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PERMITTEE: AIRS I.D. Number: 09%@50
: Air Permit Number: 0910050001A0

Panhandle Animal Welfare Society Emission Unit: 001

Date of Issue: May 1, 1996
Expiration Date: May 1, 2001
County: Okaloosa

Project: Animal Crematorium

This permit is issued under the provisions of Section 403.087, Florida
Statutes, and Florida Administrative Code Rules 62-296, 62-297 and
62-4. The above named applicant, hereinafter called Permittee, is
hereby authorized to perform the work or operate the facility shown on
the application and approved drawing(s), plans, and other documents
attached hereto or on file with the Department and made a part hereof
and specifically described as follows:

Operation of an animal crematorium, manufactured by B & L Systems, Inc., model
BLP 1250/200, fueled by natural gas. Smoke and odor emissions are controlled
by two-stage burning with 1600°F minimum secondary chamber temperature.

Located at 752 Lovejoy Road, Fort Walton Beach, 1 1/2 miles west of the Mary
Ester Cutoff, Okaloosa County.
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PERMITTEE: AIRS |.D. Number: 0910050
Air Permit Number: 0910050001A0
Panhandle Animal Welfare Society Date of Issue:May 1, 1996
Expiration Date: May 1, 2001

SPECIFIC CONDITIONS:
General

1. The attached General Conditions are part of this permit. [FAC Rule 62-4.160]

Operation

2. The maximum allowable operating rate is 200 pounds burned per hour. This is the
operating rate at which compliance with standards shall be demonstrated. [FAC Rule 62-
4.070]

3.. This incinerator shall not be loaded in excess of its capacity of 1250 pounds per load
with a minimum burn time of 6 1/2 hours. [FAC Rule 62-4.070 and construction
application]

4. The Animal Crematorium may operate up to 2080 hours per year. [FAC Rule 62-4.070
and construction application]

5. Leak proof containers are limited to 0.5% by weight chlorinated plastics. If the

containers or bags are incinerated, the permittee must keep documentation from the

manufacturer certifying that the containers are less than 0.5% by weight chlorinated
plastic,andfer the bags are nonchlorinated and no less than 3 mils thick. Records must be

kept on-file at the site for a minimum of two years. [FAC Rule 62-296.401(4)(a)2.] ,
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6. This incinerator shall only be used for the incineration of dead animals. Dead animals \jﬂ 4
used for biomedical or commercial experimentation and any bichazardous waste shall not @,@ 4/”‘4"
be incinerated. [FAC Rule 62-296,401{4}(a}3.] L, J’“y//\,,é
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7. Primary burners shall not be ignited until the secondary burner combustion chamber has e

attained its minimum temperature of 1600°F. The afterburner and continuous monitoring
of the secondary chamber temperature {above minimum) shall remain operational prior to

incineration and until all wastes are incinerated. The charge door shall remain closed until
all wastes are incinerated. [FAC Rule 62-296.401(4)(e)

8. All boilogical waste incinerator operators shall be trained by a Department approved
training program. The permittee shall maintain satisfactorily completed training certificates
for each operator for the duration of each operators employment and for an additional two
years after termination of employment. The incinerator shall only be operated by
satisfactorily trained operators. [FAC Rule 62-296.401(4)(e)9.]
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PERMITTEE: AIRS I.D. Number: 0410050
- Air Permit Number: 0910050001AQ0
Panhandle Animal Welfare Society Date of Issue: May 1, 1996
Expiration Date: May 1, 2001

SPECIFIC CONDITIONS:

9. The permittee shall operate and maintain in accordance with the manufacturers
instructions continuous monitoring equipment to record the secondary combustion
chamber temperature. The records shall include operator name, operator indication of
when incineration in the primary chamber begins, date, time and temperature markings and
be kept on file for Department inspection for a minimum of two years. [FAC Rule 62-
296.401(4)(i)

Emissions

10. No visible emissions (VE) are allowed under normal operation except for up to three
minutes in any one hour at not more than 20 % opacity. [FAC Rule 62-296.401(1)(a)]

11. Particulate emissions (PM) shall not exceed 0.080 grains per dry standard cubic foot of
flue gas, corrected to 7% oxygen. [FAC Rule 62-296.401(4}(a)1.]

12. Carbon monoxide (CO) emissions shall not exceed 100 parts per million by volume, dry
basis, corrected to 7% oxygen. [FAC Rule 62-296.401(4)(e)5.]

13. No objectionable odors shall be allowed off plant property. If the Department
determines the facility is emitting objectionable odors, the Permittee shall submit an odor
remediation plan within 45 days of receipt of written notification from the Department.
The plan shall include, but not be limited to, dispersion modeling analysis, strategies to
reduce odorous chemicals utilization, and modifications of manufacturing production
cycles, manufacturing methods and/or plant exhaust systems. [FAC Rule 62-296.320(2)]

Testing

14. Emissions testing for the following pollutants, frequencies and test methods are
required to show continuing compliance with the standards of the Department:

Pollutant Frequency - FAC Rule Test Method
VE annual 62-297.400 EPA Method 9
PM 2000 before 62-297.400 EPA Method 5

December 31

Cco 2000 before 62-297.400 EPA Method 10
December 31
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PERMITTEE: AIRS I.D. Number: 0910050
Air Permit Number: 0910050001A0
Panhandle Animal Welfare Society Date of Issue: May 1, 1996
Expiration Date: May 1, 2001

SPECIFIC CONDITIONS:

Compliance with the CO and PM test and emission requirements may be demonstrated by
submission of a test report from an identical incinerator tested in Florida within five years
of the testing deadline and approved by the Department. All of the test results must
provide reasonable assurance that the source is capable of compliance at the permitted
maximum operating rate. Results shall be submitted to the Department within 45 days
after testing. The Department shall be notified at least 15 days prior to testing to allow
witnessing. [FAC Rule 62-296.401(4)(f), (g), (h)]

Administrative

15. At least sixty days prior to the expiration date of this permit, the permittee shall
submit to the Department an air permit application in quadruplicate, DEP Form No. 62-
210.900(2), along with any applicable fees as established in FAC Rule 62-4.050(4). [FAC
Rule 62-4.090(1)]

16. The permanent source identification number for this point source is 0910050001.
Please cite this number on all test reports and other correspondence specific to this
permitted point source. [FAC Rule 62-297.310(8)]

17. The Department telephone number for reporting problems, malfunctions or
exceedances under this permit is (904) 444-8300, day or night, and for emergencies
involving a significant threat to human health or the environment is (904) 488-1320. For
routine business, telephone (904) 444-8364 during normal working hours. [FAC Rule 62-
210.700]

A
Expiration Date: Issued this _':d/ay of M , 1996.

STATE OF FLORIDA DEPARTMENT
OF ENVIRONMENTAL PROTECTION

ED K. MIDDLESWART, P.E. '
Air Program Administrator
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GENERAL CONDITIONS:

1. The terms, conditions, requirements, limitations, and restrictions set forth in this permit are
"permit conditions", and are binding and enforceable pursuant to Sections 403.141, 403.727, or
403.859 through 403.861, Florida Statutes. The permittee is placed on notice that the
Department will review this permit periodically and may initiate enforcement action for any
violation of these conditions.

2. This permit is valid only for the specific processes and operations applied for and indicated in
the approved drawings or exhibits. Any unauthorized deviation from the approved drawings,
exhibits, specifications, or conditions of this permit may constitute grounds for revocation and
enforcement action by the Department.

3. As provided in Subsections 403.087(6) and 403.722(5), Florida Statutes, the issuance of this
permit does not convey any vested rights or any exclusive privileges. Nor does it authorize any
injury to public or private property or any invasion of personal rights, nor any infringement of
federal, state or local laws or regulations. This permit does not constitute a waiver of or approval
of any other Department permit that may be required for other aspects of the total project which
are not addressed in the permit.

4. This permit conveys no title to land or water, does not constitute state recognition or
acknowledgment of title, and does not constitute authority for the use of submerged lands unless
herein provided and the necessary title or leasehold interests have been obtained from the state.
Only the Trustees of the Internal Improvement Trust Fund may express state opinion as to title.

5. This permit does not relieve the permittee from liability for harm or injury to human health or
welfare, animal, or plant life, or property caused by the construction or operation of this
permitted source, or from penalties therefore; nor does it allow the permittee to cause pollution in
contravention of Florida Statutes and Department rules, unless specifically authorized by an
order from the Department.

6. The permittee shall properly operate and maintain the facility and systems of treatment and
control (and related appurtenances) that are installed and used by the permittee to achieve
compliance with the conditions of this permit, are required by Department rules. This provision
includes the operation of backup or auxiliary facilities or similar systems when necessary to
achieve compliance with the conditions of the permit and when required by Department rules.

7. The permittee, by accepting this permit, specifically agrees to allow authorized Department
personnel, upon presentation of credentials or other documents as may be required by law, access
to the premises, at reasonable times, where the permitted activity is located or conducted for the
purpose of:

a.  Having access to and copying any records that must be kept under the conditions of this
permit;

b.  Inspecting the facility, equipment, practices, or operations regulated or required under
this permit; and, :



GENERAL CONDITIONS:

c.  Sampling or monitoring any substances or parameters at any location reasonably
necessary to assure compliance with this permit or Department rules.

Reasonable time may depend on the nature of the concern being investigated.

8. If, for any reason, the permittee does not comply with or will be unable to comply with any
condition or limitation specified in this permit, the permittee shall immediately provide the
Department with the following information:

a. A description of and cause of noncompliance; and

b.  The period of noncompliance, including exact dates and times; or, if not corrected, the
anticipated time the noncompliance is expected to continue, and steps being taken to reduce,
eliminate, and prevent recurrence of the noncompliance. The permittee shall be responsible for
any and all damages which may result and may be subject to enforcement action by the
Department for penalties or for revocation of this permit.

9. In accepting this permit, the permittee understands and agrees that all records, notes,
monitoring data and other information relating to the construction or operation of this permitted
source which are submitted to the Department may be used by the Department as evidence in any
enforcement case involving the permitted source arising under the Florida Statutes or
Department rules, except where such use is proscribed by Sections 403.73 and 403.111, Florida
Statutes. Such evidence shall only be used to the extent it is

consistent with Florida Rules of Civil Procedure and appropriate evidentiary rules.

10. The permittee agrees to comply with changes in Department rules and Florida Statutes after
a reasonable time for compliance, provided however, the permittee does not waive any other
rights granted by Florida Statutes or Department rules.

11. This permit is transferable only upon Department approval in accordance with Florida
Administrative Code Rules 62-4.120 and 62-730.300, as applicable. The permittee shall be
liable for any noncompliance of the permitted activity until the transfer is approved

by the Department.

12. This permit is required to be kept at the work site of the permitted activity during the entire
period of construction or operation.

13. The permittee shall comply with the following:
a.  Upon request, the permittee shall furnish all records and plans required under

Department rules. During enforcement actions, the retention period for all records will be
extended automatically unless otherwise stipulated by the Department.



GENERAL CONDITIONS:

b. The permittee shall hold at the facility or other location designated by this permit records
of all monitoring information (including all calibration and maintenance records and all original
strip chart recordings for continuous monitoring instrumentation) required by the permit, copies
of all reports required by this permit, and records of all data used to complete the application for
this permit. These materials shall be retained at least three years from the date of the sample,
measurement, report or application unless otherwise specified by Department rule.

c. Records of monitoring information shall include:

- the date, exact place, and time of sampling or measurement;

- the person responsible for performing the sampling or
measurement;

- the date(s) analyses were performed,;

- the person responsible for performing the analyses;

- the analytical techniques or methods used; and

- the results of such analyses.

14. When requested by the Department, the permittee shall within a reasonable time furnish any
information required by law which is needed to determine compliance with the permit. If the
permittee becomes aware the relevant facts were not submitted or were incorrect in the permit
application or in any report to the Department, such facts or information shall be corrected
promptly.



