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NOTICE OF PERMIT 

ELECTRONIC MAIL 
David. Williams@hydro. com 

Hydro Aluminum Rockledge 
100 Gus Hipp Boulevard 
Rockledge, Florida 32955 

Attention: David Williams, Plant Manager 

Brevard County - AP 
Initial FESOP 
Aluminum Products Facility 

Dear Mr. Williams: 

Enclosed is Permit Number 0090078-004-AF to operate the above 
referenced source issued pursuant to Section(s) 403.087, Florida 
Statutes. 

Any party to the Order has the right to seek judicial review of the 
Order pursuant to Section 120.68, Florida Statutes, by the filing of a 
Notice of Appeal pursuant to Rule 9.110, Florida Rules of Appellate 
Procedure, with the Clerk of the Department in the Office of General 
Counsel, 3900 Commonwealth Boulevard, Mail Station 35, Tallahassee, 
Florida 32399-3000; and by filing a copy of the Notice of Appeal 
accompanied by the applicable filing fees with the appropriate District 
Court of Appeal. The Notice of Appeal must be filed within 30 days from 
the date the Final Order is filed with the Clerk of the Department. 

Executed in Orlando, Florida. 

STATE OF FLORIDA DEPA-E~T 

Date: Z-Tq- & 
"More  Protection, Less Process" 

Printed on recycled paper. 



F i l e d ,  on t h i s  da te ,  p u r s u a n t  t o  S e c t i o n  1 2 0 . 5 2 ,  F l o r i d a  S t a t u t e s ,  
w i t h  t h e  d e s i g n a t e d  D e p a r t m e n t  C l e r k ,  r ece ip t  o f  w h i c h  i s  h e r e b y  
a c k n o w l e d g e d .  

C l e r k  ~ a k e  ' 

C c :  G r a c y  D a n o i s ,  EPA, R e g i o n  4 ,  (Danois. Gracy@epamail. epa. gov) 
J e f f r e y  K i s n e r ,  HSE M g r . ,  (Jeffrey.Kisner@hydro.com) 
K e i t h  C o l e ,  P .  E . ,  (kei t h .  cole@mindspring. corn) 

CERTIFICATE O F  SERVICE 

T h i s  i s  t o  c e r t i f y  t h a t  t h i s  NOTICE O F  PERMIT ISSUANCE 

R e v .  4 / 9 1  



Department of 

Environmental Protection 
Central District 

Jeb Bush 
Governor 

Permittee: 
Hydro Aluminum Rockledge 
100 Gus Hipp Boulevard 
Rockledge, Florida 32955 

Attention: David Williams, 
Plant Manager 

33 19 Maguire Boulevard, Suite 232 
Orlando, Florida 32803-3767 

Colleen M. Castille 
Secretary 

Facility Number: 0090078 
Permit Number: 0090078-004-AF 
Expiration Date: November 30, 2010 
County: Brevard 
Latitude/Longitude 
28" 18' 38"~/80" 42' 34"W 
Project: Initial FESOP - Aluminum Products 
Facility with surface coating line, and 
mineral spirits mist spraying and 
recycling operations 

This permit is issued under the provisions of Chapter(s) 403, F.S., and Florida 
Administrative Code Rule(s) 62-210. The above named permittee is hereby authorized 
to perform the work or operate the facility shown on the application and approved 
drawing(s), plans, and other documents attached hereto or on file with the 
Department and made a part hereof and specifically described as follows: 

The permittee may operate a surface coating line. Exhaust gas from the coating line 
is treated using a thermal oxidizer with a destruction efficiency of 98 percent or 
greater. Emissions from solvent cleaning activities are vented through a carbon 
filtration system. The permittee may conduct mineral spirits mist spray and 
recycling operations. 

This permit replaces and supersedes all previous Department air permits for the 
facility. 

The facility is located at 100 Gus Hipp Boulevard in Rockledge, Brevard County, 
Florida 
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1. The terms, conditions, requirements, limitations and restrictions set forth in this 
permit, are "permit conditions" and are binding and enforceable pursuant to Sections 
403.141, 403.727, or 403.859 through 403.861, Florida Statutes (F.S.) The permittee is 
placed on notice that the Department will review this permit periodically and may 
initiate enforcement action for any violation of these conditions. 

2. This permit is valid only for the specific processes and operations applied for and 
indicated in the approved drawings or exhibits. Any unauthorized deviation from the 
approved drawings, exhibits, specifications, or conditions of this permit may 
constitute grounds for revocation and enforcement action by the Department. 

3. As provided in subsections 403.087(6) and 403.722(5), F.S., the issuance of this 
permit does not convey any vested rights or any exclusive privileges. Neither does it 
authorize any injury to public or private property or any invasion of personal rights, 
nor any infringement of federal, state, or local laws or regulations. This permit is 
not a waiver of or approval of any other Department permit that may be required for 
other aspects of the total project which are not addressed in this permit. 

4. This permit conveys no title to land or water, does not constitute State recognition 
or acknowledgment of title, and does not constitute authority for the use of submerged 
lands unless herein provided and the necessary title or leasehold interests have been 
obtained from the State. Only the Trustees of the Internal Improvement Trust Fund may 
express State opinion as to title. 

5. This permit does not relieve the permittee from liability for harm or injury to human 
health or welfare, animal, or plant life, or property caused by the construction or 
operation of this permitted source, or from penalties therefore; nor does it allow the 
permittee to cause pollution in contravention of Florida Statutes and Department 
rules, unless specifically authorized by an order from the Department. 

6. The permittee shall properly operate and maintain the facility and systems of 
treatment and control (and related appurtenances) that are installed and used by the 
permittee to achieve compliance with the conditions of this permit, as required by 
Department rules. This provision includes the operation of backup and auxiliary 
facilities or similar systems when necessary to achieve compliance with the conditions 
of the permit and when required by Department rules. 

7. The permittee, by accepting this permit, specifically agrees to allow authorized 
Department personnel, upon presentation of credentials or other documents as may be 
required by law and at reasonable times, access to the premises where the permitted 
activity is located or conducted to: 

(a) Have access to and copy any records that must be kept under conditions of 
this permit; 

(b) Inspect the facility, equipment, practices, or operations regulated or 
required under this permit; and 

(c) Sample or monitor any substances or parameters at any location reasonably 
necessary to assure compliance with this permit or Department rules. 

Reasonable time may depend on the nature of the concern being investigated. 

8. If, for any reason, the permittee does not comply with or will be unable to comply 
with any condition or limitation specified in this permit, the permittee shall 
immediately provide the Department with the following information: 

(a) A description of and cause of noncompliance; and 
(b) The period of noncompliance, including dates and times; or, if not 

corrected, the anticipated time the noncompliance is expected to 
continue, and steps being taken to reduce, eliminate, and prevent 
recurrence of the noncompliance. 

The permittee shall be responsible for any and all damages which may result and may be 
subject to enforcement action by the Department for penalties or for revocation of 
this permit. 
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9. In accepting this permit, the permittee understands and agrees that all records, 
notes, monitoring data and other information relating to the construction or operation 
of this permitted source which are submitted to the Department may be used by the 
Department as evidence in any enforcement case involving the permitted source arising 
under the Florida Statutes or Department rules, except where such use is prescribed by 
Section 403.111 and 403.73, F.S. Such evidence shall only be used to the extent it is 
consistent with the Florida Rules of Civil Procedure and appropriate evidentiary 
rules. 

10. The permittee agrees to comply with changes in Department rules and Florida Statutes 
after a reasonable time for compliance; provided, however, the permittee does not 
waive any other rights granted by Florida Statutes or Department rules. 

11. This permit is transferable only upon Department approval in accordance with Rule 62- 
4.120 and Rule 62-730.300, Florida Administrative Code (F.A.C.], as applicable. The 
permittee shall be liable for any non-compliance of the permitted activity until the 
transfer is approved by the Department. 

12. This permit or a copy thereof shall be kept at the work site of the permitted 
activity. 

13. This permit also constitutes: 

( ) Determination of Best Available Control Technology (BACT) 
( ) Determination of Prevention of Significant Deterioration (PSD) 
( ) Certification of compliance with State Water Quality Standards (Section 

401, PL 92-500) 
( ) Compliance with New Source Performance Standards 

14. The permittee shall comply with the following: 

(a) Upon request, the permittee shall furnish all records and plans required 
under Department rules. During enforcement actions, the retention period 
for all records will be extended automatically unless otherwise 
stipulated by the Department. 

(b) The permittee shall hold at the facility or other location designated by 
this permit records of all monitoring information (including all 
calibration 'and maintenance records and all original strip chart 
recordings for continuous monitoring information) required by the permit, 
copies of all reports required by this permit, and records of all data 
used to complete the application for this permit. These materials shall 
be retained at least three years from the date of the sample, 
measurement, report, or application unless otherwise specified by 
Department rule. 

(c) Records of monitoring information shall include: 
1. The date, exact place, and time of sampling or 

measurements; 
2. The person responsible for performing the sampling or 

measurements; 
3. The dates analyses were performed; 
4. The person responsible for performing the analyses; 
5. The analytical techniques or methods used; 
6. The results of such analyses. 

15. When requested by the Department, the permittee shall within a reasonable time furnish 
any information required by law which is needed to determine compliance with the 
permit. If the permittee becomes aware the relevant facts were not submitted or were 
incorrect in the permit application or in any report to the Department, such facts or 
information shall be corrected promptly. 
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Permittee: Hydro Aluminum Rockledge Permit Number: 0090078-004-AF 
Expiration Date: November 30, 2010 

OPERATING CONDITIONS 

1. These sources are permitted to operate continuously, per the application. 
[Permit application received July 15, 2005 and Rule 62-210.200(203), (PTE), 
F.A.C.] 

2. All reasonable precautions shall be taken to prevent emissions of unconfined 
particulate matter. Reasonable precautions shall include, but not. to be 
limited to, the following [Rule 62-296.320(4)(c), F.A.C.]: 

a) Application of water when necessary to control emissions. 
b) Removal of particulate matter from roads and other paved areas under 

control of the owner or operator to prevent reentrainment, and from 
buildings or work areas to prevent particulate from becoming airborne. 

c Enclosure or covering of conveyor systems 
d Use of a spray or chute to mitigate emissions at the drop point. 

3. No person shall circumvent any pollution control device or allow the e~nissions 
of air pollutants without the applicable air pollution control device 
operating properly. 
[Rule 62-210.650, F.A.C. ] 

4. No person shall store, pump, handle, process, load, unload or use in any 
process or installation, volatile organic compounds (VOCs) or organic solvents 
without applying known and existing vapor emission control devices or systems 
deemed necessary and ordered by the Department [Rule 62-296.320 (1) (a), 
F.A.C.] To comply, procedures to minimize pollutant emissions should include 
but not be limited to the following: 

a) tightly cover or close all VOC containers when they are not in use, 
b) tightly cover, where possible, all open troughs, basins, baths, tanks, etc. 

when they are not in use, 
C) maintain all piping, valves, fittings, etc. in good operating condition, 
d) prevent excessive air turbulence across exposed VOCs, 
e) immediately confine and clean up VOC spills and make sure certain wastes 

are placed in closed containers for reuse, recycling or proper disposal 

5. No person shall cause, suffer, allow or permit the discharge of air pollutants 
which cause or contribute to an objectionable odor. An objectionable odor is 
defined as any odor present in the outdoor atmosphere which by itself or in 
combination with other odors, is or may be harmful or injurious to human 
health or welfare, which unreasonably interferes with the comfortable use and 
enjoyment of life or property, or which creates a nuisance. 
[Rules 62-296.320(2), F.A.C.] 

6. No person shall cause, let, permit, suffer or allow the emissions of 
unconfined particulate matter from any source whatsoever, including, but not 
limited to, vehicular movement, transportation of materials, construction 
alteration, demolition or wrecking, or industrially related activities such as 
loading, unloading, storing or handling, without taking reasonable precautions 
to prevent such emission [Rule 62-296.320 (4) (c) I., F.A.C. ] . The area must be 
watered down should unconfined emissions occur. 
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Permittee: Hydro Aluminum Rockledge Permit Number: 0090078-004-AF 
Expiration Date: November 30, 2010 

EMISSION LIMITS 

7. The maximum Hydro Aluminum Rockledge, Inc. facility-wide volatile organic 
compound (VOC) emission rate is limited to less than 50.0 tons per consecutive 
twelve months, combined HAP emissions are limited to less than 25.0 tons per 
consecutive twelve months, and any single HAP emission is limited to less than 
10.0 tons per consecutive twelve months. 
[Rule 62-210.200, (PTE), F.A.C.] 

MONITORING OF OPERATIONS 

8. The permittee shall visually inspect the temperature monitoring/alarm system 
at least once a day for each operational day the coating line is operational 
to insure that the monitoring/alarm system and the coating line are operating 
properly. 

COMPLIANCE 

9. In order to demonstrate compliance with specific condition number 7, and 
pursuant to Rule 62-4.070(3), F.A.C., the permittee shall maintain a monthly 
log at the facility for a period of at least five years from the date the data 
is recorded. The iog, at a minimum, shall contain the following: 

Monthly 

a) Designation of the month and year of operation for whi.ch the 
records are being tabulated; and 

b) Consecutive 12-month total of total VOC, combined HAPS, and individual 
HAPS emissions rates. 

[Rule 62-4.070(3), F.A.C.] 

Note: A consecutive 12-month total is equal to the total for the month in 
question plus the totals for the eleven months previous to the month in 
question. A consecutive 12-month total treats each month of the year as 
the end of a 12-month period. A 12-month total is not a year-to-date 
total. Facilities that have not been operating for 12 months should 
retain 12-month totals using whatever number of months of dm3ta are 
available until such a time as a consecutive 12-month total can be 
maintained each month. 

Supporting documentation (chemical usage tracking logs, MSDS sheets, purchase 
orders, EPA "As Suppliedr' data sheets, EPA Method 24, etc. ) shall be kept for 
each chemical and associated products which includes sufficient information to 
determine usage rates and emissions. These records shall be made available to 
the Department upon request. Documentation of each chemical reclaimed will 
use a mass balance method to determine usage/emissions (amount used minus 
amount collected for disposal or recycle). The log and documents shall be 
kept at the facility for at least five years and made available to the 
Department. Daily logs shall be completed within seven business days and the 
monthly logs shall be completed by the end of the following month. 
[Rule 62-4.070 ( 3 ) ,  F.A.C.] 
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Permittee: Hydro Aluminum Rockledge Permit Number: 0090078-004-AF 
Expiration Date: November 30, 2010 

11. At least 90 days prior to the expiration date of this permit, the destruction 
efficiency of the catalytic oxidizer shall be demonstrated by determining the 
inlet and outlet VOC emissions: 

a) The inlet VOC quantity shall be determined using the VOC of the inks 
using Method 24. 

b) The outlet VOC quantity shall be determined by using Method 25 or 25A. 
C) The destruction efficiency of the oxidizer shall be at least 90 percent. 
d) The oxidizer temperature shall be reported. 
e) Visible emissions shall be determined by DEP Method 9. 
[Rule 62-4.070 (3), F.A.C.] 

12. At least 15 days prior to the date on which each formal compliance test is due 
to begin, the permittee shall provide written notification of the test to the 
air compliance section of this office. The notification must include the 
following information: the date, time, and location of each test; the name and 
telephone number of the facility's contact person who will be responsible for 
coordinating the test; and the name, company, and telephone number of the 
person conducting the test. 
[Rule 62-297.310 (7) (a) 9., F.A.C. ] 

13. Testing of emissions shall be conducted with the emissions unit operation at 
permitted capacity. Permitted capacity is defined as 90 to 100 percent of the 
maximum operation rate allowed by the permit. If it is impractical to test at 
permitted capacity, an emissions unit may be tested at less than th.e minimum 
permitted capacity; in this case, subsequent emissions unit operation is 
limited to 110 percent of the test load until a new test is conducted. Once the 
unit is so limited, operation at higher capacities is allowed for no more than 
15 consecutive days for the purpose of additional compliance testing to regain 
the authority to operate at the permitted capacity. 
[Rule 62-297.310 (2), F.A.C. ] 

14. Reports of the required compliance tests shall be filed with the air compliance 
section of this office as soon as practical but no later than 45 days after the 
last test is completed. 
[Rule 62-297.310 (8) (b) , F.A.C. 1 

15. A DEP Form No. 62-210.900 (5), "Annual Operating Report for Air Pollutant 
Emitting Facility" including the Emissions Report, shall be completed for each 
calendar year and submitted to the Orange County Environmental Protection 
Department or before March 1 of the following year. 
[Rule 62-210.370 (3) (a), F.A.C.] 
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Permittee: Hydro Aluminum Rockledge Permit Number: 0090078-004-AF 
Expiration Date: November 30, 2010 

PERMIT APPLICATION 

16. At least sixty days prior to the expiration date of this permit, the permittee 
shall submit to this office four air permit applications, DEP Form No. 6 2 -  
210.900 ( 4 ) ,  along with the processing fee established in Rule 62-4.050 (4), 
F.A.C. 
[Rule 62-4.090, F.A.C.] 

STATE OF FLORIDA~DEPAR d-l ENT 

Issued: 2-z 4- ~b 
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