ADVANCE \D 108.0
M E M O R A N D U M
DATE:
July 22, 2008
TO:
Richard D. Garrity, Ph.D.

FROM:
Lora Webb
     
    THRU:   Diana M. Lee, P.E.





       Sterlin K. Woodard, P.E.
SUBJECT:
Construction Permit – Sonny Glasbrenner, Inc.
Attached is Final Construction Permit No. 0571361-001-AC for the construction of a stationary air curtain incinerator (ACI) to burn land clearing debris.  The ACI will be operated at 6871 South Westshore Blvd., Tampa, Fl 33616.
The ACI is diesel powered and is manufactured by Air Burners, LLC, Model No. S-327.  The system includes an 88 horsepower diesel-powered blower assembly (approximately 22,000 acfm) with an exhaust manifold directing the flow of the air slightly downward to circulate the air in the combustion box.  The ACI is approximately 27 feet long, 8 feet wide, and 8 feet in depth.  The ACI is an above ground metal unit, refractory lined, and self contained.  
The facility published the Public Notice in the Tampa Tribune on July 5, 2008.  No comments were received from the facility or the public.
Based on our review, we recommend that the above referenced permit be issued as drafted.
LAW:  0571361-001-AC
FINAL DETERMINATION FOR


Sonny Glasbrenner, Inc.

Hillsborough County


Construction Permit


Application Number


0571361-001-AC 


Environmental Protection Commission of


Hillsborough County


Tampa, FL

July 22, 2008
FINAL DETERMINATION


The Environmental Protection Commission of Hillsborough County mailed a public notice package on July 3, 2008 that included an Intent to Issue Air Construction Permit No. 0571361-001-AC to Sonny Glasbrenner, Inc.  The facility is located at 6871 South Westshore Blvd., Tampa, Hillsborough County, FL, 33616.  The air construction permit authorizes the applicant to construction a stationary air curtain incinerator (ACI) to burn land clearing debris.


The Public Notice of Intent to Issue was published in The Tampa Tribune on July 5, 2008.  

COMMENTS/CHANGES


No comments were received from the applicant or the public.

CONCLUSION


The final action of the Environmental Protection Commission of Hillsborough County is to issue the permit as drafted.  


ENVIRONMENTAL PROTECTION COMMISSION OF


HILLSBOROUGH COUNTY, as Delegated by


STATE OF FLORIDA


DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL PROTECTION


NOTICE OF PERMIT

Pate Clements

Owner

Sonny Glasbrenner, Inc.

3565 126th Avenue North

Clearwater, Fl 33762

Re:  Hillsborough County - AP

Dear Mr. Clements:
Enclosed is Permit Number 0571361-001-AC to construct an air curtain incinerator at 6871 South Westshore Blvd., Tampa, Fl 33616, issued pursuant to Section 403.087, Florida Statutes.

Any party to this order (permit) has the right to seek judicial review of the permit pursuant to Section 120.68, Florida Statutes, by the filing of a Notice of Appeal pursuant to Rule 9.110, Florida Rules of Appellate Procedure, with the Clerk of the EPC in the Legal Department at 1900 9th Avenue, Tampa, FL  33605; and by filing a copy of the Notice of Appeal accompanied by the applicable filing fees with the appropriate District Court of Appeal.  The Notice of Appeal must be filed within 30 days from the date this Notice is filed with the clerk of the EPC.

Executed in Tampa, Florida.








Sincerely,








__________________________________







Richard D. Garrity, Ph.D.








Executive Director

RDG/LAW/law

cc:  Florida Department of Environmental Protection, Southwest District - via email
      Rama Iyer, P.E. – Southern Environmental Sciences, Inc.
      Miranda Lessie
                                               CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

This is to certify that this NOTICE OF PERMIT and all copies were mailed before the close of business on _________________________ to the listed persons.







Clerk Stamp

FILED, on this date, pursuant to Section 120.52(11), Florida Statutes, with the designated clerk, receipt of which is hereby acknowledged.







___________________________   _____________







Clerk

                     
        Date

PERMITTEE:                      
           

           PERMIT/CERTIFICATION

Sonny Glasbrenner, Inc.

 
        
           Permit No:  0571361-001-AC
3565 126th Avenue North



           County:  Hillsborough

Clearwater, FL 33762      
         



Expiration Date:  January 2, 2010
                            
    



Project:  Air Curtain Incinerator (ACI)
This permit is issued under the provisions of Chapter 403, Florida Statutes, and Florida Administrative Code Rules 62-209, 62-210, 62-212, 62-272, 62-275, 62-296, 62-297, and 62-4.  The above named permittee is hereby authorized to perform the work or operate the facility shown on the application and approved drawing(s), plans and other documents, attached hereto or on file with the EPC and made a part of hereof and specifically described as follows:

For the construction of an air curtain incinerator (ACI) to burn land clearing debris.  The system includes an 88 horsepower diesel-powered blower assembly (approximately 22,000 acfm) with an exhaust manifold directing the flow of the air slightly downward to circulate the air in the combustion box.  The ACI is approximately 27 feet long, 8 feet wide, and 8 feet in depth.  The ACI is an above ground metal unit, refractory lined, and self contained.  The back of the unit is fitted with refractory lined doors that open to allow for ash removal.  The maximum burn rate of the air curtain incinerator and the hours of operation are limited to 8 tons/hour and 3,120 hours/year, respectively.  
This permit requires that a 50 feet barrier be maintained around the unit to keep it free from any combustible material.  Two 5.5 HP Honda, Model No. GX160OHV, self-priming pumps will be used to draw water from a nearby lake in the event of a fire.  A water hose will also be used during ash removal to maintain sufficient moisture on the ash to reduce uncaptured emissions.  In addition, the facility will be required to install a sprinkler system around the perimeter of the ACI.
Location:  6871 South Westshore Blvd., Tampa, Fl 33616

UTM:  17- 650.8  E     3083.1  N          NEDS NO:  1361
Emission Unit No. 001 – Air Burners, LLC, Model S-327, ACI
References Permit Nos.:  N/A

1.
A part of this permit is the attached General Conditions.  [Rule 62-4.160, F.A.C.]

2.
All applicable rules of the Environmental Protection Commission of Hillsborough County including design discharge limitations specified in the application shall be adhered to.  The permit holder may also need to comply with county, municipal, federal, or other state regulations prior to construction.  [Rule 62-4.070(7), F.A.C.]

3.
Issuance of this permit does not relieve the permittee from complying with applicable emission limiting standards or other requirements of Chapters 62-204, 62-210, 62-212, 62-296, and 62-297, F.A.C., or any other requirements under federal, state, or local law.  [Rule 62-210.300, F.A.C.]

4.
The use of property, facilities, equipment, processes, products, or compounds, or the commission of paint overspraying or any other act, that causes or materially contributes to a public nuisance is prohibited, pursuant to the Hillsborough County Environmental Protection Act, Section 16, Chapter 84-446, Laws of Florida, as Amended.

5.
As requested by the permittee, in order to limit the potential to emit and establish the facility as a synthetic minor for both criteria and Hazardous Air Pollutants (HAP), the following emission limitations shall apply for any 12 consecutive month period: [Rules 62-210.200 and 62-4.070(3), F.A.C. and Construction Permit Application Received February 20, 2008]
A)  NOx emissions shall not exceed 57.6 tons 

B)  PM emissions shall not exceed 33 tons 

C)  VOC emissions shall not exceed 4.3 tons 

D)  SOx emissions shall not exceed 1.8 tons 

E)  The HAP, as defined in Rule 62-213.200, F.A.C., emissions shall be less than 10 tons for any individual HAP and less than 25 tons for any combination of HAPs.

6.
The permittee shall not cause, suffer, allow or permit the discharge of air pollutants which cause or contribute to an objectionable odor.  [Rule 62-296.320(2), F.A.C.]  

7.
Outside of startup periods, visible emissions shall not exceed 10 percent opacity, six (6) minute average.  [Rules 62-296.401(7)(a) and (b)1., F.A.C. and 40 CFR 60.2250(a)(1)]
8.
During startup periods, which shall not exceed the first 30 minutes of operation, an opacity of up to 35 percent, averaged over a six-minute period, shall be allowed.  The general excess emission rule, Rule 62-210.700, F.A.C. shall not apply.  [Rules 62-296.401(7)(a) and (b)1., F.A.C. and 40 CFR 60.2250(a)(2)]
9.
The opacity standards and requirements set forth in this permit shall apply at all times except during periods of startup, shutdown, and malfunction.  Each malfunction must not exceed 3 hours.  [40 CFR 60.11(c) and 40 CFR 60.2250(b)]  

10.
In order to ensure compliance with Specific Condition No. 5, the following restrictions and limitations shall apply:   [Rule 62-4.070(3), F.A.C. and Construction Permit Application Received February 20, 2008]


A)  The maximum burn rate for the air curtain incinerator shall not exceed 8 (eight) tons per hour and 24,960 tons per twelve consecutive month period.    


B)   Maximum hours of operation for the air curtain incinerator shall not exceed 3120 hours per twelve consecutive month period.  
11.
In order to ensure compliance with 40 CFR 60 Subpart IIII, the stationary compression ignition internal combustion engine (CI ICE) used to power the ACI shall meet, at a minimum, the following specifications:  [Rule 62-4.070(3), F.A.C. and Additional Information received May 27, 2008]
A)  No more than one diesel fired or electrical powered CI ICE rated at 88 HP or less.  

B)  The displacement volume of the CI ICE shall not exceed 10 liters per cylinder.

C)  If the owner or operator of the CI ICE commenced construction, modified, or reconstructed the CI ICE after July 2005 or the CI ICE was manufactured after April 1, 2006, the permittee shall maintain compliance with the Specific Conditions in Attachment A of this permit.  Attachment A is an enforceable component of this permit. 

D)  If the owner or operator of the CI ICE commenced construction, modified, or reconstructed the CI ICE prior to July 2005 or the CI ICE was manufactured prior to April 1, 2006, the Specific Conditions in Attachment A shall not apply to the CI ICE.

E)  The applicant shall submit manufacturer’s specifications on the CI ICE used on the ACI to demonstrate compliance with 40 CFR 60 Subpart IIII, within 15 days prior to operation.
12.
This ACI unit is a stationary ACI and therefore shall not be relocated.  [Rule 62-4.070(3), F.A.C. and Construction Permit Application Received February 20, 2008]
13.
The only materials that shall be burned in the air curtain incinerator are vegetative material and untreated wood, excluding sawdust, except as specified in Specific Condition No. 14 below.  The air curtain incinerator shall not be used to burn any biological waste, hazardous waste, asbestos-containing materials, mercury-containing devices, pharmaceuticals, tires, rubber material, residual oil, used oil, asphalt, roofing material, tar, treated wood, plastics, garbage, or trash.  [Rule 62-296.401(7)(b)3., F.A.C.] 

14.
The air curtain incinerator may be used for the destruction of animal carcasses if the Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services has determined that the need for destruction of such carcasses constitutes an emergency requiring the use of open burning and such burning is conducted in compliance with this permit.  When using an air curtain incinerator to burn animal carcasses, untreated wood may also be burned to maintain good combustion.  [Rules 62-296.401(7)(b)4. and 62-256.700(6), F.A.C.]

15.
In order to preclude prohibited materials from being inadvertently burned in the incinerator, only vegetative material and untreated wood, excluding sawdust, shall be stored in or in the immediate vicinity of the air curtain incinerator.  [Rule 62-4.070(3), F.A.C.]

16.
Only kerosene, diesel fuel, drip-torch fuel (as used to ignite prescribed fires), untreated wood, virgin oil, natural gas, or liquefied petroleum gas shall be used to start the fire in the air curtain incinerator.  The use of used oil, chemicals, gasoline, or tires to start the fire is prohibited.  [Rule 62-296.401(7)(b)3., F.A.C.]
17.
The material shall not be loaded into the air curtain incinerator such that it protrudes above the air curtain.  [Rule 62-296.401(7)(b)8., F.A.C.]

18.
Ash shall not be allowed to build up in the pit to higher than 1/3 the pit depth or to the point where the ash begins to impede combustion, whichever occurs first.  [Rule 62-296.401(7)(b)9., F.A.C.]

19.
The permittee shall remove the ash from the air curtain incinerator at least once per week.  [Rule 62-4.070(3), F.A.C.]

20.
In no case shall the air curtain incinerator be started before sunrise.  All charging shall end no later than one (1) hour after sunset.  After charging ceases, air flow shall be maintained until all material within the air curtain incinerator has been reduced to coals, and flames are no longer visible.  A log shall be maintained onsite that documents daily beginning and ending times of charging.  [Rule 62-296.401(7)(b)5., F.A.C.] 
21.
The air curtain incinerator shall be located at least fifty (50) feet from any wildlands, brush, combustible structure, or paved public roadway.  [Rule 62-296.401(7)(b)7., F.A.C.]

22.
The permittee shall operate and maintain, at a minimum, the following in the immediate vicinity of the air curtain incinerator in order to minimize the effects of a fire starting due to embers from the air curtain incinerator: [Rule 62-4.070(3), F.A.C. and Construction Permit Application Received February 20, 2008]

A)  A sprinkler system that circumscribes the perimeter of the ACI.  The height of the water spray system shall be a minimum of eight feet. 

B)  Two 5.5 HP pumps to use as necessary to draw water from the nearby lake.  

C)  The permittee shall not operate the ACI if the lake is dry or if there is no water on-site to put out a fire.  
23.
The air curtain incinerator shall be attended at all times while materials are being burned or flames are visible within the incinerator.  [Rule 62-296.401(7)(b)6., F.A.C.]

24.
An operation and maintenance guide shall be available to the operators of the air curtain incinerator at all times, and the permittee shall provide training to all operators before they work at the incinerator.  The guide shall be made available upon request to any local, state, or federal air pollution agency.  [Rules 62-296.401(7)(b)10. and 62-4.070(3), F.A.C.]

25.
The facility is subject to 40 CFR Subpart CCCC – Standards of Performance for Commercial and Industrial Solid Waste Incineration Units for Which Construction is Commenced after November 30, 1999.  The permittee shall comply with the following requirements: 
A)  The permittee shall furnish the EPC written notification as follows: [40 CFR 60.7(a)]

1) Prior to commencing construction of the ACI, the permittee shall submit to the EPC the planned initial startup date of the ACI.  [40 CFR 60.2260]
2) A notification of the actual date of initial startup of the facility postmarked within 15 days after such date.  [40 CFR 60.7(a)(3)]
3) A notification of any physical or operational change to an existing facility which may increase the emissions rate of any air pollutant to which a standard applies, unless that change is specifically exempted under an application subpart or in 40 CFR 60.14(e).  This notice shall be postmarked 60 days or as soon as practicable before the change is commenced and shall include information describing the precise nature of the change, present and proposed emissions control systems, productive capacity of the facility before and after the change, and the expected completion date of the change.  The EPC may request additional relevant information subsequent to this notice.  [40 CFR 60.7 (a)(4)]

4) A notification of the anticipated date for conducting the opacity observations required by this permit.  The notification shall be postmarked not less than 30 days prior to such date.  [40 CFR 60.7 (a)(6)]

B)  The permittee shall maintain records of the occurrence and duration of any startup, shutdown, or malfunction in the operation of an affected facility; any malfunction of the air pollution control equipment; or any periods during which a continuous monitoring system or monitoring device is inoperative.  [40 CFR 60.7(b)]

C)  The permittee shall maintain a file of all measurements, including performance testing measurements and all other information required by this part recorded in a permanent form suitable for inspection.  The file shall be retained for at least two years following the date of such measurements, maintenance, reports, and records.  Visible emissions test results are required to be maintained on-site for five years.  [40 CFR 60.7(f) and 40 CFR 60.2870]

D)  Compliance with opacity standards in this part shall be determined by conducting observations in accordance with Reference Method 9 in Appendix A (40 CFR 60).  For purposes of determining initial compliance, the minimum total time of observations shall be three hours (thirty 6-minute averages) for the performance test.  [40 CFR 60.11(b)]

E)  At all times, including periods of startup, shutdown, and malfunction, owners and operators shall, to the extent practicable, maintain and operate any affected facility including associated air pollution control equipment in a manner consistent with good air pollution control practice for minimizing emissions.  Determination of whether acceptable operating and maintenance procedures are being used will be based on information available to the EPC which may include, but is not limited to, monitoring results, opacity observations, review of operating and maintenance procedures, and inspection of the source.  [40 CFR 60.11(d)]

F)  No owner or operator subject to the provisions of this part shall build, erect, install, or use any article, machine, equipment or process, the use of which conceals an emission which would otherwise constitute a violation of an applicable standard.  Such concealment includes, but is not limited to, the use of gaseous diluents to achieve compliance with an opacity standard or with a standard that is based on the concentration of a pollutant in the gases discharged to the atmosphere.  [40 CFR 60.12]

26.
The permittee shall maintain daily records of operation for the most recent three year period or as otherwise specified.  The records shall be maintained onsite for and shall be made available upon request to any local, state, or federal air pollution agency.  The records shall include, but not limited to, the following: [Rules 62-4.070(3) and 62-4.160(14)(b), F.A.C., 40 CFR 60.7(b), and 40 CFR 60.2260(a) and (c)]



A)  Date


B)  Type and amount of material for each truckload received in pounds or tons

C)  Type and amount of material incinerated hourly and daily in pounds or tons


D)  Type of starter fluid used


E)   Start of the burn cycle, meaning the time the initial charge was ignited


F)   End of the burn cycle, meaning the time the last charge of the day is extinguished


G)  Hours of operation, meaning from the start to the end of the burning cycle

            H) Maintain monthly summary and rolling 12 consecutive month total for items B), C) and G)                            above


I)   Records of the occurrence and duration of start-ups, shutdowns and malfunctions of the ACI 

J)   Maintenance records as specified in Specific Condition No. 27.
K)  EPA Method 22 observations as required in Specific Condition No. 28.
L)  Records of results of all initial and annual opacity tests which shall be kept onsite in either       paper copy or electronic format for at least 5 years
M) Records as required by Attachment A 
27.
The incinerator equipment (combustion box including the refractory-lined walls, fan, and plenum system) shall be maintained in good repair to perform adequately the function for which it was intended.  Maintenance shall include, but is not limited to, bi-weekly inspections and replacement or repair of faulty equipment or as required by the manufacturer or as specified in the Operation and Maintenance plan.  Any maintenance/repair performed shall be recorded.  Records shall be maintained for three years and shall be made available for inspection upon request.  [Rules 62-4.070(3) and 62-4.160(14)(b), F.A.C.]
28.
At least once per day when in operation, the permittee shall perform an EPA Method 22 on the ACI and maintain records of the observations.  [Rule 62-4.070(3), F.A.C.]

29.
Test the ACI for visible emissions within 60 days after achieving the maximum production rate, but not later than 180 days after initial startup of the ACI and annually thereafter.  For purposes of determining initial compliance, the minimum total time of observations shall be three hours for the performance test. After the initial performance test, the EPA Method 9 tests shall be at least 60 minutes in length which shall include the first thirty minutes of start-up. The opacity test observation period shall include the period during which the highest opacity emissions can reasonably expected to occur; therefore, the opacity test for the ACI shall include the initial startup period starting when initial combustion occurs.  Submit two copies of the test data to the Air Compliance Section of the Air Management Division of the Environmental Protection Commission of Hillsborough County (EPCHC) within 45 days of testing.  Testing procedures shall be consistent with the requirements of 40 CFR 60 and Rule 62-297, F.A.C.  [Rules 62-296.401(7)(d)1, 62-297.310, and 62-4.070(3), F.A.C., and 40 CFR 60.11(b), 40 CFR 60.2255 and 40 CFR 60.2865]
30.
Compliance with the emission limitations of Specific Condition Nos. 7 and 8 shall be determined using EPA Method 9 contained in 40 CFR 60, Appendix A and adopted by reference in Rule 62-297, F.A.C.  The minimum requirements for stack sampling facilities, source sampling and reporting, shall be in accordance with Rule 62-297, F.A.C. and 40 CFR 60, Appendix A.  [Rules 62-296.401(7)(c)1., 62-297.310(4)(a)2., and 62-4.070(3) F.A.C.]  

31.
Testing of emissions shall be conducted with the source operating at capacity.  Capacity is defined as 90-100% of rated capacity of eight tons per hour.  If it is impracticable to test at capacity, then the source may be tested at less than capacity; in this case subsequent source operation is limited to 110% of the test rate until a new test is conducted.  Once the unit is so limited, then operation at higher capacities is allowed for no more than 15 (fifteen) days for purposes of additional compliance testing to regain the rated capacity in the permit, with prior notification to the EPC.  Failure to submit the input rates and actual operating conditions may invalidate the test.  [Rules 62-4.070(3) and 62-297.310(2)(b), F.A.C.]

32.
The permittee shall notify the Air Compliance Section of the Environmental Protection Commission of Hillsborough County at least 30 days prior to the date on which each formal compliance test is to begin of the date, time, and place of each such test, and the contact person who will be responsible for coordinating and having such test conducted.  [40 CFR 60.8(d) and Rule 62-297.310(7)(a)9., F.A.C.]

33.
All reasonable precautions shall be taken to prevent and control generation of unconfined emissions of particulate matter in accordance with the provision in Rule 62-296.320, F.A.C.  These provisions are applicable to any source, including, but not limited to, vehicular movement, transportation of materials, construction, alterations, demolition or wrecking, or industrial related activities such as loading, unloading, storing and handling.  Reasonable precautions shall include, but not limited to, the following:  [Rule 62-296.320(4)(c) and Air Construction Permit Application Received February 20, 2008]
A)  Curtailing of operation if winds are entraining unconfined particulate matter emissions.  

B)  Ensure that the ash in the burn pit is sufficiently moist prior to handling and loading the pit.  If during ash handling the ash is creating unconfined emissions, the operator shall stop the activity and add more water.  

C)  Apply water to the material in the burn pit in a spray pattern so that the water does not displace the material which could result in a release of unconfined emissions.  Continue to apply the water until the hot embers are extinguished.

D)  Maintain a fire extinguisher or other fire suppression equipment in a location immediately adjacent to the air curtain incinerator.  
E)  Post and enforce a 5 mile per hour speed limit.
F)  At least once per day, pick up any wood waste that may haven fallen from incoming trucks

34.
The permittee shall provide timely notification to the Environmental Protection Commission of Hillsborough County prior to implementing any changes that may result in a modification to this permit pursuant to Rule 62-210.200(205), F.A.C., Modification.  The changes do not include normal maintenance, but may include, and are not limited to, the following, and may also require prior authorization before implementation: [Rules 62-210.300 and 62-4.070(3), F.A.C.]

   A)
Alteration or replacement of any equipment or major component of such equipment listed                 in this permit.

   B)
     Installation or addition of any equipment which is a source of air pollution.

   C)
     The use of materials and fuels other than those authorized by this permit.

35.
When the Environmental Protection Commission of Hillsborough County (EPC) after investigation, has good reason (such as complaints, increased visible emissions or questionable maintenance of control equipment) to believe that any applicable emission standard contained in Rules 62-204, 62-210, 62-212, 62-296, or 62-297, F.A.C., or in a permit issued pursuant to those rules is being violated, it may require the owner or operator of the source to conduct compliance tests which identify the nature and quantity of pollutant emissions from the source and to provide a report on the results of said tests to the EPC. [Rule 62-297.310(7)(b), F.A.C.]

36.
Submit to the Environmental Protection Commission of Hillsborough County each calendar year on or before March 1, completed DEP Form 62-210.900(5), "Annual Operating Report for Air Pollutant Emitting Facility", for the preceding calendar year. [Rule 62-210.370(3)(a), F.A.C.]
37.
If the permittee wishes to transfer this permit to another owner, an "Application for Transfer of Air Permit" (DEP Form 62-210.900(7)) shall be submitted, in duplicate, to the Environmental Protection Commission of Hillsborough County within 30 days after the sale or legal transfer of the permitted facility.  [Rule 62-4.120, F.A.C.]

38.
A minimum of two copies of an application for an operation permit shall be submitted to the Environmental Protection Commission of Hillsborough County within 60 days of completion of compliance testing or at least 90 days prior to the expiration date of this permit, whichever occurs first.  [Rules 62-4.050(2) and 62-4.090, F.A.C.]
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