Permittee:
Facility Number: 0690067 

Natural Organic Products Int'l, Inc.
Permit Number: 0690067-003-AO

710 South Rossiter Avenue

Expiration Date: May 30, 2010

Mt. Dora, Florida 32757
County: Lake 


Latitude/Longitude:


Attention: Dan Hohmeister, Plant Mgr.
28° 47' 22"N/81° 37' 47"W 



                          
Project: Fertilizer Component Mfg.    Facility 

This facility-wide permit is issued under the provisions of Chapter(s) 403, Florida Statutes, and Florida Administrative Code Rule(s) 62-210.  The above named permittee is hereby authorized to perform the work or operate the facility shown on the application and approved drawing(s), plans, and other documents attached hereto or on file with the department and made a part hereof and specifically described as follows:

The permittee may operate the facility in accordance with Rule 62-210.300(2)(b), Florida Administrative Code (F.A.C.).  The primary function of the facility is the drying and granulating of magnetite ore (68 percent Ferric Oxide) using molasses as a binding agent.  The facility may dry lignite also.  The process consists of a fertilizer component dryer and granulator with a cyclone dust collector and a high efficiency wet scrubber.   

Fugitive dusts associated with the materials handling elevator has been minimized by the installation of a misting system. 

This permit replaces and supercedes all previous air permits.

This facility is located at 710 South Rossiter Avenue, Mount Dora, Lake County, Florida.
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OPERATING CONDITIONS
 1.
The facility is permitted to operate a maximum of 8760 hours per consecutive 12 months, per the construction application.


[application received November 15, 1999 and January 28, 2005]

 2.
The maximum material (lignite or magnetite ore with molasses) loading rate is 188,340 tons per consecutive twelve months, per the application.


[application received November 15, 1999 and January 28, 2005]


{Permitting note: 21.5 tons/hr. x 8760 hrs. = 188,340 tons}

3. The maximum permitted heat input rate for the burner is 131,400 MMBTU per consecutive twelve consecutive months, per the application. 


[application received November 15, 1999 and January 28, 2005]

4.  The burner is permitted to burn natural gas only.


[Rule 62-210.200, (PTE), F.A.C.]

 5.
No person shall circumvent any pollution control device or allow the emissions of air pollutants without the applicable air pollution control device operating properly.

      [Rule 62-210.650, F.A.C.]

 6.
No person shall cause, suffer, allow or permit the discharge of air pollutants which cause or contribute to an objectionable odor.  An objectionable odor is defined as any odor present in the outdoor atmosphere which by itself or in combination with other odors, is or may be harmful or injurious to human health or welfare, which unreasonably interferes with the comfortable use and enjoyment of life or property, or which creates a nuisance.

      [Rule 62-296.320(2), F.A.C.]

 7.
All reasonable precautions shall be taken to prevent emissions of unconfined particulate matter.  Reasonable precautions shall include, but not be limited to, the following [Rule 62‑296.320(4)(c), F.A.C.]:

a)    Application of water when necessary to control emissions.

b)
Removal of particulate matter from roads and other paved areas under control of the owner or operator to prevent reentrainment, and from buildings or work areas to prevent particulate.

c)    Enclosure or covering of conveyor systems.

d)   Curtailing of operation if winds are entraining unconfined particulate  matter.

e)    The loading operation shall be maintained and properly operated.

      [Rule 62-296.320(4), F.A.C.]

EMISSION LIMITS
 8.
The visible emission limitation for each emission unit which emits particulates must comply with Rule 62‑296.320(4)(b)1., F.A.C. (limited to less than 20% opacity).

COMPLIANCE
 9.
Each particulate emission unit must be tested for visible emissions at each emission point in accordance with DEP Method 9, at least 90 days prior to the permit expiration date.  The DEP Method 9 test shall last thirty minutes or the length of the batch/cycle.

      [62-297.401, F.A.C.]

10.
At least 15 days prior to the date on which each formal compliance test is due to begin, the permittee shall provide written notification of the test to the air compliance section of this offices.  The notification must include the following information:  the date, time, and location of each test; the name and telephone number of the facility's contact person who will be responsible for coordinating the test; and the name, company, and telephone number of the person conducting the test.

      [Rule 62-297.310(7)(a)9., F.A.C.].

11.   A water flow meter, water pressure gauge and a differential pressure gauge are required to measure water flow and pressure to the scrubber and pressure drop through the scrubber a minimum of 10 days before the compliance test is performed.

      [Rule 62-297.310(5), F.A.C.]

12.
Testing of emissions shall be conducted with the emissions unit operation at permitted capacity.  The maximum operation rate for lignite or magnetite ore with molasses loading is 21.5 tons per hour.  The maximum operation rate (heat input rate) for the burner is 15 MMBTU/HR.  Permitted capacity is defined as 90 to 100 percent of the maximum operation rate allowed by the permit. If it is impractical to test at permitted capacity, an emissions unit may be tested at less than the minimum permitted capacity;  in this case, subsequent emissions unit operation is limited to 110 percent of the test load until a new test is conducted. Once the unit is so limited, operation at higher capacities is allowed for no more than 15 consecutive days for the purpose of additional compliance testing to regain the authority to operate at the permitted capacity.

      [Rule 62-297.310(2), F.A.C.].

13.
Reports of the required compliance tests shall be filed with the air compliance section of this office as soon as practical but no later than 45 days after the last test is completed.

      [Rule 62-297.310(8)(b), F.A.C.]

RECORDKEEPING

14.
In order to demonstrate compliance with condition numbers 2 and 3, the permittee shall maintain a log at the facility for a period of at least 5 years from the date the data is recorded.  The log at a minimum shall contain the following:

Monthly
a)
designation of month and year of operation for which records are being tabulated

b)
consecutive 12 month total of material loading (lignite or magnetite ore with molasses)

c)    consecutive 12 month total of heat input

[Rules 62-4.070(3), and 62-213.440(1)(b)2., F.A.C.]

Note:  A consecutive 12 month total is equal to the total for the month in question plus the totals for the eleven months previous to the month in question.  A consecutive 12-month total treats each month of the year as the end of a 12-month period.  A 12-month total is not a year-to-date total.  Facilities that have not been operating for 12 months should retain 12 month totals using whatever number of months of data are available until such a time as a consecutive 12 month total can be maintained each month.

Supporting documentation (chemical (fuel or lignite) usage tracking logs, MSDS sheets, purchase orders, etc.) shall be kept for each chemical and associated products which includes sufficient information to determine usage rates and emissions. These records shall be made available to the Department upon request. Documentation of each chemical reclaimed will use a mass balance method to determine usage/emissions (amount used minus amount collected for disposal or recycle). The log and documents shall be kept at the facility for at least 5 years and made available to the Department. Daily logs shall be completed within 7 business days and the monthly logs shall be completed by the end of the following month.
15.  A DEP Form No. 62-210.900(5), "Annual Operating Report for Air Pollutant Emitting Facility" including the Emissions Report, shall be completed for each calendar year on or before March 1 of the following year and submitted to the air compliance section of this office.


[Rule 62-210.370(3)(a), F.A.C.]

PERMIT APPLICATION
16.
At least sixty days prior to the expiration date of this permit, the permittee shall submit to this office four air permit applications, DEP Form No. 62-210.900(2), along with the processing fee established in Rule 62-4.050(4), F.A.C.

      [Rule 62-4.090, F.A.C.]



STATE OF FLORIDA DEPARTMENT




OF ENVIRONMENTAL PROTECTION


L.T. Kozlov, P.E.


Program Administrator




Air Resources Management




Issued: 



