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Permit No.:  0330108-004-AO
CEREX Advanced Fabrics, Inc.


Facility ID No.: 0330108
Pensacola Facility




SIC No(s).: 2297







Project: Air Operation Permit

This renewal permit is for the operation of the Pensacola Spunbonded Fabric Manufacturing Facility located at 610 Chemstrand Road, Escambia County; UTM Coordinates:  Zone 16, 476.7 km East and 3384.5 km North; Latitude: 30( 25’ 28” North and Longitude: 87( 14’ 25” West.

Statement of Basis:  This air operation permit is issued under the provisions of Chapter 403, Florida Statutes (F.S.) and Florida Administrative Code (F.A.C.) Chapters 62-4 and 62-210.  The above named permittee is hereby authorized to perform the work or operate the facility shown on the application and approved drawing(s), plans, and other documents, attached hereto or on file with the permitting authority, in accordance with the terms and conditions of this permit.

Effective Date:  

Renewal Application Due Date:  60 days before expiration
Expiration Date:   5 years after eff date
_________/s/___________________

Elizabeth Mullins Orr
Permitting Program Administrator

Northwest District

EMO/aj/m

Section I.  Facility Information.
This is a renewal of Permit No. 0330108-003-AO, effective April 20, 2010.
Subsection A.  Facility Description.
The facility uses a spunbonded fabric manufacturing process where nylon filaments are laid down as batts on forming belts to make different types of fabrics.  The batts may or may not be treated with acid prior to pressing to form a fabric.  

This facility contains three process lines; B, C and E.
B Line Process Description

Line B forms fiber batts that are acid treated with anhydrous Hydrochloric Acid (HCl), pressed, washed with water, and steam dried.  The drying steam is purchased from Ascend (formerly Solutia).  Emissions resulting from the acid treatment are treated with scrubbers and demisters, and from the drying, with a scrubber.
This production line produces spunbonded nonwoven nylon treated with anhydrous Hydrochloric Acid (HCl). Nylon 6, 6 resin is melted in an extruder, filtered, and spun into filaments.  During the spinning process, monomers are given off, which are removed through a monomer exhaust blower (EP2) and vented without controls to atmosphere.  

When cooled, the filaments are blown down onto a forming belt to form a fabric.  This fabric is conveyed into a gas house, where the unbonded fabric is treated with HCl.  The fabric is pressed together to complete the bonding in the post gas house and then washed to remove the residual HCl.  The washed fabric is then dried in a steam heated air drum dryer before being accumulated on a winder.

Exhaust from the gas house is routed to a three scrubber system (two on-line and one spare) and then to a demister.  The off-gases from the gas house scrubber/demister system are emitted from stack EP4.  Exhaust from the post gas house is routed to a two scrubber system followed by a demister.

The off-gases from the post gas house scrubber/demister system are emitted from stack EP5.  The room ventilation exhausts for B Line are ventilated without controls from stacks EP6 and EP7.  The emissions of HCl from the dryer are controlled with a water scrubber and vented through stack EP9.

C Line Process Description

Line C fiber batts are not acid treated, but are pressure treated with rollers heated with a 1.64 MMBtu/hr natural gas (NG) fired heater.  
This production line produces spun bonded nonwoven nylon fabric that is thermally bonded via pressure rolls using hot oil.  Nylon 6, 6 resin is melted in an extruder, filtered, and spun into filaments.  During the spinning process, monomers are given off, which are removed through a monomer exhaust blower (EP3) and vented without controls to atmosphere.

When cooled, the filaments are blown down onto a forming belt to form a fabric.  This fabric is conveyed to a thermal calendar system.  The fabric is pressure treated with rollers heated with a 1.64 MMBtu/hr natural gas fired heater.  This heater is exempt from permitting in accordance with Rule 62-10.300(3)(b)l, F.A.C. Generic Emissions Unit Exemption.  The bonded fabric is accumulated on a winder

E Line Process Description

Line E fiber batts are not acid treated, but are pressure treated with rollers that are heated electrically.

This production line produces spunbonded nonwoven nylon that is thermally bonded via pressure rolls using electrical heating.  Nylon 6, 6 resin is melted in an extruder, filtered, and spun into filaments.  During the spinning process, monomers are given off, which are removed through two monomer exhaust blowers and vented without controls to the atmosphere (EP10a and EP10b).

When cooled, the filaments are blown down onto a forming belt to form a fabric.  This fabric is conveyed to a thermal calender system.  The fabric is pressure treated with electrically heated rollers rated at 360 kW.  The bonded fabric is accumulated on a winder.  There are no HCl or VOC emissions associated with this production line.

Additionally, the CEREX facility includes polymer pellet storage (exempt by Rule 62-210.300(3)(b)1, F.A.C., the generic emissions unit exemption - see Department letter dated February 12, 2004).  This equipment includes pellet storage silos, receiving hoppers, fines removal systems, dryers and dust collection baghouses.  The total potential uncontrolled emissions from this storage and handling equipment are 4,252 pounds per year.  Emission points associated with these exempt activities are:  EP 11, baghouse, B&C lines; EP 12, baghouse, E line; and, EPs 13and 14, silos GB1 and GB 2.  

Estimated facility-wide emissions (Tons/Year) are as follows:

	SOURCE
	NOx
	CO
	PM
	SO2
	VOC
	HCl4

	Line B, C & E
	N/A
	N/A
	0.081
	N/A
	N/A
	6.202

	Storage & Handling3
	N/A
	N/A
	2.26
	N/A
	N/A
	N/A

	Line C Heater3
	0.64
	0.27
	0.05
	0.004
	0.04
	N/A

	TOTAL:
	0.64
	0.27
	2.39
	0.004
	0.04
	6.20


1 Sublimed cyclic monomer emissions from all three lines.

2 HCL emissions are emitted from the facility’s single chemical bonding line (Line B).

3 The Department has determined these sources are exempt from permitting.

4 Per Rule 62-210.200 (Hazardous Air Pollutant), F.A.C., hydrochloric acid (CAS No. 106) is a hazardous air pollutant (HAP).

Based on the permit application received February 17, 2015, this facility is not a major source of hazardous air pollutants (HAP).
Subsection B.  Summary of Emissions Unit ID No(s). and Brief Description(s).

	E.U.  ID No.
	Brief Description

	001
	Non-Woven Fabric Facility


Please reference the Permit No., Facility ID No., and appropriate Emissions Unit(s) ID No(s). on all correspondence, test report submittals, applications, etc.

Subsection C.  Relevant Documents.

The documents listed below are not a part of this permit; however, they are specifically related to this permitting action.

These documents are on file with permitting authority:
Permit Application (EPSAP No. 3960-1) received February 11, 2015.  Fee received February 17, 2015
Section II.  Facility-wide Conditions.

The following conditions apply facility-wide:
1.  All listed Appendices are part of this permit.

2.  General Pollutant Emission Limiting Standards. Objectionable Odor Prohibited.  The permittee shall not cause, suffer, allow, or permit the discharge of air pollutants that cause or contribute to an objectionable odor.  [Rule 62-296.320(2), F.A.C.]

3.  General Particulate Emission Limiting Standards.  General Visible Emissions Standard.  Except for emissions units that are subject to a particulate matter or opacity limit set forth or established by rule and reflected by conditions in this permit, no person shall cause, let, permit, suffer or allow to be discharged into the atmosphere the emissions of air pollutants from any activity, the density of which is equal to or greater than that designated as Number 1 on the Ringelmann Chart (20 percent opacity).  EPA Method 9 is the method of compliance pursuant to Chapter 62-297, F.A.C.  [Rules 62-296.320(4)(b)1. & 4., F.A.C.]

4.  Special Compliance Tests.  When the Department, after investigation, has good reason (such as complaints, increased visible emissions or questionable maintenance of control equipment) to believe that any applicable emission standards contained in a Department rule or in a permit issued pursuant to those rules is being violated, it may require the owner or operator of the emissions unit to conduct compliance tests that identify the nature and quantity of pollutant emissions from the emissions unit and to provide a report on the results of said tests to the Department.  Notification of compliance testing and completed test reports may be submitted by electronic mail to nwdair@dep.state.fl.us.  [Rule 62-297.310(8)(c), F.A.C.]

5.  Asbestos.  This permit does not authorize any demolition or renovation of the facility or its parts or components which involves asbestos removal.  This permit does not constitute a waiver of any of the requirements of Chapter 62-257, F.A.C., and 40 CFR 61, Subpart M, National Emission Standard for Asbestos, adopted and incorporated by reference in Rule 62-204.800, F.A.C.  Compliance with Chapter 62-257, F.A.C., and 40 CFR 61, Subpart M, Section 61.145, is required for any asbestos demolition or renovation at the source.  [40 CFR 61; Rule 62-204.800, F.A.C.; and Chapter 62-257, F.A.C.]

6.  Prevention of Accidental Releases (Section 112(r) of CAA).

a. As required by rule, inspection, or change in process the owner or operator shall submit an updated Risk Management Plan (RMP) to the Chemical Emergency Preparedness and Prevention Office (CEPPO) RMP Reporting Center.

b. The owner or operator shall report to the Department of Community Affairs (DCA) within one working day of discovery of an accidental release of a regulated substance from the stationary source, if the owner or operator is required to report the release to the USEPA/Chemical Safety Hazard Investigation Board or the National Response Center under Section 112(r)(6).

c. The owner or operator shall submit the required annual registration fee to the DCA on or before June 21, 1999 and on April 1 annually thereafter, in accordance with Part IV, Chapter 252, F.S., and Rule 9G-21, F.A.C.
7.  An Annual Operating Report for Air Pollutant Emitting Facility, DEP Form 62-210.900(5), shall be submitted for each year by April 1 of the following year.  A copy of the form and instructions may be obtained from the Department’s Northwest District office or electronically at http://www.dep.state.fl.us/air/rules/forms/aor.htm.  If the report is submitted using the Department’s electronic annual operating report software, there is no requirement to submit a copy to any DEP or local air program office.  [Rule 62-210.370(3)(c), F.A.C.]

8. General Pollutant Emission Limiting Standards. Volatile Organic Compounds (VOC) Emissions or Organic Solvents (OS) Emissions.  The permittee shall allow no person to store, pump, handle, process, load, unload or use in any process or installation, VOC or OS without applying known and existing vapor emission control devices or systems deemed necessary and ordered by the Department.  No emission control devices or systems are ordered at this time.  [Rule 62-296.320(1), F.A.C.]

9.  Unconfined Particulate Matter.  No person shall cause, let, permit, suffer or allow the emissions of unconfined particulate matter from any activity, including vehicular movement; transportation of materials; construction, alteration, demolition or wrecking; or industrially related activities such as loading, unloading, storing or handling; without taking reasonable precautions to prevent such emissions.  Reasonable precautions to prevent emissions of unconfined particulate matter at this facility shall include: 
a) Paving and maintenance of roads, parking areas and yards.

b) Removal of particulate matter from roads and other paved areas under the control of the owner or operator of the facility to prevent reentrainment, and from buildings or work areas to prevent particulate from becoming airborne.

c) Landscaping or planting of vegetation.

d) Use of hoods, fans, filters, and similar equipment to contain, capture and/or vent particulate matter.

[Rule 62-296.320(4)(c), F.A.C., and Permit 0330108-004-AO]
10.  Sixty days prior to the expiration date of this operation permit, the Permittee shall submit a permit renewal application using the current version of the renewal form along with the processing fee established in Rule 62-4.050(4), F.A.C., to the Northwest District office of the Department.  You can obtain a permit application form or apply for permit renewal electronically at the following web address:  http://www.dep.state.fl.us/air/rules/forms/application.htm .  [Rule 62-4.090, F.A.C.]

11.  The permittee shall submit all compliance related notifications and reports required of this permit to the Department’s Northwest District office:

Department of Environmental Protection

Northwest District Compliance Assurance Program
160 W. Government Street, Suite 308
Pensacola, Florida 32502-5740
Telephone:  850.595.8300; Fax:  850.595.8097
Notification of compliance testing and completed test reports may be submitted by electronic mail to nwdair@dep.state.fl.us and copied to the permitting authority at epost_nwdwasteair@dep.state.fl.us  
12.  The Department telephone number for reporting problems, malfunctions or exceedances under this permit is 850.595.8300, day or night, and for emergencies involving a significant threat to human health or the environment is 800.320.0519.  For routine business, telephone 850.595.8300 during normal working hours.  [Rules 62-210.700 and 62-4.130, F.A.C.]

Section III.  Emissions Unit(s) and Conditions.

Subsection A.  This section addresses the following emissions unit(s).

	E.U.  ID No.
	Brief Description

	001
	Non-Woven Fabric Facility


Nylon filaments are laid down to form three types of fiber batts (Lines B, C and E).  The cooling air from this process is discharged without controls from emission points 2, 3, 10a and 10b, respectively, with minimal potential emissions (approximately 160 lbs/hr PM emissions).

Line B fiber batts are treated with anhydrous HCl, and pressed.  Acid exhaust air is controlled by three scrubbers (two in service with one backup) and demisters.  Scrubbed emissions from the acid treatment are discharged from emission points 4 and 5. 

The acid treated fabric from line B is water washed, with untreated ventilation exhaust air discharged from emission points 6 and 7.  The washed, acid treated fabric from line B is then dried with a steam dryer using steam purchased from Solutia, Inc.  Emissions are controlled with a scrubber, and discharged from emission point 9.  Emission points 4, 5, 6, 7 and 9 include HCl emissions, a HAP, with maximum potential emissions at 5 ppm or 6.2 tons/year.  

Line C fiber batts are processed without acid treatment through a closed loop natural gas fired heated pressure roller bonding process.  The closed loop heater has a maximum heat input of 1.64 MMBtu/hr, and is exempt from permitting pursuant to Rule 62-210.300(3)(b)1, F.A.C., Generic Emissions Unit Exemption.  

Similarly, Line E fiber batts are not acid treated, but are pressure treated with rollers that are heated electrically.
The following specific conditions apply to the emissions unit(s) listed above:
Essential Potential to Emit (PTE) Parameters
A.1.  Hours of Operation.  This emissions unit is allowed to operate continuously, i.e., 8,760 hours/year.  [Rules 62-4.070(3) and 62-210.200(PTE), F.A.C.]

Emission Limitations and Standards
A.2.  HCl Emissions. 

a.  Hydrochloric acid (HCl) emissions shall not exceed five parts per million (ppm) from any individual stack during normal operations.  This 5 ppm requirement is waived for no more than 480 hours per year or 20 days per year for stacks 6 and 7 to allow specialty runs of heavyweight fabric.  However, the volume-flow weighted average for all stacks, 4 through 7 and 9, shall not exceed 5 ppm during these specialty product runs.  Records of heavyweight fabric run times shall be maintained in accordance with the attached general conditions, and shall be made available for Department inspection  

b.  Total HCl emissions from stacks 4 through 7 and 9 shall not exceed a total of 34 pounds per day or a daily average of 1.4 pounds per hour.
[Rules 62-4.070(3), F.A.C. and Permit No. 0330108-002-AO]

Test Methods and Procedures
A.3.  HCl Emissions Testing.  HCl emissions tests are required to show continuous compliance with the standards of the Department.  The test results must provide reasonable assurance that the source is capable of compliance at the maximum operating rate.  Such tests shall be conducted quarterly.  Quarter to quarter tests shall be conducted at a minimum of 30 days apart.  Other test methods and alternate compliance procedures may be used only after prior approval has been obtained in writing from the Department.  [Rules 62-4.070(3), 62-297.310(7), and 62-297.401(9), F.A.C.]

A.4.  HCl concentrations shall be determined by use of Draeger tubes operated in accordance with the manufacturer’s instructions.  Airflow shall be measured by a Magnehelic gauge in 2” increments across each involved duct and averaged.  Actual emissions shall be calculated from ppm HCl, flow rate, and on-stream time as follows:

lbs/hr = (X ppm HCl)x(Y ft3/min)x(60 min/hr)x(m3/35.32 ft3)x(Z kg/m3)X(2.2 lbs/kg)



 X = HCl concentration, ppm



 Y = flow rate, ft3/min




 Z = density of gas stream, kg/m3
[Rule 62-4.070(3), F.A.C., Operation permit AO17-270040, January 23, 1989 letter]

A.5.  Test reports and results shall be submitted to the Department within 45 days after testing, and shall include but not be limited to sampling date, source, Draeger tube concentrations, flow rates, on stream time, and calculations for total HCl emissions.  Completed test reports may be submitted by electronic mail to 
" 
nwdair@dep.state.fl.us
.  The test reports shall comply with applicable portions of Rule 62-297.310, F.A.C., Test Reports.  The Department can require special compliance tests in accordance with Rule 62-297.310(8), F.A.C.  Other test methods and alternate compliance procedures may be used only after prior Departmental approval has been obtained in writing.  [Rules 62-297.310(9) and 62-297.620(1), F.A.C.]

A.6.  Testing of emissions shall be conducted with the emissions unit operating at testing capacity.  Testing capacity is defined as at least 90% of the maximum operation rate specified by the permit.  If it is impractical to test at testing capacity, an emissions unit may be tested at less than testing capacity.  If an emissions unit is tested at less than the testing capacity, another emissions test shall be conducted and completed no later than 60 days after the emissions unit operation exceeds 110% of the capacity at which its most recent emissions test was conducted.  [Rules 62-297.310(3) and 62-4.070(3), F.A.C.]

Monitoring of Operations
A.7.  Scrubber water flows.  The gashouse scrubbers, post gas house scrubbers, and dryer scrubber shall be operated with a minimum water flow of 15 gallons per minute each.  The scrubber water flow shall be recorded once per shift within two hours from the start of each shift.  The records shall be maintained in accordance with the attached general conditions, and shall be made available for Department inspection.

[Rule 62-4.070(3), F.A.C.
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1.  The terms, conditions, requirements, limitations, and restrictions set forth in this permit are "permit conditions", and are binding and enforceable pursuant to Sections 403.141, 403.727, or 403.859 through 403.861, Florida Statutes.  The permittee is placed on notice that the Department will review this permit periodically and may initiate enforcement action for any violation of these conditions.

2.  This permit is valid only for the specific processes and operations applied for and indicated in the approved drawings or exhibits.  Any unauthorized deviation from the approved drawings, exhibits, specifications, or conditions of this permit may constitute grounds for revocation and enforcement action by the Department.

3.  As provided in Subsections 403.087(6) and 403.722(5), Florida Statutes, the issuance of this permit does not convey any vested rights or any exclusive privileges.  Neither does it authorize any injury to public or private property or any invasion of personal rights, nor any infringement of federal, state or local laws or regulations.  This permit is not a waiver of or approval of any other Department permit that may be required for other aspects of the total project which are not addressed in the permit.

4.  This permit conveys no title to land or water, does not constitute State recognition or acknowledgment of title, and does not constitute authority for the use of submerged lands unless herein provided and the necessary title or leasehold interests have been obtained from the State.  Only the Trustees of the Internal Improvement Trust Fund may express State opinion as to title.

5.  This permit does not relieve the permittee from liability for harm or injury to human health or welfare, animal, or plant life, or property caused by the construction or operation of this permitted source, or from penalties therefore; nor does it allow the permittee to cause pollution in contravention of Florida Statutes and Department rules, unless specifically authorized by an order from the Department.

6.  The permittee shall properly operate and maintain the facility and systems of treatment and control (and related appurtenances) that are installed and used by the permittee to achieve compliance with the conditions of this permit, are required by Department rules.  This provision includes the operation of backup or auxiliary facilities or similar systems when necessary to achieve compliance with the conditions of the permit and when required by Department rules.

7.  The permittee, by accepting this permit, specifically agrees to allow authorized Department personnel, upon presentation of credentials or other documents as may be required by law and at reasonable times, access to the premises where the permitted activity is located or conducted for the purpose of:

    a.
 Have access to and copy any records that must be kept under conditions of this permit;

    b.
 Inspect the facility, equipment, practices, or operations regulated or required under this permit; and,

    c.
 Sample or monitor any substances or parameters at any location reasonably necessary to assure compliance with this permit or Department rules.

    Reasonable time may depend on the nature of the concern being investigated.

8.  If, for any reason, the permittee does not comply with or will be unable to comply with any condition or limitation specified in this permit, the permittee shall immediately provide the Department with the following information:

    a.
 A description of and cause of noncompliance; and
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    b.
 The period of noncompliance, including exact dates and times; or, if not corrected, the anticipated time the noncompliance is expected to continue, and steps being taken to reduce, eliminate, and prevent recurrence of the noncompliance.  The permittee shall be responsible for any and all damages that may result and may be subject to enforcement action by the Department for penalties or for revocation of this permit.

9.  In accepting this permit, the permittee understands and agrees that all records, notes, monitoring data and other information relating to the construction or operation of this permitted source which are submitted to the Department may be used by the Department as evidence in any enforcement case involving the permitted source arising under the Florida Statutes or Department rules, except where such use is proscribed by Sections 403.73 and 403.111, Florida 
Statutes.  Such evidence shall only be used to the extent it is consistent with Florida Rules of Civil Procedure and appropriate evidentiary rules.

10.  The permittee agrees to comply with changes in Department rules and Florida Statutes after a reasonable time for compliance, provided however, the permittee does not waive any other rights granted by Florida Statutes or Department rules.

11.  This permit is transferable only upon Department approval in accordance with Florida Administrative Code Rules 62-4.120 and 62-730.300, as applicable.  The permittee shall be liable for any noncompliance of the permitted activity until the Department approves the transfer.

12.  This permit or a copy thereof shall be kept at the work site of the permitted activity.

13.  The permittee shall comply with the following:

     a.
 Upon request, the permittee shall furnish all records and plans required under Department rules.  During enforcement actions, the retention period for all records will be extended automatically unless otherwise stipulated by the Department.

     b.
 The permittee shall hold at the facility or other location designated by this permit records of all monitoring information (including all calibration and maintenance records and all original strip chart recordings for continuous monitoring instrumentation) required by the permit, copies of all reports required by this permit, and records of all data used to complete the application for this permit.  These materials shall be retained at least three years from the date of the sample, measurement, report or application unless otherwise specified by Department rule.

     c.
 Records of monitoring information shall include:

    
 - the date, exact place, and time of sampling or measurement;

    
 - the person responsible for performing the sampling or  measurements;

    
 - the dates analyses were performed;

    
 - the person responsible for performing the analyses;

    
 - the analytical techniques or methods used;

    
 - the results of such analyses.

14.  When requested by the Department, the permittee shall within a reasonable time furnish any information required by law which is needed to determine compliance with the permit.  If the permittee becomes aware the relevant facts were not submitted or were incorrect in the permit application or in any report to the Department, such facts or information shall be corrected promptly.
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