FINAL AIR OPERATION PERMIT

August 16, 2017
CERTFIED MAIL: 7013 2630 0001 4586 5580
RETURN RECEIPT REQUESTED
PERMITTEE
	United States Department of Agriculture (USDA)
Animal and Plant Health Inspection Services (APHIS)
P.O. Box 660657 

Miami Springs, FL 33266
Authorized Representative:
Dr. Kathleen E. Turner, Director

	Air Permit No. 0250390-013-AO
Air Operation Permit

USDA-APHIS
Miami-Dade County, Florida


PROJECT

This is the final air operation permit, which authorizes the operation of the USDA-APHIS-Miami Animal Import Center (MAIC) facility. The facility engages in the incineration of biological waste and occasional animal cremations.  (Standard Industrial Classification No. 9641 - Regulation of Agricultural Marketing and Commodities and SIC Code 4953 - Refuse Systems; NAICS Code Nos. 562213 & 92614 - Solid Waste Combustors and Incinerators).  This project is for the renewal of the facility’s air operation permit. The facility is located in Miami-Dade County at 6300 NW 36 Street, Miami, Florida. The Lat./Long. are: 25( 48' 24" N / 80( 17' 48" W. The UTM coordinates are Zone 17R; 570.50 km E; 2854.46 km N.  

This final permit is organized into the following sections:  Section 1 (General Information); Section 2 (Administrative Requirements); Section 3 (Emissions Unit Specific Conditions); and Section 4 (Appendices).  Because of the technical nature of the project, the permit contains numerous acronyms and abbreviations, which are defined in Appendix A of Section 4 of this permit.
Permitting Authority:  Applications for air operation permits are subject to review in accordance with the provisions of Chapter 403, Florida Statutes (F.S.) and Chapters 62-4 and 62-210 of the Florida Administrative Code (F.A.C.), and Chapter 24, Code of Miami-Dade County. The Permitting Authority responsible for making a permit determination for this project is the Miami-Dade County Department of Regulatory and Economic Resources (RER), Division of Environmental Resources Management.  The RER’s physical address is:  701 NW 1 Court, Suite 200, Miami, Florida 33136.  The RER’s mailing address is: 701 NW 1 Court, Suite 400, Miami, Florida 33136. The RER’s telephone number is 305-372-6925. 
Petitions.  A person whose substantial interests are affected by the proposed decision may petition for an administrative hearing in accordance with Sections 120.569 and 120.57, F.S.  The petition must contain the information set forth below and must be filed (received) in the RER, Division of Environmental Resources Management, Air Quality Management at 701 NW 1 Court, Suite 400, Miami, Florida 33136 (Telephone: 305-372-6925). Petitions filed by the applicant or any of the parties listed below must be filed within 14 days of receipt of this notice.  Petitions filed by any other person must be filed within 14 days of receipt of this proposed action.  A petitioner must mail a copy of the petition to the applicant at the address indicated above, at the time of filing.  The failure of any person to file a petition within the appropriate time period shall constitute a waiver of that person’s right to request an administrative determination (hearing) under Sections 120.569 and 120.57, F.S., or to intervene in this proceeding and participate as a party to it.  Any subsequent intervention will be only at the approval of the presiding officer upon the filing of a motion in compliance with Rule 28-106.205, F.A.C.
A petition that disputes the material facts on which the RER’s action is based must contain the following information:  (a) The name and address of each agency affected and each agency’s file or identification number, if known; (b) The name, address, any email address, telephone number and any facsimile number of the petitioner; the name, address, any email address, telephone number and any facsimile number of the petitioner’s representative, if any, which shall be the address for service purposes during the course of the proceeding; and an explanation of how the petitioner’s substantial interests will be affected by the agency determination; (c) A statement of how and when each petitioner received notice of the agency action or proposed action; (d) A statement of all disputed issues of material fact.  If there are none, the petition must so indicate; (e) A concise statement of the ultimate facts alleged, as well as the rules and statutes which entitle the petitioner to relief; (f) A statement of the specific rules or statutes the petitioner contends require reversal or modification of the agency’s proposed action; and, (g) A statement of the relief sought by the petitioner, stating precisely the action petitioner wishes the agency to take with respect to the agency’s proposed action.  A petition that does not dispute the material facts upon which the RER’s action is based shall state that no such facts are in dispute and otherwise shall contain the same information as set forth above, as required by Rule 28-106.301, F.A.C.
Because the administrative hearing process is designed to formulate final agency action, the filing of a petition means that the RER’s final action may be different from the position taken by it in this notice. Persons whose substantial interests will be affected by any such final decision of the RER on the application have the right to petition to become a party to the proceeding, in accordance with the requirements set forth above.
Mediation:  Mediation is not available in this proceeding.
Effective Date:  This permitting decision is final and effective on the date filed with the clerk of the RER unless a petition is filed in accordance with the above paragraphs or unless a request for extension of time in which to file a petition is filed within the time specified for filing a petition pursuant to Rule 62-110.106, F.A.C., and the petition conforms to the content requirements of Rules 28-106.201 and 28-106.301, F.A.C.  Upon timely filing of a petition or a request for extension of time, this action will not be effective until further order of the RER.
Judicial Review:  Any party to this permitting decision (order) has the right to seek judicial review of it under Section 120.68, F.S., by filing a notice of appeal under Rule 9.110 of the Florida Rules of Appellate Procedure with the clerk of the Miami-Dade County Department of Regulatory and Economic Resources (RER), Division of Environmental Resources Management, Air Quality Management, 701 NW 1 Court, Suite 400, Miami, Florida 33136, and by filing a copy of the notice of appeal accompanied by the applicable filing fees with the appropriate District Court of Appeal.  The notice must be filed within 30 days after this order is filed with the clerk of the Department. 
0250390-013-AO Effective Date: August 16, 2017
Renewal Application Due Date: April 1, 2022 
Expiration Date: May 31, 2022
Executed in Miami, Florida

_________________________________________________


Bernardo Bieler, P.E., Chief
Date


Air Quality Management 

Division of Environmental Resources Management

Department of Regulatory & Economic Resources


Miami-Dade County 
CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

The undersigned duly designated deputy agency clerk hereby certifies that this Air Permit package was sent by electronic mail, or a link to these documents made available electronically on a publicly accessible server, with received receipt requested before the close of business on the date indicated below to the following persons.

Dr. Kathleen E. Turner, USDA-APHIS [kathleen.e.turner@aphis.usda.gov]
Ms. Diane Pupa, Florida Department of Environmental Protection, Southeast District Office
[Diane.Pupa@dep.state.fl.us]
Mr. Jason Andreotta, Florida Department of Environmental Protection, Southeast District Office [Jason.Andreotta@dep.state.fl.us]
FILING AND ACKNOWLEDGMENT FILED, on this date, 
pursuant to Section 120.52(7), Florida Statutes, with the 
designated agency clerk, receipt of which is hereby
acknowledged.
_____________________________
________________


Clerk

Date

Facility Description
The USDA Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service (APHIS) – Miami Import Center is an existing facility that engages in the incineration of biological waste and occasional animal cremations. It currently operates two (2) incinerators. This facility is classified as a Synthetic Minor, Non-Title V, source of air pollution. 
The existing facility consists of the following emissions units (EU).
	Emissions Unit No.
	Emissions Unit Description



	004


	One (1) EPA Technologies Biological Waste Incinerator at the 
Plant Produce Quarantine Facility (PPQ)

	005
	One (1) EPA Technologies Biological Waste Incinerator at the

Veterinary Services Facility (VS)



APPLICABLE REGULATIONS
A summary of applicable regulations is shown in the following table.
	Regulation 
	EU No(s)

	State Rule Citations
	      

	Rule 62-4.070, F.A.C.,  Standards for Issuing or Denying Permits; Issuance; Denial
	004, 005 

	Rule 62-4.080, F.A.C., Modification of Permit Conditions
	004, 005

	Rule 62-4.090, F.A.C., Renewals
	004, 005

	Rule 62-210.200, F.A.C., Stationary Sources - Definitions
	004, 005

	Rule 62-210.300, F.A.C., Stationary Sources - Permits Required
	004, 005

	Rule 62-210.370, F.A.C., Emissions Computation and Reporting
	004, 005

	Rule 62-296.320, F.A.C., General Pollutant Emission Limiting Standards
	004, 005

	Rule 62-296.401, F.A.C., Stationary Sources - Emission Standards
	004, 005

	Rule 62-297.310, F.A.C., General Emissions Test Requirements.
	004, 005

	Miami-Dade County Code
	

	Chapter 24
	004, 005


FACILITY REGULATORY CLASSIFICATION
· The facility is not a major source of hazardous air pollutants (HAP).

· The facility does not operate units subject to the acid rain provisions of the Clean Air Act (CAA).

· The facility is not a Title V major source of air pollution in accordance with Chapter 62-213, F.A.C.

· The facility is not a major stationary source in accordance with Rule 62-212.400, F.A.C. for the Prevention of Significant Deterioration (PSD) of Air Quality.
· The facility is a Synthetic Minor, non-Title V, source of air pollution.
1. Permitting Authority:  The permitting authority for this project is the Miami-Dade County Regulatory and Economic Resources (RER), Division of Environmental Resources Management, Air Quality Management. The RER’s mailing address is 701 NW 1 Court, Suite 400, Miami, Florida  33136. All documents related to applications for permits to operate an emissions unit shall be submitted to the RER.
2. Compliance Authority:  All documents related to compliance activities such as reports, tests, and notifications shall be submitted to the Miami-Dade County Regulatory and Economic Resources (RER), Division of Environmental Resources Management, Air Quality Management at:  701 NW 1 Court, Suite 200, Miami, Florida  33136.  
3. Appendices:  The following Appendices are attached as a part of this permit:  Appendix A (Citation Formats and Glossary of Common Terms); Appendix B (General Conditions); Appendix C (Common Conditions); and Appendix D (Common Testing Requirements – if applicable).
4. Applicable Regulations, Forms and Application Procedures:  Unless otherwise specified in this permit, the construction and operation of the subject emissions units shall be in accordance with the capacities and specifications stated in the application.  The facility is subject to all applicable provisions of: Chapter 403, F.S.; and Chapters 62-4, 62-204, 62-210, 62-212, 62-213, 62-296, 62-297, F.A.C., and Chapter 24, Code of Miami-Dade County. Issuance of this permit does not relieve the permittee from compliance with any applicable federal, state, or local permitting or regulations.
5. New or Additional Conditions:  For good cause shown and after notice and an administrative hearing, if requested, the RER or Florida Department of Environmental Protection (FDEP) may require the permittee to conform to new or additional conditions.  The RER or FDEP shall allow the permittee a reasonable time to conform to the new or additional conditions, and on application of the permittee, the RER or FDEP may grant additional time.  
[Rule 62-4.080, F.A.C.]
6. Modifications:  No new emissions unit shall be constructed and no existing emissions unit shall be modified without obtaining an air construction permit from the RER.  Such permit shall be obtained prior to beginning construction or modification.  
[Rules 62-210.300(1) and 62-212.300(1)(a), F.A.C.]
7. Source Obligation:

(a)
At such time that a particular source or modification becomes a major stationary source or major modification (as these terms were defined at the time the source obtained the enforceable limitation) solely by virtue of a relaxation in any enforceable limitation which was established after August 7, 1980, on the capacity of the source or modification otherwise to emit a pollutant, such as a restriction on hours of operation, then the requirements of subsections 62-212.400(4) through (12), F.A.C., shall apply to the source or modification as though construction had not yet commenced on the source or modification.

(b)
At such time that a particular source or modification becomes a major stationary source or major modification (as these terms were defined at the time the source obtained the enforceable limitation) solely by exceeding its projected actual emissions, then the requirements of subsections 62-212.400(4) through (12), F.A.C., shall apply to the source or modification as though construction had not yet commenced on the source or modification.
[Rule 62-212.400(12), F.A.C.]
8. Renewal:  Prior to 60 days before the expiration date of this permit, the permittee shall apply for a renewal of the permit.  A renewal application shall be timely and sufficient.  If the application is submitted prior to 60 days before expiration of the permit, it will be considered timely and sufficient.  If the renewal application is submitted at a later date, it will not be considered timely and sufficient unless it is submitted and made complete prior to the expiration of the operation permit.  When the application for renewal is timely and sufficient, the existing permit shall remain in effect until the renewal application has been finally acted upon by the RER.  
[Rule 62-4.090, F.A.C.]
9. County Permit Renewal:  A request for renewal of the Miami-Dade County annual air operating permit must be submitted annually to the RER Air Quality Management Division on the appropriate form, by May 31st of each calendar year, along with the appropriate Miami-Dade County permit fee.

      [Chapter 24-18, Code of Miami-Dade County]

10. Annual Operating Report (AOR):  The information required by the Annual Operating Report for Air Pollutant Emitting Facility (DEP Form No. 62-210.900(5)) shall be submitted by April 1 of each year, for the previous calendar year, to the Department of Environmental Protection’s (DEP) District Office or the Miami-Dade County, RER, Air Quality management Division Office unless the annual operating report is submitted using the DEP’s electronic annual operating report software.  Emissions shall be computed in accordance with the provisions of subsection 62-210.370(2), F.A.C.  
[Rule 62-210.370(3), F.A.C.]

{Permitting Note:  Resources to help you complete your AOR are available on the electronic AOR (EAOR) website at:  http://www.dep.state.fl.us/air/emission/eaor.  If you have questions or need assistance after reviewing the information posted on the EAOR website, please contact the Department by phone at (850) 717-9000 or email at eaor@dep.state.fl.us.}
11. Waste Disposal:  The owner or operator shall treat, store, and dispose of all liquid, solid and hazardous wastes in accordance with all applicable Federal, State and Local regulations.
12. Other Permits:  This air pollution permit does not preclude the owner or operator from obtaining any other types of required permits, licenses or certifications from the RER or other departments or agencies.
This section of the permit addresses the following emissions unit.
	Emissions Unit No.
	Emissions Unit Description



	004

	One (1) EPA Technologies Biological Waste Incinerator (PPQ Facility)
Model No. EPAT-3.0     Maximum Charge Rate: 500 lb/hr     Fuel: Natural Gas     



	005
	One (1) EPA Technologies Biological Waste Incinerator (VS Facility)
Model No. EPAT-3.0     Maximum Charge Rate: 500 lb/hr     Fuel: Natural Gas     




Performance Restrictions
1.
Operating Rate Restriction: The incinerator operating rate shall not exceed 500 pounds per batch incineration cycle of one (1) hour.


[Rule 62-4.070(3) F.A.C.; Permit No. 0250390-010-AC]

2.
Hours of Operation: The combined total hours of operation of units EU #004 and EU#005 shall not exceed 6,300 hrs/year.


[Rule 62-4.070(3) F.A.C.; Permit No. 0250390-010-AC]
3.
Incinerator Design/Operating Requirements: All biological waste incineration units, shall be constructed and operated with a combustion zone design temperature of no less than 1800 degrees Fahrenheit for at least a 1.0 second gas residence time in the secondary (or last) combustion chamber. The primary chamber and stack volumes shall not be utilized in calculating this residence time. 


[Rule 62-296.401(4)(c)1 F.A.C.; Permit No. 0250390-010-AC]

4.
Mechanically Fed Incinerator Requirements:  Mechanically fed units shall incorporate an air lock system to prevent opening the incinerator to the room environment.  The volume of the loading system shall be designed to prevent overcharging, thereby assuring complete combustion of the waste.


[Rule 62-296.401(4)(c)2 F.A.C.; Permit No. 0250390-010-AC]
5.
Incinerator Ignition Requirements:  Incineration or ignition of waste shall not begin until the secondary (or last) combustion chamber temperature requirement is attained.  All air pollution control and continuous emission monitoring equipment shall be operational and functioning properly prior to the incineration or ignition of waste and until all the wastes are incinerated.  The secondary (or last) combustion chamber temperature requirement (1600(F) shall be maintained until the wastes are completely combusted.


[Rule 62-296.401(4)(c)3 F.A.C.; Permit No. 0250390-010-AC]

6.
Radioactive Waste Restrictions:  The owner or operator is advised to contact the State of Florida Department of Health regarding requirements that may apply to any proposed burning of radioactive waste.


[Rule 62-296.401(4)(c)4 F.A.C.; Permit No. 0250390-010-AC]

7.
Hazardous Waste Restrictions:  The owner or operator is advised to contact the State of Florida Division of Waste Management regarding requirements that may apply to any proposed burning of hazardous waste.


[Rule 62-296.401(4)(c)5 F.A.C.; Permit No. 0250390-010-AC]
8.  
Fuel Restrictions: Fuel used shall be limited to natural gas.


[Rule 62-4.070(3) F.A.C.; Permit No. 0250390-010-AC]
9.
Operation of Emissions Unit No. 005: The owner or operator shall not operate EU 005 except for the purpose of conducting PM testing. Once the unit can demonstrate compliance with the PM emission standard, the owner or operator shall apply for and receive an air operation permit revision to authorize regular operation of EU 005.

[Rule 62-4.070(3) F.A.C.]
Emissions Standards
10. Visible Emissions: Visible emissions shall not exceed five percent (5%) opacity, six (6) minute average, except that visible emissions not exceeding fifteen (15%) percent opacity shall be allowed for up to six (6) minutes in any one (1) hour period. 
[Rule 62-296.401(4)(b)1 F.A.C.; Permit No. 0250390-010-AC]
11. 
Hydrochloric Acid Emissions:  Hydrochloric Acid (HCl) emissions shall not exceed 3.0 pounds per hour.PERIOD 


[Rule 62-4.070(3) F.A.C.; Permit No. 0250390-010-AC]

12.
Carbon Monoxide Emissions:  Carbon Monoxide (CO) emissions shall not exceed 100 parts per million by volume, dry basis, corrected to 7% O2 on an hourly average basis.PERIOD 


[Rule 62-296.401(4)(b)5 F.A.C.; Permit No. 0250390-010-AC]

13.
Particulate Matter Emissions:  Particulate Matter emissions shall not exceed 0.100 grains per dry standard cubic foot of flue gas, corrected to 7% O2.PERIOD 


[Rule 62-296.401(4)(b)(2)a F.A.C.; Permit No. 0250390-010-AC]TIME PERIODS BELOW SHOULD BE ONE OF: consecutive 12-month period, consecutive 365-day period, month, day -- DO NOT USE year!
TESTING REQUIREMENTS  EACH 1.0 ITEM MUST HAVE A CORRESPONDING 2.0 AND/OR 3.0 REQUIREMENT THAT IS PRACTICALLY ENFORCEABLE
14.
Testing Procedures: Test procedures shall conform to the procedures specified in Rule 62-297.310, F.A.C.  All test results shall be reported to the RER in accordance with the provisions of Rule 62-297.310, F.A.C.  

             [Rule 62-296.401(4)(d)6 & 62-4.070(3) F.A.C.; Permit No. 0250390-010-AC]

15.
Visible Emissions Testing: The owner or operator of any biological waste incineration unit with capacity equal to or less than 500 lbs/hr shall have a performance test conducted for visible emissions prior to submitting the application for an initial operation permit and annually thereafter.  The test method for visible emissions shall be EPA Method 9 as described in 40 CFR 60 Appendix A, adopted and incorporated by reference in Rule 62-204.800 F.A.C.

      [Rules 62-296.401(4)(e)1a; 62-296.401(4)(d)1 F.A.C.; Permit No. 0250390-010-AC]

16. Particulate Matter Emissions Testing: The owner or operator of any biological waste incineration unit with capacity equal to or less than 500 lbs/hr shall have a performance test conducted for particulate matter annually. The reference test method for particulate matter emissions shall be EPA Method 5 or 26A, as described in 40 CFR 60 Appendix A, adopted and incorporated by reference in Rule 62-204.800 F.A.C. The minimum sample volume shall be thirty (30) dry standard cubic feet.  

            
[Rules 62-296.401(4)(d)4, & 62-296.401(4)(e)1b F.A.C.; Rule 62-4.070(3) F.A.C.; Permit No. 0250390-010-AC]
17. Hydrochloric Acid Emissions Testing: The owner or operator of any biological waste incineration unit with capacity equal to or less than 500 lbs/hr shall have a performance test conducted for hydrochloric acid emissions prior to submitting the application for an initial or renewal of the air operation permit. The test method for hydrochloric acid emissions shall be EPA Method 26 or 26A, as described in 40 CFR 60 Appendix A, adopted and incorporated by reference in Rule 62-204.800 F.A.C. 

      [Rules 62-296.401(4)(e)1b & 62-296.401(4)(d)5 F.A.C.; Permit No. 0250390-010-AC]

18.
Carbon Monoxide Emissions Testing: The owner or operator of any biological waste incineration unit with capacity equal to or less than 500 lbs/hr shall have a performance test conducted for carbon monoxide prior to submitting the application for an initial or renewal of the air operation permit.  The test method for carbon monoxide emissions shall be EPA Method 10, as described in 40 CFR 60 Appendix A, adopted and incorporated by reference in Rule 62-204.800 F.A.C.     


[Rule 62-297.310(7)(a)3 F.A.C.; Permit No. 0250390-010-AC]

19. Equipment Accuracy:  Equipment or instruments used to directly or indirectly determine process variables, including devices such as scales and temperature recorders, shall be calibrated and adjusted to indicate the true value of the parameter being measured with sufficient accuracy to allow the applicable process variable to be determined within 10% of its true value.

            
[Rules 62-297.310(5)(b) F.A.C.; Permit No. 0250390-010-AC]

Records and Reports


20.
Operator Certification: Each operator of the unit shall successfully complete a training program meeting the requirements of 40 CFR 60.53c(c) and the annual refresher training course requirements of 40 CFR 60.53c(f), adopted and incorporated by reference at Rule 62-204.800, F.A.C.
a. If the incinerator is modified to the extent that a State of Florida construction permit is required, the operators shall be retrained to operate the modified incinerator.

b. An operator’s training certificate must be kept on file at the facility for the duration of the operator’s employment and for an additional two (2) years after termination of employment. The owner shall not allow the incinerator to be operated unless it is operated by an operator who has satisfactorily completed the required training program.


[Rule 62-296.401(4)(c)6 F.A.C.; Permit No. 0250390-010-AC]

21.
Continuous Emissions Monitoring Requirements:  Each incinerator unit shall be equipped and operated with a continuous monitor to record temperature at the point or beyond where 1.0 second gas residence time is obtained in the secondary chamber combustion zone in accordance with the manufacturer’s instructions. 


[Rule 62-4.070(3) F.A.C.; Permit No. 0250390-010-AC]

22.
Operations and Maintenance Log:  A daily operations and maintenance log shall be kept by the operators showing the following information.  This log shall be retained for at least three (3) years and made available upon request.


· Date

· Name of the operator

· Type of material incinerated

· Time the combustion of waste in the primary chamber began, and number of hours taken for incineration

· Temperature of the secondary chamber when incinerator is in operation 

· Any maintenance performed; indicate when, what, why, and by whom it was performed

· Weight (as weighed on scale) of materials placed in the primary chamber


[Rule 62-4.070(3) F.A.C.; Permit No. 0250390-010-AC]

23.
Timekeeping: A log shall be kept with the number of hours the incinerator units operate daily, and monthly.  This log shall be retained for at least three (3) years and made available upon request.


[Rule 62-4.070(3) F.A.C.; Permit No. 0250390-010-AC] 
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