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Air Operation Permit 
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Highlands County, Florida 

 

Minor Source Air Operation Permit - Landfill Gas Flare 

(Renewal of Permit No.  0550046-007-AO) 

PROJECT 

This is the final air operation permit, which renews previous permit No. 0550046-007-AO and authorizes the 

operation of Landfill Gas Flare, which is located at the Highlands County Dept. of Solid Waste landfill.  The facility 

is located in Highlands County at 12700 Arbuckle Creek Road, Sebring, Florida.  The UTM coordinates are Zone 

17, 469.3 km East, and 3042.8 km North. 

This final permit is organized into the following sections:  Section 1 (General Information); Section 2 

(Administrative Requirements); Section 3 (Emissions Unit Specific Conditions); and Section 4 (Appendices).  

Because of the technical nature of the project, the permit contains numerous acronyms and abbreviations, which 

are defined in Appendix A of Section 4 of this permit. 

Permitting Authority:  Applications for air operation permits are subject to review in accordance with the 

provisions of Chapter 403, Florida Statutes (F.S.) and Chapters 62-4 and 62-210 of the Florida Administrative Code 

(F.A.C.).  The Permitting Authority responsible for making a permit determination for this project is the South 

District Office.  The Permitting Authority’s physical address is: 2295 Victoria Avenue, Suite 364, Fort Myers, 

Florida, 33902.  The Permitting Authority’s mailing address is: P.O. Box 2549, Fort Myers, Florida 33902-2549. 

The Permitting Authority’s telephone number is 239-344-5600.

Petitions.  A person whose substantial interests are affected by the proposed decision may petition for an 

administrative hearing in accordance with Sections 120.569 and 120.57, F.S.  The petition must contain the 

information set forth below and must be filed (received) in the Department’s Office of General Counsel, MS #35, 

3900 Commonwealth Boulevard, Tallahassee, Florida 32399-3000, Agency_Clerk@dep.state.fl.us. Petitions filed 

by the applicant or any of the parties listed below must be filed within 14 days of receipt of this notice.  Petitions 

filed by any other person must be filed within 14 days of receipt of this proposed action.  A petitioner must mail a 

copy of the petition to the applicant at the address indicated above, at the time of filing.  The failure of any person 

to file a petition within the appropriate time period shall constitute a waiver of that person’s right to request an 

administrative determination (hearing) under Sections 120.569 and 120.57, F.S., or to intervene in this proceeding 

and participate as a party to it.  Any subsequent intervention will be only at the approval of the presiding officer 

upon the filing of a motion in compliance with Rule 28-106.205, F.A.C. 
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A petition that disputes the material facts on which the Department’s action is based must contain the following 

information:  (a) The name and address of each agency affected and each agency’s file or identification number, if 

known; (b) The name, address, and telephone number of the petitioner; the name, address and telephone number of 

the petitioner’s representative, if any, which shall be the address for service purposes during the course of the 

proceeding; and an explanation of how the petitioner’s substantial interests will be affected by the agency 

determination; (c) A statement of how and when each petitioner received notice of the agency action or proposed 

action; (d) A statement of all disputed issues of material fact.  If there are none, the petition must so indicate; (e) A 

concise statement of the ultimate facts alleged, as well as the rules and statutes which entitle the petitioner to relief; 

(f) A statement of the specific rules or statutes the petitioner contends require reversal or modification of the 

agency’s proposed action; and, (g) A statement of the relief sought by the petitioner, stating precisely the action 

petitioner wishes the agency to take with respect to the agency’s proposed action. A petition that does not dispute 

the material facts upon which the permitting authority’s action is based shall state that no such facts are in dispute 

and otherwise shall contain the same information as set forth above, as required by Rule 28-106.301, F.A.C. 

Because the administrative hearing process is designed to formulate final agency action, the filing of a petition 

means that the Department’s final action may be different from the position taken by it in this notice.  Persons 

whose substantial interests will be affected by any such final decision of the permitting authority on the application 

have the right to petition to become a party to the proceeding, in accordance with the requirements set forth above. 

Mediation:  Mediation is not available in this proceeding. 

Effective Date:  This permitting decision is final and effective on the date filed with the clerk of the Permitting 

Authority unless a petition is filed in accordance with the above paragraphs or unless a request for extension of time 

in which to file a petition is filed within the time specified for filing a petition pursuant to Rule 62-110.106, F.A.C., 

and the petition conforms to the content requirements of Rules 28-106.201 and 28-106.301, F.A.C.  Upon timely 

filing of a petition or a request for extension of time, this action will not be effective until further order of the 

Permitting Authority. 

Judicial Review:  Any party to this permitting decision (order) has the right to seek judicial review of it under 

Section 120.68, F.S., by filing a notice of appeal under Rule 9.110 of the Florida Rules of Appellate Procedure 

with the clerk of the Department of Environmental Protection in the Office of General Counsel, Mail Station #35, 

3900 Commonwealth Boulevard, Tallahassee, Florida, 32399-3000, and by filing a copy of the notice of appeal 

accompanied by the applicable filing fees with the appropriate District Court of Appeal.  The notice must be filed 

within 30 days after this order is filed with the clerk of the Department. 

 

 

                                                                              Executed in Fort Myers, Florida. 

 

 

    

  Jon M. Iglehart 

  Director of 

  District Management 

 

 

JMI/CBE/se 
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CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE 

The undersigned duly designated deputy agency clerk hereby certifies that this Air Permit package was sent by 

electronic mail, or a link to these documents made available electronically on a publicly accessible server, with 

received receipt requested before the close of business on the date indicated below to the following persons. 

Mr. Ramon D. Gavarrete, P.E. (rgavarre@hcbcc.org) 

Michelle Carner (mcarner@hcbcc.org) 

Carter B. Endsley, P.E. (carter.endsley@dep.state.fl.us) 

 

 

 

 

 

Clerk Stamp 

FILING AND ACKNOWLEDGMENT FILED, 

on this date, pursuant to Section 120.52(7), Florida 

Statutes, with the designated agency clerk, receipt 

of which is hereby acknowledged. 

 

  March 29, 2016

 (Clerk)                  (Date) 
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FACILITY DESCRIPTION 

Existing Facility 

This is an enclosed flare for the existing landfill gas collection system.  The landfill gas collection system is an 

active gas extraction system, which includes gas extraction wells installed within the refuse, a collection header 

system, and a suction blower.  The landfill gas collected with the system is controlled by the utility flare.  The 

operating throughput rate of the landfill gas collection and flare system will vary due to the nature of operations in 

the landfill. (The landfill is less than 2.5 million megagrams by mass or 2.5 million cubic meters by volume and is 

not a Title V source or subject to 40 CFR 60 Subpart WWW). 

Note: The existing facility has a 200TPH Asphalt Plant (limited to maximum 600 hours per year operation) on 

the location which is operated by a separate entity, under a separate air operating permit (No. 0550046-006-

AO).  The Asphalt Plant includes emission units No. 002 and 003. The Asphalt plant burner is rated at 70 

MM Btu/hr and is designed to use 852 ACFM extracted from the 1500 ACFM flare gas. When the Asphalt 

Plant (EU-002), is in operation, the flare discharge is reduced to approximately 648 ACFM. The facility is 

located at 12700 Arbuckle Creek Road, Sebring, in Highlands County. 

Facility ID No. 0550046 

ID No. Emission Unit Description 

001 Enclosed Flare (41 MM BTU/hr, 1500 SCFM) 

APPLICABLE REGULATIONS  

A summary of applicable regulations is shown in the following table.   

Regulation EU No(s). 

State Rule Citations 

Rule 62-210.200 (PTE), F.A.C.  001 

Rule 62-210.300, F.A.C., Permits Required 001 

Rule 62-4.160(2) 001 

Rule 62-4.070(3)  001 

Rule 62-296.320(4)(b)4.a. & b.1., F.A.C. 001 

Rule 62-297.310(4) (a) 2., F.A.C. 001 

Rule 62-297.310(7)(a)4, F.A.C. 001 

Rule 62-297.310(7)9., F.A.C. 001 

Rule 62-297.310(2), F.A.C.   001 

Rule 62-297.310(7)(a)3., F.A.C. 001 

 

Facility Regulatory Classification 

 The facility is not a major source of hazardous air pollutants (HAP). 

 The facility has no units subject to the acid rain provisions of the Clean Air Act (CAA). 

 The facility is not a Title V major source of air pollution in accordance with Chapter 213, F.A.C. 

 The facility is not a major stationary source in accordance with Rule 62-212.400(PSD), F.A.C. 
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1. Permitting Authority:  The permitting authority for this project is the South District Office. The South District 

Office mailing address is P.O. Box 2549, Fort Myers, Florida 33902-2549.  All documents related to 

applications for permits to operate an emissions unit shall be submitted to the South District.  Electronic 

submittal to SouthDistrict@dep.state.fl.us is preferred. 

2. Compliance Authority:  All documents related to compliance activities such as reports, tests, and notifications 

shall be submitted to the South District Office at:  2295 Victoria Avenue, Suite 364, Fort Myers, Florida, 

33902.   Electronic submittal to SouthDistrict@dep.state.fl.us is preferred. 

3. Appendices:  The following Appendices are attached as a part of this permit:  Appendix A (Citation Formats 

and Glossary of Common Terms); Appendix B (General Conditions); Appendix C (Common Conditions); 

and Appendix D (Common Testing Requirements).   

4. Applicable Regulations, Forms and Application Procedures:  Unless otherwise specified in this permit, the 

construction and operation of the subject emissions units shall be in accordance with the capacities and 

specifications stated in the application.  The facility is subject to all applicable provisions of: Chapter 403, 

F.S.; and Chapters 62-4, 62-204, 62-210, 62-212, 62-213, 62-296 and 62-297, F.A.C.  Issuance of this permit 

does not relieve the permittee from compliance with any applicable federal, state, or local permitting or 

regulations. 

5. New or Additional Conditions:  For good cause shown and after notice and an administrative hearing, if 

requested, the Department may require the permittee to conform to new or additional conditions.  The 

Department shall allow the permittee a reasonable time to conform to the new or additional conditions, and 

on application of the permittee, the Department may grant additional time.  [Rule 62-4.080, F.A.C.] 

6. Modifications:  No new emissions unit shall be constructed and no existing emissions unit shall be modified 

without obtaining an air construction permit from the Department.  Such permit shall be obtained prior to 

beginning construction or modification.  [Rules 62-210.300(1) and 62-212.300(1)(a), F.A.C.] 

7. Source Obligation: At such time that a particular source or modification becomes a major stationary source 

or major modification (as these terms were defined at the time the source obtained the enforceable limitation) 

solely by exceeding its projected actual emissions, then the requirements of subsections 62-212.400(4) 

through (12), F.A.C., shall apply to the source or modification as though construction had not yet commenced 

on the source or modification. [Rule 62-212.400(12), F.A.C.] 

8. Renewal.  Prior to 60 days before the expiration date of this permit, the permittee shall apply for a renewal 

of the permit.  A renewal application shall be timely and sufficient.  If the application is submitted prior to 

60 days before expiration of the permit, it will be considered timely and sufficient.  If the renewal application 

is submitted at a later date, it will not be considered timely and sufficient unless it is submitted and made 

complete prior to the expiration of the operation permit.  When the application for renewal is timely and 

sufficient, the existing permit shall remain in effect until the renewal application has been finally acted upon 

by the Department.  [Rule 62-4.090, F.A.C.] 

mailto:SouthDistrict@dep.state.fl.us
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This section of the permit addresses the following emissions unit. 

EU No. Emission Unit Description 

001 Enclosed Flare (41 MMBTU/hr, 1500 SCFM) 

 

The flare is a John Zink Corporation Enclosed Gas Flare, Model ZTOF with a maximum flow rate of 1500 scfm of 

landfill gas. The stack of the flare is 40 feet high and has a diameter of 7.6 feet.  

PERFORMANCE RESTRICTIONS 

1. Permitted Capacity:  

 The processing rate shall not exceed 1,500 SCFM of landfill gas.  The heat input rate shall not exceed 41 

mmBtu/hr. (The lower landfill gas heating value is 455.5 Btu/ft3). (Note: when Asphalt Plant (EU-002) in 

permit No. 0550046-006-AO) is in operation, it uses some of the flare gas and therefore the flare discharge 

to atmosphere is reduced to approximately 648 SCFM.  

 [Rule 62-4.160(2) and 62-210.200 (PTE), F.A.C., and Construction Permit 0550046-001-AC, dated January 

8, 2002], [Rule 62-210.200(PTE), F.A.C.] 

2. Authorized Fuel:   

 Landfill Gas (Methane) (heat value @ 455.5 Btu/ft3)).  

 [Application No. 0550046-001-AC and Rule 62- 210.200(PTE), F.A.C.] 

3. Restricted Operation:  The hours of flare operation are not limited (8760 hours per year).  

 [Rules 62-4.070(3) and 62-210.200(PTE), F.A.C.] 

EMISSIONS STANDARDS 

4. Emissions Standards: 

 Visible emissions from the utility flare shall be less than 20% opacity.  

 [Rule 62-296.320(4)(b), F.A.C] 

TESTING REQUIREMENTS 

5. Opacity Compliance Tests.   

 The required minimum period of observation for a visible emissions compliance test shall be thirty (30) 

minutes.   

 [Rule 62-297.310(4) (a) 2., F.A.C.] 

6.  Annual Compliance Tests. 

 During each federal fiscal year (October 1st to September 30th), this emissions unit shall be tested to 

demonstrate compliance with the emissions standards for Visible Emissions (VE).   

  [Rule 62-297.310(7)(a)4, F.A.C.] 



SECTION 3.  EMISSIONS UNIT SPECIFIC CONDITIONS 

A.  EU 001 - Flare 

Highlands County Department of Solid Waste Air Operation Permit No. 0550046-010-AO 

Solid Waste Landfill                                                                                                  Landfill Gas Flare 
 

Page 7 of 8 

7.  Test Notification. 

 The owner or operator shall notify the Department, at least 15 days prior to the date on which each formal 

compliance test is to begin, of the date, time, and place of each such test, and the test contact person who will 

be responsible for coordinating and having such test conducted for the owner or operator. 

 [Rule 62-297.310(7)9., F.A.C.] 

8.  Operating Rate During Testing.  Unless otherwise stated in the applicable emission limiting standard rule, 

testing of emissions shall be conducted with the emissions unit operating at permitted capacity as defined 

below.  If it is impracticable to test at permitted capacity, an emissions unit may be tested at less than the 

maximum permitted capacity; in this case, subsequent emissions unit operation is limited to 110 percent of 

the test rate until a new test is conducted.  Once the unit is so limited, operation at higher capacities is allowed 

for no more than 15 consecutive days for the purpose of additional compliance testing to regain the authority 

to operate at the permitted capacity.  Permitted capacity is defined as 90 to 100 percent of the maximum 

operation rate allowed by the permit.  [Rule 62-297.310(2), F.A.C.]   

9. Compliance Tests Prior to Renewal.   

 This emissions unit shall be tested for the following pollutants prior to obtaining a renewed operation permit.   

 [Rule 62-297.310(7)(a)3., F.A.C.] 

10.  Test Requirements:  The permittee shall notify the Compliance Authority in writing at least 15 days prior to 

any required tests.  Tests shall be conducted in accordance with the applicable requirements specified in 

Appendix D (Common Testing Requirements) of this permit.  [Rule 62-297.310(9), F.A.C.] 

11.  Test Methods:  Required tests shall be performed in accordance with the following reference methods: 

Method Description of Method and Comments 

9 Visual Determination of the Opacity of Emissions from Stationary Sources 

The above method is described in Appendix A of 40 CFR 60 and are adopted by reference in Rule 62-204.800, 

F.A.C.  No other methods may be used unless prior written approval is received from the Department.  [Rules 

62-204.800, F.A.C.; and Appendix A of 40 CFR 60] 

RECORDS AND REPORTS 

12. Test Reports. 

 The owner or operator of an emissions unit for which a compliance test is required shall file a report with the 

Department on the results of each such test.  The required test report shall be filed with the Department as 

soon as practical but no later than 45 days after the last sampling run of each test is completed.  The test report 

shall provide sufficient detail on the emissions unit tested and the test procedures used to allow the 

Department to determine if the test was properly conducted and the test results properly computed.   

 [Rule 62-297.310(8), F.A.C.] 

 

13.  The permittee shall submit all compliance related notifications and reports required by this permit to the 

Department’s South District office in accordance with specific condition 2 of Section 2. 
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CITATION FORMATS 

The following illustrate the formats used in the permit to identify applicable requirements from permits and regulations. 

Old Permit Numbers 

Example: Permit No. AC50-123456 or Permit No. AO50-123456 

Where: “AC” identifies the permit as an Air Construction Permit 

“AO” identifies the permit as an Air Operation Permit 

“123456” identifies the specific permit project number 

New Permit Numbers 

Example: Permit Nos. 099-2222-001-AC, 099-2222-001-AF, 099-2222-001-AO, or 099-2222-001-AV 

Where: “099” represents the specific county ID number in which the project is located 

“2222” represents the specific facility ID number for that county 

“001” identifies the specific permit project number 

“AC” identifies the permit as an air construction permit 

“AF” identifies the permit as a minor source federally enforceable state operation permit 

“AO” identifies the permit as a minor source air operation permit 

“AV” identifies the permit as a major Title V air operation permit 

PSD Permit Numbers 

Example: Permit No. PSD-FL-317 

Where: “PSD” means issued pursuant to the preconstruction review requirements of the Prevention of Significant 

Deterioration of Air Quality 

“FL” means that the permit was issued by the State of Florida 

“317” identifies the specific permit project number 

Florida Administrative Code (F.A.C.) 

Example: [Rule 62-213.205, F.A.C.] 

Means: Title 62, Chapter 213, Rule 205 of the Florida Administrative Code 

Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) 

Example: [40 CFR 60.7] 

Means: Title 40, Part 60, Section 7 

GLOSSARY OF COMMON TERMS 

° F:  degrees Fahrenheit 

µg:  microgram 

AAQS:  Ambient Air Quality Standard 

acf:  actual cubic feet 

acfm:  actual cubic feet per minute 

ARMS:  Air Resource Management System 

(Department’s database) 

BACT:  best available control technology 

bhp:  brake horsepower 

Btu:  British thermal units 

CAM:  compliance assurance monitoring 

CEMS:  continuous emissions monitoring system 

cfm:  cubic feet per minute 

CFR:  Code of Federal Regulations 

CAA:  Clean Air Act 

CMS:  continuous monitoring system 
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CO:  carbon monoxide 

CO2:  carbon dioxide 

COMS:  continuous opacity monitoring system 

DARM:  Division of Air Resource Management 

DEP:  Department of Environmental Protection 

Department:  Department of Environmental Protection 

dscf:  dry standard cubic feet 

dscfm:  dry standard cubic feet per minute 

EPA:  Environmental Protection Agency 

ESP:  electrostatic precipitator (control system for 

reducing particulate matter) 

EU:  emissions unit 

F:  fluoride 

F.A.C.:  Florida Administrative Code 

F.A.W.:  Florida Administrative Weekly 

F.D.:  forced draft 

F.S.:  Florida Statutes 

FGD:  flue gas desulfurization 

FGR:  flue gas recirculation 

ft2:  square feet 

ft3:  cubic feet 

gpm:  gallons per minute 

gr:  grains 

HAP:  hazardous air pollutant 

Hg:  mercury 

I.D.:  induced draft 

ID:  identification 

kPa:  kilopascals 

lb:  pound 

MACT:  maximum achievable control technology 

MMBtu:  million British thermal units 

MSDS:  material safety data sheets 

MW:  megawatt 

NESHAP:  National Emissions Standards for Hazardous 

Air Pollutants 

NOX:  nitrogen oxides 

NSPS:  New Source Performance Standards 

O&M:  operation and maintenance 

O2:  oxygen 

Pb:  lead 

PM:  particulate matter 

PM10:  particulate matter with a mean aerodynamic 

diameter of 10 microns or less 

ppm:  parts per million 

ppmv:  parts per million by volume 

ppmvd:  parts per million by volume, dry basis 

QA:  quality assurance 

QC:  quality control 

PSD:  prevention of significant deterioration 

psi:  pounds per square inch 

PTE:  potential to emit 

RACT:  reasonably available control technology 

RATA:  relative accuracy test audit 

RBLC:  EPA’s RACT/BACT/LAER Clearinghouse 

SAM:  sulfuric acid mist 

scf:  standard cubic feet 

scfm:  standard cubic feet per minute 

SIC:  standard industrial classification code 

SIP:  State Implementation Plan 

SNCR:  selective non-catalytic reduction (control system 

used for reducing emissions of nitrogen oxides) 

SO2:  sulfur dioxide 

TPD:  tons/day 

TPH:  tons per hour 

TPY:  tons per year 

TRS:  total reduced sulfur 

UTM:  Universal Transverse Mercator coordinate system 

VE:  visible emissions 

VOC:  volatile organic compound
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The permittee shall comply with the following general conditions from Rule 62-4.160, F.A.C. 

1. The terms, conditions, requirements, limitations and restrictions set forth in this permit, are “permit conditions” and are 

binding and enforceable pursuant to Sections 403.141, 403.727, or 403.859 through 403.861, F.S.  The permittee is placed 

on notice that the Department will review this permit periodically and may initiate enforcement action for any violation of 

these conditions. 

2. This permit is valid only for the specific processes and operations applied for and indicated in the approved drawings or 

exhibits. Any unauthorized deviation from the approved drawings, exhibits, specifications, or conditions of this permit 

may constitute grounds for revocation and enforcement action by the Department. 

3. As provided in subsections 403.987(6) and 403.722(5), F.S., the issuance of this permit does not convey any vested rights 

or any exclusive privileges. Neither does it authorize any injury to public or private property or any invasion of personal 

rights, nor any infringement of federal, state, or local laws or regulations. This permit is not a waiver of or approval of any 

other department permit that may be required for other aspects of the total project which are not addressed in this permit. 

4. This permit conveys no title to land or water, does not constitute State recognition or acknowledgment of title, and not 

constitute authority for the use of submerged lands unless herein provided and the necessary title or leasehold interests 

have been obtained from the State. Only the Trustees of the Internal Improvement Trust Fund may express State opinion 

as to title. 

5. This permit does not relieve the permittee from liability for harm or injury to human health or welfare, animal, or plant 

life, or property caused by the construction or operation of this permitted source, or from penalties therefore; nor does it 

allow the permittee to cause pollution in contravention of Florida Statutes and Department rules, unless specifically 

authorized by an order from the Department. 

6. The permittee shall properly operate and maintain the facility and systems of treatment and control (and related 

appurtenances) that are installed and used by the permittee to achieve compliance with the conditions of this permit, as 

required by Department rules. This provision includes the operation of backup or auxiliary facilities or similar systems 

when necessary to achieve compliance with the conditions of the permit and when required by Department rules. 

7. The permittee, by accepting this permit, specifically agrees to allow authorized Department personnel, upon presentation 

of credentials or other documents as may be required by law and at reasonable times, access to the premises where the 

permitted activity is located or conducted to: 

a. Have access to and copy any records that must be kept under conditions of the permit; 

b. Inspect the facility, equipment, practices, or operations regulated or required under this permit; and 

c. Sample or monitor any substances or parameters at any location reasonably necessary to assure compliance with this 

permit or Department rules.  Reasonable time may depend on the nature of the concern being investigated. 

8. If, for any reason, the permittee does not comply with or will be unable to comply with any condition or limitation specified 

in this permit, the permittee shall immediately provide the Department with the following information: 

a. A description of and cause of noncompliance; and 

b. The period of noncompliance, including dates and times; or, if not corrected, the anticipated time the noncompliance 

is expected to continue, and steps being taken to reduce, eliminate, and prevent recurrence of the noncompliance. The 

permittee shall be responsible for any and all damages which may result and may be subject to enforcement action by 

the Department for penalties or for revocation of this permit. 

9. In accepting this permit, the permittee understands and agrees that all records, notes, monitoring data and other information 

relating to the construction or operation of this permitted source which are submitted to the Department may be used by 

the Department as evidence in any enforcement case involving the permitted source arising under the Florida Statutes or 

Department rules, except where such use is prescribed by Sections 403.111 and 403.73, F.S. Such evidence shall only be 

used to the extent it is consistent with the Florida Rules of Civil Procedure and appropriate evidentiary rules. 

10. The permittee agrees to comply with changes in Department rules and Florida Statutes after a reasonable time for 

compliance; provided, however, the permittee does not waive any other rights granted by Florida Statutes or Department 

rules. A reasonable time for compliance with a new or amended surface water quality standard, other than those standards 
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addressed in Rule 62-302.500, F.A.C., shall include a reasonable time to obtain or be denied a mixing zone for the new or 

amended standard. 

11. This permit is transferable only upon Department approval in accordance with Rules 62-4.120 and 62-730.300, F.A.C., 

as applicable. The permittee shall be liable for any non-compliance of the permitted activity until the transfer is approved 

by the Department. 

12. This permit or a copy thereof shall be kept at the work site of the permitted activity. 

13. This permit also constitutes: 

a. Determination of Best Available Control Technology (not applicable); 

b. Determination of Prevention of Significant Deterioration (not applicable); and 

c. Compliance with New Source Performance Standards (not applicable). 

14. The permittee shall comply with the following: 

a. Upon request, the permittee shall furnish all records and plans required under Department rules.  During enforcement 

actions, the retention period for all records will be extended automatically unless otherwise stipulated by the 

Department. 

b. The permittee shall hold at the facility or other location designated by this permit records of all monitoring information 

(including all calibration and maintenance records and all original strip chart recordings for continuous monitoring 

instrumentation) required by the permit, copies of all reports required by this permit, and records of all data used to 

complete the application for this permit. These materials shall be retained at least three years from the date of the 

sample, measurement, report, or application unless otherwise specified by Department rule. 

c. Records of monitoring information shall include: 

(a) The date, exact place, and time of sampling or measurements; 

(b) The person responsible for performing the sampling or measurements; 

(c) The dates analyses were performed; 

(d) The person responsible for performing the analyses; 

(e) The analytical techniques or methods used; 

(f) The results of such analyses. 

15. When requested by the Department, the permittee shall within a reasonable time furnish any information required by law 

which is needed to determine compliance with the permit. If the permittee becomes aware the relevant facts were not 

submitted or were incorrect in the permit application or in any report to the Department, such facts or information shall be 

corrected promptly. 
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Unless otherwise specified in the permit, the following conditions apply to all emissions units and activities at the facility. 

EMISSIONS AND CONTROLS 

1. Plant Operation - Problems:  If temporarily unable to comply with any of the conditions of the permit due to breakdown of 

equipment or destruction by fire, wind or other cause, the permittee shall notify each Compliance Authority as soon as 

possible, but at least within one working day, excluding weekends and holidays.  The notification shall include:  pertinent 

information as to the cause of the problem; steps being taken to correct the problem and prevent future recurrence; and, 

where applicable, the owner’s intent toward reconstruction of destroyed facilities.  Such notification does not release the 

permittee from any liability for failure to comply with the conditions of this permit or the regulations.  [Rule 62-4.130, 

F.A.C.] 

2. Circumvention:  The permittee shall not circumvent the air pollution control equipment or allow the emission of air pollutants 

without this equipment operating properly.  [Rule 62-210.650, F.A.C.] 

3. Excess Emissions Allowed:  Excess emissions resulting from startup, shutdown or malfunction of any emissions unit shall 

be permitted providing (1) best operational practices to minimize emissions are adhered to and (2) the duration of excess 

emissions shall be minimized but in no case exceed 2 hours in any 24-hour period unless specifically authorized by the 

Department for longer duration.  Pursuant to Rule 62-210.700(5), F.A.C., the permit subsection may specify more or less 

stringent requirements for periods of excess emissions.  Rule 62-210-700(Excess Emissions), F.A.C., cannot vary or 

supersede any federal NSPS or NESHAP provision.  [Rule 62-210.700(1), F.A.C.] 

4. Excess Emissions Prohibited:  Excess emissions caused entirely or in part by poor maintenance, poor operation, or any other 

equipment or process failure that may reasonably be prevented during startup, shutdown or malfunction shall be prohibited.  

[Rule 62-210.700(4), F.A.C.] 

5. Excess Emissions - Notification:  In case of excess emissions resulting from malfunctions, the permittee shall notify the 

Compliance Authority in accordance with Rule 62-4.130, F.A.C.  A full written report on the malfunctions shall be submitted 

in a quarterly report, if requested by the Department.  [Rule 62-210.700(6), F.A.C.] 

6. VOC or OS Emissions:  No person shall store, pump, handle, process, load, unload or use in any process or installation, 

volatile organic compounds (VOC) or organic solvents (OS) without applying known and existing vapor emission control 

devices or systems deemed necessary and ordered by the Department.  [Rule 62-296.320(1), F.A.C.] 

7. Objectionable Odor Prohibited:  No person shall cause, suffer, allow or permit the discharge of air pollutants, which cause 

or contribute to an objectionable odor.  An “objectionable odor” means any odor present in the outdoor atmosphere which 

by itself or in combination with other odors, is or may be harmful or injurious to human health or welfare, which 

unreasonably interferes with the comfortable use and enjoyment of life or property, or which creates a nuisance.  [Rules 62-

296.320(2) and 62-210.200(Definitions), F.A.C.] 

8. General Visible Emissions:  No person shall cause, let, permit, suffer or allow to be discharged into the atmosphere the 

emissions of air pollutants from any activity equal to or greater than 20% opacity.  This regulation does not impose a specific 

testing requirement.  [Rule 62-296.320(4)(b)1, F.A.C.] 

9. Unconfined Particulate Emissions:  During the construction period, unconfined particulate matter emissions shall be 

minimized by dust suppressing techniques such as covering and/or application of water or chemicals to the affected areas, 

as necessary.  [Rule 62-296.320(4)(c), F.A.C.] 

RECORDS AND REPORTS 

10. Records Retention:  All measurements, records, and other data required by this permit shall be documented in a permanent, 

legible format and retained for at least 5 years following the date on which such measurements, records, or data are recorded.  

Records shall be made available to the Department upon request.  [Rule 62-213.440(1) (b) 2, F.A.C.] 

11. Emissions Computation and Reporting: 

a. Applicability.  This rule sets forth required methodologies to be used by the owner or operator of a facility for 

computing actual emissions, baseline actual emissions, and net emissions increase, as defined at Rule 62-210.200, 

F.A.C., and for computing emissions for purposes of the reporting requirements of subsection 62-210.370(3) and 

paragraph 62-212.300(1)(e), F.A.C., or of any permit condition that requires emissions be computed in accordance 

with this rule.  This rule is not intended to establish methodologies for determining compliance with the emission 

limitations of any air permit.  [Rule 62-210.370(1), F.A.C.] 

b. Computation of Emissions.  For any of the purposes set forth in subsection 62-210.370(1), F.A.C., the owner or 

operator of a facility shall compute emissions in accordance with the requirements set forth in this subsection.  
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(1) Basic Approach.  The owner or operator shall employ, on a pollutant-specific basis, the most accurate of the 

approaches set forth below to compute the emissions of a pollutant from an emissions unit; provided, however, 

that nothing in this rule shall be construed to require installation and operation of any continuous emissions 

monitoring system (CEMS), continuous parameter monitoring system (CPMS), or predictive emissions 

monitoring system (PEMS) not otherwise required by rule or permit, nor shall anything in this rule be construed 

to require performance of any stack testing not otherwise required by rule or permit.  

(a) If the emissions unit is equipped with a CEMS meeting the requirements of paragraph 62-210.370(2)(b), 

F.A.C., the owner or operator shall use such CEMS to compute the emissions of the pollutant, unless the 

owner or operator demonstrates to the department that an alternative approach is more accurate because the 

CEMS represents still-emerging technology.  

(b) If a CEMS is not available or does not meet the requirements of paragraph 62-210.370(2)(b), F.A.C, but 

emissions of the pollutant can be computed pursuant to the mass balance methodology of paragraph 62-

210.370(2)(c), F.A.C., the owner or operator shall use such methodology, unless the owner or operator 

demonstrates to the department that an alternative approach is more accurate.  

(c) If a CEMS is not available or does not meet the requirements of paragraph 62-210.370(2)(b), F.A.C., and 

emissions cannot be computed pursuant to the mass balance methodology, the owner or operator shall use 

an emission factor meeting the requirements of paragraph 62-210.370(2)(d), F.A.C., unless the owner or 

operator demonstrates to the department that an alternative approach is more accurate.  

(2) Continuous Emissions Monitoring System (CEMS).  

(a) An owner or operator may use a CEMS to compute emissions of a pollutant for purposes of this rule 

provided:  

1) The CEMS complies with the applicable certification and quality assurance requirements of 40 CFR 

Part 60, Appendices B and F, or, for an acid rain unit, the certification and quality assurance 

requirements of 40 CFR Part 75, all adopted by reference at Rule 62-204.800, F.A.C.; or  

2) The owner or operator demonstrates that the CEMS otherwise represents the most accurate means of 

computing emissions for purposes of this rule.  

(b) Stack gas volumetric flow rates used with the CEMS to compute emissions shall be obtained by the most 

accurate of the following methods as demonstrated by the owner or operator:  

1) A calibrated flow meter that records data on a continuous basis, if available; or  

2) The average flow rate of all valid stack tests conducted during a five-year period encompassing the 

period over which the emissions are being computed, provided all stack tests used shall represent the 

same operational and physical configuration of the unit.  

(c) The owner or operator may use CEMS data in combination with an appropriate f-factor, heat input data, 

and any other necessary parameters to compute emissions if such method is demonstrated by the owner or 

operator to be more accurate than using a stack gas volumetric flow rate as set forth at subparagraph 62-

210.370(2)(b)2., F.A.C., above.  

(3) Mass Balance Calculations.  

(a) An owner or operator may use mass balance calculations to compute emissions of a pollutant for purposes 

of this rule provided the owner or operator:  

1) Demonstrates a means of validating the content of the pollutant that is contained in or created by all 

materials or fuels used in or at the emissions unit; and  

2) Assumes that the emissions unit emits all of the pollutant that is contained in or created by any 

material or fuel used in or at the emissions unit if it cannot otherwise be accounted for in the process 

or in the capture and destruction of the pollutant by the unit’s air pollution control equipment.  

(b) Where the vendor of a raw material or fuel which is used in or at the emissions unit publishes a range of 

pollutant content from such material or fuel, the owner or operator shall use the highest value of the range 

to compute the emissions, unless the owner or operator demonstrates using site-specific data that another 

content within the range is more accurate.  
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(c) In the case of an emissions unit using coatings or solvents, the owner or operator shall document, through 

purchase receipts, records and sales receipts, the beginning and ending VOC inventories, the amount of 

VOC purchased during the computational period, and the amount of VOC disposed of in the liquid phase 

during such period.  

(4) Emission Factors.  

a. An owner or operator may use an emission factor to compute emissions of a pollutant for purposes of this 

rule provided the emission factor is based on site-specific data such as stack test data, where available, unless 

the owner or operator demonstrates to the department that an alternative emission factor is more accurate. An 

owner or operator using site-specific data to derive an emission factor, or set of factors, shall meet the 

following requirements.  

1) If stack test data are used, the emission factor shall be based on the average emissions per unit of 

input, output, or gas volume, whichever is appropriate, of all valid stack tests conducted during at 

least a five-year period encompassing the period over which the emissions are being computed, 

provided all stack tests used shall represent the same operational and physical configuration of the 

unit.  

2) Multiple emission factors shall be used as necessary to account for variations in emission rate 

associated with variations in the emissions unit’s operating rate or operating conditions during the 

period over which emissions are computed.  

3) The owner or operator shall compute emissions by multiplying the appropriate emission factor by the 

appropriate input, output or gas volume value for the period over which the emissions are computed.  

The owner or operator shall not compute emissions by converting an emission factor to pounds per 

hour and then multiplying by hours of operation, unless the owner or operator demonstrates that such 

computation is the most accurate method available.  

b. If site-specific data are not available to derive an emission factor, the owner or operator may use a published 

emission factor directly applicable to the process for which emissions are computed. If no directly-applicable 

emission factor is available, the owner or operator may use a factor based on a similar, but different, process. 

(5) Accounting for Emissions During Periods of Missing Data from CEMS, PEMS, or CPMS.  In computing the 

emissions of a pollutant, the owner or operator shall account for the emissions during periods of missing data 

from CEMS, PEMS, or CPMS using other site-specific data to generate a reasonable estimate of such emissions.  

(6) Accounting for Emissions During Periods of Startup and Shutdown.  In computing the emissions of a pollutant, 

the owner or operator shall account for the emissions during periods of startup and shutdown of the emissions 

unit.  

(7) Fugitive Emissions.  In computing the emissions of a pollutant from a facility or emissions unit, the owner or 

operator shall account for the fugitive emissions of the pollutant, to the extent quantifiable, associated with such 

facility or emissions unit.  

(8) Recordkeeping.  The owner or operator shall retain a copy of all records used to compute emissions pursuant to 

this rule for a period of five years from the date on which such emissions information is submitted to the 

department for any regulatory purpose.  

[Rule 62-210.370(2), F.A.C.] 

c. Annual Operating Report for Air Pollutant Emitting Facility 

(1) The Annual Operating Report for Air Pollutant Emitting Facility (DEP Form No. 62-210.900(5)) shall be 

completed each year for the following facilities:  

(a) All Title V sources. 

(b) All synthetic non-Title V sources. 

(c) All facilities with the potential to emit ten (10) tons per year or more of volatile organic compounds or 

twenty-five (25) tons per year or more of nitrogen oxides and located in an ozone nonattainment area or 

ozone air quality maintenance area.  

(d) All facilities for which an annual operating report is required by rule or permit. 

 



SECTION 4.  APPENDIX C 

Common Conditions 

 

C-4 

(2) Notwithstanding paragraph 62-210.370(3)(a), F.A.C., no annual operating report shall be required for any facility 

operating under an air general permit. 

(3) The annual operating report shall be submitted to the appropriate Department of Environmental Protection (DEP) 

division, district or DEP-approved local air pollution control program office by April 1 of the following year.  If 

the report is submitted using the Department’s electronic annual operating report software, there is no 

requirement to submit a copy to any DEP or local air program office. 

(4) Emissions shall be computed in accordance with the provisions of subsection 62-210.370(2), F.A.C., for purposes 

of the annual operating report. 

(5) Facility Relocation.  Unless otherwise provided by rule or more stringent permit condition, the owner or operator 

of a relocatable facility must submit a Facility Relocation Notification Form (DEP Form No. 62-210.900(6)) to 

the Department at least 30 days prior to the relocation.  A separate form shall be submitted for each facility in the 

case of the relocation of multiple facilities which are jointly owned or operated. 

[Rule 62-210.370(3), F.A.C.] 
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EMISSIONS TESTING REQUIREMENTS 

1. Applicability:  Unless otherwise stated in a specific rule, permit, or other order, the general requirements set forth in 

subsections 62-297.310(2) through (10), F.A.C., shall be used for regulated stationary sources’ emissions tests for 

comparison with air pollution emission-limiting standards that are enforceable under state law.  An emissions test is an 

emissions rate test, a concentration test, or an opacity test.  [Rule 62-297.310(1), F.A.C.] 

2. Required Number of Test Runs:  For emission rate or concentration limitations, an emissions test shall consist of three 

valid test runs to determine the total air pollutant emission rate or concentration through the test section of the stack or 

duct.  A valid test run is a test run that meets all requirements of the applicable test method.  An emissions test shall also 

consist of three distinct determinations of any applicable process parameters corresponding to the three distinct test run 

time periods during which the emission rate or concentration was measured when such data are needed in conjunction 

with emissions data to compare the emissions test results with the applicable emission limiting standards.  Such data 

shall be obtained pursuant to subsection 62-297.310(6), F.A.C.  The three required test runs shall be completed within 

one consecutive five-day period.  In the event that a sample is lost or one of the three runs must be discontinued because 

of circumstances beyond the control of the owner or operator, and a valid third run cannot be obtained within the five 

day period allowed for the test, results of the two valid runs shall be accepted, provided that the arithmetic mean of the 

results of the two valid runs is at least 20% below the allowable emission limiting standard.  [Rule 62-297.310(2), F.A.C.] 

3. Operating Conditions during Emissions Testing:  Testing of emissions shall be conducted with the emissions unit 

operating at the testing capacity as defined below.  If it is impracticable to test at the testing capacity, an emissions unit 

may be tested at less than the testing capacity.  If an emissions unit is tested at less than the testing capacity, another 

emissions test shall be conducted and completed no later than 60 days after the emissions unit operation exceeds 110% 

of the capacity at which its most recent emissions test was conducted.  Testing capacity is defined as at least 90% of the 

maximum operation rate specified by the permit.  [Rule 62-297.310(3), F.A.C.] 

4. Calculation of Emission Rate or Concentration:  The emission rate or concentration used for comparison with the 

relevant standard shall be the arithmetic average of the emission rate or concentration determined by each of the three 

valid test runs unless otherwise specified in an applicable rule or test method.  Data collected during periods of soot 

blowing shall not be excluded from any calculation of emission rate or concentration.  [Rule 62-297.310(4), F.A.C.] 

5. Required Sampling Times and Observation Periods:  Unless otherwise specified in an applicable test method, rule, 

permit, or other order, the owner or operator shall conduct emissions tests in accordance with the following procedures: 

a. Emission Rate or Concentration Tests.  The required sampling time for each test run shall be no less than one hour 

and no greater than four hours, and the sampling time at each sampling point shall be of equal intervals of at least 

two minutes, except that for operations that are typically completed within less than the minimum required sampling 

time, the duration of each test run shall include each occurrence of the operation during the minimum required 

sampling time.  The test period shall include the period of typical operation during which the highest representative 

emissions are expected to occur. 

b. Opacity Tests.  When EPA Method 9 is specified as the applicable opacity test method, the required minimum period 

of observation for a visible emissions test shall be 60 minutes for emissions units that are subject to a multiple-valued 

opacity standard, and 30 minutes for all other emissions units, except that for batch, cyclical processes, or other 

operations that are typically completed within less than the minimum observation period, the period of observation 

shall include each occurrence of the operation during the minimum observation period.  The opacity test observation 

period shall include the period during which the highest opacity emissions can reasonably be expected to occur. 

[Rule 62-297.310(5), F.A.C.] 

6. Determination of Process Parameters: 

a. Required Process Equipment.  The owner or operator of an emissions unit for which emissions tests are required 

shall install, operate, and maintain equipment or instruments necessary to determine process parameters, when such 

data are needed in conjunction with emissions data to compare emissions test results with applicable emission 

limiting standards. 

b. Accuracy of Process Measurement Equipment.  Equipment or instruments used to directly or indirectly determine 

process parameters shall be calibrated and adjusted so as to determine the value of the process parameter to within 

10% of its true value. 

[Rule 62-297.310(6), F.A.C.] 
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7. Required Emissions Testing Facilities: 

a. The owner or operator of an emissions unit, for which an emissions test other than a visible emissions test is 

required, shall provide emissions testing facilities that meet the requirements of 40 CFR 60.8(e), adopted and 

incorporated in Rule 62-204.800, F.A.C. 

b. Permanent Emissions Testing Facilities.  The owner or operator of an emissions unit, for which an emissions test 

other than a visible emissions test is required on at least an annual basis, shall install and maintain permanent 

emissions testing facilities. 

c. Temporary Emissions Testing Facilities.  The owner or operator of an emissions unit that is not required to conduct 

an emissions test on at least an annual basis may use permanent or temporary emissions testing facilities.  If the 

owner or operator chooses to use temporary emissions testing facilities on an emissions unit, and the Department 

elects to test the unit, such temporary facilities shall be installed on the emissions unit within 5 days of a request by 

the Department and remain on the emissions unit until the test is completed. 

[Rule 62-297.310(7), F.A.C.] 

8. Frequency of Emissions Tests:  The following provisions apply only to those emissions units that are subject to an 

emissions-limiting standard for which emissions testing is required. 

a. Annual Emissions Tests Required. 

1. Where used in Rules 62-210.310, 62-297.310, or Chapter 62-296, F.A.C., to refer to frequency of required 

emissions tests, the terms “annual,” “annually,” and “annually thereafter” shall mean no less frequently than 

once every calendar year (January 1 – December 31). 

2. Unless exempted by subparagraph 62-297.310(8)(a)5., F.A.C., the owner or operator shall have an emissions 

unit tested annually for each of the following pollutants that has an emissions-limiting standard for which 

emissions testing is required: 

(a) Each hazardous air pollutant regulated by 40 CFR Part 61, adopted and incorporated by reference at Rule 

62-204.800, F.A.C.; and 

(b) Any other regulated air pollutant, as defined at Rule 62-210.200, F.A.C., or a pollutant designated as a 

surrogate to a regulated air pollutant by an applicable rule or order, if allowable emissions equal or exceed 

100 tons per year. 

3. Unless exempted by subparagraph 62-297.310(8)(a)5., F.A.C., the owner or operator shall have an emissions 

unit tested annually for visible emissions, if there is an applicable standard other than the general opacity 

standard of subparagraph 62-296.320(4)(b)1., F.A.C. 

4. Unless exempted by subparagraph 62-297.310(8)(a)5., F.A.C., the owner or operator shall have an emissions 

unit tested annually if a rule, permit or other order issued after March 9, 2015, requires an initial emissions test 

but is silent as to the frequency of additional testing.  A rule, permit, or other order that states that no further 

testing is required after an initial test, or which expressly lists or describes the tests that shall be conducted 

annually, is not considered silent as to the frequency of additional testing.  Annual testing is not required where 

a permit or other order issued prior to March 9, 2015, is silent as to the frequency of additional testing. 

5. Exemptions from subparagraphs 62-297.310(8)(a)2., 3., and 4., F.A.C. 

(a) An annual emissions test shall not be required for any pollutant for which a rule, permit, or other order 

requires emissions testing at some other specific frequency.  If multiple applicable rules, permits, or other 

orders, other than subparagraphs 62-297.310(8)(a)2., 3., and 4., F.A.C., require different testing 

frequencies, testing must comply with the frequency requirements of each such rule, permit, or order. 

(b) An annual emissions test shall not be required for any pollutant for which a rule, permit, or other order 

requires that the pollutant emissions be measured by a continuous emission monitoring system and, either 

that system meets the performance specifications and quality assurance and quality control measures of 40 

CFR part 60, adopted and incorporated in Rule 62-204.800, F.A.C., or that system meets the performance 

specifications and quality assurance and quality control measures of 40 CFR part 75, adopted and 

incorporated in Rule 62-204.800, F.A.C. 
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(c) An annual emissions test shall not be required for visible emissions for which a rule, permit, or other order 

requires that emissions be measured by a continuous opacity monitoring system, and that system meets the 

performance specifications and quality assurance and quality control measures of 40 CFR part 60, adopted 

and incorporated in Rule 62-204.800, F.A.C., and the manufacturer’s recommended quality assurance and 

quality control measures. 

(d) An annual emissions test shall not be required for any emissions unit that operated for 400 hours or less 

(including during startup and shutdown) during the calendar year.  If an emission unit operates for more 

than 400 hours during the calendar year, an emissions test shall be completed no later than 60 days after the 

emissions unit’s annual operation exceeds 400 hours, or by the end of the calendar year, whichever is later. 

(e) An annual emissions test shall not be required for any emissions unit with emissions generated solely from 

the combustion of fuel, provided that the emissions unit does not burn any liquid fuel or solid fuel or fuel 

blend for more than 400 hours combined, other than during startup, during the calendar year.  If an 

emissions unit’s liquid fuel or solid fuel or fuel blend burning exceeds 400 hours combined during the 

calendar year, other than during startup, an emissions test shall be completed no later than 60 days after the 

emissions unit’s liquid fuel or solid fuel or fuel blend burning exceeds 400 hours combined, or by the end 

of the calendar year, whichever is later. 

(f) An annual emissions test shall not be required for each fuel-specific emissions limit, provided the fuel or 

fuel blend subject to a fuel-specific limit was not burned for more than 400 hours, other than during startup, 

during the calendar year.  If an emissions unit burns a fuel or fuel blend subject to a fuel-specific emission 

limit for more than 400 hours, other than during startup, during the calendar year, an emissions test for that 

fuel or fuel blend shall be completed no later than 60 days after the unit’s burning of that fuel or fuel blend 

exceeds 400 hours, or by the end of the calendar year, whichever is later. 

(g) An emissions unit shall not be required to start up for the sole purpose of conducting an emissions test to 

meet the frequency requirements of subsection 62-297.310(8), F.A.C.  In such a case, an emissions test 

shall be completed no later than 60 days after the emissions unit next starts up. 

(h) An emissions unit permitted to burn multiple fuels or fuel blends shall not be required to switch fuels for 

the sole purpose of conducting an annual emissions test to meet the frequency requirements of subsection 

62-297.310(8), F.A.C.  In such a case, an emissions test shall be completed no later than 60 days after a 

switch is made to burn the fuel or fuel blend for which testing is required. 

(i) An annual emissions test for visible emissions shall not be required for emissions units exempted from air 

permitting pursuant to paragraphs 62-210.300(3)(a) or (b), F.A.C.; emissions units determined to be 

insignificant pursuant to paragraph 62-213.430(6)(b), F.A.C.; or emissions units authorized pursuant to the 

general permit provisions in subsection 62-210.300(4), F.A.C., unless the general permit specifically 

requires such testing. 

b. Emissions Tests Prior to Obtaining an Air Operation Permit. 

(1) Unless exempted by subparagraph 62-297.310(8)(b)3., F.A.C., prior to obtaining an initial or renewal air 

operation permit for any emissions unit that is subject to any emission-limiting standard, the owner or operator 

shall have an emissions test conducted for each such standard to assist in providing reasonable assurance, per 

Rule 62-4.070, F.A.C., that the emission-limiting standard can be met and shall submit the test report as 

specified in subsection 62-297.310(10), F.A.C.  For an emissions unit at a Title V source, such prior emissions 

testing is not required provided that an emissions testing compliance plan is included in the Title V permit. 

(2) For the purpose of renewal of an air operation permit, the owner or operator may satisfy the requirements of 

subparagraph 62-297.310(8)(b)1., F.A.C., for any emissions unit by submitting the most recent emissions test, 

as specified in subsection 62-297.310(10), F.A.C., provided such test occurred within the term of the current 

operating permit. 

(3) Exemptions from subparagraph 62-297.310(8)(b)1., F.A.C. 

(a) An emissions test shall not be required for any pollutant for which a rule, permit, or other order requires 

that the emissions be measured by a continuous emission monitoring system and, either that system meets 

the performance specifications and quality assurance and quality control measures of 40 CFR part 60, 

adopted and incorporated in Rule 62-204.800, F.A.C., or that system meets the performance specifications 
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and quality assurance and quality control measures of 40 CFR part 75, adopted and incorporated in Rule 

62-204.800, F.A.C.  

(b) An emissions test shall not be required for visible emissions for which a rule, permit, or other order 

requires that emissions be measured by a continuous opacity monitoring system, and that system meets the 

performance specifications and quality assurance and quality control measures of 40 CFR part 60, adopted 

and incorporated in Rule 62-204.800, F.A.C., and the manufacturer’s recommended quality assurance and 

quality control measures.  

(c) For the purpose of renewal of an air operation permit, an emissions test shall not be required for any 

emissions unit that, in the previous five-year period of permitted operation, operated for 400 hours or less 

(including during startup and shutdown) during each calendar year included in the five-year period of 

permitted operation.  The first time an emissions unit subsequently exceeds 400 hours of operation during a 

calendar year, emissions must be tested no later than 60 days after 400 hours of operation is exceeded in 

that calendar year, or by the end of that calendar year, whichever is later.  

(d) For the purpose of renewal of an air operation permit, an emissions test shall not be required for any 

emissions unit with emissions generated solely from the combustion of fuel provided that, in the previous 

five-year period of permitted operation, the emissions unit did not burn any liquid fuel or solid fuel or fuel 

blend for more than 400 hours combined, other than during startup, during each calendar year included in 

the five-year period of permitted operation.  The first time an emissions unit subsequently burns any liquid 

fuel or solid fuel or fuel blend for more than 400 hours combined during a calendar year, emissions must be 

tested no later than 60 days after the emissions unit’s combined burning of any liquid fuel or solid fuel or 

fuel blend exceeds 400 hours in that calendar year, or by the end of that calendar year, whichever is later. 

(e) An emissions test shall not be required for each fuel-specific emissions limit prior to the renewal of an air 

operation permit for an emissions unit provided that, in the previous five-year period of permitted 

operation, the fuel or fuel blend subject to a fuel-specific limit was not burned for more than 400 hours, 

other than during startup, during each calendar year included in the five-year period of permitted operation.  

The first time an emissions unit subsequently burns a fuel or fuel blend subject to a fuel-specific emission 

limit for more than 400 hours, other than during startup, during any calendar year, an emissions test for that 

fuel or fuel blend must be completed no later than 60 days after the emissions unit’s burning of that fuel or 

fuel blend exceeds 400 hours in that calendar year, or by the end of that calendar year, whichever is later. 

(f) An emissions unit shall not be required to start up for the sole purpose of conducting an emissions test to 

meet the frequency requirements of subsection 62-297.310(8), F.A.C. In such a case, an emissions test shall 

be completed no later than 60 days after the emissions unit starts up. 

(g) An emissions unit permitted to burn multiple fuels or fuel blends shall not be required to switch fuels for 

the sole purpose of conducting the emissions test to meet the frequency requirements of subsection 62-

297.310(8), F.A.C.  In such a case, an emissions test shall be completed no later than 60 days after a switch 

is made to burn the fuel or fuel blend for which testing is required. 

(h) An emissions test for visible emissions shall not be required for emissions units exempted from air 

permitting pursuant to paragraphs 62-210.300(3)(a) or (b), F.A.C.; emissions units determined to be 

insignificant pursuant to paragraph 62-213.430(6)(b), F.A.C.; or emissions units authorized pursuant to the 

general permit provisions in subsection 62-210.300(4), F.A.C., unless the general permit specifically 

requires such testing. 

c. Special Compliance Tests.  When the Department, after investigation, has good reason (such as complaints, 

increased visible emissions or questionable maintenance of control equipment) to believe that any applicable 

emission standard contained in a Department rule or in a permit issued pursuant to those rules is being violated, it 

shall require the owner or operator of the emissions unit to conduct compliance tests which identify the nature and 

quantity of pollutant emissions from the emissions unit, unless the Department obtains other information sufficient 

to demonstrate compliance.  The owner or operator of the emissions unit shall provide a report on the results of said 

tests to the Department in accordance with the provisions of subsection 62-297.310(10), F.A.C. 

[Rule 62-297.310(8), F.A.C.] 

9. Scheduling and Notification:  At least 15 days prior to the date on which each required emissions test is to begin, the 

owner or operator shall notify the air compliance program identified by permit, unless shorter notice is agreed to by the 
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appropriate air compliance program.  The notification shall include the date, time, place of each such test, Facility ID 

Number, Emission Unit ID Number(s) and description(s), Emission Point Number(s) and description(s), test method(s), 

pollutant(s) to be tested, along with the name and telephone number of the person who will be responsible for conducting 

such test(s) for the owner or operator.  If a scheduled emissions test needs to be re-scheduled, the owner or operator shall 

submit to the appropriate air compliance program a revised notification at least seven days prior to the re-scheduled 

emissions test date or arrange a re-scheduled test date with the appropriate air compliance program by mutual agreement.  

[Rule 62-297.310(9), F.A.C.] 

REPORTS 

10. Test Reports: 

a. The owner or owner’s authorized agent of an emissions unit for which an emissions test is required shall submit a 

written test report to the compliance authority specified by permit, on the results of each such test as soon as 

practicable but no later than 45 days after the last run of each test is completed.  Test reports may be submitted 

electronically. 

b. If the owner or owner’s authorized agent of an emissions unit for which an emissions test is required submits the 

results of each such test electronically using the EPA Electronic Reporting Tool (ERT), the written report specified 

in paragraph 62-297.310(10)(a), F.A.C., need not be submitted, provided the conditions of subparagraphs 62-

297.310(10)(b)1. through 3., F.A.C., are met: 

(1) The owner or owner’s authorized agent shall submit the test information using the ERT as soon as practicable 

but no later than 45 days after the last run of each test is completed;  

(2) The test information shall provide, as a minimum, the information specified in subparagraphs 62-

297.310(10)(c)1. through 24., F.A.C.; and  

(3) The compliance authority specified by permit must receive written notification, no later than 45 days after the 

last run of each test is completed, of the date that the test data was submitted using the ERT. 

c. The test report shall provide sufficient detail on the emissions unit tested and the test procedures used to allow the 

Department to determine if the test was properly conducted and the test results properly computed.  As a minimum, 

the test report, other than for an EPA Method 9 test, shall provide the following information. 

(1) The type, location, and identification number of the emissions unit tested. 

(2) The facility at which the emissions unit is located. 

(3) The owner and, if other than the owner, operator of the emissions unit. 

(4) The type and amount of fuels and materials typically used and processed, and the actual types and amounts of 

fuels used and material processed during each test run. 

(5) If necessary in order to compare the emissions test results with an applicable emission limiting standard, the 

means, raw data, and computations used to determine the amount of fuels used and materials processed. 

(6) The type of air pollution control devices installed on the emissions unit, their general condition, their typical 

operating parameters, and their actual operating parameters during each test run. 

(7) A diagram of the sampling location, including the distance to any upstream and downstream bends or other flow 

disturbances. 

(8) The date, starting time, and duration of each sampling run. 

(9) The test procedures, including any authorized alternative procedures, used. 

(10) The number of points sampled, and the configuration and location of the sampling plane. 

(11) For each sampling point for each run, the dry gas meter reading, velocity head, pressure drop across the stack or 

duct, temperatures, average meter temperatures, and sample time per point. 

(12) The type, manufacturer, and configuration of the sampling equipment used. 

(13) Data related to the required calibration of the test equipment. 

(14) Data on the identification, processing, and weights of all filters used. 
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(15) Data on the types and amounts of any chemical solutions used. 

(16) For each sampling run, data on the amount of pollutant collected from each sampling probe. 

(17) For each sampling run, data on the amount of pollutant collected from the filters. 

(18) For each sampling run, data on the amount of pollutant collected from the impingers. 

(19) The names of individuals who furnished the process variable data, conducted the test, analyzed the samples and 

prepared the report. 

(20) All measured and calculated data required to be determined by each applicable test procedure for each run. 

(21) The detailed calculations for one run that relate the collected data to the calculated emission rate or 

concentration, as applicable. 

(22) The applicable emission standard, and the resulting maximum allowable emission rate or concentration for the 

emissions unit, as applicable, plus the test result in the same form and unit of measure. 

(23) When an emissions test is conducted for the Department or its agent, the person who conducts the test shall 

provide the certification with respect to the test procedures used.  The owner or owner’s authorized agent shall 

certify that all data required and provided to the person conducting the test are true and correct to his or her 

knowledge. 

(24) For non-Title V sources, a certification by the owner or owner’s authorized agent that, to his or her knowledge, 

all data submitted are true and correct. 

(25) Any report submitted for a Title V source shall contain certification by a responsible official.  This certification 

shall state that, based on information and belief formed after reasonable inquiry, the statements and information 

in the document are true, accurate, and complete. 

[Rule 62-297.310(10), F.A.C.] 

 


