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Project: Air Operation Permit

This is a revision to the existing Federally Enforceable State Operation Permit (FESOP, 007) for the operation of the Florida State Hospital located at U.S. Highway 90 East, Chattahoochee, Florida, Gadsden County; UTM Coordinates:  Zone 16, 706.7 km East and 3398.96 km North; Latitude: 30( 42’ 13” North and Longitude: 84( 50’ 05” West.

Statement of Basis:  This air operation permit is issued under the provisions of Chapter 403, Florida Statutes (F.S.) and Florida Administrative Code (F.A.C.) Chapters 62-4, 62-210.  The above named permittee is hereby authorized to perform the work or operate the facility shown on the application and approved drawing(s), plans, and other documents, attached hereto or on file with the permitting authority, in accordance with the terms and conditions of this permit.
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Section I.  Facility Information.
Subsection A.  Facility Description.
This facility is a state hospital under the Florida Department of Children and Families.  This permit is a revision to the existing Federally Enforceable State Operation Permit (FESOP, 007, issued April 22, 2005) in order to incorporate a new boiler.  Air construction permit 0390004-006-AC was issued for the installation of an additional 29.4 MMBtu/hour dual-fuel boiler.  The boiler was later reduced in size to a 12.0 MMBtu/hour natural gas fired boiler.  The two existing 29.4 MMBtu/hour boilers (designated Boiler #1 and #2) and the new boiler (designated Boiler #3) are subject to Best Available Control Technology (BACT) for PM and SO2 required by Rule 62-296.406, F.A.C., and 40 CFR Part 60 Subpart Dc.  In order to retain status as a synthetic non-Title V facility, the Hospital has requested that the two 29.4 MMBtu/hr boilers be limited to a combined total of 11,380 hours of operation.

There are three 1,750 KW diesel fired generators (G-1, G-2, G-3), which are located at the hospital’s power plant.  The generators are used to supply emergency power to the hospital facility and supply power to the grid, through a power agreement with Florida Power.  This agreement gives Florida Power the option to shut power off to the Hospital during peak loading periods.  As a result, the Hospital then would operate on generator-produced power.  Florida Power then can redistribute power during heavy power demands and/or peak periods.  In order to reduce emissions from these generators the Hospital requested, with permit 0390004-006-AC, a cumulative maximum operation limit of 1,500 hours per 12 month rolling period and a maximum sulfur content of 0.5 percent in the diesel fuel to be combusted.  
Also included in this permit are 16 emergency generators, which were previously insignificant units under the Title V permit but are now regulated due to an individual unit limit of 100 hours of operation.  The purpose of the limitation on the generators is to assist the facility in maintaining its status as a synthetic minor source.  Activities that are exempt from permitting at the Florida State Hospital include general maintenance activities, cooking and laundry operations, office activities, emergency generators, space heaters, and other miscellaneous minor activities.  These activities were previously designated as insignificant activities in the facility’s Title V permit.

Estimated Potential emissions from the facility’s three diesel generators, three boilers, and 16 emergency generators with operational hour limits are listed below.  Although the worst-case emission estimates for the boilers are based on burning No. 6 (0.5% Sulfur) fuel oil, it is expected that the actual emissions will be much less due to the fact that combustion of No. 6 fuel oil occurs only during natural gas service loss.  
	Potential Emissions @ Limited Hours
	PM

(Ton/Yr)
	SO2
(Ton/Yr)
	NOx
(Ton/Yr)
	CO

(Ton/Yr)
	VOC

(Ton/Yr)
	HAP

(Ton/Yr)

	*Two Boilers @ 11,380 hrs total
	8.65
	87.55
	61.34
	14.05
	0.92
	0.32

	Three Generators @ 1,500 hrs total
	1.23
	7.12
	22.88
	9.68
	1.24
	0.02

	One NG Fired Boiler@ 8,760 hrs
	0.40
	0.03
	5.26
	4.42
	0.29
	0.10

	16 Generators @ 100 hrs/unit
	0.32
	0.30
	4.58
	0.99
	0.37
	0.01

	TOTAL
	10.60
	95.00
	94.06
	29.14
	2.82
	0.45


*
Emissions are based on the use of No. 6 fuel oil with 0.5% sulfur content, which is only allowed during natural gas service loss.  Potential emissions from natural gas and No. 2 fuel oil with 0.05% sulfur content are significantly less.

Based on the permit application received May, 16 2007, this facility is not a major source of hazardous air pollutants (HAPs).  
Subsection B.  Summary of Emissions Unit ID No(s). and Brief Description(s).

	E.U.  ID No.
	Brief Description

	010
	Two 29.4 MMBtu/hr Dual-Fuel Boilers (NSPS)

	011
	Three 1,750 KW Diesel Generators

	012
	One 12 MMBtu/hr Natural Gas Fired Boiler 

	001
	16 Emergency Generators


Please reference the Permit No., Facility ID No., and appropriate Emissions Unit(s) ID No(s). on all correspondence, test report submittals, applications, etc.

Subsection C.  Relevant Documents.

The documents listed below are not a part of this permit; however, they are specifically related to this permitting action.

These documents are on file with permitting authority:
Permit Application received May, 16 2007
Section II.  Facility-wide Conditions.

The following conditions apply facility-wide:
1.  APPENDIX G-1, GENERAL CONDITIONS, is a part of this permit.

2.  General Pollutant Emission Limiting Standards. Objectionable Odor Prohibited.  The permittee shall not cause, suffer, allow, or permit the discharge of air pollutants that cause or contribute to an objectionable odor.

[Rule 62-296.320(2), F.A.C.]

3.  General Particulate Emission Limiting Standards.  General Visible Emissions Standard.  Except for emissions units that are subject to a particulate matter or opacity limit set forth or established by rule and reflected by conditions in this permit, no person shall cause, let, permit, suffer or allow to be discharged into the atmosphere the emissions of air pollutants from any activity, the density of which is equal to or greater than that designated as Number 1 on the Ringelmann Chart (20 percent opacity).  EPA Method 9 is the method of compliance pursuant to Chapter 62-297, F.A.C.

[Rules 62-296.320(4)(b)1. & 4., F.A.C.]

4.  Special Compliance Tests.  When the Department, after investigation, has good reason (such as complaints, increased visible emissions or questionable maintenance of control equipment) to believe that any applicable emission standards contained in a Department rule or in a permit issued pursuant to those rules is being violated, it may require the owner or operator of the emissions unit to conduct compliance tests that identify the nature and quantity of pollutant emissions from the emissions unit and to provide a report on the results of said tests to the Department.

[Rule 62-297.310(7)(b), F.A.C.]

5.  Prevention of Accidental Releases (Section 112(r) of CAA).

a.  As required by rule, inspection, or change in process the owner or operator shall submit an updated Risk Management Plan (RMP) to the Chemical Emergency Preparedness and Prevention Office (CEPPO) RMP Reporting Center.

b.  The owner or operator shall report to the Department of Community Affairs (DCA) within one working day of discovery of an accidental release of a regulated substance from the stationary source, if the owner or operator is required to report the release to the USEPA/Chemical Safety Hazard Investigation Board or the National Response Center under Section 112(r)(6).

c.  The owner or operator shall submit the required annual registration fee to the DCA on or before June 21, 1999 and on April 1 annually thereafter, in accordance with Part IV, Chapter 252, F.S. and Rule 9G-21, F.A.C.
6.  An annual operating report for air pollutant emitting facility, DEP Form 62-210.900(5), shall be submitted by March 1 of each year.  A copy of the form and instructions may be obtained from the Department’s Northwest District office.

[Rule 62-210.370, F.A.C.]

7.  General Pollutant Emission Limiting Standards. Volatile Organic Compounds (VOC) Emissions or Organic Solvents (OS) Emissions.  The permittee shall allow no person to store, pump, handle, process, load, unload or use in any process or installation, volatile organic compounds (VOC) or organic solvents (OS) without applying known and existing vapor emission control devices or systems deemed necessary and ordered by the Department.  All vats, container, etc., that are used for temporary and permanent storage of VOC/OS shall be covered to prevent vaporization of the VOC when not in use.  All equipment, pipes, hoses, lids, fittings, etc. shall be operated and maintained in such a manner as to minimize leaks, fugitive emissions and spills of VOC materials.

[Rule 62-296.320(1)(a), F.A.C., and construction permit 0390004-005-AC]

8.  Reasonable precautions to prevent emissions of unconfined particulate matter at this facility include: existing good housekeeping practices such periodic sweeping and/or vacuuming of work areas, and protection of dust transfer points from wind.
[Rule 62-296.320(4)(c)2., F.A.C., and construction permit 0390004-005-AC]

9.  Sixty days prior to the expiration date of this operation permit, the Permittee shall submit two permit renewal applications using the current version of the renewal form along with the processing fee established in Rule 62-4.050(4), F.A.C., to the Northwest District office of the Department.

[Rule 62-4.090, F.A.C.]

10.  The permittee shall submit all compliance related notifications and reports required of this permit to the Department’s Northwest District office:

Department of Environmental Protection

Northwest District Office

160 Governmental Center

Pensacola, Florida 32502-5794

Telephone: 850/595-8300; Fax: 850/595-8096

Notification of compliance testing may be submitted by electronic mail to nwdair@dep.state.fl.us.  A copy of all compliance related notifications shall be sent to the Northwest District Branch Office in Tallahassee at 630-3 Capital Circle NE, Tallahassee FL 32301.

11.  The Department telephone number for reporting problems, malfunctions or exceedances under this permit is 850/595-8300, extension 1220, day or night, and for emergencies involving a significant threat to human health or the environment is 800/320-0519.  For routine business, telephone 850/595-8300, then press 7, during normal working hours.

[Rules 62-210.700 and 62-4.130, F.A.C.]

Section III.  Emissions Unit(s) and Conditions.

Subsection A.  This section addresses the following emissions unit.

	E.U.  ID No.
	Brief Description

	010
	Two 29.4 MMBtu/hr Dual-Fuel Boilers (NSPS)


This emissions unit consists of two 29.4 MMBtu/hr heat input dual-fuel boilers, which use natural gas or No. 2 fuel oil with a maximum sulfur content of 0.05 percent by weight for steam generation.  For these two boilers the facility can use No. 6 fuel oil with a maximum sulfur content of 0.5 percent by weight during natural gas service loss or curtailment.  These fuel oil usage limits are required to comply with BACT for PM and SO2 (Rule 62-296.406, F.A.C.).  This emissions unit is also regulated by (NSPS) 40 CFR 60 Subpart Dc.  The use of low sulfur oil in a boiler with a heat input of less than 30 MMBtu/hr enables sulfur dioxide compliance verification by fuel supplier certification and recordkeeping.  This allows the facility to avoid Subpart Dc’s PM, opacity standards, associated CEM, and annual stack testing for compliance verification.  In order to be a minor source with respect to Title V permitting, Florida State Hospital has accepted cumulative operational hour limits on their boilers of 11,380 hours per year.
The following specific conditions apply to the emissions unit listed above:
Essential Potential to Emit (PTE) Parameters
A.1. Capacity.  The maximum allowable operating rate for each of the two boilers is 29.4 MMBtu heat input per hour.  This heat input rate is identified as the capacity of each boiler for purposes of confirming that tests are conducted within 90% to 100% of the emission unit’s rated capacity (see Specific Condition A.7), to establish appropriate limits, and to aid in determining future rule applicability, not as a specific enforceable limit.

[Rules 62-4.070, 62-4.160(2) and 62-210.200(243), F.A.C., and construction permit 0390004-004-AC]

A.2. Methods of Operation - Fuels.  To comply with Best Available Control Technology (BACT) for PM and SO2, the boilers shall be fired with natural gas or No. 2 fuel oil containing a maximum of 0.05% sulfur by weight.  When there is a loss of natural gas service and No. 2 fuel oil is not available, they can be fired by No. 6 (residual) fuel oil with a maximum of 0.5% sulfur by weight.  {Permit Note:  The permittee has selected the fuel supplier certification method of compliance for this standard.}  The Permittee shall maintain appropriate records available for Department inspection of the fuel oil purchases and sulfur content, per Specific Condition A.11.  
[Rules 62-4.070, 62-4.160(2), 62-296.406, 62-212.300(1)(c), F.A.C]

A.3. Hours of Operation. This emissions unit shall not operate more than 11,380 hours per rolling 12-month period for both boilers combined.  Records of operating time for each boiler shall be maintained to assure compliance with this requirement, per Specific Condition A.14.  

[Rule 62-4.160(2) and Rule 62-210.200(243), F.A.C.; permit application received May 16, 2007]

Emission Limitations and Standards

Standard for sulfur dioxide. 

A.4.(a)  The boilers may combust No. 6 fuel oil (maximum sulfur content of 0.5%, by weight) only during periods when natural gas service is not available and No. 2 fuel oil is not available.  In addition to natural gas, the boilers may combust No. 2 fuel oil containing a maximum of 0.05% sulfur by weight at anytime.  

[Rules 62-204.800(7)(b)4 and 62-296.406, F.A.C.; 40 CFR 60.42c(d)]

A.4.(b)  The fuel oil sulfur limits apply at all times including periods of startup, shutdown, and malfunction.

[Rule 62-204.800(7)(b)4., F.A.C.; 40 CFR 60.42c(i) and construction permit 0390004-004-AC]

Standard for particulate matter.  

A.5. The Permittee shall not cause to be discharged into the atmosphere from this emissions unit any gases that exhibit greater than 20 percent opacity (six-minute average), except for one six-minute period per hour of not more than 27 percent opacity, or one two-minute period per hour of no more than 40 percent opacity.  

[Rule 62-296.406(1), F.A.C., and construction permit 0390004-004-AC]

Emissions Testing, Test Methods and Procedures

A.6. The visible emissions tests shall be conducted on each boiler and while burning each of the authorized fuels in accordance with EPA Method 9 for one hour.  Such tests shall be conducted once during the last 12 months of this permit, but the test results must be submitted with the required operating permit renewal application (see Facility-Wide Condition 9).  The Department shall be notified at least 15 days prior to testing to allow witnessing.  Results shall be submitted to the Department within 45 days after testing.

[Rules 62-4.070, 62-297.310(7), and 62-297.401(9), F.A.C.]

A.7. Emissions tests are required to show compliance with the standards of the Department.  The test results must provide reasonable assurance that the source is capable of compliance at the permitted maximum operating rate.  Capacity is defined as 90-100% of rated capacity.  If it is impractical to test at capacity, sources may be tested at less than capacity; in this case, subsequent source operation is limited to 110% of the test load until a new test is conducted.  Once the unit is so limited, operation at higher capacities is allowed for no more than 15 days for purposes of additional compliance testing to regain the rated capacity in the permit, with prior notification to the Department.  Results shall be submitted to the Department within 45 days after testing.

[Rules 62-297.310(7), 62-297.401(9), 62-297.310(2) and 62-4.070, F.A.C.]

A.8. The test reports shall comply with applicable portions of Rule 62-297.310, F.A.C., Test Reports.  The Department can require special compliance tests in accordance with Rule 62-297.310(7) F.A.C.  Other test methods and alternate compliance procedures may be used only after prior Departmental approval has been obtained in writing.

[Rules 62-297.310(7) and 62-297.620(1), F.A.C.]

A.9. Emission monitoring for sulfur dioxide.  Compliance with the SO2 standards are based on fuel supplier certification, as described under Specific Condition A.11.

[40 CFR 60.48c(e)]

Reporting and Recordkeeping Requirements. 
A.10. The owner or operator of each unit shall keep records and submit semi-annual reports, to the Administrator, as required under 40 CFR 60.48c(d).  All reports shall be postmarked by the 30th day following the end of the reporting period and shall include the following information, as applicable. 


(1) Calendar dates covered in the reporting period. 


(2) Each 30-day average sulfur content (weight percent), calculated during the reporting period, ending with the last 30-day period; reasons for any noncompliance with the emission standards; and a description of corrective actions taken. 


{Permit Note:  Information from (3) through (10) of 40 CFR 60.48c(e) is not applicable.}


(11) Records of fuel supplier certification as described in Specific Condition A.11 or 40 CFR 60.48c(f)(2).  In addition to records of fuel supplier certifications, a semi-annual report shall include a certified statement signed by the owner or operator of the unit that the records of fuel supplier certifications submitted represent all of the fuel combusted during the reporting period.


The submittal of a semi-annual report for these units is not required if No. 6 fuel oil (only permitted during loss of natural gas service) was not burned during the reporting period.  However, even if No. 6 oil has not been burned during the previous reporting semi-annual period, and therefore no report has been submitted for that period, an annual report is required.

[Rule 62-204.800(7)(b)4, F.A.C.; 40 CFR 60.48c (d), (e), & (j); EPA’s UWF/Alliance Laundry Determination Letter Received April 23, 2001]
A.11.a. Fuel supplier certifications for distillate oil (No. 2) shall include the following information: 

    
(i) The name of the oil supplier; and

    
(ii) A statement from the oil supplier that the oil complies with the specifications under the definition of distillate oil in 40 CFR § 60.41c.

Rule 62-204.800(7)(b)4., F.A.C., 40 CFR 60.48c(f)1.]

A.11.b. Fuel supplier certifications for residual oil (No. 6) shall include the following information: 

(i) The name of the oil supplier; 

(ii) The location of the oil when the sample was drawn for analysis to determine the sulfur content of the oil, specifically including whether the oil was sampled as delivered to the unit, or whether the sample was drawn from oil in storage at the oil supplier's or oil refiner's facility, or other location; 


(iii) The sulfur content of the oil from which the shipment came (or of the shipment itself); and 

(iv) The method used to determine the sulfur content of the oil.

[Rule 62-204.800(7)(b)4., F.A.C., 40 CFR 60.48c(f)2.]
A.12. The owner or operator of each unit shall record and maintain records of the amount of No. 6 fuel oil (only permitted during loss of natural gas service) combusted during each day.  The amount of natural gas and No. 2 fuel oil (distillate) combusted shall be recorded at a minimum of monthly.

[Rule 62-204.800(7)(b)4, F.A.C., 40 CFR 60.48c(g), EPA’s UWF/Alliance Laundry Determination Letter Received April 23, 2001]

A.13. All records required under Specific Conditions A.10 through A.12 shall be maintained by the owner or operator of the affected facility for a period of two years following the date of such record.

[Rule 62-204.800(7)(b)4., F.A.C., 40 CFR 60.48c(i)]

A.14. The permittee shall maintain cumulative operational hour records for the facility’s two boilers.  This information shall be provided in the form of a monthly and rolling 12 month total summaries and kept onsite, for Department inspection, for at least five years.

[Rules 62-4.160(2), 62-4.070, and 62-210.200(243), F.A.C.]

40 CFR 60, Subpart A - General Provisions Requirements
A.15. Permittee shall comply with applicable parts of 40 CFR 60 Subpart A, as an affected facility subject to 40 CFR Subpart Dc.

[Rule 62-204.800(7)(b)4., F.A.C., 40 CFR 60.40c(a), 40 CFR 60.1]

Subsection B.  This section addresses the following emissions unit.

	E.U.  ID No.
	Brief Description

	011
	Three 1,750 KW Diesel Generators


This emission unit includes three 1,750 KW (1.75 MW each at 16.43 MMBtu/hr) diesel fired generators, which are located at the hospital’s power plant.  Each of the generator units is a Caterpillar Model 35168 with its ignition timing retarded to reduce PM and NOx emissions.  The generators are used to supply emergency power to the hospital facility and supply power to the grid, through a power agreement with Florida Power.  This agreement gives Florida Power the option to shut power off to the Hospital during peak loading periods, with the Hospital operating on generator-produced power.  This allows Florida Power to redistribute power during heavy power demand or peak periods.  In order to reduce emissions from these generators, Florida State Hospital requested a cumulative 1,500 hours per 12 month rolling period limit and the combustion of diesel fuel with a maximum sulfur content of 0.5 percent.  These self-imposed limits will assist the facility in reducing emissions below the Title V major source thresholds (i.e., become a synthetic minor source).

The following specific conditions apply to the emissions unit listed above:
Essential Potential to Emit (PTE) Parameters
B.1.  Methods of Operation - (i.e., Fuels).  These three generators are limited to the combustion of diesel fuel with a maximum sulfur content of 0.5 %, by weight.

[Rules 62-4.160(2) and 62-213.440(1), F.A.C., and construction permit 0390004-005-AC] 

B.2.  Hours of Operation.  The hours of operation for this emissions unit (combined hours of all three generators) shall not exceed 1,500 hours/ rolling 12-month period.  Records shall be maintained in accordance with Specific Condition B.4.

[Rules 62-4.160(2) and 62-210.200(243), F.A.C., and construction permit 0390004-005-AC] 

Test Methods and Procedures
B.3.a. Visible emissions tests are required for each of the three diesel generators to show compliance with the standards of the Department.  The test results must provide reasonable assurance that the source is capable of compliance at the permitted maximum operating rate.  Such tests shall be conducted once during the last 12 months of this permit.  The results from these tests shall be submitted with the required operating permit renewal application.  Testing shall be conducted in accordance with EPA Method 9 for 30 minutes and Facility-Wide Condition 3.  The Department shall be notified at least 15 days prior to testing to allow witnessing.  Results shall be submitted to the Department within 45 days after testing.

[Rules 62-4.070, 62-297.310(7), and 62-297.401(9), F.A.C., and construction permit 0390004-005-AC]

B.3.b.  The test reports shall comply with applicable portions of Rule 62-297.310, F.A.C., Test Reports.  The Department can require special compliance tests in accordance with Rule 62-297.310(7) F.A.C.  Other test methods and alternate compliance procedures may be used only after prior Departmental approval has been obtained in writing.

[Rules 62-297.310(7) and 62-297.620(1), F.A.C.]

B.3.c.  Testing of emissions shall be conducted with the source operating at capacity.  Capacity is defined as 90-100% of rated capacity.  If it is impractical to test at capacity, sources may be tested at less than capacity; in this case, subsequent source operation is limited to 110% of the test load until a new test is conducted.  Once the unit is so limited, operation at higher capacities is allowed for no more than 15 days for purposes of additional compliance testing to regain the rated capacity in the permit, with prior notification to the Department.

[Rules 62-297.310(2) and 62-4.070, F.A.C.]

Recordkeeping Requirements

B.4. The permittee shall record and maintain, for inspection, monthly and rolling 12 month total records containing the operational hours of the three generators (combined) to verify compliance with Specific Condition B.2.  These records shall be maintained by the facility for a minimum of five years following the date of such record.

[Rule 62-4.070, F.A.C., and construction permit 0390004-005-AC]

B.5. The Permittee shall maintain records of fuel supplier certifications for each shipment of diesel fuel received.  The fuel supplier certification shall include the following information:

1.) The name of the supplier;

2.) A statement from the supplier that the fuel complies with the specifications denoted in Specific Condition B.1.

These records shall be maintained by the facility for a minimum of five years following the date of such record.

[Rule 62-4.070, F.A.C., and construction permit 0390004-005-AC]

Subsection C.  This section addresses the following emissions unit.

	E.U.  ID No.
	Brief Description

	012
	One 12 MMBtu/hour Natural Gas Fired Boiler


This emissions unit is a 12.0 MMBtu/hour natural gas fired boiler.  It was incorporated into the facility as part of construction permit 0390004-006-AC and was installed instead of the 29.4 MMBtu/hour dual fuel boiler originally planned in that permit.  It is permitted to operate continuously using natural gas only as a fuel source.  

The following specific conditions apply to the emissions unit listed above:
Essential Potential to Emit (PTE) Parameters

C.1. Capacity The maximum allowable operating rate of this emissions unit is 12.0 million BTU’s per hour.  
[Rules 62-4.070, 62-4.160(2) and 62-210.200(243), F.A.C., and permit application 0390004-008-AF]

C.2. Methods of Operation – (i.e. Fuels.) This emissions unit shall burn natural gas only as a source of fuel.  When the facility experiences a loss of natural gas service, this unit shall not be operated.  
[Rules 62-4.070, 62-4.160(2), and 62-296.406, F.A.C.]
C.3.  Hours of Operation.  This emissions unit is allowed to operate continuously, i.e., 8,760 hours/year.

[Rules 62-4.160(2) and 62-210.200(243), F.A.C.]

Emission Limitations and Standards

Standard for particulate matter.  

C.4. The Permittee shall not cause to be discharged into the atmosphere from this emissions unit any gases that exhibit greater than 20 percent opacity (six-minute average), except for one six-minute period per hour of not more than 27 percent opacity, or one two-minute period per hour of no more than 40 percent opacity.  

[Rule 62-296.406(1), F.A.C. and construction permit 0390004-006-AC]

{Permitting Note:  No scheduled emissions’ testing is required for this emissions unit due to its size and natural gas only fuel requirement.  Special compliance tests can be requested by the Department at any time and are governed according to the specific conditions listed below.  The PM limit above has been defined according to Rule 62-296.406, F.A.C., in case such tests are performed.}

Test Methods and Procedures
C.5.a. Visible emissions tests shall be conducted only in accordance with Facility-wide Condition 4 when requested by the Department.  Testing shall be conducted using EPA Method 9 for one hour.  The Department shall be notified at least 15 days prior to testing to allow witnessing.  Results shall be submitted to the Department within 45 days after testing.

[Rules 62-4.070, 62-297.310(7), and 62-297.401(9), F.A.C.]

C.5.b.  The test reports shall comply with applicable portions of Rule 62-297.310, F.A.C., Test Reports.  The Department can require special compliance tests in accordance with Rule 62-297.310(7), F.A.C.  Other test methods and alternate compliance procedures may be used only after prior Departmental approval has been obtained in writing.

[Rules 62-297.310(7) and 62-297.620(1), F.A.C.]

C.5.c.  Testing of emissions shall be conducted with the source operating at capacity.  Capacity is defined as 90-100% of rated capacity.  If it is impractical to test at capacity, sources may be tested at less than capacity; in this case, subsequent source operation is limited to 110% of the test load until a new test is conducted.  Once the unit is so limited, operation at higher capacities is allowed for no more than 15 days for purposes of additional compliance testing to regain the rated capacity in the permit, with prior notification to the Department.

[Rules 62-297.310(2) and 62-4.070, F.A.C.]

Subsection D.  This section addresses the following emissions unit.

	E.U.  ID No.
	Brief Description

	001
	16 Emergency Generators


This emission unit includes 16 emergency generators with a total of 2,954.2 horsepower or 2,203 KW.  Each of these generator units are permitted to combust diesel fuel with a maximum sulfur content of 0.5%, by weight for 100 hours annually.  Although these 16 units were previously insignificant under the Title V permit, the above limitations make this emission unit regulated and help in reducing the facility’s emissions below the Title V major source thresholds.

The following specific conditions apply to the emissions unit listed above:
Essential Potential to Emit (PTE) Parameters
D.1. Methods of Operation - (i.e., Fuels).  These emergency generators are limited to the combustion of diesel fuel with a maximum sulfur content of 0.5 %, by weight.

[Rules 62-4.160(2), 62-213.440(1), F.A.C., and permit 0390004-007-AF] 

D.2. Hours of Operation.  The hours of operation for each of the 16 emergency generators in this emissions unit shall not exceed 100 hours/rolling 12-month period.

[Rules 62-4.160(2), 62-210.200(243), F.A.C., and permit 0390004-007-AF] 

Recordkeeping Requirements

D.3. The permittee shall record and maintain, for inspection, monthly and rolling 12-month total records containing the operational hours of all the emergency generators to verify compliance with Specific Condition D.2.  These records shall be maintained by the facility for a minimum of five years following the date of such record.

[Rule 62-4.070, F.A.C., and permit 0390004-007-AF]

D.4. The Permittee shall maintain records of fuel supplier certifications for each shipment of diesel fuel received.  The fuel supplier certification shall include the following information:

1.) The name of the supplier;

2.) A statement from the supplier that the fuel complies with the specifications denoted in Specific Condition D.1.

These records shall be maintained by the facility for a minimum of five years following the date of such record.

[Rule 62-4.070, F.A.C., and permit 0390004-007-AF]
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1.  The terms, conditions, requirements, limitations, and restrictions set forth in this permit are "permit conditions", and are binding and enforceable pursuant to Sections 403.141, 403.727, or 403.859 through 403.861, Florida Statutes.  The permittee is placed on notice that the Department will review this permit periodically and may initiate enforcement action for any violation of these conditions.

2.  This permit is valid only for the specific processes and operations applied for and indicated in the approved drawings or exhibits.  Any unauthorized deviation from the approved drawings, exhibits, specifications, or conditions of this permit may constitute grounds for revocation and enforcement action by the Department.

3.  As provided in Subsections 403.087(6) and 403.722(5), Florida Statutes, the issuance of this permit does not convey any vested rights or any exclusive privileges.  Neither does it authorize any injury to public or private property or any invasion of personal rights, nor any infringement of federal, state or local laws or regulations.  This permit is not a waiver of or approval of any other Department permit that may be required for other aspects of the total project which are not addressed in the permit.

4.  This permit conveys no title to land or water, does not constitute State recognition or acknowledgment of title, and does not constitute authority for the use of submerged lands unless herein provided and the necessary title or leasehold interests have been obtained from the State.  Only the Trustees of the Internal Improvement Trust Fund may express State opinion as to title.

5.  This permit does not relieve the permittee from liability for harm or injury to human health or welfare, animal, or plant life, or property caused by the construction or operation of this permitted source, or from penalties therefore; nor does it allow the permittee to cause pollution in contravention of Florida Statutes and Department rules, unless specifically authorized by an order from the Department.

6.  The permittee shall properly operate and maintain the facility and systems of treatment and control (and related appurtenances) that are installed and used by the permittee to achieve compliance with the conditions of this permit, are required by Department rules.  This provision includes the operation of backup or auxiliary facilities or similar systems when necessary to achieve compliance with the conditions of the permit and when required by Department rules.

7.  The permittee, by accepting this permit, specifically agrees to allow authorized Department personnel, upon presentation of credentials or other documents as may be required by law and at reasonable times, access to the premises where the permitted activity is located or conducted for the purpose of:

    a.
 Have access to and copy any records that must be kept under conditions of this permit;

    b.
 Inspect the facility, equipment, practices, or operations regulated or required under this permit; and,

    c.
 Sample or monitor any substances or parameters at any location reasonably necessary to assure compliance with this permit or Department rules.

    Reasonable time may depend on the nature of the concern being investigated.

8.  If, for any reason, the permittee does not comply with or will be unable to comply with any condition or limitation specified in this permit, the permittee shall immediately provide the Department with the following information:

    a.
 A description of and cause of noncompliance; and

    b.
 The period of noncompliance, including exact dates and times; or, if not corrected, the anticipated time the noncompliance is expected to continue, and steps being taken to reduce, eliminate, and prevent 
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recurrence of the noncompliance.  The permittee shall be responsible for any and all damages that may result and may be subject to enforcement action by the Department for penalties or for revocation of this permit.

9.  In accepting this permit, the permittee understands and agrees that all records, notes, monitoring data and other information relating to the construction or operation of this permitted source which are submitted to the Department may be used by the Department as evidence in any enforcement case involving the permitted source arising under the Florida Statutes or Department rules, except where such use is proscribed by Sections 403.73 and 403.111, Florida Statutes.  Such evidence shall only be used to the extent it is consistent with Florida Rules of Civil Procedure and appropriate evidentiary rules.

10.  The permittee agrees to comply with changes in Department rules and Florida Statutes after a reasonable time for compliance, provided however, the permittee does not waive any other rights granted by Florida Statutes or Department rules.

11.  This permit is transferable only upon Department approval in accordance with Florida Administrative Code Rules 62-4.120 and 62-730.300, as applicable.  The permittee shall be liable for any noncompliance of the permitted activity until the Department approves the transfer.

12.  This permit or a copy thereof shall be kept at the work site of the permitted activity.

13.  The permittee shall comply with the following:

     a.
 Upon request, the permittee shall furnish all records and plans required under Department rules.  During enforcement actions, the retention period for all records will be extended automatically unless otherwise stipulated by the Department.

     b.
 The permittee shall hold at the facility or other location designated by this permit records of all monitoring information (including all calibration and maintenance records and all original strip chart recordings for continuous monitoring instrumentation) required by the permit, copies of all reports required by this permit, and records of all data used to complete the application for this permit.  These materials shall be retained at least three years from the date of the sample, measurement, report or application unless otherwise specified by Department rule.

     c.
 Records of monitoring information shall include:

    
 - The date, exact place, and time of sampling or measurement;

    
 - The person responsible for performing the sampling or measurements;

    
 - The date’s analyses were performed;

    
 - The person responsible for performing the analyses;

    
 - The analytical techniques or methods used;

    
 - The results of such analyses.

14.  When requested by the Department, the permittee shall within a reasonable time furnish any information required by law which is needed to determine compliance with the permit.  If the permittee becomes aware the relevant facts were not submitted or were incorrect in the permit application or in any report to the Department, such facts or information shall be corrected promptly.
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