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Permittee: Permit No.: 0330054-001-AC
Crematory of Northwest Florida Facility ID No.: 0330054
o SIC Nos.: 7261
Project: Air Construction Permit

This permit is for the construction of an Industrial Equipment & Engineering Company, Inc.
Model IE43-PPII Cremation fired incinerator. The construction will take place at 21 East Lee
Street in Pensacola, Escambia County; UTM Coordinates: Zone 16, 479.1 km East and 3365.9
km North;

STATEMENT OF BASIS: This air construction permit is issued under the provisions of Chapter 403,
Florida Statutes (F.S.) and Florida Administrative Code (F.A.C.) Chapters 62-4, and 62-210. The above
named permittee is hereby authorized to perform the work or operate the facility shown on the application
and approved drawing(s), plans, and other documents, attached hereto or on file with the permitting
authority, in accordance with the terms and conditions of this permit.

Referenced attachments made a part of this permit:
Appendix G-1, General Conditions

Effective Date: November 30, 1999
Expiration Date: November 30, 2004

FLORIDA DEPARTMENT OF
ENVIRONMENTAL PROTECTION

Isigned/

Ed K. Middleswart, P.E.
Air Program Administrator

EKM/trc
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Section I. Facility Information.

Subsection A. Facility Description.

This facility consists of an Industrial Equipment & Engineering Company Model IE43-M94
cremation incinerator permitted to operate by Permit No. AO17-267575. The purpose of this air
construction permit is to allow construction of a second incinerator at this facility. The
incinerator to be constructed is an Industrial Equipment & Engineering Company Model IE43-
PPII cremation incinerator fired on either LP Gas or Natural Gas. The emissions generated from
the cremation of human remains are controlled by an afterburner which maintains a minimum
secondary chamber temperature of 1600 degrees Fahrenheit.

This facility is regulated under Rule 62-210.300(1), F.A.C., Rule 62-210.300(4)(2)8., F.A.C., and
Rule 62-296.401(5), F.A.C.

Based on the permit application received October 28, 1999, this facility is not a major source of
hazardous air pollutants (HAPs).

Subsection B. Summary of Emissions Unit ID No(s). and Brief Description(s).

E.U.
ID No. Brief Description
002 Industrial Equipment & Engineering Company Model IE43-PPIl Human Crematory

Please reference the Permit No., Facility ID No., and appropriate Emissions Unit(s) ID No(s).
on all correspondence, test report submittals, applications, etc.

Subsection C. Relevant Documents.

The documents listed below are not a part of this permit; however, they are specifically related to
this permitting action.

These documents are on file with permitting authority:
Air Construction Permit Application received October 28, 1999
Air Operating Permit No. AQ17-267575 [Expiration Date: April 1, 2000]
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Section II. Facility-wide Conditions.

The following conditions apply facility-wide:

1. APPENDIX G-1, GENERAL CONDITIONS, is a part of this permit.

2. The facility shall not cause, suffer, allow or permit the discharge of air pollutants which cause
or contribute to an objectionable odor.
[Rules 62-296.320(2) and 62-296.401(1)(b), F.A.C.]

3. Visible emissions shall not exceed 5 percent opacity, except that visible emissions not
exceeding 20 percent opacity are allowed for up to three minutes in any one hour period.
[Rule 62-296.401(1)(a), F.A.C.]

4. Particulate matter emissions shall not exceed 0.080 grains per dry standard cubic foot of flue
gas, corrected to 7% O».

5. Carbon Monoxide (CO) emissions shall not exceed 100 parts per million by volume, dry
basis, corrected to 7% O on an hourly average basis.

6. Human crematory units for which a complete application for a permit to construct a new unit
was received by the Department on or after August 30, 1989, shall confirm a sufficient volume in
the secondary chamber combustion zone to provide for at least a 1.0 second gas residence time at
1800 degrees Fahrenheit. The actual operating temperature of the secondary chamber
combustion zone shall be no less than 1600 degrees Fahrenheit throughout the combustion
process in the primary chamber. Ptfimary chamber and stack shall not be used in calculating this
residence time. Cremation in the primary chamber shall not begin unless the secondary chamber
combustion zone temperature is equal to or greater than 1600 degrees Fahrenheit.

7. Human crematory units for which construction began or for which a complete application for
a permit to construct a new unit was received by the Department prior to August 30, 1989, shall
provide design calculations to confirm a sufficient volume in the secondary chamber combustion
zone to provide for at least a 1.0 second gas residence time at 1600 degrees Fahrenheit. The
actual operating temperature of the secondary chamber combustion zone shall be no less than
1400 degrees Fahrenheit throughout the combustion process in the primary chamber. Primary
chamber and stack shall not be used in calculating this residence time. Cremation in the primary
chamber shall not begin unless the secondary chamber combustion zone temperature is equal to
or greater than 1400 degrees Fahrenheit,

8. Human crematories shall cremate only dead human bodies with appropriate containers. The
bodies may be clothed. The containers may contain no more than 0.5 percent by weight
chlorinated plastics as demonstrated by the manufacturer's data sheet. If containers are
incinerated, documentation from the manufacturers certifying that they are composed of 0.5
percent or less by weight chlorinated plastics must be kept on-file at the site for the duration of
their use and for at least two years after their use. This documentation must also be submitted
with any application for an initial or renewal air operation permit or air general permit
notification form. No other material, including biomedical waste as defined in Rule 62-210.200,
F.A.C,, shall be incinerated.
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9. Test Methods and Procedures. All emissions tests performed shall comply with the following
requirements.

a. The test method for visible emissions shall be DEP Method 9, incorporated in Chapter
62-297, F.A.C.

b. The test method for carbon monoxide shall be EPA Method 10, incorporated and
adopted by reference in Chapter 62-297, F.A.C.

c. The test method for oxygen shall be EPA Method 3, incorporated and adopted by
reference in Chapter 62-297, F.A.C.

d. The test method for particulate emissions shall be EPA Method 5, incorporated and
adopted by reference in Chapter 62-297, F.A.C. The minimum sample volume shall be 30 dry
standard cubic feet.

e. Test procedures shall meet all applicable requirements of Chapter 62-297, F.A.C.

10. All crematory operators shall be trained by the equipment manufacturer's representatives or
another qualified organization. Only operators trained by a Department-approved training
program shall be allowed to operate a human crematory.

a. The content of the training program shall be submitted to the Department for approval
through the permitting process. Construction permit applicants shall submit a training program
or reference a previously approved training program with the construction permit application.
The training shall provide a basic understanding of the principles of the combustion process,
provide instruction on the operation and maintenance of the crematory unit, and increase
awareness of regulatory requirements and safety concerns. Training programs shall be a
minimum of 8 hours of instruction. Training programs shall at a minimum include hands-on.
experience involving start-up, operation of at least one cremation, shut-down of the equipment,
and one full cycle of preventive maintenance actions. The Department shall approve training
programs which meet, at a minimum, the criteria applicable to cremation set forth-in the EPA
Medical Waste Incinerator Operator Training Program Course Handbook, EPA 453/B-93-018,
and Instructor's Guide, EPA 453/B-93-019.

b. A copy of the training certificate for each operator having satisfactorily completed the
Department-approved training program must be submitted to the Department within 15 days of
training. The owner of any new or modified crematory unit shall submit copies of the operator
training certificates within 15 days after completion of the initial compliance test pursuant to the
unit’s air construction permit. If a crematory unit is modified to the extent that a Department air
construction permit is required , the operators shall be retrained to operate the modified unit.

c. An operator's certificate must be kept on file at the facility for the duration of the
operator's employment and for an additional two years after termination of employment.

11. Operation During Compliance Test. Testing of emissions shall be conducted with the source
operating at the manufacturer’s recommended capacity.

12, Frequéncy of Testing [Air General Permits].

a. New and existing facilities permitted pursuant to Rule 62-210.300(4), F.A.C., Air
General Permits, shall demonstrate individual source compliance with the visible emissions
standard within 60 days prior to the submittal date of the air general permit notification form and
within 60 days prior to each anniversary of such date.
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b. New and existing facilities permitted pursuant to Rule 62-210.300(4), F.A.C., Air
General Permits, shall demonstrate individual source compliance with the remaining applicable
standards within 60 days prior to the submittal date of the air general permit notification form.

13. Compliance Demonstration. Human crematories may demonstrate compliance with the
carbon monoxide and particulate emissions standards by submission of a test report for an
identical (same make, model, and permitted capacity) crematory unit operating in compliance
with a valid Department air permit and tested pursuant to that permit. The test data in the test
report must be less than five years old and may or may not be obtained from the unit that is being
permitted.

14. Continuous Emissions Monitoring Requirements. Each human crematory shall install,
operate, and maintain continuous monitors to record temperature at the point or beyond where
1.0 second gas residence time is obtained in the secondary chamber combustion zone in
accordance with the manufacturer's instructions. A complete file of all measurements, including
continuous monitoring system, monitoring device, and performance testing measurements; all
continuous monitoring system performance evaluations; all continuous monitoring system or
monitoring device calibration checks; and adjustments, preventive maintenance, and corrective
maintenance performed on these systems or devices, shall be recorded in a permanent legible
form available for inspection. Continuous temperature monitoring documentation shall include-
operator name, operator indication of when cremation in the primary chamber begins, date, time,
and temperature markings. The file shall be retained for at least two years following the
recording of such measurements, maintenance, reports, and records.

15. When appropriate, any recording, monitoring, or reporting requirements that are time-specific
shall be in accordance with the effective date of the permit, which defines day one.
[Rule 62-213.440, F.A.C.]

16. The permittee shall submit all compliance related notifications and reports required by this
permit to the Department’s Northwest District office.

Department of Environmental Protection
Northwest District Office
160 Governmental Center
Pensacola, Florida 32501-5794

17. The Department telephone number for reporting problems, malfunctions or exceedances
under this permit is (850) 595-8364, extension 1220, day or night, and for emergencies involving
a significant threat to human health or the environment is (800) 320-0519. For routine business,
telephone (850) 595-8364, then press 7, during normal working hours.

[Rules 62-210.700 and 62-4.130, F.A.C.]

18. The Department shall be notified upon commencement of construction. The Department
shall be notified and prior approval shall be obtained of any changes or revisions made during
construction. Projects beyond one year require annual status reports.

[Rule 62-4.030, F.A.C.]
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Section III. Emissions Unit(s) and Conditions.

Subsection A. This section addresses the following emissions unit(s).

E.U.
ID No. Brief Description
002 Industrial Equipment& Engineering Company Model IE43-PPII Human Crematory

The incinerator is an Industrial Equipment & Engineering Company Model IE43-PPII cremation
incinerator fired on either LP Gas or Natural Gas. The emissions generated from the cremation
of human remains are controlled by an afterburner which maintains a minimum secondary
chamber temperature of 1600 degrees Fahrenheit.

The following specific conditions apply to the emissions unit(s) listed above:

Essential Potential to Emit (PTE) Parameters

A.1. Capacity. The maximum hourly process rate shall not exceed 1 body per hour. The
maximum annual rate shall not exceed 4000 bodies.
[Rule 62-4.160(2), F.A.C.]

A.2. Hours of Operation. This emissions unit is allowed to operate continuously, i.e., 8,760

hours/year.
[Rules 62-4.160(2) and 62-210.200(PTE), F.A.C.]

Emission Limitations and Standaxds

A.3. Visible emissions shall not exceed 5 percent opacity, except that visible emissions not
exceeding 20 percent opacity are allowed for up to three minutes in any one hour period.
[Rule 62-296.401(1)(a), F.A.C.]

A.4. Particulate matter emissions shall not exceed 0.080 grains per dry standard cubic foot of
flue gas, corrected to 7 percent Oo.

[Rule 62-296.401(5), F.A.C.]

A.5. Carbon Monoxide (CO) emissions shall not exceed 100 parts per million by volume, dry
basis, corrected to 7 percent O on an hourly average basis. '

[Rule 62-296.401(5), F.A.C.]
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Test Methods and Procedures

A.6.a. Emissions tests are required to show compliance with the standards of the Department.
The test results must provide reasonable assurance that the source is capable of compliance at the
permitted maximum operating rate. Such tests shall be scheduled within 30 days after initial
operation. The Department shall be notified at least 15 days prior to testing to allow witnessing.
Results shall be submitted to the Department within 45 days after testing.

Pollutant Test Method
PM DEP method 5
VE DEP method 9
CO DEP method 10

Test procedures shall meet all applicable requirements of Chapter 62-297, F.A.C.

A.6.b. The test reports shall comply with applicable portions of Rule 62-297.310, F.A.C., Test
Reports. The Department can require special compliance tests in accordance with Rule 62-
297.310(7) E.A.C. Other test methods and alternate compliance procedures may be used only
after prior Departmental approval has been obtained in writing.

[Rules 62-297.310(7) and 62-297.620(1), F.A.C.]

A.6.c. Testing of emissions shall be conducted with the source operating at capacity. Capacity is
defined as 90-100% of rated capacity. If it is impractical to test at capacity, then sources may be
tested at less than capacity; in this case subsequent source operation is limited to 110% of the test
load until a new test is conducted. Once the unit is so limited, then operation at higher capacities
is allowed for no more than fifteen days for purposes of additional compliance testing to regain
the rated capacity in the permit, with prior notification to the Department.

[Rules 62-297.310(2) and 62-4.070, F.A.C.]

Training Requirements

A.7. All crematory operators shall be trained by the equipment manufacturer's representatives or
another qualified organization. Only operators trained by a Department-approved training
program shall be allowed to operate a human crematory.

a. The content of the training program shall be submitted to the Department for approval
through the permitting process. Construction permit applicants shall submit a training program
or reference a previously approved training program with the construction permit application.
The training shall provide a basic understanding of the principles of the combustion process,
provide instruction on the operation and maintenance of the crematory unit, and increase
awareness of regulatory requirements and safety concerns. Training programs shall be a
minimum of 8 hours of instruction. Training programs shall at a minimum include hands-on
experience involving startup, operation of at least one cremation, shut-down of the equipment,
and one full cycle of preventive maintenance actions. The Department shall approve training
programs which meet, at a minimum, the criteria applicable to cremation set forth in the EPA
Medical Waste Incinerator Operator Training Program Course Handbook, EPA 453/B-93-018,
and Instructor's Guide, EPA 453/B-93-019.
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b. A copy of the training certificate for each operator having satisfactorily completed the
Department-approved training program must be submitted to the Department within 15 days of
training. The owner of any new or modified crematory unit shall submit copies of the operator
training certificates within 15 days after completion of the initial compliance test pursuant to the
unit’s air construction permit. If a crematory unit is modified to the extent that a Department air
construction permit is required , the operators shall be retrained to operate the modified unit.

¢. ‘An operator's certificate must be kept on file at the facility for the duration of the
operator's employment and for an additional two years after termination of employment.

Recordkeeping and Reporting Requirements

A.8. Frequency of Compliance Tests. The following provisions apply only to those emissions
units that are subject to an emissions limiting standard for which compliance testing is required.
(a) General Compliance Testing.
2. For excess emission limitations for particulate matter specified in Rule 62-210.700,
F.A.C., a compliance test shall be conducted annually while the emissions unit is operating
under soot blowing conditions in each federal fiscal year during which soot blowing is part
of normal emissions unit operation, except that such test shall not be required in any federal
fiscal year in which a fossil fuel steam generator does not burn liquid fuel for more than 400
hours other than during startup.
3. The owner or operator of an emissions unit that is subject to any emission limiting
standard shall conduct a compliance test that demonstrates compliance with the applicable
emission limiting standard prior to obtaining a renewed operation permit. Emissions units
that are required to conduct an annual compliance test may submit the most recent annual
compliance test to satisfy the requirements of this provision. Inrenewing an air operation
permit pursuant to Rule 62-210.300(2)(a)3.b., c., or d., F.A.C., the Department shall not
require submission of emission compliance test results for any emissions unit that, during the
year prior to renewal:
a. Did not operate; or
b. In the case of a fuel burning emissions unit, burned liquid fuel for a total of no more
than 400 hours.
4. During each federal fiscal year (October 1 - September 30), unless otherwise specified by
rule, order, or permit, the owner or operator of each emissions unit shall have a formal
compliance test conducted for:
a. Visible emissions, if there is an applicable standard;
b. Each of the following pollutants, if there is an applicable standard, and if the
emissions unit emits or has the potential to emit: 5 tons per year or more of lead or lead
compounds measured as elemental lead; 30 tons per year or more of acrylomtrlle or 100
tons per year or more of any other regulated air pollutant; and,
c. Bach NESHAP pollutant, if there is an applicable emission standard.
5. An annual compliance test for particulate matter emissions shall not be required for any
fuel burning emissions unit that, in a federal fiscal year, does not burn liquid fuel, other than
during startup, for a total of more than 400 hours.
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9. The owner or operator shall notify the Department, at least 15 days prior to the date on
which each formal compliance test is to begin, of the date, time, and place of each such test,
and the test contact person who will be responsible for coordinating and having such test
conducted for the owner or operator.
(b) Special Compliance Tests. When the Department, after investigation, has good reason (such
as complaints, increased visible emissions or questionable maintenance of control equipment) to
believe that any applicable emission standard contained in a Department rule or in a permit
issued pursuant to those rules is being violated, it may require the owner or operator of the
emissions unit to conduct compliance tests which identify the nature and quantity of pollutant
emissions from the emissions unit and to provide a report on the results of said tests to the
Department.
(¢) Waiver of Compliance Test Requirements. If the owner or operator of an emissions unit that
is subject to a compliance test requirement demonstrates to the Department, pursuant to the
procedure established in Rule 62-297.620, F.A.C., that the compliance of the emissions unit with
an applicable weight emission limiting standard can be adequately determined by means other
than the designated test procedure, such as specifying a surrogate standard of no visible
emissions for particulate matter sources equipped with a bag house or specifying a fuel analysis
for sulfur dioxide emissions, the Department shall waive the compliance test requirements for
such emissions units and order that the alternate means of determining compliance be used,
provided, however, the provisions of Rule 62-297.310(7)(b), F.A.C., shall apply.
[Rule 62-297.310(7), F.A.C.; and, SIP approved]

A.9. The applicant shall retain a Professional Engineer, registered in the State of Florida, for the
inspection of this project. Upon completion, the engineer shall inspect for conformity to the
permit application and associated documents. An application for an operation permit shall be
submitted with the compliance test results and appropriate fee when applicable. These are to be
submitted with in 75 days of initial operation. The permittee shall obtain an operating permit for
this source before the expiration of the construction permit if the permittee desires to continue
operation.

[Rule 62-210.300, F.A.C.]



Permit No.: 0330054-001-AC
Appendix G-1

GENERAL CONDITIONS:

Page 1 of 2

1. The terms, conditions, requirements, limitations, and restrictions set forth in this permit are "permit
conditions", and are binding and enforceable pursuant to Sections 403.141, 403.727, or 403.859 through
403.861, Florida Statutes. The permittee is placed on notice that the Department will review this permit
periodically and may initiate enforcement action for any violation of these conditions.

2. This permit is valid only for the specific processes and operations applied for and indicated in the
approved drawings or exhibits. Any unauthorized deviation from the approved drawings, exhibits,
specifications, or conditions of this permit may constitute grounds for revocation and enforcement action by
the Department.

3. As provided in Subsections 403.087(6) and 403.722(5), Florida Statutes, the issuance of this permit does
not convey any vested rights or any exclusive privileges. Nor does it authorize any injury to public or
private property or any invasion of personal rights, nor any infringement of federal, state or local laws or
regulations. This permit does not constitute a waiver of or approval of any other Department permit that
may be required for other aspects of the total project which are not addressed in the permit.

4. This permit conveys no title to land or water, does not constitute state recognition or acknowledgment of
title, and does not constitute authority for the use of submerged lands unless herein provided and the
necessary title or leasehold interests have been obtained from the state. Only the Trustees of the Internal
Improvement Trust Fund may express state opinion as to title.

5. This permit does not relieve the permittee from liability for harm or injury to human health or welfare,
animal, or plant life, or property caused by the construction or operation of this permitted source, or from
penalties therefore; nor does it allow the permittee to cause pollution in contravention of Florida Statutes
and Department rules, unless specifically authorized by an order from the Department.

6. The permittee shall properly operate and maintain the facility and systems of treatment and control (and
related appurtenances) that are installed and used by the permittee to achieve compliance with the
conditions of this permit, are required by Department rules. This provision includes the operation of
backup or auxiliary facilities or similar systems when necessary to achieve compliance with the conditions
of the permit and when required by Department rules.

7. The permittee, by accepting this permit, specifically agrees to allow authorized Department personnel,
upon presentation of credentials or other documents as may be required by law, access to the premises, at
reasonable times, where the permitted activity is located or conducted for the purpose of:

a. Having access to and copying any records that must be kept under the conditions of this permit;

b. Inspecting the facility, equipment, practices, or operations regulated or required under this permit;
and, ’

c. Sampling or monitoring any substances or parameters at any location reasonably necessary to

assure compliance with this permit or Department rules.
Reasonable time may depend on the nature of the concern being investigated.

8. If, for any reason, the permittee does not comply with or will be unable to comply with any condition or
limitation specified in this permit, the permittee shall immediately provide the Department with the
following information:

a. A description of and cause of noncompliance; and

b. The period of noncompliance, including exact dates and times; or, if not corrected, the anticipated
time the noncompliance is expected to continue, and steps being taken to reduce, eliminate, and prevent

Permit No.: 0330054-001-AC
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recurrence of the noncompliance. The permittee shall be responsible for any and all damages which may
result and may be subject to enforcement action by the Department for penalties or for revocation of this
permit.

9. In accepting this permit, the permittee understands and agrees that all records, notes, monitoring data
and other information relating to the construction or operation of this permitted source which are submitted
to the Department may be used by the Department as evidence in any enforcement case involving the
permitted source arising under the Florida Statutes or Department rules, except where such use is proscribed
by Sections 403.73 and 403.111, Florida Statutes. Such evidence shall only be used to the extent it is
consistent with Florida Rules of Civil Procedure and appropriate evidentiary rules.

10. The permittee agrees to comply with changes in Department rules and Florida Statutes after a
reasonable time for compliance, provided however, the permittee does not waive any other rights granted by
Florida Statutes or Department rules.

11. This permit is transferable only upon Department approval in accordance with Florida Administrative
Code Rules 62-4.120 and 62-730.300, as applicable. The permittee shall be liable for any noncompliance
of the permitted activity until the transfer is approved by the Department.

12. This permit is required to be kept at the work site of the permitted activity during the entire period of
construction or operation.

13. The permittee shall comply with the following:

a. Upon request, the permittee shall furnish all records and plans required under Department rules.
During enforcement actions, the retention period for all records will be extended automatically unless
otherwise stipulated by the Department.

b. The permittee shall hold at the facility or other location designated by this permit records of all
monitoring information (including all calibration and maintenance records and all original strip chart
recordings for continuous monitoring instrumentation) required by the permit, copies of all reports required
by this permit, and records of all data used to complete the application for this permit. These materials shall
be retained at least three years from the date of the sample, measurement, report or application unless
otherwise specified by Department rule.

c. Records of monitoring information shall include:

- the date, exact place, and time of sampling or measurement;

- the person responsible for performing the sampling or
measurement;

- the date(s) analyses were performed;

- the person responsible for performing the analyses;

- the analytical techniques or methods used; and

- the results of such analyses.

14. When requested by the Department, the permittee shall within a reasonable time furnish any
information required by law which is needed to determine compliance with the permit. If the permittee
becomes aware the relevant facts were not submitted or were incorrect in the permit application or in any
report to the Department, such facts or information shall be corrected promptly.



MEMORANDUM

TO : Ed K. Middleswart, P.E.

FROM : Andy Allen, Tim Rosemore

DATE : 09/13/00

SUBJECT : Evaluation Summary for Crematory of Northwest Florida, 0330054-001-AC,
Escambia County

We recommend issuing a permit to Crematory of Northwest Florida to allow for the
construction of a second incinerator at this facility. The incinerator to be constructed is an
Industrial Equipment & Engineering Company Model IE43-PPII cremation incinerator fired on
either LP Gas or Natural Gas. The emissions generated from the cremation of human remains
are controlled by an afterburner which maintains a minimum secondary chamber temperature of
1600 degrees F.

This facility is regulated under Rule 62-210.300(1), F.A.C., Rule 62-210.300(4)(a)8., F.A.C., and
Rule 62-296.401(5),F.A.C.

Environmental Impact

CO — The test method for carbon monoxide shall be EPA Method 10, incorporated and adopted
by reference in Chapter 62-297, F.A.C. Carbon Monoxide (CO) emissions shall not exceed 100
parts per million by volume, dry basis, corrected to 7% O on an hourly average basis. Human

crematories may demonstrate compliance with the carbon monoxide emissions standards by

- submission of a test report for an identical (same make, model, and permitted capacity)
crematory unit operating in compliance with a valid Department air permit and tested pursuant to
that permit. The test data in the test report must be less than five years old and may or may not
be obtained from the unit that is being permitted.

PM - The test method for particulate emissions shall be EPA Method 5, incorporated and adopted
by reference in Chapter 62-297, F.A.C. The minimum sample volume shall be 30 dry standard
cubic feet. Particulate matter emissions shall not exceed 0.080 grains per dry standard cubic foot
of flue gas, corrected to 7% Op. Human crematories may demonstrate compliance with the

particulate emissions standards by submission of a test report for an identical (same make,
model, and permitted capacity) crematory unit operating in compliance with a valid Department
air permit and tested pursuant to that permit. The test data in the test report must be less than
five years old and may or may not be obtained from the unit that is being permitted.

VE - The test method for visible emissions shall be DEP Method 9, incorporated in Chapter
62-297, F.A.C. Visible emissions shall not exceed 5 percent opacity, except that visible
emissions not exceeding 20 percent opacity are allowed for up to three minutes in any one hour
period. (Rule 62-296.401(1)(a), F.A.C.)

Odor - The facility shall not cause, suffer, allow or permit the discharge of air pollutants which
cause or contribute to an objectionable odor. (Rules 62-296.320(2) and .401(1)(b), F.A.C.)

Continuous Fmissions Monitoring Requirements. Each human crematory shall install, operate,
and maintain continuous monitors to record temperature at the point or beyond where 1.0 second
gas residence time is obtained in the secondary chamber combustion zone in accordance with the



manufacturer's instructions. A complete file of all measurements, including continuous
monitoring system, monitoring device, and performance testing measurements; all continuous
monitoring system performance evaluations; all continuous monitoring system or monitoring
device calibration checks; and adjustments, preventive maintenance, and corrective maintenance
performed on these systems or devices, shall be recorded in a permanent legible form available
for inspection. Continuous temperature monitoring documentation shall include operator name,
operator indication of when cremation in the primary chamber begins, date, time, and
temperature markings. The file shall be retained for at least two years following the recording of
such measurements, maintenance, reports, and records.

Compliance History. Satisfactory
Fee Summary: Fee of $250 for an AC/1F (source less than 5 tpy) is correct.

TAR:trc



