Permittee:
Facility Number: 0090054 

Atlas Crematory                           Permit Number: 0090054-003-AC

2111 South U.S. Highway 1

Expiration Date: April 30, 2007

Rockledge, FL 32955
County: Brevard 


Latitude/Longitude:


Atten: Charles Sikes, President           28° 19' 22"N/80° 42' 57"W 


       
UTM:  17-527.86 KmE; 3132.82 KmN 

                                          Project: Human Cremator 



This permit is issued under the provisions of Chapter(s) 403, Florida Statutes, and Florida Administrative Code Rule(s) 62-210.  The above named permittee is hereby authorized to perform the work or operate the facility shown on the application and approved drawing(s), plans, and other documents attached hereto or on file with the department and made a part hereof and specifically described as follows:

The permittee may construct a human crematory unit (no. 2) manufactured by B & L Cremation Systems, Inc., Model Number N20 and equipped with an afterburner to control emissions.  This is the second unit at this location.  The other unit is also a human crematory unit manufactured by B & L Cremations Systems, Inc., Model Number N20.  It is designated as human crematory unit no. 1.

This facility is located at 2111 South U.S. Highway 1, Rockledge, Brevard County, Florida.

General Conditions, which are pages 2 and 3, are mailed only to the permittee.
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SPECIFIC CONDITIONS:

SPECIFIC EMISSION LIMITING AND PERFORMANCE STANDARDS

 1.
The cremator is permitted to operate continuously.

      [Rule 62-210.200, (potential to emit, PTE), F.A.C. and permit application received February 11, 2002.] 

 2.
The only fuel authorized to be burned is natural gas. [Rule 62-210.200 (PTE), F.A.C. and permit application received February 11, 2002.]

 3.  Visible emissions shall not exceed 5 percent opacity except that visible emissions not exceeding 20 percent opacity are allowed for up to three minutes in any one-hour period. 

      [Rule 62-296.401(1)(a), F.A.C.]

4. No person shall cause, suffer, allow or permit the discharge of air pollutants which cause or contribute to an objectionable odor.  An objectionable odor is any odor present in the outdoor atmosphere which by itself or in combination with other odors, is or may be harmful or injurious to human health or welfare, which unreasonably interferes with the comfortable use and enjoyment of life or property, or which creates a nuisance.

      [Rule 62-296.320(2), 62-296.401(1)(b) and 62-210.200(203), F.A.C.]

 5.  
Particulate matter emissions shall not exceed 0.080 grains per dry standard cubic foot of flue gas (gr/dscf), corrected to 7 percent oxygen (O2).

      [Rule 62-296.401(5)(a), F.A.C.]

 6.  Carbon monoxide (CO) emissions shall not exceed 100 parts per million by volume (ppmv), dry basis, corrected to 7 percent oxygen (O2) on an hourly average basis. 

      [Rule 62-296.401(5)(b), F.A.C.]

 7.
The volume in the secondary chamber (or last) combustion zone shall be sufficient to provide for at least a 1.0 second gas residence time at 1800 degrees Fahrenheit.  The actual operating temperature of the secondary chamber combustion zone shall be no less than 1600 degrees Fahrenheit throughout the combustion process in the primary chamber.  Primary chamber and stack shall not be used in calculating this residence time.  Cremation in the primary chamber shall not begin unless the secondary chamber combustion zone temperature is equal to or greater than 1600 degrees Fahrenheit.

      [Rule 62-296.401(5)(c), F.A.C.]

 8. 
Human crematories shall cremate only dead human bodies with appropriate containers.  The bodies may be clothed.  The containers may contain no more than 0.5 percent by weight chlorinated plastics as demonstrated by the manufacturer's data sheet.  If the containers are incinerated, documentation from the manufacturer's certifying that they are composed of 0.5 percent or less by weight chlorinated plastics must be kept on-file at the site for the duration of their use and for at least two years after their use.  This documentation must also be submitted with any application for an initial or renewal air operation permit or air general permit notification form.  No      other material, including biomedical waste* as defined in rule 62-210.200, F.A.C., shall be incinerated [Rule 62-296.401(5)(e), F.A.C.].

      *"Biohazardous Waste" - Any solid waste or liquid waste which may present a threat of infection to humans, including nonliquid tissue, body parts, blood, blood products, and body fluids from humans and other primates; laboratory and veterinary wastes which contain human disease-causing agents; and discarded sharps.  The following are also included:

      (a)
Used absorbent materials saturated with blood, blood products, body  fluids, or excretions or secretions contaminated with visible           blood; and absorbent materials saturated with blood or blood           products that have dried. 

      (b) Non-absorbent, disposable devices that have been contaminated with              blood, body fluids, or secretions or excretions visibly             contaminated with blood, but have not been treated by a method            listed in Section 381.0098, F.S., or a method approved pursuant to           Rule 64E-16, F.A.C. 

           [Rule 62-210.200(45), F.A.C.]

 9.
Operators of the incinerator shall be trained by the equipment manufacturer's representatives or another qualified organization. The content of the training program shall be submitted to the Department of Environmental Protection, Bureau of Air Regulation for approval.

      [Rule 62-296.401(5)(f), F.A.C.]

10.  
A copy of the training certificate for each operator having satisfactorily completed the Department-approved training program must be submitted to the Air Compliance Section of this office within 15 days of completion of training.  An operator's certificate shall be kept on file at the facility for the duration of the operator's employment and for an additional two years after termination of employment.

      [Rule 62-296.401(5)(f), F.A.C.]

11.  
The owner shall not allow the incinerator to be operated unless it is operated by an operator who has satisfactorily completed the required training program. 

      [Rule 62-296.401(5)(f), F.A.C.]

12.  
The permittee shall not allow any person to circumvent the afterburner.  The afterburner and temperature monitoring equipment shall be operational and functioning properly prior to the incineration or ignition of the human remains, and until all the remains are incinerated.

      [Rule 62-210.650, F.A.C.]

EMISSION MONITORING AND APPLICABLE TEST PROCEDURES

13.
At least 15 days prior to the date on which each formal compliance test is due to begin, the permittee shall provide written notification of the test to the Air Compliance Section of this office. The notification must include the following information:  the date, time, and location of each test; the name and telephone number of the facility's contact person who will be responsible for coordinating the test; and the name, company, and telephone number of the person conducting the test.

      [Rule 62-297.310(7)(a)9., F.A.C.]

14.
Testing of emissions shall be conducted with the source operating at the manufacturer's recommended capacity.

      [Rule 62-296.401 (5)(h)]  

15.  The operating (incineration) rate shall not exceed 150 pounds per hour for compliance testing.  Testing of emissions shall be conducted with the emissions units operating at permitted capacity.  Permitted capacity is defined as 90 to 100 percent of the maximum operation rate allowed by the permit.  If it is impractical to test at permitted capacity, an emissions unit may be tested at less than the minimum permitted capacity; in this case, subsequent emissions unit operation is limited to 110 percent of the test load until a new test is conducted.  Once a unit is so limited, operation at higher capacities is allowed for no more than 15 consecutive days for the purpose of additional compliance testing to regain the authority to operate at the permitted capacity.

      [Rule 62-297.310(2), F.A.C.]  

16. 
New and existing facilities shall demonstrate individual emission unit compliance with the visible emissions standard upon initial compliance and annually thereafter. Facilities permitted pursuant to Rule 62-210.300(4), F.A.C., Air General Permits, shall demonstrate compliance within 60 days prior to the submittal date of the air general permit notification form and within 60 days prior to each anniversary of such date. 

      [Rule 62-296.401 (5)(i)(1), F.A.C.] 

17. 
New and existing facilities shall demonstrate individual emission unit compliance with the remaining applicable standards upon initial compliance and prior to renewing the operating permit or, if the facility is permitted pursuant to Rule 62-210.300(4), F.A.C., Air General Permits, within 60 days prior to the submittal date of the air general permit notification form. [Rule 62-296.401 (5)(i)(2), F.A.C.]

18.   Temperature sensors and recorders shall be calibrated and adjusted to indicate the true value of the temperature being measured with sufficient accuracy to allow the temperature to be determined within 10 percent of its true value. [Rule 62-297.310(5)(b), F.A.C.]

19.  The permittee shall have a formal compliance test for visible emissions conducted on the unit within 180 days after being placed in operation.

      [Rule 62-296.401(5)(i)1., F.A.C.]

20.   Compliance with the visible emissions limitation shall be determined by using EPA Method 9 as incorporated in Chapter 62-297, F.A.C. 

      [Rule 62-296.401(5)(g)1., F.A.C.]

21.  The required minimum period of observation for an opacity compliance test shall be thirty (30) minutes.  The opacity test observation period shall begin when incineration begins in the primary chamber.

      [Rule 62-297.310(4)(a)2., F.A.C.]

22.   Compliance with the particulate matter emission limitation shall be determined by using EPA Method 5 as contained in 40 CFR 60 Appendix A.

      [Rule 62-296.401(5)(g)4., F.A.C.]

23.  
Compliance with the CO emission limitation shall be determined by using EPA Method 10 as contained in 40 CFR Appendix A.

      [Rule 62-296.401(5)(g)2., F.A.C.]

24.   The O2 concentration shall be determined by using EPA Method 3 as contained in 40 CFR 60 Appendix A.

      [Rule 62-296.401(5)(g)3., F.A.C.]   

25.   Compliance with the carbon monoxide (CO) and particulate emissions standards demonstrated by submission of a test report for an identical (name, model, and capacity) crematory unit operating in compliance with a valid Department air permit and tested pursuant to that permit.  The test data in the test report must be less than 5 years old and may or may not be obtained from the unit that is being permitted. 

      [Rule 62-296.401(5)(j), F.A.C.]

26. 
If the emission unit is to be stack tested the stack test ports and facilities shall be operated in accordance with Rule 62-297.310(6), F.A.C.

ADDITIONAL MONITORING

27. 
Continuous Emissions Monitor (CEM) Requirements.  Each human crematory facility shall install, operate, and maintain continuous monitors to record temperature at the point where 1.0 second gas residence time is obtained in the secondary chamber combustion zone in accordance with the manufacturer's instructions.   The owner or operator shall maintain a complete file of all measurements, including CEM system, monitoring device, and performance testing measurements; all CEM system performance evaluations; all CEM system or monitoring device calibration checks; adjustments, preventative maintenance, and corrective maintenance performed on these systems or devices; recorded in a permanent legible form suitable for inspection.  Continuous temperature monitoring documentation shall include operator name, operator indication of when cremation in the primary chamber begins, date, time, and temperature markings.  The file shall be retained for at least two years following the date of such measurements, maintenance, reports and records. 

      [Rule 62-296.401(5)(k), F.A.C.]

REPORTS AND RECORD KEEPING

28.   The continuous temperature chart documentation shall include at a minimum the following:

      A.  Date markings

      B.  Time markings

      C.  temperature scale markings;

      D.  Operator name; and

      E.  Operator indication of when cremation of the remains in the primary  

          chamber began and when cremation of the remains ceased.

      Temperature charts shall be retained for at least a two-year period and made available upon request.

      [Rule 62-296.401(5)(k), F.A.C.] 

29. 
If containers are incinerated, the documentation from the manufacturers certifying that they are composed of 0.5 percent or less by weight chlorinated plastics must be kept on-file at the site for the duration of use and at least two years after use, and the documentation must also be submitted with any permit renewal applications. 


[Rule 62-296.401(5)(e), F.A.C.]   

30. 
Reports of the required compliance tests shall be filed with the air compliance section of this office as soon as practical but no later than 45 days after the last sampling run of each test is completed.

      [Rule 62-297.310(8)(b), F.A.C.]

31. A compliance test report shall provide sufficient detail on the source tested and the test procedures used to allow this office to determine if the test was properly conducted and the test results properly computed. 

[Rule 62-297.310(8)(c) F.A.C.]

32.   In case of excess emissions resulting from malfunctions, the permittee shall notify the air compliance section of this office in accordance with Rule 62-4.130, F.A.C.  A full written report of the malfunctions shall be submitted in a quarterly report, if requested by this office.

      [Rule 62-210.700(6), F.A.C.]

PERMIT APPLICATION

33.   The construction shall reasonably conform to the plans and schedule submitted in the application.  If the permittee is unable to complete construction on schedule, he must notify the department in writing at least 90 days prior to the expiration of the construction permit and submit an application for an extension of the construction permit.

      An operating permit or general permit is required for operation of this source.  To obtain a permit, the permittee must demonstrate compliance with the conditions of the construction permit and submit the application fee, along with the compliance test results and Application for Air Permit to the Department's Central Florida District Office [Rule 62-4.220, F.A.C.].  The application shall be submitted no later than 180 days after completion of construction.

                                    STATE OF FLORIDA DEPARTMENT

                                    OF ENVIRONMENTAL PROTECTION 

                                    L.T. Kozlov, P.E.

                                    Program Administrator 

                                    Air Reources Management  



Issued: 



CERTIFICATION

Application Number 0090054-003-AC

APPLICANT: Atlas Crematory, Inc.

PROJECT: Human Cremator


I HEREBY CERTIFY that the engineering features described in the referenced application for an Air Operation Permit provide reasonable assurance of compliance 

with the applicable provisions of Chapter 403, Florida Statutes, and Florida Administrative Code Title 62.  However, I have not evaluated and I do not certify aspects of the proposal outside of my area of expertise (including but not limited 

to the electrical, mechanical, structural, hydrological, and geological features).




______________________________




ALAN ZAHM, P.E.




SEAL 36903

