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Permittee:
 



Permit No.:  0330270-001-AC

Gulf Coast Pet Crematory, Inc.

Facility ID No.: 0330270







SIC Nos.: 65, 6553







Project: Air Construction Permit

This permit is for the construction of the Pensacola Crematory located at 550 West Nine Mile Road in Pensacola, Escambia County; Latitude: 30( 32’ 01” North and Longitude:  87( 16’ 54” West.

Statement of Basis:  This air construction permit is issued under the provisions of Chapter 403, Florida Statutes (F.S.) and Florida Administrative Code (F.A.C.) Chapters 62-4, and 62-210.  The above named permittee is hereby authorized to perform the work or operate the facility shown on the application and approved drawing(s), plans, and other documents, attached hereto or on file with the permitting authority, in accordance with the terms and conditions of this permit.

Referenced attachments made a part of this permit:
Appendix G-1, General Conditions

Appendix SS-1, Stack Sampling Facilities

Table 297.310-1, Calibration Schedule

Figure 1, Summary Report - Gaseous and Opacity Excess Emission and Monitoring System Performance Report






Effective Date:  May 7, 2002







Expiration Date:  May 7, 2007






FLORIDA DEPARTMENT OF







ENVIRONMENTAL PROTECTION







____[signed]______                                 







Sandra F. Veazey





 

Air Program Administrator

SFV/kwc
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Section I.  Facility Information.
Subsection A.  Facility Description.
The Gulf Coast Pet Crematory’s proposed animal cremator unit will be the only emission source at this facility.  The Crematory is a Power-Pak II, dual chamber natural gas or liquid propane (LP)-fired unit (1.9 MMBtu/hour), manufactured by Industrial Equipment & Engineering Co.  The Power-Pak II will maintain a minimum temperature of 1600(F and a minimum gas residence time of one second in the unit’s secondary combustion chamber.  The approximate incineration rate of the unit will be 150 pounds per hour (1.8 tons per day).  Although the Permittee has requested an operating schedule of 8,760 hours per year, the actual usage is expected to be around 2,500 hours per year, or less.  Particulate matter (PM), carbon monoxide (CO), nitrogen oxides (NOx), sulfur dioxide (SO2), and volatile organic compound (VOC) emissions are each expected to be less than 5 tons per year, based on the maximum permitted operation time of 8,760 hours per year.

After construction of the Power-Pak II, the facility will need to submit Part III of the Animal Crematory Air General (AG) Permit Notification Form to the Department no later than 30 days prior to the expiration of this air construction permit or 45 days after initial start-up (Facility-Wide Condition No. 7), which ever comes first.  Within 60 days prior to submittal of the above-mentioned AG permit notification, the Permittee must demonstrate compliance with the visible emissions (VE) standard of no more than 5 percent opacity.

Based on telephone conversations with Dale Walter, P.E., of Industrial Equipment & Engineering Company, Gulf Coast Pet Crematory, Inc., plans to provide verification of their unit’s capability of compliance for the PM and CO emission limits denoted in Conditions A.8 and A.9 when they submit their Air General (AG) permit, Part III notification form.  Based on the provision of Condition A.13, any animal crematory may demonstrate compliance with CO and PM standards by submission of a test report of an identical unit operating in compliance with a valid Department air permit, with the report being less than five years old.  The facility also submitted a Department approval of training program for operators of human or animal crematories letter for Industrial Equipment & Engineering Co., dated May 27, 1993.  

Based on the permit application received March 25, 2002, this facility is not a major source of hazardous air pollutants (HAPs).
Subsection B.  Summary of Emissions Unit ID No(s). and Brief Description(s).

	E.U.  ID No.
	Brief Description

	001
	Dual Chamber gas-fired animal crematory (Power-Pak II)


Please reference the Permit No., Facility ID No., and appropriate Emissions Unit(s) ID No(s). on all correspondence, test report submittals, applications, etc.

Gulf Coast Pet Crematory, Inc.

Permit No.:  0330270-001-AC
Pensacola Crematory
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Subsection C.  Relevant Documents.

The documents listed below are not a part of this permit; however, they are specifically related to this permitting action.

These documents are on file with permitting authority:
Permit Application received August 29, 2001

Industrial Equipment & Engineering Co., Training Program Approval May 27, 1993

Gulf Coast Pet Crematory, Inc.

Permit No.:  0330270-001-AC
Pensacola Crematory
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Section II.  Facility-wide Conditions.

The following conditions apply facility-wide:
1.  APPENDIX G-1, GENERAL CONDITIONS, is a part of this permit.

2.  General Pollutant Emission Limiting Standards. Objectionable Odor Prohibited.  The permittee shall not cause, suffer, allow, or permit the discharge of air pollutants that cause or contribute to an objectionable odor.

[Rule 62-296.320(2), F.A.C.]

3.  General Particulate Emission Limiting Standards.  General Visible Emissions Standard.  Except for emissions units that are subject to a particulate matter or opacity limit set forth or established by rule and reflected by conditions in this permit, no person shall cause, let, permit, suffer or allow to be discharged into the atmosphere the emissions of air pollutants from any activity, the density of which is equal to or greater than that designated as Number 1 on the Ringelmann Chart (20 percent opacity).  EPA Method 9 is the method of compliance pursuant to Chapter 62-297, F.A.C.

[Rules 62-296.320(4)(b)1. & 4., F.A.C.]

4.  Reasonable precautions to prevent emissions of unconfined particulate matter at this facility include:  Paving and maintenance of roads, parking areas, and yards; removal of particulate matter from roads and other paved areas; and landscaping or planting of vegetation.

[Rule 62-296.320(4)(c)2., F.A.C.]

5.  Permittee shall install and maintain permanent stack sampling facilities, including sampling ports, work platforms, access to work platforms, electrical power, and sampling equipment support.  All stack sampling facilities must meet requirements of Rule 62-297(6), F.A.C., and any Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA) Safety and Health Standards described in 29 CFR Part 1910, Subparts D and E.

[Rule 62-297.310(6), F.A.C.]

6. When appropriate, any recording, monitoring, or reporting requirements that are time-specific shall be in accordance with the effective date of the permit, which defines day one.

[Rule 62-213.440, F.A.C.]

7.  The applicant shall retain a Professional Engineer, registered in the State of Florida, for the inspection of this project.  Upon completion the engineer shall inspect for conformity to the permit application and associated documents. An application for an operation permit shall be submitted with the compliance test results and appropriate fee when applicable.  These are to be submitted within 45 days after initial operation.

[Rules 62-210.300(2) and 62-4.050(3), F.A.C.]

Gulf Coast Pet Crematory, Inc.

Permit No.:  0330270-001-AC
Pensacola Crematory
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8.  The permittee shall submit all compliance related notifications and reports required by this permit to the Department’s Northwest District office.

Department of Environmental Protection

Northwest District Office

160 Governmental Center

Pensacola, Florida 32501-5794

Notification of compliance testing may be submitted by electronic mail to NWDAIR@dep.state.fl.us.  

9.  The Department telephone number for reporting problems, malfunctions or exceedances under this permit is (850) 595-8364, extension 1220, day or night, and for emergencies involving a significant threat to human health or the environment is (800) 320-0519.  For routine business, telephone (850) 595-8364, then press 7, during normal working hours.

[Rules 62-210.700 and 62-4.130, F.A.C.]

10.  The Department shall be notified upon commencement of construction.  The Department shall be notified and prior approval shall be obtained of any changes or revisions made during construction.  Projects beyond one year require annual status reports.

[Rule 62-4.030, F.A.C.]

Gulf Coast Pet Crematory, Inc.

Permit No.:  0330270-001-AC
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Section III.  Emissions Unit(s) and Conditions.

Subsection A.  This section addresses the following emissions unit(s).

	E.U.  ID No.
	Brief Description

	001
	Dual Chamber gas-fired animal crematory (Power-Pak II)


The Cremator is a Power-Pak II, dual chamber natural gas or liquid propane (LP)-fired unit (1.9 MMBtu/hour), manufactured by Industrial Equipment & Engineering Co.  The Power-Pak II will maintain a minimum temperature of 1600(F and a minimum gas residence time of one second in the secondary chamber.  This temperature and residence time are essential in the control of PM and VOC emissions.  The Power-Pak II unit will be equipped with a Partlow Model MRC 5000 continuous temperature monitor in the secondary combustion chamber.  This monitor will be used to verify that the secondary combustion chamber is at least 1600(F during all cremation activities.

The following specific conditions apply to the emissions unit(s) listed above:
Essential Potential to Emit (PTE) Parameters
A.1.  Capacity.  The aggregate capacity to cremate shall not exceed 150 pounds per hour.

[Rules 62-4.160(2) and 62-210.200(PTE), F.A.C.]

A.2.  Methods of Operation.  The crematory unit (Power-Pak II) shall only be fired on natural gas or liquid propane (LP).

[Rules 62-4.160(2) and 62-213.440(1), F.A.C.]

A.3.  The secondary combustion chamber shall be of sufficient volume to provide for at least a 1.0 second gas residence time at 1800(F.  The actual operating temperature of the secondary chamber combustion zone shall be no less than 1600(F throughout the combustion process in the primary chamber.  

[Rule 62-296.401(6)(c), F.A.C.]

A.4.  The Permittee shall only cremate dead animals and, if applicable, the bedding and the remains associated with the animals, placed in leak-proof containers.  The containers shall contain no more than 0.5 percent by weight chlorinated plastics.  Plastic bags used for the cremation of animals shall be nonchlorinated and no less than 3 mils thick.  

[Rule 62-296.401(6)(e), F.A.C.]

A.5.  The Permittee shall not cremate dead animals that were used for biomedical or commercial experimentation.  No other materials, including biomedical waste as defined in Rule 62-210.200, F.A.C., shall be incinerated.

[Rule 62-296.401(6)(f), F.A.C.]

Gulf Coast Pet Crematory, Inc.
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A.6.  Hours of Operation.  This emissions unit is allowed to operate continuously, i.e., 8,760 hours/year.


[Rules 62-4.160(2) and 62-210.200(PTE), F.A.C.]

Emission Limitations and Standards
A.7.  The Permittee shall not cause, suffer, allow, or permit the discharge of visible emissions (VE) in excess of 5 percent opacity, except that visible emissions not exceeding 20 percent opacity are allowed for up to three minutes in any one-hour period.

[Rule 62-296.401(1)(a), F.A.C.]

A.8.  The Permittee shall not cause, suffer, allow, or permit the discharge of particulate matter (PM) emissions in excess of 0.080 grains per dry standard cubic foot (dscf) of flue gas, corrected to 7% O2.

[Rule 62-296.401(6)(a), F.A.C.]

A.9.  The Permittee shall not cause, suffer, allow, or permit the discharge of carbon monoxide (CO) emissions in excess of 100 parts per million (ppm) by volume, dry basis, corrected to 7% O2 on an hourly average basis.

[Rule 62-296.401(6)(b), F.A.C.]

Test Methods and Procedures
A.10.  Emissions tests are required to show compliance with the standards of the Department.  The test results must provide reasonable assurance that the source is capable of compliance at the permitted maximum operating rate.  Such tests shall be scheduled within 30 days after initial operation.  The Department shall be notified at least 15 days prior to testing to allow witnessing.  Results shall be submitted to the Department within 45 days after testing.  


Pollutant
Test Method

PM

EPA method 5


VE

EPA method 9


O2

EPA method 3


CO

EPA method 10

[Rules 62-4.070, 62-297.401(9), and 62-296-401(6)(h), F.A.C.]

A.11.  The test reports shall comply with applicable portions of Rule 62-297.310, F.A.C., Test Reports.  The Department can require special compliance tests in accordance with Rule 62-297.310(7), F.A.C.  Other test methods and alternate compliance procedures may be used only after prior Departmental approval has been obtained in writing.

[Rules 62-297.310(7) and 62-297.620(1), F.A.C.]

A.12.  Testing of emissions shall be conducted with the source operating at the manufacturer’s recommended capacity.  If it is impractical to test at capacity, then sources may be tested at less than capacity; in this case subsequent source operation is limited to 110% of the test load until a new test is conducted.  Once the unit is so limited, then operation at higher capacities is allowed 

Gulf Coast Per Crematory, Inc.


Permit No.:  0330270-001-AC
Pensacola Crematory
 






Page 8

for no more than fifteen days for purposes of additional compliance testing to regain the rated capacity in the permit, with prior notification to the Department.

[Rules 62-297.310(2) and 62-4.070, F.A.C.]

A.13.  The Permittee may demonstrate compliance with the CO and PM emissions standards by submission of a test report for an identical (same make, model, and permitting capacity) crematory unit operating in compliance with a valid Department air permit and tested pursuant to that permit.  The test data in the test report must be less than five years old and may or may not be obtained from the unit that is being permitted.

[Rule 62-296.401(6)(k), F.A.C.]

Continuous Monitoring Requirements
A.14.  The Permittee shall install, operate, and maintain continuous monitors records to record temperature at the point or beyond where 1.0 second gas residence time is obtained in the secondary chamber combustion zone in accordance with the manufacturer’s instructions.  

[Rule 62-296.401(6)(l), F.A.C.]

Training Requirements
A.15.  All crematory operators shall be trained by the equipment manufacturer’s representatives or another qualified organization.  The training program shall be a minimum of eight hours of instruction and provide a basic understanding of the principles of the combustion process, operations and maintenance of the unit, and increased awareness of regulatory requirements and safety concerns.  At a minimum it shall include hands-on experience involving start-up, operation of at least one cremation, shutdown of the equipment, and one full cycle of preventive maintenance actions.  Only operators trained by the Department-approved training program shall be allowed to operate the crematory unit (Power-Pak II).  The Department shall approve training programs which meet, at a minimum, the criteria applicable to cremation set forth in the EPA Medical Waste Incinerator Operator Training Program Course Handbook, EPA 453/B-93-018, and Instructor’s Guide, EPA 453/B-93-019.

[Rule 62-296.401(6)(g)1., F.A.C.]

Record keeping and Reporting Requirements
A.16.  Compliance Tests.  The Permittee shall within 60 days prior to submitting the facility’s air general (AG) operating permit notification, demonstrate initial compliance with the VE standard and annually thereafter (between October 1 and September 30), unless otherwise specified by rule or order.

[Rule 62-296.401(6)(j)1., F.A.C.]

A.17.  Special Compliance Tests.  When the Department, after investigation, has good reason (such as complaints, increased visible emissions or questionable maintenance of control equipment) to believe that any applicable emission standard contained in a Department rule or in a permit issued pursuant to those rules is being violated, it may require the owner or operator of the emissions unit to conduct compliance tests which identify the nature and quantity of pollutant emissions from the emissions unit and to provide a report on the results of said tests to the Department.

[Rule 62-297.310(7)10.(b), F.A.C.]

Gulf Coast Pet Crematory, Inc.

Permit No.:  0330270-001-AC
Pensacola Crematory
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A.18.  The Permittee shall record in a permanent legible form available for inspection complete records of all continuous secondary chamber temperature monitoring measurements, including continuous monitoring system, monitoring device, and performance testing measurements; all continuous monitoring system performance evaluations; all continuous monitoring system or monitoring device calibration checks; and adjustments, preventative maintenance, and corrective maintenance performed on these systems or devices.  Continuous temperature monitoring documentation shall include operator name, operator indication of when cremation in the primary chamber begins, date, time, and temperature markings.  This information shall be retained for at least two years following the recording of such measurements, maintenance, reports, and records.

[Rule 62-296.401(6)(l), F.A.C.]

A.19.  The Permittee shall maintain records in the from the manufacturer certifying that any leak-proof containers incinerated are composed of 0.5 percent or less, by weight, chlorinated plastics.  These records must be kept on-file at the site, suitable for the Department’s inspection, for the duration of their use and for at least two years after their use.  This information must also be submitted with any application for an initial or renewal air operation (AO) permit or air general (AG) permit notification form (Part III).

[Rule 62-296.401(6)(e)1., F.A.C.]

A.20.  The Permittee shall submit copies of the operator training certificates with 15 days after completion of the initial compliance test pursuant to this construction permit (Condition A.16).  An operator’s certificate must be kept on file at the facility for the duration of the operator’s employment and for an additional two years after termination of employment.

[Rule 62-296.401(6)(g)2., F.A.C.]

Permit No.:  0330270-001-AC
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1.  The terms, conditions, requirements, limitations, and restrictions set forth in this permit are "permit conditions", and are binding and enforceable pursuant to Sections 403.141, 403.727, or 403.859 through 403.861, Florida Statutes.  The permittee is placed on notice that the Department will review this permit periodically and may initiate enforcement action for any violation of these conditions.

2.  This permit is valid only for the specific processes and operations applied for and indicated in the approved drawings or exhibits.  Any unauthorized deviation from the approved drawings, exhibits, specifications, or conditions of this permit may constitute grounds for revocation and enforcement action by the Department.

3.  As provided in Subsections 403.087(6) and 403.722(5), Florida Statutes, the issuance of this permit does not convey any vested rights or any exclusive privileges.  Nor does it authorize any injury to public or private property or any invasion of personal rights, nor any infringement of federal, state or local laws or regulations.  This permit does not constitute a waiver of or approval of any other Department permit that may be required for other aspects of the total project which are not addressed in the permit.

4.  This permit conveys no title to land or water, does not constitute state recognition or acknowledgment of title, and does not constitute authority for the use of submerged lands unless herein provided and the necessary title or leasehold interests have been obtained from the state.  Only the Trustees of the Internal Improvement Trust Fund may express state opinion as to title.

5.  This permit does not relieve the permittee from liability for harm or injury to human health or welfare, animal, or plant life, or property caused by the construction or operation of this permitted source, or from penalties therefore; nor does it allow the permittee to cause pollution in contravention of Florida Statutes and Department rules, unless specifically authorized by an order from the Department.

6.  The permittee shall properly operate and maintain the facility and systems of treatment and control (and related appurtenances) that are installed and used by the permittee to achieve compliance with the conditions of this permit, are required by Department rules.  This provision includes the operation of backup or auxiliary facilities or similar systems when necessary to achieve compliance with the conditions of the permit and when required by Department rules.

7.  The permittee, by accepting this permit, specifically agrees to allow authorized Department personnel, upon presentation of credentials or other documents as may be required by law, access to the premises, at reasonable times, where the permitted activity is located or conducted for the purpose of:

    a.
 Having access to and copying any records that must be kept under the conditions of this permit;

    b.
 Inspecting the facility, equipment, practices, or operations regulated or required under this permit; and,

    c.
 Sampling or monitoring any substances or parameters at any location reasonably necessary to assure compliance with this permit or Department rules.

    Reasonable time may depend on the nature of the concern being investigated.

8.  If, for any reason, the permittee does not comply with or will be unable to comply with any condition or limitation specified in this permit, the permittee shall immediately provide the Department with the following information:

    a.
 A description of and cause of noncompliance; and

    b.
 The period of noncompliance, including exact dates and times; or, if not corrected, the anticipated time the noncompliance is expected to continue, and steps being taken to reduce, eliminate, and prevent

Permit No.:  0330270-001-AC
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recurrence of the noncompliance.  The permittee shall be responsible for any and all damages which may result and may be subject to enforcement action by the Department for penalties or for revocation of this permit.

9.  In accepting this permit, the permittee understands and agrees that all records, notes, monitoring data and other information relating to the construction or operation of this permitted source which are submitted to the Department may be used by the Department as evidence in any enforcement case involving the permitted source arising under the Florida Statutes or Department rules, except where such use is proscribed by Sections 403.73 and 403.111, Florida Statutes.  Such evidence shall only be used to the extent it is consistent with Florida Rules of Civil Procedure and appropriate evidentiary rules.

10.  The permittee agrees to comply with changes in Department rules and Florida Statutes after a reasonable time for compliance, provided however, the permittee does not waive any other rights granted by Florida Statutes or Department rules.

11.  This permit is transferable only upon Department approval in accordance with Florida Administrative Code Rules 62-4.120 and 62-730.300, as applicable.  The permittee shall be liable for any noncompliance of the permitted activity until the transfer is approved by the Department.

12.  This permit is required to be kept at the work site of the permitted activity during the entire period of construction or operation.

13.  The permittee shall comply with the following:

     a.
 Upon request, the permittee shall furnish all records and plans required under Department rules.  During enforcement actions, the retention period for all records will be extended automatically unless otherwise stipulated by the Department.

     b.
 The permittee shall hold at the facility or other location designated by this permit records of all monitoring information (including all calibration and maintenance records and all original strip chart recordings for continuous monitoring instrumentation) required by the permit, copies of all reports required by this permit, and records of all data used to complete the application for this permit.  These materials shall be retained at least three years from the date of the sample, measurement, report or application unless otherwise specified by Department rule.

     c.
 Records of monitoring information shall include:

    
 - the date, exact place, and time of sampling or measurement;

    
 - the person responsible for performing the sampling or

    
   measurement;

    
 - the date(s) analyses were performed;

    
 - the person responsible for performing the analyses;

    
 - the analytical techniques or methods used; and

    
 - the results of such analyses.

14.  When requested by the Department, the permittee shall within a reasonable time furnish any information required by law which is needed to determine compliance with the permit.  If the permittee becomes aware the relevant facts were not submitted or were incorrect in the permit application or in any report to the Department, such facts or information shall be corrected promptly.

THE STATE OF FLORIDA

DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL PROTECTION

CERTIFIED MAIL

In the Matter of an

Application for Permit by:
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Escambia County

Gulf Coast Pet Crematory, Inc.
4771 Bayou Blvd., PMB 194
Pensacola, Florida 32503

______________________________/

INTENT TO ISSUE PERMIT

The Department of Environmental Protection (permitting authority) gives notice of its intent to issue an air construction permit (copy of DRAFT Permit enclosed) for the source detailed in the application specified above, for the reasons stated below.


The applicant, Gulf Coast Pet Crematory, Inc., applied on August 29, 2001, to the permitting authority for an air construction permit for the Pensacola Crematory located at 550 West Nine Mile Road in Pensacola, Escambia County.


The permitting authority has permitting jurisdiction under the provisions of Chapter 403, Florida Statutes (F.S.), and Florida Administrative Code (F.A.C.) Chapters 62-4, 62-210, and 62-213.  This source is not exempt from permitting procedures.  The permitting authority has determined that an air construction permit is required to commence or continue operations at the described facility.


The permitting authority intends to issue this permit based on the belief that reasonable assurances have been provided to indicate that operation of the source will not adversely impact air quality, and the source will comply with all appropriate provisions of Chapters 62-4, 62-204, 62-210, 62-212, 62-256, 62-257, 62-281, 62-296, and 62-297, F.A.C.


Pursuant to Sections 403.815 and 403.0872, F.S., and Rules 62-110.106 and 62-210.350(3), F.A.C., you (the applicant) are required to publish at your own expense the enclosed “PUBLIC NOTICE OF INTENT TO ISSUE PERMIT.”  The notice shall be published one time only within 30 (thirty) days in the legal advertisement section of a newspaper of general circulation in the area affected.  For the purpose of these rules, "publication in a newspaper of general circulation in the area affected" means publication in a newspaper meeting the requirements of Sections 50.011 and 50.031, F.S., in the county where the activity is to take place.  The applicant shall provide proof of publication to the permitting authority’s office, Northwest District, 160 Governmental Center, Pensacola, FL 32501-5794 (Telephone:  850/595-8364; Fax:  850/595-8417), within 7 (seven) days of publication.  Failure to publish the notice and provide proof of publication within the allotted time may result in the denial of the permit pursuant to Rule 62-110.106, F.A.C.

Intent to Issue Permit No.:  0330270-001-AC
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The permitting authority will issue the permit, in accordance with the conditions of the enclosed DRAFT Permit unless a response received in accordance with the following procedures results in a different decision or significant change of terms or conditions.



The permitting authority will issue the permit unless a timely petition for an administrative hearing is filed pursuant to Sections 120.569 and 120.57, F.S.  Mediation under Section 120.573, F.S., will not be available for this proposed action.


A person whose substantial interests are affected by the proposed permitting decision may petition for an administrative hearing in accordance with Sections 120.569 and 120.57, F.S.  The petition must contain the information set forth below and must be filed (received) in the Office of General Counsel of the Department of Environmental Protection, 3900 Commonwealth Boulevard, Mail Station #35, Tallahassee, FL 32399-3900 (Telephone:  850/488-9735; Fax:  850/487-4938).  Petitions filed by the permit applicant or any of the parties listed below must be filed within 14 (fourteen) days of receipt of this notice of intent.  Petitions filed by any other person must be filed within 14 (fourteen) days of publication of the public notice or within 14 (fourteen) days of receipt of this notice of intent, whichever occurs first.  A petitioner must mail a copy of the petition to the applicant at the address indicated above, at the time of filing.  The failure of any person to file a petition within the appropriate time period shall constitute a waiver of that person’s right to request an administrative determination (hearing) under Sections 120.569 and 120.57, F.S., or to intervene in this proceeding and participate as a party to it.  Any subsequent intervention will be only at the approval of the presiding officer upon the filing of a motion in compliance with Rule 28-5.207, F.A.C.


A petition must contain the following information:


(a) The name, address, and telephone number of each petitioner, the applicant’s name and address, the Permit File Number, and the county in which the project is proposed;


(b) A statement of how and when each petitioner received notice of the permitting authority’s action or proposed action;


(c) A statement of how each petitioner’s substantial interests are affected by the permitting authority’s action or proposed action;


(d) A statement of the material facts disputed by the petitioner, if any;


(e) A statement of the facts that the petitioner contends warrant reversal or modification of the permitting authority’s action or proposed action;


(f) A statement identifying the rules or statutes that the petitioner contends require reversal or modification of the permitting authority’s action or proposed action; and,
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(g) A statement of the relief sought by the petitioner, stating precisely the action that the petitioner wants the permitting authority to take with respect to the action or proposed action addressed in this notice of intent.


Because the administrative hearing process is designed to formulate final agency action, the filing of a petition means that the permitting authority’s final action may be different from the position taken by it in this notice of intent.  Persons whose substantial interests will be affected by any such final decision of the permitting authority on the application have the right to petition to become a party to the proceeding, in accordance with the requirements set forth above.


In addition to the above, a person subject to regulation has a right to apply to the Department of Environmental Protection for a variance from or waiver of the requirements of particular rules, on certain conditions, under Section 120.542, F.S.  The relief provided by this state statute applies only to state rules, not statutes, and not to any federal regulatory requirements.  Applying for a variance or waiver does not substitute or extend the time for filing a petition for an administrative hearing or exercising any other right that a person may have in relation to the action proposed in this notice of intent.


The application for a variance or waiver is made by filing a petition with the Office of General Counsel of the Department of Environmental Protection, 3900 Commonwealth Boulevard, Mail Station #35, Tallahassee, Florida 32399-3000.  The petition must specify the following information:


(a) The name, address, and telephone number of the petitioner;


(b) The name, address, and telephone number of the attorney or qualified representative of the petitioner, if any;


(c) Each rule or portion of a rule from which a variance or waiver is requested;


(d) The citation to the statute underlying (implemented by) the rule identified in (c) above;


(e) The type of action requested;


(f) The specific facts that would justify a variance or waiver for the petitioner;


(g) The reason why the variance or waiver would serve the purposes of the underlying statute (implemented by the rule); and,


(h) A statement whether the variance or waiver is permanent or temporary and, if temporary, a statement of the dates showing the duration of the variance or waiver requested.


The Department will grant a variance or waiver when the petition demonstrates both that the application of the rule would create a substantial hardship or violate principles of fairness, as each of those terms is defined in Section 120.542(2), F.S., and that the purpose of the underlying statute will be or has been achieved by other means by the petitioner.
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Persons subject to regulation pursuant to any federally delegated or approved air program should be aware that Florida is specifically not authorized to issue variances or waivers from any requirements of any such federally delegated or approved program.  The requirements of the program remain fully enforceable by the Administrator of the United States Environmental Protection Agency and by any person under the Clean Air Act unless and until the Administrator separately approves any variance or waiver in accordance with the procedures of the federal program.

Executed in Pensacola, Florida.







STATE OF FLORIDA DEPARTMENT







OF ENVIRONMENTAL PROTECTION


___________________________

SANDRA F. VEAZEY


Air Program Administrator

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE
      The undersigned duly designated deputy agency clerk hereby certifies that this INTENT TO ISSUE PERMIT (including the PUBLIC NOTICE and the DRAFT permit) and all copies were sent by certified mail before the close of business on ___________________ to the person(s) listed:

Jeffery P. Gibson, Gulf Coast Pet Crematory, Inc.
      In addition, the undersigned duly designated deputy agency clerk hereby certifies that copies of this INTENT TO ISSUE PERMIT (including the PUBLIC NOTICE and the DRAFT permit) were sent by U.S. mail or electronically transmitted on the same date to the person(s) listed:

Dale E. Walters, P.E.; Industrial Equipment & Engineering Co.

FILING AND ACKNOWLEDGMENT FILED, on


this date, pursuant to Section 120.52(7), Florida Statutes,


with the designated agency Clerk, receipt of which is hereby 
acknowledged.


_____________________________________ ___________


(Clerk)                                

    (Date)

STATE OF FLORIDA

DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL PROTECTION

NOTICE OF INTENT TO ISSUE PERMIT

I.D. Number 0330270-001-AC

    The Department of Environmental Protection gives notice of its intent to issue a permit to Gulf Coast Pet Crematory, Inc. to construct a Pensacola Crematory located at 550 West Nine Mile Road in Pensacola.

    The permit approves construction of a Power-Pak II, dual chamber gas-fired crematory (1.9 MMBtu/hour), manufactured by Industrial Equipment & Engineering Co.  Particulate matter (PM), carbon monoxide (CO), nitrogen oxides (NOx), sulfur dioxide (SO2), and volatile organic compound (VOC) emissions are each expected to be less than 5 tons per year, based on the maximum permitted operation time of 8,760 hours per year.

    A person whose substantial interests are affected by the Department's proposed permitting decision may petition for an administrative proceeding (hearing) in accordance with Section 120.57, Florida Statutes.  The petition must contain the information set forth below and must be filed (received) in the Office of General Counsel of the Department at 3900 Commonwealth Boulevard, Tallahassee, Florida 32399-3000, within 14 days of publication of this notice.  Petitioner shall mail a copy of the petition to the applicant at the address indicated above at the time of filing.  Failure to file a petition within this time period shall constitute a waiver of any right such person may have to request an administrative determination (hearing) under Section 120.57, Florida Statutes.

    The petition shall contain the following information; (a) The name, address, and telephone number of each petitioner, the applicant's name and address, the Department Permit File Number and the county in which the project is proposed; (b) A statement of how and when each petitioner received notice of the Department's action or proposed action; (c) A statement of how each petitioner's substantial interests are affected by the Department's action or proposed action; (d) A statement of the material facts disputed by petitioner, if any; (e) A statement of facts which petitioner contends warrant reversal or modification of the Department's action or proposed action; (f) A statement of which rules or statutes petitioner contends require reversal or modification of the Department's action or proposed action; and (g) A statement of the relief sought by petitioner, stating precisely the action petitioner wants the Department to take with respect to the Department's action or proposed action.

    If a petition is filed, the administrative hearing process is designed to formulate agency action.  Accordingly, the Department's final action may be different from the position taken by it in this Notice.  Persons whose substantial interests will be affected by any decision of the Department with regard to the application have the right to petition to become a party to the proceeding.  The petition must conform to the requirements specified above and be filed (received) within 14 days of publication of this notice in the Office of General Counsel at the above address of the Department.  Failure to petition within the allowed time frame constitutes a waiver of any right such person has to request a hearing under Section 120.57, Florida Statutes, and to participate as a party to this proceeding.  Any subsequent intervention will only be at the approval of the presiding officer upon motion filed pursuant to Rule 28-5.207, F.A.C.

    The application is available for public inspection during normal business hours, 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m., Monday through Friday, except for legal holidays, at the Northwest District, 160 Governmental Center, Pensacola, Florida.

STATE OF FLORIDA

DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL PROTECTION

NOTICE OF PERMIT

In the matter of an

Application for Permit




  DEP File No. 0330270-001-AC 

By: 






  Escambia County

Jeffery P. Gibson, President

Gulf Coast Pet Crematory, Inc.
4771 Bayou Blvd., PMB 194
Pensacola, Florida 32503

                                                       /

    Enclosed is Permit Number 0330270-001-AC, issued pursuant to Section 403.087, Florida Statutes.

    Any party to this Order (permit) has the right to seek judicial review of the permit pursuant to Section 120.68, Florida Statutes, by the filing of a Notice of Appeal pursuant to Rule 9.110, Florida Rules of Appellate Procedure, with the Clerk of the Department in the Office of General Counsel, 3900 Commonwealth Boulevard, Tallahassee, Florida 32399-3000, and by filing a copy of the Notice of Appeal accompanied by the applicable filing fees with the appropriate District Court of Appeal.  The Notice of Appeal must be filed within 30 days from the date this Notice is filed with the Clerk of the Department.

    Executed in Pensacola, Florida.









  State of Florida Department









  of Environmental Protection









  ________________________









  SANDRA F. VEAZEY









  Air Program Administrator









  160 Governmental Center









  Pensacola, Florida 32501-5794









  (850) 595-8364

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

    The undersigned duly designated deputy agency clerk hereby certifies that this NOTICE OF PERMIT and all copies were mailed before the close of business on                               to the listed persons.

    




  FILING AND ACKNOWLEDGMENT FILED, on this date,



pursuant to §120.52(7), Florida Statutes, with the designated Department clerk,



receipt of which is hereby acknowledged.

    




  Clerk                                                    Date

Copies Furnished to:


Dale E. Walters, P.E.; Industrial Equipment & Engineering Co.

[image: image1.png]



Florida Department of

Memorandum
Environmental Protection
TO:
Sandra F. Veazey


FROM:  
Kevin M. White, P.E.


THROUGH:
Andy Allen
DATE:
4/8/02

SUBJECT:
Evaluation Summary for Gulf Coast Pet Crematory, Inc., Pensacola Crematory, 0330270-001-AC, Escambia County
We recommend issuing a permit to Gulf Coast Pet Crematory, Inc. to construct an animal crematory.  

Process Description  Power-Pak II, dual chamber natural gas or liquid propane (LP)-fired crematory (1.9 MMBtu/hour), manufactured by Industrial Equipment & Engineering Co.  The Power-Pak II crematory will maintain a rule required minimum temperature of 1600 (F and a minimum gas residence time of one second in the unit’s secondary combustion chamber.  The approximate incineration rate of the unit will be 150 pounds per hour (1.8 tons per day).  Although the Permittee has requested an operating schedule of 8,760 hours per year, the actual usage is expected to be around 2,500 hours per year, or less.  Particulate matter (PM), carbon monoxide (CO), nitrogen oxides (NOx), sulfur dioxide (SO2), and volatile organic compound (VOC) emissions are each expected to be less than 5 tons per year, based on the maximum permitted operation time of 8,760 hours per year.

Pollution Control Equipment  The operation of the secondary combustion chamber at 1600 (F and the crematory unit having the capacity to provide 1.0 seconds of residence time, helps to control the emissions of VOCs and PM from the unit.  A continuous temperature monitor is located within the secondary combustion chamber to verify that the operating temperature is above 1600 (F during cremation activities in the primary combustion chamber.

Environmental Impact  

    Airborne
      


  Estimated
     Allowable



    Contaminant

      

  Emissions
     Emissions



    Emitted

      FAC Rule
lbs/hr
   T/yr
    lb/hr    T/yr

    PM


62-296.401(6)(a)
 0.45
   1.97
     0.08 grains/dscf

    TRS


      N/A

 N/A
   N/A
    N/A
     N/A

    SO2


62-210.200(176)
 0.10
   0.44
    N/A
     100

    VOC


62-210.200(176)
 0.01
   0.04
    N/A
     100

    NOx


62-210.200(176)
 0.76
   3.3
    N/A
     100

    CO2


      N/A

 N/A
   N/A
    N/A
     N/A

    CO


62-296.401(6)(b)
 0.29
   1.3
     100 ppm @7% O2
    Objectionable
62-296.320(2)
 N/A
   N/A
    None allowed off

          Odors
      



 
       plant property.

    VE


62-296.401(1)(a)
 N/A
   N/A
    Not more than

    


      


 
       5% opacity

Applicable Rules & Regulations  This source is regulated in accordance with FAC Rule 62-296.401(6) – “Animal Crematories” and 62-296.401(1) – “Any Incinerator with a charging rate less than 50 tons per day”.

Compliance Monitoring  Compliance with the air emission standards of 62-296.401(6) and 62-296.401(1)(a) is verified with an annual VE test and initial CO and PM testing.  However, Rule 62-296.401(6)(k) – “Compliance Demonstration” provides an animal crematory the option to submit a CO and PM test report of an identical crematory unit in the place of testing if the submitted test report was conducted within the last 5 years.  The Gulf Coast Pet Crematory will submit an identical unit performance test, to verify compliance, when they submit their Air General (AG) Permit, Part III notification form.  

Compliance History  There is no compliance history for this facility.  It is new construction and the Gulf Coast Pet Crematory currently has no other emission sources.

Fee Summary  This initial air construction (AC) permit application was submitted as a AC1F (source less than 5 tons per year) with an appropriate fee of $250.

SFV:kwc

