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PERMITTEE: AIRS 1.D. Number: 0330091
Air Permit Number: 0330091-001-AC
SCI Funeral Services of Florida Emission Unit: 002

Date of Issue: Febrmuary 3, 1997
Expiration Date: F'ebruary 3, 2002
County: Escambia

Project: Crematorium

This permit is issued under the provisions of Section 403.087, Florida Statutes, and Florida
Administrative Code Rules 62-296, 62-297 and 62-4. The above named applicant, hereinafter
called Permittee, is hereby authorized to perform the work or operate the facility shown on the
application and approved drawing(s), plans, and other documents attached hereto or on file with
the Department and made a part hereof and specifically described as follows:

Construction of a natural gas fired human crematory incinerator, manufactured by Industrial
Equipment and Engineering Company, Power-Pak IT, Model IE43-PPII for incineration of human
remains and container. Air emissions are controlled by two-stage combustion, with minimum
temperature of 1600°F in secondary combustion chamber. :

Construction shall be consistent with the construction permit application received January 2,
1997.

Located at 619 New Warrington Road, in Pensacola.
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PERMITTEE: AIRS 1.D. Number: 0330091
SCI Funeral Services of Florida Air Permit Number: 0330091-001-AC
Emission Unit: 002

Date of‘Issue: February 3, 1997
Expiration Date: February 3, 2002
SPECIFIC CONDITIONS: '

General
1. The attached General Conditions are part of this permit. [FAC Rule 62-4.160]
Construction

2. The Department shall be notified upon commencement of construction, and within 15 days of
completion of construction. Annual status reports shall be provided no later than January 31 of each year
reviewing the status of construction during the preceding year up to completion of the project. [FAC Rule
62-4.070] .

3. The Department shall be notified and prior approval shall be obtained of any changes or revisions made
during construction. [FAC Rule 62-4.030]

4. Satisfactory ladders, platforms and other safety devices as well as necessary parts shall be
provided/made available to facilitate an adequate inspection program. [FAC Rule 62-297.310(6)]

Operation

5. This source is allowed to operate up to a maximum of 8,760 hours per year. [FAC Rule 62-4.070 and
construction permit application submitted January 2, 1997]

6. The maximum allowable operating rate is 100 pounds of waste burned per hour. This is the operating
rate at which compliance with standards shall be
demonstrated. [FAC Rule 62-4.070 and construction permit application submitted January 2, 1997]

7. Operating instructions shall be clearly posted. These instructions shall include but not be limited to:
. Frequency of clean out and method of ash disposal.

Restrictions on type, quantity and frequency of waste loading,

. Maximum load per burn load (no larger than 100 pounds per hour).

. Minimum burn time per burn load.

Do not open loading door until load has completed burn cycle.

Preheating of afterburner section prior to ignition of primary burn section.

. Maintain minimum temperature in secondary chamber (no less than 1600°F).

[FAC Rule 62-296.401]

QEEmUaw»

8. The volume in the secondary chamber combustion zone shall be sufficient to provide for at leasta 1.0
second gas residence time at 1800°F. The actual operating temperature of the secondary chamber
combustion zone shall be no less than 1600°F throughout the combustion process in the primary chamber.
Primary chamber and stack shall not be used in calculating this residence time. Cremation in the primary
chamber shall not begin unless the secondary chamber combustion zone temperature is equal to or greater
than 1600°F. [FAC Rule 62-296.401(5)(c)]
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PERMITTEE: AIRS I.D. Number: 0330091
SCI Funeral Services of Florida Air Permit Number: 0330091-001-AC
~ Emission Unit: 002
Date of Issue: February 3, 1997
Expiration Date: February 3, 2002
SPECIFIC CONDITIONS:

9. This Crematorium shall be used only for the cremation of dead human bodies, for which a DHRS
certificate has been issued. The bodies may be clothed and may be in appropriate containers. The
containers may contain up to 0.5 percent by weight chlorinated plastics as demonstrated by manufacturer’s
data sheet. Documentation from the container manufacturer’s certifying the composition by weight of
chlorinated plastics must be kept on-file for up to two years after use. [FAC Rule 62-296.401(5)(e)]

10. The secondary chamber combustion zone temperature shall be continuously monitored. All operating
and maintenance records shall be kept for a minimum of two years and be available for Department
inspection. The temperature charts shall include at a minimum date and time markings, temperature scale
markings, operator name and start/end cremation times. [FAC Rule 62-296.401(5)(k)]

Emissions

11. No visible emissions (VE less than or equal to 5% opacity) are allowed under normal operation except
for up to three minutes in any one hour at not more than 20% opacity. [FAC Rule 62-296.401(1)(a)]

12. Particulate matter emissions shall not exceed 0.080 grains per dry standard cubic foot of flue gas,
corrected to 7% oxygen. [FAC Rule 62-296.401(5)]

13. Carbon monoxide (CO) emissions shall not exceed 100 parts per million by volume, dry basis,
corrected to 7% oxygen on an hourly average basis. [FAC Rule 62-296.401(5)]

14. This source shall be operated in such a fashion so as to preclude objectionable odors. [FAC Rule 62-
296.401(1)(b)]

Testing

15. Emissions tests are required to show continuing compliance with the standards of the Department. The
test results must provide reasonable assurance that the source is capable of compliance at the permitted
maximum operating rate. [FAC Rule 62-297.310(2)] Tests shall be conducted in accordance with the
table below. [FAC Rule 62-296.401(5)(g)] Such tests shall be scheduled within 30 days after
construction is completed. The Department shall be notified at least 15 days prior to testing to allow
witnessing. Results shall be submitted to the Department within 45 days after testing.

Pollutant Test Method
VE DEP Method 9 - thirty (30) minutes
CO EPA Method 10
0, EPA Method 3
PM EPA Method 5
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PERMITTEE: AIRS 1.D. Number: 0330091

SCI Funeral Services of Florida Air Permit Number: 0330091-001-AC
Emission Unit: 002
Date of Issue: February 3, 1997
Expiration Date: February 3, 2002

SPECIFIC CONDITIONS:

[15. (cont.’d)]
Test procedures shall meet all applicable requirements of Chapter 62-297, FAC. [FAC Rule 62-
296.401(5)(g)51

Test reports shall comply with F.A.C. Rule 62-297.310(8), Test Reports. Additionally, the compliance test
report shall provide the following information on the air pollution control devices: (a.) General condition
of equipment, noting any deficiencies of problems with the equipment which occur during testing. (b.)
Normal operating parameters of the equipment and the actual operation parameters for each test run,
including:

The Department can require special compliance tests in accordance with F.A.C. Rule 62-297.310(7)(b).
Other test methods and alternate compliance procedures may be used only after prior Departmental
approval has been obtained in writing.

Testing of emissions shall be conducted with the source operating at capacity. Capacity is defined as 90-
100% of rated capacity. If it is impractical to test at capacity, then sources may be tested at less than
capacity; in this case subsequent source operation is limited to 110% of the test load until a new test is
conducted. Once the unit is so limited, then operation at higher capacities is allowed for no more than
fifteen days for purposes of additional compliance testing to regain the rated capacity in the permit, with
prior notification to the Department. [FAC Rule 62-297.310(2)]

16. Compliance with the carbon monoxide and particulate emissions may be demonstrated by submission
of a test report for an identical (name, make, model, capacity) crematory tested in Florida within five years
and approved by this office. The evaluation for identical crematories includes the same type of containers,
primary and secondary burner inputs, chamber volumes, secondary chamber size, location and temperature,
burner location and number of burners, mode of operation, operating capacity and air input/fuel type. A
manufacturer’s written statement signed, dated and sealed by a Florida registered Professional Engineer
saying that the two units are identical may be helpful in this evaluation. [FAC Rule 62-296.401(5)]

Administrative

17. All crematory operators shall be trained by the equipment manufacturer’s representatives or an
equivalent state-approved organization. The content of the training program shall be submitted to the
Department. A copy of a certificate for each operator having satisfactorily completed the Department-
approved training program shall be submitted to the Air Compliance Section of this office within 15 days
of completion of training. An operator’s certificate shall be kept on file at the facility for the duration of
the operator’s employment and for an additional two years after termination of employment. The
crematory shall only be operated by certified operators. [FAC Rule 62-296.401(5)]
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PERMITTEE: AIRS 1.D. Number: 0330091

SCI Funeral Services of Florida Air Permit Number: 0330091-001-AC
Emission Unit: 002
Date of Issue: February 3, 1997
Expiration Date: February 3, 2002

SPECIFIC CONDITIONS:

18. The applicant shall retain a Professional Engineer, registered in the State of Florida, for the inspection
of this project. Upon completion the engineer shall inspect for conformity to the permit application and
associated documents. An application for an operation permit shall be submitted with the compliance test
results and appropriate fee when applicable. These are to be submitted within 75 days of completion of
construction. The permittee shall obtain an operating permit for this source before the expiration of this
construction permit if the permittee desires to continue operation. [FAC Rule 62-210(300)]

19. The Department telephone number for reporting problems, malfunctions or exceedances under this
permit is (904) 444-8364, day or night, and for emergencies involving a significant threat to human health
or the environment is (904) 413-9911. For routine business, telephone (904) 444-8364 during normal
working hours. [FAC Rule 62-4.130]

4L
Expiration Date: Issued this 5 “"L day of E _;d_; .

1997.

STATE OF FLORIDA DEPARTMENT
OF ENVIRONMENTAL PROTECTION

. et 0s, o

ED K. MIDDLESWART, P.E.
Air Program Administrator
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GENERAL CONDITIONS:

1. The terms, conditions, requirements, limitations, and restrictions set forth in this permit are
"permit conditions", and are binding and enforceable pursuant to Sections 403.141, 403.727, or
403.859 through 403.861, Florida Statutes. The permittee is placed on notice that the
Department will review this permit periodically and may initiate enforcement action for any
violation of these conditions.

2. This permit is valid only for the specific processes and operations applied for and indicated in
the approved drawings or exhibits. Any unauthorized deviation from the approved drawings,
exhibits, specifications, or conditions of this permit may constitute grounds for revocation and
enforcement action by the Department.

3. As provided in Subsections 403.087(6) and 403.722(5), Florida Statutes, the issuance of this
permit does not convey any vested rights or any exclusive privileges. Nor does it authorize any
injury to public or private property or any invasion of personal rights, nor any infringement of
federal, state or local laws or regulations. This permit does not constitute a waiver of or approval
of any other Department permit that may be required for other aspects of the total project which
are not addressed in the permit.

4. This permit conveys no title to land or water, does not constitute state recognition or
acknowledgment of title, and does not constitute authority for the use of submerged lands unless
herein provided and the necessary title or leasehold interests have been obtained from the state.
Only the Trustees of the Internal Improvement Trust Fund may express state opinion as to title.

5. This permit does not relieve the permittee from liability for harm or injury to human health or
welfare, animal, or plant life, or property caused by the construction or operation of this
permitted source, or from penalties therefore; nor does it allow the permittee to cause pollution in
contravention of Florida Statutes and Department rules, unless specifically authorized by an
order from the Department.

6. The permittee shall properly operate and maintain the facility and systems of treatment and
control (and related appurtenances) that are installed and used by the permittee to achieve
compliance with the conditions of this permit, are required by Department rules. This provision
includes the operation of backup or auxiliary facilities or similar systems when necessary to
achieve compliance with the conditions of the permit and when required by Department rules.

7. The permittee, by accepting this permit, specifically agrees to allow authorized Department
personnel, upon presentation of credentials or other documents as may be required by law, access
to the premises, at reasonable times, where the permitted activity is located or conducted for the

purpose of:

a.  Having access to and copying any records that must be kept under the conditions of this
permit;

b.  Inspecting the facility, equipment, practices, or operations regulated or required under
this permit; and, :



GENERAL CONDITIONS:

c.  Sampling or monitoring any substances or parameters at any location reasonably
necessary to assure compliance with this permit or Department rules.

Reasonable time may depend on the nature of the concern being investigated.

8. If, for any reason, the permittee does not comply with or will be unable to comply with any
condition or limitation specified in this permit, the permittee shall immediately provide the
Department with the following information:

a. A description of and cause of noncompliance; and

b.  The period of noncompliance, including exact dates and times; or, if not corrected, the
anticipated time the noncompliance is expected to continue, and steps being taken to reduce,
eliminate, and prevent recurrence of the noncompliance. The permittee shall be responsible for
any and all damages which may result and may be subject to enforcement action by the
Department for penalties or for revocation of this permit.

9. In accepting this permit, the permittee understands and agrees that all records, notes,
monitoring data and other information relating to the construction or operation of this permitted
source which are submitted to the Department may be used by the Department as evidence in any
enforcement case involving the permitted source arising under the Florida Statutes or
Department rules, except where such use is proscribed by Sections 403.73 and 403.111, Florida
Statutes. Such evidence shall only be used to the extent it is

consistent with Florida Rules of Civil Procedure and appropriate evidentiary rules.

10. The permittee agrees to comply with changes in Department rules and Florida Statutes after
a reasonable time for compliance, provided however, the permittee does not waive any other
rights granted by Florida Statutes or Department rules.

11. This permit is transferable only upon Department approval in accordance with Florida
Administrative Code Rules 62-4.120 and 62-730.300, as applicable. The permittee shall be
liable for any noncompliance of the permitted activity until the transfer is approved

by the Department.

12. This permit is required to be kept at the work site of the permitted activity during the entire
period of construction or operation.

13. The permittee shall comply with the following;:
a. Upon request, the permittee shall furnish all records and plans required under

Department rules. During enforcement actions, the retention period for all records will be
extended automatically unless otherwise stipulated by the Department.



GENERAL CONDITIONS:

b. The permittee shall hold at the facility or other location designated by this permit records
of all monitoring information (including all calibration and maintenance records and all original
strip chart recordings for continuous monitoring instrumentation) required by the permit, copies
of all reports required by this permit, and records of all data used to complete the application for
this permit. These materials shall be retained at least three years from the date of the sample,
measurement, report or application unless otherwise specified by Department rule.

¢. Records of monitoring information shall include:

- the date, exact place, and time of sampling or measurement;

- the person responsible for performing the sampling or
measurement;

- the date(s) analyses were performed,;

- the person responsible for performing the analyses;

- the analytical techniques or methods used; and

- the results of such analyses.

14. When requested by the Department, the permittee shall within a reasonable time furnish any
information required by law which is needed to determine compliance with the permit. If the
permittee becomes aware the relevant facts were not submitted or were incorrect in the permit
application or in any report to the Department, such facts or information shall be corrected
promptly.



