
Permittee:
Facilty Number:  0090187


Permit Number:  0090187-002-AO

Palmas Printing, Inc.
Expiration Date:  September 30, 2005
 c/o George Schmitt & Co.
County:  Brevard

750 East Main Street
Latitude/Longitude:

Branford, CT  06405
28°06’28”N/80°41’32”W



UTM:  17-529.93 KmE; 3109.01 KmN

Attention: J. Robert Gunther, President
Project: Ten-Station Printing Press

This permit is issued under the provisions of Chapter(s) 403, Florida Statutes, and Florida Administrative Code (F.A.C.) Rule(s) 62-210.  The above named permittee is hereby authorized to perform the work or operate the facility shown on the application and approved drawing(s), plans, and other documents attached hereto or on file with the department and made a part hereof and specifically described as follows:

The permittee may operate a ten-station printing press.  Up to eight stations may be flexographic printing units, and two may be Gravure, letterpress, or silk screen.  The press has a maximum printing speed of 525 feet per minute with a printing width of 13 inches.  All drying is performed by electric hot air dryers.

This facility is classified as a synthetic non-Title V source and is located at 3970 Dow Road, Melbourne, Brevard County, Florida.

General Conditions, which are pages 2 and 3, are mailed to the permittee.
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 Operating Conditions

1.
The hours of operation are not limited. [Rule 62-210.200, F.A.C., (PTE)]

2.
No person shall store, pump, handle, process, load, unload or use in any process or installation, volatile organic compounds (VOCs) or organic solvents without applying known and existing vapor emission control devices or systems deemed necessary and ordered by the Department  [Rule 62-296.320(1)(a), F.A.C.]  To comply, procedures to minimize pollutant emissions should include but not be limited to the following:

a)
tightly cover or close all VOC containers when they are not in use,

b)
tightly cover, where possible, all open troughs, basins, baths, tanks, etc. when they are not in use,

c)
maintain all piping, valves, fittings, etc. in good operating condition, 

d)
prevent excessive air turbulence across exposed VOCs,

e)
immediately confine and clean up VOC spills and make sure certain wastes are placed in closed containers for reuse, recycling or proper disposal, and

f)
maintain a monthly accounting of each VOC and HAP based on beginning and ending inventories, deliveries, shipments, etc.

3.
Emission units must be properly operated and maintained by qualified personnel  [Rule 62-210.300(2)(a)2., F.A.C.]

4.
The permittee shall not cause, suffer, allow or permit the discharge of air pollutants which cause or contribute to an objectionable odor.

 
[Rule 62‑296.320(2), F.A.C.]

Emission Limits

5.
For the facility, VOC emissions are limited to less than 46.0 tons per consecutive 12 months.  Additionally, combined hazardous air pollutant (HAP) emissions are limited to less than 25.0 tons per consecutive 12 months, and any single HAP emission is limited to less than 10.0 tons per consecutive 12 months.  


[Rule 62-210.200 (PTE), F.A.C. and construction permit application]

6.
The visible emissions for each source are limited to less than 20% opacity.


[Rule 62-296.320(4)(b)1., F.A.C.]

      Compliance Testing

7.
Each emission unit must be tested for visible emissions in accordance with DEP Method 9 for 30 minutes or the length of the batch/cycle within 30 days after being placed in operation.  [Rule 62-297.310(4)(a)2., F.A.C.]

8.
At least 15 days prior to the date on which each formal compliance test is due to begin, the permittee shall provide written notification of the test to the air compliance section of this office.  The notification must include the following information:  the date, time and location of each test; the name and telephone number of the facility's contact person who will be responsible for coordinating the test;  and the name, company, and telephone number of the person conducting the test.

 
[Rule 62-297.310(7)(a)9, F.A.C.]

9.
The maximum operating rate is 150 pound of ink per hour for compliance testing. Testing of emissions shall be conducted with the emissions unit operation at permitted capacity.  Permitted capacity is defined as 90 to 100 percent of the maximum permitted operation rate.  If it is impractical to test at permitted capacity, an emissions unit may be tested at less than the minimum permitted capacity;  in this case, subsequent emissions unit operation is limited to 110 percent of the test load until a new test is conducted.  Once the unit is so limited, operation at higher capacities is allowed for no more than 15 consecutive days for the purpose of additional compliance testing to regain the authority to operate at the permitted capacity.  [Rule 62‑297.310(2), F.A.C.]

10.
Reports of the required compliance tests shall be filed with the air compliance section of this office as soon as practical, but no later than 45 days after the last test is completed [Rule 62-297.310(8)(b), F.A.C.]

   Recordkeeping and Document Submittal
11.
Pursuant to Rule 62-4.070(3), F.A.C. and 40 CFR 63, Subpart KK, a monthly log shall be kept for this facility to document compliance with the limitations of specific condition no. 5.  The log shall be completed by the end of the following month and retained on file at the facility for at least 3 years.  At a minimum, the monthly log shall quantify the consecutive twelve month period total of the masses of HAP containing materials used; the mass fraction of HAP present in each HAP containing material; and the emissions from VOCs, total combined HAPs, and each individual HAP.

Documentation of each chemical reclaimed will use a mass balance method to determine usage/emissions (amount used minus amount collected for disposal or recycle.)  Supporting documentation (chemical usage tracking logs, MSDS sheets, purchase orders, EPA "As Supplied” data sheets, EPA Method 24, etc.) shall be kept for each chemical and associated products which includes sufficient information to determine usage rates and emissions.  These records shall be made available to the Department upon request.

12.
The owner or operator shall complete DEP Form No. 62-210.900(5), F.A.C. “Annual Operating Report for Air Pollutant Emitting Facility”, including the Emissions Report, for each calendar year and submit to the air compliance section of this office on or before March 1 of the following year. [Rule 62‑210.370(3), F.A.C.]

Permit Application
13.
At least sixty days prior to the expiration date of this permit, the permittee shall submit to this office four air permit applications, DEP form No. 62-210.900(3), along with the processing fee established in Rule 62-4.050(4), F.A.C. [Rule 62-4.090(1), F.A.C.]




STATE OF FLORIDA DEPARTMENT




OF ENVIRONMENTAL PROTECTION




__________________________       


L.T. Kozlov, P.E.



Program Administrator




Air Resources Management




Issued: 



