.C.]
A.5. Circumvention:  No person shall circumvent any pollution control device or allow the emissions of air pollutants without the applicable air pollution control device operating properly.  					     		 [Rule 62-210.650, F.A.C.]

EMISSIONS STANDARDS
A.6. Emissions Standards:
a. Visible Emissions: Visible Emissions shall not exceed 20 percent opacity except that visible emissions not exceeding 27 percent opacity shall be allowed for one six-minute period in any one-hour period.  This visible emissions limitation does not apply during the startup period for excess emissions as defined in Condition No. A.7. of this permit. 	      										        [Application No. 0694866-009-AC and Rules 62-296.410(2)(b)1. and 62-210.700(1), (4), and (5), F.A.C.]
A.7. Startup Period for Excess Emissions:  The startup period for EU 001 is no longer than 30 minutes which starts when combustion in the burner has commenced.  After May 22, 2018, pursuant to Rule 62-210.700(6)(a), F.A.C., the Startup Period for Excess Emissions will no longer exist.  After May 22, 2018, during the entire operation of Wood Chip Dryer with Cyclone Dust Collector, Visible Emissions shall not exceed 20 percent opacity except that visible emissions not exceeding 27 percent opacity shall be allowed for one six-minute period in any one-hour period.  [Rule 62-210.700(1) and (6)(b), F.A.C.] 

TESTING REQUIREMENTS
A.8. Initial Compliance Test: The wood chip dryer with cyclone dust collector shall be tested within thirty (30) days of issuance of this permit to demonstrate compliance with the emissions limitations for visible emissions specified in Specific Condition Section 3.A. Number A.6.a.  The report documenting the test results shall be submitted to the Central District Compliance Assurance Program (Compliance Authority) within 7 days of the test date.  [Rules 62-297.310(8)(b)(1), 62-296.410(2)(a) and (3), and 62-4.070(3), F.A.C.]
A.9. Annual Compliance Tests:  During each calendar year (January 1st to December 31st), the emissions unit shall be tested to demonstrate compliance with the emissions limitations for visible emissions specified in Specific Condition Section 3.A. Number A.6.a.  [Rule 62-297.310(8)(a)1. and (8)(a)3., 62-296.410(2)(a) and (3)(a), F.A.C.] 
A.10. Compliance Test Prior to Renewal:  In addition to the annual compliance test specified above, compliance tests shall be performed for visible emissions prior to obtaining a renewed operation permit to demonstrate compliance with the emission limits in Specific Condition Section 3.A. Number A.6.a.	These tests shall be conducted within 180 days prior to the renewal application submittal date. [Rules 62-210.300(2)(a) and 62-297.310(8)(b), F.A.C.]
A.11. Test Requirements:  Tests shall be conducted in accordance with the applicable requirements specified in Appendix D (Common Testing Requirements) of this permit. [Rule 62-297.310, F.A.C.]
A.12. Test Methods:  Required tests shall be performed in accordance with the following reference method.  
	Method
	Description of Method and Comments

	9
	Visual Determination of the Opacity of Emissions from Stationary Sources annually


	The above method is described in Appendix A of 40 CFR 60 and are adopted by reference in Rule 62-204.800, F.A.C.  No other methods may be used unless prior written approval is received from the Department.  [Rules 62-204.800, F.A.C., and Appendix A of 40 CFR 60]
NOTIFICATION REQUIREMENTS

A.13. Test Notification:  The permittee shall notify the Compliance Authority at least 15 days prior to the date on which each formal compliance test (A.8., A.9., and A.10.) is to begin.  The notification shall include the following information: date, time, and location of each such test; and the test contact person who will be responsible for coordinating and having such test conducted for the owner or operator; and the name, company, and the telephone number of the person conducting the test.  
	[Rules 62-4.070(3) and 62-297.310(7)(a)9., F.A.C.]
A.14. Malfunction Notification:  In case of excess emissions resulting from malfunctions, notify the Compliance Authority (see Section 2, Administrative Requirement No. 2., for contact information).  Notification shall include pertinent information as to the cause of the problem, and what steps are being taken to correct the problem and to prevent its recurrence, and where applicable, the owner’s intent toward reconstruction of destroyed facilities.  Such notification does not release the permittee from any liability for failure to comply with Department rules.  						     					    				    [Rules 62-210.700(5) and 62-4.130, F.A.C.]

RECORDS AND REPORTS
A.15. Proposed Revised Startup, Shutdown, Malfunction, and Operation Procedure (SSMOP) Submittal:  Within 20 days of permit issuance, the permittee or its representative (e.g., consulting company), shall submit the proposed, revised SSMOP to the Department for approval. 	If the Department has any comments, a new revision of the SSMOP which addresses those comments must be submitted.  The new revision must be submitted within 14 days of receipt of the Department’s comments.

The Startup, Shutdown, Malfunction Procedure shall be followed by facility personnel operating the cyclone wood burner.  The Startup, Shutdown, and Malfunction Procedure can be replaced and superseded with a revised Startup, Shutdown, and Malfunction Procedure, but the revised procedure shall be submitted and approved by the Department before it becomes effective.  A revised procedure can be submitted at any time, including after issuance of an air operation permit.			          
	When the equipment is being operated during the Startup Period, the best operational practices shall be followed as addressed in the latest approved version of the Startup Section of the Startup, Shutdown, Malfunction, and Operation Procedure.																		   [Rules 62-4.070(3), and 62-210.700(1), (4), and (5), F.A.C.]
	
A.16. Recordkeeping:  In order to demonstrate compliance with Specific Condition Section 3.A. Numbers A.1., A.2., and A.3. the permittee shall maintain a log at the facility for a period of at least 5 years from the date the data is recorded.  The log shall be made available to the Department upon request. The log shall contain the following:				
a.  Daily log with following info:
i. Facility Name, Facility ID No. (i.e., 0694866)
ii. Date of record
iii. Startup (first 30 minutes):
1. Time;
2. Wind direction and speed (mph); 
3. [bookmark: _Hlk507596825]Type of fuel (split logs, and/or whole logs);
4. How long the exhaust vent at combustor unit was open in minutes;
5. Observation of plume every 5 minutes until 30 minutes is reached.  The last observation will be at 30 minutes after startup. (indicate if plume is present or not present, do not record opacity).
iv. During burning:
1. Time of each observation;
2. Wind direction and speed at least once an hour;
3. Type of fuel (sawdust, wood chips, split logs, and/or whole logs);
4. Observation of plume at least once an hour (indicate if plume is present or not present, do not record opacity).																		
v. Start of shutdown (that is, when wood fuel is no longer being added to the burner): Time of day;
vi. End of operations (that is, when all the fans are shut off): Time of day;
vii. [bookmark: _Hlk507570903]Daily total of sawdust feed to the burner in lb;
viii. Daily total of operational hours;
ix. Signature of responsible person.
b. New Daily Log:  In case of re-start, a new, separate daily log must be kept. 
c. Monthly Log:
i. Facility Name, Facility ID No. (i.e., 0694866);
ii. Month and year of record; 
iii. Type of fuel combusted (e.g. sawdust, wood chips, split logs, or whole logs);
iv. Daily total of sawdust feed to the burner in lb;
v. Daily total of operational hours;
vi. Daily average feed rate in lb/hr calculated by dividing A.16.c.iv. by A.16.c.v.; and;
vii. [bookmark: _Hlk507570747]Monthly total of sawdust feed to the burner in lb;
viii. [bookmark: _Hlk507570576]Monthly total of operational hours;
ix. [bookmark: _Hlk507597664]Monthly average feed rate in lb/hr calculated by dividing A.16.c.vii. by A.16.c.viii.; and
x. Records of inspections and maintenance conducted.
Daily Logs must be completed the day of the log.  Monthly logs shall be completed by the end of the following month.  
[Rule 62-4.070(3), F.A.C.]
A.17. Record Retention:  The records required in Specific Condition Section 3.A. Number A.16. shall be recorded in a permanent form suitable for inspection and made available to the Department upon request.  The records shall be maintained onsite for a minimum of five (5) years. 					 		   		           [Rule 62-4.070(3), F.A.C.]

OTHER REQUIREMENTS
A.18. Wind Speed and Direction:  The facility will operate onsite equipment to measure wind speed and direction.     [Rule 62-4.070(3), F.A.C.]
A.19. Training Method 22:  During operation of EU 001, a person trained in Method 22 observations must make the observations required for recordkeeping, Specific Condition Section 3.A. Number A.16. 	     [Rule 62-4.070(3), F.A.C.]
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