ADVANCE \D 108.0
M E M O R A N D U M
DATE:
September 12, 2006
TO:
Richard D. Garrity, Ph.D.

FROM:
Lora Vlahos       
    THRU:   Sterlin Woodard, P.E.
SUBJECT:
Construction Permit – Farkas Land Clearing & Development
Attached is Final Construction Permit No. 0571323-001-AC for the construction of an air curtain incinerator (ACI) to burn land clearing debris.  
The ACI is diesel powered and is manufactured by McPherson Systems, Inc., Model No. M30F.  The system includes an 85 horsepower diesel-powered blower assembly and a 37-inch, 8 vane axial fan and nozzle.  The burn pit will be a 30 foot long trench, 12 feet deep, and 15 feet wide.  The burn pit will be constructed in the natural clay soil.  The maximum burn rate of the air curtain incinerator is limited to 20,000 lbs/hour and 100 tons per day.  
A sprinkler system will be installed in the immediate vicinity of the air curtain incinerator to help reduce the possibility of a fire.
The facility published the Public Notice in The Tampa Tribune on August 28, 2006.  No comments from the public or the facility were received.
Based on our review, we recommend that the above referenced permit be issued as drafted.
LAV:  0571323-001-AC


FINAL DETERMINATION


FOR


Farkas Land Clearing and Development


Hillsborough County


Construction Permit


Application Number


0571323-001-AC


Environmental Protection Commission of


Hillsborough County


Tampa, FL


September 12, 2006
FINAL DETERMINATION

   The Environmental Protection Commission of Hillsborough County mailed a public notice package on August 10, 2006 that included an Intent to Issue Air Construction Permit No. 0571323-001-AC to Farkas Land Clearing and Development.  The facility is located North of Crowe Rd. approximately 1500 feet west of Turkey Creek Court, Plant City, Fl 33567.  The air construction permit authorizes the applicant to construct one McPherson Systems, Inc., Model No. M30F, Air Curtain Incinerator.


The Public Notice of Intent to Issue was published in The Tampa Tribune on August 28, 2006.  

COMMENTS/CHANGES


No comments were received from the applicant or the public.

CONCLUSION


The final action of the Environmental Protection Commission of Hillsborough County is to issue the permit as drafted.  


ENVIRONMENTAL PROTECTION COMMISSION OF


HILLSBOROUGH COUNTY, as Delegated by


STATE OF FLORIDA


DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL PROTECTION


NOTICE OF PERMIT

Mr. George Farkas, Jr.
Owner
Farkas Land Clearing & Development
5704 West Farkas Rd.
Plant City, FL  33567
Re:  Hillsborough County - AP

Dear Mr. Farkas, Jr.:

Enclosed is Permit Number 0571323-001-AC to construct an air curtain incinerator, issued pursuant to Section 403.087, Florida Statutes.

Any party to this order (permit) has the right to seek judicial review of the permit pursuant to Section 120.68, Florida Statutes, by the filing of a Notice of Appeal pursuant to Rule 9.110, Florida Rules of Appellate Procedure, with the Clerk of the EPC in the Legal Department at 1900 9th Avenue, Tampa, FL  33605; and by filing a copy of the Notice of Appeal accompanied by the applicable filing fees with the appropriate District Court of Appeal.  The Notice of Appeal must be filed within 30 days from the date this Notice is filed with the clerk of the EPC.

Executed in Tampa, Florida.








Sincerely,








__________________________________







Richard D. Garrity, Ph.D.








Executive Director

RDG/LAV/lav

cc:  Florida Department of Environmental Protection, Southwest District - via email
      Rama Iyer, P.E. – Southern Environmental Sciences, Inc.
                                               CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

This is to certify that this NOTICE OF PERMIT and all copies were mailed before the close of business on _________________________ to the listed persons.







Clerk Stamp

FILED, on this date, pursuant to Section 120.52(11), Florida Statutes, with the designated clerk, receipt of which is hereby acknowledged.







___________________________   _____________







Clerk

                     
        Date

PERMITTEE:                      
           

           PERMIT/CERTIFICATION

Farkas Land Clearing & Development

        
Permit No:  0571323-001-AC
5704 West Farkas Rd.
    



County:  Hillsborough

Plant City, FL  33567      
         



Expiration Date:  February 8, 2008
                            
    



Project:  Air Curtain Incinerator (ACI)
This permit is issued under the provisions of Chapter 403, Florida Statutes, and Florida Administrative Code Rules 62-209, 62-210, 62-212, 62-272, 62-275, 62-296, 62-297, and 62-4.  The above named permittee is hereby authorized to perform the work or operate the facility shown on the application and approved drawing(s), plans and other documents, attached hereto or on file with the EPC and made a part of hereof and specifically described as follows:

For the construction of an air curtain incinerator (ACI) to burn land clearing debris.  The ACI is diesel powered and is manufactured by McPherson Systems, Inc., Model No. M30F.  The system includes an 85 horsepower, diesel-powered blower assembly and a 37-inch, 8 vane axial fan and nozzle.  The burn pit will be a 30 foot long trench, 12 feet deep, and 15 feet wide and will be constructed in the natural clay soil.  The maximum burn rate of the air curtain incinerator is limited to 20,000 lbs/hour and 100 tons per day.  

A sprinkler system will be installed in the immediate vicinity of the air curtain incinerator to help reduce the possibility of a fire.

Location:  North of Crowe Rd. approximately 1500 feet west of Turkey Creek Court, Plant City, Fl  33567
UTM:  17- 362.4  E     3091.0  N          NEDS NO:  1323
Emission Unit No. 001 – ACI unit

References Permit Nos.:  N/A

1.
A part of this permit is the attached General Conditions. [Rule 62-4.160, F.A.C.]

2.
All applicable rules of the Environmental Protection Commission of Hillsborough County including design discharge limitations specified in the application shall be adhered to.  The permit holder may also need to comply with county, municipal, federal, or other state regulations prior to construction. [Rule 62-4.070(7), F.A.C.]

3.
Issuance of this permit does not relieve the permittee from complying with applicable emission limiting standards or other requirements of Chapters 62-204, 62-210, 62-212, 62-296 and 62-297, F.A.C., or any other requirements under federal, state, or local law. [Rule 62-210.300, F.A.C.]

4.
The use of property, facilities, equipment, processes, products, or compounds, or the commission of paint overspraying or any other act, that causes or materially contributes to a public nuisance is prohibited, pursuant to the Hillsborough County Environmental Protection Act, Section 16, Chapter 84-446, Laws of Florida, as Amended.

5.
As requested by the permittee, in order to establish the facility as a synthetic minor for both criteria and Hazardous Air Pollutants (HAP), the following emission limitations shall apply: [Rules 62-296.320 and 62-212.300, F.A.C. and Construction Permit Application submitted April 3, 2006]

    A)
The maximum VOC emissions from the entire facility shall not exceed 5.0 tons for any 12 consecutive month period.  

    B)
The HAP, as defined in Rule 62-213.200, F.A.C., emissions shall be less than 10 tons in any 12 consecutive month period for any individual HAP, and less than 25 tons in any 12 consecutive month period for any combination of HAPs.

6.
The permittee shall not cause, suffer, allow or permit the discharge of air pollutants which cause or contribute to an objectionable odor. [Rule 62-296.320, F.A.C.]

7.
Outside of startup periods, no visible emissions (5 percent opacity or less) shall be allowed, except that an opacity of up to 20 percent shall be permitted for not more than three minutes in any one hour.  [Rule 62-296.401(7)(a), F.A.C.]
8.
During startup periods, which shall not exceed the first 30 minutes of operation, an opacity of up to 35 percent, averaged over a six-minute period, shall be allowed.  [Rule 62-296.401(7)(b), F.A.C. and 40 CFR 60.2250(a)(2)]
9.
The general excess emissions rule, Rule 62-210.700, F.A.C., to handle startups, shutdowns, and malfunctions, shall not apply to air curtain incinerators.  [Rule 62-296.401(7)(c), F.A.C.]
10.
In order to ensure compliance with Specific Condition No. 5, the following restrictions and limits shall apply for any 12 consecutive month period:   [Rule 62-4.070(3), F.A.C. and Construction Permit Application submitted April 3, 2006]


A)  The maximum burn rate for the air curtain incinerator shall not exceed 20,000 pounds per hour, 100 tons per day, and 31,200 tons per twelve consecutive month period.    

B)   Maximum hours of operation for the air curtain incinerator are limited to 3120 hours per 12        consecutive month period.  
11.
The only materials that can be burned in an air curtain incinerator are wood wastes consisting of trees, logs, large brush, stumps relatively free of soil, unbagged leaves and yard trash, tree surgeon debris, and clean dry lumber such as pallets.  [Rule 62-296.401(7)(e), F.A.C.]
12.
The burning of sawdust, paper, trash, tires, garbage, plastics, liquid wastes, chemically treated or painted wood, and other similar materials is expressly prohibited. [Rule 62-296.401(7)(f), F.A.C.]
13.
In order to preclude prohibited materials from being inadvertently burned in the incinerator, only materials listed in Specific Condition No. 11 shall be stored in or in the immediate vicinity of the air curtain incinerator.  [Rule 62-4.070(3), F.A.C.]
14.
The burn pit shall not exceed the following dimensions: no more than 12 feet wide, between 8 and 15 feet deep, and no longer than the length of the manifold.  The pit shall not be dug within a previously active portion of a landfill.  [Rule 62-296.401(7)(d), F.A.C.]
15.
In no case shall an air curtain incinerator be started before sunrise.  For refractory lined air curtain incinerators, charging must have completely stopped before sunset.  For all other air curtain incinerators, charging must have completely stopped two hours before sunset.  [Rule 62-296.401(7)(h), F.A.C.]
16.
New air curtain incinerators must be located at least three hundred (300) feet from any pre-existing occupied building located off site.  The Department may issue a permit for an air curtain incinerator which does not meet this setback if the applicant submits with the application a signed affidavit from the owner(s) of all occupied buildings within the setback area that waives the setback requirement.  [Rule 62-296.401(7)(j), F.A.C.]

17.
Only virgin oil, natural gas, or liquefied petroleum gas may be used to start the fire.  The use of waste oil, chemicals, gasoline, or tires is expressly prohibited.  [Rule 62-296.401(7)(g), F.A.C.]

18.
The material shall not be loaded into the air curtain incinerator such that it will protrude above the air curtain.  [Rule 62-296.401(7)(l), F.A.C.]
19.
Ash shall not be allowed to build up in the pit to higher than 1/3 the pit depth or to the point where the ash begins to impede combustion, whichever occurs first. [Rule 62-296.401(7)(m), F.A.C.]

20.
The permittee shall remove the ash from the air curtain incinerator at least once per week.  [Rule 62-4.070(3), F.A.C. and Construction Permit Application submitted April 3, 2006]
21.
At least once per month, the permittee shall measure the width and depth of the burn pit and make adjustments as necessary to ensure the burn pit does not exceed the dimensions listed in Specific Condition No. 14.  [Rule 62-4.070(3), F.A.C.]
22.
A detailed operation and maintenance guide must be available to the operators at all times, and the permittee must provide the proper training to all operators before they work at the incinerator.  The guide shall be made available upon request to any local, state, or federal air pollution agency. [Rules 62-296.401(7)(n) and 62-4.070(3), F.A.C.]
23.
The incinerator equipment (combustion pit including the walls, fan, and plenum system) shall be maintained in good repair to perform adequately the function for which it was intended.  Maintenance shall include, but is not limited to, bi-weekly inspections and replacement or repair of faulty equipment or as required by the manufacturer or as specified in the Operation and Maintenance plan.  Any maintenance/repair performed shall be recorded.  Records shall be maintained for the most recent 12 consecutive month period and shall be made available for inspection upon request.  [Rule 62-4.070(3), F.A.C.]

24.
The permittee shall install a sprinkler system in the immediate vicinity of the air curtain incinerator in order to reduce the possibility of a fire starting due to embers from the air curtain incinerator.  [Rule 62-4.070(3), F.A.C.]
25.
The permittee shall maintain daily records of operation for the most recent 12 consecutive month period.  The records shall be maintained onsite for two years and shall be made available to any local, state, or federal air pollution agency.  The records shall include, but not limited to, the following:  [Rule 62-4.070(3), F.A.C.]



A)  Date


B)  Material in pounds for each truckload received


C)  Material incinerated hourly and daily in pounds or tons

D)  Type of starter fluid used


E)  Start of the burn cycle, meaning the time the initial charge was ignited


F)  End of the burn cycle, meaning the time the last charge of the day is extinguished

G)  Hours of operation, meaning from the start to the end of the burning cycle
            H)  Maintain monthly summary and rolling 12 consecutive month total for items B), C) and G)                            above

26.
Test the ACI unit for visible emissions within 30 days of startup and annually thereafter and submit two copies of the test data to the Air Management Division within 45 days of such testing.  Testing procedures shall be consistent with the requirements of 40 CFR 60 and Rule 62-297, F.A.C. 
27.
At least once per day, the permittee shall perform an EPA Method 22 on the ACI and maintain records of the observations.  [Rule 62-4.070(3), F.A.C.]

28.
Compliance with the emission limitations of Specific Condition Nos. 7 and 8 shall be determined using DEP Method 9 contained in 40 CFR 60, Appendix A and adopted by reference in Rule 62-297, F.A.C.  The minimum requirements for stack sampling facilities, source sampling and reporting, shall be in accordance with Rule 62-297, F.A.C. and 40 CFR 60, Appendix A.  The DEP Method 9 test shall be at least 60 minutes in length.  [Rule 62-297.310(4)(a)2., F.A.C.]  
29.
The permittee shall notify the Air Compliance Section of the Environmental Protection Commission of Hillsborough County at least 15 days prior to the date on which each formal compliance test is to begin of the date, time, and place of each such test, and the contact person who will be responsible for coordinating and having such test conducted. [Rule 62-297.310(7)(a)9., F.A.C.]

30.
Testing of emissions shall be conducted with the source operating at capacity.  Capacity is defined as 90-100% of rated capacity of 20,000 pounds per hour.  If it is impracticable to test at capacity, then the source may be tested at less than capacity; in this case subsequent source operation is limited to 110% of the test rate until a new test is conducted.  Once the unit is so limited, then operation at higher capacities is allowed for no more than fifteen days for purposes of additional compliance testing to regain the rated capacity in the permit, with prior notification to the EPC.  Failure to submit the input rates and actual operating conditions may invalidate the test. [Rules 62-4.070(3) and 62-297.310(2)(b), F.A.C.]

31.
All reasonable precautions shall be taken to prevent and control generation of unconfined emissions of particulate matter in accordance with the provision in Rule 62-296.320, F.A.C.  These provisions are applicable to any source, including, but not limited to, vehicular movement, transportation of materials, construction, alterations, demolition or wrecking, or industrial related activities such as loading, unloading, storing and handling.  Reasonable precautions shall include, but not limited to, the following:  [Rule 62-296.320(4)(c) and the Construction Permit Application submitted April 3, 2006]:

A)  Curtailing of operation if winds are entraining unconfined particulate matter emissions.  

B)  Ensure that the ash in the burn pit is sufficiently moist prior to handling and loading the pit.  If during ash handling the ash is creating unconfined emissions, the operator shall stop the activity and add more water.  

C)  Apply water to the material in the burn pit in a spray pattern so that the water does not displace the material which could result in a release of unconfined emissions.  Continue to apply the water until the hot embers are extinguished.

D)  Maintain a fire extinguisher or other fire suppression equipment in a location immediately adjacent to the air curtain incinerator.  
32.
The permittee shall provide timely notification to the Environmental Protection Commission of Hillsborough County prior to implementing any changes that may result in a modification to this permit pursuant to Rule 62-210.200(169), F.A.C., Modification.  The changes do not include normal maintenance, but may include, and are not limited to, the following, and may also require prior authorization before implementation: [Rules 62-210.300 and 62-4.070(3), F.A.C.]

   A)
Alteration or replacement of any equipment or major component of such equipment listed                 in this permit.

   B)
     Installation or addition of any equipment which is a source of air pollution.

   C)
     The use of materials and fuels other than those authorized by this permit.

33.
When the Environmental Protection Commission of Hillsborough County (EPC) after investigation, has good reason (such as complaints, increased visible emissions or questionable maintenance of control equipment) to believe that any applicable emission standard contained in Rules 62-204, 62-210, 62-212, 62-296, or 62-297, F.A.C., or in a permit issued pursuant to those rules is being violated, it may require the owner or operator of the source to conduct compliance tests which identify the nature and quantity of pollutant emissions from the source and to provide a report on the results of said tests to the EPC. [Rule 62-297.310(7)(b), F.A.C.]

34.
Submit to the Environmental Protection Commission of Hillsborough County each calendar year on or before March 1, completed DEP Form 62-210.900(5), "Annual Operating Report for Air Pollutant Emitting Facility", for the preceding calendar year.  [Rule 62-210.370(2), F.A.C.]

35.
If the permittee wishes to transfer this permit to another owner, an "Application for Transfer of Air Permit" (DEP Form 62-210.900(7)) shall be submitted, in duplicate, to the Environmental Protection Commission of Hillsborough County within 30 days after the sale or legal transfer of the permitted facility. [Rule 62-4.120, F.A.C.]

36.
A minimum of two copies of an application for an operation permit shall be submitted to the Environmental Protection Commission of Hillsborough County within 45 days of completion of compliance testing or at least 60 days prior to the expiration date of this permit, whichever occurs first. [Rules 62-4.050(2) and 62-4.090, F.A.C.]
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Richard D. Garrity, Ph.D.








Executive Director
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