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This is the final air operation permit, which authorizes the operation of University of Florida Animal Resources
Department, which is a biological waste incinerator (Standard Industrial Classification No. 8221). This project is
for the renewal of the air operation permit for the above referenced facility. The facility is located in Alachua
County at the J. Hillis Miller Health Science Center Building on 1600 SW Archer Road in Gainesville, Florida.
The UTM coordinates are Zone 17, 369.93 km East, and 3279.39 km North.

This final permit is organized into the following sections: Section 1 (General Information); Section 2
(Administrative Requirements); Section 3 (Emissions Unit Specific Conditions); and Section 4 (Appendices).
Because of the technical nature of the project, the permit contains numerous acronyms and abbreviations, which
are defined in Appendix A of Section 4 of this permit.

Permitting Authority: Applications for air operation permits are subject to review in accordance with the
provisions of Chapter 403, Florida Statutes (F.S.) and Chapters 62-4 and 62-210 of the Florida Administrative
Code (F.A.C.). The Permitting Authority responsible for making a permit determination for this project is the
Northeast District. The Permitting Authority’s physical address is: 8800 Baymeadows Way West, Suite 100,
Jacksonville, Florida 32256. The Permitting Authority’s mailing address is: 8800 Baymeadows Way West, Suite
100, Jacksonville, Florida 32256. The Permitting Authority’s telephone number is 904/256-1560.

Petitions. A person whose substantial interests are affected by the proposed decision may petition for an
administrative hearing in accordance with Sections 120.569 and 120.57, F.S. The petition must contain the
information set forth below and must be filed (received) in the Department’s Office of General Counsel, MS #35,
3900 Commonwealth Boulevard, Tallahassee, Florida 32399-3000, Agency Clerk@dep.state.fl.us. Petitions filed
by the applicant or any of the parties listed below must be filed within 14 days of receipt of this notice. Petitions
filed by any other person must be filed within 14 days of receipt of this proposed action. A petitioner must mail a
copy of the petition to the applicant at the address indicated above, at the time of filing. The failure of any person
to file a petition within the appropriate time period shall constitute a waiver of that person’s right to request an
administrative determination (hearing) under Sections 120.569 and 120.57, F.S., or to intervene in this proceeding
and participate as a party to it. Any subsequent intervention will be only at the approval of the presiding officer
upon the filing of a motion in compliance with Rule 28-106.205, F.A.C.

A petition that disputes the material facts on which the Department’s action is based must contain the following
information: (a) The name and address of each agency affected and each agency’s file or identification number, if
known; (b) The name, address, and telephone number of the petitioner; the name, address and telephone humber
of the petitioner’s representative, if any, which shall be the address for service purposes during the course of the
proceeding; and an explanation of how the petitioner’s substantial interests will be affected by the agency
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determination; (c) A statement of how and when each petitioner received notice of the agency action or proposed
action; (d) A statement of all disputed issues of material fact. If there are none, the petition must so indicate; (e)
A concise statement of the ultimate facts alleged, as well as the rules and statutes which entitle the petitioner to
relief; (f) A statement of the specific rules or statutes the petitioner contends require reversal or modification of
the agency’s proposed action; and, (g) A statement of the relief sought by the petitioner, stating precisely the
action petitioner wishes the agency to take with respect to the agency’s proposed action. A petition that does not
dispute the material facts upon which the permitting authority’s action is based shall state that no such facts are in
dispute and otherwise shall contain the same information as set forth above, as required by Rule 28-106.301,
F.A.C.

Because the administrative hearing process is designed to formulate final agency action, the filing of a petition
means that the Department’s final action may be different from the position taken by it in this notice. Persons
whose substantial interests will be affected by any such final decision of the permitting authority on the
application have the right to petition to become a party to the proceeding, in accordance with the requirements set
forth above.

Mediation: Mediation is not available in this proceeding.

Effective Date: This permitting decision is final and effective on the date filed with the clerk of the Permitting
Authority unless a petition is filed in accordance with the above paragraphs or unless a request for extension of
time in which to file a petition is filed within the time specified for filing a petition pursuant to Rule 62-110.1086,
F.A.C., and the petition conforms to the content requirements of Rules 28-106.201 and 28-106.301, F.A.C. Upon
timely filing of a petition or a request for extension of time, this action will not be effective until further order of
the Permitting Authority.

Judicial Review: Any party to this permitting decision (order) has the right to seek judicial review of it under
Section 120.68, F.S., by filing a notice of appeal under Rule 9.110 of the Florida Rules of Appellate Procedure
with the clerk of the Department of Environmental Protection in the Office of General Counsel, Mail Station #35,
3900 Commonwealth Boulevard, Tallahassee, Florida, 32399-3000, and by filing a copy of the notice of appeal
accompanied by the applicable filing fees with the appropriate District Court of Appeal. The notice must be filed
within 30 days after this order is filed with the clerk of the Department.

0010062-006-A0 Effective Date: April 12, 2018
Renewal Application Due Date: February 11, 2023
Expiration Date: April 12, 2023

Executed in Jacksonville, Florida

_,/"/ | / -
F / / {c/ péw%”
Thomas G. Kallemeyn
Permitting Program Administrator
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CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

The undersigned duly designated deputy agency clerk hereby certifies that this Air Permit package was sent by
electronic mail, or a link to these documents made available electronically on a publicly accessible server, with
received receipt requested before the close of business on the date indicated below to the following persons.

Matt Johnson, University of Florida, matt986john@ufl.edu
Michael Riley, University of Florida, mpriley@ufl.edu
Luis Lloréns, Al Environmental Consulting Services, Inc., ai@cfl.rr.com

Clerk Stamp

Sgeis

FILING AND ACKNOWLEDGMENT FILED, on
this date, pursuant to Section 120.52(7), Florida Statutes,
with the designated agency clerk, receipt of which is
hereby acknowledged.
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SECTION 1. GENERAL INFORMATION

FACILITY DESCRIPTION

University of Florida Animal Resources Department consists of one natural gas fired incinerator used for
disposing of animal remains and wastes. The incinerator is a dual chambered natural gas-fired biological waste
incinerator manufactured by Plibrico/Crawford Manufacturing Corporation, Model 4045. The incinerator is
designed to burn Type 0 (Plastic) and Type IV (Pathological) wastes and consists of primary and secondary
(afterburner) chambers, each fired on natural gas. Emissions are controlled by the afterburner, which maintains a
minimum secondary chamber combustion zone temperature of 1800 + degrees Fahrenheit prior to and during
combustion of material in the primary chamber. The secondary chamber is designed to insure one-second
residence time at a gas temperature of 1800 + degrees Fahrenheit (F), and is equipped with a continuous
temperature monitor. Only pathological wastes and, if applicable, the bedding and the remains associated with the
animals placed in leak-proof containers, shall be incinerated.

The existing facility consists of the following emissions units (EU).

EU No. | Emission Unit Description
001 |Biological Waste Incinerator

APPLICABLE REGULATIONS

A summary of applicable regulations is shown in the following table.

Regulation EU No(s).
State Rule Citations

Rule 62-210.300, F.A.C., Permits Required 001

Rule 62-296.401(4), F.A.C., Biological Waste Incinerators 001

Rule 62-297.310, F.A.C., General Emissions Test Requirements 001

FACILITY REGULATORY CLASSIFICATION

e The facility is not a major source of hazardous air pollutants (HAP).

e The facility does not operate units subject to the acid rain provisions of the Clean Air Act (CAA).

e The facility is not a Title V major source of air pollution in accordance with Chapter 62-213, F.A.C.

e The facility is not a major stationary source in accordance with Rule 62-212.400, F.A.C. for the Prevention of
Significant Deterioration (PSD) of Air Quality.

University of Florida Air Permit No. 0010062-006-A0
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SECTION 2. ADMINISTRATIVE REQUIREMENTS

1. Permitting Authority: The permitting authority for this project is the Northeast District. The Northeast
District’s mailing address is: 8800 Baymeadows Way West, Suite 100, Jacksonville, Florida 32256. All
documents related to applications for permits to operate an emissions unit shall be submitted to the
Northeast District.

2. Compliance Authority: All documents related to compliance activities such as reports, tests, and
notifications shall be submitted to the Northeast District at: 8800 Baymeadows Way West, Suite 100,
Jacksonville, Florida 32256.

3. Appendices: The following Appendices are attached as a part of this permit: Appendix A (Citation
Formats and Glossary of Common Terms); Appendix B (General Conditions); Appendix C (Common
Conditions); and Appendix D (Common Testing Requirements).

4. Applicable Regulations, Forms and Application Procedures: Unless otherwise specified in this permit,
the construction and operation of the subject emissions units shall be in accordance with the capacities
and specifications stated in the application. The facility is subject to all applicable provisions of: Chapter
403, F.S.; and Chapters 62-4, 62-204, 62-210, 62-212, 62-213, 62-296 and 62-297, F.A.C. lIssuance of
this permit does not relieve the permittee from compliance with any applicable federal, state, or local
permitting or regulations.

5. New or Additional Conditions: For good cause shown and after notice and an administrative hearing, if
requested, the Department may require the permittee to conform to new or additional conditions. The
Department shall allow the permittee a reasonable time to conform to the new or additional conditions,
and on application of the permittee, the Department may grant additional time. [Rule 62-4.080, F.A.C.]

6. Modifications: No new emissions unit shall be constructed and no existing emissions unit shall be
modified without obtaining an air construction permit from the Department. Such permit shall be
obtained prior to beginning construction or modification. [Rules 62-210.300(1) and 62-212.300(1)(a),
F.A.C]

7. Renewal: Prior to 60 days before the expiration date of this permit, the permittee shall apply for a
renewal of the permit. A renewal application shall be timely and sufficient. If the application is
submitted prior to 60 days before expiration of the permit, it will be considered timely and sufficient. If
the renewal application is submitted at a later date, it will not be considered timely and sufficient unless it
is submitted and made complete prior to the expiration of the operation permit. When the application for
renewal is timely and sufficient, the existing permit shall remain in effect until the renewal application
has been finally acted upon by the Department. [Rule 62-4.090, F.A.C.]

University of Florida Air Permit No. 0010062-006-A0
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SECTION 3. EMISSIONS UNIT SPECIFIC CONDITIONS

A. EU 001 Biological Waste Incinerator

This section of the permit addresses the following emissions unit:

EU No. | Emission Unit Description

001 [Biological Waste Incinerator

Emission Unit 001 is a Plibrico/Crawford Model 4045 biological waste incinerator designed to burn Type 0
(Plastic) and Type IV pathological, animal waste and consists of primary and secondary (afterburner) chambers,
each fired on natural gas.

Emissions are controlled by the afterburner, which maintains a minimum secondary chamber combustion zone
temperature of 1800 degrees Fahrenheit prior to and during combustion of material in the primary chamber. The
secondary chamber is designed to insure one-second residence time at a gas temperature of 1800 degrees
Fahrenheit (F), and is equipped with a continuous temperature monitor.

PERFORMANCE RESTRICTIONS

1. Permitted Capacity: The operating rate shall not exceed 400 pounds per hour of the waste without prior
Department approval. [Rule 62-210.200(PTE), F.A.C.]

2. Authorized Fuel: The biological waste incinerator shall be fired with natural gas only. [Rule 62-
210.200(PTE), F.A.C. and Permit renewal application received May 28, 1998]

3. Restricted Operation: The incinerator hours of operation shall not exceed 1664 hours per calendar year.
[Rules 62-4.070(3) and 62-210.200(PTE), F.A.C.]

EMISSIONS AND PERFORMANCE STANDARDS

4. Emissions Standards: The permitted maximum allowable emission rate for each pollutant is as follows:

Pollutant Emission Limit FAC Rule
PM <0.100 gr/scf of flue gas, corrected to 7% 02 62-296.401(4)(b)2.a.
1 o
co < 100 ppmv, dry basis, corrected to 7% O2 on hourly 62-296.401(4)(b)5.

basis

5% opacity, 6 minute average, except <15% opacity for up
to 6 minutes in any 1 hour period

HCL <4.0 Ib/hr 62-296.401(4)(D)2.b.

VE 62-296.401(4)(b)1.

5. Objectionable Odor. No objectionable odor allowed. Objectionable Odor, as defined by Rule 62-210.200,
F.A.C., is any odor present in the outdoor atmosphere which by itself or in combination with other odors, is or
may be harmful or injurious to human health or welfare, which unreasonably interferes with the comfortable
use and enjoyment of life or property, or which creates a nuisance. [Rules 62-296.401(2)(b) and 62-210.200,
F.ACl]

6. Incinerator Chamber Operation Temperature. The incinerator shall operate with a combustion zone design
temperature of no less than 1800 °F for at least 1 second gas residence time in the secondary or last
combustion chamber. Primary chamber and stack shall not be used in calculating this residence time. [Rule
62-296.401(4)(c)1., F.A.C]

7. Air Lock System Mechanically Fed. If the incinerator is mechanically fed, an air lock system shall be
incorporated to prevent opening of the incinerator to the room environment. Overcharging of the loading
system (volume) is prohibited. [Rule 62-296.401(4)(c)2., F.A.C.]

University of Florida Air Permit No. 0010062-006-A0
University of Florida Animal Resources Department Air Operation Permit
Page 6 of 9



SECTION 3. EMISSIONS UNIT SPECIFIC CONDITIONS

10.

11.

A. EU 001 Biological Waste Incinerator

Incineration. Incineration or ignition of waste shall not begin until the secondary (or last) combustion
chamber temperature requirement is attained. All air pollution control and continuous monitoring equipment
shall be operational and function properly prior to the incineration or ignition of the waste and until all the
wastes is incinerated. The secondary (or last) combustion chamber temperature shall be maintained until the
wastes are completely combusted. [Rule 62-296.401(4)(c)3., F.A.C.]

Prohibited Incineration.

a) Radioactive waste shall not be burned in the incinerator unless the incinerator has been issued an
appropriate Department of Health and Rehabilitative Services (HRS) license to incinerate radioactive
waste or the waste is of such quantity to be exempt in accordance with HRS Rule 10D-91 or 10-
104.003, F.A.C. [Rule 62-296.401(4)(c)4., F.A.C.]

b) Hazardous waste shall not be burned in the incinerator unless the incinerator has been issued an
appropriate Department of Environmental Protection (DEP) hazardous waste permit to incinerate
hazardous waste or the waste is of such quantity to be exempt in accordance with DEP Rule 62-730,
F.A.C. [Rule 62-296.401(4)(c)5., F.A.C]

Operator Training. Each operator of the unit shall successfully complete a training program meeting the
requirements of 40 CFR 60.53c(c) and the annual refresher training course requirements of 40 CFR 60.53c(f),
adopted and incorporated by reference at Rule 62-204.800, F.A.C. If the incinerator is modified to the extent
that a Department construction permit is required, the operators shall be retrained to operate the modified
incinerator. The owner shall not allow the incinerator to be operated unless it is operated by an operator who
has satisfactorily completed the required training program. [Rule 62-296.401(4)(c)6., F.A.C.]

Circumvention of Control Devices. No person shall circumvent any air pollution control device, or allow the
emission of air pollutants without the applicable air pollution control device operating properly. [Rule 62-
210.650, F.A.C.]

TESTING REQUIREMENTS

12.

13.

14.

15.

Annual Compliance Tests: During each calendar year (January 1% to December 31%), the emissions unit shall
be tested to demonstrate compliance with the emissions standards for visible emissions. [Rules 62-
296.401(4)(e)1.a. and 62-297.310(8)(a)1, F.A.C.]

Compliance Tests Prior to Renewal. Except as provided in subparagraph 62-297.310(8)(b)3., F.A.C. (see
Appendix D — Common Testing Requirements), in addition to the annual compliance tests specified above,
compliance tests shall also be performed for particulate matter, hydrochloric acid, carbon monoxide and
oxygen prior to obtaining a renewed operation permit to demonstrate compliance with the emission limits in
Specific Condition 4. [Rules 62-296.401(4)(e)1.b., 62-210.300(2)(a) and 62-297.310(8)(b), F.A.C.]

{Permitting Note: Tests which are only required once during the term of a permit prior to obtaining a
renewed permit should be performed roughly five years from the previous test.}

Test Requirements: The permittee shall notify the Compliance Authority in writing at least 15 days prior to
any required tests. Tests shall be conducted in accordance with the applicable requirements specified in
Appendix D (Common Testing Requirements) of this permit. [Rule 62-297.310(9), F.A.C.]

Operating Conditions during Emissions Testing. Testing of emissions shall be conducted with the emissions
unit operating at the testing capacity as defined below. If it is impracticable to test at the testing capacity, an
emissions unit may be tested at less than the testing capacity. If an emissions unit is tested at less than the
testing capacity, another emissions test shall be conducted and completed no later than 60 days after the
emissions unit operation exceeds 110% of the capacity at which its most recent emissions test was conducted.
[Rule 62-297.310(3), F.A.C.]
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SECTION 3. EMISSIONS UNIT SPECIFIC CONDITIONS

16.

17.

A. EU 001 Biological Waste Incinerator

Special Compliance Tests. When the Department, after investigation, has good reason (such as complaints,
increased visible emissions or questionable maintenance of control equipment) to believe that any applicable
emission standard contained in a Department rule or in a permit issued pursuant to those rules is being
violated, it shall require the owner or operator of the emissions unit to conduct compliance tests which
identify the nature and quantity of pollutant emissions from the emissions unit, unless the Department obtains
other information sufficient to demonstrate compliance. The owner or operator of the emissions unit shall
provide a report on the results of said tests to the Department in accordance with the provisions of subsection
62-297.310(10), F.A.C. [Rule 62-297.310(8)(c), F.A.C]

Test Methods: Required tests shall be performed in accordance with the following reference methods:

Method | Description of Method and Comments

1-4 Traverse Points, Velocity and Flow Rate, Gas Analysis, and Moisture Content

5Note (D) | Determination of Particulate Matter Emissions from Stationary Sources

9 Visual Determination of the Opacity of Emissions from Stationary Sources

Determination of Carbon Monoxide Emissions from Stationary Sources (The method shall be based on a

10 f . -
continuous sampling train.)

26 Determination of Hydrogen Chloride Emissions from Stationary Sources

Note (1): The minimum sample volume shall be 30 dry standard cubic feet.

The above methods are described in Appendix A of 40 CFR 60 and are adopted by reference in Rule 62-
204.800, F.A.C. No other methods may be used unless prior written approval is received from the
Department. [Rules 62-204.800, F.A.C.; and Appendix A of 40 CFR 60]

MONITORING REQUIREMENTS

18.

19.

Continuous Emissions Monitoring Requirements: The permittee shall install, operate, and maintain, in
accordance with the manufacturer’s instructions, continuous emission monitoring equipment at the exit of the
secondary (or last) combustion chamber. The monitoring equipment shall record temperature. [Rule 62-
296.401(4)(f), F.A.C]

Accuracy of Equipment. Equipment or instruments used to directly or indirectly determine process
parameters shall be calibrated and adjusted so as to determine the value of the process parameter to within 10
percent of its true value. [Rule 62-297.310(6)(b), F.A.C.]

RECORDS AND REPORTS

20.

21.

Test Reports: The permittee shall prepare and submit reports for all required tests in accordance with the
requirements specified in Appendix D (Common Testing Requirements) of this permit. [Rule 62-
297.310(10), F.A.C]

Secondary Combustion Chamber Temperature — Recordkeeping. The owner or operator shall maintain a
complete file of all measurements, including CEM system, monitoring device, and performance testing
measurements; all CEM system performance evaluations; all CEM system or monitoring device calibration
checks; adjustments and maintenance performed on these systems or devices; and all other information
required, recorded in a permanent legible form suitable for inspection. The continuous temperature chart
documentation shall include at a minimum the following:

a) Date markings;

b) Time markings;

c) Temperature scale markings

d) Operator name; and

e) Operator indication of when combustion of waste in the primary began and when combustion ceased.

University of Florida Air Permit No. 0010062-006-A0
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SECTION 3. EMISSIONS UNIT SPECIFIC CONDITIONS

A. EU 001 Biological Waste Incinerator

The file shall be retained at the facility for at least two years following the date of such measurements,
maintenance, reports and records. The file shall be made available to the Department upon request. [Rule 62-
296.401(4)(H2., F.A.C]

22. Daily Log. A daily operations and maintenance log shall be kept by the operators showing at least the
following information:

a) Date;

b) Name of operator;

c) Type of material incinerated:;

d) Weight (as weighed on scale) of materials placed in the primary chamber;

e) Time combustion of waste in primary chamber began and number of hours taken for incineration;

f) minimum temperature of the secondary chamber during periods when incinerator is in operation; and
g) any maintenance performed; indicate when, what, why, and by whom it was performed.

The file shall be retained at the facility for at least two years following the date of such measurements,
maintenance, reports and records. The file shall be made available to the Department upon request. [Rule 62-
296.401(4)(f), F.A.C]

23. Operator Training Certificates. An operator’s training certificate must be kept on file at the facility for the
duration of the operator’s employment and for an additional two (2) years after termination of employment.
[Rule 62-296.401(4)(c)6.b., F.A.C.]

24. Plant Operation — Problems. If the permittee is temporarily unable to comply with any of the conditions of
the permit due to breakdown of equipment or destruction by hazard of fire, wind or by other cause, the
permittee shall immediately notify the Department. Notification shall include pertinent information as to the
cause of the problem, and what steps are being taken to correct the problem and to prevent its recurrence, and
where applicable, the owner’s intent toward reconstruction of destroyed facilities. Such notification does not
release the permittee from any liability for failure to comply with Department rules. [Rule 62-4.130, F.A.C.]
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