Permittee:
Facility Number: 0090205 

Port Canaveral Terminal Services, Inc.
Permit Number: 0090205-003-AO

245 Challenger Road

Expiration Date: July 30, 2012

Cape Canaveral, Florida 32920
County: Brevard 


Latitude/Longitude:


Attention: Brian Hulbert, Director
28° 24' 08"N/80° 36' 40"W

       
Project: Aggregate Handling Facility 



This permit is issued under the provisions of Chapter(s) 403, Florida Statutes, and Florida Administrative Code Rule(s) 62-210.  The above named permittee is hereby authorized to perform the work or operate the facility shown on the application and approved drawing(s), plans, and other documents attached hereto or on file with the department and made a part hereof and specifically described as follows:

The permittee may operate an aggregate handling facility.  The facility stores coarse aggregate that will be received from ships in port.  The method of unloading  depends on the type of ship.  A series of conveyors transfer the material from the main conveyor feed hopper to one of three radial stacking conveyors through enclosed chute work.  Each radial stacker feeds a stockpile.  The material is later removed from the piles by front-end loaders and loaded into trucks.

This facility is located at Discovery Road (near the intersection of Marlin Street and George King Boulevard), Port Canaveral, Brevard County, Florida.
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OPERATING CONDITIONS
 1.
These sources are permitted to operate continually.

      [Rule 62-210.200, (PTE), F.A.C. and construction permit 0090205-001-AC]

 2.
The permitted facility conveyance rate for aggregate material is 3,700,000 tons per consecutive twelve-month period.


[Rule 62-210.200, (PTE), F.A.C. and construction permit 0090205-001-AC]

 3.
All reasonable precautions shall be taken to prevent emissions of unconfined particulate matter.  Reasonable precautions shall include, but not to be limited to, the following [Rule 62-296.320(4)(c), F.A.C.]:

a)
Application of water when necessary to control emissions.

b)
Removal of particulate matter from roads and other paved areas under control of the owner or operator to prevent reentrainment, and from buildings or work areas to prevent particulate from becoming airborne.

c)    Enclosure or covering of conveyor systems.

 4.
No person shall circumvent any pollution control device or allow the emissions of air pollutants without the applicable air pollution control device operating properly.

      [Rule 62-210.650, F.A.C.]

EMISSION LIMITS

 5. 
The visible emission limitation for each emission unit which emits particulates must comply with Rule 62‑296.320(4)(b)1., F.A.C. (limited to less than 20% opacity).

COMPLIANCE
 6.
Each emission source shall be tested for visible emissions in accordance with EPA Method 9 at least 90 days prior to the permit expiration date.

[Rule 62-296.320(4)(b)4.a., F.A.C.] 

 7.  
Each emission source shall be tested by a certified observer in accordance with EPA Method 9 for a minimum of 30 minutes. 

      [Rule 62-297.310(4)(a)2., F.A.C.] 

 8.
The owner or operator shall notify the air compliance section of this office, at least 15 days prior to the date on which each formal compliance test is  to begin, of the date, time, and place of each such test, and the test contact person who will be responsible for coordinating and having such test conducted for the owner or operator.

      [Rule 62-297.310(7)(a)9., F.A.C.]

 9.
Testing of emissions shall be conducted with the emissions unit operation at permitted capacity.  The maximum operation rates for ship unloading and truck loading are 2,500 tons per hour and 1,500 tons per hour of aggregate material, respectively.  Permitted capacity is defined as 90 to 100 percent of the maximum operation rate allowed by the permit. If it is impractical to test at permitted capacity, an emissions unit may be tested at less than the minimum permitted capacity; in this case, subsequent emissions unit operation is limited to 110 percent of the test load until a new test is conducted. Once the unit is so limited, operation at higher capacities is allowed for no more than 15 consecutive days for the purpose of additional compliance testing to regain the authority to operate at the permitted capacity.

      [Rule 62-297.310(2), F.A.C.]

10.
One copy of the required test report (compliance test) shall be filed with the air compliance section of this office as soon as practical but no later than 45 days after the last test is completed.

      [Rule 62-297.310(8)(b), F.A.C.]

PERMIT APPLICATION
11.
At least sixty days prior to the expiration date of this permit, the permittee shall submit to this office four air permit applications, DEP Form No. 62-210.900(4), along with the processing fee established in Rule 62-4.050(4), F.A.C. 


[Rule 62-4.090, F.A.C.]



STATE OF FLORIDA DEPARTMENT




OF ENVIRONMENTAL PROTECTION


James N. Bradner, P.E.


Program Administrator




Air Resources Management




Issued: 



